"Its good that international cricket is returning to Pakistan" : Imran Khan

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Imran Khan "It's good that international cricket is returning to Pakistan as the public has been starved of seeing cricket for a long time"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/902425199005634560">August 29, 2017</a></blockquote>

Yes it's good news.

Hopefully everything will go through smoothly.

However I still feel uncomfortable about the amount of money being spent by PCB on these 3 matches.

I know everybody on here and in PK is excited but i dont see the logic in spending $3mn, when FC is a total mess, FC player are so poorly paid that they get paid better in Birmingham league cricket, when the pitches are awful and under prepared and the balls used are substandard. And most importantly, This visit will not bring teams like Aus or Eng back to PK.

Yes it's good news.

Hopefully everything will go through smoothly.

However I still feel uncomfortable about the amount of money being spent by PCB on these 3 matches.

So how much money should PCB spend on these 3 games?

I know everybody on here and in PK is excited but i dont see the logic in spending $3mn, when FC is a total mess, FC player are so poorly paid that they get paid better in Birmingham league cricket, when the pitches are awful and under prepared and the balls used are substandard. And most importantly, This visit will not bring teams like Aus or Eng back to PK.

If it helps to bring regular international cricket back to Pakistan then the $3m will be a worthwhile investment.

Zayda se zayda it will bring Zim, SL, WI and max BD... Don't expect any of the Western sides + India to be traveling to Pakistan any time soon.

Yet you see logic of playing in UAE for a loss. We are champions trophy winners our domestic circuit is strong.

What we need now is revenue and home tours and this is the route. 3m is not a lot of money.

Some people will never be happy no matter what the PCB does. Glad to see Imran Khan actually appreciating something for a change.

3 million dollars is nothing for a world eleven team to visit Pakistan for a 3 match series. Inshallah everything will go smoothly.

We must take baby steps in order to play our home games in Pakistan again. So far PCB has done a wonderful job.

Zayda se zayda it will bring Zim, SL, WI and max BD... Don't expect any of the Western sides + India to be traveling to Pakistan any time soon.

Might bring South Africa as well, India is not coming to Pakistan anytime soon even if there is no security problem in Pakistan...

Meri jaan waqt tou dei.. India isn't going to tour is even if Pakistan becomes the safest country in the planet. 1) They can't see us prosper. 2) They can't see us making money.

As for Australia and England, I don't recall remember about England but the former didn't tour Pakistan even before things went bad. And frankly, even if we get some countries to tour, it'll be more than enough. You win some, you lose some. To have cricket return home is a massive thing in itself. You can't be choosy.

I also expect South Africa to tour, if 5 main members of their team are coming, I don't see why the likes of Farhan Behardein, Wayn Parnell, De Kock or even AB would have a problem.

3 millions dollars are peanuts, we should be looking into bigger picture... I believe this whole tournament will be going to cost PCB somewhere around $10m but the return could be in excess of $100m in few years. Insha'Allah

Yet you see logic of playing in UAE for a loss. We are champions trophy winners our domestic circuit is strong.

What we need now is revenue and home tours and this is the route. 3m is not a lot of money.

No its not, the domestic circuit is an absolute shambles. Just speak to the poor players and you will know. $3MN is waste as it will not bring any major team to PK. If it did, then it will be money well spent but Eng, Aus, SA or NZ are not coming, whatever the amount.

What poor players? A department contracted player who plays full domestic season in Pakistan earns nearly Rs. 18 lac yearly, which means more than Rs. 1 lac per month, which is good enough for a normal Pakistani to feed his family.

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?163945-Pakistani-First-Class-Cricketers-Salaries

3 million is nothing if it means that because of this we will be one step closer to hosting regular international cricket

Meri jaan waqt tou dei.. India isn't going to tour is even if Pakistan becomes the safest country in the planet. 1) They can't see us prosper. 2) They can't see us making money.

As for Australia and England, I don't recall remember about England but the former didn't tour Pakistan even before things went bad. And frankly, even if we get some countries to tour, it'll be more than enough. You win some, you lose some. To have cricket return home is a massive thing in itself. You can't be choosy.

I also expect South Africa to tour, if 5 main members of their team are coming, I don't see why the likes of Farhan Behardein, Wayn Parnell, De Kock or even AB would have a problem.
autralia last toured pakistan in 1997.
england in 2006
south africa in 2007...
india in asia cup 2008...
once things start flowing you can expect short series against good team.

So the 1lakh is for the very top players but even that is not great. From talking to PK pros, 40-50000 per month is the more realistic figure.

I don't think you're aware that Pakistan is not England. Despite rising inflation, things are still comparatively cheaper and anyone who even earns 80K PKR here is considered rich.

If $3 million wasn't being spent toward this end, it would simply line up the pockets of various officials of the PCB. And what's wrong in having the likes of WI, SL or BD touring? They aren't touring at present so that's an achievement.

Never say never with India. We toured twice in 2004 and 2006 when the likes of Australia had abandoned you.

Good statement from Imran Khan. I'm sure he has realized how important statements are from him in this regard, and his appreciation makes a world of difference to the impressions of the International community since he is an ATG of the game

If $3 million wasn't being spent toward this end, it would simply line up the pockets of various officials of the PCB. And what's wrong in having the likes of WI, SL or BD touring? They aren't touring at present so that's an achievement.

Never say never with India. We toured twice in 2004 and 2006 when the likes of Australia had abandoned you.

I can't say I disagree. You're right.