Mohalla Cricket Rules

Free Hit

The Gully Mohalla Cricket Club :afridi

so which new rules have you invented, and which one do you people use that are not in the book of cricket.

I'l start of.

if no wickets, draw wickets on the wall.

Play Automatic wicket keeper, so a specific area on the wall dedicated as keeper, if you edge and ball hit there, its out

if there is a dead lock, ex, 6 players on one side and 7 others, then one player will play for both team, for one team he will bat and other he will bowl (alot of match fixing in this case :butt) mainly it be some evai player with no use...

No Umpires !!! FULL STOP to prevent match fixing, i guess ICC and PCB should learn from this.

if the match is gone and you want another game, then forfeit that match and start another one.

if you are anti test match, then 3 defensive shots in a row is out, this is used rarely, if am playing in door with 2 or 3 people then we play, 8 runs in an over is needed, if fail to get target then out.

This thread might be weird but who cares....:bumble

In Hostel when playing cricket in common room or any small area ....we use to had specific rules ..

..direct hit to walls are out
..one tip(bounce) catch is considered as catch i.e., out .

P.S : and for this we need to have play proper grounded shots to survive ..loved those days ....absolute fun

..one tip(bounce) catch is considered as catch i.e., out .

Yeah, we used to play that except it would be one tip one hand e.g if it took one tip you would have to catch it with one hand.

you can catch the ball with one hand if it directly hits the wall.

you are out if the ball is above a certain height on off side.

. Batsmen beaten twice is considered out.

. Bowler changes only when he gets hit for a boundary.

3 balls missed and you are out.

hit on body 3 times and you are out.

when not able to make complete two teams (11 players each) ...batting order decided by some random rules ..that special number generator to pick the lines..:)

last numbered batman to bowl first ...and bowling change with descending orders (obviously skipping current batsman number)...with a batsman can play max 3 overs ....

when not able to make complete two teams (11 players each) ...batting order decided by some random rules ..that special number generator to pick the lines..:)

last numbered batman to bowl first ...and bowling change with descending orders (obviously skipping current batsman number)...with a batsman can play max 3 overs ....

woah, exactly similar concept we apply too, if you just got out, you cannot ball, until everyone else has bowled.

and if its 12 overs match, and there are 10 players, and the opener has gone into 3rd over without much scoring, expect your own team/pavilions pressure and either retired hurt, or slog to get out...

Ah the good old street team, I remember how my team progressed from the Mohalla to the local ground for our first unofficial Coca Cola championship, loser buys drinks for the winners :))

Anyhow, when we were on the streets, sometimes we would have an elderly baba sit there and if needed we would ask for a 'review' :)) so ahead of our time we were...

If the ball goes inside someone's house , the batsmen will ring the doorbell and ask for it :jm

if there are 2 teams with different number of players on each side for eg. 10 & 11 then the team containing less players will have an extra batting to be taken by one with the highest score in that team!!

Me and my friends, get a landmark like a tree about 50,40 metres away and use that as the boundary line.

Also if there aren't that many people we just make it that theres no score on the off side.

If we only have one ball and we're playing in a confined area then the rule is 6 and out if you hit it out of the area (for instance into someone else's garden). Also if you edge it you're always deemed out.

We used to play "Pepsi cricket". Instead of two teams, there were three teams of 2 players each. All three teams got batting chance one by one while the other two teams fielded.

The batsman always got to play the full quota of 4 overs even if they got out. If they got out, 2 runs would be deducted from the team for each dismissal

In the end who has the highest runs would be the winner. sometimes all three teams had scores in the negative :D

1."Baby over(3 balls)"..If a bowler was not bowling well or in a tight match , there was a baby over rule to change the bowler after 3 balls and rest 3 bowls were to be bowled by another bowler...
2.Winning team will bat first in the next game.
3.Single batting allowed i.e if there were 7 payers in a team and 6 got out the last batsman was allowed to play alone.
4. Runs were allowed only in front of the wicket,No runs behind the wicket
5. If there were only few players playing then runs were allowed only on leg side and if the batsman hit it on off side he had to go and collect the ball.
6. Above Head Bouncer a NO Ball Instead of a Wide..
7. Leg side wide i.e doesnt matter how close the ball went to the leg stump still it would called as a Wide.

scanning through the posts so far i can safely I am aware to most of them...:afridi

The batsman getting bowled saying: "Yaar ik mauka aur de na ik mauka aur" :(

lol

i think thats a different topic.

sometime we cross the limits like

you-kasam chuk tu ni edge kita
batsman- Kashme, or kas, or ka'ame, mai'n ni mariya....(they think they can get away with that for taking such an oath) its worst when you have wickets drawn on the wall. 20 minutes ki game and 20 minutes argument..

Double Bat Out..if you hit the ball twice you are hit(even if that was unintentionally)

No LBW
Three stumps on the batting end and a brick on the bowlers end
If the ball touches even a leaf of the tree, the catch is not valid
If the ball hits the wall once, the catch is not valid BUT if it bounces from one wall to another wall and then gets taken as a catch, it's out.

If you bowled the first over, forget about opening the batting or batting anywhere in top order :ahmed
if you opened the batting, forget about bowling :wahab
Umpire is always from the Batting team
If you chuck, you are allowed to bowl spin only (watta spin)
No singles taken on last bowl of the overs :yk:yk:yk

If you bowled the first over, forget about opening the batting or batting anywhere in top order :ahmed

Watta Spin :Murali :yk

haha i think its same logic for everyone.

doesnt matter how bad you are with bat, you want to bat and bat in front of anyone else, and then the good batsman in the pavilion are left clueless. sharmindigi hoti hai....politics everywhere :zoni

Try ball. I dont know why but the first ball of the innings was called a try-ball. JLT

OMG ganesh, are you sure, you are not one of our crew memeber.

usually, they dont tell you, and go for wide slog, if gone the distance then 'am off the mark' but out then 'try ball'

uff total batsman dominance, the game has changed nothing favours bowler :irfan

OMG ganesh, are you sure, you are not one of our crew memeber.

usually, they dont tell you, and go for wide slog, if gone the distance then 'am off the mark' but out then 'try ball'

uff total batsman dominance, the game has changed nothing favours bowler :irfan

LOL :D Yea that used to happen lots. One batsman in my colony got out on the second ball and tried to say that the first was actually a try-try ball :20: so he is not out :p

Surraa Ball....If the ball bounces more thn once or doesnt bounce at all...Surraa ball= No Ball

Sometimes we draw stick men on the wall and call them slips fielder aik, and slip fielder do.

If ball touches your body or clothes directly twice in the innings, you are out.

Haha try ball :))
My little sister plays with her friends. She says "mai jab out hoti hoon toh bolti hoon..try ball theee!" :p

And yeah, the date palm tree trunk were the wickets. :p No W/K and no umpires...only arguments between the teams to decide who is out or not. :p

"Doggy life" where both teams don't have the same number of players, the team with fewer players gets to nominate one batsman who has a doggy life i.e. he has 2 lives when batting.

"Last Man Standing" where one batsman is left after everyone else on his team has been dismissed, he gets to carry on batting till he is out.

"Doggy life" where both teams don't have the same number of players, the team with fewer players gets to nominate one batsman who has a doggy life i.e. he has 2 lives when batting.

"Last Man Standing" where one batsman is left after everyone else on his team has been dismissed, he gets to carry on batting till he is out.

Yeah these are rules which we use in every game.

Also as there are no umpires when both teams are aguing over a decision we use a rule known as Matchstick.

The batsmen has to survive 3 balls while using the handle of the bat, if he survives he carries on batting if not he's out

Yeah these are rules which we use in every game.

Also as there are no umpires when both teams are aguing over a decision we use a rule known as Matchstick.

The batsmen has to survive 3 balls while using the handle of the bat, if he survives he carries on batting if not he's out

Lol we use the old matchstick rule too :adnan

Also have quite a few arguments over "pea-rollers" where the ball shoots across the ground and gets you out. Usually matchstick is the only way to resolve it after some lively exchanges :sami

if It goes to anybodys house, its out and yes the guy who hits the ball there he either climbs there and risks his life to get the ball or brings a new one.

If there are less fielders then any shot on the off side is not accounted for (and i used to think subcontinent players were good legside/wristy players due to this reason lol, quite possible)

Last man standing, has to run atleast 2 runs, cant take a single.

If the bowler was terribly out of form during an over, his over could be terminated and a certain number of runs (usually 6) could be conceded to the batting team, with the consent of the batting team.

Today I saw about 20 odd kids playing an actual cricket match using their leg as the cricket bat because they didnt have a real bat.

Yeah, lol we used to do this in Primary School if we werent allowed to use the cricket bats.

We used to call it Foot Cricket.

1, the arguments and debates over 'contentious decisions' taking more time than the match itself. This might also result in some crybaby leaving the match and resulting in a lot of bad blood and hence a charged up secon match :D :afridi
2. everybody bowling as fast as they can as if other aspects of fastbowlingsuch as swing and seam do not exist.
3. technically correct batsmen (hence not sloggers) are considered tailenders and never get the chance to open :D
4. losing team treating the winners to drinks or a cheap snack
5. the captain haviing an afridi approach to captaincy. if the team wins than he's the hero and single handedly got the win. if defeat then everyone under the sun apart from himself is to blame

btw ive always wondered how these matchesseem to have very high standards of fielding.

maybe because anybody who drops a catch is sliced by his teammates left, rright and centre and till the surviving batsman gets out again his life is a hell.
agar yeehi approach apni team ke saath ho shayad kuch fielding achi hojaye!

We used to play "Pepsi cricket". Instead of two teams, there were three teams of 2 players each. All three teams got batting chance one by one while the other two teams fielded.

The batsman always got to play the full quota of 4 overs even if they got out. If they got out, 2 runs would be deducted from the team for each dismissal

In the end who has the highest runs would be the winner. sometimes all three teams had scores in the negative :D

Yes!!! we played a variant of this where it was 2 overs a side 3 teams of two and out is out. Even the team who wasnt involved in that match would field. Play each team 3 times and then top two teams would play a four over final. Very competitive it would get sometimes.

I jus remembered another one...if a bowler bowls a fulltoss..does not matter where it is , batsman will cry that its above waist (even if its knee height) and then after a 15 min fight, play will resume.
Lesson Learnt: Pitch the damn ball :rana

btw ive always wondered how these matchesseem to have very high standards of fielding.

maybe because anybody who drops a catch is sliced by his teammates left, rright and centre and till the surviving batsman gets out again his life is a hell.
agar yeehi approach apni team ke saath ho shayad kuch fielding achi hojaye!

yeh LAla afridi to some did take that appraoch, danday day naal sida karna but reuslt is coach is not happy, and ofcourse players. a rumour

I jus remembered another one...if a bowler bowls a fulltoss..does not matter where it is , batsman will cry that its above waist (even if its knee height) and then after a 15 min fight, play will resume.
Lesson Learnt: Pitch the damn ball :rana

:yk

communication between the fielder isnt great as well. ive seen some nasty incidents. head bangs, try and catching a ball, but you end up closing your hands on somebody's neck, and if batsman hits it high up and it doesnt travel alot and you think its landing on the mitch somewhere, you try your best to distract the bowler...

- one tip catch has to be caught with only one hand.

- the Raylukatta : guy who bats for both teams

- getting hit on the legs 3 times is out.

- one tip catch has to be caught with only one hand.

- the Raylukatta : guy who bats for both teams

- getting hit on the legs 3 times is out.

We used to call the guy a Joker. He only used to do wicketkeeping and no bowling. But he used to get double batting

https://youtu.be/H-13S4rXTxE

This video is just great and in topic

Recommend the whole six minutes.

His other content is good too

We usually used to be 6-7 guys and followed the numbering behind the back system to assign batting positions too. Another system was to write the batting positions on the sand with a line drawn out and cover the numbers with the bat, people were assigned their batting positions according to the line they chose. :genius

Also everyone would contribute a fixed amount from their weekly pocket money towards the fund for the tennis ball and the electric tape. Anyone who didn't contribute was made to fetch all the balls that went too far. We played in the vast parking of the Eid Mussalah, Karamah, Dubai (which was opposite our homes), only used twice an year for Eid holidays or during Ramadan for the cannons to signal Iftar.. We played a couple of days on most weekdays as there was no chance on weekends cuz it was full of people from all over coming, about 200 or so. Although if we didn't have a football match then we would lay out cones (which also acted as fielders later on) on a specific area and leave someone on the lookout at the gates to prevent anyone from using it.

Here's a picture to show how huge it was (although it doesn't do it justice) and what chasing after a ball on concrete that just kept rolling on and on meant. Sometimes the joggers would help throw the ball back they usually arrived towards the sunset when it started getting a bit cooler.

musallah.jpg

Haven't played Mohalla cricket in a long time!

I remember we used to have this ridiculous rule. If ball touches body twice, you are out.

We usually used to be 6-7 guys and followed the numbering behind the back system to assign batting positions too. Another system was to write the batting positions on the sand with a line drawn out and cover the numbers with the bat, people were assigned their batting positions according to the line they chose. :genius
Lol this second method seems way too much work for sth which could be done in much simpler ways :))

Me and my friends used to play in my terrace in school days,the rule was if someone hits out of the terrace then he was declared as out.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] any memories?

Used to stay at Sea View in those days so used to play sometimes, I was one of the few who didn't mind bowling.

I remember once some random guy showed up and joined in (he was older). It was our equipment. He batted for a few mins then smashed the ball onto the Sea View road and left. :29:

We were once playing in front of our building and I swept the ball extravagantly... and a few seconds later the ball smashed a window :srt was pretty scared as those neighbours were the grumpy type and had complained previously. Thankfully, they weren't home and the window wasn't damaged either.

There were a lot of burger bachas in the area so it wasn't much fun, only a few would turn up and they weren't into it much.

What was more interesting was taking a bat to school and playing one-tip during breaks. There was always that one guy who would smash the ball out of the school if the bell was about to ring....

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] any memories?

Too many to count from childhood! I once purchased stumps with my eidi and started blackmailing the whole mohalla team to give me first over and also send me to open the batting and every time i was given out i forced them to give me another or chance or i am gonna quit and going back home with stumps :))

Great video!

Used to stay at Sea View in those days so used to play sometimes, I was one of the few who didn't mind bowling.

I remember once some random guy showed up and joined in (he was older). It was our equipment. He batted for a few mins then smashed the ball onto the Sea View road and left. :29:

We were once playing in front of our building and I swept the ball extravagantly... and a few seconds later the ball smashed a window :srt was pretty scared as those neighbours were the grumpy type and had complained previously. Thankfully, they weren't home and the window wasn't damaged either.

There were a lot of burger bachas in the area so it wasn't much fun, only a few would turn up and they weren't into it much.

What was more interesting was taking a bat to school and playing one-tip during breaks. There was always that one guy who would smash the ball out of the school if the bell was about to ring....

thank GOD there were no burger bachas in my mohalla :))