Overseas Desi's - Would you consider retirement "back home"?

DeadlyVenom

ODI Star
I'm seeing it as becoming more of a desirable option for some Pakistanis here in the UK. If you have money you can live a comfortable life, and get better health care than is available on the NHS. Suprisingly medical tourism is also increasing to Pakistan due to NHS waiting times.

Anyway, we have a lot of overseas Indians, Pakistanis and Bangladeshis. Many of us moved over to make money, or are the children who moved over to make money.

Would you ever consider going "back home" for your retirement?

Here is a map that shows the cheapest places to retire in USD.

1765968048889.png

Pakistan and India are number 1 and 2.

A whole host of my elders have done it and are enjoying life. They can catch up with old friends and live comfortably with more friendship and company than they would have here.

Is it something you would consider? What would the reasons be behind the yes/no?

This is why i tend to feel bad for people that work and kiss up to the arab states. Work your ass off for them and get no benefit or nationality.

Alot of people in the UK Pakistanis tend to work 30+ years or till retirement age and than cash in their pension cheques while sitting in Pakistan as its gives them between 4 to 6 lakh which makes living in Pakistan very comfortable.

Funny thing is, the same Uk Pakistani lot wanted the Pakistani govt to end the pensions that are paid in Pakistan to govt employees which is in the figure of 10k to 1 lakh (before compounding)

Given the anti-immigrant atmosphere in the US and I suppose worldwide, there's definitely a lot of interest from first generation Indian immigrants in moving back to India primarily for early retirement.

It feels like every other month, I field a call from an old school or college friend who's interested in discussing early retirement in India and wants advice or just to chat. I doubt more than a more small minority will actually follow through and most are just dreaming but the interest is there.

The numbers there are way off though. $200k in retirement savings would make for a very uncomfortable retirement in India unless you're actually planning to move back to your village (which people have done).

I usually advise friends to think at least $2M to $2.5M. You'll want

- A nice home in a gated community
- A monthly budget that includes niceties like househelp (one of main perks of returning)
- A generous travel budget to see your kids at least once a year and of course generally do tourism

Given the anti-immigrant atmosphere in the US and I suppose worldwide, there's definitely a lot of interest from first generation Indian immigrants in moving back to India primarily for early retirement.

It feels like every other month, I field a call from an old school or college friend who's interested in discussing early retirement in India and wants advice or just to chat. I doubt more than a more small minority will actually follow through and most are just dreaming but the interest is there.

The numbers there are way off though. $200k in retirement savings would make for a very uncomfortable retirement in India unless you're actually planning to move back to your village (which people have done).

- A monthly budget that includes niceties like househelp (one of main perks of returning)
- A generous travel budget to see your kids at least once a year and of course generally do tourism

I would suggest to all Indian immigrants in the west, who are on visas to return. In the 60's, 70's it was different, not many immigrants, plenty of jobs, a thriving continent. Now the West is in decline, so unless you've lived here all your life, its foolish to come over.

Honestly, many people will be forced to return. I got a good GRE score of 324 in 2015. But opted to stay in India. While many of my college friends have far surpassed my career in terms of income who chose to move to the US, I still wonder if I made the right call. I am not an entrepreneur yet, so going purely by monetary standards, I didn't fare well till now.

India has become quite expensive and only those who are very successful are moving back. Without a 2-3M$ savings, moving back to India doesn't make sense. Quality of life drops and you don't feel the money like you do in the US as you often compare with $ vs INR. Nevertheless, GCCs have become one of the key reasons to drive this trend of NRIs returning to India. An IVY league grad can land a 100-120K$ in India now which may offer similar savings of ~400K in the US.

I think Pakistan may be 2 decades back in this trend vs India. Just like we are 2 decades behind China.

I was considering it but with the current corrupt clowns in charge, i'd rather stay in the UK even with a Reform government.
What would stop you from moving to your home country when you have already planned for retirement?
You won’t be participating in politics, will you? Normal residents don’t bother much about politics, you just need a nice and affordable place to live.

You don’t need 2 million if you want to retire in a village. What is the point of staying in cities after retirement? Traffic, pollution, and even your next-door neighbor won’t talk to you much.

I prefer going back to my village after retirement and spending time on farming and cattle. No pollution, clean air, and clean water

Honestly, many people will be forced to return. I got a good GRE score of 324 in 2015. But opted to stay in India. While many of my college friends have far surpassed my career in terms of income who chose to move to the US, I still wonder if I made the right call. I am not an entrepreneur yet, so going purely by monetary standards, I didn't fare well till now.

India has become quite expensive and only those who are very successful are moving back. Without a 2-3M$ savings, moving back to India doesn't make sense. Quality of life drops and you don't feel the money like you do in the US as you often compare with $ vs INR. Nevertheless, GCCs have become one of the key reasons to drive this trend of NRIs returning to India. An IVY league grad can land a 100-120K$ in India now which may offer similar savings of ~400K in the US.

I think Pakistan may be 2 decades back in this trend vs India. Just like we are 2 decades behind China.

Money is needed wherever you live but if you are earning well in India, I think you've made the right decision. You have all your family close by, the food you love, no racism etc.

What were your reasons to stay in India? Also $2-3 million, surely you can live in India with a lot lot less savings?

No desire to move back.

I left Bangladesh in 2005 and I have never visited it again. I don't think I will go there again let alone visiting it. Everybody that I care about is either dead or moved to Canada/US. So, I have nothing there now. Also, it is very corrupt out there.

For retirement, I think Saudi Arabia would be great. If I don't get a visa there, I guess I can just stay in Canada.

You don’t need 2 million if you want to retire in a village. What is the point of staying in cities after retirement? Traffic, pollution, and even your next-door neighbor won’t talk to you much.

I prefer going back to my village after retirement and spending time on farming and cattle. No pollution, clean air, and clean water
I find that most people dream about moving to somewhere rural especially their village after retirement but very few are actually able to do it. They get too used to the conveniences of city life and used to their friend circle plus want to be near their kids.

Money is needed wherever you live but if you are earning well in India, I think you've made the right decision. You have all your family close by, the food you love, no racism etc.

What were your reasons to stay in India? Also $2-3 million, surely you can live in India with a lot lot less savings?
I always dreamt of being an entrepreneur and I felt India would give me better opportunities. Later I realized, I have a lot to learn and still biding my time and growing my experience. Hopefully, I’ll have something of my own in future as I see good capital support for right ideas too. And I wont, lie, there is a bit of liking my country more and doing my part to develop my country as I saw how my parents struggled when I grew up. Things are 100X better now for youths given the employment opportunities. Though not comparable to the US / West in any sense. And I graduated from an NIT and IIM too, some decent institutions in India. So, a lot of factors I would say influenced my decision.

Also, I like to be closer to my family as my sibling also moved to the US and later to Canada. Honestly, I see lot of older parents here alone while their kids relocated to the US. As they get old, they couldn't get used to the life there be it the people or the weather. It’s a sad situation but one that they have to live with due to their choice.

US obviously have a better quality life. You cannot get a similar quality of life in India without at-least US$2-3M savings. The salaries in India have skyrocketed in the last 10 years and that have made the real-estate and education as much expensive for those people. So, its the peer pressure honestly that makes them feel like they have to live in a 1M$ home in India as they move out of a similar home in the US. If one can adjust here, it doesn't make a difference. They have happily live here with 100-200k savings too.

I find that most people dream about moving to somewhere rural especially their village after retirement but very few are actually able to do it. They get too used to the conveniences of city life and used to their friend circle plus want to be near their kids.
Exactly. Moving to rural areas would only be feasible of they are in 60-70’s. Else, early retirement people always wanted to do something more and villages doesn't give you that opportunities. Also, lot of real-estate have been focussed on these people offering villas / homes outside cities providing a world of both with some trade-off. Semi-Village type living in a luxurious set-up with a little bit of commute. But young age kids would almost make this choice impossible.

I was considering it but with the current corrupt clowns in charge, i'd rather stay in the UK even with a Reform government.

Good choice. Corruption will further get out of hand, and the Subcontinent is the hot bed for Corruption. The UK is going through a bleak Period, which is itself led by Corrupt politicians, but surely, it's far better than what Pakistan has to offer!

No desire to move back.

I left Bangladesh in 2005 and I have never visited it again. I don't think I will go there again let alone visiting it. Everybody that I care about is either dead or moved to Canada/US. So, I have nothing there now. Also, it is very corrupt out there.

For retirement, I think Saudi Arabia would be great. If I don't get a visa there, I guess I can just stay in Canada.

I just hope Canada will not turn into obnoxious corrupt India.

Good news is Canada is starting to crack down on various Indian frauds. :inti

A lot of people in the UK - I am talking about elder generations are a bit more shielded from the anti-immigrant atmosphere. It is not as big a motivator for them as it is for my generation who are worried about what type of country their kids will grow up in. I think as my generation ages, it will be a become more common for Pakistanis here.

The numbers are low, I shared the image because even if we accept the numbers are flawed ,India and Pakistan is still a relatively cheap place to retire.

$2- $2.5 milli is big money. You could retire comfortably in the UK with that amount, no need to move anywhere!

UK system is corrupt too.

Here you don't have a choice. You gotta pay into the corruption via taxes, NI, all sorts of duties.

In Pakistan you can chose not to contribute and nobody will say anything to you
:ROFLMAO:

I guess thats one up side.

Good choice. Corruption will further get out of hand, and the Subcontinent is the hot bed for Corruption. The UK is going through a bleak Period, which is itself led by Corrupt politicians, but surely, it's far better than what Pakistan has to offer!

Yes, soon you will have to pay backhanders to doctors for treatment. Its not a financial issue but one of principle. To live under the likes of the Sharifs , Zardaris and corrupt generals is nothing something I'd like , even though it will not impact me in any negative way as it does to local Pakistanis. Interestingly you have their hardcore supporters @emranabbas who spend day and night defending them but wont move to Pakistan?

UK is sadly in decline, the high streets look like war zones in all towns and cities. However there are areas , small villages or countryside which is proper England. I dont live in the city, so life here is lovely.

Here you don't have a choice. You gotta pay into the corruption via taxes, NI, all sorts of duties.

Sure, western society is openly corrupt when it comes to politics ie.. Trump has 100m donation from Zionists and hasnt stopped bending over since. This is different to justice. In Pakistan a man will be thrown in jail for no reason, this doesnt happen in the UK. The two types of corruption. Pakistan is a different way more evil level.

No desire to move back.

At least you can see a lot of returnees in India, as people are getting attractive IT salaries.
You also see British Pakistanis talking about returning to Pakistan, but you won’t find many from Bangladesh.
The country is literally like a garbage pile, water is polluted with textile waste chemicals. For what reason would people plan to come back?

I am not surprised by your decision. You should be thankful to Western countries forever.

I always dreamt of being an entrepreneur and I felt India would give me better opportunities. Later I realized, I have a lot to learn and still biding my time and growing my experience. Hopefully, I’ll have something of my own in future as I see good capital support for right ideas too. And I wont, lie, there is a bit of liking my country more and doing my part to develop my country as I saw how my parents struggled when I grew up. Things are 100X better now for youths given the employment opportunities. Though not comparable to the US / West in any sense. And I graduated from an NIT and IIM too, some decent institutions in India. So, a lot of factors I would say influenced my decision.

Also, I like to be closer to my family as my sibling also moved to the US and later to Canada. Honestly, I see lot of older parents here alone while their kids relocated to the US. As they get old, they couldn't get used to the life there be it the people or the weather. It’s a sad situation but one that they have to live with due to their choice.

US obviously have a better quality life. You cannot get a similar quality of life in India without at-least US$2-3M savings. The salaries in India have skyrocketed in the last 10 years and that have made the real-estate and education as much expensive for those people. So, its the peer pressure honestly that makes them feel like they have to live in a 1M$ home in India as they move out of a similar home in the US. If one can adjust here, it doesn't make a difference. They have happily live here with 100-200k savings too.

It seems you've thought long and hard about this decision, taking many factors into account.

A better quality of life is subjective. What could give you a better quality of life in USA which you wont get in India?

I think you should be respected for your decision. Today we have so many who run off from India @Rajdeep living in horrible conditions, seen as trouble causing immigrants and now with the home office chasing you around. Its not a self respecting life any longer to move to the west in 2025.

This does not look right. I was in Pakistan recently and I know for a fact it is as expensive as the US at teh end of the day.

Not sure what metrics or logic was used here. 158-160 k wont last you more than 6-7 years, even if you stretch it.

don't worry about him he is clueless as usual, corruption is just an excuse he wouldn't move to Pakistan even Imran khan was in charge.

Please fill in the number below:

No. of days Imran Khan (not corrupt) was Prime Minister = 1,332
No. of those days KingKhanWC lived in Pakistan = ?

don't worry about him he is clueless as usual, corruption is just an excuse he wouldn't move to Pakistan even Imran khan was in charge.

Instead of discussing others, give us your opinions.

As the no.1 Fan of the General why the heck are you in England? No boots here to polish, lad.
:zardari2

It sounds like a nice idea and maybe for people who haven't assimilated culturally into Western socities, it might me feasible. For me it's not an option. Politics aside, the unclean environment, cultural differences, pollution, traffic, safety concerns, noise are some reasons why i would never wanna retire in Pakistan. I'm here for a month and been sick since day 2. I can't wait to go back

do you live in some village or something?

Pakistan isn’t one big village or a single environment. Like the UK, it varies massively depending on where you live and how you live. There are plenty of areas that are cleaner, quieter, and better maintained than parts of Birmingham or Bradford.

Pollution can be an issue, yes but, traffic, noise, and congestion are just as bad in major UK cities. Anyone who’s driven through London, Birmingham, or Manchester at peak times knows that.

what safety issues? I have to ask whether this is based on real time spent there or just perception. Millions of people live normal, secure lives in Pakistan every day, especially in established and gated areas. No country is risk-free, including the UK.

as for culture what culture does Britain have?

have you even been to Pakistan?

Its difficult for those who grew up in the west to live in a different continent. The natural food in Pakistan is superb, among the freshest , most organic and best tasting in the world. But the confectionaries are terrible, although I was drinking the energy drink Sting daily. Pollution is a big issue in the cities and will only get worse , causing various diseases.

do you live in some village or something?

Pakistan isn’t one big village or a single environment. Like the UK, it varies massively depending on where you live and how you live. There are plenty of areas that are cleaner, quieter, and better maintained than parts of Birmingham or Bradford.

Pollution can be an issue, yes but, traffic, noise, and congestion are just as bad in major UK cities. Anyone who’s driven through London, Birmingham, or Manchester at peak times knows that.

what safety issues? I have to ask whether this is based on real time spent there or just perception. Millions of people live normal, secure lives in Pakistan every day, especially in established and gated areas. No country is risk-free, including the UK.

as for culture what culture does Britain have?

have you even been to Pakistan?
No need to lecture me. I'm literally in Pakistan and observing things in real time in the biggest metropolis, Karachi. The only city worth living in is Isalamabad and maybe Lahore to an extent. Northern areas where the beauty is is an ideal environment for me bu there's no infrastructure there for modern living. Plus I don't know anyone outside of Karachi. All of the above issues I have outlined, they are 10 times worse for people living here parmanently. I could never get used to the chaos

This does not look right. I was in Pakistan recently and I know for a fact it is as expensive as the US at teh end of the day.

Not sure what metrics or logic was used here. 158-160 k wont last you more than 6-7 years, even if you stretch it.
The research is about if one was earning a pension in USA, where would he live comfortably.

Baically for example if you were getting 1200 usd pension in usa, might be difficult to live on that amount in USA, but if you live in Pakistan and converted that money, one could live comfortably here as that would mean have 3.3 lakh rupees. Make it 2000 usd and u r close to 6lakh. Having 2 lakh ruppees allows u to live a very good middle class life in pakistan if u dont have a family.

In India now a lot of upscale retirement communities have popped up in the major cities. A middle class person in America can live a luxurious life in some of these places for way way less. You get house help, a grade desi food, movie theater, ambulance, dr/nurse on site etc. It’s happening at a much more large scale than people think. There are many such in Bengaluru, Pune, Hyderabad, I know some older NRI’s from friends and family already in such places living a great life. Too early for me to plan but I have visited a couple of these and won’t be a bad plan to shift post retirement

Its difficult for those who grew up in the west to live in a different continent. The natural food in Pakistan is superb, among the freshest , most organic and best tasting in the world. But the confectionaries are terrible, although I was drinking the energy drink Sting daily. Pollution is a big issue in the cities and will only get worse , causing various diseases.
Food is unbeatable in Pakistan no doubt. Plus the hospitality of people. Sadly it's not enough

A lot of people in the UK - I am talking about elder generations are a bit more shielded from the anti-immigrant atmosphere. It is not as big a motivator for them as it is for my generation who are worried about what type of country their kids will grow up in. I think as my generation ages, it will be a become more common for Pakistanis here.

The numbers are low, I shared the image because even if we accept the numbers are flawed ,India and Pakistan is still a relatively cheap place to retire.

$2- $2.5 milli is big money. You could retire comfortably in the UK with that amount, no need to move anywhere!
Perhaps we're talking about different kinds of people. Most of my school/college friends are those who moved after their graduation, some after post graduation and some even later...say early 30s. They're all reasonably successful - ranging from middle managers to senior management. They all have pretty strong ties with India - parents, in some cases siblings and of course wider family and friends.

For the kind of lifestyles they envisage in India, I think you would need at least 20 Crores in Indian money - upwards of US $2M. Of course there's room to live cheaper - millions do but I think most who've lived abroad would find it difficult to adjust to that kind of life.

If you're middle to lower middle class, I would say life abroad...even a tough life is better in retirement - more dignity, more facilities, more of a social safety net if things go wrong.

Only if you've done relatively well and have substantial savings would life in India compare. I assume it would be similar or worse in Pakistan.

@emranabbas i like Pakistan and i enjoy watching videos by foreigners visiting Pakistan. The food and hospitality is amazing. It's much much safer than India for sure. Sadly Karachi where I am is not a livable city anymore. My family here lives in a very posh area (DHA) but it doesn't feel safe. People here are always telling me to be careful when I go out. If you've never been to Karachi, you probably can't imagine it but it seriously has gone downhill since my last visit years ago.

Wrong thread. You never left Bihar so no issue of going back. We will start a new thread, those who couldnt get out of India, which country would you like to illegally travel too?
:sachin

So let me answer it.

No. of days Imran Khan (not corrupt) was Prime Minister = 1,332
No. of those days KingKhanWC lived in Pakistan = 0

The price of chanting "God Save the King/Queen!" = Priceless.

For everything else, there's Mastercard.

also I'm going to be ignoring posts from Major and emranabba from now on. Replying to the same repatitive BS is boring and waste of time.

Overseas pakistanis are like the indian lot. They think pakistan is this one giant place and dont have a clue how each province is different. Notice how non of them wana talk about kpk lol
if some Indian is from South part of India he will prefer Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Chennai which are big cities. Kerala NRI’s usually shift to country side in Kerala for nature beauty etc or the 3 big cities I mentioned.

People from West will prefer Mumbai, Pune, Ahemadabad, Baroda

People from east Kolkatta

People from North will prefer Delhi or Punjabis will live a luxurious life in their village.

It is very diverse. Sometimes people can settle in other big cities out of their region too as some of these cities are huge cosmopolitan cities.

Pardon my ignorance but apart from Lahore. Karachi and Islamabad- what options do? Pakistanis have where they can get all facilities like easy access to hospitals etc especially if you are old and retired?

Not taking a dig but feel there is no equivalence.

@emranabbas i like Pakistan and i enjoy watching videos by foreigners visiting Pakistan. The food and hospitality is amazing. It's much much safer than India for sure. Sadly Karachi where I am is not a livable city anymore. My family here lives in a very posh area (DHA) but it doesn't feel safe. People here are always telling me to be careful when I go out. If you've never been to Karachi, you probably can't imagine it but it seriously has gone downhill since my last visit years ago.

Karachi itself can be a bit dangerous due to gun crime but thats not whole of pakistan, but if you keep to yourself, there’s usually no issue. I normally move around on my own or with onefriends, confidently. but I don’t dress flashy or act like a badman or ultra rich just because im from uk the way some UK guys do.

Places like Port Grand are great there are restaurants with sea views, and overall there’s plenty to do in Karachi. try bahria town too.

if some Indian is from South part of India he will prefer Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Chennai which are big cities. Kerala NRI’s usually shift to country side in Kerala for nature beauty etc or the 3 big cities I mentioned.

People from West will prefer Mumbai, Pune, Ahemadabad, Baroda

People from east Kolkatta

People from North will prefer Delhi or Punjabis will live a luxurious life in their village.

It is very diverse. Sometimes people can settle in other big cities out of their region too as some of these cities are huge cosmopolitan cities.

Pardon my ignorance but apart from Lahore. Karachi and Islamabad- what options do? Pakistanis have where they can get all facilities like easy access to hospitals etc especially if you are old and retired?

Not taking a dig but feel there is no equivalence.
Rawalpindi, Gujranwala, Sialkot, Multan, Faisalabad, Mianwali

I like how u didnt mention any KPK cities LOL

Bro I am not a super expert on Pak cities or have never claimed, I don’t know any big cosmopolitan cities in KPK. I only mentioned the 3 big cities I know in Pakistan; while I heard these names you mentioned, I didn’t take them for big cosmopolitan cities with all facilities like
Medical etc .

Bro I am not a super expert on Pak cities or have never claimed, I don’t know any big cosmopolitan cities in KPK. I only mentioned the 3 big cities I know in Pakistan; while I heard these names you mentioned, I didn’t take them for big cosmopolitan cities with all facilities like
Medical etc .
na dont worry, kpk has none. Its a failiure of a province. Maybe Peshawar is abit decent, but the rest is dump.

The cities i mentioned are mostly punjab. PMLN has provided great facilities to people of punjab

na dont worry, kpk has none. Its a failiure of a province. Maybe Peshawar is abit decent, but the rest is dump.

The cities i mentioned are mostly punjab. PMLN has provided great facilities to people of punjab
I have to agree with this. Given the amount of hate PMLN gets, they are the only party to have done anything of note in Pakistan although limited to only one province.

tbf these are all tier two cities.

Pindi guys will go to Islamabad for higher standards.

Punjab will deviate to Lahore.

Unlike Indian cities, we only have 3-4, and then a gap, and the rest comes in.

I think his overall assessment is correct.

There is no truly organic food in the subcontinent or even in the West. Most crops are grown using heavy amounts of ammonia and urea to increase production, and on top of that, highly toxic chemicals are sprayed. Vegetables, fruits, chicken, everything is affected unless you grow them at home.

Subcontinent has different issues, and Western countries have a different set of issues.
In the West, around 99% of food is processed. There is almost no concept of fresh food, you can’t get fresh vegetables, fresh milk, fish, chicken, or mutton. Most of it is either frozen or mixed with preservatives, and people drink Coke and Coffee like water.

In the subcontinent, you can get very fresh Milk, Fish, chicken, mutton, vegetables, and fruits, but the problem is the lack of proper standards and checks on the use of chemicals and pesticides.

There is no truly organic food in the subcontinent or even in the West. Most crops are grown using heavy amounts of ammonia and urea to increase production, and on top of that, highly toxic chemicals are sprayed. Vegetables, fruits, chicken, everything is affected unless you grow them at home. Basically.

Subcontinent has different issues, and Western countries have a different set of issues.
In the West, around 99% of food is processed. There is almost no concept of fresh food, you can’t get fresh vegetables, fresh milk, fish, chicken, or mutton. Most of it is either frozen or mixed with preservatives, and people drink Coke and Coffee like water.

In the subcontinent, you can get very fresh Milk, Fish, chicken, mutton, vegetables, and fruits, but the problem is the lack of proper standards and checks on the use of chemicals and pesticides.

Fair point. However I buy my food mainly from local village farms. They use the old school cow manure with only limited chemicals. For eg, all fruits I eat in Pakistan are from my families own orchard. These are way healthier than the foods in the west, which are full of chemicals as you point out.

I have to agree with this. Given the amount of hate PMLN gets, they are the only party to have done anything of note in Pakistan although limited to only one province.
Punjab is politically very neutral.

Whoever climbs to the top, public naturally follows, institutions natrually fall in line, lower level politicians quickly come in line too, all the way down to village level.

N League is able to work quite well in Punjab because local network of politicians mainly arian, rajput and butt can give them support. But their support isn;t depending on particular party. PTI was also well respected in Punjab, because they also used this network, even teaming up with Q in the end.

Imran voluntarily walking away from this ended up being suicidal. He could have resisted the centre from here.

As an overseas if you have established roots particularly within those castes, you won't have any worries of being mistreated due to corruption or law and order.

The research is about if one was earning a pension in USA, where would he live comfortably.

Baically for example if you were getting 1200 usd pension in usa, might be difficult to live on that amount in USA, but if you live in Pakistan and converted that money, one could live comfortably here as that would mean have 3.3 lakh rupees. Make it 2000 usd and u r close to 6lakh. Having 2 lakh ruppees allows u to live a very good middle class life in pakistan if u dont have a family.
Right, but there is a lot more to it than just day to day expenses.

If you are retiring means you are older and probably need secure and affordable healthcare. Is there any such thing available in pakistan within that 1200 USD pension so to speak? and I am not even sure how that monthly $1200 pension translates to 158k lifetime., does not make sense.

tbf these are all tier two cities.

Pindi guys will go to Islamabad for higher standards.

Punjab will deviate to Lahore.

Unlike Indian cities, we only have 3-4, and then a gap, and the rest comes in.

I think his overall assessment is correct.
Naa, multan and faisalabad dont get alot of attention, but those are some very good cities that have some great development taken place.

Gujranwala has a very large business community that lives there and pmln is focussing on it alot now.

Rawalpindi and Islamabad are twin cities, like delhi and gurgaon in india. Well true about pindi but the map is such that sometimes you dont know if you are in pindi or islamabad

But yeh, we dont have as many big cities as india.

Right, but there is a lot more to it than just day to day expenses.

If you are retiring means you are older and probably need secure and affordable healthcare. Is there any such thing available in pakistan within that 1200 USD pension so to speak? and I am not even sure how that monthly $1200 pension translates to 158k lifetime., does not make sense.
Im not really sure how much pensions are in USA, was just giving a rough figure as i know from UK that get a pension that equats to 4 lakh pakistani.

Yeh you are right, for an old guy there is alot more to the expenses of an old person. But incomparison to USA not as high. Yes cancer treatment or something terminal can be expensive but someone who gets 2 lakh pkr in pension can afford the healthcare. 2 lakh makes you upper middle class

In India, many state governments provide free health insurance and cover most hospital networks. The central government also provides insurance coverage of up to ₹5 lakh. In some states, dialysis patients are also covered.

Still, taking extra insurance is always safe, many people are taking family insurance plans.

One of the benefits of living in Pakistan is that you know even the fruits from villiages have chemicals used on them for ripening them quicker....

Benefit of being a pakistani and living in pakistan is that you know where food comes from better rather than pretend as someone who eats organic but not have an idea how its ripened

One of the benefits of living in Pakistan is that you know even the fruits from villiages have chemicals used on them for ripening them quicker....

Benefit of being a pakistani and living in pakistan is that you know where food comes from better rather than pretend as someone who eats organic but not have an idea how its ripened
The same thing happens in India, food adulteration is everywhere. Even milk and ghee are adulterated unless you buy them from authorized dealers.

To be fair, chemicals need to be used to meet the high demand. Our mangoes and bananas cannot be ripened until those chemical packs are not added.

Milk has to be pasteurized to kill bacteria, plus to increase its shelf life. Or else, unpasturized milk barely lasts 2 or 3 days

I will retire and go to Pakistan as a spy. Hopefully all these years spending time at PP would have trained me enough to seamlessly integrate. Retired Deadly bhai might even have a chai with me near Lyari and not even know he met a true Sanatani.

Pakistan is not "home" for me so would not consider it except as a last option.

As everyone knows I am a Brit and my culture is British, which is why I can spot the head nodders from India a mile off.

no-yes.gif

I will retire and go to Pakistan as a spy. Hopefully all these years spending time at PP would have trained me enough to seamlessly integrate. Retired Deadly bhai might even have a chai with me near Lyari and not even know he met a true Sanatani.
Brother I am not as successful as you, Red-Indian or BreadPakoda but I am doing well enough to be nowhere near Lyari when i retire

Pakistan is not "home" for me so would not consider it except as a last option.

As everyone knows I am a Brit and my culture is British, which is why I can spot the head nodders from India a mile off.
Who is this everyone? Has any English people said that to you?

I will be very surprised if that happen to be the case. Ever read that Swan and the Crow story in primary school?

Absolutely welcome, my friend. Enjoy our legendary hospitality and excellent tea. As a bonus, there’s a vacant cell right next to Kulbhushan Jadhav, ideal if you’re planning to build a tight-knit Indian community.

I do enjoy my rare visits there to be fair, I just couldn't really live anywhere long term where the locals would always be ahead of the game.

Fair enough. I've only ever been once with me Parents about 15 years back. Funny enough, me mum and us siblings enjoyed it. Dad being Pakistani decent was the one complaining!

Wont mind going again on them tour Guides. Some People places in Pakistan

Why keep a Pakistani passport when you’re a so called Brit and follow Brit culture? Lol, the desperation and hypocrisy of some British Pakistanis is quite amusing. They seem to be going through a serious existential crisis:ROFLMAO:

By the way, what exactly do you mean by “Brit culture” that you guys claim to be following? :D

Who is this everyone? Has any English people said that to you?

I will be very surprised if that happen to be the case. Ever read that Swan and the Crow story in primary school?
He is the most desperate person, constantly trying to prove and remind people, “I am Brit, I am Brit.. blah blah