mak36
- Post of the Week
With all this talk about inducting Abbas in the ODI team for WC19 it's worth remembering how flat LOI pitches are in England.
Another disgraceful pitch in England. Atleast create tracks with a bit of bounce so that bowlers have some incentive to hit the deck hard. ODI cricket is extremely boring when fast bowlers have to bowl slower balls and cutters in the 2nd over of their opening spells. If this is how the pitches are going to be at the World Cup, it would be disastrous.
Why? It’s the same for all teams. Pakistan nearly got over the line in the last match.
Last 4 years host countries where 350+ runs were made in an inning
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...al1=span;template=results;type=team;view=host
[table=width: 500, class: grid, align: center]
[tr][td]Host Country [/td][td]Innings with 350+ runs [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]in England [/td][td]10 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]in India [/td][td]9 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]in South Africa [/td][td]9 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]in Sri Lanka [/td][td]4 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]in West Indies [/td][td]4 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]in Australia [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]in Zimbabwe [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]in Ireland [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]in New Zealand [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]in Scotland [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]in Pakistan [/td][td]1 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]in U.A.E. [/td][td]1 [/td][/tr]
[/table]
Kindly update it to England 11. Or just wait for 2 more matches it will be 13 soon.![]()
I don't mind flat pitches for ODIs. What I do mind is the pathetic Kookaburra ball - this machine stitched crap doesn't swing or seam an inch.
Why do the ICC refuse to use a superior ball in the Dukes ?
Play ODIs with one new, white Dukes ball and allow bowlers to bowl 12 overs instead of 10 so your best bowlers can bowl for longer.
Disastrous for the format I meant. ODIs will be elongated T20's and nothing more if the current playing conditions are allowed to continue .
But ODIs are just elongated T20s. Or T20s are truncated ODIs. Not taking your point....
That's what Eng wanted when they were trash in ODIs. Don't hear such cries any longer.Might as well scrap ODIs and just play T20's only.
Point is why even have a separate format if the skillset required is exactly the same as that for T20's? Without reverse or spin coming into play in the latter half of an innings, there is nothing to test the batters in ODIs anymore. Might as well scrap ODIs and just play T20's only.
For a long time I disagreed with this. but I totally agree now. With the way the ODI game is going it is becoming an absolute disgrace. i mean I cant watch a teams bowling anymore..its just painful to watch. You are literally just watching the batsman. Its beyond stupid. They talk about how these so called modern batsmen can now hit yorkers for six, oh meray bhai Id like to see any of these modern batsmen hit wasim's ball to lamby in the 92 final, or waqars inswinger to gus logie in 1990/91 for a six..
this is a joke..you may as well just fill your bowling with three spinners and a couple of medium pacers like sam curran..end of...
Absolutely. It has become a very monotonous game now.
Lol. That ground wasn't even the highest scoring one. Trent bridge is the highest scoring ground in the world. Expect 400 to be breached tomorrow. 400 was scored by both teams playing in the royal London one day cup on this ground.Do you remember this particular India vs aussie series where suddenly every match was a massive scoring game..I remember laying into the Indian pitch curators and going on about this new style of ODI cricket. England deserve the same treatment. I'm sorry but this isnt the cricket I want my son to grow up watching. It just takes the skill out of the game. if a captain is saying 359 is about PAR then you know your in trouble. What was wrong with having one white ball? we had massive totals on occasion still? But that was mostly in the subcontinent where the weather baked the pitches. In england we knew the bowlers would get some help..but alas they have doubled down to try and compete for the dollar..
its just pathetic..I mean i get Roy is a good player but is he really "that" good? And the same with Hayles, Bairstow etc..I mean Imam made a 150!! a 150 for goodness sake!! without doing to much.!! thats like mansoor akther hitting a double hundred!! or robin singh hitting a 150 in 35 balls!!
Lol. That ground wasn't even the highest scoring one. Trent bridge is the highest scoring ground in the world. Expect 400 to be breached tomorrow. 400 was scored by both teams playing in the royal London one day cup on this ground.
Do you remember this particular India vs aussie series where suddenly every match was a massive scoring game..I remember laying into the Indian pitch curators and going on about this new style of ODI cricket. England deserve the same treatment. I'm sorry but this isnt the cricket I want my son to grow up watching. It just takes the skill out of the game. if a captain is saying 359 is about PAR then you know your in trouble. What was wrong with having one white ball? we had massive totals on occasion still? But that was mostly in the subcontinent where the weather baked the pitches. In england we knew the bowlers would get some help..but alas they have doubled down to try and compete for the dollar..
its just pathetic..I mean i get Roy is a good player but is he really "that" good? And the same with Hayles, Bairstow etc..I mean Imam made a 150!! a 150 for goodness sake!! without doing to much.!! thats like mansoor akther hitting a double hundred!! or robin singh hitting a 150 in 35 balls!!
Point is why even have a separate format if the skillset required is exactly the same as that for T20's? Without reverse or spin coming into play in the latter half of an innings, there is nothing to test the batters in ODIs anymore. Might as well scrap ODIs and just play T20's only.
Have seen too many high scoring matches in England recently. Last year in the Champions Trophy too we saw how easily teams were scoring 320+. Pakistan also conceeded 400+ last time they played an ODI series against England. We have seen experts, fans and commentators criticising Indian pitches for not providing any help to bowlers. How is this different?
Yes but that series was a one off in 2013. ODI's in India can be belters but we have many games in the 280-320 range as well.I saw Jason Roy play a checked drive for six lol. Pathetic! Btw I don't think Royal London Cup used white dukes ball at all. It was kookaburra as usual.
Lol yes how pathetic is that. Can you imagine Viv richards with these rules? Or Sehwag? Or saeed anwar? My God!! if a mediocre player like Roy can look like a world beater what would real legends do?
Utter bakwaas yaar..I can take the odd series played on belters, it can happen due to weather conditions or just a bit of politics. But over and over? Sorry I cant hack this nonsense..
And then seeing them strutting around as if they are the second coming of the great aussie sides!! what a laugh!!
Yuvraj in full flight vs England will be fun with these rules and balls. He just loves these one-dimensional English bowlers.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVe0jeCGUxs