Javed Akhtar was mocked by right-wing Indians for celebrating Virat Kohli's century against Pakistan

Major

ODI Star
Indian writer and poet Javed Akhtar praised Indian cricketer Virat Kohli’s century against Pakistan in the Champions Trophy match at Dubai International Stadium, but his admiration was met with a barrage of racist slurs from Hindu trolls.

After Kohli's impressive 51st century, Akhtar took to X to express his pride, writing, “Virat Kohli, zindabad (long live)!!! We all are so so so proud of you!!!”

However, some trolls targeted him for his praise, with one writing, “Javed, Babar ka baap Kohli hai (Kohli is Babar’s father). Bolo (say), Jai Shree Ram.” In response, Akhtar sharply retorted, “I will only say that you are a vile person, and you will die a vile death. What do you know about patriotism?”

Read: Kohli's heroics power India to easy Champions Trophy win over Pakistan

Another troll mocked Akhtar, asking, “Aj suraj kaha se nikla? Andar se dukh hoga apko to [Where did the sun rise from today? You must be feeling sad].”

Akhtar, unfazed, fired back, “Beta, jab tumhare baap dada angrez ke jootay chaat rahe thay, tab main aazadi ke liye jai aur kala paani mein tha. Meri ragon mein desh premiyon ka khoon hai, aur tumhari ragon mein angrez ke naukaron ka khoon hai. Iss anter ko bhoolo nahin [Son, when your grandfather was licking the boots of the British, I was fighting for our freedom in Kala Pani. My veins carry the blood of patriots, while yours carry the blood of British servants. Don’t forget this difference].”

Despite Akhtar’s atheist beliefs, his Muslim name triggered attacks from Hindu right-wing supporters, questioning his loyalty to the country.

Many Indian fans, however, voiced their disappointment with the Indian Cricket Board, praising the warmth and hospitality of the Pakistani crowd toward visiting teams.

These Indian trolls are so low-IQ that they don't realize Javed Akthar is an atheist.

:inti

so you are justifying mocking him on twitter?

Typical
Where did I justify? I am just laughing that Javed Akthar's Freedom fight post. lol :LOL:
These kinds of trolls are rampant on social media. You're just picking on him because his Muslim name .lol.

To be fair to the Indian trolls, it's not easy to identify he is an atheist when he is proudly carrying an Islamic invader name.

He should change his name to reflect his atheism. Something like Dawkin Rushdie might get the (y) :D

Maybe he can change his name to Washington "Fair & Lovely" Sundar II. :inti

He has justified the abuse.

Not surprised at all. Their track record shows they are likely to condone this.

They have no moral compass. :inti

As usual, the suspect is just crying over a random social media post. I'm still laughing at your desperation. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
There are millions of trolls online targeting a lot of people, go pick them one by one and start a new thread.:D.
Except you no one cares these trolls.

Maybe he can change his name to Washington "Fair & Lovely" Sundar II. :inti

Not surprised at all. Their track record shows they are likely to condone this.

They have no moral compass. :inti
Eesh the irony in this post

Topic: Patriotic Indian atheist (Javed Akhtar) getting abused by far-right Indian trolls.

Indian posters: What about this? What about that?

Why can't Indian posters defend Mr. Javed? Is it because he has a Muslim name? He is an atheist, BTW.

Rofl at implosion after last two games, Javed Sahab doesn’t need defending from dullards , he can eat both sides for breakfast. Poor naagins

As usual Indians think its ok to give threats and insults to people online under the banner of trolling..

They can dish it out but can't take it.

If they receive 50% of the abuse they dish out, they cry victims. :inti

Trolls are everywhere. Some of them may or may not be Indian. Too many fake accounts.

However, I will not be surprised of some low IQ bumpkins from India troll Akhtar that way.

I remember Javed Akhtar once saying that he will feel depressed if rightwing from both Hindus and Muslims are not targeting him. To him, if he is targeted by both cults, it means he is doing something right.

Topic: Patriotic Indian atheist (Javed Akhtar) getting abused by far-right Indian trolls.

Indian posters: What about this? What about that?

Why can't Indian posters defend Mr. Javed? Is it because he has a Muslim name? He is an atheist, BTW.

He is smart and strong enough to get through any online abuse.

He is safe in India and its okay to be openly atheist there.

So trolls are everywhere, which is why its ok to make racist comments against Muslims?

These trolls reflect the Indian society.

He is smart and strong enough to get through any online abuse.

He is safe in India and its okay to be openly atheist there.
So its ok to be racist in a country because someone being racist is not a threat?

He should rejoin the Islamic brotherhood.

Most Hindu atheist are fake. Javed will gain nothing from throwing his lot in with them. They are pretending to be atheist because they are ashamed of exposing their beliefs in public.

Come home Javed, we will embrace you with open arms.

So its ok to be racist in a country because someone being racist is not a threat?
Racist?

Both Akhtar and his abusers are same race. Its not racist. You can call it right wing Hindu trolls abusing an old Atheist. It should be condemned.
Internet is such a thing. One can hurl abuses and allegation without having to show any proof or defend the allegations. Most celebrities are used to it and they ignore it.

He should rejoin the Islamic brotherhood.

Most Hindu atheist are fake. Javed will gain nothing from throwing his lot in with them. They are pretending to be atheist because they are ashamed of exposing their beliefs in public.

Come home Javed, we will embrace you with open arms.
Javed is an Atheist and he is smart. He will never join any cult. Be it Hindu or Muslim or Christian..... Once a human becomes rational, its hard for him/her to accept fairytales as facts.

Racist?

Both Akhtar and his abusers are same race. Its not racist. You can call it right wing Hindu trolls abusing an old Atheist. It should be condemned.
Internet is such a thing. One can hurl abuses and allegation without having to show any proof or defend the allegations. Most celebrities are used to it and they ignore it.
So if a Bigot Hindu makes shows his inner hatred for Muslims by saying it out loud, and thats is towards an Atheist, that is ok? Because even though their is hate for muslims, but since it was said to someone else its ok?

Funniest thing is seeing old
Man Javed Saab getting triggered by some random twitter troll 🤣

Here is an idea- unleash Cpt. and a few other rabid modi haters under Modiji’s twitter. hisaab barabar 😅 i give full sapot 👍

So if a Bigot Hindu makes shows his inner hatred for Muslims by saying it out loud, and thats is towards an Atheist, that is ok? Because even though their is hate for muslims, but since it was said to someone else its ok?
Are you new to X/ Twitter? You must be the most insulated person on earth if this is the only offensive thing that struck a chord.

Nothing to see here.

Javed is an Atheist and he is smart. He will never join any cult. Be it Hindu or Muslim or Christian..... Once a human becomes rational, its hard for him/her to accept fairytales as facts.

Yeah, they just dress them up as atheist Hinduism. 😄

Wow, people trying to downplay hatred racist comments thinking its normal.

This thread has demonstrated a significant percentage of Indians have no moral compass.

An innocent man is getting abused online. What do these Indian posters do? They make excuses for the abuse. Not once did these Indian posters defended that abused man. Why? Just because he has a Muslim name even though the person is an atheist?

I sometimes wonder whether or not some of these Indian posters are actually bots. They are misssing some basic empathy. :inti

The way Javed trolled back these hatred-filled guys, that is funny LOL... BTW this is so wrong. India won the game, move on, why trolling their own country-man.... CRAZY

Making a mountain of a mole. Javed bhai is one of of my favorites but come on unc taking the bait from some trolls on the internet like that doesn’t suit a celebrity like you and only puts question marks over your intentions rather.