Only 4% Indians pay tax | Maharashtra contributes 40%, Bihar 0.6 % of total tax

Bhaijaan

Hall of Famer
Thanks to the income tax dept for revealing this rather interesting data which you can see entirely at - http://www.incometaxindia.gov.in/Documents/Time-Series-Data-Final.pdf

So, bravo Bihar :14: :facepalm:

8.6% of India's population, 0.6% of tax contribution.

Bravo Uttar Pradesh :14: :facepalm:

16.6% of India's population, 3.6% of tax contribution

Combined, thats 25% of India's population contributing a little over 4%. I wonder when or if at all these people will ever become productive. Shame

Yeah read in today's news.

Maharashtra and Delhi are contributing the bulk. It's shameful to see stats of other states.

This highlights the following points:

1.extreme loopholes in Income Tax code.
2.Income disparity among Indians
3. Non-taxation of Agricultural income. (Jai kisan)

All Industrial states contribute to Tax kitty, Agriculture nyet nyet.

How much does chandigarh contribute? Pretty sure its more than rest of the India combined.

Must be right up there population and size wise. It's India's #1 city by far for a reason.

Chandigarh's population - 0.09% of India
Tax contribution - 0.25%

:kapil Surely punches well above its weight.

Top 5 states that contributes bulk of Income tax revenue for the country (Maharashtra is way ahead of other states)

1) Maharastra
2) Delhi
3) Karnataka
4) Tamilnadu
5) Gujarat

Read this year's economic survey chapter on "Bounties to the rich".

Thanks to the income tax dept for revealing this rather interesting data which you can see entirely at - http://www.incometaxindia.gov.in/Documents/Time-Series-Data-Final.pdf

Combined, thats 25% of India's population contributing a little over 4%. I wonder when or if at all these people will ever become productive. Shame
I posted the following in another thread a couple of days ago. And yet some of our Indian friends seem to take offence for attempting to have a genuine and honest (not trolling) discussion on the topic.

Do you ever see a day when the size of population leads to different levels of regional development, which in turn leads to political regional differences such that some regions want to follow different paths, ie separation due to economic and social (not religious) differences. These regions in themselves will still be (other than China) the largest countries in the world in terms of population size.

For example, some of the Indian states are far more prosperous than others, whilst the populations of some are so large that were they to become separate nations, they'd be in the top 10 - 15 most populous countries in the world, more than twice the population of any Western country (bar the USA).

These factors in turn could potentially cause major political conflict between large population size, and economically successful, states and the central government, especially if the state and central ruling parties were on opposite sides of the political spectrum and pulling in different directions (say a capitalist outlook versus a socialist ideology).

What do you think? Could that happen?
The question is not about today, but about some point in the future, be it in 50 years time or 70 years or 100 years.

You've given an example of some of the differences that are already exist.

Hence the question, could these differences, if they keep growing, create a high level of disparity whereby it causes tensions.

For example, supposing a central socialist type government wished to improve the lot of the less prosperous states that you mention by increasing the taxation on, or diverting resources from, the prosperous states to those less developed, and the governments of the prosperous states resisted and weren't keen on seeing their own electorate having to subsidies those states whose populations 'didn't work as hard' as their own?

Arunachal Pradesh contributed 111.8 crores in 2013-14 and only 17.9 crores in 2014-15??
How is that possible?

Obviously, richer people living in richer states (like Maharastra, Delhi and punjab) must pay more tax than poorer peoples living in poorer states like (Bihar, UP). Most of the people living in Bihar Jharkhand and UP are soo poor that they even dont know if they can afford today's dinner, how can we expect them to pay taxes ?

Comparison should be done on the basis of like, what percent of people earning 15K a month are paying tax in Bihar compared to Maharastra ?

There should be tax on agriculture over a certain amount.There are arabpati kisans ffs.

Obviously, richer people living in richer states (like Maharastra, Delhi and punjab) must pay more tax than poorer peoples living in poorer states like (Bihar, UP). Most of the people living in Bihar Jharkhand and UP are soo poor that they even dont know if they can afford today's dinner, how can we expect them to pay taxes ?

Comparison should be done on the basis of like, what percent of people earning 15K a month are paying tax in Bihar compared to Maharastra ?

For your question the answer is ZERO (15k a month is below the tax bracket :D)

Among the salaried all pay taxes, Its the farmers driving in Big SUVs not paying one Rupee in tax.
Bihar, UP don't have industry at all, and almost all earnings are agriculture based.

I have started paying taxes only since 3 months. When I joined they asked me for Form 16, and I was like what is that? If it was up to me, I would not pay a single rupee in taxes. First recover money from the rich then come and ask us poor people to fund your corrupt regime.

For your question the answer is ZERO (15k a month is below the tax bracket :D)

Among the salaried all pay taxes, Its the farmers driving in Big SUVs not paying one Rupee in tax.
Bihar, UP don't have industry at all, and almost all earnings are agriculture based.

Yr bus ek example de rha tha :p should have used "x" amount of money instead of 15k
You are correct about rich farmers not paying tax. But at the same time you will rarely find a farmer owning cars like Fortuner in Bihar/UP, Most of the farmers there are very poor (Landlords are rich not the farmers) but you will find plenty of them in States like Haryana and Punjab so its quite natural for Punjab to pay more tax than Bihar.
Population should not be used to compare tax in these type of case.

I have started paying taxes only since 3 months. When I joined they asked me for Form 16, and I was like what is that? If it was up to me, I would not pay a single rupee in taxes. First recover money from the rich then come and ask us poor people to fund your corrupt regime.

If it was upto people then I don't think anyone would pay taxes no matter how patriotic or traitors(like you) they are.

How does 5 crore out of 125 crore (We are counting kids in this) become 1% of the population??

Thank God!! you are not a tax collector :P

Yr bus ek example de rha tha :p should have used "x" amount of money instead of 15k
You are correct about rich farmers not paying tax. But at the same time you will rarely find a farmer owning cars like Fortuner in Bihar/UP, Most of the farmers there are very poor (Landlords are rich not the farmers) but you will find plenty of them in States like Haryana and Punjab so its quite natural for Punjab to pay more tax than Bihar.

If a middle class goes bankrupt, he has to fend for himself. But when farmers mess up because of their own blunders, its administration apathy always.

Farming community is coddled bit too much that they are not willingly ready to be efficient on their own.

Yr bus ek example de rha tha[emoji14]should have used "x" amount of money instead of 15k
Those bihar UP landlords also dont pay tax as income from those huge swathes of land they hold and use for agriculture is exempt.

If a middle class goes bankrupt, he has to fend for himself. But when farmers mess up because of their own blunders, its administration apathy always.

Farming community is coddled bit too much that they are not willingly ready to be efficient on their own.
Now we have Modi Ji sponsored Agriculture insurance.

If farmers mess up, people starve to death. You can't get any more basic than that.

Mumbai is seat of Indian economy so it's natural for them to be paying most tax

Atleast unlike Karachi, which contributes maybe even more tax revenue as a percentage, gets to see a lot of the money invested back into the city and state. In Pakistan on the other hand the most populous state wins a lottery by getting an undue share of the taxes because the people there either aren't honest enough to pay their share of taxes or are so lazy that they don't even count in this regard

Even in Maharashtra it's Mumbai that is making bulk of the contribution. Hence, highest ranking for the state.

There's a reason why Biharis flock to Mumbai in plenty, thereby polluting it more and contributing less.

Jai Maharashtra.

Atleast unlike Karachi, which contributes maybe even more tax revenue as a percentage, gets to see a lot of the money invested back into the city and state. In Pakistan on the other hand the most populous state wins a lottery by getting an undue share of the taxes because the people there either aren't honest enough to pay their share of taxes or are so lazy that they don't even count in this regard

Do you mean that Punjab is being run by dole handed over from Karachi?

Is Pakistani Punjab Indian version of Bihar?

There's a reason why Biharis flock to Mumbai in plenty, thereby polluting it more and contributing less.

Jai Maharashtra.

Maharashtra is living on the doles from Mumbai and Pune, take that out... what have you got!!

People in this thread sounding like Donald Trump regarding Mexicans! :facepalm:

Yup, we are the most xenophobic nation of the world!

Only 4% indians pay taxes? Proud to be among those 4%then. You become real indian and patriotic by paying taxes and following the law of your country not by posting 'vande mataram', 'bharat mata ki jai' here and avoid paying taxes. :misbah

Loyalty to the state and to the country are separate things. You are being loyal to the government, we patriots are loyal to the country.

Ideally after 10 years there can be state funding based on tax collection but it won't be done as Lok Sabha seats are based on population thereby UP and Bihar have high number combined.

The same illiterate Janata of Bihar/UP send the most MP's to Loksabha in India. Scary if you think.

There aren't any great leaders to inspire people there, UP had many but the population is way to much to create a difference,Bihar i just don't understand the issue the talent Bihar outsources to other states is pretty good when it comes to education,just that as a culture they aren't like South where education is highly valued.

Biharis are least bothered about state ranking ,year on year they have been ranked last 3,MadhyaP rightly with good industrial growth has actually almost managed to come out of the BIMARU tag.

The same illiterate and poor janta of up and bihar also produces highest no of IAS and is second and fourth in producing IITians in India.

People get worked up when "western media" talks about poverty in India but are first one to call UP and Bihar a burden. By that Logic India is a burden on Earth ?

How much tax do the rich pay in India ? How about an average person ? Put a % on it.

People get worked up when "western media" talks about poverty in India but are first one to call UP and Bihar a burden. By that Logic India is a burden on Earth ?

It is normal, insecurity. It is very common among sub continent countries. Shying away from things that makes them seem less valuable is normal. Kinda like kids hanging out with "cool kids" in school to make them look better.

Ya but you talk smack about IPL, Indian players and BCCI. You are not a real Indian. You don't want a wall around UP and Bihar like rest of the Indian patriots here either. :kohli

This is where you are wrong. I don't like IPL that's true but me talking smack about indian players and BCCI everytime is BS.

It is normal, insecurity. It is very common among sub continent countries. Shying away from things that makes them seem less valuable is normal. Kinda like kids hanging out with "cool kids" in school to make them look better.

Nice justification of our own xenophobia! Keep it up "cool bro"!

That's what happens when you are in a union. Don't think OP understands the concept of countries. Poorer regions are net beneficiaries of tax schemes. Bihar is the third most populous state in the country but in terms of GDP it's number 13. I guess we are getting these xenophobic comments because different races are involved. I don't think people would be concerned about which region is contributing how much if India was a country of homogeneous people.

I've always viewed India as an artificial union. North Indians don't have much in common with South Indians. I've met students from both regions here in the UK and they rarely socialise with each other and aren't very fond of each other in general. I wonder why they keep this facade going. I guess it's a nice concept in theory and strong economic growth masks some of the disillusionment. But if India has an economic crisis in the future we will definitely see cracks appearing.

That's what happens when you are in a union. Don't think OP understands the concept of countries. Poorer regions are net beneficiaries of tax schemes. Bihar is the third most populous state in the country but in terms of GDP it's number 13. I guess we are getting these xenophobic comments because different races are involved. I don't think people would be concerned about which region is contributing how much if India was a country of homogeneous people.

I've always viewed India as an artificial union. North Indians don't have much in common with South Indians. I've met students from both regions here in the UK and they rarely socialise with each other and aren't very fond of each other in general. I wonder why they keep this facade going. I guess it's a nice concept in theory and strong economic growth masks some of the disillusionment. But if India has an economic crisis in the future we will definitely see cracks appearing.

Lol at different races. And people have been saying the country will disintegrate for more than 60 years now. Many an economic crisis have come & gone but that hasn't happened & won't happen in the future as well.

Lol@economic crisis yeah India for last 6 decades has been enjoying massive economic prosperity rofl,don't speak when you don't live here we may have our issues but would always back Dinda or Mamta over Taskin or Khalida(or whatever).

In my workplace people from all over India are placed and no one seems to have "such" issues which you mention but yeah i get it in a country where bloggers get killed i can understand the reason for 'cracks'.

Lol @ Indian posters freely talking smack about Bihar and UP, and the people with purely xenophobic words.
( Read the posts and just substitute UP/Biharis with Indian and Mexicans and you have a speech from Donald Trump)

bigger LOL @ other posters: Seeing this a justification of the dreams of breaking of India, ( don't wanna drag threads about ethnic harmony in the neighbourhood)

I don't rule out a military invasion of Bihar/UP by Shiv Sena in near future the way things are going.

LOL.... really!!

maxresdefault.jpg

Its hilarious to read the rants of some keyboard warriors like Freelance(Most of your posts/threads are stupid and ignorable though)

Before cursing UP and Bihar for everything that going Bad for shining India, Do you all even know the state of the people living in these states? I have been looking at various posters in diff. threads who call Upites and Biharis beggars,paindus and what not.

Well God Bless You if you are doing so well in your lives and didn't had to face what people of these states faced or still facing.

Majority of population from these states lives in villages and crushed by few landlords even after freedom. All they could manage is to feed their family somehow, forget about education or anything else. People say Biharis choose illiterate and corrupt politicians. To give an example..Lalu yadav was a hope for these people when he came into picture. He was against these landlords and most importantly he gave importance to the poors for the first time.Thats why he became so popular. Then he had his own agenda. Building an army of goons. All scams and everything. He basically looted everything. You can argue that why people voted for him for 15 years then. Well villagers and poors didn't had a choice. They were forced by the goons. With the old ballet boxes being used these goons used to change the boxes in the midway before reaching to the counting place. There was no law and order. Yes, many voted by taking money in that era, but do you blame them for that? When you dont know whether you gonna eat tomorrow or not.

There is still no electricity in many parts of UP and Bihar. Bad Roads, Bad Education Infrastructure, every year many parts of these states have drought and the flood at the same time. No jobs for the youth. When people migrate to the other states for the living they are beaten and treated like animals in many parts of the country. If somebody is forced to live in slums, forced to urinate/deficate in open, who is to blame...People or state or country? I'd say India as a country is a failure then.

LOL at people moaning over tax contribution.

I have seen people blaming these states and people time and again. That these states should be cutoff from the map.

Well I also support them. No wonder many states seek freedom. Bihar,UP,Assam,Nagaland etc. Where the govt.failed to uplift the lives of people, just cut them off from the map. They are disgrace to the Digital/Shining/Super power India anyway.

Having said so Im a proud Indian and a proud Bihari. And I still have HOPE :)

Its hilarious to read the rants of some keyboard warriors like Freelance(Most of your posts/threads are stupid and ignorable though)

Before cursing UP and Bihar for everything that going Bad for shining India, Do you all even know the state of the people living in these states? I have been looking at various posters in diff. threads who call Upites and Biharis beggars,paindus and what not.

Well God Bless You if you are doing so well in your lives and didn't had to face what people of these states faced or still facing.

Majority of population from these states lives in villages and crushed by few landlords even after freedom. All they could manage is to feed their family somehow, forget about education or anything else. People say Biharis choose illiterate and corrupt politicians. To give an example..Lalu yadav was a hope for these people when he came into picture. He was against these landlords and most importantly he gave importance to the poors for the first time.Thats why he became so popular. Then he had his own agenda. Building an army of goons. All scams and everything. He basically looted everything. You can argue that why people voted for him for 15 years then. Well villagers and poors didn't had a choice. They were forced by the goons. With the old ballet boxes being used these goons used to change the boxes in the midway before reaching to the counting place. There was no law and order. Yes, many voted by taking money in that era, but do you blame them for that? When you dont know whether you gonna eat tomorrow or not.

There is still no electricity in many parts of UP and Bihar. Bad Roads, Bad Education Infrastructure, every year many parts of these states have drought and the flood at the same time. No jobs for the youth. When people migrate to the other states for the living they are beaten and treated like animals in many parts of the country. If somebody is forced to live in slums, forced to urinate/deficate in open, who is to blame...People or state or country? I'd say India as a country is a failure then.

I have seen people blaming these states and people time and again. That these states should be cutoff from the map.

Well I also support them. No wonder many states seek freedom. Bihar,UP,Assam,Nagaland etc. Where the govt.failed to uplift the lives of people, just cut them off from the map. They are disgrace to the Digital/Shining/Super power India anyway.

Its a bitter pill to swallow but people of certain states in India are just never gonna make it. Staying miserable seems to be in their DNA somehow and them being 25-40% of the population is an intimidating fact for progressive Indians who will continue to be pulled down by these folks. Proportional representation means these pathetic people will always be over represented in the parliament and come in the way of any progressive bill. The sooner we disband these failed states and merge them into progressive neighbouring states the better or if need be RSS and shiv sena should be prepared to launch a military take over.

Yeah it pisses me off too. You have that Alamgeer mustachio guy posting "before' and "after" pics of Karachi's streets after clearing huge amounts of garbage on them. As an outsider seeing those pics you'd think it was some 3rd grade town in some underdeveloped state, yet this is the economic powerhouse and the most populous metropolitan city we are talking about here...

Sad stuff.

you dont need to give any explanation or defence

it is quite clear that certain Indian posters are embarassed by some of the happenings in India and as a defence mechanism try to pass off all the wrongs to a groups of people to delude themselves into thinking that these issues arent a nationwide problem and that they would be a super power if it werent for these few states

you dont need to give any explanation or defence

it is quite clear that certain Indian posters are embarassed by some of the happenings in India and as a defence mechanism try to pass off all the wrongs to a groups of people to delude themselves into thinking that these issues arent a nationwide problem and that they would be a super power if it werent for these few states

Appreciate your neighbourly concern for our problems. Will get back to working on it!! :D

True Patriotism has been emanating from some of the veteran posters of India in this thread!!

Chill bro!! Let them lead the revolution and "MAKE INDIA GREAT AGAIN"

nbc-fires-donald-trump-after-he-calls-mexicans-rapists-and-drug-runners.jpg

Haha. I hope they have some 'trump'card hidden in their closet. That pic made my day :)

Im fine bro. Just couldn't swallow the hypocrisy. By the way I need some chilled beer to be chilled in this weather :P which they dont serve in Gujarat :(

Don't these expats have to pay the income taxes in India??

Not income tax but tax for their possessions in India?? I have huge number of relatives who don't pay tax at all here and enjoy all the luxury in life.

Its an attitude problem. Take all the money from a Punjabi, Gujju or Marathi and they will work hard to earn a decent living in few years time and ensure the enxt generation does better. The bhaiya community just doesn't have the attitude to uplift their family and way of life. We made special compartments in trains for these jaaahils and they turned them into the usual trash through their habits.

First solve the drug addiction problem in your golden land of punjab and then point fingers at others.

Watch very carefully what you write here

First solve the drug addiction problem in your golden land of punjab and then point fingers at others.

We will get the better of drug menace soon enough. Thanks for the concern.

Its a bitter pill to swallow but people of certain states in India are just never gonna make it. Staying miserable seems to be in their DNA somehow and them being 25-40% of the population is an intimidating fact for progressive Indians who will continue to be pulled down by these folks. Proportional representation means these pathetic people will always be over represented in the parliament and come in the way of any progressive bill. The sooner we disband these failed states and merge them into progressive neighbouring states the better or if need be RSS and shiv sena should be prepared to launch a military take over.
Yeah Indian army should conduct something akin to operation bluestar in these bemaru states.They deserve it.Just like Punjab did in 80s.
And while we are at it how about some cleansing in the land of five rivers.the state is infested with drugs and frankly it's a matter of shame for all of us Indians when we hear these kind of news come out from such an economical imp state.Seems like a major problem.

Smaller states really are the way to go. Uttaranchal has made good progress since it was separated from UP, and Jharkand has done better since it left Bihar.

The only solution is to partition UP and Bihar further.

Hey didn't you hear chandigarh is the best city in the whole galaxy and we would have been super power by now if India consisted of only undivided Punjab.It is known.

Smaller states really are the way to go. Uttaranchal has made good progress since it was separated from UP, and Jharkand has done better since it left Bihar.

The only solution is to partition UP and Bihar further.

WE are getting there, just a matter of time either by pyar aur maar.

Hey didn't you hear chandigarh is the best city in the whole galaxy and we would have been super power by now if India consisted of only undivided Punjab.It is known.

Chandigarh is twice as good as the 2nd best city in India.

It is known.

The nation would have reached great heights if other states also followed the Chandigarh model.

Chandigarh is twice as good as the 2nd best city in India.

It is known.

The nation would have reached great heights if other states also followed the Chandigarh model.
You mean like redesign every small town and city in the whole state? Sounds like an awesome plan.

Reality is far from what you are stating, very few farmers have more than 10 acres of land today. Those who got rich from their land had acre or two on national highways and they sold it and got rich and urbanized. So they are no more land owners, rest of farmers are blamed for no reason, they don't have large swathes of land, and struggling, check number of farmer suicides this year alone in Punjab, nobody shows the plight of farmers in Punjab on TV. Haryanvi and Punjabi farmers are different in many regards, I am a Punjabi Jatt and struggling to find a single farmer who owns a Toyota Fortuner leave alone a BMW. Farmers who own fortuners in Punjab are pseudo farmers, newly rich from Canada and showing off, they had few acres prior to settling in Canada. Find me single farmer in Punjab, who doesn't hold Canadian Permanent Residency owning a car excess of 10 lakhs. Most of them have humble Suzuki Alto. Only these Canadian NRIs show off their wealth, go towards Jalandhar area, Kothis worth in crores are maintained by Bhaiyyas from UP, Bihar. My NRI neighbour has brand new XUV500, Bullet Motorcycle in his mansion, left to rot. It's the tendency of newly rich Punjabis, do not attach this phenomenon to native Punjabis with no connection to Canada. If anything Punjabis are investing in India with their hard earned money from Canada instead of other way around. If they stop coming to India and limit their spendings on lavish weddings, land and vehicles, local economy will take a hard hit. Think hard, ask any cloth shop owner on importance of arrival of NRIs evey year. If Punjabi's own expensive cars then they earned it with double taxation.

Judging by the comments here UP and Bihar like adopted children in India, but they are poorer so its understandable why many would not pay up. In Pakistan tax situation is even worse. I think something like 1 or 2 percent pay taxes.

Some recent figures:

The latest data on tax collection released by the Central Board of Direct Taxes show that Maharashtra, Delhi and Karnataka alone contribute 61 per cent to the country’s total revenue from direct taxes.

If we include Tamil Nadu and Gujarat to this list, the share of the top five states rises to 72 per cent.

Direct taxes primarily include income taxes paid by individuals and corporate taxes paid by firms.

Large and populous states like Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh fare poorly.

For example, Bihar--the third most populous state--contributed just 0.65 per cent to India’s direct tax revenue in the past six years, while its neighbours Uttar Pradesh--the most populous--and West Bengal--the fourth most populous-- contributed just 3.12 per cent and 4 per cent respectively to total direct tax collection.

https://www.indiatoday.in/news-anal...eback-dalit-votes-sc-seats-1612914-2019-10-25