It's all mental with this Pakistani team

Usman Chadda

Mental toughness. Thats one of the major factors that is affecting the national team at the moment.

Just watched a sensational match between Karachi and Peshawar. Was in awe of the high-class quality on display, both from the batsmen and the bowlers. The batsmen are pre-dominantly foreigners but the bowlers, we have got some serious talent in there. The confidence oozing from these young players, who have rarely played infront of such crowds before, is brilliant to see. Usama Mir is an absolute treat to watch. Usman Shinwari bowled his heart out, and with such gusto that you wonder where this kid has been all these years. Shadab Khan and Hassan Khan have been revelations aswell. The latter two can bat pretty well and can strike the ball big too. Fakhar Zaman, although a bit unorthodox, has driven some high praise from McCullum and performed admirably well.

Which brings me to the question. What the heck happens to these guys when they come to international cricket? Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad, Sohaib Maqsood, the list goes on and on. A young player should have the drive to work even harder and become even better. Why is it that this confidence is nowhere to be seen once they are playing for Pakistan? You are bowling to Kevin Pietersen, Eoin Morgan, Darren Sammy, Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum etc with such skill, such confidence. These players have lit up leagues all over the world. Bashed helpless bowlers to record breaking scores. And they are not allowed to get away consistently here.

I don't believe in the bakwas about Pakistan not having talent. The talent is there, its just not being displayed. Sharjeel Khan became the player he is after a breakaway season in PSL. He was one of the few who actually kicked on from that and became a household name (before throwing it away ofcourse). These players can become better, if only they are given the platform to become better. Usama, Usman, Hassan, Shadab and Fakhar should play for Pakistan, and be allowed to express themselves to the full extent. The stakes are higher in international cricket, but that should add to the fun, not pummel their confidence to the ground.

PCB should really focus on a high-performance center in order to polish this talent to the best of their capability. Pakistan needs to learn to protect its players. To push its players to the limit. These young kids deserve it, before we throw them away by saying 'there is just no talent in Pakistan'. It is an insult to them, an insult to their hard work and an insult to Pakistan as a cricketing nation. The talent we have seen in these last few games is testament to the fact that we as a cricket nation should have some faith. The key point here is to let them express themselves and not bog them down when they hit international cricket.

I disagree our cricketers have not been at par with some of the other cricketers across the world which is why we see us stumbling at 8th position in ODIs. Mental can be a factor but there are many others - lack of hardwork, lack of playing in conditions which replicate world cricket. You give an example of Umar Akmal who according to me was when he debuted supposed to be the one who takes over the mantle of being our best middle order batsman. He is over weight and does not work hard enough on his game which is why he has struggled throughout his career.

Shehzad was also good when he came onto the scene but cricket evolved a lot since his debut and he has not managed to keep with the demands of the game. He can't rotate strike which suggests to me its more a matter of skill than mentality.

The only way these things can be solved is again we say it a lot is by improving the domestic structure. How to improve it is a different discussion altogether but that is the school for all the potential Pakistan cricketers and the only way to ensure they are properly developed for international cricket.

Nope.

No talent in batting esp. After Sharj gone. Only Babar Azam left.

I think fitness and hard work has been sorely lacking in our young talented players. Guys like Sharkjeel, Nasir, and now Umar Akmal were all extremely overweight for international cricketers. This should be a mandatory requirement in their central contracts. You should have to meet certain standards in order to obtain a central contract. Some players need a danda because they are lazy.

You will see a different Pak team once Sarfi becomes the captain.
A tough and fighting team!
Yes a good leader can make a diffrence.

You are deluded. There is a deficiency of talent in Pakistan which is easy to see for anybody with an unbiased pair of eyes.

Can we just stop with the "talent" nonsense and concentrate on the fact that other players rise to the top because they work their backsides off every day?

The fact that our supposedly 'talented' players are routinely embarrassed in fitness tests by 40 year olds should have ended this debate once and for all.

Actually a few years of league cricket with the big guys, before making an international cricket would do wonders to the confidence of upcoming young pak players

Talent can only take you so far.

If you have talent but no hardwork or drive to improve then you end up as Umar Akmal.

If you have talent and unabated hunger to constantly improve yourself and work harder each day then you end up as Virat Kohli.

Talent is the most over-rated thing in the world. We are living in an era where athletes are being trained to run a mile in 4 minutes and it has pretty much become the standard for most running sports. Before the 1950s no human had run a mile in less than 4 minutes. Same with long jump, high jump, distance running etc every year humans are exceeding the barriers that have never been crossed before. Are people all of a sudden more talented now than in any other era of human history? Big NO

If you have passion and are willing to work day in and day out you will improve and be better doesn't matter if you have talent or not.

Take Umar Akmal's example. This guy was out of the side, the least he could have done is improve his fitness and reduce his body fat, which in turn will help him be more nimble and automatically improve his performance at the crease. However, Akmal shahab went in the complete opposite direction and gained a massive amount of fat and now carries a huge belly and a double chin to go with it. Mashallah. This is what happens when you rest on your laurels and think that being talented is enough. Pakistani fans are to be blamed too, they hailed Akmal as the best thing since sliced bread and that got to his head.

If you have talent but no hardwork or drive to improve then you end up as Umar Akmal.

If you have talent and unabated hunger to constantly improve yourself and work harder each day then you end up as Virat Kohli.

Talent is the most over-rated thing in the world. We are living in an era where athletes are being trained to run a mile in 4 minutes and it has pretty much become the standard for most running sports. Before the 1950s no human had run a mile in less than 4 minutes. Same with long jump, high jump, distance running etc every year humans are exceeding the barriers that have never been crossed before. Are people all of a sudden more talented now than in any other era of human history? Big NO

If you have passion and are willing to work day in and day out you will improve and be better doesn't matter if you have talent or not.

Take Umar Akmal's example. This guy was out of the side, the least he could have done is improve his fitness and reduce his body fat, which in turn will help him be more nimble and automatically improve his performance at the crease. However, Akmal shahab went in the complete opposite direction and gained a massive amount of fat and now carries a huge belly and a double chin to go with it. Mashallah. This is what happens when you rest on your laurels and think that being talented is enough. Pakistani fans are to be blamed too, they hailed Akmal as the best thing since sliced bread and that got to his head.

Akmal actually feels that the fat makes him strong and enables him to hit sixes. As per him thinner (read fitter) players hardly clear the circle.

There is one word that beautifully describes this mentality and it is:

PAINDO

I agree with the jist of your post but this is a bad example.

People in the past worked a lot harder than people do today - even athletes. The reason for these record breaking feats is due to the simply fact that people today have a lot more resources and knowledge to draw from them people in the past (e.g. sports science, advanced nutrition, advanced recovery and exercise programs for athletes that people in the past did not have access to)

I am fairly certain we lack talent as well as the mental strength.

Most of our domestic players pale in comparison to their international counterparts e.g. Anwar Ali, Shahzaib Hasan, Nauman etc.

I agree with the jist of your post but this is a bad example.

People in the past worked a lot harder than people do today - even athletes. The reason for these record breaking feats is due to the simply fact that people today have a lot more resources and knowledge to draw from them people in the past (e.g. sports science, advanced nutrition, advanced recovery and exercise programs for athletes that people in the past did not have access to)

That is exactly what my point was uncle. I'm saying that people have always had the same level of talent, but we are living in an era where just having talent doesn't cut it anymore.

Not just talent but hardwork is not enough either.

No matter how talented I am or hardworking - I just process / multiple / divide thousands of numbers in my head or on a piece of paper. However, if I open my laptop and use Excel - it can be done in a matter of minutes :)

Resources and knowledge that are available to people know can make a huge difference in what we can achieve.

In cricket terms - Umar Akmal has the natural talent and have plenty of resources in nutritionists, trainers, coaches to help him but lacks the effort and work ethic to succeed.

Virat Kohli has all 3 and hence he is a superstar today.

Because there is a world of difference between playing domestic Tamasha PSL league and coping with the pressure in the knockouts of World Cup.

Careers are made that way or destroyed that way.

People seem to think if you are bowling to McCullum and Morgan and "insert favorite superstar here" have them on the ropes you are extremely talented.

But the problem is international players up their game in World Cups , knockouts and high performance games while Pakistani players are not good enough to up their game.

Talent is there but it is only average talent.

It does not stand out when the stakes are high, where foreign talent seems to be much better.