On this day 2nd April 2011 India won the World Cup

Sankalp

Local Club Regular
On this day 2nd April 2011, India won the world cup cricket. Dhoni won the man of the match for his match winning knock. Yuvraj was Man of the series. Also worth remembering the brillian hundred scored by Jayawardene. This was also the last international game for the Spin wizard - Mutthiah Muralitharan.

A farcical toss and then the dubious changes in SL team already decided who'l be the winner....:p

a bad day. SL team sleep walked the game. good for india tho.

Who cares about worldcup? All we wanted was beating our pyare neighbours in semifinal:misbah_old

One year to the day when DHONI183 was first made a moderator on PakPassion:msd.

As a huge fan of a crickater, I don't think I have had many better days than 2nd April 2011. MS Dhoni`s monstrous six which sealed the game will live in my memories forever. A great moment came later on when he was awarded the Man of the Match award. A proud moment too when he promoted himself to number five, ahead Yuvraj Singh, the Man of the Tournament.

Stuff of champion captains indeed:bow::14:!

On this day , itachi was born.

Happy Birthday Itachi bhai:135:! Stay blessed:).

One year to the day when DHONI183 was first made a moderator on PakPassion:msd.

As a huge fan of a crickater, I don't think I have had many better days than 2nd April 2011. MS Dhoni`s monstrous six which sealed the game will live in my memories forever. A great moment came later on when he was awarded the Man of the Match award. A proud moment too when he promoted himself to number five, ahead Yuvraj Singh, the Man of the Tournament.

Stuff of champion captains indeed:bow::14:!

Happy Birthday Itachi bhai:135:! Stay blessed:).
Yep Dhoni showed real class on the night of finals. He was in horrible form till this game and suddenlly he decided to promote himself in all Important world cup final. He changed the course of the game completely. A real champion knock and one of the best in world cup history!

Amazing amazing night!! Remember crackers being lit all night after we won. It was like mela in the streets everyone out celebrating. :))

And this pic is epic!
Dhoni%2Bhits%2Bsix%2Bin%2Bthe%2Bworld%2Bcup%2B2011%2Bfinal%2Bagainst%2BSri%2Blanka%2Bto%2Bwin%2Bthe%2Bcup.JPG

Our journey was very tuff in this particular World cup

Soo many hard fought battles.. Against England,Windies,Saffers,Aussies,Pakistan,SL....

We deserved it :)

The only dodgi world cup was 1996 when Srilanka (aka meanow) won it. Still cannot figure it how ;-)

India was a minnow when it won in 1983, proof being that the WI, who were the runners up, came to India only few months later and whitewashed the "world champions" 5-0.

And I don't know how SL were a bad team, when they won their 5 group matches, incl against the Aussies and India

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/65179.html

or the semi finals, against India again

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/65190.html

but match made the news for other reasons

Sri Lanka played brilliantly after a disastrous first over to achieve an unbeatable advantage. But the headlines were devoted to the riot which ended the match. Enraged by an Indian collapse of seven wickets for 22, some home supporters threw bottles on to the outfield and set fire to the seating. Referee Clive Lloyd took the teams off for 15 minutes, attempted a restart and then awarded Sri Lanka the game by default. Nobody questioned the result; India needed a near-impossible 132 from 15.5 overs, with only two wickets standing.

India was a minnow when it won in 1983, proof being that the WI, who were the runners up, came to India only few months later and whitewashed the "world champions" 5-0.

And I don't know how SL were a bad team, when they won their 5 group matches, incl against the Aussies and India

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/65179.html

or the semi finals, against India again

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/65190.html

but match made the news for other reasons
Dont take it seriously - I was just giving a troll reply to a troll post. ;-)
If a person can say World cup's can be bought by board, they have no right to call themselves cricket fans

Yep Dhoni showed real class on the night of finals. He was in horrible form till this game and suddenlly he decided to promote himself in all Important world cup final. He changed the course of the game completely. A real champion knock and one of the best in world cup history!

For all the bashing we hand over to the guy, Gautam Gambhir, in my opinion, deserves more praise and deserved to be the Man of the Match ahead of MS Dhoni.

The pressure that Gambhir had to face from 0/1 and then 32/2 was simply immense chasing 275. From there onwards it seemed as if it will be a procession of wickets only. That has be the most under-pressure innings ever played by an Indian.

When Dhoni came out to bat the match was quite in a balance and could have gone either way. But credit to the man for he gave no sniff to Sri Lankan and stayed till the end.

Both did their jobs handsomely but the road was a lot tougher for Gambhir in my honest opinion.

It was an amazing sight to see Sachin Tendulkar run on to the field like some kid. He looked very happy that day, having got his dream fulfilled after some 22 years of cricket.

As for MS Dhoni´s innings.....

"Well,..... MS Dhoni has pulled off a magic innings" - Tom Moody.

"When the situation demanded, Mahendra Singh Dhoni stood up" - Kumar Sangakkara.

"He´s demolished it! He really has.... 91 not out of 79 deliveries" - David Lloyd.

"I was feeling the pressure in the commentary box and I wonder how this guy had the guts to bat a position ahead of Yuvraj Singh in such a crunch game!" - Nasser Hussain.

"The innings he played in the world cup final....... only champions can dream of pulling off such stuff" - Michael Atherton.

And I thank him till date for rewarding my support with an innings like that:).

Short highlights of his innings:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqQ4hX3W9k4

Wow:msd!

For all the bashing we hand over to the guy, Gautam Gambhir, in my opinion, deserves more praise and deserved to be the Man of the Match ahead of MS Dhoni.

The pressure that Gambhir had to face from 0/1 and then 32/2 was simply immense chasing 275. From there onwards it seemed as if it will be a procession of wickets only. That has be the most under-pressure innings ever played by an Indian.

When Dhoni came out to bat the match was quite in a balance and could have gone either way. But credit to the man for he gave no sniff to Sri Lankan and stayed till the end.

Both did their jobs handsomely but the road was a lot tougher for Gambhir in my honest opinion.

It was an amazing sight to see Sachin Tendulkar run on to the field like some kid. He looked very happy that day, having got his dream fulfilled after some 22 years of cricket.

"When the situation demanded, Mahendra Singh Dhoni stood up" - Kumar Sangakkara.

"He´s demolished it! He really has.... 91 not out of 79 deliveries" - David Lloyd.

"I was feeling the pressure in the commentary box and I wonder how this guy had the guts to bat a position ahead of Yuvraj Singh in such a crunch game!" - Nasser Hussain.

"The innings he played in the world cup final....... only champions can dream of pulling off such stuff" - Michael Atherton.

Agree...amazing knock by Gambhir too. Mind you he is always a big match player for India. Helped India won the T20 world cup too. He is like Gilchrist (pardon me if its an overstatement) always performs in big finals.

Two Comments will always be in my memory:

" Even if we scored 350, nothing would have stopped this Indian batting line up" - Sangakkara.

Pure gold.

Thanks Dhoni183 bhai and yes GG was brilliant that day :14:

What a day it was ....I can still feel the day ...India the world champion. :D:D

Was a great tournament.

The way the Pakistani team played in that tournament - as a proper unit... with a game plan for each and every game - was refreshing.

That semi-final loss still hurts, but it was still a great tournament for us, regardless.

[utube]aS0yr39iuP8[/utube]

If this worldcup would have been played anywhere else except India, we would have a different winner.
India played well in home conditions.

If this worldcup would have been played anywhere else except India, we would have a different winner.
Trust you me 2011 World Cup was Indias...they would have won in any part of the globe.
The batting line up India had...was impossible for any team to beat.

Yes because winning at home is so easy. Ask England they hosted it 4 times and how many times have they won? No prizes for guessing - 0

First team to win at home.

People really need to get over it, India won because we were the better team throughout the tournament.

man that was some fairy tale ending. final sem of my coll., signed off with a bang. too much partying tht night. also started my career as a lurker on pakpassion during that WC, finally signed up aftr 2 yrs :p.

Dhoni183 how does it feel to celebrate the Indian victory...

Very nice. You know what, I was wearing the Indian flag that day. Not only that, only Indian dishes were cooked for a week at home, and I kept laughing and mocking at the poster I had at home of the Pakistan cricket team. No, it doesn´t end there.......

My cushion was covered with a cover which had India´s map on it, and the blanket with India´s flag.

My walls are full of "Shining India - the ultimate project" posters. Also, each night before I go to sleep, I pray and ask with tears in eyes to God why he hasn´t given India too many genuine fast bowlers. I pray for their arrival each day.

I pray for Ravichandra Ashwin to overtake Saeed Ajmal soon. Recently, when Pakistan lost in South Africa, we had a full week party at home with all Indians invited - Shiv Sena supporters were served special dishes.

Happy:)? Now, can we finally get over this "DHONI183 is a RAW agent" arguments, now that the reality has been revealed:)?

Why did u skipped the part when we shared all the high fives and the butter chicken / naan @ kaakey da dhaba in Chandigarh..? Arey the one right next to your house.. Wo do left turn maar ke jo hai corner wala.. Kya LCD lagayi thi usne yaar match ke liye..

Yeah, it´s a two year old thing and one can forget. Also, remember us watching the semi final together and me dancing around shirtless after Pakistan lost the match? Remember those "Pakistan haar gaya!!!" chants?

Still, till date, feel the satisfaction of that Mohali semi final:msd.

Thank you saurav, dhoni g. Had a diya light party cz where i am staying now, no electricity provision lol.

I still remember this day. Praying to god, GIVE ME WORLD CUP AS BIRTHDAY GIFT. Wish was granted. ;-)

Wow! What a night that was! Surely the best day for me as a Indian cricket fan. I still get tears in my eyes and goosebumps when I watch those highlights and the celebration by the cricketers.

And also, it is heartening to see a Pakistani fan taking joy in India's victory. I have nothing but respect for you, Dhoni183.

Thanks man:). But..... hold on to your horses. Let MS Dhoni retire and I will myself add threads to make fun of the Indian team:)).

Trust you me 2011 World Cup was Indias...they would have won in any part of the globe.
The batting line up India had...was impossible for any team to beat.

India did play well throughout....
But How about seaming pitches in england? where mediocre spinners like yuvi wont be considered as the 5th bowling option....

Thankyou Saurav and Dhoni183.... Was my most memorable birthday ever.... hehe

On 10th Anniversary Of India's World Cup Win, Relive The Magical Moments

On this day in 2011, India won the World Cup on home soil to send the entire country into euphoria. India had previously lifted the prized trophy in 1983 and had to wait a long time before doing it again. Led by MS Dhoni, India registered their second ODI title triumph by beating Sri Lanka in the final at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on April 2, 2011. That day will be remembered for many a magical moments -- Gautam Gambhir's brilliant knock, Dhoni's iconic six, Sachin Tendulkar being carried around the ground by his teammates, to name a few.

Sri Lanka had set India a stiff target with Mahela Jayawardene's unbeaten century propelling them to 274 for six. Thisara Perera's late blitz of 22 off 9 balls had given the Lankans the momentum going into India's chase.

India got off to the worst possible start with Virender Sehwag sent back to pavilion on the second ball. His opening partner Sachin Tendulkar didn't stick around too long either, as he was dismissed in the 7th over to put India on the backfoot.

But an 83-run partnership between Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli steadied India and brought them back into the contest.

After Kohli's dismissal, Dhoni promoted himself and with Gambhir forged a 109-run stand to take India put India within touching distance. Gambhir fell three short of a deserved century and in walked the Player of the World Cup -- Yuvraj Singh.

The stylish left-hander, along with skipper Dhoni, got India over the line with 10 balls to spare with the latter remaining unbeaten on 91 off just 79 balls. Dhoni finished it off with a six off the bowling of Nuwan Kulasekara with Yuvraj enveloping his teammate in a hug in joyous scenes that will stay forever in the memories of the Indian fans.

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/on-10th-anniversary-of-indias-world-cup-win-relive-the-magical-moments-2404454

HOW INDIA WON THE 2011 WORLD CUP: A REVIEW

MATCH 1: February 19: Dhaka: India 370/4 bt Bangladesh 283/9 by 87 runs.
MATCH 2: February 27: Bengaluru: India 338 tied with England 338/8.
MATCH 3: March 6: Bengaluru: India 210/5 bt Ireland 207 by five wickets.
MATCH 4: March 9: Delhi: India 191/5 bt Netherlands 189 by 5 wickets.
MATCH 5: March 12: Nagpur: India 296 lost to SA 300/7 by 3 wickets.
MATCH 6: March 20: Chennai: India 268 by West Indies 188 by 80 runs.

MATCH 7: March 24: QF: Ahmedabad: India 261/5 bt Australia 260/6 by 5 wickets. MoM: Yuvraj Singh

MATCH 8: March 30: SF: Mohali: India 260/9 bt Pakistan 231 by 29 runs. MoM: S Tendulkar

MATCH 9: APRIL 2: Final: Mumbai: India 277/4 bt SL 274/6 by six wickets. MoM: MS Dhoni

From magic Mohali to magnificent Mumbai: Simon Taufel’s view on final stages of 2011 CWC

The honour of officiating a Cricket World Cup Final is one few umpires ever get the chance to experience. In Simon Taufel’s eyes, he oversaw two in the space of four days in 2011.

The Australian was among the men in the middle for both India’s seismic semi-final clash against Pakistan and the actual final between India and Sri Lanka later that week.

The whole world seemingly descended on Mohali for the semi-final. Bollywood celebrities were in attendance. So too were the Prime Ministers of both nations.

“The semi-final in Mohali was certainly a wonderful occasion and in a lot of ways it was a final in itself,” Taufel told the ICC. “It seemed like the whole world was watching us, it seemed like the whole world had their private jets parked at Chandigarh Airport.”

It was only after the match, sitting outside the dressing rooms as the stadium lights were switched off, that the veteran official got the chance to breathe it all in.

And just as he had soaked in one magical night, he found himself jetting off the following morning for another unforgettable match in Mumbai.

As soon as the chartered plane touched down in Mumbai, the size of the occasion became clear. With days still remaining before the showpiece event, the roads from the airport to the city were jam-packed and the streets were a hive of energy.

“Already the city of Mumbai was in celebration mode in anticipation of what I would call a second final of the 2011 Cricket World Cup,” the five-time ICC Umpire of the Year said.

By the time Taufel and fellow umpire Aleem Dar walked out to the middle on game day, the atmosphere had reached fever pitch.

“You look at the full house of the crowd and the noise that is going on, and I remember turning to Aleem and said ‘good luck hearing anything tonight and may all of your outside edges be loud ones’.”

Like an opening partnership, Taufel says the relationship between two on-field umpires is key to success.

“We really just try to stay as tight and as close together and really build upon that trusting relationship that we have got, that we are going to do this together.”

Taufel and Dar took the enormity of the occasion in their stride, handling the match ball-by-ball, over-by-over.

“For me it was about keeping it simple and on the back of that semi-final trying to replicate what I did there, which was focus on what I had to do,” Taufel said.

“Focus on how I could help my umpiring colleague Aleem Dar, my role within the team, how we could focus on a bit of team success. Keep things as simple as possible and let everyone else worry about what the other two teams were going to do.

“It is about really desensitizing myself away from the spectacle and the event and not worry too much about who is doing what and what milestones might be being created by various people.”

There was a whirlwind of emotions in the stadium when MS Dhoni hit that six to wrap up the match. Elation among India’s players and staff. Euphoria for the home crowd. Despair for the Sri Lankans.

For the umpires, it was sweet relief.

“I remember the ball being hit out of the park and in some ways you think 'thank god that is over and we’ve got through the event relatively unscathed'.

“While other people are celebrating or other people are consoling each other, for us umpires it is all about the sense of relief that we have actually gotten through it.

“Nothing significant or major has happened to be a talking point or a distracting issue from an umpiring team perspective and that is a great thing and we can just walk in the room and just relax now.”

Ten years on from the event, that night in Mumbai still lives fresh in Taufel’s memories and remnants of the game decorate his walls.

He has a Mahela Jayawardene jersey signed by the entirety of the Sri Lankan team as well as a Virender Sehwag kit signed by the Indians.

Just beside those two signed shirts is one more just as precious to the umpire. His own kit from the day, framed and signed by his fellow match officials from that night at the Wankhede.

https://www.icc-cricket.com/news/2096390