"Military Inc" banned in Pakistan [Merged]

HillRock

Tape Ball Captain
"Military Inc" banned in Pakistan

A respected Pakistani author has accused the government of blocking the launch of her book about the military's grip on the economy.
Ayesha Siddiqa says her reservation at a government-managed club was cancelled at the last minute, forcing her to find an alternative venue for the launch.

The book deals with the sensitive issue of the military's huge business empire.

The state-run Associated Press of Pakistan labelled the book "a plethora of misleading and concocted stories".

It said that the aim was to give a "bad name to one of the country's most prestigious and honourable organisations".

No government official was available to comment.

'No transparency'

The BBC's Barbara Plett in Islamabad says it is the first time the army's penetration of Pakistan's economy has been documented with such detail.

Ayesha Siddiqa says it owns hundreds of businesses and millions of acres of land.

The military's empire is worth billions of dollars, she writes, but it is run with virtually no transparency or accountability.

The book was scheduled to be launched at a government-managed club on Thursday but the reservation was cancelled at the last minute, and the author said she could not find another suitable venue.

She claimed the Interior Ministry told hotels in Islamabad not to give her a room, although government officials deny this.

The launch finally went ahead at a small private office. Ms Siddiqa said it is clear the army does not want a debate about its corporate interests.

"It is part of their political power," she said. "It's the most intransparent part of the economy.

"It's about the interest of senior generals, they don't want any discussion on the subject."

The book's publication comes at a sensitive time for the military-led government.

A campaign to restore full democracy and civilian rule has been gathering pace since President Musharraf, who is also the army chief, suspended the chief justice over allegations of misconduct.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/6709583.stm

Army is the biggest corporation in Pakistan. I thought that was general knowledge. They produce and sell goods, weapons, schools, housing projects, roads, buildings, infratsructure etc.

military has too much of vested interest in our economy this explains why there is a coup after every 10 yrs or so in the country and the civilian setup is not allowed to flourish

well where is the freedom of expression now which the present govt used to boast of like a medal in its closet

Hussain said:
well where is the freedom of expression now which the present govt used to boast of like a medal in its closet

how can Bloody civilians write about the High and Mighty Military

Zeenix said:
how can Bloody civilians write about the High and Mighty Military

you forgot to add simileys to your post :D

Shartif and Bhutto are probably doing a bhangra now - way to go for democracy... bring back the Original looters and Mr. 10%....

I doubt it, if people can stand up to military, the politicians won't dare to do the same. And if they do, we have now the people and at least one instituition (courts) who have courage to stop them. One thing I can say for sure that peoples' cannot be taken for granted today like they have been in 80's and 90's.

The military does it in an organised discrete manner. They're all the same really.

Rather have them then the Mr 90% + More.. simple.. story.. Either pakistan wasn't made for the common people, otherwise they have every right to select whoever they wish to. How'd you like it if your security guard comes, ties you up and tells you since you can't run your house properly hence from now on i am going to run it.

Kashif said:
The military does it in an organised discrete manner. They're all the same really.

Oh yaar, badmaash ki baat ko kaun Challenge kur sakta hai..

This writer and her upcoming book was discussed and propogated in now taken off website called 'South Asia Tribune' last year or two years ago.

It was an interesting site but mainly used against Pakistan and especially Pak Army. It has some spy stories etc. Funny BBC is coming up with all thsi now, perhaps due to recent launch. I think the author once also worked somehow with Army/GHQ etc to get nside information about its dynamics.

Serendipity said:
This writer and her upcoming book was discussed and propogated in now taken off website called 'South Asia Tribune' last year or two years ago.

It was an interesting site but mainly used against Pakistan and especially Pak Army. It has some spy stories etc. Funny BBC is coming up with all thsi now, perhaps due to recent launch. I think the author once also worked somehow with Army/GHQ etc to get nside information about its dynamics.
Is the website still online?

It was taken off last year I think - I communicated with his editor (well known veteran journo from Pak settled in US, his name escapes me now, i think some thing Chughtai) but there were some mysterious circumstances I thought the way it was suddenly taken off.

Zeenix said:
Rather have them then the Mr 90% + More.. simple.. story.. Either pakistan wasn't made for the common people, otherwise they have every right to select whoever they wish to. How'd you like it if your security guard comes, ties you up and tells you since you can't run your house properly hence from now on i am going to run it.
excellent post. have been trying to say this for a long time now. :14:

well ultimatley mushys meddling is causing hate in the hearts of pakistanis for its army and that isnt good for the future..hence why they need to leave politics immediately...i am suspicious at the glut of anti pakistan news the bbc is suddenyl presenting..seems the pro india camp is well and truly alive and kicking!!

the Great Khan said:
well ultimatley mushys meddling is causing hate in the hearts of pakistanis for its army and that isnt good for the future..hence why they need to leave politics immediately...i am suspicious at the glut of anti pakistan news the bbc is suddenyl presenting..seems the pro india camp is well and truly alive and kicking!!

Thank you TGK - This is what I was alluding to really, we need to be careful in our genuine criticism and handing India an inviting easy opening on all fronts.

Serendipity said:
It was taken off last year I think - I communicated with his editor (well known veteran journo from Pak settled in US, his name escapes me now, i think some thing Chughtai) but there were some mysterious circumstances I thought the way it was suddenly taken off.
It was Shaheen Sehbai - then editor of The News in Islamabad. He fell out with Mush so he left the country and started this website from the US. I think there was a patch-up later on so the site was taken off.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shaheen_Sehbai

Zeenix said:

very good post zeenix. i would go for anyone who is fairly elected by the people, rather than the army. people who are backing the army jsut coz it is a stable institution, are forgetting that this insitution is being destroyed by all this. moreover, the army is destroying itself right now, and like the police, is loosgin respect in the eyes of the people.

Pakistan's top army commanders say there is a "malicious campaign" against institutions of the state by a small minority of vested interests.

The army warning comes amid a growing challenge to President Musharraf's decision to suspend the chief justice of the Supreme Court.

The move has galvanised opposition to the rule of Gen Musharraf, who is the head of the army.

Meanwhile, two TV channels have had their live broadcasts suspended.

The stations are among those that have given considerable coverage to the issues around the suspension of the chief justice, Iftikhar Chaudhry.

Obstructionist forces

The top army commanders issued their warning at a meeting of corps commanders in Rawalpindi.

Nobody will be allowed to bring instability in the country
Corps commanders' statement

The meeting was held ahead of schedule and correspondents say it is highly unusual for the army to issue press statements after such meetings.

But Friday's press statement said the army's top commanders "took serious note of the malicious campaign against Institutions of State, launched by vested interests and opportunists who were acting as obstructionist forces to serve their personal interests and agenda even at the cost of flouting the rule of law".

The statement also had the following warning: "Any attempt by a small minority to obstruct the aspirations of vast majority would only derail the nation from its path of progress and prosperity."

It concluded by saying that President Musharraf "appreciated unstinted support of the participants".

Moreover, Gen Musharraf assured the commanders that "nobody will be allowed to bring instability in the country".

President Musharraf seized power in a coup in 1999.

He is currently facing an unprecedented challenge to his rule by a combination of opposition secular and religious parties, as well as most of Pakistan's legal community.

'No criticism'

Lawyers began the campaign after Gen Musharraf suspended Chief Justice Chaudhry on 9 March.

Mr Chaudhry surrounded by lawyers in Islamabad
Observers say Mr Chaudhry offers an alternative to military rule

Many of the protests have resulted in bloodshed. In mid-May, violence between pro and anti-government supporters left 41 people dead in Karachi.

News organisations, particularly Pakistan's growing TV news networks, have come under government pressure to tone down their coverage of the protests.

Two private TV channels have now been prevented from live broadcasting after making alleged criticisms of the army and judiciary.

Aaj and ARY One World rely on cable operators who have said that the country's broadcasting regulator has ordered them to cut the feeds for the two channels.

On Thursday Pakistan's information minister warned that the government would strictly enforce media laws forbidding criticism of the army and the judiciary.

Injured man in Karachi
At least 41 died in the Karachi violence

President Musharraf has blamed the broadcast media for stoking the crisis triggered by the suspension of the chief justice.

The BBC's Shoaib Hasan in Islamabad says that new independent TV channels have given blanket coverage to what has turned into a campaign against military rule.

Gen Musharraf suspended the chief justice because he said he was abusing his office.

Critics say he is trying to stifle the independence of the judiciary in an election year.

Observers have said Mr Chaudhry is offering an alternative to Pakistan's military rule, with an independent judiciary and a return to civilian government.

Pakistan (Pvt.) Ltd.
U know wts the best thing abt this army that is in pakistan. Its the most caring army in the world. Wonder how???

U need medicine, the Army vil provide u.
U need Ice cream the army is there.
U need tikka n kebab, the fauji kebab is there.
U want to get some furniture, go to the army wala's shops.
Need Ice to make ur water cooler thanda, Army Ice-factory!
Need cakes n pastries n patties fr parties, Army will arrange those.
Cigarette, Samosay n Pakoray, army day gee.
want to watch a movie, koi baat nai, army cinema house.

Gota flat, or u want wheel balance fr ur car, or need a puncture wala fr ur bike, army say raabta kijiye, no worries at all, let the Pakistan Army take care of that.

Did u observe how caring the army is.
Dawaai ho ya furniture, cake patsry ho ya bread ya, gaadi ka wheel balnce ya bike ka tyre puncture sub kuch army sai karay gee,

Hussain said:
Pakistan (Pvt.) Ltd.
U know wts the best thing abt this army that is in pakistan. Its the most caring army in the world. Wonder how???

U need medicine, the Army vil provide u.
U need Ice cream the army is there.
U need tikka n kebab, the fauji kebab is there.
U want to get some furniture, go to the army wala's shops.
Need Ice to make ur water cooler thanda, Army Ice-factory!
Need cakes n pastries n patties fr parties, Army will arrange those.
Cigarette, Samosay n Pakoray, army day gee.
want to watch a movie, koi baat nai, army cinema house.

Gota flat, or u want wheel balance fr ur car, or need a puncture wala fr ur bike, army say raabta kijiye, no worries at all, let the Pakistan Army take care of that.

Did u observe how caring the army is.
Dawaai ho ya furniture, cake patsry ho ya bread ya, gaadi ka wheel balnce ya bike ka tyre puncture sub kuch army sai karay gee,

isnt this like a communist econonmy, where the government owns all and provides everything to its citizens ??

Lots of useless bashing based on how some people feel about Mush. The army isn't all about Mush so lets not forget there are lots of honest people in the army...least currupt group of people you would find in Pakistan.

Like it or not the army has had big role to play in our history one because we roughly only been around for 60 years . We have fought major wars and been in a continued state of war in much of Pakistan's history. This all requires lots of resources and they do happen to be the best equipt with more than enough man power. Would you have blamed or bashed them when Mush was not in power...even though people still complained didn't the army join in the Kashmir earth quake. I have seen many of the roads being made where the army officers or soldiers were actually working as construction workers...so yes they do things to help people as well.

You guys should look at the budgets of the armies around the world and really look into their businesses before being suprised that army is involved...there are always currupt people at all levels...but I bet least most of the funds go toward the army needs than just the generals or whoever.

Reminds me couple of days ago this women in keyfood was talking about not supporting tobacco companies and I pointed out the can food she had in her hand was also a product of philip morris because the company was owned by philip morris. She quickly put that down n picked up another brand...I just laughed because it was also owned by philip morris who just so happen to own 20 + brands of can foods...so most likely anything she would have picked from the shelf it would have been owned by philip morris.

Not directly related to the thread but if you closely look at some of the biggest companies/orgs you will see they will always have hidden corps/groups behind them...armies all around the world have lots of say in econmy as they give out some of the biggest contracts too.

Plus it not like everyone is being supported by tax money...

Feather

Allow me to remind you that you guys promoted this man as the father of freedom of speech in Pakistan.

Well I must say Pakistan seems to do better under Military Inc then it did under "Democratic looters" Inc .

At least the generals have a little sense of dignity and sharam that the democratic looters never had.

kashif

Military has always provided short term benefits for long term attrocities
Zia brought a cash injection for pakistan but left MQM
Ayub provided Pakistan with industry but sold the water supply of the furture generation to india

Musharraf............?

Wazeeri said:
kashif

Military has always provided short term benefits for long term attrocities
Zia brought a cash injection for pakistan but left MQM
Ayub provided Pakistan with industry but sold the water supply of the furture generation to india

Musharraf............?

Well you seem to be very knowledgeable about pakistani politics - so what do you feel Musharraf's legacy will be ?

So far his tenure has brought stability to a nation that was widely percieved as a failed state prior to his leadership.

Pakistani per capita GDP has doubled in 7 years under him.

Our foreign reserves have increased 10 fold under him.

After Sept 11th, Pakistan could have easily become a target of US military action.. we could have been another Iraq .. but Musharraf skilfully steered us through dangerous times.

As a pragmatist I think Musharraf and the military have helped Pakistan much more then any harm they have caused by the subversion of "democratic rule".

Though the post was directed towards wazeeri however i'll take the liberty to answer it.
kashif77 said:
Well you seem to be very knowledgeable about pakistani politics - so what do you feel Musharraf's legacy will be ?
A stronger MQM, a stronger MMA, a stronger anti federation sentiment. weaker institutions, politically marginalized provinces.
So far his tenure has brought stability to a nation that was widely percieved as a failed state prior to his leadership.
Refer to the interview Musharaf gave to GEO regarding his Book in which he admitted that the federation is weaker and fragile then it was before.

Pakistani per capita GDP has doubled in 7 years under him.

Our foreign reserves have increased 10 fold under him.
Hundi Restriction by the US. Money flowing in from expats through proper channels due to those restrictions. A billion dollar yearly aid by the US, Lots of Aid for the Earthquake coming from different countries and Pakistanis.

After Sept 11th, Pakistan could have easily become a target of US military action.. we could have been another Iraq .. but Musharraf skilfully steered us through dangerous times.

As a pragmatist I think Musharraf and the military have helped Pakistan much more then any harm they have caused by the subversion of "democratic rule".

Any leader XYZ would've sided with the US Musharaf had no choice, however the way that was carried out is the problem Total obedience and following and now what do we have, A totally opposite govt in Afghanistan, volatile Tribal Areas and baluchistan..

Kashif

I will take the liberty of answering the question aimed at me as well.

STABILITY

If this is the case than why do we need to gag the media?
Why do we have suicide bombings every other day?
Why are people on the street?
Why are people shooting at each other?

ECONOMY
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=41103&page=1

Name me one leader who has stood up against America in Pakistan's history?

Interesting comments Zeenix and Wazeeri .. I don't have time to reply completely to them ATM but will do so shortly.

In the mean time 2 questions for you guys :

1. What are the main reasons you do not support Musharraf ?
2. Who would you prefer in his place ?

Wazeeri said:
Feather

Allow me to remind you that you guys promoted this man as the father of freedom of speech in Pakistan.
Me? do quote me. I personally think freedom of speech is extremely overrated. I would much prefer freedom of thought.

Do point out single country on planet earth which fully truely allows freedom of speech.

Wazeeri said:
If this is the case than why do we need to gag the media?
Why do we have suicide bombings every other day?
Why are people on the street?
Why are people shooting at each other?

- Media has more freedom enough to take Mush to the task. There is no such thing as unbiased media. Fox, CNN or BBC they will always tell the same story in a completely different manner.

- We have had these for too long to even bring this up. Perhpas if you would forget about CJ for a moment you would remember not many people have took the streets against Mush.

- People are on the streets because they are idiots. They will oppose one currupt person according to you but will support another more currupt person in his place.

- When did people actually stop shooting each other that they started now? This has more to do with religious leaders than with mush.

Zeenix,

MMA is fare more powerful today than it was yesterday because of anti-american Mullah's hence we truely are more fragile I can't imagine a any of these religious leaders running our country.

You guys I wouldn't disagree with you if you actually brought some good points to the table...but empty accusations and blaming the problems for which the people are responsible for on a single person is unreal.

1. What are the main reasons you do not support Musharraf ?
2. Who would you prefer in his place ?
1. Murder of our own people outside of the set protocol
2. Security situation
3. Economy
4. Stronger rebellions in sindh, balochistan and nwfp
5. Further ruining of every institutioin in Pakistan including the army
to name but a few
Yes we haven't been able to return a decent leader through the democratic system throughout our history,
but why?

In our 60 year history I believe over half has been under the military. The democratic institution or any other institution has never been allowed to develop. Even now every department is run by an ex-general or a brigadier.

If you cut a tree down every time it starts growing it will not grow large enough to provide us with a canopy. The parliament/national assembly of Pakistan is exactly the same. People are not allowed to learn from their mistakes. Every time a democratically elected government gets out of control it is the army which comes in rather than the people.

Brief History of Pakistan

1945/7-1958 DEMOCRACY gets 13 years
1958–71, MILITARY gets 13 years
1971-77 DEMOCRACY gets 6 years
1977–88 MILITARY gets 11 years
1988-99 DEMOCRACY gets 11 years
1999 onwards. MILITARY GETS 8 years

Now how do you expect an institution to return a good system and grow strong when it hasn't even been given 15 continuous years throughout our history? How are the people going to learn how to use their votes when they have never been allowed to vote a full three terms? Give the people of Pakistan a chance to learn how to use democracy to their advantage.

These seeds of military rebellion were sewn into our country by the British. In 1948 when Qaid-e-azam ordered the military to fight in Kashmir, General Douglas Gracey refused. This was the moment which set this precedent in Pakistan for the army to make decissions. Had this not been the case our forefathers would have learnt how to vote. The National Assembly and all other democratic institutions would have been tailored to the culture and needs of Pakistan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph K
Now suggest a substitute for Mush please!

You say that as if Musharraf is acceptable. If something isn't acceptable it has to be discarded. The guy is a murderer, corrupt and selfish. These are not the traits I would like in my leader. So your question still stands, if we get rid of this scumbag(which we can't) who comes in.

The answer is anyone who gets elected through the national assembly. It would be great if it was a person who was dedicated to Pakistan but even a person who isn't is a good start. We only need to allow the democratic system to start and wait for it to grow. Leaving the military there is not an option because we already have a corrupt leader, we already have a crap security situation and we are about to be broken apart. This system is not promising and it isn't delivering.

Anyway What if Musharraf was to die tommorow? Would we not be going back to this system (even if for a little while).

The military is providing is with corruption just like our old democratic leadership.
The military is providing us with disintegration just like our old democratic leadership.
The military is over riding the judiciary just like our old democratic leadership.
The military is failing just like our old democratic leadership.

The difference is that a system under the military will deteriorate where as democracy if left alone will inshallah thrive. There is more promise in the national assembly than there is in the military.

Let these parties take control of Pakistan, let them make mistakes, let the Pakistani people learn the fact that they have the power to get rid of them. No matter what Musharraf does we cannot get rid of him but in a democratoc system our displeasure results in a loss for the establishment. Let this institution grow, so if not us than atleast our children can enjoy a free and fair society.

You guys I wouldn't disagree with you if you actually brought some good points to the table...but empty accusations

Feather

Please read through the various times we have debated this and you will see that all our claims are backed up by facts whether it be economy, security and what not.

The only argument you guys have forwarded is
If not musharraf than who?

Media has more freedom enough to take Mush to the task.

The media was given freedom when the public which was tired of BB and Nawaz rejoiced at their disposal. Then the public wasn't sure who to support so they had not problems with the military set up. But now that the things are not so rosy and the media is against Musharraf, the great general has decided that the freedom of press was not such a good idea,

So basically he will give freedom to the pakistani institutions as long as it is in his favour.

Anyway Feather, how do you feel about your great leader going to bed with the very people you are using to justify his stay?

I know it hasn't made the news yet but what will happen when my claim of the Pakistani rejection of support towards the switz materialises? Will you still support him?

Wazeeri said:
The only argument you guys have forwarded is
If not musharraf than who?

that is so true. and I have to say that everytime I read that, I just shake my head because it's so absurd.

Musharraf supporters tend to paint him as the last hope for Pakistan. they ask who else can lead the country? in a country of 160 million, they think there is not a single person capable of governing the country!

leaders don't descend from heaven. did anyone know Musharraf before he 98-99? his claim to fame was that he was promoted over more senior and capable generals because Nawaz Sharif thought him to be the most toothless/incapable of the lot and hence, not a thread to his government (just like Bhutto did with Zia). and secondly, the Kargil misadventure is his second claim to fame. not a great CV so far.

if he can come out of nowhere, another leader can too. but he doesn't have to. leaders are made when democracy is given a chance and a political process is allowed to evolve without interference from the army. storks doesn't come by and deliver ready made leaders.

imo, men like Ayaz Amir and Imran Khan are very capable of being in the government. Imran's stature as a politician has risen because of his stance on MQM when more established parties just sit twiddling their thumbs. at least I would vote for these two. I don't know about his honesty etc, but I saw Ahsan Iqbal's interview with Anwar Maqsood and Ahsan Iqbal is a very educated, intelligent man. similarly, Aitezaz Ahsan is a very intelligent man. I'm naming politicians that seem to be of a different breed - at least to me.

so, to suggest that Musharraf is the last man standing is quite frankly ridiculous.

The media was given freedom when the public which was tired of BB and Nawaz rejoiced at their disposal. Then the public wasn't sure who to support so they had not problems with the military set up. But now that the things are not so rosy and the media is against Musharraf, the great general has decided that the freedom of press was not such a good idea,

So basically he will give freedom to the pakistani institutions as long as it is in his favour.

I'm sure raising political awareness and coverage of current affairs was the last thing Musharraf wanted to accomplish when he gave media "freedom".

when it was convenient for him, he allowed it. now that it isn't, he is clamping down. but that is not how it works. you either have freedom or you don't. so much for his enlightened moderation.

Anyway Feather, how do you feel about your great leader going to bed with the very people you are using to justify his stay?

that is my biggest problem with him. he calls himself a liberal, yet is in bed with the MMA. he says that the old establishment was corrupt, yet many of his current ministers are lotas from the old establishment.

fact of the matter is that he isn't left wing, he isn't a moderate and he isn't right wing. he is another general like his predecessors who just wants to hang on to power. and he will sleep with whoever it takes to keep status quo.

btw, feather, here is an article a friend of Hammad Raza's wrote. what was Hammad Raza's crime? that he was going to tell the truth in his testimony? so Musharraf's enlightened moderation had him murdered in cold blood. this was not a robbery gone wrong. this was a pre-planned assassination. regardless of your personal opinion of the CJ, from all accounts, Hammad Raza was a good, honest man. if this isn't the murder of all humanity then I don't know what is.

this one case of state sponsored terrorism (yes the very evil Musharraf the saviour is fighting) alone should be enough to bring down Musharraf's government.

In Memory of my dear Friend

Jarrar Jaffari

link: http://www.chowk.com/show_article.cgi?aid=00007964&channel=gulberg

Syed Hamad Amjad Raza

Sab kahan kuch lala-o-gul mein namayan ho gaieen
Khak mein kia soorteen hoon gee keh pinhaan ho gaieeen

Almost a week after the suspension of the chief justice of Pakistan (CJ), I felt concerned about Hamad’s safety so immediately I punched in an email inquiring about how was he doing? As always he was prompt in responding and soon I received his email response explaining his views about the suspension of the CJ. He also advised me not to worry and to take good care of myself, very typical of Hamad. I am quoting the text of his email verbatim, I did not even fixed the typos in his email, the only parts I yanked out are the parts where he updated me about his new contact numbers:

Hello Jerry,

Yes I do read you. well these have been quite tumultous times in our "proud" history. some more laurels on account of good governance. had my share of some tense moments, but hopefully i have managed to come out unscathed. how about you and your family. all well? ...

Anyways there is nothing to worry about anymore. convey my regards to the pack out there. My contact numbers have changed and I am listing those below. you take very good care of yourself and be happy.

Hamad

Since our days together at Quaid-i-Azam University (QAU), Islamabad he would always call me ‘Jerry’. I was glad to read that he did manage to escape unscathed from the whole CJ saga - How wrong I was? May Almighty shower the unlimited reserves of His blessings upon my innocent friend’s (Hammad) soul.

In the circle of our friends at QAU he was the only one cut out to be a bureaucrat; the way he conducted himself, the way he addressed people, his demeanor, his conflict resolution style, and intellect level all indicated that he was born to be a DMG officer. He was a fine student, very mild mannered man, but a fierce competitor during our night-long never ending card championships. He was very well read and had a very fine taste for Urdu poetry.

He was still at civil services academy Lahore when I became an economic refugee and took a job in USA, we have always been in contact since then. In 2004 I visited Pakistan, then he was posted in Quetta. Shaboo (a QAU common friend) and I went to meet him there and had great opportunity of enjoying Hamad’s hospitality and meeting his wife the first time. On that trip I enjoyed some of the best Sajies and barbecues along with him.

Last year when I went to Pakistan, he came to meet me in Lahore, during one of the dinners he revealed that there were good chances that he might get posted to Islamabad as the additional registrar of the Supreme Court of Pakistan. He was very excited about the prospect of coming back to Islamabad – a city he loved very much.

It is a cliché to toot the horn of honesty after the death of a bureaucrat, but the fact that he would often get money from his parents even being a DMG officer underscores how honest and clean he was. A real gentleman, a great friend, anawesome son, a great husband and a very involved father.

In the end I just want to say this to the killers of my frined; you did not just kill a man sleeping with his three innocent children or a son hosting his parents, rather you killed a giant banyan tree that was providing shade to many and would have provided shade to the countless needy people of the country. You demolished a symbol of honesty and commitment. It does not matter whether you killed him as a part of robbery or you were part of a bigger design to assassinate Hamad; only thing that really matters is that his parents lost their “only” son, his three childern would hardly have any memory of their father, his wife lost her loving husband and like me tens of Hamad’s friends lost their best friend. But remember that the Yazids and Shimars of the history have never escaped God’s judgment. Don’t assume that you will.

Jarrar Jaffari
(Hamad’s Jerry)
Denver, Colorado, USA

Cowasjee on Hammad Raza's murder by the government, Musharraf's rambling, nonsensical interview with Talat Hussain on AAJ where he revealed his ridiculous view of May 12th.

in essence, he said Karachi is MQM's and if you take out a rally in an MQM area, they will resort to violence. so the president of Pakistan's prescription for upholding law and order - don't offend the delicate sensibilities of MQM. this is brilliant - arrest the murder victim because he had the gall to offend the murderer and therefore, be murdered. and this man heads our country and is perceived to be the last hope by many!!!

----------------------

The centre of gravity

By Ardeshir Cowasjee

link: http://dawn.com/weekly/cowas/20070527.htm

“I, Shabana Hammad Raza, widow of Syed Hammad Raza, do hereby state that on 14-5-07 at about 4:15 a.m. I, along with my husband and three kids, were sleeping in the bedroom situated in the upper storey of our official residence. I and my husband woke up hearing banging on the door of the bedroom. I thought that my father-in-law was in need of some medical attention and was knocking at the door. My husband opened the door.

“As soon as he opened the door, I saw four people armed, standing at the door. One of them fired directly at my husband which hit him on his head. He fell down on the floor. The intruders ran downstairs and rushed out of the residence. During this incident, neither my husband offered any resistance to the intruders nor did the intruders demand anything from myself or my husband. I can recognise the criminals.”

This is a statement, written by the young widow in her own hand, given to the Lahore police shortly after her husband’s body had been taken to that city to be buried. Young Hammad was shot at point blank range, shot to kill, the killer and his companions obviously having no other motive for their visit than to kill.

Judicial inquiries, police inquiries and any other sort of inquiries can be held, ad nauseam, but as with all such matters, we will never know the identity of the man who pulled the trigger or those who ordered him to do so, or the reason for which this young bureaucrat had his life taken away. (Acting Chief Justice Rana Bhagwandas has ordered that Hammad’s family be given suitable compensation, monetary and otherwise. This is fair and just, but then no amount of money can compensate for a life.)

The murder of a prime minister, Liaquat Ali Khan, over half a century ago, remains unsolved, as does the assassination of Hayat Sherpao, of Murtaza Bhutto and many other Pakistanis who have paid with their lives for the selfish and wicked aims of their contemporaries in power.

However, in all cases, as in this particular one, it must be the man (or woman) at the top, who holds the national reins, at whose door the buck stops, who must bear the responsibility for the loss of life, limb and property, whether he or she be privy to the actual plan and action or not. President General Pervez Musharraf, now being the holder of ultimate power in this Republic of Pakistan, is responsible for Hammad’s untimely and useless death.

As he is responsible for the general state of the nation today, for the judicial-legal crisis, for the happenings in Karachi on May 12, for not being able or willing to follow the diktat of a man he professes to admire and ensure that what Mohammad Ali Jinnah desired for the country he created came to pass – that religion would not be the business of the state.

Had he done so, it may be that we would have had far less bloodshed, that there would have been far less ethnic and sectarian strife, and that millions of innocents would not still be subjected to the iniquities of the Hadood and Blasphemy laws, and such other laws that are made on the premise of false religious practices.

The general, now more than ever before in his lengthy stewardship of this country, needs to sit back and calmly take stock of how and why it is that he finds himself in the bind in which he now is, rather than rushing in, commando-style, and making statements which are found to be so outlandish as to merit multiple comments in our press and electronic media (the channels available grow by the day – and congratulations to the Dawn group on the emergence of their news channel).

Musharraf has been a soldier for most of his life. He joined the Pakistan Military Academy in 1961(PMA-29), graduating in 1964 (PA-6920), and has worn his uniform for 46 long years. So there is no reason not to believe him when he said the other day that his uniform was like a second skin to him. It should be, but then, chameleon-like, he must have no doubt that one day – perhaps one day soon – circumstances will force him to shed it, leaving him with but his one original skin.

One positive sign came in his recent interview with The Globe and Mail (Canada) which was published in our press last week. When asked if he believed that extremism and terrorism could only be defeated with him at the helm of affairs, he admitted that nobody was indispensable. According to him, parliament is functioning and “there is an automatic system of throwing up leaders.”

He was disappointing on the question of Karachi and May 12. It is his rather strange view that the MQM has some sort of monopoly on our city. Why should anyone (meaning the Chief Justice of Pakistan and his legal team) he asked, go to Karachi “to fan trouble” when there was “a show of force by the MQM” who are able to get hundreds and thousands of people out on the streets? Secondly, he seemed puzzled as to why Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry was reluctant to accept the government hospitality offered to him – that should have been perfectly understandable.

As to his involvement in the day’s disaster, he pleaded complete innocence. “I don’t know who initiated the firing. Who did the firing is the question…. But the political response was a natural one. If they [the MQM] had not done it, these people [the CJP and lawyers] with all their supporters were going to go all over Karachi…. So therefore a reaction by the MQM…. to cast aspersions, this is exactly what the opposition wants to do…. And I would like to blame the opposition for politicising this whole dispute and I would like to blame these people who went in spite of the fact that Karachi is the stronghold of the MQM....”.

This is not good enough, it makes no sense, he is wrong. Is this a democracy only in name – we have according to the general, “the essence of democracy”? As such, there can be no such thing as no-go areas, no cities which are strongholds into which political rivals or others may not tread.

One complaint made by Gen Musharraf to his interviewer was that “they” think he is “the centre of gravity” and that by destabilising him “they” think they can achieve their goals. The fact is that he is the centre of gravity, but the problem is that if he is destabilized, none of us may achieve our goals as what may follow him is unknown and could be dangerous as far as achieving any goals are concerned.

With the destabilisation that continues in the country since early this year – what with the NWFP, Balochistan after Bugti, the Lal Masjid scenario in the heart of the capital city, the lawyers on the rampage, the judicial system preoccupied, the Karachi situation volatile and prone to implosion again with the MQM-Pathan stand-off. Our international well-wishers and supporters are agonizingly examining a post-Musharraf Pakistan. Though undoubtedly the sole superpower has a Plan B stashed away for us.

However, all is not lost. It is doubtful that this present imbroglio, as complicated as it may be, will be the downfall of our president general, and after all we could have done much worse than have him arranging or disarranging our lives.

To quote from The Economist of May 17, and its lengthy article on Pakistan aptly titled ‘A general state of disarray’ :

“Such has been the political cycle in Pakistan: bad democratic government, yielding to unpopular military government and then to democratic messiness again. It is unclear whether the wheel is about to turn on General Musharraf's rule. But it is a good moment to judge it.

“Many of the general's prescriptions have been excellent. In the management of the economy he has trusted sensible technocrats, including Mr Aziz. They have been blessed with an inheritance of liberal reforms and, above all, by booming capital inflows, not only from America. Yet they can take credit for strong economic growth, predicted to be seven per cent this year.

“In foreign relations, too, right-minded policies have borne fruit. In the past three years Pakistan's relations with India have been transformed from semi-war to almost-peace. A final settlement of the two countries' problems, and above all, the divided region of Kashmir, remains elusive; the rivals' demands are simply incompatible. Yet General Musharraf has perhaps done more than any leader in either country to nudge them into line.”

holy cow now I am in trouble now that Geo has been banned so much for having more freedom of media than before. While I think that is wrong I would not be watching Geo to get the source of their ban.

Wazeeri, there are lots of opinions always however I have no idea why you present them as facts. If the Mush supporters paint him as saint you sure you paint him the father of the devil too. You have the same old sticking points killing his own ppl etc.

I honestly don't like everything Mush does but I have always believed his done it better than the pervious ones. Imran I am not a big fan because he can't stick to his own words. You ask me a question of Mush sleeping with the currupt. Imran's party has one seat basically no real support anywhere in Pakistan...doesn't have any known leaders within his party.

You think if Imran is made the head of another party for example...when he needs the chaudry's or their vote bank...what is going to do? put them in jail? Do you honestly think Imran would be able to do anything to the chaudry brothers?

Feather

Fine you tell me which one of my opinions you think are baseless and I will list just the facts behind it. No argument at all, just bullet points of facts.

Anyway from your post I understand you don't want a government with Benazir and Nawaz but you would rather have a government with The chaudhary brothers, Altaf Hussain, Fazl ur rehman, Benazir and soon Nawaz ( probably).

Zehar Zehar kau maar ta hai????
Sab milkai Pakistan kau lootain gai.

Atleast with our system we only get a few of them and we have the option of getting rid of them.

The thrust of Ayesha Siddiqa's argument:

http://www.opendemocracy.net/conflict-india_pakistan/pakistan_crisis_4622.jsp

Pakistan's permanent crisis
Ayesha Siddiqa
16 - 5 - 2007

A nexus of military-political power at all levels of Pakistan's state and economy chokes the country's potential for democratic development, says Ayesha Siddiqa.
------------------------------------------

The streets of Pakistan have in recent days resonated with strikes, gunfire, and the cries of demonstrators. A crisis sparked by the suspension of the supreme court's chief justice on 9 March 2007 has exploded into a full-scale emergency with no end in sight. The turmoil raises acute questions about Pakistan's political future. But it also highlights a more deep-rooted question regarding the very possibility of political and economic progress in a country so heavily dominated by one institution: the Pakistani military.

The fact that Pakistan's crisis has turned violent - with forty-one people killed in Karachi over the weekend of 12-13 May and the assassination of a leading court official in Islamabad - adds a dangerous twist and makes the prospect of a quick resolution even more difficult. What is sure is that the country's general-president, Pervez Musharraf, is hard at work in the attempt to ensure his own survival. But where are the allies of the beleaguered leader, apart from the members of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) who were deeply implicated in the Karachi events? Here there are persistent rumours of a deal between Musharraf and the former prime minister and exiled opposition leader, Benazir Bhutto.

here has been no formal announcement, though Bhutto has mentioned the possibility of an arrangement between her Pakistan People's Party (PPP) and the president in the parliamentary elections tentatively scheduled for October 2007. If such a deal were made, Bhutto would expect to become prime minister for a third time with Musharraf remaining as president. Each side might benefit: Bhutto would secure a share of power and the lifting of the numerous corruption cases pending against her, while Musharraf would create a buffer protecting him from a tide of multiple, accumulating pressures. The partnership would also allay Musharraf's most potent anxiety, by appeasing the doubts of his foreign patrons about his ability to keep the religious extremist forces in the country at bay. The PPP would be a congenial partner in the effort to display to the world the liberal face of Pakistan.

A stifled polity

If the Musharraf-Bhutto deal does go through - and in the present fluid situation nothing is certain - one important result will be to reformat Pakistan military's partnership: shifting it from a military-mullah alliance to a military-liberal alliance (which was also the case during the 1960s). Such a marriage of convenience against religious extremism and cultural conservatism would be highly attractive to Pakistan's main external patron, the United States. The new relationship would need to be secured politically, the most likely mechanism being the manipulation of the electoral process that has so often been the forte of Pakistan's army and its numerous intelligence agencies.

There are many imponderables on the road from the Musharraf-Bhutto dalliance to arranged marriage. But one thing is clear: the partnership will not strengthen democracy in Pakistan.

The reason is rooted in the nature of the Pakistani military and its political influence. In the past, alliances between the country's various civilian leaders and its military have served only to consolidate the armed forces' control of political power. Today, the military remains the key political player, constantly seeking to cultivate bonds of dependence with politicians and among civil society in pursuit of its larger political and economic goals. In fact, after sixty years of independence Pakistan is witnessing the integration of elite interests, including those of the senior military class and its cadres. In this process, there is developing a fusion of military, political and economic power - an outcome inimical either to better governance or stronger democracy in the country.

The military's ambitions are not arbitrary but rooted in the organisation's range of material and institutional interests in Pakistan. The protection of these is vital to sustain the lifestyles of its officer cadre, in particular, senior generals, both retired and those still serving, appreciate the benefits accruing from a financial empire worth billions of dollars. This vast apparatus encompasses four military welfare foundations (valued at around $2 billion), but also includes hundreds of large-, medium- and small-scale business ventures which the military more or less directly runs. For instance, one major cargo transport giant is a military firm; and other army units have run everything from Lahore petrol-pumps to toll-levies on a national highway. The estimated total worth of this economy exceeds $100 billion (see Ehsan Masood, "Pakistan: the army as the state", 12 April 2007).

These extensive financial interests guarantee the armed forces both organisational autonomy and a regular flow of resources from the public and private sectors to enrich senior officers. But the military's power goes even wider: it extends, for example, to the acquisition of state-owned land with impunity. It is now common for the government to dispossess landless peasants from state land they have in desperation occupied and transfer ownership to military personnel. By these and other means, the military has come to control about 11.58 million acres of state land (12% of the total). Much of this is then distributed to its personnel for private benefit (in return for a very modest rent).

This policy is ostensibly designed to benefit all military personnel, including soldiers, but the main beneficiary (especially from urban land distribution) is the officer cadre. In rural areas, too, senior officers receive extra subsidies such as farm-to-market roads, access to water and allowance to use soldiers as farm-workers. The similarities to the position of local feudal lords are more than contingent: in fact, the military economy is in effect a pre-capitalist socio-economic structure whose assets embody comparative political power rather than act as a source of capital formation.

A crony economy

Pervez Musharraf's eagerness to reward the members of his primary political constituency has meant that this system of rewards has flourished under his seven years of military rule. Behind Pakistan's political games and calculations, the system forms the basis of a "social contract" under which the military fraternity and its cronies will continue to enjoy access to resources and opportunities as long as they remain loyal. This formula is also the basis for the enhancement of the military's political power.

The domination of civilian institutions by the armed forces is at the heart of Pakistan's permanent crisis. This political-economic nexus entrenches political cronyism - and in a way that implicates international players too. In a situation of such extensive military control, forces (civilian, political, or Pakistan's foreign allies) which desire to advance their interests in the country have no option but to seek access to and preference from the state's most powerful institution.

The economics and politics reinforce each other. The result is the emergence of a Pakistani ruling elite that comprises a complex network of senior military, significant industrialists, businessmen, landed-feudal owners, civil bureaucracy and now even media gurus. Some members of this elite coalition may not be entirely comfortable with the military's overarching control, but as a whole it has become a pillar of Pakistan's authoritarian form of governance. This system is a huge obstacle in the way of progress towards democracy in Pakistan.

Wazeeri,

When you can't answere simple questions least don't put words in other people mouths. You seem to think you present facts none of which I have ever seen so it is useless to argue about that.

Yes, your correct from my posts it is clear that I do not want Bhutto or Nawaz and from your posts it is clear you have no problem with them. Far as the chaudry brothers are concerned they have lived through all 3 and have done very well for themselves so I was asking for your opion of their well being under Imran.

Far as Altaf Hussain is concerned I thought I had made it very clear that he should be shot dead. People like Fazl ur Rehman and other religious nut cases keep me in a okay mood with Mush knowing it could be worse.

If Imran could bring a better era why not. I don't believe he can but since your his supporter I will leave it upto you to answere your own questions. A man with no real support throughout the country as his party his only one seat. No real known leaders within his party....if he is made the PM/President tom...is he not going to sleep with the people who put him in power in the first place? Is he going to put the people with the vote bank in jail for their crimes?

Or is he going to put his people his [generals, commanders] in key positions so he can rule with a iron fist. Will you than not have a problem? End of the day I am only wondering how will Imran do it all himself...without doing some of the same things Mush has done.

feather said:
-

Zeenix,

MMA is fare more powerful today than it was yesterday because of anti-american Mullah's hence we truely are more fragile I can't imagine a any of these religious leaders running our country.
You guys I wouldn't disagree with you if you actually brought some good points to the table...but empty accusations and blaming the problems for which the people are responsible for on a single person is unreal.
Feather: I belong to the province where MMA won resoundingly. I admit that there were Anti American sentiments and also the cohesion of religious parties under a single platform contributed to their vote bank, however i can assure you that were there free and fair elections, MMA would have won definately from a few constituencies (known for their pro-maulvi sentiments), however they would have found it very difficult to make their own govt, and almost impossible to get such a good standing in the National Assembly. I can tell you the story of our own village. It was impossible for MMA to win a seat over there, also in Nowshera where Naseerullah Babar is a much respected and followed figure. True in parts of Swat, Dir, DI khan they would've won easily but Never in Peshawar, Swabi, Mardan, Charsadda, Kohat, Chitral and Hazara. Hazara and Chitral is known for its Pro Muslim League (Nawaz) hold, whereas Peshawar Nowshera Kohat are known for their PPP following. Charsadda, Mardan and swabi are pro ANP. The MMA should thank Pervaiz Musharaf for their govt (part of the reason why they voted Musharaf into presidency and accepted almost all his amendments). And since musharaf had to tell US that if he isn't in the govt MMA would take over the whole country hence the rigged polls.

I am pretty sure we cand discuss all these things in other threads. The original thread was about the book and the army's interest. I just thought there was bit useless bashing because it is the samething all around the world.

Yes, your correct from my posts it is clear that I do not want Bhutto or Nawaz and from your posts it is clear you have no problem with them.

Talk about putting words in people's mouths. I never said that you don't have a problem with the above two. Infact you seem to want all of the Pakistan's dirt running Pakistan at once. You say you would have Altaf shot dead than can you please justify his alliance with your hero?

Murder, Corruption, Criminal friends, suppresion of the media and judiciary. What does Musharraf have to do for you to want to get rid of him?

If Imran could bring a better era why not. I don't believe he can but since your his supporter I will leave it upto you to answere your own questions.

Am I supporting Imran Khan as well now? Please read through my posts I have made myself clear as to why Imran is not perfect. But I would prefer any democratic leader other than Musharraf (even Musharraf as a democratic leader) because it will be a start.

without doing some of the same things Mush has done.

Musharraf doesn't need anyone's support. By doing what he has done so far he has shown himself to be incompetent as well as a fool. He doesn't need to have support from anyone, he rigged his presidential referendum before, he could have done it again.

He had a chance to change the Pakistani political culture, he could have got rid of these parasites but the love for power has gotten the better of him.

It is really weird that you accept that the man is corrupt and sleeping with the devil but you don't want a system which could control him.

Military Inc eh ok fair enough, but why doesnt anyone have the guts to write a book called Corrupt Politicians Inc.

Oh wait Corrupt politicians are OK but generals are not

Pakistan needs a complete transformation from A to Z from the army to the politicians.

military inc. should have been published abroad it sad. I read somewhere the best selling book in pakistan sell something like 10,000 copies and thats it.

Zechariah said:
Military Inc eh ok fair enough, but why doesnt anyone have the guts to write a book called Corrupt Politicians Inc.

Oh wait Corrupt politicians are OK but generals are not

Pakistan needs a complete transformation from A to Z from the army to the politicians.

Zechariah do we really need to have some one illustrating Politicians corruption. After all what are the agencies and our Armed Forces for. They serve the purpose dutifully and religiously telling us everytime they take over how corrupt the politicians were and how they were about to lead Pakistan to its doom. And since saying anything against the army is equivalent to tyranny hence nobody can say anything about the army.

the darkness of the politicians is much much greater than the darkness of the military.

Zech

Have you even read the book?

I have seen interviews of her and she seems like a very decent person who loves the army. Her argument was that we all love the Pakistani army and we want to see it get better and better. The only way to achieve that is to get rid of this corruption.

Do you know how many army based businesses are free from Government audits?
This is just not on.

As for your question "why no one writes a book about corrupt politicians". This is a brilliant example of diverting the question rather than answering it. Firstly there are many books written on the corruption of PML and PPP, mostly by each other.

2ndly I think the more important point is that whenever questioned about Musharraf, why do the pro-mushies come out with following?
Well aren't the other guys corrupt?
Was it any better under the last guy?
Why don't you attack the politicians?

How about we actually evaluate Musharraf without comparing him to others? How about we actually think about his short comings rather than diverting the issue towards the faults of others?

If a light bulb in my house didn't work properly, I would change it. I wouldn't ask "was the last light bulb any better?"

I would keep on changing the light bulb until I found one that works.

Clearly the BBC and western media have an agenda. They don't like to see the progress Pakistan has made. You never hear them mention how the KSE has reached record highs or how Pakistan has progressed very well economically especially in the past 5-6 years (yes 9/11 and the war on terror helped and gave Pak aid but only a naive person would think that the current economic growth would be possible without prudent fiscal policy- Shaukat Aziz, Omar Ayub Khan, etc...)

They want us to return to civilian rule so the likes of BB, NS can loot the nation again. Hard to forget about that? And yes, she wants to get into power again. May we all get saved from the party that severed Pak in 1971 (because they couldn't win the election out right. That's the PPP's brand of democracy for you!). It sickens me that people have forgotten that.

It was pointless publicity by the government. 70 percent of your population doesnt know how to read. how will it even expose anyone. I think there was a stat out a couple years ago saying that the best selling book in pakistan sells 10,000 copies. nothing considering the populous.

Clearly the BBC and western media have an agenda.

Zechariah be reasonable
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/4165861.stm

how Pakistan has progressed very well economically especially in the past 5-6 years (yes 9/11 and the war on terror helped and gave Pak aid but only a naive person would think that the current economic growth would be possible without prudent fiscal policy- Shaukat Aziz, Omar Ayub Khan, etc...)

How long has Shaukat aziz been in the setup again?
Anyway take your argument to this thread, we can discuss in detail

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=41103&highlight=economy

Wazeeri said:
1. Murder of our own people outside of the set protocol
2. Security situation
3. Economy
4. Stronger rebellions in sindh, balochistan and nwfp
5. Further ruining of every institutioin in Pakistan including the army
to name but a few

empty accusations again as it has been pointed out before!

Murder?? did you just have a dream about it?? name a few please..

Security Situation?? If you are referring to those suiside bombers then may be security situation in US and UK is worse than Pakistan

Economy?? again sounds like another pick from your wild dream again... even a blind, deaf person living in Pakistan would disagree with this!

Rebellions?? hope ur referring to the mullas cos they have always been... and the looters of 90s will always run like headless chickens unless they are in charge themselves

Instituitions being ruined?? cant think of any such thing, but can you give you names of some instuitions which have been stablized to a huge extent!!

If you do disagree, please reply back with some facts!

Ha55an

I don't think compilation of the childish sentences merits a response but I will humour myself.

Murder?? did you just have a dream about it?? name a few please..

Baijur Agency
Waziristan
Balochistan
Pakistani Army

Security Situation?? If you are referring to those suiside bombers then may be security situation in US and UK is worse than Pakistan

You sound like a very intelligent man.

Hows this for an explanation
UK suicide bomings since 9/11 = 1
Pakistan suicide bombings since 9/11 = 13
USA suicide bombings from 9/11 = 3 on the same day

That is only suicide bombings by the way.

Economy?? again sounds like another pick from your wild dream again... even a blind, deaf person living in Pakistan would disagree with this!

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=41103&page=1&highlight=economy

Rebellions?? hope ur referring to the mullas cos they have always been... and the looters of 90s will always run like headless chickens unless they are in charge themselves

How about the Balochis, WANA, Wazeeris????

Instituitions being ruined?? cant think of any such thing, but can you give you names of some instuitions which have been stablized to a huge extent!!

Can you name one major institution which is run by someone from within rather than an ex-army officer?

Ayesha Siddiqa’s “Military Inc.: Banned in Pakistan

51X5VZqJXuL._SS500_.jpg

Description:
The latest book Military Inc.: Inside Pakistan’s Military Economy, written by Ayesha Siddiqa is a tell all narration of the highly profitable company called The Pakistan Army.

As was expected - but much more so than expected becasue of its timing - Ayesha Siddiqa’s new book Military Inc.: Inside Pakistan’s Military Economy is causing waves in Pakistan and abroad.

Read online or Download:
Code:
http://www.scribd.com/doc/100376/Military-Inc

2 Books of General Asad Durrani are on it's way.

Naseem Zahra's book is creating lots of fire aswell.

Freedom of Speech is getting as poor as Zia's Era but real journos, human rights & political activists are fighting it out.

Azaz Syed has been proven right after years. He was the first pne to break silence on OBL issue.