not bad :D

whose out ?

what is the score ?
how many overs ?

whose playing for pak ?

PlanetPakistan said:
Fawad is not in the team yaar!

ah dam wonder why? give others a chance i assume

in that case i hope shahid yousaf/raza/bazis do well! n also Wasim Khan!

oho i thought this was an ODI. but when i looked at Khalil figures 12overs i was like what the hell since when does a bowler is allow to have more than 10overs in ODI.

Hodge holds the key!
Remember a few months ago he scored a double 100 against the S African national team!

should be able to mop up the tail now..well watson can hit it though..

should get em below 250 though

In comes Haddin...he can be very dangerous if he gets going...need to get him early

oh man Misbah made a strange move to bring Wasim Khan back at this point because Watson is not as comfortable against the spinners and M Hafeez was bowling fairly well!

Over 56.3: Huge appeal for a caught behind from an attempted hook shot from Watson. Umpire doesn't move.

Pathan007 said:
man Irshaad is bowling crap

actually he has bowled a lot better in this spell. That's the good thing about 4 day games, you will always have a chance to bounce back! one day games IMO are a bit of a hit or miss

185/5.

Pakistani bowling not as on top of things as they ought to be. Hafeez and Rehman saving blushes.

The Aussies have been batting very poorly so far in this tournament. I really thought the Pakistani bowlers would be slightly more dominating...

Watson hitting a couple of 4's off Rehman and then is dropped at long off...

50 Partnership up between Haddin and Watson.

224/5.

End of the days play.

Aus A on 307/5. Dissapointing bowling by the Pakistani bowlers to let the Aussies of the hook, but at the same time, some tenacious batting by Haddin (68*) and Watson (72*), in a partnership of 141*.

Rehman definitely the best of the bowlers, with figures of 32 - 8 - 72 - 2.

Things could have been better if not for that dropped catch. Ifs and buts...and the game of cricket.

Khalil should now be booking his place for the England squad :)

fast bowlers are all bowling crap
Irshaad crap
wasim khan crap
mohammad khalil crap

Didn't even know this was going on! Thanks a lot for the updates Planet Pak, and congrats to Khalil on his hint of success. Good bowling by Abdul Rehman also, Shane Watson looking to kill right now 110 off 171!

You are welcome X bhai!

Man our fast bowlers have really struggled! Atleast this isn't our full strength bowling attack! I reckon Niazi, Arafat,Roa and Nazir are all better than these 3!

Why was samiullah niazi not selected for the Pakistan A squad?

I mean he's been called up to the test team, you would think that he would have been selected for Pakistan A.

Should have played Mansoor Amjad!!! Aussies can't play a good leggie very well!

You guys have to admit that this is a very strong Aus A side.

Jaques
Cosgrove
Hodge
Watson
Haddin
Tait
Cullen

They have all played for the first eleven. Not surprsing really that they are hammering this 3rd string pakistan attack.

Agree with PlanetPakistan Niazi and Arafat should have been in this squad.

They have all played for the first eleven. Not surprsing really that they are hammering this 3rd string pakistan attack.

Why didnt they send their A side?.

Fish said:
Why didnt they send their A side?.
most of them are on stand by for the tour to england, since a lot of the main stream player's have broken down , shoaib akhtar, rana naveed, mohd Asif etc .

by the way it's only 2 whom are missing from the A team, mainly yasir Arafat and s.Niazi.

so dont know what is the big deal here guys ?

Salman_S said:
You guys have to admit that this is a very strong Aus A side.

Jaques
Cosgrove
Hodge
Watson
Haddin
Tait
Cullen

Agree with PlanetPakistan Niazi and Arafat should have been in this squad.

Yaar both Niazi and Arafat are in ENG!
Yasir is playing for Sussex

My point is that if Niazi and Arafat are the next in line for the pakistan bowling line up, why were they not selected for the A team. It would have been an excellent oppurtunity to see how they fair, especially considering how many test players there are in the Australian and Indian A teams.

For my understanding Niazi was in pakistan, so i do not understand why he was not selected for the A team, but then deemed good enough for a call up to the test team.

True in that Arafat is playing for Susex, but if he chose to rather play county then play for the A team, then he is just hindering his own chances in my opinion.

Salman_S said:
For my understanding Niazi was in pakistan, so i do not understand why he was not selected for the A team, but then deemed good enough for a call up to the test team.

I don't understand that either! I will ask Robert and will let you know!

Salman_S said:
My point is that if Niazi and Arafat are the next in line for the pakistan bowling line up, why were they not selected for the A team. It would have been an excellent oppurtunity to see how they fair, especially considering how many test players there are in the Australian and Indian A teams.

True in that Arafat is playing for Susex, but if he chose to rather play county then play for the A team, then he is just hindering his own chances in my opinion.

Australia have done the same thing, our nine best bowlers are:

McGrath
Warne
Lee
Gillespie
Magill
Bracken
Stuart Clark
Hogg
Kaspa

So really this is also Australias third string attack.

Fish said:

McGrath
Warne
Lee
Gillespie
Magill
Bracken
Stuart Clark
Hogg
Kaspa

So really this is also Australias third string attack.

It's not a question about "best" bowlers! There is no point in playing a 35 year old M Kasparowic or a 36 year old S Macgill in the A team or even established players like Bracken and Gillespie don't need to be in the A team but such tours are very helpful for youngsters like Niazi or Arafat so that's why we are a bit surprised that these 2 youngsters are not in the A team.

Irshad just continues to proove that he is nothing more than a mediocre bowler, it means one of the two things either Irshad has taken a nose dive ever since Farhad took that interview and Aquib saw Irshad or the future of fast bowling looks very bleak in Pakistan if Irshad is the fastest we had (the guy barely bowls at over 85 clicks) I have no idea what the management has against the likes of Najaf Shah who have proved that they are consistent wicket takers you either take the top performers from first class cricket (none of the three are) or blood in youngsters like Jamshed Ahmed, Akhtar Ayub (not a single game given to him) etc.

Seriously pakistan bowling is going down

They have to inject new talent in the A side especially in the bowling department ,how about our world cup winners U19 players
Specially
JAMSHED AHMED
ANWAR ALI
AKHTAR AYUB

Fish said:

McGrath
Warne
Lee
Gillespie
Magill
Bracken
Stuart Clark
Hogg
Kaspa

So really this is also Australian third string attack.

I wasn't saying that you select your first string attack for an A team, so you can count the big 4 of McGrath, Warne, Lee, Gillespie out. Other then that, you could say that they did select a 3rd strink attack. But on the other hand their batting line up is very strong.

But what Australia selects is irrelevant. My point was why did they call up a player who wasn't even selected for the A team, if he was really that good he should have been selected in the first place. It's not uncommon to call up players currently playing in A sides when the test team gets hit with injuries.

But anyway, i've had my little rant....hopefully Asif is fit and we won't even have to use Niazi or Nazir.

Nauman said:
Irshad just continues to proove that he is nothing more than a mediocre bowler, it means one of the two things either Irshad has taken a nose dive ever since Farhad took that interview and Aquib saw Irshad or the future of fast bowling looks very bleak in Pakistan if Irshad is the fastest we had (the guy barely bowls at over 85 clicks) I have no idea what the management has against the likes of Najaf Shah who have proved that they are consistent wicket takers you either take the top performers from first class cricket (none of the three are) or blood in youngsters like Jamshed Ahmed, Akhtar Ayub (not a single game given to him) etc.

Am wondering the same....

Niazi is also a rubbish one at current (nothing can say about future) because he can only take wicket when a batsman is trying to hit out or just give away wickets like first class players did ocassionally ,
The basic ingrediants of fast bowlers is
SPEED
SWING
SEAM
ACCURACY
STAMINA

and Niazi has only ACCURACY has in them (not Mcgrath like) and as far as Irshad is concerned he is got speed and stamina nothing more at that moment

Our future prospects been alllowed to play in county games instead of sending them with A team. Najaf Shah and Yasir Arafat should b in team and they should give chance to Ayub as well.

On other hand, good start by A team so far 52/0 at tea :)
Mohmand playing very nice yet again. Any one remember, this guy was selected for ODI against England but they didn't gave him any chance. IIRC, he is good feilder as well

muhammad saad said:
Niazi is also a rubbish one at current (nothing can say about future) because he can only take wicket when a batsman is trying to hit out or just give away wickets like first class players did ocassionally ,
The basic ingrediants of fast bowlers is
SPEED
SWING
SEAM
ACCURACY
STAMINA

and Niazi has only ACCURACY has in them (not Mcgrath like) and as far as Irshad is concerned he is got speed and stamina nothing more at that moment

Well Niazi was called up at the request of Inzi, who felt that a left armer would bring more variety to the bowling attack. So, he is either a decent prospect or it's Inzi playing favorites again as with Mushtaq Ahmed.

This also leaves me dumb founded that if Khalil, who is also a left armer, has fallen out of favor with the captain why was he selected and Niazi not.

Nauman said:

:))) :))) :))) :))) :))) :))) :)))

165/1 in 45 overs
Mohommad Hafeez 86*
Shahid Yousaf 30*

Good start for Pakistan with the bat,

pak A has a good batting line up and the back up seems to be good for the senior team. it is so unlike pakistan to be struggling in the bowling department.

Nauman said:

Question Date: 7/2/2006 2:43:09 PM
Question:

Hi Bob, You posted some answers to quesiotns about Najaf Shah? you mentioned his feilding needs plently of attention. I believe last time you saw (Najaf Shah) him in Namibia last year with Pakistan A, correct me if I'm wrong? His feliding has improved tremendously as well as bowling, still can't believe that you keep saying his feliding need attention. Trescothic was impressed with Najaf last year now they are considering Najaf for somerset next year. It will be shame if you keep ignoring him. He is great prospect for Pakistan. I don't know why people are being ignored who performs in domestic. Cheers

Answer Date: 7/6/2006 4:31:18 PM
Answer:

Thankyou for your comments and we have not forgotten Najav and hopefully his time will come.

bob

he cant even spell his name!

Bob is allowed typos ... I think its in his contract somewhere...

Hahafeez! Anyone seen S Yousuf bat?? I hear he is similiar to M Yousuf?

This is a very good innings Hafeez is playing. Aus A side, is no weak side; Tait, Haddin, Dorey all quality even though Tait is a bit inexperienced....

I've seen Shahid Yousaf bat.

Definetly a prospect for the future, reasonable big bat lift, and times the ball very sweetly.

Easatheman said:
I've seen Shahid Yousaf bat.

Definetly a prospect for the future, reasonable big bat lift, and times the ball very sweetly.

Cool..batsmen with high bat lift are usually stylish (Lara, Anwar, Yousuf)

Shaf said:
Cool..batsmen with high bat lift are usually stylish (Lara, Anwar, Yousuf)

Very stylish and a compact player.

Easatheman said:
Very stylish and a compact player.

How good is his feet movement because having seen our U-19 players of the recent past it seems our young batsmen dont move their feet an inch hence they are all suspect to being LBW and ofcourse fishing.

The wicket seems flat but one would expect our bowlers to at least bowl a tad economically than Wasim Khan and Irshad have. Both went at over 5.5 an over. Even Khalil managed to bowl tighter than them. Inshallah the rest of the batsmen can build on this solid start.