Overseas Desi's - Would you consider retirement "back home"?

Would be nice to know when these ‘patriots’ last visited Pakistan. One admits it was 15 years ago, yet talks like an authority after binge-listening to Imran Riaz and Shahbaz Gill. Definitely deserves its own thread.:ROFLMAO:

Why keep a Pakistani passport when you’re a so called Brit and follow Brit culture? Lol, the desperation and hypocrisy of some British Pakistanis is quite amusing. They seem to be going through a serious existential crisis:ROFLMAO:

By the way, what exactly do you mean by “Brit culture” that you guys claim to be following? :D

Don't shoot the messenger bhai, this is made by British Indians.

It's instructive that you see white Brits as swans and non-whites as crows. This is why I always remind you of your British Raj mentality, you still wear it unwittingly today, as do most head nodders.
Okay but you said 'As everyone knows I am a Brit and my culture is British'. As funny as it sounds, I want to give you a benefit of doubt and want to give an opportunity to explain us who are these people? Has any English person said the same to you? Not doubting you but just asking.

Based on your posting style here, everyone considers you as a patriotic Pakistani and defender of Islam. Not that it is a bad thing in anyway. But if this is only your online persona and in outside world you are different that is very impressive dude.

So what are the things you do in your British Culture?

Why keep a Pakistani passport when you’re a so called Brit and follow Brit culture? Lol, the desperation and hypocrisy of some British Pakistanis is quite amusing. They seem to be going through a serious existential crisis:ROFLMAO:

By the way, what exactly do you mean by “Brit culture” that you guys claim to be following? :D

There’s no clear or single thing you can point to as “British culture.” Even if you asked a hardcore Tommy Robinson type Brit to define it, they’d struggle to give a proper answer.

Okay but you said 'As everyone knows I am a Brit and my culture is British'. As funny as it sounds, I want to give you a benefit of doubt and want to give an opportunity to explain us who are these people? Has any English person said the same to you? Not doubting you but just asking.

Based on your posting style here, everyone considers you as a patriotic Pakistani and defender of Islam. Not that it is a bad thing in anyway. But if this is only your online persona and in outside world you are different that is very impressive dude.

So what are the things you do in your British Culture?

Talk to head nodders like inferior beings. Which to be fair, you allude to yourself.

On a side note we never totally integrated into British culture but developed our own British Asian culture.. In the 90s and 00s, there was a uniquely British Asian culture. There was not so much immigration, we existed in our own bubble, a mix of bhangra and hip-hop, our own slang and fashion sense, still within conservative cultures across Pakistanis and Indians, carefully straddling both worlds.

Those were the good old days man but even that Brit culture seems gone.

Talk to head nodders like inferior beings. Which to be fair, you allude to yourself.
Head nodding is not a sign of inferiority, it’s a common mannerism and a way of indicating understanding in the subcontinent. Don’t you watch Pakistani cricketers responding in presentations and events, nodding as they speak?
You come from the same background and share the same ancestry, so don’t try to act superior or pretend you’re something else.

On a side note we never totally integrated into British culture but developed our own British Asian culture.. In the 90s and 00s, there was a uniquely British Asian culture. There was not so much immigration, we existed in our own bubble, a mix of bhangra and hip-hop, our own slang and fashion sense, still within conservative cultures across Pakistanis and Indians, carefully straddling both worlds.

Yes. This was the case in Canada too.

I came to Canada in 2005. From 2005 till 2019, Canada felt like Canada. We had a unique desi culture in Canada. There was less fraud and low crime.

All of that have changed in the last 5-6 years. Many fraudsters, illegals, and criminals have found a way and they messed up Canada. Anyway, Canada is starting to crack down now which is good.

the RDB days :ROFLMAO:

Head nodding is not a sign of inferiority, it’s a common mannerism and a way of indicating understanding in the subcontinent. Don’t you watch Pakistani cricketers responding in presentations and events, nodding as they speak?
You come from the same background and share the same ancestry, so don’t try to act superior or pretend you’re something else.

I didn't say it was inferior, but in British culture it is considered somewhat comical.

Would be nice to know when these ‘patriots’ last visited Pakistan. One admits it was 15 years ago, yet talks like an authority after binge-listening to Imran Riaz and Shahbaz Gill. Definitely deserves its own thread.:ROFLMAO:

My affiliation is with UK. My father is of Pakistani decent. My mother certainly isn't! Hence UK is home to me.

Excellent thread! Thank you @DeadlyVenom for starting this. I find the numbers a little too low, how did they come up with these and are these verifiable numbers for retirement amounts?

I cannot see myself or my family ever living in Pakistan. US is home for us for good or bad (more bad under the current circumstances). I was born in the US and spent most of my time here except for spending a few years of my childhood in Lahore. We have family in Lahore and Karachi. My parents, uncles are all in the US, our kids are growing up in the US. My career (private equity) also has scope only in the US, PE in Pakistan is at nascent stages. I have an Ivy league MBA and I have no issues with my career in the US or any western country. In Pakistan I would feel the locals have an edge against me because you generally need a "short cut" mindset in most developing countries, this is something I do not have. In our family the prior generations (parents, uncles aunts) mostly came to the US in their early-mid 20s. Our generation (wife, myself, our cousins) were all born and grew up in the US. We are spread across NY, GA, FL, and CA, family members own multiple businesses and two of my cousins are in local govt posts - effectively strong roots here in the US.

Pakistani Americans (who are born in the US) in general are Americans first but also feel strongly tied to our Pakistani (South Asian) culture. At least here in the US we look down with contempt on the Pakistani Americans who say they are not Pakistanis but Americans even in a cultural/historical context. Usually the people who do that here either have no other accomplishment in life except the genetic lottery of being born in the US or they are the white washed Indian American equivalents like Bobby Jindal or Nikki "Namrata" Haley. Either way we consider that a loser behavior.

At least you can see a lot of returnees in India, as people are getting attractive IT salaries.
You also see British Pakistanis talking about returning to Pakistan, but you won’t find many from Bangladesh.
The country is literally like a garbage pile, water is polluted with textile waste chemicals. For what reason would people plan to come back?

I am not surprised by your decision. You should be thankful to Western countries forever.

Bangladesh seems an absolute hell hole compared to other South Asian countries in all reasonable metrics of quality of life. I believe they have the highest population density resulting in too many people competing for few resources in a small space. High corruption (even by south Asian standards), pollution, unclean. Pretty much every video or photo I have seen of that country seem repulsive and I feel bad for the people stuck there.

Every other South Asian country (Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Maldives) will have some avenue for a reasonable quality of life for expats but not Bangladesh. Only South Asian country Bangladesh can beat for expats is Afghanistan and that too due to political turmoil. If not for that even Afghanistan will edge out Bangladesh. IMO Bangladesh is the unfortunate arm pit of South Asia, the objectively worst country for a South Asian expat to return to.

Bangladesh seems an absolute hell hole compared to other South Asian countries in all reasonable metrics of quality of life. I believe they have the highest population density resulting in too many people competing for few resources in a small space. High corruption (even by south Asian standards), pollution, unclean. Pretty much every video or photo I have seen of that country seem repulsive and I feel bad for the people stuck there.

Every other South Asian country (Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Maldives) will have some avenue for a reasonable quality of life for expats but not Bangladesh. Only South Asian country Bangladesh can beat for expats is Afghanistan and that too due to political turmoil. If not for that even Afghanistan will edge out Bangladesh. IMO Bangladesh is the unfortunate arm pit of South Asia, the objectively worst country for a South Asian expat to return to.

Preach! I've been to Bangladesh once in 2011 - I thought there would be a difference but not a giant one (eg: India vs Sri Lanka, India vs Nepal etc.) but holy moly! How do people live there? And this is coming from an Indian.

Would you happen to fall in the category where you are "as out of place in a pub in London as you are in a gymkhana in Lahore"?

There was a time, I practiced the typical British culture as one would, and one who was Brought up in a typical British/ English household.

As for the Gymkhana, dont have a clue what your referring to!

Im not really sure how much pensions are in USA, was just giving a rough figure as i know from UK that get a pension that equats to 4 lakh pakistani.

Yeh you are right, for an old guy there is alot more to the expenses of an old person. But incomparison to USA not as high. Yes cancer treatment or something terminal can be expensive but someone who gets 2 lakh pkr in pension can afford the healthcare. 2 lakh makes you upper middle class
Healthcare is expensive in Pakistan and USA if you dont have the right plan. Once you retire of old age, you get medicare in the USA which covers most of your needs. As a retiree moving to Pakistan, is there any health plan that senior citizens can take advantage of? what if you have not lived or paid taxes in Pakistan, are you still covered?

@aboveandbeyond is half-white and half-Pakistani. He is not a full desi.

Don't try to project your paindoo thought process onto others. Rest of the world is not like where you live. :inti

Oh give it a rest - you don't even know if my statement is a compliment or a jibe for starters.

And please don't use Hindi when you talk/type.

Healthcare is expensive in Pakistan and USA if you dont have the right plan. Once you retire of old age, you get medicare in the USA which covers most of your needs. As a retiree moving to Pakistan, is there any health plan that senior citizens can take advantage of? what if you have not lived or paid taxes in Pakistan, are you still covered?
Not being a tax payer doenst matter.

I am not really well versed on senior citizen healthcare in Pakistan. Infact, we dont really know of any such thing. Outpatient treatment is affordable along with the meds if you are making above 3 lakh. But if their is something terminal, than yeh that can get costly

As for insurance, i am 31 years old. I havent really bought health insurance for myself as insurance companies and their policy sellers are abit sketchy. Like i dont trust they would do a proper pay out if i needed to claim.

Still i will study into this, and might buy a health insurance policy next year, lets see

Excellent thread! Thank you @DeadlyVenom for starting this. I find the numbers a little too low, how did they come up with these and are these verifiable numbers for retirement amounts?

I cannot see myself or my family ever living in Pakistan. US is home for us for good or bad (more bad under the current circumstances). I was born in the US and spent most of my time here except for spending a few years of my childhood in Lahore. We have family in Lahore and Karachi. My parents, uncles are all in the US, our kids are growing up in the US. My career (private equity) also has scope only in the US, PE in Pakistan is at nascent stages. I have an Ivy league MBA and I have no issues with my career in the US or any western country. In Pakistan I would feel the locals have an edge against me because you generally need a "short cut" mindset in most developing countries, this is something I do not have. In our family the prior generations (parents, uncles aunts) mostly came to the US in their early-mid 20s. Our generation (wife, myself, our cousins) were all born and grew up in the US. We are spread across NY, GA, FL, and CA, family members own multiple businesses and two of my cousins are in local govt posts - effectively strong roots here in the US.

Pakistani Americans (who are born in the US) in general are Americans first but also feel strongly tied to our Pakistani (South Asian) culture. At least here in the US we look down with contempt on the Pakistani Americans who say they are not Pakistanis but Americans even in a cultural/historical context. Usually the people who do that here either have no other accomplishment in life except the genetic lottery of being born in the US or they are the white washed Indian American equivalents like Bobby Jindal or Nikki "Namrata" Haley. Either way we consider that a loser behavior.
It is easier to have multiple identities in America it seems like most Americans like to trace their lineage back to some home country no matter how distant it is.

American Pakistani community in general manages to straddle both identities a bit better than we do here, mainly due to the nature of America itself, but also because rthe migrants have been less conservative.

It is interesting that despite your strong connection to Pakistan as an intangible idea you don't have a connection to the place itself.

It reminds me of the scene in sopranos when paulie and others who are staunchly Italian in America, go to Italy and dislike the food and hygiene and can't wait to go home ( I know what you are saying isn't as extreme as that, but it brought back memories of those scenes).

Preach! I've been to Bangladesh once in 2011 - I thought there would be a difference but not a giant one (eg: India vs Sri Lanka, India vs Nepal etc.) but holy moly! How do people live there? And this is coming from an Indian.
Did you go for cricket or tourism?

Where did you go? Dhaka? Dhaka is crowded and full of big city problems.

Try to go to countryside. It is much better. Sylhet, Chittagong are good. :inti

If you don't want to come next time, that's fine too. Bangladesh should ban Indians. :inti

There are many happy travelers in Bangladesh. They post about it on YouTube. Here is one:

Where did you go? Dhaka? Dhaka is crowded and full of big city problems.

Try to go to countryside. It is much better. Sylhet, Chittagong are good. :inti

If you don't want to come next time, that's fine too. Bangladesh should ban Indians. :inti

There are many happy travelers in Bangladesh. They post about it on YouTube. Here is one:

I have lived in Bangladesh for 15 years and been living in Canada for 20 years. So, I have experienced both third world and first world.

For living, Bangladesh is not good. Very corrupt there just like India. But, if you want to visit once in a while, you should have a good time. Just don't be an annoying low-IQ sanghi like @Varun and you should enjoy. Check on YouTube for various travel vlogs; many travelers come to Bangladesh and they mostly say positive things.

Did you go for cricket or tourism?

Back then I was doing my undergrad - I went for a project to a campus called BUET.

I can't imagine going for a cricket match there haha, even travelling 2KM was soul sucking. It made Bangalore look like Switzerland.

As for the other option in your question - tourism - I think Bangladesh is probably in the bottom 5 nations in the world when it comes to tourism. The only tourists would be visiting friends and family who might hold different passports.

I don't think there is much to see.

I know quite a few that have moved back into the villages and love the laid back life style and actually being known when they leave their house. They tell me that here in the UK they dont get to socialise with anyone and every day is like the last. My Uncle moved back and spent most of the year in PK.

I will retire and go to Pakistan as a spy. Hopefully all these years spending time at PP would have trained me enough to seamlessly integrate. Retired Deadly bhai might even have a chai with me near Lyari and not even know he met a true Sanatani.
Do u think dv bhai is rahman from lyari?he may be the bad shah of Lahore.He may never grant u his audience.😀

It is easier to have multiple identities in America it seems like most Americans like to trace their lineage back to some home country no matter how distant it is.

American Pakistani community in general manages to straddle both identities a bit better than we do here, mainly due to the nature of America itself, but also because rthe migrants have been less conservative.

It is interesting that despite your strong connection to Pakistan as an intangible idea you don't have a connection to the place itself.

It reminds me of the scene in sopranos when paulie and others who are staunchly Italian in America, go to Italy and dislike the food and hygiene and can't wait to go home ( I know what you are saying isn't as extreme as that, but it brought back memories of those scenes).
I think it may be because the US is a country of immigrants and everyone here could be a hyphenated American. So it is not a zero sum game where you must be one or the other but that seems to be the case in old world EU and UK.

Once it is a zero sum game then people are forced to choose and they either go hard right where they become more virulent South Asian than the South Asians in South Asia themselves or they go a hard left where they are ashamed of their South Asian roots and say "I'm XYZ nationality and nothing else" while secretly enjoying a biryani and pakpassion at home. :D

You are correct that Pakistani Americans in general are less conservative and also more educated. This is true for South Asians in general in US versus UK. Because of this we look down on people (and consider them as losers) whose claim to fame is only being a citizen of US (or any western nation). You won a birth lottery ... big whoop! True community leaders who command respect here have accomplishments in life outside of just a birth lottery.

Connection to Pakistan - What I observed is that it is a connection to our cultural practices, family gatherings, wedding (and other rituals), food, music, history and not as much a physical connection to a foreign land (which we do hold in fondness and want the best for).

In America and Canada, everybody has immigrant root other than aboroginals/native Americans.

Whites are also immigrants. They came from Europe.

In Canada, we have this thing called "land acknowledgement". Many people acknowledge the land of the natives before they speak.

A land acknowledgement in Canada is a statement recognizing the Indigenous peoples (First Nations, Inuit, Métis) who have lived on and stewarded a specific territory, honoring their ongoing connection and acknowledging the history of colonialism as a step toward Reconciliation, often done at public gatherings by non-Indigenous people to show respect, awareness, and a commitment to learning and positive relationships.

What it is:

• A formal protocol acknowledging traditional territories.
  • A statement of gratitude to Indigenous peoples for their traditional stewardship.
  • A recognition of the land's history, treaties, and ongoing Indigenous presence.
  • A starting point for education and building relationships, not just a formality.
Why it's done:
  • To honor original inhabitants and demonstrate respect for Indigenous rights.
  • To learn the true history of the land and the impact of colonization.
  • To support the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action.
  • To foster a deeper understanding of one's place within that history.
Key aspects:
  • Who gives it: Ideally, by non-Indigenous people at events.
  • When: At the start of public events, meetings, or courses.
  • How: Verbally, visually (signs), or through actions like sharing food or music.
  • Meaningful acknowledgement: Should be personalized, specific to the location, and reflect genuine reflection and commitment to action, not just rote recitation.

As for the other option in your question - tourism - I think Bangladesh is probably in the bottom 5 nations in the world when it comes to tourism. The only tourists would be visiting friends and family who might hold different passports.

I don't think there is much to see.
Bangladesh is the worst in South Asia in all aspects. It is worse than India or Sri Lanka or Nepal or Pakistan in corruption, cleanliness, and general courtesies. You may see random one off positive Youtube videos that we can selectively find but overall it is a bad place, bad work culture, inefficient people resulting in corrupt inefficient economic system. You can see why BD is in the lowest rung within South Asia in all metrics. Sad part is that they seem to think too high of themselves living in delusions (zero self awareness about their appalling national quality).

My field of work (high end private equity) is traditionally white dominated. So many of us minorities try to give other minorities a chance to break into the field and I try to go out of my way to help other South Asians over 20+ years of my career. But consistently the guys from BD have given me the worst experience with no work ethics. Absolute disappointments!

I dont think i'll ever fully retire, i'll keep doing some work - even if its few hrs a day.

I'll return to India - take up 3 jobs , first job will be a journalist as you lot already now how great i am, no copying & pasting, i do believe i will kick start the india economy with my journalism.

2nd job, be a bus driver (electric bus), but im only gonna work for BYD, not for a indian company, ive exposed the indian bus companies here on pp

3rd Job will be a Pilot for the flying coffin brigade - gotta go out in style

What do you lot think - @Rajdeep @cricketjoshila @Champ_Pal @JaDed @Devadwal @uppercut @Theanonymousone @straighttalk @Vikram1989 @RexRex @Varun @Romali_rotti @Bhaijaan @rickroll @Cover Drive Six @sweep_shot

I dont think i'll ever fully retire, i'll keep doing some work - even if its few hrs a day.

I'll return to India - take up 3 jobs , first job will be a journalist as you lot already now how great i am, no copying & pasting, i do believe i will kick start the india economy with my journalism.

2nd job, be a bus driver (electric bus), but im only gonna work for BYD, not for a indian company, ive exposed the indian bus companies here on pp

3rd Job will be a Pilot for the flying coffin brigade - gotta go out in style

What do you lot think - @Rajdeep @cricketjoshila @Champ_Pal @JaDed @Devadwal @uppercut @Theanonymousone @straighttalk @Vikram1989 @RexRex @Varun @Romali_rotti @Bhaijaan @rickroll @Cover Drive Six @sweep_shot

LOL. Sounds like a plan.

3rd one cracked me up.

IAF = I Am Falling. :yk

I would love to retire in Pakistan. My dream is to spend most of the time in northern Pakistan. As people have already discussed, the corruption and chaos would never allow me to stay permanently in Pakistan.

I have watched many videos about retirement destinations. The destinations I have discussed with my wife are Malaysia and Oman. They have pretty good infrastructure, much cheaper living than USA.

Of course, it would not be as convenient - meaning Costco, Walmart, Sam's Club every few miles; the best customer service in the world for things we buy and return without much fuss; everything available with a click of a button..etc. There is NOT one country that would provide this convenience. However, I would trade that off for half the year at least traveling back and forth from USA. We can buy a property there and rent it out short term when not needed.

In short, I can't PERMANENTLY settle anywhere anymore. BUT, traveling half the time would be nice.

Out of curiosity, Cap, are you of mixed race (1 Caucasian parent, 1 Desi parent)?

No, majority of my family are still in Pakistan split between central Punjab and Rawalpindi. I could live there at a push, but would always feel like a foreigner...which I am, even though I am always welcomed there by the ultra hospitable Pakistani people. If anything I always feel a pang of shame because I, being a westerner am a reluctant host.

Cap, Were you born in the UK? Are both of your parents British? When was the last time you visited Pakistan?

Born and raised in the UK, both parents Pakistan origin. Was there a couple of years ago to attend a wedding and took an extra week after that to explore and had a great time.

Oh right, so you’re still a first-generation British then. I assumed you were proper proper British and a fully foreigner to Pakistan.

May never settle permanently back at home.As am a avid traveller , it doesn't make sense also to settle down back.i hope i can travel to a lots of places and cover most of the list.

Nah....Its in Aesop's Fables book. If you dont want to read it, a look into the mirror will also help.

:rabada2
The problem with that is when Kaptaan Saab looks in the mirror he sees a handsome Indian. But the last vestige of religion plus his parents' allegiance seeds clouds of doubt in his mind.

I reckon that's why he doesn't look in the mirror long and close enough :dhoni

No it wasn't. Who would bother going to watch those crybabies live anyway - be it in 2011 or 2025 or 2377.
I watched the T20 QF or knockout one - the one where Dhoni took off his gloves and ran out Fizz. There were some tigers, I mean literal tigers - men cosplaying - crying after that. Some of us went to shake their hands and kind of say it's ok. They wouldn't even look at us. They were literally beating their chests. It was so comical we had to hurry away so we could laugh in peace without being cruel.

Lots of jealousy from the cult here.

There is a higher probability of "Overseas Desis" moving back to Pakistan/Bangladesh, compared to limbo stateless cult moving back to cult India.

Rocking. . . .

The problem with that is when Kaptaan Saab looks in the mirror he sees a handsome Indian. But the last vestige of religion plus his parents' allegiance seeds clouds of doubt in his mind.

I reckon that's why he doesn't look in the mirror long and close enough :dhoni

Well you are right about one thing, there's probably far more chance of me looking in the mirror and seeing a handsome Indian than an actual Indian looking in the mirror and seeing one. :D