Ms. Marvel: Newcomer Iman Vellani Cast as Kamala Khan

TSA321

Tape Ball Captain
https://www.ign.com/articles/ms-marvel-cast-iman-vellani

Newcomer Iman Vellani has been cast in the title role of Ms. Marvel.

According to Deadline, Vellani, 18, won the role after a long search. The Disney+ series follows Kamala Khan, a Pakistani-American teenager in New Jersey who will be the MCU's first Muslim superhero on screen. In a 2019 interview with the CBC, Vellani referred to herself as a Pakistani-American-Muslim teenager with immigrant parents.

Ms. Marvel is expected to eventually segue into the big screen MCU.

Vellani was part of this year's Toronto International Film Festival's Next Wave Committee, wherein she was asked who would play her in a movie to which she responded, "Iron Man... duh."Iman Vellani (via TIFF 2020).
Iman Vellani (via TIFF 2020).

According to the CBC, Vellani has dreams of becoming a cinematographer. A Vimeo account listed for an Iman Vellani includes a short film, Push, that she directed.

Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah -- the directing duo behind the blockbuster Bad Boys for Life -- will direct some episodes of the series. Joining them in the directors' bullpen is Meera Menon, a comic book TV series veteran who has directed episodes of Marvel's The Punisher, The Walking Dead, and Titans.

The multiple Oscar and Emmy-winning Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy, who hails from primarily a documentary background, has also been tapped to direct episodes of the Disney+ series.

Other behind the scenes talent on Ms. Marvel includes head writer Bisha K. Ali and producer and Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige.

Find out everything you need to know about Ms. Marvel here.

I'm glad they chose an actual Pakistani-American. Going off the surname I'm assuming she's from the large Pakistani Aga Khani community over here.

The Marvels Avengers Game(2020) character of Kamala Khan was decent, hope they keep it similar to that.

While I can understand the reluctance of American film industry to portray a male Muslim superhero, you do wonder why there has never been talk of an Indian one? Maybe it is just too unbelievable a concept?

There have been a few movies in which Indians have been portrayed as super rich business men. Possibly that's more in line with the way westerners are increasingly viewing Indians, at least those who have settled abroad.

Very happy to see a fellow Pakistani-Canadian in this amazing role. Best of luck to Iman.

American media will never portray a male of non american or non anglo ancestry as a hero. Females work because they want to show the females of the world are suppressed and subjugated, especially muslim ones so its heroic (like how they view Malala Drama) when a minority female stands out.

God forbid, a male one does.. haha HOW CAN THEY BE GOOD.?? THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO BE EVIL!!!!

There is an Indian superhero in the upcoming Marvel's 'Eternals'. He's played by a Pakistani actor (Kumail Nanjiani) though.

The comics character Kingo was actually a Japanese character who did samurai movies, utter nonsense by MCU to make him a bollywood star in the role.

American media will never portray a male of non american or non anglo ancestry as a hero. Females work because they want to show the females of the world are suppressed and subjugated, especially muslim ones so its heroic (like how they view Malala Drama) when a minority female stands out.

God forbid, a male one does.. haha HOW CAN THEY BE GOOD.?? THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO BE EVIL!!!!

Black Panther?

A remember there was this law-grad from SOAS who was also casted by Marvel. An American Pakistani girl. Wonder how she’s doing?

Think you’re referring to Zoha Rahman. She was in Spider Man - Far From Home.

https://www.imdb.com/name/nm10522693/

https://www.instagram.com/zoha_purplemush/?hl=en

hollywood-ca-june-26-zoha-rahman-attends-the-premiere-of-sony-pictures-spider-man-far-from-home-at-tcl-chinese-theatre-on-june-26-2019-in-hollywood-california-W0X4RM.jpg

Black Panther?

Black Panther is an exception because marvel created him back in 1966 to attract black American readers, even though he was portrayed as an African, they felt he added more appeal by being a king of an African country. The target audience were still Americans. Same with all Latino male heroes. But let’s face it.. their numbers are very low and mainly in side kick capacity. Falcon. Rhodes, etc.

And when it comes to even smaller minorities.. forget about it. Indians will be sleazy, rich business tycoon pseudo villain types. And muslims will be terrorists. I was surprised they had a Pakistani male character on Star Trek discovery but he didn’t last long. He was found out to be actually a villain towards the end.

Isn’t that true for pretty much any country though? Like I can’t imagine a Pakistani or Indian movie where the hero is not from the home country

Black Panther?

That was why Black Panther was greeted so enthusiastically, it was a bit of a trailblazer in showing a black lead in a hero role rather than a sidekick. Although because the whole thing was so silly it wasn't really that impactful past the short term.

Isn’t that true for pretty much any country though? Like I can’t imagine a Pakistani or Indian movie where the hero is not from the home country

Those countries aren't multicultural. I suppose the equivalent would be if you had a blockbuster film with a dalit hero.

That was why Black Panther was greeted so enthusiastically, it was a bit of a trailblazer in showing a black lead in a hero role rather than a sidekick. Although because the whole thing was so silly it wasn't really that impactful past the short term.

It seemed like a Hindi /Telugu movie(almost Bahubali like) but it was fun and had awesome music.

I think all these minority superheroes will defn have a place in “Streaming” environment- we already saw Avtar the anime (Nickelodeon-netflix) had its major characters non-anglo .(Bi as well)

Most superhero movies are somewhat meh nowadays anyway, I don’t see their point now considering Disney has its own streaming, and there are so many superhero series out there why would i wanna watch a movie when series have better character development.

Black Panther is an exception because marvel created him back in 1966 to attract black American readers, even though he was portrayed as an African, they felt he added more appeal by being a king of an African country. The target audience were still Americans. Same with all Latino male heroes. But let’s face it.. their numbers are very low and mainly in side kick capacity. Falcon. Rhodes, etc.

And when it comes to even smaller minorities.. forget about it. Indians will be sleazy, rich business tycoon pseudo villain types. And muslims will be terrorists. I was surprised they had a Pakistani male character on Star Trek discovery but he didn’t last long. He was found out to be actually a villain towards the end.

I don’t think thats true as such, characters are being written now, it happens when writers come in , for example look at the writers for Ms. Marvel

Mindy Kaling(terrible actress, awesome writer) Aziz Ansari have already paved way for having Indian characters as central ones in their show..

I don’t see why it is expected from white people to write diverse CENTRAL characters, it’s going to be so hard for them to understand how the characters think..

I don’t think thats true as such, characters are being written now, it happens when writers come in , for example look at the writers for Ms. Marvel

Mindy Kaling(terrible actress, awesome writer) Aziz Ansari have already paved way for having Indian characters as central ones in their show..

I don’t see why it is expected from white people to write diverse CENTRAL characters, it’s going to be so hard for them to understand how the characters think..

Then maybe they should stay away from diverse characters altogether then if the only way to stomach them is make them female. You know I have already suggested in previous threads we could have a gay James Bond and make him Indian to support two underrepresented groups with one move.

Lol, I don’t understand why these characters need to be diverse, why cant new superheroes or spies be written for diverse ones.

My issue is people demanding existing characters (with literary backup) to suddenly become of different race/gender..

There are many diverse characters - Harold Nd Kumar were diverse even then..they literally took out stereotypes of Korean and Indian characters from hollywood, they were male too.

If anything I find Desi women characters somewhat stereotypical so its good to see Ms.Marvel.

Kumail also has played enough Pakistani central characters dating black-white woman, so I don’t see why Hollywood shouldn’t write strong desi women characters?

Ms.Marvel was also written by Pakistani American woman - Sana Amanat not seeing what the issue is here?

Lol, I don’t understand why these characters need to be diverse, why cant new superheroes or spies be written for diverse ones.

My issue is people demanding existing characters (with literary backup) to suddenly become of different race/gender..

There are many diverse characters - Harold Nd Kumar were diverse even then..they literally took out stereotypes of Korean and Indian characters from hollywood, they were male too.

If anything I find Desi women characters somewhat stereotypical so its good to see Ms.Marvel.

Kumail also has played enough Pakistani central characters dating black-white woman, so I don’t see why Hollywood shouldn’t write strong desi women characters?

Ms.Marvel was also written by Pakistani American woman - Sana Amanat not seeing what the issue is here?

Who is this Kumail guy you are talking about? Are we discussing indie movies with barely known actors? I heard of Harold and Kumar and that was also a B movie with two losers running around looking for a burger.

I think you may be right though, I've seen Indians in the US and they are somwhat different to what we had over here. You can only work with what you have got, and would it be fair to say the US Indians aren't exactly hero material?

Who is this Kumail guy you are talking about? Are we discussing indie movies with barely known actors? I heard of Harold and Kumar and that was also a B movie with two losers running around looking for a burger.

I think you may be right though, I've seen Indians in the US and they are somwhat different to what we had over here. You can only work with what you have got, and would it be fair to say the US Indians aren't exactly hero material?

Lol cap, what is Hero material? Like comic superhero?

I didn’t know you gave into “Dharmendra” actor definition and great characters don't really mean much?

I guess you don’t consider Kumail good enough to be a Pakistani central character.

The superhero Ms.Marvel is written by a Pakistani woman, if Desi men want to see Desi male superheroes maybe they should start writing as well.

Those countries aren't multicultural. I suppose the equivalent would be if you had a blockbuster film with a dalit hero.

Even then it’s not really true as there is actually quite a bit of representation of multicultural people playing lead roles in American movies and tv series.

Super heroes are a bit tough as most iconic ones were written in mid to late 90s but the ones introduced recently are much more diverse Kamala Khan, Shang-Chi, Miles Morales, Black Panther etc.

Lol cap, what is Hero material? Like comic superhero?

I didn’t know you gave into “Dharmendra” actor definition and great characters don't really mean much?

I guess you don’t consider Kumail good enough to be a Pakistani central character.

I honestly don't know who he is. I mean how many people do outside of on this forum? If he's so good you would expect him to have made impact in some big movies by now, as it is the British actor Riz Ahmed is probably a much bigger name in the US, and that's not saying much.

Lol Kumail Nanjiani is pretty famous and originated from Karachi. Also, he is cast as a superhero in upcoming Marvel’s Eternals.

I honestly don't know who he is. I mean how many people do outside of on this forum? If he's so good you would expect him to have made impact in some big movies by now, as it is the British actor Riz Ahmed is probably a much bigger name in the US, and that's not saying much.

While Riz is a better actor than Kumail, in terms of fame in states Kumail is higher as he is everywhere.

I feel you just watch ‘blockbuster’ type of hollywood cinema even in which the movie Stuber - Kumail was a central character.

The superhero Ms.Marvel is written by a Pakistani woman, if Desi men want to see Desi male superheroes maybe they should start writing as well.

I am actually halfway through writing a script for a gay James Bond with a British Indian in the lead role. I think it will have more chance of traction. You have to think of what the audience wants to watch if you want a hit film. All these indie films with Kumail types are well and good but they are more for art sake than meaningful success.

You are trying too hard..

I don’t mind seeing Gay Indian characters or Gay Indian women superheroes if the script is good, so best of luck on your script.

While Riz is a better actor than Kumail, in terms of fame in states Kumail is higher as he is everywhere.

I feel you just watch ‘blockbuster’ type of hollywood cinema even in which the movie Stuber - Kumail was a central character.

It's the opposite, I avoid blockbuster movies, and superhero movies in particular. Never heard of Stuber and only heard of Kumail on here. I read reviews in the Times of movies released every week, and I can guarantee you none of his movies have got more than a cursory mention. Shah Rukh Khan is probably better known in the UK than Kumail, and he himself moans he only got crap parts in Hollywood. That I can understand though because of his Indian accent.

I think you might be a bit out of the loop? Firstly Kumail is definitely more popular than Riz Ahmed and has played lead roles in several mainstream movies now.

He is definitely more of a comedian than an actor but he has made his mark in Hollywood over the last 2-3 years.

You are trying too hard..

I don’t mind seeing Gay Indian characters or Gay Indian women superheroes if the script is good, so best of luck on your script.

I don't think I would write a gay Indian woman superhero character, a step too far. Perhaps someone else can do that when the time is right.

I think you might be a bit out of the loop? Firstly Kumail is definitely more popular than Riz Ahmed and has played lead roles in several mainstream movies now.

He is definitely more of a comedian than an actor but he has made his mark in Hollywood over the last 2-3 years.

Riz has been involved in at least two blockbuster international movies which were chart toppers. Four Lions and one of the more recent Star Wars. If Kumail has been in bigger films I would be very surprised. But I will do some research on his films and see if I can find any available to view. Perhaps I am wrong.

Sounds good. Here is a slightly fun video of them together:

Looks like a cool guy to be fair, although I looked up his filmography and the movie which Jaded mentioned Struber he plays a mild mannered Uber driver....I mean that's not really the best example given the context of the discussion.

As I mentioned he is cast as a super hero in Marvel’s Eternals. He was a Oscar nominee for The Big Sick which was a massive hit. He was part of the lead cast in HBO’s Silicon Valley which ran for six seasons. Also, he was recently lead in a Netflix original movie ‘Love Birds’.

Stuber is one of those “blockbuster” kind, hence the example, thats like saying Jamie Fox’s role in collateral was not a good example because he played a taxi driver.

Big sick if you are looking for good ones, Ray Romano played a support character to Kumail in that.

My assumption is your dislike for anything American, Desi or otherwise doesnt matter and hopefully we will see MsMarvel 5.

Stuber is one of those “blockbuster” kind, hence the example, thats like saying Jamie Fox’s role in collateral was not a good example because he played a taxi driver.

Big sick if you are looking for good ones, Ray Romano played a support character to Kumail in that.

My assumption is your dislike for anything American, Desi or otherwise doesnt matter and hopefully we will see MsMarvel 5.

The reviews for Stuber on IMDB were pretty scathing, if that or The Big Sick are considered blockbusters then I think I really am out of the loop. Maybe we just don't regard these films in the UK as you do over there.

But anything superhero related will be in the news if only because the kiddies will want to see it so I guess after Ms Marvel and this new one with Kumail we might see that change.

The reviews for Stuber on IMDB were pretty scathing, if that or The Big Sick are considered blockbusters then I think I really am out of the loop. Maybe we just don't regard these films in the UK as you do over there.

But anything superhero related will be in the news if only because the kiddies will want to see it so I guess after Ms Marvel and this new one with Kumail we might see that change.

Well if you are considering Four Lions to be a blockbuster than The Big Sick should definitely be considered as it grossed 10x more with approximately the same production budget.

Seems like Pakistani Marvel fans are truly in for a treat! If rumours are to be trusted, not just one but three Pakistani mainstream actors are venturing into Marvel with the upcoming series on first-ever Pakistani Muslim superhero, Ms Marvel. News about Fawad Khan being roped in to play a substantial role in the big show had made headlines previously.

However, the recent buzz is not just Khan but actor Mehwish Hayat will also be seen in the Iman Vellani-starrer. Sources have confirmed to The Express Tribune that contrary to reports, not Humayun Saeed but only his Punjab Nahi Jaungi co-star will be starring in the show.

It all began when the local tabloid shared how a Ms Marvel star will be seen in the fifth season of royal drama, The Crown. It was then hinted that an actor, who is also starring in Ms Marvel, will be seen essaying an essential role in the Netflix hit. Putting two and two together, it was speculated Khan will be seen as British-Pakistani cardiologist, Dr Hasnat Khan, who was famously involved in a romantic relationship with the late Princess Diana. However, it was reported that it's not Khan but Saeed who will be seen in The Crown.

Hayat is yet to release a statement about her casting in Ms Marvel.

Earlier, after keeping the news under wraps for months, the Humsafar star confirmed his role in Ms Marvel. Speaking to Indian journalist Anupama Chopra, Khan commented, "In an interview with Film Companion, Fawad was asked if he was a part of Ms Marvel. “Yeah, I am. Woh toh main deny nahi kar sakta, ab toh main jhooth nahi bol sakta, woh toh unhone khud news laga di hai (I can’t deny that or lie about it because they have put out the news themselves)."

While Fawad did not divulge anything about his part, he talked about the experience of shooting for Ms Marvel. “It’s a wonderful experience, it was good fun. The cast that I worked with, the people that I worked with, it was good fun, but I am sorry, I cannot say anything more than that at this point in time,” he said. Apart from Hayat, Saeed and Khan, Pakistani actor Nimra Bucha will also star in the much-awaited show.

Playing the role of Kamala Khan/Ms Marvel is Iman Vellani. The cast also includes Aramis Knight, Matt Lintz, Saagar Shaikh, Rish Shah, Zenobia Shroff, Mohan Kapur, Yasmeen Fletcher, Laith Naki, Azhar Usman and Travina Springer. Farhan Akhtar’s name has also been associated with the show but he gave a cryptic reply when asked to confirm the rumours. “Well, I have read that too, that’s all I can say,” he told Eastern Eye.

Ms Marvel, which is a part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe’s Phase 4, will premiere on Disney+ in the summer of 2022. The show is created by Bisha K Ali.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2338673/mehwish-hayat-joins-fawad-khan-nimra-bucha-in-ms-marvel

American media will never portray a male of non american or non anglo ancestry as a hero.

Blade?
Luke Cage?
John Stewart?
Mike Morales?
Victor Stone?

That’s just in comics….

Ms Marvel, the much-awaited series based on the first-ever Pakistani-American Muslim superhero, is all set to stream this year. Iman Vellani plays Kamala Khan, the teenager, while the show stars many other big names. Fawad Khan and Mehwish Hayat along with actor Nimra Bucha have been roped in to play a substantial role in Ms Marvel. While details about their upcoming roles are still not confirmed, rumour has it that Fawad and Mehwish are set to play Kamala Khan's great grandparents.

A Twitter handle, Ms Marvel News, has been sharing updates about the series. If rumours are to be trusted, the account shared, “Fawad Khan and Mehwish Hayat will be playing Hasan and Aisha, Kamala Khan’s great-grandparents, in a flashback scene in Ms Marvel.” They also added: “In the comics, her great grandparents only appear in four pages about the partition of India and Pakistan, so it’s likely this scene will be about that, though we can’t confirm yet.”

The Express Tribune could not confirm the news independently.

Earlier, after keeping the news under wraps for months, the Humsafar star confirmed his role in Ms Marvel. Speaking to Indian journalist Anupama Chopra, Khan commented, "In an interview with Film Companion, Fawad was asked if he was a part of Ms Marvel. “Yeah, I am. Woh toh main deny nahi kar sakta, ab toh main jhooth nahi bol sakta, woh toh unhone khud news laga di hai (I can’t deny that or lie about it because they have put out the news themselves)."

While Fawad did not divulge anything about his part, he talked about the experience of shooting for Ms Marvel. “It’s a wonderful experience, it was good fun. The cast that I worked with, the people that I worked with, it was good fun, but I am sorry, I cannot say anything more than that at this point in time,” he said. Apart from Hayat, Saeed and Khan, Pakistani actor Nimra Bucha will also star in the much-awaited show.

The cast also includes Aramis Knight, Matt Lintz, Saagar Shaikh, Rish Shah, Zenobia Shroff, Mohan Kapur, Yasmeen Fletcher, Laith Naki, Azhar Usman and Travina Springer. Farhan Akhtar’s name has also been associated with the show but he gave a cryptic reply when asked to confirm the rumours. “Well, I have read that too, that’s all I can say,” he told Eastern Eye.

Ms Marvel, which is a part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe’s Phase 4, will premiere on Disney+ in the summer of 2022. The show is created by Bisha K Ali.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/234471...-kamala-khans-great-grandparents-in-ms-marvel

Blade?
Luke Cage?
John Stewart?
Mike Morales?
Victor Stone?

That’s just in comics….

They are all either white or black /Latino Americans.

I am talking about making someone a hero who is nonwhite and non American.

Every time a non white is a hero is when he has embraced his western values and country and is fighting for the “good guys”.

I wonder who her love interest will be? Or will she be too committed to fighting crime and male suppression to have time for a man in her life?

Ah yes, the MCU "diversity" tactic. End of the day, the huge majority of their past, present and future shows and films are garbage.

In one-half of the episodes, she will be complaining about how her "strict, pakistani" parents are forcefully stopping her from "enjoying life" and not giving her rights.

In the other half of the episodes, she will be complaining about how Islam is preventing her from "enjoying life"

Ah yes, the MCU "diversity" tactic. End of the day, the huge majority of their past, present and future shows and films are garbage.

In one-half of the episodes, she will be complaining about how her "strict, pakistani" parents are forcefully stopping her from "enjoying life" and not giving her rights.

In the other half of the episodes, she will be complaining about how Islam is preventing her from "enjoying life"

There's a big probability of this happening.

Actually if you read the comics her brother is the struct one but her parents are pretty chilled out. You have to understand the lives of American Pakistanis are not the same as British ones.

They even did a partition sub plot where kamalas great grand mother and family escape from India. She also goes to karachi and meets a Pakistani hero called the red dagger.

At the end of the day she is a 16 year old Pakistani American teenager from New Jersey. Anyone that old in that country will have interesting experiences and will be discovering herself.

By the way G Willow Wilson the creator of MS Marvel is a hijab wearing sister who is a massive geek but is also someone who does not take the Mickey out of the deen. They will try to stay true to the stories. My only worry is obodoy being involved as she will attempt To bring her eschewed values to bare here.

Director and producer Sharmeen Obaid has announced bringing Ms Marvel to Pakistan. The Marvel Studio’s original series will be released exclusively in theaters across the country.

The Oscar-winning director said the decision was made to celebrate the introduction of the first Pakistani Marvel superhero, Kamala Khan, into the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The role will be played by Canadian-based Pakistani actor Iman Vellani.

Taking to Instagram on Tuesday, Sharmeen revealed that Disney is bringing the first Pakistani superhero series exclusively to Pakistani cinemas.

“I have exciting news to share: An Eid present for #Pakistan!! We are bringing Ms.Marvel to theaters across the country,” she wrote.

“The Walt Disney Company and Marvel Studios have a special announcement to make. Marvel Studios’ new original series ‘Ms Marvel’ will be released exclusively in cinemas only in Pakistan, through their licensee HKC Entertainment,” Sharmeen added.

The filmmaker also shared an exclusive six-episode schedule for the screening of the series

Episodes 1 and 2 will debut on 16th June
Episodes 3 and 4 will debut on 30th June
Episodes 5 and 6 will debut on the 14th July
The series also features a diverse cast both in front of and behind the camera. The development came to light as the OTT platform, Disney+, has not yet launched in their country.

https://www.samaaenglish.tv/enterta...inoy-brings-pakistans-first-marvel-superhero/

From super fan to superhero, 19-year-old Pakistani-Canadian actor Iman Vellani has made the ultimate transformation in the new Disney+ television show Ms. Marvel.

Vellani plays Marvel Comics' Kamala Khan, a 16-year-old high school student and superhero fangirl who discovers she has powers of her own.

Like her character, Vellani is also a huge superhero fan, who made her own Ms. Marvel costume when she was 15.

"It's so infectious. Her fascination and excitement about the Avengers are so shared with real life Marvel fans and speaking as one, I just felt like I could slip into Kamala's shoes very easily," Vellani told Reuters. "That's really all we were channelling throughout the filming of the show, just how I would react in real life."

Ms. Marvel is seen as the biggest breakout star in Marvel Comics in the last decade and is also the first Muslim character to have her own comic book series.

"I really do hope that the show kind of inspires more Muslim and South Asian creatives to tell their stories because this is just one story about one girl," Vellani said. "We cannot represent all two billion Muslims and south Asians in the world ... but hopefully this is a start and hopefully people do find some part of Kamala's story that they relate to."

As well as playing Khan in the television show, Vellani is set to team up with Brie Larson, who plays Captain Marvel, in the 2023 film The Marvels.

"Brie was the first person to reach out to me and kind of just share her own experiences of how this role has kind of changed her, her own career," Vellani said.

"Marvel gives actors just an insane amount of, you know, attention and a huge fandom so it can be really overwhelming at times and I'm just so glad that she was there to kind of hold my hand and answer all my questions," she added.

Express Tribune

They've Indianified Ms. Marvel massively in this series. That's putting me off from watching it.

It makes sense business wise. Indian audience will always be in demand.

Let's see, they might get offended because Ms. Marvel is Muslim so the Indianess might not be enough for this show to be a hit in India.

I'll give this show a shot because who knows it might surprise me. It has gotten very good reviews so far.

They've Indianified Ms. Marvel massively in this series. That's putting me off from watching it.

Did you read the comics? Are you talking about SRK references? Those were there in comics too.

It makes sense business wise. Indian audience will always be in demand.

Lol do not confuse Desi Americans with “Indian” market , which Marvel movies and show needed Indian references for Indian audience?

Dr Strange was a super hit in India without any Indian reference as such.

XXX and Baywatch had Indian actors didn’t make a difference…

Did you read the comics? Are you talking about SRK references? Those were there in comics too.

Accents, hiring Indians for Pakistani roles, Indian phrases, Indian references, etc.

I watched episode 1 and it's not as bad as I thought it would be, although I do expect it to get worse.

Accents, hiring Indians for Pakistani roles, Indian phrases, Indian references, etc.

Can you name a few references and phrases? Also majority are Pakistani actors.. atleast it’s not like before where OM puri was doing all Pakistani characters in English movies.

Also certain references maybe from pov of Jersey Pakistanis who are not same as ones from Pakistan..

Can you name a few references and phrases

Off the top of my head I can think Ms Marvel's father(who is played by an Indian actor) using the phrase "chak de patthe" in a scene, that phrase isn't very Pakistani I can tell you that much.

Then you also have bollywood references mixed in.

Also majority are Pakistani actors

A lot of the actors are Indian as well, which is my point.

Also certain references maybe from pov of Jersey Pakistanis who are not same as ones from Pakistan.

The Pakistani accent is very unique and universal. Ms Marvel has a typical American accent and that's understandable but her parents should have a Pakistani accent because they're supposed to have been raised in Pakistan.

So far the show hasn't started to rip into her Pakistani origins so that's good I guess.

Off the top of my head I can think Ms Marvel's father(who is played by an Indian actor) using the phrase "chak de patthe" in a scene, that phrase isn't very Pakistani I can tell you that much.

Then you also have bollywood references mixed in.

A lot of the actors are Indian as well, which is my point.

The Pakistani accent is very unique and universal. Ms Marvel has a typical American accent and that's understandable but her parents should have a Pakistani accent because they're supposed to have been raised in Pakistan.

So far the show hasn't started to rip into her Pakistani origins so that's good I guess.

Thanks, Bollywood references were supposedly in comics as well, unfortunate about the parents accent and the phrase they should had done better considering it was made by Pakistanis.

To all, ignore the IMDB reviews, it’s definitely many of my Idiotic countrymen bringing the series down like they are doing with most Bollywood ones nowadays.

Vikram is 9.1 I mean lol

In general, they simply don’t have that spark.

I watched episode 1 yesterday and I must admit it was better than I expected. The effects were amazing for a TV show.

I read a review today which was talking about her strict parents objecting to tight fitting superhero costumes so it has started. Can't offer any personal views since I haven't watched any of it and don't intend to as I don't really watch superhero stuff anyway, and I'd have even less motivation to watch patronising stuff like this will no doubt be.

Lots of bad reviews from Indians threatening to boycott Marvel for portraying a Pakistani.

I thought it would be full of stereotypical desi stuff. But apart from a few annoying things that they could have easily done better, the first episode exceeded my expectations. Just wished they hadn't had a super islamic elder brother going OTT.

Well colour me surprised.

I read a review today which was talking about her strict parents objecting to tight fitting superhero costumes so it has started. Can't offer any personal views since I haven't watched any of it and don't intend to as I don't really watch superhero stuff anyway, and I'd have even less motivation to watch patronising stuff like this will no doubt be.

Believe it or not, I would consider the strict parent thing to be lighter than what Hollywood has done in the past with Pakistani characters. Although yes watching the strict parent bit was cringy and I fully expect it to only get worse from here on when it comes to the representation of Pakistan in this show.

To all, ignore the IMDB reviews, it’s definitely many of my Idiotic countrymen bringing the series down like they are doing with most Bollywood ones nowadays.

Vikram is 9.1 I mean lol

So you expect Indians to relate to a Marvel comic book TV show on a foreign OTT channel than a mass Masala Indian movie made for the consumption of the Indian masses?

? No I prefer if we rate a series or movie after watching it.

The bias in IMDB ratings is for everyone to see..