On This Day: February 9, 2013 - Afzal Guru was hanged in Tihar Jail

bforme

Tape Ball Captain
Srinagar : A curfew was declared in all 10 districts of the Kashmir Valley after the execution of Afzal Guru at Delhi's Tihar Jail this morning.

Afzal Guru was convicted more than eight years ago for his role in the attack on Parliament in 2001. His mercy petition was rejected by President Pranab Mukherjee a fewdays ago.

Afzal Guru's hometown of Sopore in the Kashmir Valley is under curfew. Sensitive areas in Srinagar, just 35 kms from Sopore, have been sealed. The army is on high alert.

Cable TV services are reported to have been disconnected in some parts of the Valley.

Afzal Guru, a Kashmiri Muslim, had been on death row for nearly eight years. Chief Minister Omar Abdullah has repeatedly stressed that his execution could have serious repercussions in his state.
Afzal Guru was sentenced to death in 2004 by the Supreme Court for his role in the attack on Parliament in 2001.

http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/afzal-guru-hanged-curfew-declared-in-kashmir-valley-328504

Good !!!

but purely political decision by congress though....

just dont want Modi to have a point to talk about...

Finally Supreme Court decision had been upheld and executed.. There is no place for terrorism in this world

And when will Modi be hanged for his role in the mini genocide of Muslims in Gujarat...

On the contrary, I am almost sure he is going to be the future Prime Minister of India.

I think he will be BJP main candidate....but PM will be tough...when all these big states support congress.....and many states there is zero precense of BJP...when BJP won last time ...it coincided by Chandra babu naidu winning in andhra and many other things

it may happen...but do not think it very likely or easy !!!!

When are they gonna hang Narendra Modi and the 700,000+ animals patrolling freely in occupied kashmir...:moyo

'And His Life Should Become Extinct'
The Very Strange Story of the Attack on the Indian Parliament

Arundhati Roy

W e know this much: On December 13, 2001 , the Indian Parliament was in its winter session. (The NDA government was under attack for yet another corruption scandal.) At 11.30 in the morning, five armed men in a white Ambassador car fitted out with an Improvised Explosive Device drove through the gates of Parliament House. When they were challenged, they jumped out of the car and opened fire. In the gun battle that followed, all the attackers were killed. Eight security personnel and a gardener were killed too. The dead terrorists, the police said, had enough explosives to blow up the Parliament building, and enough ammunition to take on a whole battalion of soldiers. Unlike most terrorists, these five left behind a thick trail of evidence¡ªweapons, mobile phones, phone numbers, ID cards, photographs, packets of dry fruit, and even a love letter.

Not surprisingly, PM A.B. Vajpayee seized theopportunity to compare the assault to the September 11 attacks in the US that had happened only three months previously.

On December 14, 2001, the day after the attack on Parliament, the Special Cell of the Delhi Police claimed it had tracked down several people suspected to have been involved in the conspiracy. A day later, on December 15, it announced that it had"cracked the case": the attack, the police said, was a joint operation carried out by two Pakistan-based terrorist groups , Lashkar-e-Toiba and Jaish-e-Mohammed. Twelve people were named as being part ofthe conspiracy. Ghazi Baba of the Jaish (Usual Suspect I), Maulana Masood Azhar also of the Jaish (Usual Suspect II); Tariq Ahmed (a "Pakistani"); five deceased"Pakistani terrorists" (we still don't know who they are). And three Kashmiri men, S.A.R. Geelani , Shaukat Hussain Guru, and Mohammed Afzal; and Shaukat's wife Afsan Guru. These were the only four to be arrested.

In the tense days that followed, Parliament was adjourned. On December 21 , India recalled its high commissioner from Pakistan, suspended air, rail and bus communications and banned over-flights. Itput into motion a massive mobilisation of its war machinery, and moved more than half-a-million troops to the Pakistan border. Foreign embassies evacuated their staff andcitizens, and tourists travelling to India were issued cautionary travel advisories. The world watched with bated breath as the subcontinent was taken to the brink of nuclear war . (All this cost India an estimatedRs 10,000 crore of public money. A few hundred soldiers died just in the panicky process of mobilisation.)

Almost three-and-a-half years later, on August 4, 2005, the Supreme Court delivered its final judgement in the case. It endorsed the view that the Parliament attack be looked upon as an act of war. It said, "The attempted attack on Parliament isan undoubted invasion of the sovereign attribute of the State including the Government of India which is its alter ego...the deceased terrorists were roused and impelled to action by a strong anti-Indian feeling as the writing on the fake home ministry sticker found on the car(Ex PW1/8) reveals." It went on to say "the modus operandi adopted by the hardcore 'fidayeens' are all demonstrative of launching a war against the Government of India".

The text on the fake home ministry sticker read as follows:

"INDIA IS A VERY BAD COUNTRY AND WE HATE INDIA WE WANT TO DESTROY INDIA AND WITH THE GRACE OF GOD WE WILL DO IT GOD IS WITH US AND WE WILLTRY OUR BEST. THIS EDIET WAJPAI AND ADVANI WE WILL KILL THEM. THEY HAVE KILLED MANY INNOCENT PEOPLE AND THEY ARE VERY BAD PERSONS THERE BROTHER BUSH IS ALSO A VERY BAD PERSON HE WILL BE NEXT TARGET HE IS ALSO THE KILLER OF INNOCENT PEOPLE HE HAVE TO DIE AND WE WILL DO IT."

This subtly worded sticker-manifesto was displayed on the windscreen of the car bomb as it drove into Parliament. (Given theamount of text, it's a wonder the driver could see anything at all. Maybe that's why he collided with the Vice-President's cavalcade?)

The police chargesheet was filed in a special fast-track trial court designated for cases under the Prevention of Terrorism Act(POTA). The trial court sentenced Geelani, Shaukat and Afzal to death. Afsan Guru was sentenced to five years of rigorous imprisonment. The high court subsequentlyacquitted Geelani and Afsan, but it upheld Shaukat's and Afzal's death sentence. Eventually, the Supreme Court upheld the acquittals, and reduced Shaukat's punishment to 10 years of rigorous imprisonment. However it not just confirmed, but enhanced Mohammed Afzal's sentence. He has been given three life sentences and a double death sentence.-------------cont.

In its August 4, 2005, judgement, the Supreme Court clearly says that there was no evidence that Mohammed Afzal belonged to any terrorist group or organisation. But it also says, "As is the casewith most of the conspiracies, there is and could be no direct evidence of the agreement amounting to criminal conspiracy. However, the circumstances, cumulatively weighed, would unerringly point to the collaboration of the accused Afzal with the slain 'fidayeen' terrorists."

So: No direct evidence, but yes, circumstantial evidence.

READ MORE:

http://m.outlookindia.com/story.aspx?sid=4&aid=232979

Aaah..Arundhathi Roy the same women who was arguing for tribals on one hand....and was caught land grabbing with the other? People take her seriously these days???

In its August 4, 2005, judgement, the Supreme Court clearly says that there was no evidence that Mohammed Afzal belonged to any terrorist group or organisation. But it also says, "As is the casewith most of the conspiracies, there is and could be no direct evidence of the agreement amounting to criminal conspiracy. However, the circumstances, cumulatively weighed, would unerringly point to the collaboration of the accused Afzal with the slain 'fidayeen' terrorists."

So: No direct evidence, but yes, circumstantial evidence.

READ MORE:

http://m.outlookindia.com/story.aspx?sid=4&aid=232979

Guru's hanging was also controversial because the evidence that was used was questioned by several quarters. Some even alleged that in the absence of the real conspirators, the investigating agencies had been forced to make a scapegoat out of Guru. However the courts rejected these allegations and pronounced him guilty.

Afzal Guru hanged: Curfew declared in Kashmir valley

Why are Pakistanis so upset ?

good riddance..deserved it now please hang those samjhota blasts convicts too

Comments from Twitter:

Why shut the cable in #Kashmir , cowards? What happened to democracy and freedom of speech crap? #AfzalGuru

#AfzalGuru was a dangerous 'terrorist' but Babu Bajrangi & Modi are heroes | This is 'secular' India #AfzalWasInnocent

He was arrested on 12th Dec 2001 & Parliament was attacked on 13th , Justify ? Shaheed #AfzalGuru

His family was never informed. His last wish was never fulfilled.His body will not be given to us. World's largest democracy? MY FOOT #Afzal

Where is that scumbag who was beating thedrum of #FreedomOfSpeech ? Tell him CableTV has been blocked in #Kashmir sans his thumb impression

Comments from Twitter:

Why shut the cable in #Kashmir , cowards? What happened to democracy and freedom of speech crap? #AfzalGuru

#AfzalGuru was a dangerous 'terrorist' but Babu Bajrangi & Modi are heroes | This is 'secular' India #AfzalWasInnocent

He was arrested on 12th Dec 2001 & Parliament was attacked on 13th , Justify ? Shaheed #AfzalGuru

His family was never informed. His last wish was never fulfilled.His body will not be given to us. World's largest democracy? MY FOOT #Afzal

Where is that scumbag who was beating thedrum of #FreedomOfSpeech ? Tell him CableTV has been blocked in #Kashmir sans his thumb impression

evidence?????

@ bforme dude why do you even care , its an Indian who is hanged not Pakistani?

^^ On a similarly ridiculous vain, this is a pakistani forum, what are you doing here...

Curfew in all of Kashmir, thousand of troops have occupied the land, no media access to the whole region..... But hey, it is democracy

^^ On a similarly ridiculous vain, this is a pakistani forum, what are you doing here...

this isn't an exclusive Pakistani forum..people of all nationalities are welcome here ..if any mod or admin has problem with us Indians then I would leave

Just waiting for our turn to hang all indian puppets and generals responsible for the murder of 100,000 kashmiris...

don't know whether he was guilty or was made a scapegoat by the investigating officers due to their inefficiency.but also i don't think he is really that innocent after all these trial and being convicted by the supreme court.if he was innocent i don't think atleast the president will reject his mercy plea.and also i sincerely hope that preparators of communal violence in gujarat and those corrupt army officials in jammu and manipur raping the womens is brought before justice. i feel for the people of kashmir,they are forced to be under curfew.i hope they understand it is done for the good of their own people and to prevent any further violent actions. BJP and congress should never use this as a political weopon for elections. I think modi should be the last person to comment on afzal gurus sentence.he is also not a pure man.i may have voted for BJP if the PM was vajpayee or any such secular leader.i don't think that any such leader will come out of BJP in the near future.so we are left with no other option than congress which is full of corruption scandals.

A lot posters have read a lot of articles and tweets but comfortably missed one fact

On December 19, 2001 he (afzal) made a confession of the offenses which was recorded and was signed by him. He also confirmed having made the confessional statement without any threat or pressure.

Now continue conspiracy theories .. Nothing new

Just waiting for our turn to hang all indian puppets and generals responsible for the murder of 100,000 kashmiris...

Did you hang your generals who murdered and raped innocent Bangladeshis ?

Why question India's democracy when you're not gonna follow it? Curfew and other restrictions have been imposed to prevent the people of kashmir from resorting to violence and all. They already have a very poor reputation in this regard, should be the last ones to question India's laws.

Now regarding Afzal Guru's death, i would say its just another useless execution to give false sense of justice to the victim of terrorism in India. Fact of the matter is things are as worse as they were before and nothing concrete has been done, India is still prone to terrorist attacks in future. These executions make no difference.

What abt Balochistan sepratists who got killed? Aren't they human beings? only kashmiris are ur brothers ehh?

And you value bangledeshi's human rights only...

No, I let other countries deal with their own generals, courts and rulings but you on the other hand seemed very worried about human rights, democracy, abuse by army etc in other countries.

What abt Balochistan sepratists who got killed? Aren't they human beings? only kashmiris are ur brothers ehh?

You can open another thread for balochistan to show your love for them.....btw i belong to indian occupied kashmir...

The only fact afzal was hanged because he was a kashmiri muslim, and being a kashmiri muslim in india is a heinous crime..

You can open another thread for balochistan to show your love for them.....btw i belong to indian occupied kashmir...

Oh so is it true that you get almost free electricity ? Millions in grants and much more than what any state gets in India ?

The only fact afzal was hanged because he was a kashmiri muslim, and being a kashmiri muslim in india is a heinous crime..

At least you are alive and live where your forefathers lived, a Kashmiri pandit doesn't even get that. And his crime is well documented and he plead for MERCY and had confessed to the crime.

Oh so is it true that you get almost free electricity ? Millions in grants and much more than what any state gets in India ?

Not true....i guess you are listening too much BS from ArSnub lately..

Kashmiri cricketer - Celebrated
Kashmiri girl rock band - Celebrated
Kashmiri IAS topper - Celebrated

Kashmiri millitants - Cursed
Kashmiri stone pelters -Cursed

You must get the drift.

So, in other words you don't have an answer for Balochistani sepratists who got killed. Every country would take strong action if some groups are trying to break its country. I hope you live peacefully in India. Nobody hates a kashmiri unless they resort to violence to break our country apart. We cannot allow our country to break away in the name of a religion.

What crap. He was convicted by our supreme court that he was involved in Parliment attacks. I would also expect the same treatment to be handed over to the Rajiv gandhi killers and the khalistanis terrorists.

At least you are alive and live where your forefathers lived, a Kashmiri pandit doesn't even get that. And his crime is well documented and he plead for MERCY and had confessed to the crime.

why dont we than start hanging from the killers of 100's of teenagers killed in 2010 mass uprising.

So you can just pick a date and we start ? What are you guys teaching your kids , do you think they can progress or even get azadi by pelting stones at armed police/army ?

What crap. He was convicted by our supreme court that he was involved in Parliment attacks. I would also expect the same treatment to be handed over to the Rajiv gandhi killers and the khalistanis terrorists.

Same parliament who let the mass murderer modi free..

Just reply with this http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/af...-attack-328554 as I did but he conveniently ignored the facts. This moron even confessed to his crime but according to conspiracy theories "he was framed" he even pleaded for mercy.

So you can just pick a date and we start ? What are you guys teaching your kids , do you think they can progress or even get azadi by pelting stones at armed police/army ?

Do you think you can hold on kashmir by oppression and killing innocents..

parliament doesn't let anybody go free , its the court. You are fee to file a case against modi, owasi or freelance if you have evidence ..

Do you think you can hold on kashmir by oppression and killing innocents..

Dude, you have lost the argument so peacefully withdraw from discussion

read once again http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/af...-attack-328554 , your azadi ka saink was arrested AFTER the attacks and confessed and plead for mercy of the president of India

As for oppression and killing, ethenic cleansing wasnt a great way to start azadi ki struggle. I truly hope things improve for you and your family but kids throwing stones or grenades is not going to solve anything.

Good Night

If modi murdered muslims, prove it in the court of law. why is it geelani, Yasin mailik are free after his men kiling so may kasmiri pundits?

Dude, you have lost the argument so peacefully withdraw from discussion

read once again http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/af...-attack-328554 , your azadi ka saink was arrested AFTER the attacks and confessed and plead for mercy of the president of India

As for oppression and killing, ethenic cleansing wasnt a great way to start azadi ki struggle. I truly hope things improve for you and your family but kids throwing stones or grenades is not going to solve anything.

Good Night

You have given up yourself to indian media, so take few more sips from ArSnubs daily dose and go to sleep...
Good night

If modi murdered muslims, prove it in the court of law. why is it geelani, Yasin mailik are free after his men kiling so may kasmiri pundits?

They might have, i don't know....why dont you bring the numbers.

SC lawyer on NewsX "if you see Afzal's case there was no proof against him. Never expected his death sentence"
"there was no proof against Afzal, SC only gave him death sentence because of public opinion. Never got a fair trail"

parliament doesn't let anybody go free , its the court. You are fee to file a case against modi, owasi or freelance if you have evidence ..

LOL easy bhai easy!

googly, we know you people are suffering alot due to politics and army but you can do good to your community by living in the system and working hard for progress.it is not a good sign if the youths are send in with stones for war against the army.as the conditions improve i hope the centre will withdraw the army and there will be peace.do something like that ias topper,other kashmiris working and studying hard in other part of country and work for the change by following the rules and not going against the country otherwise the condition will be more worse.

SC lawyer on NewsX "if you see Afzal's case there was no proof against him. Never expected his death sentence"
"there was no proof against Afzal, SC only gave him death sentence because of public opinion. Never got a fair trail"

So why did court acquit other 2 and reduce the death penalty to 10 years for the 4th accused if they were just trying to trap innocent Kashmiris ? Please read below and think for 5 mins

Afzal Guru, a former fruit seller, was one of two men sentenced to death for helping to plan the attack, although the sentence of Shaukat Hussain was later reduced on appeal to 10 years in jail.

Guru was found guilty of arranging weapons for the attackers and of membership of Jaish-e-Mohammed, both of which he denied.

Two other people accused in the case, SAR Geelani and Afsan Guru, were acquitted due to a lack of evidence.

Just watched full interview of Afzal Guru himself, done in December 2001, confessing his role in the parliament attack. Very sad stuff this, looked like a very decent bloke to me. Another story of a decent Kashmiri guy who becoming puppet to Pakistan based terrorists and later on getting screwed by Indian people/politicians. Typical, i wonder when will the Kashmiris realize they are just being used for people's own agendas.

Can't find it on youtube unfortunately, Aaj Tak showed it. He looked in good state of mind and explained everything. Was just providing outside support to terrorists who carried out the actual attacks. Ruined his life. :facepalm:

Sorry, can't reveal such info. You never know when KKWC joins the Mujaheedin forces in the valley and comes after me. :91:

LOL

last week March i am in chandigarh , will see if i can meet you
i run an internet marketing company and need people who are "bele" on the internet during Indian day Time :-)

btw i have never seen any fruit-seller in India who is so intelligent online
anyway, lage raho munnabhai

sorry for off-topic

Yar, you will find plenty of bele folk everywhere in India. :))

Good riddance but I am pretty sure a revenge army is being readied to strike at targets in India, hope home ministry took necessary precautions to prevent 'non-state' warriors from opening fire at unarmed civilians.