Kevin Pietersen's wild suggestions: 12 runs for 100m sixes and an additional batter dismissed if a yorker hits middle stump, Agree or disagree?

Do you agree with Kevin Pietersen's proposal?

The Bald Eagle

Former England cricketer Kevin Pietersen has reignited the debate over cricket’s scoring system by suggesting that exceptionally long sixes should be rewarded with more than the usual maximum runs.

Sharing his opinion again on social media platform X, Pietersen reiterated his well-known proposal that sixes traveling over 100 meters should earn extra runs.

"I've said this before and I’ll say it again: if a batter smashes a six beyond 100m, 12 runs should be awarded! More batters will try for it, and with more attempts, the game will become more entertaining," he wrote.

His idea prompted mixed reactions from fans—some dismissed it as unrealistic, while others supported it, believing it could add excitement to the sport.

One user jokingly suggested that bowlers should also receive special incentives.

"If a bowler hits the middle stump, the next batter should automatically be out too. This would motivate bowlers to bowl more yorkers," the user commented.

The 45-year-old, who contributed to Delhi Capitals’ mentoring team during the 2025 season, frequently participates in cricket discussions and engages with fans online.

He recently grabbed headlines after a 2014 clip resurfaced showing him teasing pop star Taylor Swift for confusing cricket with rugby.

Though the 12-run six proposal is unlikely to be adopted by cricket’s governing bodies, it has sparked fresh conversations about how the game could evolve.

Meanwhile, the ICC has confirmed a rule change effective October 2026. The new “one-touch” rule for airborne boundary catches will allow a fielder only one contact with the ball while airborne outside the boundary.

After that single touch, the player must land inside the field of play; any additional touches in mid-air beyond the first will result in a boundary being awarded. This aims to curb “bunny hop” catches where fielders repeatedly juggle the ball.

Wouldn’t mind it honestly. Could be fun.

You could argue that hitting a 6 is far harder than a 4. So maybe it should be awarded more too like 8.

Having said that I don’t think any of these rules will make that much difference.

Just because Babar struggles to clear 30 yard circle that doesn't mean others will struggle lol One that i remember Iyer hit Zampa for 111 meter six

Hassan Nawaz is a big hitter, such rules will benefit WI batters the more....brute power...But sad news for the likes of Kohli in IPL

Dinesh Karthik hit a 108 meter six last season lol Indians focus on timing and power. Not just hacking. That is why Rohit sharma's sixes were massive in world T20 against Australia. He hit cummins for 101 meter six during 47 ball 92 runs.

But as you mentioned Babar, count Kohli in the same league....he can never hit two 100 m plus sixes in the same match

Absurd suggestions by Pietersen

Should not tinker with the fundamentals of the game

Next he would say if someone catches the ball in the crowd then the batsman should be given out..

Clearly a tongue-in-cheek comment by KP. In any case, such a change would hardly be fair and would end up disadvantaging teams like Bangladesh, Pakistan etc who seem to have a inability to clear the ropes that far.

Cricket must be celebrated in all its shapes and forms. A brutal, effortless 110m strike from a Pandya, Livingstone, Zadran or Iyer is in its own way just as special as a grunty Rizwan or Shanto slog over mid-on that trickles to the fence after a couple of bounces.

It can be used in the hundred like tournaments. Give 8 runs for a hundred meter six.
What if Wicket keeper takes a difficult catch. Should it count as two catches? Or when a bowler gets a top rank batter out. Should that count as two wickets?

Rather I suggest a two fence/boundary system..where the ground size can be increased with one smaller drawn boundary and a larger fenced one equal to 90 to 100m..if ball crosses shorter one, it will be 4 or 6, and if it crosses the bigger one it will be 8 or 12..fielders can be placed between the boundaries with some restrictions and player can get out if caught between shorter and longer boundary..this rule will counter the shorter boundary advantage of few grounds and at the same time can also be a run fest..

Clearly a tongue-in-cheek comment by KP. In any case, such a change would hardly be fair and would end up disadvantaging teams like Bangladesh, Pakistan etc who seem to have a inability to clear the ropes that far.

Cricket must be celebrated in all its shapes and forms. A brutal, effortless 110m strike from a Pandya, Livingstone, Zadran or Iyer is in its own way just as special as a grunty Rizwan or Shanto slog over mid-on that trickles to the fence after a couple of bounces.
Lol your entire nation yearns to break Shahid Afridi record....but but King Kohli will break this barrier 🤣

1. Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) - 153 meters vs South Africa, 2013
The longest six in the history of international cricket has been hit by none other than Boom Boom Afridi. The ball travelled the distance of 153 m after getting smashed by Shahid Afridi. Ryan Mclaren, who initially celebrated after dismissing the batter off a no-ball, was shut down by this hit.
What record is this ?

Top 10 longest sixes ever hit in international cricket https://www.ottplay.com/amp/sports/...s-ever-in-international-cricket/c02f4f3752141

Nah .. it will just encourage wild slogging .. and just of the pull shot/hook shot kind. I like seeing the aesthetic sixes that are are timed well.

@Sachin fan longest six record, which Indians unfortunately couldn't break yet or may be can't @Bhaijaan
The longest six in the history of international cricket has been hit by none other than Boom Boom Afridi. The ball travelled the distance of 153 m after getting smashed by Shahid Afridi. Ryan Mclaren, who initially celebrated after dismissing the batter off a no-ball, was shut down by this hit.

Top 10 longest sixes ever hit in international cricket https://www.ottplay.com/amp/sports/...s-ever-in-international-cricket/c02f4f3752141

I don't see 153 meter on screen. Eldine Baptiste in the 80s hit a few sixes into car park. Ganguly during his 183 against Srilanka hit a few balls at Taunton into river. You can't make up your own distance.

Ok if this information is incorrect then why not you correct us and produce the list of top 10 longest sixes across formats? I am not infallible so trust you

Pietersen needs to find some new hobbies....have all the rhinos in Africa been saved? He always seems to be spouting weird nonsense. If there was any ex-cricketer who was not cut out to be a commentator/analyst, it's him. He's a pretty horrible commentator too.

You can add those types of gimmicks to the Hong Kong Sixes. Not proper international cricket.

There should be two small vertical hoops somewhere where if you get it in, you automatically win the game. One for hitting with the bat, one for throwing with the ball. Bowler has to bowl and hit it on the bounce, batsmen just strikes in the air. Odds 1 in a million to go hit it in. Like the golden snitch in Harry Potter. That way you when the game is already lost the losing team can still have a miracle chance to win. Only valid last over if game lasts till then 😄. Introduce this in PSL now!

3 continuous dot ball in limited over cricket should be out. This is gully cricket rule number one . :klopp:kp

The Hundred competition has come up with better innovations then that & do we really need to empower batters even further. I did like the rule about not being able to change ends when a batter is dismissed; it led to some hilarious collapses in the competition.

I read somewhere that they were going to implement that rule in international cricket too. MCC approved it in 2022

Ok if this information is incorrect then why not you correct us and produce the list of top 10 longest sixes across formats? I am not infallible so trust you
i have nto seen all of it. Albie Morkel six is the one i remember because i watched it live. I have never seen anyone hitting the roof of Chepauk stadium except Albie. It was recorded as 124 meter six.

Very stupid rules. For example the yorker Bumrah bowled to Pope earlier this year, all three stumps fell out, now will we waste time with DRS to see which stump the ball hit? Then someone will suggest that if a team loses a wicket on a no-ball they can bring in a out batter. All this is stupid. Just stick to regular rules with some tweaks to make it better, don't try to make this more of a circus than what it already is due to the T20/hundred/T10 leagues.

On the contrary, I am sick of the 50-60m baby sixes. If the boundaries are that short, if the shot doesn’t exceed 70m, it’s not a 6, it should be a 4.

12 runs on 100m six. Wrong with some teams like Pakistan :D
Babar probably gonna murder kevin pieterson for his wild suggestion.

Babar be like- Yaha six nahi lag raha aur ye alag level ka chaudhary ban raha😡Na karen janab na karen

What’s next? Both batsmen at the crease should be dismissed if the stumps are uprooted in a bowled delivery?

Having said that this wild suggestion is not new. For decades they jokingly talked about it the commentary box. "That should be 12"

Instead of changign the rules. they can say announce prize money like "Anyone who hits 100 meter six will receieve a hair dryer" That will motivate players like James vince.

Cricket does get tedious sometimes so here are some changes I'd like to see are -

- 8 runs to the batsman if he hits ball into the commentary box and bonus three runs if it knocks off Harsha Bhogle's hairpiece.
- Trampolines near the rope for fielders to attempt to catch a six.
- If a batsman celebrates a fifty like it’s a hundred, 10 runs are deducted immediately. Virat rule.

Cricket does get tedious sometimes so here are some changes I'd like to see are -

- 8 runs to the batsman if he hits ball into the commentary box and bonus three runs if it knocks off Harsha Bhogle's hairpiece.
- Trampolines near the rope for fielders to attempt to catch a six.
- If a batsman celebrates a fifty like it’s a hundred, 10 runs are deducted immediately. Virat rule.
I am worried about Pant's celebrations now

12 runs for 100 m sixes I can agree with as it will encourage players to work on their big power hitting skills. Additional batter dismissed for a middle stump yorker is stretching it.