Let's find me a cricket bat! [Mammoth Task Accomplished!!!]

anakwalajinn

Assalamu Aleikum

So after 5 retirements I will go in to my 5th season and a 6th comeback. I have the astonishing record of playing for 5-6 teams but never gotten a league game (played once under a fake name though, was sleeping on the bench and my fellow team players woke me up when we were 7 down stating that it was my turn soon... :irfan

Anyway, this year I will play with my best friends as we have made our own team to play fun cricket in the league :yk If we look away from the fact that I am actually SCARED of the cricket ball then we can say that I am a top order batsman. I will most likely open the innings as I can not slog nor take singles. The only shot I know is the forward defensive shot, hence we are playing 30 over games and we are all youngster beauties, the team is counting on me for just staying there as long as possible.

So I need a new cricket bat for the season. I am not a muscular guy nor a big hitter of the ball. If I manage to take a single it is considered as a jackpot, as I can not take two runs because that will leave me exhausted :( Yes, my istamina sucks as well.

Can you beleive it? Being skinny and NOT being able to run. Anyway, back to my main query. I need a new bat for just defending the ball and rotating the strike, what type of bat fit's me the most? A heave one or a light one? I will most likely get the bat from UK in a few months time as I am planning to fill up a suitcase with goodies from JD iSports :akhtar

Also, how "important" is it to take care of your bat? I mean putting the oil on, knocker, protection, etc? What do I need? The bat I am using ATM have been lying around in the snow for 5 years, but it still works fine :D However, I feel that I need to check my attitude and get more serious as I will be one of the seniors this year, and all di buoyz in the team that are larke :inzi will be looking up on me to give them advice :afridi

Aur waise bhi, if I am PAYING for the bat myself then I should obviously take good care of it. Price range can vary, being a brown dude I would sure appreciate the cheapest bat, but to be more realistic I would not mind a price around the £100 mark, with £150 being the maximum.

The only way for me to get a new cricket bat is from England OR from ordering through online, but this is not likely as I will most likely have to pay A LOT in customs charge... Travelling to Pakistan ATM is not an option :zoni

Now that's a LONG post :D
Jazak Allah & Fi Imanillah

Thank you for providing all this detail, it really helps.

Firstly I would recommend to you a light bat as you open the innings. This means it will be easier to face some of the better bowlers. If you are not a slogger than you should probably go for a bat with a lower middle.

As for taking care of the bat. It is really really important to do so.

JazakallahKhair.

QS bhai arent bats for slogging have lower middles and defensive play bats have higher middles?

walaikum musalam anak wala jinn bhai i could give you an option of buyiing from sialkot shop as they have delt with many pakpassion members and have "munasib" prices

Wsalam. Will give another detailed reply tonight. Meanwhile, can someone please tell me a more about the long handle/short handle stuff :) everything that comes to your mind. Pros/cons etc...

Walakiumasalam Warakmatulilahi Wabarakatuhu Jinn Baabaa:),

Hope you're well brother :)

First of all, apologizes for late response :(

MashAllah, your OP was brilliant as it was well explained and informative post to start with :)

Lightweight bats are ideal for openers, this is because when you are opening the ball is fast and comes onto you quickly and you don't get enough time to adjust yourself so you need a bat which will have a good speed. So with lighter bat your bat speed increases and you can quickly adjust yourself for a shot.

Secondly, since you will open so you will obviously face new ball so the new ball does have a lot of bounce compared to old ones so you would also want a high sweetspot bat as the ball will strike the top part due to high bounce.

Bhai as far caring goes then I would say everything you own in this world requires care. I mean the more you take care of it, more chances of it surviving. Think it this way, if you own Boeing 747-400 and change oil, take well care of it etc then the aircraft will surely last long for you. If you don't take care of it or don't change the oil then it won't last very long for you and will breakdown soon! So taking care is very vital indeed :)

Knocker?! :))) Actually knocking in a bat is very important because willow is a soft wood and you need to knock it in intially to compress it so it doesn;t get damaged with a cricket ball when you play with it.

Protection is also vital and basic are basically making sure you don't put it near heater, in water etc

Long handle as the name suggest is long in length and that is usually for tall players. But what is your height?

Just checked JD Sports website and they don't seem to have cricket stuff..:S

Before I suggest is there any specific brand which you like ? Perhaps because of a player etc?

Am half asleep after stay up all night for two consecutive matches so please bear with me and pardon me if I make any mistakes etc.

If any question(s) please don't hesitate to ask :)

Hope this helps!

Salam Mr. Canada and thanks for replying. Sleep well, we will insha Allah ispeak in the morning :ibutt I am currently in the airplane on my way to ischool :) (true) lol

Fi Imanillah & Jazak Allah

Actually I just landed and my class is in 5 hours time. Look's like you iz still here :D

Good luck for your class bro :)

Actually I am off to bed in a bit so will read your reply when I wake up in the morning (5 hours time) :)

Once again FiamanAllah :)

Good luck for your class bro :)

Actually I am off to bed in a bit so will read your reply when I wake up in the morning (5 hours time) :)

Once again FiamanAllah :)

Nice. Remember to check my awesome introduction thread as well :ibutt

Always want to post there but yaar some how I don't visit Intro section much, will do for you don't worry bro :)

Shouldn't you be isleeping? :ibutt

Canada lost three quick wickets :( Sad stuff... Can't wait for us to pwn Zimbabwe!

Walakiumasalam Warakmatulilahi Wabarakatuhu Jinn Baabaa,

Hope you're well brother

First of all, apologizes for late response

MashAllah, your OP was brilliant as it was well explained and informative post to start with

Lightweight bats are ideal for openers, this is because when you are opening the ball is fast and comes onto you quickly and you don't get enough time to adjust yourself so you need a bat which will have a good speed. So with lighter bat your bat speed increases and you can quickly adjust yourself for a shot.

Secondly, since you will open so you will obviously face new ball so the new ball does have a lot of bounce compared to old ones so you would also want a high sweetspot bat as the ball will strike the top part due to high bounce.

Bhai as far caring goes then I would say everything you own in this world requires care. I mean the more you take care of it, more chances of it surviving. Think it this way, if you own Boeing 747-400 and change oil, take well care of it etc then the aircraft will surely last long for you. If you don't take care of it or don't change the oil then it won't last very long for you and will breakdown soon! So taking care is very vital indeed

Knocker?! Actually knocking in a bat is very important because willow is a soft wood and you need to knock it in intially to compress it so it doesn;t get damaged with a cricket ball when you play with it.

Protection is also vital and basic are basically making sure you don't put it near heater, in water etc

Long handle as the name suggest is long in length and that is usually for tall players. But what is your height?

Just checked JD Sports website and they don't seem to have cricket stuff..:S

Before I suggest is there any specific brand which you like ? Perhaps because of a player etc?

Am half asleep after stay up all night for two consecutive matches so please bear with me and pardon me if I make any mistakes etc.

If any question(s) please don't hesitate to ask :)

Hope this helps!

Haaanji! Sure, I will buy some cream shream for the bat to keep it in good form :junaid

Can you list up all the items I need? :D Also you must guide me through when I get my bat, lol. Probably sometime in May, insha Allah. I once played with a very light bat in an indoor match, and it was really comfortable. However, isn't it true that if you have a heavy bat you just need to touch it and it goes for a longer distance? Usually I block 95% of my deliveries, however if I am going to start looking for singles I think I should really work on my timing to get the ball in the gaps, as my running is slow & I am not good with the wrists nor use enough power because of lack of maskals :D

Talking about brands, I have for some reason always wanted a Kookaburra bat, but realistically ispeaking this is not important as long as the bat suits my istyle of play :moyo My friends are going for Pakistani bats, just because it is Pakistani and I do not see anything wrong in that either. But I will not chip into Pakistan this year, nor do I know anyone who are so I guess I will get it from London.

My height is around 175 cm. I am still confused regarding the short/long handle. How will this affect my istyle of play? :yk

And as for JD iSports, I just think they have some really cool clothes and that is 50% of my intention whenever I visit The UK :)

However, I have never bought anything from there :wahab

And yeah, since you asked how I am doing: Tabiyat has been a bit kharab past week, I am better now but please dua'a that me & all my friends & everyone in the world get's shif'aa

Please report to Introduction thread and bring Khabri420 with you :adnan

I think you got pretty good advice from CD and CO I will only advice based on your OP " Kay choro bhaai kyu zulam kar rahay ho apni jan par"

Let's find you a bat jinn sahib :inzi

Come by the next training we are having, you can try out my MB Malik Zulfi bat :malik I think that it will suit you fine, because of the light weight and the short handle I think.

As far as the caring of the bat is, surely you have to take good care of it, after all you are paying a lot of paisa :D I've got some protection for the blade I can give you :ibutt

CA10000 is the best bat for Bottom Handed players... it has lovely sweet center.
I tried lots of bats but this is the one for me..... hitter's bat CA10000. :afridi

CA10000 is the best bat for Bottom Handed players... it has lovely sweet center.
I tried lots of bats but this is the one for me..... hitter's bat CA10000. :afridi

Thanks. But is it heavy? :fawad

While we are at it, I am quite sure my grip is pretty down on the handle, is this normal and has this anything to say? Maybe I can post some pictures when I am home?

I think you got pretty good advice from CD and CO I will only advice based on your OP " Kay choro bhaai kyu zulam kar rahay ho apni jan par"

Kia matlab? :fawad

Let's find you a bat jinn sahib :inzi

Come by the next training we are having, you can try out my MB Malik Zulfi bat :malik I think that it will suit you fine, because of the light weight and the short handle I think.

As far as the caring of the bat is, surely you have to take good care of it, after all you are paying a lot of paisa :D I've got some protection for the blade I can give you :ibutt

Bradar, you have to give me NOC that I can try your bat. :malik

Anakwalajinn, Short handle is ideal at your height. Long Handle bats are for people generally 6ft 2 and above. I think you should go with CA 10000 Plus because among Pakistani bats CA generally have the lightest pick up as they are not as bottom heavy as some of the other bats. You can specify the weight of the bat and I would advise you to select 2lb 6-2lb 7 as the weight if buying from Pakistan and 2lb 7- 2lb 9 if buying from UK. The reason is Pakistani manufacturers generally weigh a bat before adding the grip, stickers and toe guards. These can generally increase the weight by 2-3 ounces

Also as you have not been playing regular cricket just think about spending time in the middle, enjoying yourself and finding your timing. The good thing is you don't have to hit the ball hard to score runs.

Additionally work on your stamina before the season so that you can run hard. I think it will be as important as investing in a good bat. Nothing ticks of bowlers more than batsmen who rotate the strike. Hope you enjoy your cricket!

Thanks a lot fellow opener bhai :D Appreciate that. But do you know how many kilograms those weight measurements you told me are? Not that into ounces or lb's, heck not into feet but I can google that. Can I get CA bats from UK?

While we are at it, 99% chance that I will get my bat from London. I was thinking of getting it from eBay though, but then I will have to pay for customs, etc. So any good cricket shops in London? I know they have cheap bats in JJB Sports :farhat, but I guess that is just for people like them ---> :bhanja :farhat

If you buy from UK anakwalajinn bhai it is better to get an English bat because you will end up paying a lot of premium on Pakistani/ Indian bats. I think the GM Icon or Apex profile in 2lb 7-8 is something which would suit you. The 808 range is within your price range of 150 pounds and I think it is great value for your money.

As for the shops I know Mapperly Sports has been used by CD and Majid. But this is something which the UK PPers can guide you better on. I mentioned the weight in pounds and ounces because this is how cricket bats are labeled in UK and even in Pakistan. So if you go to the store you can feel the weight and decide which is best for you. Try the bat in your natural stance and see whether all shots are comfortable. In my view the way to rate a bat is the following order:

1. Pick Up and feel
2. Responsiveness by bouncing a ball
3. Cosmetics i.e straight evenly spaced grains and no strange marks or blemishes specially near the edge

Opener Bhai has pretty much said everything in a perfect and effective manner, don't think I would have been able to say it as good as Opener Bhai.

Since you like Kookaburra I would say buy that then, as Opener Bhai said Asian bats are very expensive in UK so it is pointless to buy from there. Just buy Kookaburra as you like the brand.

I would recommend you to buy mid range Kookaburra which will fall in your budget.

I have seen few very good mid range Kookaburras at UziSports's website so if you can drop down to there store then have a look there.

Mapperly Sports is good but I am not sure how far Mapperly Sports and UziSports are from London city.

VKS (Ealing Broadway) and Morrant (South Woodford) are the most accessible cricket shops in London imo.

There's also the shops at Lord's and the Oval of course.

SempreSami, do you have experience with these shops and if yes which would be better for someone like the OP who does not know a lot about bats.

CD bhai thanks. Have you any experience with Kooks? I think the GM 808 should be better than the lower end Kooks. What is your opinion? I have never used a Kook.

I've only been in VKS and Morrant once each, so my judgement may very well be clouded slightly. That said, I do remember when my brother bought a substantial amount of Slazenger kit from them in the late '90s by mail order and the service was top notch.

In store, the guy in there was able to answer any queries I had, although to be honest I did go in December, not really the time to be looking at cricket gear.

As for VKS, I'd say they had more bats on offer on the shop floor, including the four of the big names (Gunn & Moore, Kookaburra, Gray Nicolls and Puma), two of the biggest southern boutique brands (Newbery and Salix) as well as a fair offering of SS gear (they're the only official dealer in the UK iirc). Because I wasn't actually looking to buy anything at the time, I didn't need any assistance, but folk on other forums have said that one of the guys that works there always tries to force you into a corner and suggesting that there's only one bat for you.

The Lord's shop is alright, they have all the big name stuff in there, but the prices tend to be up in the clouds. I haven't been in the Oval shop since 2009 so can't say for sure what it's like, other than that they'll have a lot of replica Surrey and England gear as it's an international venue. They do tend to have academy players working the till so I got to have a nice conversation with an offspinner about the effects of trion:z bracelets.

Actually AWJ Bhai Opener Bhai is right GM 808 range will be very good and probably better than Kookaburra's.

Opener Bhai, I haven't used a Kookaburra but I have seen a Blade 950 very very closely as a club mate has it. I don't know what's wrong but I didn't find it very good, its not pinging maybe that's because it has very very high sweetspot.

My club mate got 2 808's so let's see how good they turn out to be.

Also keep in mind GM MD Edward Lowry has said that Shane Watson also use or have used 808 range.

Ainakwalajinn, I have played with you many times. You're right that your only shot is the forward-defensive.:manzoor

Since you are going to open you will need a light bat, not that the bowling in 4th Division will be more than 100 kph but still a light bat will be better for you.

I have a Kookaburra Blade 250 and it's a very good bat. Cheap also. Since you like Kookaburra you should maybe go for a Blade 250 or 500. Blade is also available in superlight, 2.6. It should suit you, the lighter the better for you. And to be honest the level of cricket in the lower divisions of Norway is so poor that you can play with a plank and still score runs.

Go for a Blade and score runs like Morgan! Or maybe become a flashy opener like Philip Hughes...

I agree with Ali Raja that lower end Kookaburras will be good, I have seen some beauties in 250 mind you :)

You're right. I remember Majid V3 had a very good Blade 250, ours isn't that bad either. Good value for your money, only cost us 60 odd pounds...

Salam brooorshan :inzi

Long time ago, my favourite new ball bowler :amir Where did you get this bat?

Some good posts here guys, thanks :) So it looks like I will go for a SH light bat. I have checked cricshop.com, worldcricketstore.com and eBay to check prices, but I will most likely get a feel of the bat before getting it. So I need to know some good shops in London from where I can try a few bats. Will bring a list of 3-4 bats, and then pick the best from that one.

While we are at it, how big difference does an extra (or two extra) grips make? I have a brand new grip in my room, and have heard that some people use two or three grips?

Salam brooorshan :inzi

Long time ago, my favourite new ball bowler :amir Where did you get this bat?

Some good posts here guys, thanks :) So it looks like I will go for a SH light bat. I have checked cricshop.com, worldcricketstore.com and eBay to check prices, but I will most likely get a feel of the bat before getting it. So I need to know some good shops in London from where I can try a few bats. Will bring a list of 3-4 bats, and then pick the best from that one.

While we are at it, how big difference does an extra (or two extra) grips make? I have a brand new grip in my room, and have heard that some people use two or three grips?

If you need to shortlist four bats, here's some help:

Kookaburra Blade
GM Icon
GN Quantum
Slazenger V100

These four are some of the better light weight bats around as far as I'm concerned.

As for the grips; they make a huge difference to some, others like myself don't really fuss about them. Best thing is to try it out once you get your bat and see what it does for you.

Good luck and you'll find a beauty of a bat Inshallah.

Thanks bro.

Talking about bat weight's, I guess we should "speak" in these 2'10 lb bla bla thingys and no one lists their bat weight in Kg's :ibutt

So I am seeing that most light bat's are: Light 2' 8- 2' 10
And superlight is around 2'6-2'8 ?

Looking at the G&M Icon DXM
What is the difference between 505 & 808 a part from the price?

Generally "superlight" is anything less than 2.7 while 2.7-2.9 is considered light. I wouldn't worry too much about specific weights as every bat will feel different in the hands. Your best bet is to go into the shop and see which bat ends up being most comfortable for you.

You'll soon find that a 2.6 Kookaburra may feel the same as a 2.8 Slazenger or vice-versa. Like I said, once you get in the shop you never know what's going to tickle your fancy.

True, thanks. A friend of mine is in India atm, and he just bought a GM 303 for around £60.
Should I go for it? LOL

303s cost £40 in England.

Hm... I just did some calculations in my head. Here is what he paid:

4,000.00 INR = 54.8495 GBP

He said he can buy one for me as well, but I think I should check it out before getting it as this will be my first time and I am not intending to buy bat's each season :zoni

If you're going to be in London anyways, there's no need to have your friend bring over a bat.

I personally use the Icon 303 and can't recommend it enough! When you get down to the shops have a look and I'm sure you'll like the Icon just as much as everyone else does.

I'm surprised your bat is playing well considering it is bleached. Because all the bleached bats I have used have all been worst than planks

It's not bleached, it's polycoated. GM states that they bleach everything 606 and below but it's more of a precautionary statement as generally they aren't.

Bleaching doesn't necessarily have much of an impact on durability or performance, it's purely aesthetic.

jinn bhai are a millionaire or something you go to school in a plane!?

With your soon to be massive collection of bats on board. :D

Hm... Nah :farhat
I hardly play any cricket because of my remote location :zoni

But will insha Allah post pictures here when I get my first proper bat! :)

Assalamu Aleikum all di buoyz that on the forum are larke :inzi

So yesterday was my first indoor practice after a very long time. Have not played hardball/indoor cricket for almost two years. As 90% of my shots are the forward defensive, things wen't very well. I went as an opener (we played a 15 overs match) and wicket's were falling around me, but I stood my ground as I wanted to bat out. My vice captain (captaincy debut for me) told me after 5 overs that we need to give another guy batting practice, so I tried to hit but got caught, anyway that is something to work on.

Bottom line is, now I kind of know how the season will be. The team will rely on me to bat out 30 overs, and I will go as an opener. The determination and temperament is there, but in this case I need the help of my best friend - My cricket bat.

I tried my Indian friends GM bat which I mentioned earlier. It is a LUNA 303, I am not sure about the weight but it was much heavier than my other friends Reebok bat which stated 2'10 lb. Also, my Indian friend told me that this bat is not 100% original, as you guys said. The toe end was different I think, probably an old SS bat. Anyway, I preferred the Reebok one and the weight was quite decent being at 2'10. So I am looking forward to trying the 2'8 from GM Icon.

One question: Is there a difference in lift up and bat weight in GM Icon if the weight is the same? Now I mean difference between 303, 505, 707, 808, 909, Original, etc?

Pickup and balance on all GM's will be same as all of them are made by machine so I seriously doubt it to be different.

PS : I am talking about angrazi GM not desi ones :)

The pickup may vary between the models, Originals/LEs can come up slightly lighter.

pi24.gif

Awesome, thanks guys.

But what about the 707 and lower? Their weight is more than the Original? :(

Salaam awaam. So I took that test on GM's homepage and it told me to go for the GM DXM Luna between 303 to 505 :13:

I think I just have to find the best cricket shop in London and try a few there...

I don't quitw agree with that, my mate bought Flare 808 and I bought Lune 808 and both are above 2.7 and below 2.8 lbs.

Na mate...............they come in all weights..........that chart is #$#%@% if u ask me.......... just gotta look around and see what weights the lower end bats come in.

CC bhai, I know I am probably really starting to bug you because I keep asking so sorry.

But yaar when are you getting the bat inshallah. I am eagerly awaiting the review.

Again apologies if I am keep on asking questions.

QS..............lol no problem at all...........will be a while as my grandfather just left for england 3 days ago and he will not be returning for atleast another month or so. Sorry for the delay lol.........but I cant get it any sooner............even im eagerly waiting!!!! :D

JazakallahKhair bhai.

I wish your grand father a happy and safe stay inshallah.

I know the feeling bhai, you just can't wait any longer. But trust me if you be patient then Allah (SWT) will give you a great bat inshallah.:)

Thanks a ton QS............I really cant wait though lol............im getting a GM icon original from owzat...... I sure hope it turns out good!

Nobody knows which bat he actually uses.

Don't believe what you see, there are possibilities that Fawad might use different brand bats with Boom Boom stickers.

normally the bat is like advertising space which anyone can buy. but what i see now a days is that most companies want their sponsored players to use their own gear. and they tend to make the gear to the players' liking.

if you like the boom boom bat that fawad endorses, then just go for it.

Assalamu Aleikum all di buoyz :D

After seriously considering the GM Icon DXM and making up my mind and preparing mentally :inti (you guys know, jab itni mehngi investment karni hoti hai, then us desi awaam have to think about it day in and day out :irfan).

Anyway, I was making this shopping list yesterday of everything I need, and the price kept rising and rising. And then I thinked to myself, that I will miss out on most of our league games because of travelling here and there :ibutt so is it really necessary?

Therefore, I have decided to not buy any cricket equipment this year, but I will most likely do it next year, insha Allah.

I was so determined to get the GM Icon DXM, almost ordered it a few times as well, but khayr. Has to think rationally sometimes, really don't got the money :butt

Anyway, jazak Allah and a big thanks to everyone who has contributed in this post! :)
I will try to post pictures of the bat's I will be using this year, most likely any of these:

- My friend's extra woodworm bat, quite light
- My friend's Malik Zulfi something bat, light
- My friend's custom made bat for his height, weight and power :afridi
- My friend's CA bat

As you can see, I totally rely on my friends and yes I have more than one friend, so they all do not belong to the same guy :fawad