No U-19 or A team cricket for Pakistan whereas other nations are playing non-stop cricket

Joggerman

It really saddens me that almost every other country is regularly playing U-19 and A cricket whereas our last A team tour was to Zimbabwe in Oct 2016 and I dont think we have played any U-19 international cricket for almost a year (correct me if wrong). On the other hand, U-19 teams of Zim, SA and WI are currently playing a tri-series. U-19 team of Ind is on tour of Eng. There is an A team tri series happening between Ind, SA and Afg. We all know SL and Ban teams have frequent U-19 and A tours. While I understand that hosting such type of series in UAE is a predicament, but what stops us from touring other countries. And for home tours, we could use SL as a venue if UAE is too costly even for one series per year. I guess it all boil downs to lack of awareness, lobbying and initiative by concerned authorities at PCB. There is an under-19 WC next year, what is being done to develop that team except for meaningless domestic competitions. And similarly, how can you expect to develop replacements for Misbah and Younis and others if we dont play competitive A cricket. If anyone knows when is our next A tour or U-19 tour, please share.

India benefits a lot due to age group and A team cricket. For all the negative press BCCI gets, they take extremely good care of their prime asset, performing cricketers.

Anyone has any update on what are next under-19 and A tours are going to be? These teams havent played for almost a year now.

Still lots of team playing A matches... Pakistan A was supposed to be in action this month but no idea what happened to that.

Why do we have absolutely no A tours when so many other country's are playing cricket like crazy? India have an A tour almost all the time.

Our emphasis is on getting world xi, Sri Lanka play at home at whatever cost and to sue bcci

No one really cares if A team exists or not

It's important part of player development, a young upcoming cricketer gets to play strong A teams in overseas. PCB doesn't care at all.

A team tours doesn't get Sethi sahab big accolades from the media

A tours are on essential to young players development. Sadly PCB isn't is aware of this.

Neither did Shahryar care nor does Sethi have time on his plate. At the least Sethi is trying to fix something for Pak with SA.

But the PCB should have done something about it earlier. Now it's too late with Pak not playing much till Eng tour next year. Sethi and co should look at the calender for 2018/2019 as well.

SA wanted to invite Pak for A tri series but India stopped them

That Tri series is hold annually between Australia, SA, and India. So, any changes to it shall be approved by all members.
Secondly, I dont think any other media outside of Pakistan’s have reported about it. It may very well be true, but as of now ill take it as mere speculation.

[MENTION=143903]Joggerman[/MENTION]

Sethi and PCB have something to do with this
Check the scheduling of the Pakistan senior team, no cricket for another 2 months and no test cricket in next 7 months. Even before series with Sri Lanka there was no cricket for PAkistan team for 2.5 months.

Sethi and PCB are responsible for this, no other cricket administrator would've allowed this not only in the world but in Pakistan also with even meagre understanding of cricket.

This is'nt good for Pcb either they lost a lot of revenue with absence of major team cricket.

But..but... Najam Sethi is an excellent administrator.

Any A tours or under 19 tours for Pakistan

I read somewhere that Pakistan A will be playing against England's second strong players emerging players from their county cricket. Plz update if anyone know better or more. Thx

It doesn't look like developing young players is a priority for the PCB. Apart from selecting players for the PSL they don't have any other strategy for testing young players.

According to reports their are two nation nz and eng who will send their A team to uae to play against pakistan A in october november this year.Pcb are finalizing the dates which will be announced soon .

So the A team will be in action after two years... :salute

What is the point??? We have Basit Ali as a a selector who is as bias and bad as Inzamam.
Save money and get rid of these U-19 selectors

What is the point??? We have Basit Ali as a a selector who is as bias and bad as Inzamam.
Save money and get rid of these U-19 selectors

You are really comparing Basit with Inzimam!! Inzimam might not be perfect but he has been doing an amazing job.

Which of your favourites he hasnt selected and also kindly name instead of whom these players should be selected? :moyo

You are really comparing Basit with Inzimam!! Inzimam might not be perfect but he has been doing an amazing job.

Which of your favourites he hasnt selected and also kindly name instead of whom these players should be selected? :moyo

I just want players like Azhar, Shafiq, Rahat, Hafeez and Yasir far away from LOI squad. Bu8t unfortunately Inzamam persists with 4 of them instead of introducing young players

Pak A team were supposed to play Zim A for a full tour last October and Inzy Bhai even announced that during a presser but seems like they forgot it.

What is wrong with PCB?

Why are they so reluctant to get A and under 19 tours? Look at India and other teams around the world all actively involved in playing home and away series. I mean if you talk about ready to go for int cricket then we need players in our stalk. Domestic cricket and the away tours will help us find consistent and talented players.

It has lot to do with teams not coming to play in Pakistan, and managing A tours in England, SA, etc is very expensive. In addition, there is always worry that young players will then start playing in county B grade's team, and unofficial leagues etc. which is fully occupied by our domestic TTF's.

So issue is not administrative one's only. Post 2010 scandal, PCB has taken a very conservative approach in everything, which I think is fine considering what we were dealing with during Ijaz Butt's regime. That was the time when even sponsors, TV rights were at lowest.

Whatever is not happening right in Pak cricket is all because of the damage done during Mr. Butt's time. The good thing is , Pak cricket is recovering well. Thanks to Misbah, Younis, Afridi, and others for conducting themselves in better way and restoring faith

Really not good. Pakistan has a large population so therefore lots of cricketers on the scene, we need to give exposure to those who have a lot of promise but aren't ready to play for Pakistan first XI yet!

A-team cricket is a must to check out bench strength and get game time.Fakhar,Shadab and Sharjeel all performed well in A cricket which helped them get into the team.Azhar Ali,Umar Amin etc all played for the A-team as well.

U-19 cricket is also really valuable and shows us the best(well...mostly) available youngsters in the country.It is an important stage at a cricketer’s career.

It is what it is.

PSL is probably the only platform right now where some good youngsters can showcase themselves. Sad but true.

Its really disappointing to not see A team or u19 tours. The future need nuturing and need to develop against some of the best of there respective age groups(U19) and visual truth on how good certain domestic players are.