On This Day: February 7, 1999 - Anil Kumble took 10/74 vs Pakistan at Feroz Shah Kotla

jusarrived

Anil Kumble's 10 wicket haul againt Pakistan.

Bad umpiring ? really ? or are some of you just blind ?

I have seen the replays like a million times & the only one which could have gone either way was Afridis. The rest where either Caught , bowled or hitting middle stump . its surprising to see people put that performance down entirely to umpiring mistakes when on the contraray compared to current standards of umpiring Jayaprakash got pretty much everything right.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PI9xwL4Zg6w

above video for few who think otherwise ..please come forward and let us know which of these deceisions where wrong ?

I have seen the replays like a million times & the only one which could have gone either way was Afridis. The rest where either Caught , bowled or hitting middle stump . its surprising to see people put that performance down entirely to umpiring mistakes when on the contraray compared to current standards of umpiring Jayaprakash got pretty much everything right.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PI9xwL4Zg6w

above video for few who think otherwise ..please come forward and let us know which of these deceisions where wrong ?

I have doubts over Inzamam's dismissal. And also Saleem Malik's. I think it was missing leg on that occasion :D :kami

The decisions were pretty good.
At times i too thought (i was listening to commentary that day and had no access to television) that it was a result of home umpiring favoring the bowler but that was not the case.
Its good that there were a number of bowled and caught dismissals. The haul was very much deserved. And true about the Afridi decsion as well.

I infact read that waqar asked Akram, that should i get out by hitting the wicket to deny the 10 wicket haul.. and Akram said, no dont.. if he deserves, he ll get it. And Guess what.. the very next ball laxman took the catch of Akram!

I agree, only the Afridi decision is dodgy, the rest were decent or dead.

Wasim, Waqar, Saleem, Saqlain, Moin, Anwar, Inzi, Ijaz were in the team ... you do the math.

I didn't watch this game.:(

Hope Indian team repeats this performance once more against the same opponents.:D

Most of the decisions seem good.

Two questionable ones.

1) Shahid Afridi - Pretty certain he didn't edge it
2) Yousuf Youhana - I felt it hit him outside off. Very close, though.

Tbh, only Afridi's decision was bad, and Pakistan just made 172 in the 1st innings, so not in their best form either.

The Chennai Test was better. :p

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/0Y91gQRFzSM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Saqlain Mushtaq. :sachin

Wasim, Waqar, Saleem, Saqlain, Moin, Anwar, Inzi, Ijaz were in the team ... you do the math.

Now the claims of fixing ? is giving credit that difficult.

as for the players mentioned , not one great Test batsmen in thet linup ..so sorry , chasing 400+ the odds where always in favour of india .

Sometimes even Kumble was surprised he got an out decision.. e.g. Ija Ahmed's wicket :))

This is the most crooked piece of umpiring ever and it's sad for Indian fans its one of their finest moments.

^^

I don't know.

The Ijaz Ahmed one looked pretty plumb. Most umpires would give that out.

Sometimes even Kumble was surprised he got an out decision.. e.g. Ija Ahmed's wicket :))

This is the most crooked piece of umpiring ever and it's sad for Indian fans its one of their finest moments.

Nice Excuse. Yeah India too lost so many meaningless ODI games in Sharjah because Pakistan played with 13 players. How is this excuse?

Two questionable ones.

Afridis was maybe not out ..but there was a definate sound , could be the bat hitting Pad & Yosufs looked hitting off stump to me ..anyway thats not the point am trying to make here . Does it deserve the kind of whining it gets even after 10 years now , even if we agree 2 of them where wrong decisons ?

I remember I was at a concert in Lahore(days after this match) and Abrar-ul-Haq was making jokes about Jayprakash(umpire) being unfair and we all laughed along with him. At that time I didn't hesitate twice about dismissing the 10 wicket haul as due to biased umpiring. 2 years ago I watched the dismissals again and I thought to myself how I became a product of hyper-nationalism back then.

I remember watching a PTV show a few days later showing each of the 10 wickets and them refuting the decisions( God knows how they did that). Felt REALLY bad for Afridi watching that, but other than that just great bowling. Credit where its due.

Afridis was maybe not out ..but there was a definate sound , could be the bat hitting Pad & Yosufs looked hitting off stump to me ..anyway thats not the point am trying to make here . Does it deserve the kind of whining it gets even after 10 years now , even if we agree 2 of them where wrong decisons ?

No, it doesn't deserve the amount of criticism it gets.

I think Jayaprakash being the umpire during that 10 wicket haul is what irks people. Horrible umpire that was biased as heck in favour of India.

But, yes in this specific innings only two decisions at max were questionable. None looked like complete howlers.

Ijaz should have just walked for that one .lol

Previous test in Chennai. Ganguly was not out. one or two lbws were clearly doubtful. I dont think anyone here talked about that match.

Dood,
In the slow motion replay, once the ball bounces off the pad.. and pad moves.. that def shows it was in line.

It's very close.

I feel half the ball is outside the line and half isn't.

When the ball makes contact with his pad, the pad snaps back. This makes it look like he's dead plumb. After that he leans forward and it looks like he's definitely not out. So, I think it was a half and half type decision.

I can see why Jayaprakash gave that, though.

Turning out to be an excellent thread. Ab bus WL bhai ki kami hai :)

I remember I was at a concert in Lahore(days after this match) and Abrar-ul-Haq was making jokes about Jayprakash(umpire) being unfair and we all laughed along with him. At that time I didn't hesitate twice about dismissing the 10 wicket haul as due to biased umpiring. 2 years ago I watched the dismissals again and I thought to myself how I became a product of hyper-nationalism back then.

I remember watching a PTV show a few days later showing each of the 10 wickets and them refuting the decisions( God knows how they did that). Felt REALLY bad for Afridi watching that, but other than that just great bowling. Credit where its due.

Exactly what i believe is the case with most people here . I dont like watching replays/highlights of matches India has lost , some goes for most ppers who claim bias here i guess ..thats the reason I put the video on .

Credit to Kumble, that was a special spell of bowling.

Anyone who says it was the umpire's handing him the 10 wickets are being very unfair. 8/10 are dead certain wickets. 2 are questionable and even with the Yousuf one, the more you watch it the more it looks out.

So, 9/10 were pretty much good decisions. The Afridi one is the only one that indeed could be a complete mistake.

Tbh, only Afridi's decision was bad, and Pakistan just made 172 in the 1st innings, so not in their best form either.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/0Y91gQRFzSM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

LOL @ ganguly wicket in 2nd inningz and indian crowd after losing :P
another useless century from tendulkar..... :yk

sachin got another mom for his another useless 100 ending in defeat

should have been saqlain or afridi for his 141 and 3 wickets:junaid

It was very good line and length wicket to wicket bowling by Anil Kumble. IMO not a single decision can be called very bad. I have seen worst.

Bro, that wicket still hurts when I see it again. I mean 2 bounces and then Moin started celebrating as if he took the catch of the century. I ll be honest, it still hurts.

But lets not derail this thread. Its about Jayaprakash's umpiring in the next match.

Yes,they gave 9/10 decisions right,only one is doubtful (doesn't mean 'not out' either) :P

Don't mind if they umpire the same way again. :23:

i think itz 3/7 ....
actually afridi wicket was crucial .... one wrong decision break the whole rhythm ...

Why two threads posted today about Anil Kumble's bowling 10 years ago? I'm all for Indian posters here but if this is all they can contribute it doesn't reflect too well on them.

they made these in protest coz none of sachin innings mae the top 100 list:wasim

cry babies:asif

those three tests epitomise india , pakistan cricket for me , i mean come to think of it pakistan beating india in india in chennai and culcutta , saeed anwar (as he always did) smashing the indian trundlers for a magnificient 188, shoaib akhtar bowling the spell that brought him into the limelight, saqi weaving his magic , wasim the fearless captain , sachin scoring yet another ton in a losing cause , the infamous dodgy indian home umpiring , shiv sena doing the gardening duties on the eve of the test match by digging up or threatening to dig up pitches, and kumble reaffirming his status as indias premier (only) fast bowler in home conditions...

the faces of the indian fans after pakistan started to celebrate..hilarious...hahahaha

all 10 wickets were taken from one side of the pitch,......That tells something

^^ It tells that :

1) You were not watching the match when it transpired.
2) You dont keep ur ears open even while watching the utube vid.

Once kumble neared the 10 wicket mark, the other bowlers bowled pretty ordinary deliveries.

Yes.... a lot of people are totally blind.

This is what I said 4 years ago....
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=1305251&postcount=28

...here are the updated numbers becuase Kumble did play 13 more tests after my above post.

Kumble bowling at home ... with two Indian umpires... one Indian umpire and no Indian umpire;

Code:
       T    O	   R     W   BBI    BBM     Ave    Econ  SR     5  10
Both   7   399.2   893   47  7/59   11/128  19.00  2.23  50.9   3  1
One   29  1503.2  3580  163  10/74  14/149  21.96  2.38  55.3  12  3
None  26  1512.5  4136  133  7/48   13/181  31.09  2.73  68.2  10  3

See how his record gets worse as neutral umpires come in!

Yes.... a lot of people are totally blind.

This is what I said 4 years ago....
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=1305251&postcount=28

...here are the updated numbers becuase Kumble did play 13 more tests after my above post.

Kumble bowling at home ... with two Indian umpires... one Indian umpire and no Indian umpire;

See how his record gets worse as neutral umpires come in!

You have to understand one thing, he played on flat pitches (check the total score of India and opponents) and also his bowling got worser during his final few years of his career. During those years, umpires were neutral. That is one of the reasons why his average is high.

Everyone including jusstrolls have no idea about the context of it all

Kumble bowled from the other end (obviously with the other umpire), he did not get any support from the wicket...in fact Anwar and Afridi blasted him for 25 in 5 overs and reached 90 for no loss at lunch

There are rumors that during lunch the Indian team received a call telling them to bowl Kumble from the other end and to concentrate on one specific spot...rest as we say is sad Jayaprakash history

Read the rest in this report: http://static.espncricinfo.com/db/A...ORECARDS/PAK_IND_T2_04-08FEB1999_DAWN_MR.html

Especially this part from the 4th day report:

Nevertheless, Anil Kumble is unfortunate that he will have to live the rest of his life with the fact that this Test was marred by some horrible umpiring by local man Ajit Jayaprakash. With whatever knowledge about the game Jayaprakash has shown, he actually even didn't deserve to stand in a club match but here he was supervising a crunch match between Pakistan and India with the series being played after 12 years and the home team trailing 0-1.

It was amazing on the part of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) that they appointed Jayaprakash for this tight match despite having Venkataravghan available. The point to be emphasised here is that Jayaprakash spoiled what would have been a keenly contested match though Pakistan would still have lost the Test anyway because never in the history of Test cricket, 420 runs have been achieved in the fourth innings.

It was shocking to see Jayaprakash raise his finger one after another. After all, he was the same man who couldn't raise his finger on Saturday when he allowed Sadagoppan Ramesh, Sachin Tendulkar, Saurav Ganguly and Javagal Srinath to have second knocks despite the fact that the appeals against the four looked even closer as compared to the ones he gave out today.

It was not Pakistan but cricket which was disgraced at the Ferozeshah Kotla ground on Sunday. And the onus of this lies chiefly on the shoulders of the BCCI and then Jayaprakash.

Without belittling the record-equalling effort by Kumble, he was the same bowler who looked unimpressive and mediocre when Anwar and Afridi blasted him for 25 runs in five overs while bowling from Steve Bucknor's end as Pakistan raced to 90 for no loss at lunch.

One doesn't know what happened during the lunch break but when play resumed, Kumble was introduced from Jayaprakash's end. In the next 20 minutes, Pakistan had slumped to 115 for four with the umpire giving three absurd decisions.

Shahid Afridi, who was looking great, was declared caught behind and on the following ball Ijaz Ahmad was given lbw while stretched fully forward. While Afridi stood at the wicket for sometime for which he was warned later by the match referee, Ijaz was given out in shocking circumstances when the umpire kept on hesitating for three to four seconds as the Indians kept on shouting before he gave the marching orders.

Yousuf Youhana, who had come after Inzamam-ul-Haq was bowled, was again given lbw on the second ball when the red cherry hit him high on his front ball while playing forward.

Those decisions were enough to create doubts about the credibility of the umpire in the batsmen's minds as they battled to keep the ball away from their pads. That forced them to play away from the body and without coming into the line of the ball. But that tactic didn't work either as three batsmen were caught at silly-point and Moin Khan was caught in the first slip.

It would not be wrong to sum up the Test by saying that Pakistan didn't lose to India but to a hostile crowd, poor wicket and poor umpiring.

Watching youtube videos without the context will always make things look quite different

^

That's a very biased piece and I am Pakistani fan. :))

Having context is fine, but from those 10 wickets, 9 were pretty much out and would have been given by any umpire including Aleem Dar.

One doesn't know what happened during the lunch break but when play resumed, Kumble was introduced from Jayaprakash's end. In the next 20 minutes, Pakistan had slumped to 115 for four with the umpire giving three absurd decisions.

What a crazy conclusion to make. Were the bowlers bowling from Jayaprakash's end prior to lunch non-Indian? If there truly was an advantage to take from biased umpiring, other Indian bowlers should have cashed in. Why was Kumble required to cash in?

Jayaprakash was a horrid umpire, no doubt about it. However, in this particular innings I don't think he simply gifted Kumble wickets barring that Afridi one.

Shahid Afridi, who was looking great, was declared caught behind and on the following ball Ijaz Ahmad was given lbw while stretched fully forward. While Afridi stood at the wicket for sometime for which he was warned later by the match referee, Ijaz was given out in shocking circumstances when the umpire kept on hesitating for three to four seconds as the Indians kept on shouting before he gave the marching orders.

Yousuf Youhana, who had come after Inzamam-ul-Haq was bowled, was again given lbw on the second ball when the red cherry hit him high on his front ball while playing forward.

I can agree with Afridi's wicket, it looked not out and probably was.

Ijaz Ahmed was out. That ball was not going to slide down leg, he got hit on the full and in front of off stump. Shahid Afridi has got numerous wickets like that with his quicker ball in recent times.

Yousuf's I can understand having an argument, but the complaint by this writer is wrong. It was not going over the top. It hit him under the knee role. My argument for Yousuf's was he got hit outside the line, but it was very close and understandable that Jayaprakash gave it out.

Those decisions were enough to create doubts about the credibility of the umpire in the batsmen's minds as they battled to keep the ball away from their pads. That forced them to play away from the body and without coming into the line of the ball. But that tactic didn't work either as three batsmen were caught at silly-point and Moin Khan was caught in the first slip.

Talk about gift wrapping an excuse for the Pakistani batsmen. Anyone who bats against Kumble is afraid to plant that front foot in front of the wicket. It's always been like that. Ask Yasir Hameed. :))

It seems more like the context you want to get influenced with and you have laced it with the same.

Kumble is a spinner and i dont know why the pak fan would take that equation out before blabbering total non sense about how the batsmen capsized after the lunch. Youtube video is there for everybody to see what they decisions were. Conspiracy theories will always flow more freely than rivers in pakistan and what monsee states is another example of the same.

jusarrived said:

Everyone including jusstrolls have no idea about the context of it all

Come on in....Monsee .........join the group!

manBlindCane.jpg

Afridi's decision was wrong, but there were two sounds with bat,pad,ball all in very close (close replay later showed the bat hitting the pad), it is genuine mistake, every umpire makes such mistakes at some point of their career. Ijaz was caught on at full length right in front of the middle, I don't know what all fuzz about it. Understandable for those who thinks all are dodgy decisions, but for the genuine..... Yousuf was all at sea in that innings and getting beaten by the googly one after another, after several appeals Jayaprakash given that one.

Guys, the only person crying is this mod after deleting so many posts about crying. :))

Let's stay on topic, please.

I saw india (cricket players, fans, media) crying just recently after the Eng series white wash. They even went to the extent to blame the rain. You know situation is bad when you blame the rain for conspiring against you.

Yes losing the series is not common for Indians especially in the last 5 yrs. so they cried when they lost to England. But you guys are so used to losing the series, so no more crying.:)

I also heard so many times that umpires helped in this case but after waching the replays , 9 out of 10, looks simple decisions to me.

It was fantastic bowling. Same umpire giving bad decisions in other matches or Kumble getting more wickets due to home umpires is irrelevent point here. Those points can be used for debate if replays are not available but we have the replays in this case so anything else is irrelevent.

Not seeing the replays and jumping on bandwagon is one thing but after seeing the replays it's weird to deny credit.

OFF NOTE: There was a match where Muralitharan was marching towards 10 wicket haul, I think against Zim. Vaas from the other end bowled as wide as possible yet one guy fished and denied Murali that record!!!

Another close encounter I can remember was Saqlain took all 8 wickets against England but then Nasser Hussain declared the innings!

CHennai test match wwas def better, it saw the greatest ever bumped catch taken by Moin Khan and that useless Indian umpire agreeing to rule Ganguly out without checking with the 3rd umpire....

One of the greatest bowling spells of all time, no doubt about that. 9 out of 10 were plumb. I think a lot of people are going by the reaction of batsmen. They showing disappointment does not mean they were not out

Even the Qayyum report clearly said that of all the players that were playing throughout the '90s - only Anwar and Inzi were unblemished with accusations or being prone to being part of cliques etc.

Unfair to include them both in that list.

Was a brilliant effort by jayaprakash on that day :)

Part of the context that almost all missed were:

1- Pakistan going great at 105 for no wicket and one bad decision turned the match on it's head
2- BCCI chosing to elect Jayaprakash when Venkatraghawan (who was highly rated) was available
3- Same Jayaprakash did give 4 lives to the Indian players the day prior and yet was quickly raising his finger when it Pak's turn to bat

'It was shocking to see Jayaprakash raise his finger one after another. After all, he was the same man who couldn't raise his finger on Saturday when he allowed Sadagoppan Ramesh, Sachin Tendulkar, Saurav Ganguly and Javagal Srinath to have second knocks despite the fact that the appeals against the four looked even closer as compared to the ones he gave out today.'

4- There were rumors of pitch doctoring (or at least a spot being created) hence the same ineffective Kumble who was being kicked around till lunch...switched end and became the terror all of sudden with his buddy Jayaprakash to back him up
5- This was the typical Indian response to a defeat pitch i.e. lose a match and start creating square turner in the next match and to go along put a blind bat like Jayaprakash in there to officiate

Yes, Kumble bowled exceptionally well (even though the picth looked like a mine field too) but Mr. Jayaprakash started and helped in creating that record

I was in the crowd that day and Pakistan took a victory lap in my home town with the crowd cheering them all the way after the game. I don't see whats there to laugh about. That was one of the proudest moments as a cricket fan for me. Chennai crowd is one of the most sportive ones in India.

Two questionable ones.

Exactly. Actually the Ijaz one as well. The ball was delivered wide of the wicket & was drifting. In most cases for similar ball, if it's ti hit the stamp, normally on front foot, it has to strike outside the line. & if it hits in line of off-stump, almost certainly the ball would drift down.

Never the less, great performance from a great bowler & great team work from India to ensue the 10.

My brother-in-law happened to be their in the Pkaistan dressing room as he knew Miandad personally. He gave us full account of this day where Pak was chasing 400 or so. He said that when Afridi and Anwar came back for innings break after scoring 100 or so without any loss, Miandad greeted tham and said in urdu, "in saalon ko aaj hi chaar sau maaro" :)

Then after the break the end of Kumble changed and Akram said "Lo ji rondi wajan lagee jai!", (The cheating is going to be started). Then rest is all histroy. My brother-in-law ws there with his friend, and his footage can be seen in the match in the dressing room with Pak players. He said he wanted to meet Ganguly and his wish was fulfilled when Miandad took him to India dressing room,

At 1:10 the brother-in-law is sitting behind Akram in red cap :)

I just watched the decisions again and these accusations are an insult. One debatable decision but the rest were out. Guys these accusations are silly and make us look silly. This was just great bowling, give credit where credit is due.

I think :afridi was unlucky!!! There is an element of doubt there whether it hit the bat. Too much crowd noise and the decision should have gone in favor of the batsman :facepalm:

Rest of them are out.

Irrespective of right or wrong.
This was an incredible feat,just look at the opposition batting line up.
Incredible

Irrespective of right or wrong.
This was an incredible feat,just look at the opposition batting line up.
Incredible

Lets use the same statement (by you) in another way:

Irrespective of humiliation or/and amazing show of choking.
The recent India vs England series was an incredible feat, just look at the Indian batting line up and the shame and sorrow it brought to 1.2 billion Indians.
Incredible
:akhtar

I think the 'whiners' have every right to whine because not even the most ardent Indian fans will agree that all 10 wickets belonged to Kumble. And the most controversial was probably the most crucial.

On a side note, watching Srinath (a pacer) being ordered to bowl wides by his contemporary, Prasad (another pacer,maybe India's fastest ever!) for the sake of Kumble (a roller), pretty much sums up the Indian mentality of records before all and is reflective of the poor development of fast bowling in the country.

I was in the crowd that day and Pakistan took a victory lap in my home town with the crowd cheering them all the way after the game. I don't see whats there to laugh about. That was one of the proudest moments as a cricket fan for me. Chennai crowd is one of the most sportive ones in India.

I respect ur thoughts
but in the clip ..... u can clearly watch ... the Pin drop silence after last wicker fall..

Afridi one may not have been out, it was the bat and pad making the noise but my god, Yousuf Youhana was PLUMB.....