Loadshedding will be history in 2018, says PM Nawaz Sharif

Strike Rate

ISLAMABAD: Expressing confidence that his government will meet the deadline set by it to end electricity loadshedding in the country, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has said that by 2018 loadshedding will be a story of the past.

He was speaking at a meeting of the Cabinet Committee on Energy at the Prime Minister House on Tuesday, which was also attended by Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif.

After a briefing by the ministry of water and power, the prime minister said, “After the completion of ongoing projects, a significant addition of power to the national grid will eliminate loadshedding in Pakistan for all time to come.”

Earlier, Water and Power Secretary Younus Dagha briefed the committee on the ongoing power projects scheduled to be completed before March 2018.

They include three liquefied natural gas-based plants in Bhikki, Haveli Bahadur Shah and Baloki with the collective capacity of 3,600MW; Chashma 3 and 4 nuclear power plants with the capacity of 340MW each; 400MW Guddu gas-based plant; 250MW Faisalabad plant; 1,320MW imported coal-based Sahiwal plant; and 1,320MW Port Qasim plant. The meeting was also told that several projects based on wind power and bagasse would produce 350MW.

Among the hydel plants in line are Patrind with the capacity of 147MW, Neelum-Jhelum of 969MW and Tarbella 4 Extension of 1,410MW.

The meeting was told that 11,131MW would be added to the national grid by March 2018.

The prime minister also inquired about the state of transmission and distribution network in the country.

He was told that several projects were being executed to improve the transmission system to enable it to smoothly distribute power to be generated by the new plants.

Mr Sharif said that he would personally monitor progress of work on the ongoing power projects and also visit the sites of the projects to ensure their timely completion.

Never in the history of the country such a huge investment had been made into the energy sector, he said. “The government is working not only to meet energy shortfall but also to cater to future needs of the country.”

He said that increased power generation would contribute to economic growth, employment generation, industrial activity and foreign investment.

The meeting was attended by federal Finance Minister Ishaq Dar, Petroleum Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Minister for Water and Power Khawaja Asif and Special Assistant to the Prime Minister Tariq Fatemi.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1281110/loadshedding-will-be-history-in-2018-says-pm

If this happens one my friend who is a die hard supporter and voter of PMLN will vote against them for the first time :yk because no load-shedding means an end to his UPS and Batteries business :))

Not only that, PM said "Jis raftaar se hum bijli paida kar raha hain, mujhay dar hai k kahi surplus hi na ho jaaye" :))

For once, I do believe him. Maybe all the projects won't be over by 2018 but by 2020 you can expect that to happen.

My main problem is that half of it is coal projects because they want to be done with load-shedding by election time and coal projects are finished faster than dams or nuclear plants.

Btw, Does Pakistan actually have electricity shortfall ? None whatsoever. They say Current infrastructure can generate electricity well in excess of demand.

Electricity crisis, Absolutely ridiculous story but unfortunately a well sold one.

Because most of us are :yk there is a reason they are leading our country! you really think any sane majority will elect them?

Not only that, PM said "Jis raftaar se hum bijli paida kar raha hain, mujhay dar hai k kahi surplus hi na ho jaaye" :))

The same party who used to say we would solve this issue within 6 months of coming into power, how convenient that 2018 just happens to be election year. :91:

someone need to find all those 3 maheene or 6 maheene main loadshadding khatam na kerdoon to naam badal dena waale clips and post here :yk

Zardari ko sarkon par na ghaseeta toh mere naam sharif nahi :zardari2

If Pinochio was real his nose would have been so big due to their lies they could have built an entire motorway from Karachi to Lahore on it.

Zardari ko sarkon par na ghaseeta toh mere naam sharif nahi :zardari2

If Pinochio was real his nose would have been so big due to their lies they could have built an entire motorway from Karachi to Lahore on it.

oye zardari qaum ki daulat wapis kerdo wagerna pait main hath ker nikaal lunga :)))

He probably meant loadshedding will be historic i.e. unprecedented in 2018. He isn't the most articulate of people, our PM.

I actually kinda believe him this time because they will found a way if they want to win next elections but after winning things will be back to normal :yk

I always wonder from where all the electricity comes when they announce on events like Eid, 12 Rabi-ul-Awal etc that there will be no load shading? If they can manage it on those days why not on other days or for longer period?

Isn't the election then too? Maybe he'll be history in 2018:afridi

It seems that these crooks have a hold on the population, which to the rational person is difficult to explain, they kill people in broad daylight and nothing happens, they launder and steal at will and nothing happens.

For once, I do believe him. Maybe all the projects won't be over by 2018 but by 2020 you can expect that to happen.

My main problem is that half of it is coal projects because they want to be done with load-shedding by election time and coal projects are finished faster than dams or nuclear plants.

I can't remember from any of your previous posts when you didn't believe him, but from understanding the capacity was already there, so why hasn't it been already solved. Showbaz promised that it would be solved in 6 months but nothing happened. They are lucky that we have a population that has the IQ of an average Millwall fan, and they have a very pliant media, easily paid off.

You'd be pretty stupid to believe that a 10 000 MW shortfall can be solved in 6 months. Maybe IK has a magic wand that makes nuclear reactors appear out of thin air.

I actually kinda believe him this time because they will found a way if they want to win next elections but after winning things will be back to normal :yk

I always wonder from where all the electricity comes when they announce on events like Eid, 12 Rabi-ul-Awal etc that there will be no load shading? If they can manage it on those days why not on other days or for longer period?

Maybe they have more load-shedding in the days/weeks leading up to the event. It's easy to do when most of your installed capacity is from dams, they are very modulable.

You'd be pretty stupid to believe that a 10 000 MW shortfall can be solved in 6 months. Maybe IK has a magic wand that makes nuclear reactors appear out of thin air.

In Summers of 2013 shortfall was around 5000-6000 MW on average and in winter it was around 3000. I hope PMLN also knows that the demand will probably increase in 2018 so their current numbers are not based on current demand. Last time PM gave this statement of no load shadding in 2018 the very next day Power Minister Khawaja Asif said it can't be fixed in 2018 because demand will also increase with capacity.

Yes and the projects from CPEC combined offer above 10k MW of installed capacity (maybe more). I don't think it will be finished by 2018, PML-N wants that for the elections. It will probably be 2020. So if PTI wins the elections, they can probably take credit for it. Which is giving Mian Saab sleepless nights.

Construction of Lahore Metro train is also on stay by high court order so can't see it completing before election as well to use in election campaign but i think PMLN will beat PTI easily in Punjab and will secure some seats here and there in other provinces to form federal govt again. Nobody knows Punjab politics better than PMLN when it comes to picking electables. For example in today Burewala Elections the PMLN candidate Ch Yusuf was Independent candidate in 2013 elections and PMLN candidate lost the seat in 2013 but this time they didn't give ticket to that PMLN candidate and instead the ticket was given to same Independent candidate Ch Yusuf and he won today again. (by a margin of around 1000 vote against PTI's Ayesha Nazeer)

Sharif is right. I have worked on the CPEC. Loadshedding would end by 2018, hopefully. Burn for his haters though which are mostly the immigrants that have nothing to do with Pakistan.

LOL. Like if this is going to happen.

Wrong. Kindly check the planning commission's website. You are ill informed in this matter.

LOL. Like if this is going to happen.

You never know. IK has shown himself ready to collaborate with all the corrupt people he used to criticize if it gets him the coveted PM seat. He could get a coalition going with all the thugs in the country.

Sharif is right. I have worked on the CPEC. Loadshedding would end by 2018, hopefully. Burn for his haters though which are mostly the immigrants that have nothing to do with Pakistan.

Not all of them are immigrants. Some of us living in Pakistan have the first hand experience of his 90s politics thats why we find it hard to believe him. But if something good is happening we will appreciate it because in the end what matter is the progress of Pakistan and not the success of political parties or leaders.

There are many good people in PMLN as well but they are never given the chances to come in front because that means they will take the credit away from shareef family it's sad but it's true they love the limelight and the throne will never go out of shareef family.

btw 2 MNAs of PMLN from my district are most nikame and nikhatoo i can seen them losing both of their seats in next elections if PTI do some work on ground otherwise the independent candidates are also very strong to beat them..

You never know. IK has shown himself ready to collaborate with all the corrupt people he used to criticize if it gets him the coveted PM seat. He could get a coalition going with all the thugs in the country.

Last time i checked only a couple of those new faces like Murad Saeed and Asad Omar won on PTI tickets otherwise even in PTI people gave vote to those same old faces who came from other parties like JH, SMQ etc. It's our mindset that never changes so in Pakistan you need to follow the TTF formula of pak cricket.

People are not that dumb that they would vote PPP thugs back in power and PTI has not done enough to garner more votes. They have been nothing but hot air.

[MENTION=141718]LowKiiSavage[/MENTION] [MENTION=132752]endymion248[/MENTION]

Thiis what i was talking about directly from the horse mouth (Federal Minister for Water and Electricity Khawaja Asif). He mentioned it just 2 months ago

The short fall of electricity will reach 7000 megawatt in 2018

Federal Minister for Water and Power Khawaja Asif on Thursday said that it can take 4 to 5 years to end electricity load shedding, Dunya News reported.

According to details, the federal minister ridded himself of giving dates over and over again by saying once and for all that ending electricity load shedding can take 4 to 5 years.

Asif did not even take the risk of guaranteeing the promise. Not only did he ruin the dreams of ending of load shedding by the year 2018, he also didn’t care for the promises Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has been making.

http://dunyanews.tv/en/Pakistan/316071-Load-shedding-cannot-be-controlled-till-2018-Khaw

Not all of them are immigrants. Some of us living in Pakistan have the first hand experience of his 90s politics thats why we find it hard to believe him. But if something good is happening we will appreciate it because in the end what matter is the progress of Pakistan and not the success of political parties or leaders.

There are many good people in PMLN as well but they are never given the chances to come in front because that means they will take the credit away from shareef family it's sad but it's true they love the limelight and the throne will never go out of shareef family.

btw 2 MNAs of PMLN from my district are most nikame and nikhatoo i can seen them losing both of their seats in next elections if PTI do some work on ground otherwise the independent candidates are also very strong to beat them..

And i thought he governed better in the 90s going by the popular opinion? Haha. Exactly. That is something i believe in too. I just despise the hatred people give out without any reason and therefore i always end up siding with the victim or the under dog. I have never gotten the chance to vote in elections so far.

Yeah, we share mutual dislike for how the PMLN hierarchy works. I hope someday they go beyond them being sharif family's kingdom.

I hope they do if they are not working. Use your vote!

Wrong how? didn't khawaja asif gave that statement the next day after PM?

[MENTION=141718]LowKiiSavage[/MENTION] [MENTION=132752]endymion248[/MENTION]

Thiis what i was talking about directly from the horse mouth (Federal Minister for Water and Electricity Khawaja Asif). He mentioned it just 2 months ago

http://dunyanews.tv/en/Pakistan/316071-Load-shedding-cannot-be-controlled-till-2018-Khaw

How old is this statement SR? The supply exceeds demand in 2018 as per PC's documents.

Last time i checked only a couple of those new faces like Murad Saeed and Asad Omar won on PTI tickets otherwise even in PTI people gave vote to those same old faces who came from other parties like JH, SMQ etc. It's our mindset that never changes so in Pakistan you need to follow the TTF formula of pak cricket.

What's the point of IK if he can't change mindsets? Might as well go with the TTFs rather than the one aiming to be a TTF.

And i thought he governed better in the 90s going by the popular opinion? Haha. Exactly. That is something i believe in too. I just despise the hatred people give out without any reason and therefore i always end up siding with the victim or the under dog. I have never gotten the chance to vote in elections so far.

Yeah, we share mutual dislike for how the PMLN hierarchy works. I hope someday they go beyond them being sharif family's kingdom.

I hope they do if they are not working. Use your vote!

90s was nothing more than dramas after dramas and cheap tactics to somehow get the power. People blame Army and Establishment all the time but it's actually our power hungry leaders who give them a chance to play. If you ever get a chance do read about 90s politics start it from IJI and funding that Nawaz and IJI leaders received from ISI to derail an elected goverment of benazir.

What's the point of IK if he can't change mindsets? Might as well go with the TTFs rather than the one aiming to be a TTF.

It will take a long time to change the mindset that is build in decades but a little change is still there so at least something positive is happening with these few new faces.

Glad you admitted that you support someone who is a failure and will always fail at what he calls his aim.

How old is this statement SR? The supply exceeds demand in 2018 as per PC's documents.

4 January 2016 (this year) just a day after PM Nawaz mentioned same exact statement that he mentioned today. Even recently i have seen Khawaja Asif avoiding this topic and any promise so maybe PM knows better or Federal Minister for Water and Electricity is being careful after all those fake 6 months, 3 months drama promises of Kaham-e-Aala and Wazreen-e-Azam.

Glad you admitted that you support someone who is a failure and will always fail at what he calls his aim.

Not the first time and i have always been saying when both (in this case three) choices are evil the only solution left is going for lesser of two evils until the best solution appear. Everybody have his own views and reason to support someone. PTI is far from being perfect but i find PTI better than PMLN and PPP so i support them.

You don't have to support anyone, you know. You should keep your moral high ground intact by not supporting any of these crooks. Just vote and get on with your life.

Why not support lesser evil (in my personal opinion) when i think bigger once can cause more trouble?

Yes we are the immigrants, we are the ones to send billions back to PK, unlike your political daddy who likes to send billions abroad. Yes we are the haters, the haters of criminal politicians and their idiotic supporters.

I feel sad when immigrants are criticized for even raising their voice against corruption sometime we ignore the fact that this country is running on remittances and loans while exports and services continue to go down. In just the first quarter of 2016 the remittance was 5+ billion dollar and on average we are getting 15-18 billion dollar every year in remittance from last few years. Now imagine even decreasing it by 25% and there even IMF will not be able to help you no matter how much interest you pay them.

Adding to my last post about remittance. Saudi Arabia is the largest source of remittances for Pakistan (last year it was around 6 billion dollar). An estimated population of Pakistani work force in Saudi Arabia is more than 2 million and many of them started losing their jobs recently thanks to the downfall of Bin Laden group of companies so get ready to see a decrease in remittance and i am not sure if even 20% of them come back home in next few years how will we arrange jobs for them with our current unemployment rate?

What kind of Power plants are being installed?

What is going to be the cost of per unit of electricity supplied?

What kind of Power plants are being installed?

What is going to be the cost of per unit of electricity supplied?

lol thats a super specific question

anyways they are mostly coal based

Adding to my last post about remittance. Saudi Arabia is the largest source of remittances for Pakistan (last year it was around 6 billion dollar). An estimated population of Pakistani work force in Saudi Arabia is more than 2 million and many of them started losing their jobs recently thanks to the downfall of Bin Laden group of companies so get ready to see a decrease in remittance and i am not sure if even 20% of them come back home in next few years how will we arrange jobs for them with our current unemployment rate?

Read somewhere it decreased from USA by 30%(I think) with unknown reasons.

No chance

Considering you are a university student till recently i dont even know how you have worked on cpec lol. And in any case as far as pak is concerned most of the financing aspect of the work is done in karachi. Or is your idea of working on cpec making a presentation,

Also just saying that you have worked on CPEC as if its one big project is pretty naive

I have actually worked on the 2 main coal projects and been specifically been involved in securing the funding. Most of them are ultra riskyinvestments from Pakistan;s perspectives whereas the Chinese banks and equity partners have generally been offered the upside without any downside. For them its a win-win situation. Similar with the projects under federal govt mandate , the tarriff quotes offered are absolutely unbelievably high

Majority of these projects are deft financed at close to unsustainable rates. They are being sold as Chinese investment to the masses as if Chinese state and corporations are putting in their own equity. This far from the truth

So you think pml-n people will join PTI? I presume the thugs you mean the Gullu butt and pml-n cronies who killed dozen plus people in model town?

No you don't.

The remittances come from gulf mostly and those guys are Pakistan citizens

Read somewhere it decreased from USA by 30%(I think) with unknown reasons.

It's a fact our country at the moment can't run without remittances so we need to look at the factor involved in decreasing it and i don't know why Govt isn't considering giving some special benefits to overseas Pakistanis because they deserve it and that will only increase the the numbers. For example IIRC back in early days of Mush era this incentive scheme was launched for overseas pakistanis where they were given concessions in customs based on the amount they send back home every year.

lol thats a super specific question

anyways they are mostly coal based

Imported Coal?

And that question is most important.Because the electricity produced have to be affordable else the plants may not be viable in future.

Will these plants be owned and operated by Chinese?

Majority of these projects are deft financed at close to unsustainable rates. They are being sold as Chinese investment to the masses as if Chinese state and corporations are putting in their own equity. This far from the truth

You should be thankful now it's considered as an investment because during dherna days it was labeled as a gift from china and dherna was standing between goverment of pakistan and the big gift.

Imported Coal?

And that question is most important.Because the electricity produced have to be affordable else the plants may not be viable in future.

Will these plants be owned and operated by Chinese?

No. 2 of the projects are based in Sindh. Massive coal reserves there in thar especially

So you think pml-n people will join PTI? I presume the thugs you mean the Gullu butt and pml-n cronies who killed dozen plus people in model town?

Not joining PTI, I think IK would be ready to form a coalition government with parties like PSP, JUI, MMA or even PPP if it makes him Prime Minister.

So it's OK for the Nooras to stay in power with the support of Maulana Diesel, have Muk Muka with the PPP but it's wrong for IK. For the greater good the PTI should form a coalition with anybody willing to reform the captured state institutions by the Sharifs. I would like to see them start with the corrupt SC and move on to the police, NAB and FBR.

No. 2 of the projects are based in Sindh. Massive coal reserves there in thar especially

China is closing down their own Coal plants in next 5 years.I think this is China pushing their equipment and coal into Pakistan.Dont know why coal plants are being installed

Thar doesnt produce enough coal to feed all the power plants.Coal based power plants require huge quantities.Also if Chinese are going to operate it,what is the minimum ROI that has been guaranteed?

Not confirmed all names but saw this small lota list on Twitter today [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] [MENTION=132752]endymion248[/MENTION]

CrBJiaFWcAAt-5L.jpg

So it's OK for the Nooras to stay in power with the support of Maulana Diesel, have Muk Muka with the PPP but it's wrong for IK. For the greater good the PTI should form a coalition with anybody willing to reform the captured state institutions by the Sharifs. I would like to see them start with the corrupt SC and move on to the police, NAB and FBR.

5 years ago PPP was the enemy n°1 and Zardari the most corrupt person on earth and today PTI wants collaboration because they are against PML-N now.

Nobody more short-sighted than IK and his loyal insafiyaans.

8 years from now you guys will be collaborating with PML-N if it's not in power.

I really don't know whether it's goldfish memories or IK and his janissaries are that power hungry.

In order to stay in power the Nooras have taken the short cut but the pay back will be over decades.

Shows that you don't live in Pakistan. Instead of appreciating that load-shedding could end, which is the number one problem of anyone living in Pakistan, you are worried that it will help PML-N's popularity. No amount of money spent on ending load-shedding is wasted. Any loan taken for this end will repay itself just by the growth in industry and agriculture from reliable energy provision.

Wasted? Sorry but i guess you are not living in Pakistan? There was a Nandipur if you don't know the story google it? and in first budget back in 2013 Govt paid Rs 480 billion circular debt to decrease electricity crisis that resulted in nothing no improvment and we had to wait for CPEC to see some real work being done not just talks and papers thanks to chinese.

How did Nandipur solve the energy crisis? It has exactly zero relationship with the CPEC debt which Bewal is criticizing because he can't find anything else to criticize about this capital improvement in Pakistan's future outlook.

Yes, the Chinese and the military played a part in these projects not being a fiasco like Nandipur.

Credit where it's due, which insafiyaans obviously have a hard time doing since they can't see beyond IK. They'll gawk over some one-lane road in Swat but it kills them that CPEC is happening under PML-N.

Partisan politics aside, this CPEC business has a too-good-to-be-true air to it. The Chinese are taking our government for a ride, and the government is taking the people for one.

Twenty years from now, the masses may well be cursing the Chinese the way they always curse the empire du jour. Except the Saudis of course. Our people never curse them.

5 years ago PPP was the enemy n°1 and Zardari the most corrupt person on earth and today PTI wants collaboration because they are against PML-N now.

Nobody more short-sighted than IK and his loyal insafiyaans.

8 years from now you guys will be collaborating with PML-N if it's not in power.

I really don't know whether it's goldfish memories or IK and his janissaries are that power hungry.

Thanks for your moral lessons, the PPP is corrupt but not corrupt enough for you guys and your leaders to be in cahoots with their leaders. But old Ch Nisar has thrown a spanner in the works by not releasing AZ girlfriend and his buddy from prison, hence the falling out. IK must do whatever it takes to destroy the Noora mafia, and I for one thinks that he should now look for a seat adjustment with the PPP just to spite the murdering Nooras.

No chance

Considering you are a university student till recently i dont even know how you have worked on cpec lol. And in any case as far as pak is concerned most of the financing aspect of the work is done in karachi. Or is your idea of working on cpec making a presentation,

I was working with MBL Corp investment before. I was involved in their recent Neelum Jhelum Sukuk and have been part of their CPEC team. I was assigned by my university under a partnership.

He is man of the words. Call him anything but whatever he promised, he delivered. I think the project is near completed so it makes sense to save it for the election time. That explains why Imran Khan is getting desperate.

When am I getting the bullet train from the man of his word

It was gonna get me to Peshawar in 8 hrs

When am I getting the bullet train from the man of his word

It was gonna get me to Peshawar in 8 hrs

Zardar and Musharraf both were supposed to be punished and behind the bars, loadshading was going to be history in 3 to 6 months and hum Musharraf ke saathyon (PMLQ) waale loton ko kabhi sath nae milayenge. list of promises is too long :yk

His brother promised to drag AZ through the streets, any chance?

Ok can anyone please answer this as i am getting lot of conflicting news on this.

How much of 46bn is investment and how much is loan?

What are the areas of investment and what are the areas of loan?

What is the tenure and rate of interest on the loans?

What is the Return on investment that has been guaranteed if any?

Are there any fixed tariffs that China will pay Pakistan for use of Gwadar port and the transit roads?

Ok can anyone please answer this as i am getting lot of conflicting news on this.

Are there any fixed tariffs that China will pay Pakistan for use of Gwadar port and the transit roads?

Nobody knows because the Nooras wont tell us.

What do you mean that they wont tell us?If anyone is leasing/selling national resources then the financial aspect of that deal has to be public knowledge.There has been various judgements in various courts in various countries that has affirmed that fact.

If the financials are not revealed how can one just say its 46bn investment etc etc.Dont they need to atleast convince the intelligensia of what they are saying is correct.

In simple terms what is the NPV of CPEC( Only Finance, No Politics :-)

not confirmed but i heard lahore metro train money was also coming from CPEC and when other provinces started raising fingers than khadam-e-aala contacted some chinese bank to get a loan for the project :13: