Member Interview: daytrader

MenInG

PakPassion Administrator
Staff member
Runs
Many thanks to our fellow [MENTION=139316]daytrader[/MENTION] for taking the time to answer questions from fellow members.

==

PakPassion.net: Tell us about yourself

daytrader: I am a Pakistani Canadian with majority of my life being spent in Canada. I immigrated to Canada at a fairly young age. After early education, my father, in his infinite wisdom, enrolled me to a boarding school in Pakistan so that I keep my Pakistani roots. I completed ‘O’ levels in Pakistan and moved back to Canada to complete my studies. I am a commercial banker by profession but am getting fed up with the corporate culture and the rat race hence I am now pursuing self-employment endeavours.

PakPassion.net: How did your love for cricket start?

daytrader: It all started in Toronto. My father, being a community man, was involved in many Pakistani events that would happen around the city. He took me to the Sahara cup games at the Skydome, the infamous for the Inzimam incident where he tried beating up an Indian fan for making fun of his weight. My father was involved in the mediation afterwards and Inzimam got very lucky that the charges were dropped.

After the games we would visit the players in their hotel rooms. At that time security wasn’t a concern and players from both India and Pakistan would stay at the same hotel and would freely mingle with each other and the fans. I met many then (Moin Khan, Afridi, Ganguly, Saqlain, Azhar Mehmood, Inzimam, Azharuddin) and even had the privilege to have dinner with them time to time. I was a young boy then and my most vivid memory of those days was joining Azhar Mehmood for prayers in his hotel room! I found him to be very down to earth guy and a true gentleman. He even gave me a signed red ball!

PakPassion.net: What brings you to PakPassion?