My SG VS-319 ULTIMATE cricket bat - First Impressions

Knightrider

Local Club Regular
REVIEW;

Well the wait was finally over when I had been in quest of a new bat. I had SM & RNS bats in my mind and had almost purchased SM but when I saw this bat (SG VS-319) I fell in love with it and couldn't see anything else except this bat.

What did I get and ask?

I had asked Ajit (Online Stockist) for a bat which has lightest pick up in the weight range 2.8 2.9. After 6-7 days wait I got my hands on this bat and I got exactly what I wanted. For a moment I thought it is a perfect bat made for me as it has almost clean blemish free face with 9/10 straight grains which are almost evenly spaced. The balance and pickup of this bat is excellent. Pickup is really light and I hardly feel that this bat is a 2.9, in fact, to me it feels like a 2.6ish stick. The bat seems to be decent size for its weight. The edges are 32/33mm on this stick.

As I received the bat yesterday I was very tempted to try it in the nets. So I tried it today and believe me this bat goes like a gun! The ball was flying in all four corners of the net! I hardly had to get my timing right in order to make the ball fly. Wherever I struck the ball it would travel a long distance. This bat was fully knocked in and I hardly knocked it in as I was excited to use it right away. So I didn't hesitate at all when it came to use the bat!

I would definitely recommend SG cricket bats as they are simply awesome.

Hope you enjoyed the review, feel free to ask any question(s) you have got.

Thanks

Enjoy the pictures (They certainly don’t do justice).

SGVS319ULTIMATE6.jpg

SGVS319ULTIMATE2.jpg

SGVS319ULTIMATE7.jpg

SGVS319ULTIMATE8.jpg

SGVS319ULTIMATE9.jpg

Majid bhai nice looking bat. Can you please, post a picture of the top of the handle. I want to compare it to the English and the Pakistani handles. Thanks

Looks good! Can you tell me if this is grade 1 or 2 because that blemish/knot is bothering me :|

Wow!
SG stickers in black look sick on the bat. I would double grip it. The handle seems too thin like most indian/pakistani bats.
It looks like it'll rain runs, with everyone getting solid bats for the upcoming season. Lookout bowlers!

Aren't thinner handles crap? My Bubber Sher's handle is quite thin and it has started to crack already.

Also how is the pickup/balance and whats the weight along edge size?

Looks good! Can you tell me if this is grade 1 or 2 because that blemish/knot is bothering me :|

thanks Uzair bhai,
Yaar that is a small light blemish its not a knot and its not as bad as the pictures suggest. Its a mid range bat I would says its grade 2.

thanks Uzair bhai,
Yaar that is a small light blemish its not a knot and its not as bad as bad as the photos suggest. Its a mid range bat I would says its grade 2.

JazakAllah Khair

Grains and everything else look great except that small blemish as you said.

NEvertheless a good looking bat I hope it scores you plenty of runs.

Majid bhai nice looking bat. Can you please, post a picture of the top of the handle. I want to compare it to the English and the Pakistani handles. Thanks

thanks Opener bhai,
I would have taken the pictures but it has a sticker on top of handle and a SG ribbon and they are covering it. It has 9 piece cane handle but its slightly on the thinner side. The quality of the handle is fine and its not as bad AS or MB handles. I have put another grip on it and it has improved the feel of the bat and pick up and balance have also improved.

Phir bhi can you please take pictures and try to move the ribbon out of way etc.

We would appreciate it!

Salaam. How much did you pay for it? :) Why do you guys always have to confuse me =P I am all set for the ICON Original now and you post this... Lol =P

:)) :)) This is the nature of this section :))

Icon Original? That is not the one which you can buy within 100 Pounds, why are you confusing us now :ibutt ;-)

Phir bhi can you please take pictures and try to move the ribbon out of way etc.

We would appreciate it!

Okay bhai just for you. It was really tough to pull out the ribbon because when I fitted the extra grip I super glued the grip so it doesnt come up. I'll upload the pictures shortly.

SGbathandle1.jpg

SGbathandle2.jpg

SGbathandle3.jpg

9 piece cane handle round flat shape and the springs are perfectly in the middle.

It could just be the camera angle but I'd say that middle spring is slightly slanted.

nice bat there. i would have expected slightly better from the Ultimate. how much did you get it for?
as for handle quality, i would def say that the SG handles have no issues what so ever. they normally are round and not oval.

i wish u had bought the SM bat. i have got offer on fantastic pricing for all the SM bats and can get custom made on the high-end range. but i havent seen anyone use one so am a bit hesitant. but from what i have heard, all the top bats from the bigger brand: SG, SS, BDM, BAS, SM, RNS etc will perform similarly....

let me know if u r keen on a SM

Can someone explain to me how you get 9 pieces on that handle? I'm not having a go, mathematically its not possible to divide 9 into 4. or 7 into 2.

SM bats are very very good, I have seen someone playing with an ex pro SM. It looks pretty ordinary, no perfect grains, quite thin, but the ping is something else, one of the best pinging bats ive ever seen (heard) the owner also agrees its the best bat he's ever played with.

i am also not sure but every manufacturer says 9 or 12 piece handles. so not sure how that is calculated.

i have also heard that the initial feedback on SM is positive. will try one hopefully in the near future.

Looks a bloody brilliant stick Majid!

Was it completely knocked in when it arrived? Including the edges?

looks to me that they make the edges rounder which i personally prefer.

Can someone explain to me how you get 9 pieces on that handle? I'm not having a go, mathematically its not possible to divide 9 into 4. or 7 into 2.

SM bats are very very good, I have seen someone playing with an ex pro SM. It looks pretty ordinary, no perfect grains, quite thin, but the ping is something else, one of the best pinging bats ive ever seen (heard) the owner also agrees its the best bat he's ever played with.

Bro I couldnt really see the handle properly last night coz of the glue on top of handle. I removed the glue and can see more clearly it has 12 pieces of cane joint together and it is possible for bats to have 9 piece handle.

What you said abt the ping on thinner bats is true/correct. I had a thin shape SS yuvi bat couple of years ago and its had most amazing ping and this bat is not as big as my other bats but its one of the most pingiest bats I have atm. I think the pressing is just right on these and they are pressed properly/to perfection not 2 hard or 2 soft.

SG12piecehandle.jpg

Looks a bloody brilliant stick Majid!

Was it completely knocked in when it arrived? Including the edges?

thanks Riz,
Yup it was ready to play. SG bats are pre-knocked and it was further hand knocked in/oiled free by onlinestockist. I made the edges slightly round myself before I used it yesterday.:farhat

Mashallah KR bhai, another top quality bat to add to your already amazing collection.

I just wanted to ask one question though, how do you find out how many canes there are on a handle?

thanks QS bhai,
If u look at the picture carefully ^^ above ^^ post 29. You can see the joints of small pieces of cane glued together.

Now I can see, 12 piece makes sense, 9 piece only makes sense with 2 rubbers not three.

Tell me have you used many 12 piece handles Majid? How does this one play? I had the displeasure of batting against some SG TEST white balls not long ago, damn they made my bat rattle in my hand I had to make them stop bowling with them. There's nothing quite like the sound of an Indian ball on a quality bat.

Now I can see, 12 piece makes sense, 9 piece only makes sense with 2 rubbers not three.

Tell me have you used many 12 piece handles Majid? How does this one play? I had the displeasure of batting against some SG TEST white balls not long ago, damn they made my bat rattle in my hand I had to make them stop bowling with them. There's nothing quite like the sound of an Indian ball on a quality bat.

Actually its not just you who find displeasure of batting against SG balls, apparently the top of the line Indian ball is so damn hard that it rattles the bat really badly despite you hit the middle of middle.

A club mate had SS Matrixx and it was used throughout a season and was basically fully knocked so he played one shot (a flick I think) off the toe and the toe broke despite he had it covered and wrapped with tape.

Tell me have you used many 12 piece handles Majid? How does this one play?.

Yup i've used many bats with 12 piece handles and to be honest I've never really had any issues with any bats handles and this one plays just fine (jerk free performance).

The adidas incurza bat I'm using thesedays has a 9 piece candle oval shape and it plays really well without any sort of jerk or vibration.

Btw 9 piece cane handles are still possible with 3 springs/rubbers.

they must have been fake ones. i would say that the SG Test balls that we use in our league are really good. since the cricket association provides the balls, every ball has the SCA logo stamped on it, thereby eliminating any chance of cheap fake balls

I think there are small joints, post a picture of the handle from top and we will see it from there..

very nice looking bat. I like the new SG top of the line bat as well. I think its called Sg Legend. Knightrider: you have some serious collection..

thanks bro,
Thats true I do have seriously good collection and even test players & county pros bought bats of me last season. This bat for example is good enough to be used at any highest level of cricket.

The bats I sold to the test player were not expensive or best looking quality, one was bubber sher very big shape(8/9 grains) and 2 others were really cheap lower grades bat but performance on those was really good and If my frnd didnt get a new sponsor he would have used my bats in the WC.

People on forums buy £250+ bats and think they will get bats which perform as good as pros use but those ppl dont know how to pick out the best performing bats but I know as I have used around 70 bats and from experience, I know which type of bats to go for. I have always mashallah selected really good bats for myself. When buying online I choose to buy frm sellers who know abt cricket bats and play cricket themselves and they always hand pick really good bats for me.

thanks bro,
Thats true I do have seriously good collection and even test players & county pros bought bats of me last season. This bat for example is good enough to be used at any highest level of cricket.

The bats I sold to the test player were not expensive or best looking quality, one was bubber sher very big shape(8/9 grains) and 2 others were really cheap lower grades bat but performance on those was really good and If my frnd didnt get a new sponsor he would have used my bats in the WC.

People on forums buy £250+ bats and think they will get bats which perform as good as pros use but those ppl dont know how to pick out the best performing bats but I know as I have used around 70 bats and from experience, I know which type of bats to go for. I have always mashallah selected really good bats for myself. When buying online I choose to buy frm sellers who know abt cricket bats and play cricket themselves and they always hand pick really good bats for me.

If your bats were so good, couldn't your so called friend who went to world cup use your bats with sponsor stickers?

Why do I smell jealously ? I mean there will surely going to be something in those £250+ which make them have this price tag, you can't say a Grade 3 bat to be like £250+ bat! Com on are you serious!

thanks bro,

Wow mashallah that's great that you are getting great bats these days.:misbah

Would you mind maybe to tell some of us how to pick out good bats at the store or online?

JazakallahKhair

If your bats were so good, couldn't your so called friend who went to world cup use your bats with sponsor stickers?
!

I have spoken to my frnd few times recently and asked him if my bats were good enough to be used at international level and he said yes the bats are good enough but he hasnt taken them along with him because he didnt want to carry extra luggage & kit/bats with him as he already had a new sponsor deal sorted out in India and they gave him free bats/kit etc.

KR, I was on onlinestockist checking out this bat and had a couple of questions. You seem to think that this is a grade 2 bat but the description on the website says grade 1. Do you think they are misrepresenting?

Also, if I decide to order this, would you be able to talk to the site owner and get me a good price and ensure a decent piece of willow? Thanks!

KR, I was on onlinestockist checking out this bat and had a couple of questions. You seem to think that this is a grade 2 bat but the description on the website says grade 1. Do you think they are misrepresenting?

Also, if I decide to order this, would you be able to talk to the site owner and get me a good price and ensure a decent piece of willow? Thanks!

no they are not misrepresenting at all. I graded it wrong.

Yes I'll talk to Ajit and will get you a good price and ensure you get a really good piece of willow.

Can somebody please tell me who this Ajit guy is...please...I am dying to know...

Wow that looks awesome Maj bhai. I hope you purchase it and it goes really well for you inshallah.

Just out of curiosity bhai, are you close to some on from SG, because mashallah you seem to have all of there top notch stuff?

JazakallahKhair.

Bro, I will be getting this bat for myself. Nahin bro am not close to anyone frm SG. Ajit is the one who is getting me all these top quality latest SG gear and this bat was handpicked for me by Ajit straight frm the SG factory. Ajit has lots of good contacts with top brands distributors so he can get the most latest and the best gear.

I rather liked how the SG logo was stretched across the face of the bat, but the new design of it in the shield looks good on the edge and at the toe on the rear.

Back is still crowded with the stickers.

Also I don't find point of those arrows on edges

love the new branding of SG. that bat looks good majid. what is the weight?

wow that 2011 bat looks smashing even if the back is overcrowded. Not a big fan of indian stickers but this is something special.

What is the edge size if you know ?

Will you be selling your old SG VS319?

SG edges are normally not as big as SS, BDM, SM & SF but these new SG bats have slightly bigger profiles and edge size on this is 35/36mm. Older SG VS 319 Ultimate bat is already sold month or so ago.

no they are not misrepresenting at all. I graded it wrong.

Yes I'll talk to Ajit and will get you a good price and ensure you get a really good piece of willow.

KR, can you please talk to Ajit and find out how much he'll charge for the bat including shipping to Dubai. I would want the bat to be 2.9ish with light pickup and 8-10 straight grains.

Thanks!

okay bro, I will call Ajit in morning and will ask him abt the price. I think he will charge around £90 inc shipping to Dubai but am not sure, I'll confirm tommorow. You should email him and ask so he can reply directly to you.

I think all SG bats you oder now will have new 2011 stickers but am not 100% sure....email Ajit n confirm from him.