Newbery Launch the Cenkos - The Most Expensive Cricket Bat Ever Manufactured

Cover Drive

John Newbery Ltd, one of the foremost cricket equipment manufacturers in the world, is proud to announce the launch of the „Cenkos‟, the world‟s most exclusive cricket bat.

Crafted from the finest hand-selected English willow by one of the country‟s leading bat-makers Tim Keeley at Newbery‟s workshop in East Sussex, each of the 25 limited edition Cenkos bats retailing at £1,000 will be made specifically to the requirements of its owner.

Newbery‟s Chief Executive Neil Lenham, the former Sussex batsman, said: “This is the crème de la crème - the world‟s most exclusive cricket bat. We are confident it will be popular with players who want to walk to the crease feeling like a million dollars because they have the best bat money can buy in their hands.”

“It is a bespoke product beyond compare that will be completely customised. The owner will be invited to our workshop where we will manufacture the blade and handle to his or her requirements at any weight they wish in front of their eyes, using the finest English willow. The customer can return at any stage of the process to check on its manufacture and make any changes.
Each limited-edition Cenkos will be individually numbered with the owner‟s name embossed on the back of the blade together with the maker‟s signature. The bat will come in its own specially-designed protective case with the owner‟s details on it.

At Newbery, we can trace our bat-making heritage back nearly one hundred years and as with all of our bats, one of the most important aspects in the manufacture of the Cenko is the pressing of the willow. Each cleft requires a slightly different amount of pressure to ensure optimum performance before it is ready for the fitting of its treble-sprung handle which gives each bat greater feel.

The Cenkos is part of a wide range of bats and other cricket equipment made to the highest specifications by John Newbery, but always with a dash of style.

Source;

http://www.newbery.co.uk/newbery-hi...-expensive-cricket-bat-ever-manufactured.html

Newbery_Cenkos.jpg

Personally I think it is not worth paying £1,000.

I said it earlier that if one have good contacts with Tim they can get him to make there bats and the willow which is used for SPS is pretty much like this so this way you can get bat made in a fraction of what you pay for Cenkos.

Ohhhhh but really how can someone who is not a pro spent so much on a bat.

the guys that work at cenkos im sure will.

They will get employee discount for sure so it would make sense.

This bat shares a lot similarities between L&W Signature as both are made by head batmaker at the company, top cleft, signed, name is engraved etc.

CD If you don't mind, can you give me couple of brief sentences, explaining why this bat is so expenisve, and whats so special about it?

According to the article, here is what it is expensive;

- Tim Keeley makes them.
- Top top cleft would be used and would be custom made.
- Would be pressed perfectly.
- A really good handle would be used.
- Only 25 would be made, hence, they are special.

Hope it helps

That's pretty poor marketing if they're suggesting that their standard retail models aren't 'perfectly pressed'.

just another gimmick for rich ppl- custom made bat is no biggie for anyone who has been to the subcontinent bat factories!!

In fact custom made works out to be cheaper than the top of range company bats! LOL.

That's pretty poor marketing if they're suggesting that their standard retail models aren't 'perfectly pressed'.

Good point!

But what type of pressing would they do which would be perfect (or almost perfect)? As you said when making standard model bats they are not trying to press them badly...

just another gimmick for rich ppl- custom made bat is no biggie for anyone who has been to the subcontinent bat factories!!

In fact custom made works out to be cheaper than the top of range company bats! LOL.
I believe that also applies for English factories as well!

I agree it is gimmick to earn big money.

I think Newbery wanted some sort of Limited Edition bats which will be limited in production like other companies have Slazenger (The Don), Canterbury 500, L&W Signature etc.

International cricketers should give it a go.

They make a living off the sport so it's probably a worthwhile investment for them.

Don't see the use of buying it for a club cricketer, though. :D

International cricketers should give it a go.

They make a living off the sport so it's probably a worthwhile investment for them.

Don't see the use of buying it for a club cricketer, though. :D

Some international cricketers are not even fonds of bats or they don't even care what stick they have in there hands. As long it performs for them they are more than happy with it.

Some big players get free bats from all brands and players hardly spend anything from there pockets to buy any equipments.

I wouldn't be surprised if we see a club cricketer buying it. Some people love there bats more than there families :))

Newbery are total rip off. Bats are way overpriced and can easily get same quality GM, GN or Kook at much lower price. I really hate newbery shapes aswell bats such as the Thruxton & kratoka are all edge but no middle or spine.

How are Newbery rip off compare to Gunn & Moore, Gray Nicolls or Kookaburra?

Newbery GT 335 SPS costs £249.99, Gray Nicolls Legend costs £309.99, Gunn & Moore Icon Limited Edition goes for £294.99 and Kookaburra Kahuna 1000 £299.99.

These figures were taken from Owzat.

Can you please tell me how are Newbery bats over priced compare to Gunn & Moore, Gray Nicolls and Kookaburra?

If you hate Newbery shapes it certainly doesn't mean everyone will hate them.

Newbery arent the best brand like you think they are. There are hundreds of other brands offer same quality for much less price.

I picked up a few newberys at a local shop thinking the bats are machine made so they will have near perfect finish but as I touched the bat I saw the poor finishing on the edges of £250 bats, handle shape seemed poor and really awful feel & balance.

Newbery arent the best brand like you think they are. There are hundreds of other brands offer same quality for much less price.
Well Gunn & Moore, Kookaburra and Gray Nicolls don't.

Ofcourse if I ask any brand name you will dish out Indian brands likw you always do.

I picked up a few newberys at a local shop thinking the bats are machine made so they will have near perfect finish but as I touched the bat I saw the poor finishing on the edges of £250 bats, handle shape seemed poor and really awful feel & balance.

Well by picking up you can't judge there performance, can you?

Everyone have a different taste of seeing a bat. If you didn't like model of one bat or model it doesnyt mean all bats will be like that.

All newbery bats shape are poor and they are for slogging only. they have one half decent shape bat called GT 335 even on that the profile is little high. Rest of the shapes pick up like railway sleepers. GM DXM Icon and Flare shapes are the best.

Well Gunn & Moore, Kookaburra and Gray Nicolls don't.

Ofcourse if I ask any brand name you will dish out Indian brands likw you always do.
Well its the truth a lot of indian and some pakistani brands can make bats just as good newbery infact some brands make better bats then newbery and sell them at much lower price. Newbery bats are best if you play lower club level and GM, kook and gray nicolls are of better standard cricket. SS, SF, SG, AS, CA AM, BDM make bats good enough to be used for 1st class cricket and higher.

Well in your book Indian bats are better than Laver & Wood Signature, Newbery Cenkos etc because you like to promote some ones business.

Majid_V3, well the fact is that you never praise or say good about Pakistani bats as you always praise Indian brands.

I am not sure but have you even used a NEwbery? So why say negative about them when you haven't used one?

You two still understand and seems like you two will never get it. Laver & Wood signature is custom made and costs £600-1000 and this means its guaranteed to be the best bat and perform much better then rest?

Well in your book Indian bats are better than Laver & Wood Signature, Newbery Cenkos etc because you like to promote some ones business.
I didnt think you would drop to this lowest level and I havent even mentioned anyones business here in this thread. You just go over the top praise and overrate newbery because your frnds selling them.

firstly the point of this bat is not to be a big revenue generator for newbery or even for serious cricketers to buy it. i cant imagine it to be much different from other custom made newbery bats. it has everything to do with an elite financial firm having there name associated with an exclusive cricket bat. it is just bragging rights for the rich.

secondly whose CD's friend thats selling newbery - he doesnt promote anyones business - unlike you. im sure if onlinestocklist started carrying newbery's you'd love them to.

Don't worry SS, it's all under control :).

Anyways, just read a comment which I thought would share that Asad Bhai saw a cleft being used for this bat and it had around 26 grains and he was told that 3 clefts were chosen after going through 1000 clefts.

Unbelievably Stuff :O

you are correct Uzair,
I was at Newbery factory to get my bats made as well as picking up some pros bats which are going to few Pakistani players.
I was told they have sold 4 bats so far not to players but business men. They also had 3 clefts specially selected for these bats, all of them had grains in the region of 26+(straight).

Regards

Asad

Tim Keeley is the bat maker at Newbery and he is regarded the best bat make in UK, most of the pros i know get their bats made by him and while i was there i saw a list creent professional players whose bats were on order to be made by Newbery.

regards

Asad

JazakAllah Khair, for the information Asad Bhai.

Do you mind telling which professional players Pakistani and Non-Pakistani's are getting bats made by Newbery?

Some people only believe the stickers...

Newbery don't necessarily make for many players, some companies use TW Keeley Ltd to make their shop bats and of course some of their pro bats.

Tim makes for a number of brands..

Newbery don't necessarily make for many players, some companies use TW Keeley Ltd to make their shop bats and of course some of their pro bats.

Tim makes for a number of brands..

Just like Robert Pack makes for Puma?

Can you name those companies for who Tim Keeley makes bats for?

Abt a year or so ago, Joe Gatting(newbery sponsored player) and couple of other sussex players were using SS Ton bats with newbery stickers(have pictures to prove this)
I hate bats such as newbery becuase they are very durable, hard pressed and you have to use them for years before you get any decent performance out of the bat.

Majid, 2 years ago I was there at Newbery when Joe Gatting came to pick up his bats and they were definitely Newbery bats.
Sorry Uzair I can't name the players here in the forum but if u PM me or email i can let u know.
I am taking these bats with me next week when I am going to Pakistan.
Tim/Nick Keeley press willows for many companies in UK and shaping is done by those companies.

Regards

Asad

Methinks they were limited to the one year as they were for Murray Goodwin's benefit year at Sussex.

the stickers are good but bats to be honest are pretty average hence I bought the stickers separately and stuck them onto a CA Plus bat.

You are too harsh on Newbery.

They are not bad as you think. I don't think you have used them, have you?

btw the laver wood signature is more expensive than the newbery cenkos but it is a package as compared to a bat

Both are rubbish bats and If you little knowledge about bats than you can pick up half a dozen bats same quality as these for same price of a single newbery and L&W.

All newbery bats shape are poor and they are for slogging only. they have one half decent shape bat called GT 335 even on that the profile is little high. Rest of the shapes pick up like railway sleepers. GM DXM Icon and Flare shapes are the best.

Are you kidding me?
Newbery bats are some of the best bats made out there.
Ive held some true gems in my life, including top of the line LE Icons and Flairs, and even the owners agree: the balance and the pick up on some of the Newberys are some of the best out there.
To say they are generally poor, just goes to show you have no clue about what you're saying.

wow.............this is getting really heated! I dont know much but newbery's are superb............the uzi and krakatoa are brilliant bats.........Iv'e used them and must say, the prices are a little steep, but they perform well.

Nahi yaar I find Newbery prices to be better

I paid $300 for my Krakatoa, my friend bought from Hagee and he paid $300 as well! Compare them with Icon LE, GN LE etc etc you will find them cheaper.

Ive spent atleast a grand on bats the last 2 seasons, including 500 for a kookaburra blade 950 that alone cost me half a grand.
But let me tell you, the krakatoa i got this season has transformed me from someone who loves to check drive for singles and doubles, to someone whose check drives fly off the bat.
Juat ask Coverdrive. He saw me play with the blade and then later with the krakatoa when i first got it. It made a world of difference to how far the ball travels. Huge difference.
For 300 bucks, I can safely say that this Newbery Krakatoa is the best value for the money spent on a bat.
Not just the performance, the looks... aesthetically classy! amazing finish.
damn.. i ought to post a review of the krakatoa someday! someday...

Don't worry SS, it's all under control :).

Anyways, just read a comment which I thought would share that Asad Bhai saw a cleft being used for this bat and it had around 26 grains and he was told that 3 clefts were chosen after going through 1000 clefts.

Unbelievably Stuff :O

TWENTY SIX?! :ajmal

I think there are a lot of smaller grain lines in between each defined line there CD