Maha Kumbh Pilgrimage - The largest gathering of humans on the planet

Bhaijaan

Hall of Famer
So, 450 million people are expected to be attending Mahakumbh this year and personally speaking after years of looking at it as just some mela, i have come to understand how big and important an event it is. The largest gathering of humans on Earth, drawing millions of devotees, ascetics, and spiritual tourists from around the globe. It is without a doubt an unparalleled spiritual and cultural phenomenon.

For muslim friends and other curious people, The Mahakumbh traces its origins to the Samundra Manthan (churning of the ocean) described in Hindu scriptures. During the churning, the amrit (nectar of immortality) emerged, and drops of it spilled at the four Kumbh locations, making them sacred. Taking a dip in the Holy Ganges, Yamuna and the Mythical Saraswati at these sites during the Mahakumbh is believed to cleanse one’s soul.

Moving forward, I hope this thousands of years old tradition’s legacy is honoured by the respective governments and a good amount of money is invested to make this event bigger and better and more inclusive than ever before. Due to the openness of Sanatan Dharma, people of all sects and religions are welcome. Onus is on the GOI, UP govt to make Mahakumbh truly international because it’s a celebration of humanity.

IMG_7990.jpeg

The Hajj of India, minus the organizational skills of a Saudi Arabia.

Stay away if you value your hygiene and safety.

Several Tents On Fire At Maha Kumbh In Prayagraj. PM Dials Yogi Adityanath​

A fire broke out after two gas cylinders exploded inside a tent at the Maha Kumbh venue in Uttar Pradesh's Prayagraj, the police said. The fire spread to 18 tents, burning them to the ground.

There were no reports of injuries, the police said.

Fire trucks already parked at the venue as part of the safety arrangement at the massive Maha Kumbh rushed to the affected area and doused the blaze, officials said.

People living in surrounding tents were evacuated for safety.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi spoke with Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath to ask about the incident, sources said. The chief minister sent senior officials to the affected site to check the situation.

"Two cylinders exploded in Sector 19 of the Maha Kumbh Mela, causing a massive fire in the camps. Firefighters doused the blaze," Akhara police station in-charge Bhaskar Mishra said, news agency PTI reported.

The official X handle of the Maha Kumbh posted, "Very sad. The fire incident at Maha Kumbh has shocked everyone. The administration is ensuring immediate relief and rescue operations. We pray to Maa Ganga for everyone's safety."

The 45-day Maha Kumbh started on January 13. More than 7.72 crore people have taken the holy dip, according to official figures available till Saturday. Officials said more than 46.95 lakh devotees did the snan (holy dip) on Sunday.

Sadly i won't be attending

Several Tents On Fire At Maha Kumbh In Prayagraj. PM Dials Yogi Adityanath​

A fire broke out after two gas cylinders exploded inside a tent at the Maha Kumbh venue in Uttar Pradesh's Prayagraj, the police said. The fire spread to 18 tents, burning them to the ground.

There were no reports of injuries, the police said.

Fire trucks already parked at the venue as part of the safety arrangement at the massive Maha Kumbh rushed to the affected area and doused the blaze, officials said.

People living in surrounding tents were evacuated for safety.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi spoke with Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath to ask about the incident, sources said. The chief minister sent senior officials to the affected site to check the situation.

"Two cylinders exploded in Sector 19 of the Maha Kumbh Mela, causing a massive fire in the camps. Firefighters doused the blaze," Akhara police station in-charge Bhaskar Mishra said, news agency PTI reported.

The official X handle of the Maha Kumbh posted, "Very sad. The fire incident at Maha Kumbh has shocked everyone. The administration is ensuring immediate relief and rescue operations. We pray to Maa Ganga for everyone's safety."

The 45-day Maha Kumbh started on January 13. More than 7.72 crore people have taken the holy dip, according to official figures available till Saturday. Officials said more than 46.95 lakh devotees did the snan (holy dip) on Sunday.

It is always going to be a huge challenge to manage hundreds of millions of people. This is where we must strive to constantly improve and get better. I am sure we will. The arrangements are already so much better than they used to be decades ago.

I saw the visuals and it does not help the perception and image of India as being a hellhole of bad hygiene and malnourished population.

It was disgusting to see people taking dunks in a polluted river, and the size of indian population is scary. Its a ticking time bomb for the whole world. If anything India desperately needs a one child policy.

I saw the visuals and it does not help the perception and image of India as being a hellhole of bad hygiene and malnourished population.

It was disgusting to see people taking dunks in a polluted river, and the size of indian population is scary. Its a ticking time bomb for the whole world. If anything India desperately needs a one child policy.

Steve Jobs’ wife is attending the event in memory of her husband. What do the cynics know about the Kumbh that someone of such stature doesn’t.

The West has for long tried to do this with Bharat. To present a negative image of it but things have changed. This year record number of foreign travels are attending the event.

Steve Jobs’ wife is attending the event in memory of her husband. What do the cynics know about the Kumbh that someone of such stature doesn’t.

The West has for long tried to do this with Bharat. To present a negative image of it but things have changed. This year record number of foreign travels are attending the event.
I couldnt care less about what Jobs wife is doing.

India’s tourism industry has not been doing well, even Indians prefer to go to SEA instead of Goa.

I have been observing the India society very closely since the past two years on social media and in person too. I dont understand the false sense of grandeur, when people have such awful opinions about Indians and India in reality. India has regressed after adoption of its Hindutva identity, the population has gone more backward and radical.

Missions like Swatch Bharat have fallen apart, and the country is becoming more and more service industry focused. Indian culture is alien to the west, and the burgeoning population is becoming a burden to the whole world.

I couldnt care less about what Jobs wife is doing. Jobs was a failure as a human being, a vile person who never even owned his daughter.

India’s tourism industry has not been doing well, even Indians prefer to go to SEA instead of Goa.

I have been observing the India society very closely since the past two years on social media and in person too. I dont understand the false sense of grandeur, when people have such awful opinions about Indians and India in reality. India has regressed after adoption of its Hindutva identity, the population has gone more backward and radical.

Missions like Swatch Bharat have fallen apart, and the country is becoming more and more service industry focused. Indian culture is alien to the west, and the burgeoning population is becoming a burden to the whole world.

You said a lot of things at once and all of them are a different subject. Goa tourism went not because someone had an issue with the country but because other places look more value for money not just to foreigners but to our own people. Goa is expensive.

Foreign tourists are so common Bharat today they roam everywhere and no one bothers them. Either you come here with figures that prove there’s been a drop in foreign tourists the you’ll have a point but the records suggest that we are seeing more tourists and business visitors than ever before.

I think as long as this stays in India it won't be a problem. It is when they go abroad in large numbers that you start getting resentment. I know Musk is keen on importing cheap employment on H1-B visas to the US, but that is likely to see a rise in ant-Indian sentiment similar to Canada if it is allowed unchecked.

A country like Bharat has to often keep a check on unnecessary privatization and price hikes wrt such events that are for the entire humanity regardless of who is rich or poor. Anyone who’s comparing this with Mecca has to be really ignorant about how expensive and unaffordable Hajj has become for the majority of the Muslims and then the weather in Saudi and Bharat aren’t comparable. They don’t have a huge water body to take care of.

In the Kumbh you have luxury accommodations where the rich can stay with full comfort by paying money they can afford. The same service cannot be availed by millions of poor people so the government cannot just sell the entire space to Adani , Ambani to create luxury villas everywhere at the Kumbh sites where only the rich would be able to go.

This is about spirituality.

Things have nevertheless improved big time and in coming years the infra is only going to get better now that we finally have a Hindu government in centre and in UP.

I hope they don’t make the same mistakes with Kumbh that the Saudis made with Hajj. It should always be reasonably affordable to participate in Kumbh.

A country like Bharat has to often keep a check on unnecessary privatization and price hikes wrt such events that are for the entire humanity regardless of who is rich or poor. Anyone who’s comparing this with Mecca has to be really ignorant about how expensive and unaffordable Hajj has become for the majority of the Muslims and then the weather in Saudi and Bharat aren’t comparable. They don’t have a huge water body to take care of.

In the Kumbh you have luxury accommodations where the rich can stay with full comfort by paying money they can afford. The same service cannot be availed by millions of poor people so the government cannot just sell the entire space to Adani , Ambani to create luxury villas everywhere at the Kumbh sites where only the rich would be able to go.

This is about spirituality.

Things have nevertheless improved big time and in coming years the infra is only going to get better now that we finally have a Hindu government in centre and in UP.

I hope they don’t make the same mistakes with Kumbh that the Saudis made with Hajj. It should always be reasonably affordable to participate in Kumbh.
Kumbh has no comparison to Hajj, and Hinduism is not parallel to Islam.

Islam is a multi ethnic, multi national religion followed by people in a sizable quantity from the West to the East. Brown, black, white, east asian, south east asian. Every single ethnicity has a sizable Muslim population.

Not same situation for Hinduism which is a predominantly India specific religion and 99% limited to indian ethnic group.

Sorry, im not trying to be mean. Im just laying out facts.

Hajj requires way more organization and Saudis have done an okay job. I agree about the affordability but this is why Hajj is only compulsory if one can afford it.

You said a lot of things at once and all of them are a different subject. Goa tourism went not because someone had an issue with the country but because other places look more value for money not just to foreigners but to our own people. Goa is expensive.

Foreign tourists are so common Bharat today they roam everywhere and no one bothers them. Either you come here with figures that prove there’s been a drop in foreign tourists the you’ll have a point but the records suggest that we are seeing more tourists and business visitors than ever before.
You are right about lots of things at once, maybe that will take the thread off topic thats why im not commenting on it further.

India had a small phase when some hippies from USA were enamoured by yoga and hindu religion well buddhism to be specific, and that has faded out. Perceptions have changed a lot.

I think as long as this stays in India it won't be a problem. It is when they go abroad in large numbers that you start getting resentment. I know Musk is keen on importing cheap employment on H1-B visas to the US, but that is likely to see a rise in ant-Indian sentiment similar to Canada if it is allowed unchecked.
India’s burgeoning population and due to the internet access - the increasing desire for upward mobility no matter what in the form of illegal immigration is going to become a big headache for the world. I say the same thing for Pakistan. We need one child policy in whole of South Asia.

You are right about lots of things at once, maybe that will take the thread off topic thats why im not commenting on it further.

India had a small phase when some hippies from USA were enamoured by yoga and hindu religion well buddhism to be specific, and that has faded out. Perceptions have changed a lot.

We had a Muslim government in the centre for 70 years, before that 200 years British rule, before that 300 years of going to and from with the Mughals. During the 600 years, the external forces tried to eliminate Hinduism. That didn’t work, so they tried to suppress it to the point Hindus were conditioned to feel guilty about celebrating their religion while they were encouraged to make provisions for other religions to prosper just to keep the secularism tag.

With the end of the Congress era, we are witnessing revival of Sanatan Dharma at present. Since this government has come to power, there has been more focus than ever before to preserve, reclaim, celebrate Sanatan Dharma and take it into to the future.

The prominent pilgrimage sites are undergoing large scale infrastructure upgradation.

Kumbh itself was just reduced to an ordinary mela for centuries. Only in the last 10 years has the new government worked towards promoting it as a prestigious annual event. It’s getting record amounts of government funding and as was always known it’s giving back 10 times the revenue to the government.

Like i said above, the government can privatize it to make it more Instagram worthy but that will make it unaffordable to the masses. So it’s going to be a slow progress and that’s completely fine with a religion which has stayed dormant for 600 years.

Thank you for presenting a positive image in the OP with the AI generated photo.

Bunch of desis who have emigrated to foreign countries worry about bad hygine of India too much where as Steve Jobs and his wife is staying in the same Maha Kumbh mela. Go study about Neem Karoli Baba and impact he had on Steve Jobs and Mark Zuckerberg.

I think rather than meeting such concerns with violence we must welcome such criticism with an open mind and strive to make things better, which we are doing already by the way.

It’s a fact that for decades, the perception of our pilgrimages in the media has been one of what Slim just said. There are Bharatiyas who would say the same and this is a Pakistani who has every reason to see the worst in our country just as our people do for Pakistan, imagining it to be a place where Jihadis roam in open trucks with AK47s whereas main towns in Pakidyan also have a very vibrant atmosphere.

The dream is to make it better and we will if a Hindu government stays in power for a good amount of time.
If you attend please share your experience. It would be interesting to here the thoughts and feelings of an attendee.

yaar Steve Jobs has been dead for a while. If he is attending then there is definitely a Hygeine issue.

I meant his wife is attending and part taking this program.

Steve Jobs was a devotee of Neem Karoli Baba

Newsflash - we worry about hygiene while being in Pakistan as well. Its not as if hygiene is an alien concept. Folks have to do ablution fives time a day for prayers. You have to stay in a constant state of cleanliness. Lack of civic sense altho is still there in the country. But my beliefs and practices dont change when we shift countries, we are humans, not robots that we have a switch. You cannot take honest criticism, indians have a weird sense of false grandeur.

I meant his wife is attending and part taking this program.

Steve Jobs was a devotee of Neem Karoli Baba

Who cares man? why are you guys so desperate for white validation? Just because steve jobs wife, who is another harre krishna type hippie from the looks of it, is okay with hygiene conditions that doesnt mean much?

Hippies are known for bad hygiene in north america themselves lmfao
And heres the thing, she is there for her religious beliefs, not to give you validation on anything.

Newsflash - we worry about hygiene while being in Pakistan as well. Its not as if hygiene is an alien concept. Folks have to do ablution fives time a day for prayers. You have to stay in a constant state of cleanliness. Lack of civic sense altho is still there in the country. But my beliefs and practices dont change when we shift countries, we are humans, not robots that we have a switch. You cannot take honest criticism, indians have a weird sense of false grandeur.
The literal meaning of Kumbh is to take a bath in Ganges river to wash off all the sins. You are showing your ignorance again.

I think rather than meeting such concerns with violence we must welcome such criticism with an open mind and strive to make things better, which we are doing already by the way.

It’s a fact that for decades, the perception of our pilgrimages in the media has been one of what Slim just said. There are Bharatiyas who would say the same and this is a Pakistani who has every reason to see the worst in our country just as our people do for Pakistan, imagining it to be a place where Jihadis roam in open trucks with AK47s whereas main towns in Pakidyan also have a very vibrant atmosphere.
Theres no city in whole of South Asia that comes close to Islamabad in terms of cleanliness and planning.

The literal meaning of Kumbh is to take a bath in Ganges river to wash off all the sins. You are showing your ignorance again.
Are you fr? Do you know how disgusting and polluted ganges is?

They clean the holy river in Prayagraj for Kumbh snan. People take bath in it to wash of their sins. You can give it a try as well, your life may change 360 degree.

Theres no city in whole of South Asia that comes close to Islamabad in terms of cleanliness and planning.

It always looks like a beautiful city which gives the vibes of a central Asian city. What are your experiences of Islamabad, for many years people of other cities in Pakistan would refer to it as a fake town of politicians, civil servants, military officers only. Is it a vibrant city where you can freely move without too much scrutiny from security guards and all. I remember going to Srinagar over the years and despite the beauty I would feel uneasy seeing all the military presence even though I recognised they were there for my protection only.

Ganges is cleaner than most European rivers. Games is by some miracle a very clean river. Obviously it’s always a challenge to keep it cleaner, but that’s no different than anywhere in the world.

More than seven killed in stampede at India's Maha Kumbh festival

More than seven people were killed and around 10 injured in a stampede at the Maha Kumbh Mela in northern India on Wednesday, said an official, as tens of millions gathered to take a holy dip on the most auspicious day of the six-week Hindu festival.

Drone footage showed millions of devotees, shoulder to shoulder, arriving in the pre-dawn dark at the temporary township in Prayagraj for the holy dip in a river to mark the most auspicious day of the Maha Kumbh Mela.

Video and photographs after the stampede showed bodies being taken away on stretchers and people sitting on the ground crying, while others stepped over a carpet of discarded belongings left by people as they tried to escape the stampede.

A Reuters witness saw several dead bodies as he followed dozens of ambulances rushing towards the river bank where the incident occurred.

"More than seven people have been killed in the stampede and around 10 others injured," said an official who did not want to be named because he was not authorised to speak to the media.

Officials said an initial stampede which occurred around 1 a.m. local time (1930 GMT) was "not serious", but its cause was unclear.

However, witnesses said devotees trying to escape it were caught in another stampede at an exit. They then returned towards the pontoon bridges looking for another way out only to find it had been closed by authorities.

"I saw many people falling and getting walked on by the crowd...many children and women getting lost, crying for help," said Ravin, a devotee who gave only his first name and had traveled from the financial capital Mumbai for the festival.

A Rapid Action Force (RAF) - a special unit called in during crisis situations - had been deployed to bring the situation under control and rescue efforts were underway, officials said.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi spoke to Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and called for "immediate support measures", reported news agency ANI, in which Reuters has a minority stake.

Adityanath also appealed to people to take a dip at the nearest river bank rather than trying to reach the confluence of three rivers where the festival is being held.

"All of you should follow the instructions of the administration and cooperate in making arrangements. People are bathing peacefully at all the ghats (river banks) of Sangam (the confluence of the rivers)," he said on messaging platform X.

Hindus believe that taking a dip at the confluence of three rivers - Ganga, Yamuna, and the mythical, invisible Saraswati - absolves them of their sins and confers salvation from the cycle of birth and death.

The world's largest congregation of humanity, the Hindu festival has already seen gigantic daily crowds, with nearly 148 million people attending since it began two weeks ago.

Attendees range from Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Home Minister Amit Shah to Adani Group Chairman Gautam Adani and celebrities like Coldplay's Chris Martin and actress Dakota Johnson, who local media reported reached Prayagraj on Tuesday.

Modi was also expected to visit the festival next month.

Authorities had expected a record 100 million people to throng the temporary township in Prayagraj on Wednesday for the holy dip, considered the most auspicious day due to a rare alignment of celestial bodies after 144 years.

The 'royal bath' was called off following the incident.

"All of our saints and seers were ready for the 'snan' (bath) when we were informed about this incident. That is why we have decided to call off our 'snan'," said ascetic Ravindra Puri.

Authorities had undertaken several measures to cater to the enormous crowd, including increased security and medical personnel, and special trains and buses. AI-software was also used to manage the crowds.

A similar stampede had broken out on the most auspicious day of the festival when it was last held in 2013, killing at least 36 pilgrims, mostly women.

SOURCE: https://www.reuters.com/world/india...maha-kumbh-festival-hindu-reports-2025-01-29/

I guess this also answers the question of hy China is so far ahead of India. Get mad about religion, lose your common sense.

Useless event.

And some people died overnight in a stampede it seems.

I guess this also answers the question of hy China is so far ahead of India. Get mad about religion, lose your common sense.

50-100 years are a big deal for people but not for major nations. Don’t worry, we will not only catch up with China but will leave them far behind. It won’t happen in our lifetime but it will. China is winning right now, but we are a nation getting reborn while the Chinese will have their problems to deal with very soon. If you think China is the perfect country you’re very wrong. Beneath the surface everything isn’t fine in China for a long time.

More than seven killed in stampede at India's Maha Kumbh festival

More than seven people were killed and around 10 injured in a stampede at the Maha Kumbh Mela in northern India on Wednesday, said an official, as tens of millions gathered to take a holy dip on the most auspicious day of the six-week Hindu festival.

Drone footage showed millions of devotees, shoulder to shoulder, arriving in the pre-dawn dark at the temporary township in Prayagraj for the holy dip in a river to mark the most auspicious day of the Maha Kumbh Mela.

Video and photographs after the stampede showed bodies being taken away on stretchers and people sitting on the ground crying, while others stepped over a carpet of discarded belongings left by people as they tried to escape the stampede.

A Reuters witness saw several dead bodies as he followed dozens of ambulances rushing towards the river bank where the incident occurred.

"More than seven people have been killed in the stampede and around 10 others injured," said an official who did not want to be named because he was not authorised to speak to the media.

Officials said an initial stampede which occurred around 1 a.m. local time (1930 GMT) was "not serious", but its cause was unclear.

However, witnesses said devotees trying to escape it were caught in another stampede at an exit. They then returned towards the pontoon bridges looking for another way out only to find it had been closed by authorities.

"I saw many people falling and getting walked on by the crowd...many children and women getting lost, crying for help," said Ravin, a devotee who gave only his first name and had traveled from the financial capital Mumbai for the festival.

A Rapid Action Force (RAF) - a special unit called in during crisis situations - had been deployed to bring the situation under control and rescue efforts were underway, officials said.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi spoke to Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and called for "immediate support measures", reported news agency ANI, in which Reuters has a minority stake.

Adityanath also appealed to people to take a dip at the nearest river bank rather than trying to reach the confluence of three rivers where the festival is being held.

"All of you should follow the instructions of the administration and cooperate in making arrangements. People are bathing peacefully at all the ghats (river banks) of Sangam (the confluence of the rivers)," he said on messaging platform X.

Hindus believe that taking a dip at the confluence of three rivers - Ganga, Yamuna, and the mythical, invisible Saraswati - absolves them of their sins and confers salvation from the cycle of birth and death.

The world's largest congregation of humanity, the Hindu festival has already seen gigantic daily crowds, with nearly 148 million people attending since it began two weeks ago.

Attendees range from Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Home Minister Amit Shah to Adani Group Chairman Gautam Adani and celebrities like Coldplay's Chris Martin and actress Dakota Johnson, who local media reported reached Prayagraj on Tuesday.

Modi was also expected to visit the festival next month.

Authorities had expected a record 100 million people to throng the temporary township in Prayagraj on Wednesday for the holy dip, considered the most auspicious day due to a rare alignment of celestial bodies after 144 years.

The 'royal bath' was called off following the incident.

"All of our saints and seers were ready for the 'snan' (bath) when we were informed about this incident. That is why we have decided to call off our 'snan'," said ascetic Ravindra Puri.

Authorities had undertaken several measures to cater to the enormous crowd, including increased security and medical personnel, and special trains and buses. AI-software was also used to manage the crowds.

A similar stampede had broken out on the most auspicious day of the festival when it was last held in 2013, killing at least 36 pilgrims, mostly women.

SOURCE: https://www.reuters.com/world/india...maha-kumbh-festival-hindu-reports-2025-01-29/
The largest peaceful gathering of humans on planet Earth is happening right now.
WHAT ABOUT THIS??

Unfortunate but this happens when hundreds of millions of people gather and many of whom are uneducated and uncivilised. My sympathy is with the victims and we are going to constantly improve the situation but the greater message of the Mahakumbh cannot be compromised by occurrence of few sad events. This happens in Hajj also.

It will be difficult to have total safety at an event for so many people. No matter what protocols are put in place human beings are human beings.

RIP to the deceased. @Bhaijaan @uppercut in Santani tradition is it considered an honor to die on a religious pilgrimage?

It will be difficult to have total safety at an event for so many people. No matter what protocols are put in place human beings are human beings.

RIP to the deceased. @Bhaijaan @uppercut in Santani tradition is it considered an honor to die on a religious pilgrimage?

I may not be an expert at it but if you go to a Pilgrimage, act idiotic leading to yours as well as other people’s death, surely that doesn’t sound a way to obtain Moksha.

Sanatani understanding is that Moksha is obtained once you have fully paid for your sins of this life and past lives breaking the cycle of bad karma.

Religious devotion is hard to explain to ordinary people. A cynic will always find hundreds of reasons to say why go to Kumbh? Why even have it in the first place? These people claim to know life better than the millions who chose to go for whatever reasons. From the poorest of the poor , to the richest of the rich, you will find all kind of people of the Mahakumbh.

I may not be an expert at it but if you go to a Pilgrimage, act idiotic leading to yours as well as other people’s death, surely that doesn’t sound a way to obtain Moksha.

Sanatani understanding is that Moksha is obtained once you have fully paid for your sins of this life and past lives breaking the cycle of bad karma.
Of course there is some people who may cause the damage but majority are innocent's who get caught up in the crush.

From Islamic POV a "natural" death during Hajj is a big honour for many people. I wondered if it was the same for you guys.

Nearly 40 dead after stampede at India's Kumbh, police sources say

Nearly 40 bodies were brought to a hospital morgue after a stampede at the Maha Kumbh Mela in northern India on Wednesday, three police sources told Reuters, as tens of millions gathered to bathe in sacred river waters on the most auspicious day of a six-week festival.

Bodies were still being brought to the local Moti Lal Nehru Medical College hospital morgue more than 12 hours after the tragedy at the world's biggest gathering of humanity, though the government was yet to officially announce the casualty numbers.

"More bodies are coming in. We have nearly 40 bodies here. We are transferring them out as well and handing over to families one by one," one of the sources said.

Senior police officer Vaibhav Krishna, when contacted for comment, said police could not give the official numbers because they were busy with crowd management.

Distraught relatives queued up to identify those killed by the stampede, which occurred when crowds surged towards the confluence of three rivers, where immersion is considered particularly sacred.

Some witnesses spoke of a huge push that caused devotees to fall on each other, while others said closure of routes to the water brought the dense crowd to a standstill and caused people to collapse due to suffocation.

"There was commotion, everybody started pushing, pulling, climbing over one another. My mother collapsed...then my sister-in-law. People ran over them," said Jagwanti Devi, 40, as she sat in an ambulance with the bodies of her relatives.

An official at Prayagraj's SRN Hospital, where some of the injured were taken, said those who died had either suffered heart attacks or had comorbidities like diabetes.

"People came in with fractures, broken bones...Some collapsed on the spot and were brought dead," said the official, who did not want to be named.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi offered condolences to "devotees who have lost their loved ones" and said local officials were helping victims "in every possible way", without specifying the number of dead.

Yogi Adityanath, chief minister of Uttar Pradesh state where the festival city of Prayagraj is located said the stampede was set off when some devotees tried to jump barricades put up to manage crowds between 1 a.m. and 2 a.m. (1930-2030 GMT Tuesday) near the arena of the ascetics.

At the scene, people sat on the ground crying, while others stepped over belongings left by those trying to escape the crush.

OPPOSITION PARTIES BLAME "MISMANAGEMENT"

The Hindu festival is the world's largest congregation of humanity, expected to draw some 400 million over its six weeks, according to officials, compared with the Haj pilgrimage in Saudi Arabia which drew 1.8 million last year.

By Tuesday, nearly 200 million people had attended the 2025 festival since it started two weeks ago, officials said, adding that more than 50 million people had taken a holy dip until 2 p.m. (0830 GMT) on Wednesday alone.

Devout Hindus believe taking a dip at the confluence of three sacred rivers - the Ganga, the Yamuna, and the mythical, invisible Saraswati - absolves people of sins and, during the Kumbh, it also brings salvation from the cycle of life and death.

Attendees this year ranged from Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Home Minister Amit Shah to Adani Group Chairman Gautam Adani and celebrities like Coldplay's Chris Martin and actress Dakota Johnson, who local media reported reached Prayagraj on Tuesday.

Modi was expected to visit the festival next month.

Authorities had expected a record 100 million people to throng the temporary township in Prayagraj on Wednesday, and had deployed additional security and medical personnel along with AI-software based technology to manage the crowd.

A Rapid Action Force (RAF) - a special police unit called in during crisis - was deployed to bring the situation under control after the stampede and rescue efforts were underway, officials said.

A senior state official said earlier on Wednesday that at least seven people had died and 10 more had been injured, declining to be named as he was not authorised to speak to media.

Social media posts spoke of heavy traffic congestion on roads leading into Prayagraj as authorities tried to manage the crowd, leaving several people stranded.

"I planned this trip for over a year, but I’ve been stuck in traffic for 19 hours," American travel blogger Drew Binsky said on Instagram, where he has more than 1.2 million followers.

Opposition parties criticised the federal and state governments and blamed the stampede on what they called "mismanagement" and "VIP culture".

"VIP culture should be curbed and the government should make better arrangements to meet the needs of common devotees," Rahul Gandhi, leader of the main opposition Congress party said on X, referring to politicians and celebrities being treated differently.

Maha Kumbh stampede: CM Yogi reviews arrangements, issues fresh directives

Following the stampede at the Maha Kumbh on Mauni Amavasya Wednesday, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath issued a slew of guidelines on crowd management, traffic flow, prevention of build-up of devotees and coordination among departments.

He ordered the deployment of Ashish Goyal, who served as Divisional Commissioner of Prayagraj during Kumbh 2019, and Bhanu Goswami, a former Vice Chairman of ADA, to further strengthen the arrangements, according to an official statement.

Adityanath asked the chief secretary and the director general of police to conduct a thorough review of the Maha Kumbh Mela arrangements on Thursday. "Every aspect related to security and public convenience must be carefully examined to ensure seamless arrangements for Basant Panchami," he said.

He said the incumbent ADG and the District Magistrate of Prayagraj must ensure safe and smooth departure of every devotee.

Five Special Secretary-level officers are being assigned to oversee operations, according to the government statement.

It said they will remain in Prayagraj until February 12 to assist in streamlining the arrangements. Moreover, Superintendent of Police-level officers will also be deployed for enhanced management and security, the statement said.

At least 30 people were killed and 60 injured in a pre-dawn stampede at the Sangam area of the Maha Kumbh Wednesday as millions of pilgrims jostled for space to take a holy dip on the occasion of one of the most auspicious days of Mauni Amavasya.

In light of the tragedy, the chief minister conducted a late-night video conference with senior police officers and officials from multiple districts including Prayagraj, Kaushambi, Varanasi, Ayodhya, Mirzapur, Basti, Jaunpur, Chitrakoot, Banda, Ambedkarnagar, Pratapgarh, Sant Kabir Nagar, Bhadohi, Rae Bareli and Gorakhpur.

After reviewing updates from the ADG and the District Magistrate of Prayagraj, the CM emphasised the need for heightened vigilance and caution in the mela area, according to the official statement.

The CM also sought updates from officials in Ayodhya, Varanasi, Mirzapur, and Chitrakoot regarding security and crowd management measures for incoming devotees, it said.

Additionally, officials from districts bordering Prayagraj were instructed to maintain continuous coordination with the Prayagraj administration to ensure seamless management and public safety.

The chief minister also issued other major guidelines in the special meeting. He noted a large number of devotees are gathered at all railway stations in Prayagraj, preparing to return home after completing their holy bath.

"ADG and the District Magistrate of Prayagraj must ensure the safe and smooth departure of every devotee. It is our responsibility to facilitate their journey. To achieve this, seamless coordination with the railways must be maintained to ensure continuous train operations," the CM said.

"Additionally, extra buses from the Transport Corporation should be deployed to accommodate the rush," he said.

Holding areas have been established at border points to manage crowd pressure in the fair area. Devotees should be allowed to proceed based on the prevailing situation. Arrangements for food and drinking water must be ensured at all holding areas so that no devotee faces any inconvenience, he said.

Additionally, uninterrupted electricity supply must be maintained at these locations, he added.

Authorities in districts bordering Prayagraj must strictly enforce the directives issued from Prayagraj. Patrolling should be increased and traffic should flow smoothly on all major routes including Ayodhya-Prayagraj, Kanpur-Prayagraj, Fatehpur-Prayagraj, Lucknow-Pratapgarh-Prayagraj, and Varanasi-Prayagraj, according to the statement.

"All return routes from Prayagraj should remain open and unobstructed at all times," Adityanath said.

"Traffic must remain smooth within the Maha Kumbh Mela area. Unnecessary halts should be avoided, and crowd build-up must be prevented at all locations. There should be no traffic congestion on the roads. If street vendors are occupying pathways, they should be relocated to designated open areas to ensure the continuous flow of movement. No road should face a jam at any point," he added.

The CM noted that the next Amrit Snan is scheduled for Basant Panchami on February 3.

Lakhs of devotees visiting Maha Kumbh are also traveling to Varanasi and Ayodhya for darshan and worship, while many are heading to Chitrakoot and Mirzapur, according to the statement.

With a significant increase in footfall expected over the next two days, heightened vigilance is essential in these key cities. Continuous monitoring and precautionary measures must be ensured. Holding areas should be created to regulate the crowd flow, allowing movement as per the situation, it added.

Barricading should be used effectively, traffic management should be improved, and adequate parking arrangements must be in place, it stated.

SOURCE: https://www.business-standard.com/i...s-issues-fresh-directives-125013000002_1.html

Maha Kumbh stampede: CM Yogi reviews arrangements, issues fresh directives

Following the stampede at the Maha Kumbh on Mauni Amavasya Wednesday, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath issued a slew of guidelines on crowd management, traffic flow, prevention of build-up of devotees and coordination among departments.

He ordered the deployment of Ashish Goyal, who served as Divisional Commissioner of Prayagraj during Kumbh 2019, and Bhanu Goswami, a former Vice Chairman of ADA, to further strengthen the arrangements, according to an official statement.

Adityanath asked the chief secretary and the director general of police to conduct a thorough review of the Maha Kumbh Mela arrangements on Thursday. "Every aspect related to security and public convenience must be carefully examined to ensure seamless arrangements for Basant Panchami," he said.

He said the incumbent ADG and the District Magistrate of Prayagraj must ensure safe and smooth departure of every devotee.

Five Special Secretary-level officers are being assigned to oversee operations, according to the government statement.

It said they will remain in Prayagraj until February 12 to assist in streamlining the arrangements. Moreover, Superintendent of Police-level officers will also be deployed for enhanced management and security, the statement said.

At least 30 people were killed and 60 injured in a pre-dawn stampede at the Sangam area of the Maha Kumbh Wednesday as millions of pilgrims jostled for space to take a holy dip on the occasion of one of the most auspicious days of Mauni Amavasya.

In light of the tragedy, the chief minister conducted a late-night video conference with senior police officers and officials from multiple districts including Prayagraj, Kaushambi, Varanasi, Ayodhya, Mirzapur, Basti, Jaunpur, Chitrakoot, Banda, Ambedkarnagar, Pratapgarh, Sant Kabir Nagar, Bhadohi, Rae Bareli and Gorakhpur.

After reviewing updates from the ADG and the District Magistrate of Prayagraj, the CM emphasised the need for heightened vigilance and caution in the mela area, according to the official statement.

The CM also sought updates from officials in Ayodhya, Varanasi, Mirzapur, and Chitrakoot regarding security and crowd management measures for incoming devotees, it said.

Additionally, officials from districts bordering Prayagraj were instructed to maintain continuous coordination with the Prayagraj administration to ensure seamless management and public safety.

The chief minister also issued other major guidelines in the special meeting. He noted a large number of devotees are gathered at all railway stations in Prayagraj, preparing to return home after completing their holy bath.

"ADG and the District Magistrate of Prayagraj must ensure the safe and smooth departure of every devotee. It is our responsibility to facilitate their journey. To achieve this, seamless coordination with the railways must be maintained to ensure continuous train operations," the CM said.

"Additionally, extra buses from the Transport Corporation should be deployed to accommodate the rush," he said.

Holding areas have been established at border points to manage crowd pressure in the fair area. Devotees should be allowed to proceed based on the prevailing situation. Arrangements for food and drinking water must be ensured at all holding areas so that no devotee faces any inconvenience, he said.

Additionally, uninterrupted electricity supply must be maintained at these locations, he added.

Authorities in districts bordering Prayagraj must strictly enforce the directives issued from Prayagraj. Patrolling should be increased and traffic should flow smoothly on all major routes including Ayodhya-Prayagraj, Kanpur-Prayagraj, Fatehpur-Prayagraj, Lucknow-Pratapgarh-Prayagraj, and Varanasi-Prayagraj, according to the statement.

"All return routes from Prayagraj should remain open and unobstructed at all times," Adityanath said.

"Traffic must remain smooth within the Maha Kumbh Mela area. Unnecessary halts should be avoided, and crowd build-up must be prevented at all locations. There should be no traffic congestion on the roads. If street vendors are occupying pathways, they should be relocated to designated open areas to ensure the continuous flow of movement. No road should face a jam at any point," he added.

The CM noted that the next Amrit Snan is scheduled for Basant Panchami on February 3.

Lakhs of devotees visiting Maha Kumbh are also traveling to Varanasi and Ayodhya for darshan and worship, while many are heading to Chitrakoot and Mirzapur, according to the statement.

With a significant increase in footfall expected over the next two days, heightened vigilance is essential in these key cities. Continuous monitoring and precautionary measures must be ensured. Holding areas should be created to regulate the crowd flow, allowing movement as per the situation, it added.

Barricading should be used effectively, traffic management should be improved, and adequate parking arrangements must be in place, it stated.

SOURCE: https://www.business-standard.com/i...s-issues-fresh-directives-125013000002_1.html

The Kumbh to me represents real Bharat. If it is dirty, chaotic, unsafe, unhygienic or anything like that then that is what the country is. Kumbh is where you see an average person from our country. Kumbh is where you see the average infrastructure of our country. Kumbh is where you see the average hospitality and management levels in our country.

This puts huge responsibility on the governments to improve the situation rapidly to project a better image of the country. It’s 2025 and you cannot hide your deficiencies anymore. The smartphone cameras and internet will ensure everything will go out in public within seconds for the whole world to see.

So no excuses. No hiding. No lies.
Just get down to work with honest intentions.

The Kumbh to me represents real Bharat. If it is dirty, chaotic, unsafe, unhygienic or anything like that then that is what the country is. Kumbh is where you see an average person from our country. Kumbh is where you see the average infrastructure of our country. Kumbh is where you see the average hospitality and management levels in our country.

This puts huge responsibility on the governments to improve the situation rapidly to project a better image of the country. It’s 2025 and you cannot hide your deficiencies anymore. The smartphone cameras and internet will ensure everything will go out in public within seconds for the whole world to see.

So no excuses. No hiding. No lies.
Just get down to work with honest intentions.
What is wrong with the image being presented at Kumbh?

Too many of you Santanis are happy to sit on forums and mock the devotees. Go and enjoy and savor the festival brother.

It is a religious ceremony and festival please don't relegate everything to just talks about economy and infrastructure.

What is wrong with the image being presented at Kumbh?

Too many of you Santanis are happy to sit on forums and mock the devotees. Go and enjoy and savor the festival brother.

It is a religious ceremony and festival please don't relegate everything to just talks about economy and infrastructure.

Actually that was my point.
A lot of us on forums only care to talk about the best of the best. People are unhappy with such great stadiums being built in our countries because the Intuit Dome is so much better. They don’t seem to have a realistic understanding of their country, the struggles faced by it for centuries, it being on a long term journey of progress, people forget Saarc nations are all poor nations and in certain parts there is even extreme poverty that someone exposed to good infrastructure can never understand.

The real Bharat is what you see at the Kumbh. The metro cities are an exception and rven though they’re also quite mediocre but the posh areas in those cities only represent like 0.1% or less of our country.

Kumbh dates back to thousands of years and till now we haven’t had any trouble like that.
'Yamuna Will Be Clean In A Month If...': What Environmentalists Say On Delhi's Water Politics

Politics over Yamuna water is peaking ahead of Delhi Assembly polls. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has refused to back down after former Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal’s allegation that “poisonous water is being sent to Delhi from Haryana."

Haryana Chief Minister Nayab Singh Saini, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and Union Home Minister Amit Shah, have all slammed Kejriwal for his claims. The Election Commission of India has asked Kejriwal to back his charge with proof.

While the politics over the issue plays out, is there any truth in what Kejriwal has alleged? Environmentalists Bhim Singh Rana and Pankaj Kumar took a boat ride with CNN-News18 over the Yamuna near Delhi’s Kashmere Gate, analysing exactly what is wrong with the river in the national capital.

When asked about Kejriwal’s allegations, Pankaj Kumar, Volunteer, Earth Warrior, said, “When the former Chief Minister says that ammonia levels have gone up in the river, that Haryana has poisoned the river, I would say this is pure politics. They are claiming that from WTP (Waste Treatment Plant) they have got the data of ammonia level being 7 ppm or 6 ppm. If you are making this charge, then release the entire data of what is the ammonia level from Palla (Haryana) to Azgarpur (the last village of Delhi). At the upper side of Wazirabad, the entire flow of Yamuna is stopped, only 5 per cent remains. Where we are boating is not Yamuna but Delhi sewage."

Commenting on the quality of water in Delhi, Kumar said, “In December 2024, in Delhi, 17 drains of Delhi had water flow. The water quality criteria of Delhi nallas (drains) should be BOD (Biochemical Oxygen Demand) – 30 MG per litre or less. The government claimed they had trapped all drains. But not one of them met this criteria. Five out of these 17 have BOD – 100 MG per litre. This only means that raw sewage is being pushed into these drains without any sewage treatment. We have to treat the waste water. Otherwise all you are doing is offering empty words."

“Why does the same river get relatively clean in monsoon? Because the flow of river water naturally increases as opposed to drain water. Restoring the flow of the river is the real answer," he added.

Meanwhile, Bhim Singh Rana, Volunteer, SANDRP (South Asia Network on Dams, Rivers and People), said, “The year 2025 is extremely crucial for Yamuna and it’s revival. In 1994, the upper Yamuna basin river board was formed. It advocated division of water between the states. That order is scheduled for review in 2025. That agreement has a huge role to play as far as the Yamuna problem in Delhi is concerned since the share of water for Delhi got restricted."

“A river without its flow is not a river. It can’t clean itself, rejuvenate itself. Even the river basins are seeing constructions, encroachments. You have made the river linear, restricted its flow by making so many bridges. You have made a total human control system. You have 25 bridges on the river. Five are under construction. So after every 500-600 metre, you have a bridge. So you have kind of straight jacketed the river. Its linear connectivity, its vertical connectivity, they are finishing everything," he added.

He also pointed out how everyone, whether it’s the Centre or the Delhi government, talks about cleaning the Yamuna but no one focuses on increasing its flow.

Pankaj Kumar said cleaning the Yamuna is not a difficult job if someone begins to do it sincerely. “The mechanism that has been made to fight Yamuna pollution in Delhi is faulty. The CETP (Common Effluent Treatment Plant), STPs (Sewage Treatment Plant) are not fulfilling the purpose. We are spending money for their infrastructure but the people assigned to run them are not trained for this job. The government does not recognise that waste water management is a skilled job. Construction companies build the STP and then they are asked to run them as well, something they are not trained for," he said.

“There are 37 STPs in Delhi and three more are sanctioned. 800 mgd of household waste water is generated in Delhi at the moment which is not being treated properly. The CPCB (central pollution control board) guidelines say you will treat at 10 BOD, 10 CSS. If you follow this, within one month, Yamuna will be clean," he explained.

“Almost Rs 4,000 crore has been spent for Yamuna Action Plan but there is no accountability about the use of this money," he added.

https://images.news18.com/ibnlive/u...2025-01-4f7ed23c46ba48b5f308260a47b26550.jpeg

Families mourn loved ones who died in Kumbh Mela crush

Families of people who were killed in a crush at a major religious festival in northern India this week are grieving their loss and waiting to take bodies of their relatives back home.

At least 30 people died in the crush at the Kumbh Mela on Wednesday, which was one of the holiest days of the six-week long Hindu festival.

The incident took place in Prayagraj city near the Sangam, an auspicious meeting point of the sacred Ganges, Yamuna and mythical Saraswati rivers where devotees take a dip.

The festival, billed as the largest gathering of humanity, attracts tens of millions of pilgrims from around the world.

The crush reportedly took place after a surge of pilgrims making their way to the Sangam trampled over devotees sleeping near the riverbank.

Eyewitnesses have blamed the police and festival authorities for poor crowd-control measures and not making adequate space for pilgrims to move to their destinations.

The government in Uttar Pradesh state has launched a judicial investigation into the incident.

Meanwhile, the families of the victims are mourning the loss of their loved ones and some say that many of their questions remain unanswered. Others are still waiting for news of their relatives.

Kaikeyi Devi, who travelled from Bihar state with her husband to attend the Kumbh Mela, says she can't shake the image of him getting trampled in front of her eyes.

"He was dragged in the chaos and we started crying… 'Let him free! Let him be! We are here!'...but he never came [back]," Ms Devi told Reuters news agency as she waited outside a mortuary in Prayagraj city to collect her husband's body.

Taposh Roy, a resident of Assam state who lost his brother in the crush, recounts the delay in getting help from authorities.

"He was just lying there for a long time because there was no ambulance to take him to the hospital. We pleaded with the police saying that we would carry him ourselves but they told us to wait. When he was taken by police, we couldn't go with him," Mr Roy told the Indian Express newspaper.

This was also the experience of Tarun Bose from West Bengal state who lost a female relative in the crush.

"The authorities failed to rescue her and the police only managed to retrieve her body after an hour and a half. There were no police officers around during the accident," he told AFP news agency.

Deepak Hattarwat from Karnataka state is mourning the loss of his wife and daughter. He didn't travel to the festival and says that he found out about their deaths only a day later and that too from a fellow traveller in their group.

"We were planning her [the daughter's] wedding. What should I do and for whom should I live now?" Mr Hattarwat told the Indian Express newspaper.

Meanwhile, some people say that they are still searching for their loved ones, more than 48 hours after the incident took place.

Manoj Kumar Sahni from Bihar state told Reuters news agency that he has been desperately searching for his father who is missing.

"I have been searching for him since the last three days. I went to the hospital as well but didn't find him. We also searched at the railway station and the bus stand but did not find him," he said.

Since the incident, authorities have stepped up security measures in the festival and have also banned vehicles from entering the mela grounds until 4 February. The next auspicious bathing day is on Monday, when the festival is expected to witness massive crowds.

BBC

How’s the crowd at Kumbh now. My family's is planing to travel this week .

Some of my relatives went there in the last week. Went there on a luxury Volvo Bus. Lots of these and trains are operational. Their experience was fine and they’ve safely returned already.

Lovely.
If we have a Hindu government in Bharat for few more decades, the Kumbh will only get more safer, cleanlier and global.

During the Muslim government of Congress for 70 years, Hinduism
as intentionally sidelined.

We are now seeing the rise of Hinduism in the modern era. 100 years of momentum from here on will not only bring back millions to their ancestors religion but encourage millions internationally to connect to it.

Lovely.
If we have a Hindu government in Bharat for few more decades, the Kumbh will only get more safer, cleanlier and global.

During the Muslim government of Congress for 70 years, Hinduism
as intentionally sidelined.

We are now seeing the rise of Hinduism in the modern era. 100 years of momentum from here on will not only bring back millions to their ancestors religion but encourage millions internationally to connect to it.
The Hindu resurgence is very clear. Any community can rewrite the past, however it takes great skill and fortitude to rewrite the present. Their persuasive powers have my respect and admiration.

Thanks.
A lot of responsibility falls on our shoulders as Hinduism seems on track to grow rapidly across the world in the next 100 years. Hinduism is the religion of spirituality and must continue to spread the message of love and devotion.

Resurgence without scientific pedigree would mean nothing.
Chinese,Japs,Koreans have shown that resurgence can only be based on science in modern world.

Hopefully Dharmic followers don’t get too caught up in the holy trap.

Resurgence without scientific pedigree would mean nothing.
Chinese,Japs,Koreans have shown that resurgence can only be based on science in modern world.

Hopefully Dharmic followers don’t get too caught up in the holy trap.
They are atheistic people with no contributions to humanity beyond their regions.

India has the advantage of vedic sciences and a proud technological legacy. There are temples in South Indian that leave modern architectures and engineers completely stumped.

30-40 years is a lot of time for a person. He wants to see the world change dramatically during his lifetime. But for nations, especially bigger historic nations 30-40 years means nothing. Progress is important. If it happens quicker, great. But the core identity of the nation, its DNA is most important. Bharat is a nation undergoing resurgence not just economically but Culturally and spiritually. Centuries of war, plunder, foreign invasions turned our country to among the most poor nations in the world and our religion also suffered as a result. It faced an existential fight for centuries, somehow survived but stayed dormant, sidelined. Right now you are also seeing the rise of Hinduism in the modern world. The religious infrastructure is seeing big time upgradation, there is better awareness and perception of it internationally than ever before and growing.

Bharat has to maintain a strong balance between its Sanatani identity and its economic status. Both will rise with time but in the last many decades it seemed like we were all set to forget our roots in trying to follow the west blindly. You don’t want a situation like Dubai which turned itself to an enormous open mall of skyscrapers but is slowly and steadily losing its Arabic identity. In the Middle East, you really have to go on special tours to get a taste of its ancient culture. We don’t want that with Bharat. We don’t want to blindly construct all these malls and towers and lose our identity.

GDP getting to 10,20,30 trillion dollar levels wouldn’t mean anything if our Sanatani identity is lost in the process and we let foreign cultures dominate our way of life.

Death toll rises to at least 18 in New Delhi railway station stampede

The death toll in a stampede at the main railway station in India's capital New Delhi rose to at least 18, including five children, media reports said on Sunday, citing the Press Trust of India news agency.

The youngest of the victims was seven years old and the oldest 79, according to multiple media outlets, citing a list provided by police. All but four of the 18 people named were female.

Atishi, the chief minister of the national capital territory and who goes by only one name, said on X that many of the victims were pilgrims who were going to attend the Hindu Maha Kumbh festival. She earlier told reporters that 15 people had died.

More than a dozen of the injured are being treated in hospital, media reports said.

The stampede occurred at about 8 p.m. (1430 GMT) on Saturday on two platforms where passengers were waiting to board trains to Prayagraj city, where the Maha Kumbh is taking place, media reports said.

Media showed images and videos of crowds of people falling over each other after the incident, as police and relief teams worked to try and ease the congestion.

"There was a sea of humanity at the railway station, and the crowd surged towards the train going to Prayagraj," a distraught woman told the India Today news channel. "I lost my belongings and barely survived."

Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw said an enquiry had been ordered into the incident.

Dozens of people were killed in a pre-dawn stampede at the Maha Kumbh in northern India last month as tens of millions of Hindus gathered to take a dip in sacred river waters on the most auspicious day of the six-week festival.

India has witnessed several major stampedes, most of which occurred at religious festivals or gatherings.

Delhi's lieutenant-governor VK Saxena, one of the capital territory's top officials, visited some of the injured in hospital, according to local media.

"This is a very tragic incident and we pray for those who have lost their lives," Atishi said.

There have been several rail accidents in India in the last two years, including a collision in 2023 that killed at least 288 people. India's railway network is the fourth biggest in the world and is undergoing a $30 billion upgrade as part of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's push to boost connectivity.

SOURCE: https://www.reuters.com/world/india...ew-delhi-railway-station-stampede-2025-02-16/

Dv bhai, are you considering a change in religion? Seems like the persuasive powers are taking an effect on you. :afridi
Lol, what a nautanki this taklu bisht is. You won't find a more incompetent guy than this guy other than feku.
Heard hes the anointed successor to Modi. This will be some next level regression. India is cooked!

Thanks.
A lot of responsibility falls on our shoulders as Hinduism seems on track to grow rapidly across the world in the next 100 years. Hinduism is the religion of spirituality and must continue to spread the message of love and devotion.
Okay, this is laughable. You got to be trolling bhaijaan!

Heard hes the anointed successor to Modi. This will be some next level regression. India is cooked!

Yogi Adityanath is transforming UP one of our historically backward states at an unprecedented level. They’re now on track to become a 1 trillion USD economy. New Airports, railway stations, expressways, better security situation than ever before, record tourist revenue. He’s done wonders for UP. I wish Punjab had someone half as capable as him to lead us out of darkness.

Dv bhai, are you considering a change in religion? Seems like the persuasive powers are taking an effect on you. :afridi
Concert never but I have deep respect for some of their teachings on paper, but some of the practices give me heebie jeebies.

It will be considered a homecoming. With the renaissance of Sanatan Dharma we are expecting millions of converted subcontinental muslims to return to their ancestral religion in the upcoming decades before we have a reunification in about 100 years.

😂 i dont have anything to share on this, but if you believe this then i respect your beliefs.

Concert never but I have deep respect for some of their teachings on paper, but some of the practices give me heebie jeebies.
you should definitely talk more to freelancer bhai and clear any confusions and consider reverting to your “ancestral” religion :yk