"Pakistan badly needs an experienced batsman so I'm ready to play as a specialist batsman" : K Akmal

ISLAMABAD - Test-discarded wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal believes he will stage strong comeback in the national team, like he did so many times in the past.

Talking to The Nation from New York, prior to landing in the West Indies to represent St Lucia Stars in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL), Kamran said: “I had to take flight to New York, as I didn’t have any other option. I will land in the West Indies on August 1 and the CPL will start from August 4. The training camp of my team is underway, but I am a bit late, anyhow, I will try to play major role in helping St Lucia Stars win the CPL.”

He said whenever he was given chance in the national team, he always proved his worth through willow or gloves. “I can understand, after winning the Champions Trophy, the selectors would like to retain the winning squad, but as long as Inzamam is a chief selector, I know deserving players will surely get chances. I am grateful to Inzamam and selectors for keeping faith in me and providing me with an opportunity to represent the country once again.

“I had fair chances of playing Test and T20 internationals, as I had proved in the past 5 years in domestic circuit that there is still at least 4 to 5 years cricket left in me. I can easily represent Pakistan in T20s, as I am the second highest scorer in domestic cricket. After retirements of Misbah-ul-Haq and Younus Khan, Pakistan team badly needs an experienced batsman in the middle or upfront so I am ready to play for country as a specialist batsman.

“The way the PCB gave respectable exit to Misbah and Younus, they must continue same treatment to other players, as we deserve better sending offs. When I feel my cricket is over, I will not wait for a second and quit,” he added.

Kamran said the selectors should keep one thing in mind that age is only numbers game and nothing else. “If Misbah and Younus could play for Pakistan at that age, then why not others. The only key to selection must be form and fitness, which I have proved time and again and will prove once again. I was not given fair chances, as if I was selected for tours like England and Australia, I could have shown my worth in the best possible fashion.

“Even in the West Indies, I didn’t perform too badly. Everybody is aware that West Indian pitches are very difficult to bat and keeping, because the ball keeps low, but I did my job satisfactorily both in front and behind the wickets. The next two three series are very important, so with back-to-back performances in the domestic and international events, I will stage strong comeback and try to play leading role in helping the team register crucial victories,” he added.

He praised Sarfraz Ahmed’s captaincy and termed Champions Trophy victory under him a great achievement of Pakistan team. “The Champions Trophy victory shows that despite being deprived of hosting international matches, Pakistan team is capable of doing wonders and the team will continue to perform well at international level,” Kaman concluded.

http://nation.com.pk/sports/30-Jul-2017/kamran-keen-to-stage-strong-comeback

the most shameless cricketer in pakistan cricket history. even as a specialist batsman with all the stars aligning for him this garbage batsman will average 30 at best yet he bigs himself up as if he is kohli.

If expletives were allowed on a forum, then perhaps Kamran Akmal would be the no 1 Pakistani cricketer justified to receive them.

My goodness. I'm speechless. Has this guy got no shame or dignity? He is virtually insisting that he is given a chance!!

Listen Akmal - you're finished. Please stop this nonsense. You embarrased the country on many occasions. Your behaviour has often been dubious several times. Pakistan has more worthy options i'm glad to say.

Thanks but no thanks. Kamran is no specialist batsman at all. He seems unable to accept that his career is over.

As much as I dislike Kamran as a wicket-keeper, I will say he is a decent batsmen who can bat aggressively. However, he is far too old now and his fielding is terrible. He has been given far too many opportunities. Plus, there is so much nonsense in this interview:

1. How many times does this guy want to contradict himself in one interview? On the one hand he says Inzi is a fair selector and says he gave him fair chances, but he then goes on to say he was not given fair opportunities. Make your mind up Kami!

As long as Inzamam is a chief selector, I know deserving players will surely get chances. I am grateful to Inzamam and selectors for keeping faith in me and providing me with an opportunity to represent the country once again.”

I had fair chances of playing Test and T20 internationals, as I had proved in the past 5 years in domestic circuit that there is still at least 4 to 5 years cricket left in me.

“I was not given fair chances, as if I was selected for tours like England and Australia, I could have shown my worth in the best possible fashion.”
2. The point about treating retiring players fairly is a good one, but why exactly does he feel he can equate himself to Misbah and Younis? He hasn’t achieved a 1/10 of what they have for Pakistan. That aside, he seems to have forgotten he is not in the national team anymore so why is he talking about being given a proper send-off? He needs to learn to take a hint.

3. Has he forgotten he was not keeping in the Windies tour? Even then, as an out-fielder how many catches did he drop in the Windies tour? How many misfields? Whose fault were they, Kami? Will you blame the pitch for those too? If that is what you consider a “satisfactory” fielding effort, I would love to hear how you would describe the debacle in Sydney.

“Even in the West Indies, I didn’t perform too badly. Everybody is aware that West Indian pitches are very difficult to bat and keeping, because the ball keeps low, but I did my job satisfactorily both in front and behind the wickets.

kamran statements have become a joke , he should leave all this now and preserve some self respect.

Another self-serving non-sense from the never ending pool of such sentences .... when will they get the message, probably .... never.

As much as I dislike Kamran as a wicket-keeper, I will say he is a decent batsmen who can bat aggressively. However, he is far too old now and his fielding is terrible. He has been given far too many opportunities. Plus, there is so much nonsense in this interview:

1. How many times does this guy want to contradict himself in one interview? On the one hand he says Inzi is a fair selector and says he gave him fair chances, but he then goes on to say he was not given fair opportunities. Make your mind up Kami!

As long as Inzamam is a chief selector, I know deserving players will surely get chances. I am grateful to Inzamam and selectors for keeping faith in me and providing me with an opportunity to represent the country once again.”

I had fair chances of playing Test and T20 internationals, as I had proved in the past 5 years in domestic circuit that there is still at least 4 to 5 years cricket left in me.

“I was not given fair chances, as if I was selected for tours like England and Australia, I could have shown my worth in the best possible fashion.”
2. The point about treating retiring players fairly is a good one, but why exactly does he feel he can equate himself to Misbah and Younis? He hasn’t achieved a 1/10 of what they have for Pakistan. That aside, he seems to have forgotten he is not in the national team anymore so why is he talking about being given a proper send-off? He needs to learn to take a hint.

3. Has he forgotten he was not keeping in the Windies tour? Even then, as an out-fielder how many catches did he drop in the Windies tour? How many misfields? Whose fault were they, Kami? Will you blame the pitch for those too? If that is what you consider a “satisfactory” fielding effort, I would love to hear how you would describe the debacle in Sydney.

“Even in the West Indies, I didn’t perform too badly. Everybody is aware that West Indian pitches are very difficult to bat and keeping, because the ball keeps low, but I did my job satisfactorily both in front and behind the wickets.

Sorry, can you clarify what you mean by 'decent batsman'.

It is evident Kami is as deluded as his fans. He and they have always looked back at his career and seen a talented, performing batsman held back by his keeping.

The truth is, he is the worst batsman ever to be given consistent chances in our history. I expect that if Faisal Iqbal and Shan Masood were given hundreds of international matches they would have done better than this guy.

That one innings against India (decent innings but extremely overrated) seems to have hurt us for a long time.

Add to that the rumours of fixing etc along with his constant statements 'I need three more chances, if I fail, I'll never complain again' *(fails, gets dropped and complains he wasn't treated fairly).

We can't really get rid of this Model Town Gang of 5, can we now ?? !!! :facepalm:

With how things are going, I wouldn't be surprised if Imran Farhat would somehow start claiming to make a successful comeback and truth be told if it ever came down between Farhat and any of the Akmals, I'd take Farhat in a heartbeat all day, everyday - That's how far I am willing to go to keep these Akmals away.

Sorry, can you clarify what you mean by 'decent batsman'.

It is evident Kami is as deluded as his fans. He and they have always looked back at his career and seen a talented, performing batsman held back by his keeping.

The truth is, he is the worst batsman ever to be given consistent chances in our history. I expect that if Faisal Iqbal and Shan Masood were given hundreds of international matches they would have done better than this guy.

That one innings against India (decent innings but extremely overrated) seems to have hurt us for a long time.

Add to that the rumours of fixing etc along with his constant statements 'I need three more chances, if I fail, I'll never complain again' *(fails, gets dropped and complains he wasn't treated fairly).

I suggest you re-read my post. I have never supported KA nor have I called for his inclusion (quite the opposite in fact).

I simply made a passing mention of his decent form in domestics/PSL, before going on to ridicule his interview.

Nothing to really hate in the interview. He is the best performing domestic batsman in Pakistan right about now and over the last few years, performing in all formats. If he wants to earn a recall, that's how he should be doing it, putting up the numbers.

If he'd done this 7 years ago, I'd be all up for his inclusion. Unfortunately we kept persisting with him despite his faults, never letting him improve in domestic. His international performance was below average for a wicketkeeper, not only gloves but with bat too, dunno why people get the idea he was a good batsman for a wicketkeeper, he was below par for one.

We're in the position where we have other options, he can't be afforded a long or even moderate time to readjust back to cricket anymore (as we saw one bad WI tour and he was out). Even if he performs, due to his age arguably has two years left in him so it's hard to justify his selection opposed to investing in others. Not only that, he has no secondary skill, obviously Sarfraz will keep, and Kamran is a bad fielder, no bowling, and fitness isn't great either (which it often needs to be to perform at the top level later into your career).

[MENTION=142670]mak36[/MENTION] said it all.

This man wasn't even keeping wickets in WI. Has he gone mad?

This guy just doesn't know when to give up. I really hope that he doesn't find a place in the team again.

Pakistan not only doesn't need a character like him in the team but also needs to invest in non TTF. Need to invest time in youngsters.

The fact that he doesn't know when to give up or stop with the excuses, you were playing as a specialist batsman in the series vs. the Windies and you failed.

We already have Hafeez and Shoaib as experienced batsmen. We clearly do not "badly" need one with youngsters like Fakhar and Babar performing.

We can't really get rid of this Model Town Gang of 5, can we now ?? !!! :facepalm:

With how things are going, I wouldn't be surprised if Imran Farhat would somehow start claiming to make a successful comeback and truth be told if it ever came down between Farhat and any of the Akmals, I'd take Farhat in a heartbeat all day, everyday - That's how far I am willing to go to keep these Akmals away.

They won't go away. :(

Seeing Butt next to Mickey in ongoing camp boils my blood.

Its beyond me how Kamran Akmal convincing so many people that he is a 'good batsman'

To be honest it was harsh to drop him after the west indies series. Scored a brisk 47 to set the tone as opener.

Anyone would be frustrated to miss out on champions trophy winning campaign.

Deserved better.

Nothing to really hate in the interview. He is the best performing domestic batsman in Pakistan right about now and over the last few years, performing in all formats. If he wants to earn a recall, that's how he should be doing it, putting up the numbers.

If he'd done this 7 years ago, I'd be all up for his inclusion. Unfortunately we kept persisting with him despite his faults, never letting him improve in domestic. His international performance was below average for a wicketkeeper, not only gloves but with bat too, dunno why people get the idea he was a good batsman for a wicketkeeper, he was below par for one.

We're in the position where we have other options, he can't be afforded a long or even moderate time to readjust back to cricket anymore (as we saw one bad WI tour and he was out). Even if he performs, due to his age arguably has two years left in him so it's hard to justify his selection opposed to investing in others. Not only that, he has no secondary skill, obviously Sarfraz will keep, and Kamran is a bad fielder, no bowling, and fitness isn't great either (which it often needs to be to perform at the top level later into your career).

It says that how poor is Pak domestic.

Time to give Harris Sohail, Fakhar Zaman, Sami Aslam and Sharjeel (if cleared) a long run before going back to any tried and failed players again. Time to remove Shoib Malik and may be Hafeez (from test & ODI) so new players can be ready before WC 2019.

This should never be an option. K.Akmal's career should be finished regardless of what happens to Pakistan cricket in future.

Maaf kar de bhai ab hamay,15 saal hogaye hain.

His batting has been nothing special as we could see in his 7 innings in the West Indies.Never mind that he is a terrible fielder.

Kya hi baat hai

We should not let go of this ehsaan by Legend Kami

To be honest it was harsh to drop him after the west indies series. Scored a brisk 47 to set the tone as opener.

Deserved better.

He average friggin 23 for that series is that good enough and less said about his fitness and fielding the better. He and his fans are equally shameless.

“The way the PCB gave respectable exit to Misbah and Younus, they must continue same treatment to other players, as we deserve better sending offs. When I feel my cricket is over, I will not wait for a second and quit,” he added.
The only send off you deserve is for you to be pelted with tomatoes through Lahore city centre.

You had your "final three chances" and failed miserably.

Deserved better.

And the several catches he dropped and misfields he did; don't you think he caused more harm in that tour with his fielding alone despite not being a keeper?

Why we have to go back to someone in the name of experience who in Tests (since he so badly wants to replace Misbah and YK):

- Has a 30 average and which is inflated by a few big scores and even then mostly on dead or slow pitches

This is what he averages against stonger teams: SA, Australia, England, and NZ (Home or Neutral)

Career averages
Span Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0 4s 6s
unfiltered 2002-2010 53 92 6 2648 158* 30.79 4196 63.10 6 12 14 372 14 Profile
filtered 2002-2010 22 42 2 785 82 19.62 1297 60.52 0 5 10 118 6

Even when taken in to acct the matches he played against any of the top 4 teams in Pakistan, his average still lags behind the world conquering 30.79 by a few:

filtered 2002-2010 27 51 2 1224 154 24.97 2040 60.00 1 7 10 166 6

Add to this mix, his world beating fielding skiils, he will be costing Pakistan 40-50 runs even when we take out any runs he will score

No Kami, Pakistan badly needs experienced batsmen who can also catch the ball with their hands and that rules you out for life.

pak needs an experienced batsman who can lose us a match all ready won like he did in sydney,,lolz..

He is trying to sell his case, which is fine - at least he has domestic stats to back his claim. It's true that he had been the batsman in PAK domestics for last few seasons - age shouldn't be an issue as long as MoHa keeps his place.

I think, I do agree with him partially on T20 - if he is fit, has a good chance to represent PAK in T20. Every country develops their WC squads by rotating players in prior 2/3 years - PAK played available best XI against ZIM, in 3rd ODI - at home, after 2-0. Ideally, next T20 WC is in 2020 - so, ideally barring Captain Sarfraz, anyone over 29 shouldn't be even called for 30 men camp - but, PAK'll pamper MoHa/Malik, so Kamran has a point indeed.

The Test one also has a merit - he is 36 (just - again there are recent example of 41 & 43) & last 3/4 years constantly has scored in FC. Now, PAK FC scores are the biggest misleading fact - which, obviously isn't the fault of someone scoring lot.

I don't think, unless there is a change in policy at domestic level, thing'll change. PAK domestic FC teams are easily the oldest around, when it comes to official average age of players and that has a cyclic effect - players make FC debut 1/2 years delayed, then carry drinks for 5/6 years - till they are almost 30, doesn't cement their spot in FC teams, by the time players in other country starts to retire, these players are now pillars of their FC teams - they return the complement to the next 23 years old player for 5/6 years ...... that vicious cycle continues & the national team is just a ripple effect of this system. In between, for 10-12 years Imran was there & he killed the cat on first night - his first call as captain was to drop his cousin & mentor, who was a liability at 38; so we got few exciting young players in next 2 decades; otherwise more or less PAK always had been the oldest team around and it'll be - one can take a look at the captains of FC teams/PSL franchise. Kamran is just trying to get something out of that rotten system.

ODI one is a bit over the moon though ........

Better to just laugh and not take his comments seriously.
The biggest mistake Pakistan made was not kicking him out after he cost us that match in Sydney 2009.

He is trying to sell his case, which is fine - at least he has domestic stats to back his claim. It's true that he had been the batsman in PAK domestics for last few seasons - age shouldn't be an issue as long as MoHa keeps his place.

I think, I do agree with him partially on T20 - if he is fit, has a good chance to represent PAK in T20. Every country develops their WC squads by rotating players in prior 2/3 years - PAK played available best XI against ZIM, in 3rd ODI - at home, after 2-0. Ideally, next T20 WC is in 2020 - so, ideally barring Captain Sarfraz, anyone over 29 shouldn't be even called for 30 men camp - but, PAK'll pamper MoHa/Malik, so Kamran has a point indeed.

The Test one also has a merit - he is 36 (just - again there are recent example of 41 & 43) & last 3/4 years constantly has scored in FC. Now, PAK FC scores are the biggest misleading fact - which, obviously isn't the fault of someone scoring lot.

I don't think, unless there is a change in policy at domestic level, thing'll change. PAK domestic FC teams are easily the oldest around, when it comes to official average age of players and that has a cyclic effect - players make FC debut 1/2 years delayed, then carry drinks for 5/6 years - till they are almost 30, doesn't cement their spot in FC teams, by the time players in other country starts to retire, these players are now pillars of their FC teams - they return the complement to the next 23 years old player for 5/6 years ...... that vicious cycle continues & the national team is just a ripple effect of this system. In between, for 10-12 years Imran was there & he killed the cat on first night - his first call as captain was to drop his cousin & mentor, who was a liability at 38; so we got few exciting young players in next 2 decades; otherwise more or less PAK always had been the oldest team around and it'll be - one can take a look at the captains of FC teams/PSL franchise. Kamran is just trying to get something out of that rotten system.

ODI one is a bit over the moon though ........

To be honest, i'm surprised by this post.

1. "Age shouldn't be an issue as long as MoHa keeps his place."- two wrongs don't make a right, why does Hafeez's inclusion justifies Kami having a place? The answer is it doesn't (before you say anything, my preference is that neither is in the team).

2. As you have said, t20 is a young man's game. Kamran was recently recalled to the Windies tour. Did you watch it? He did okay-ish with the bat but was terrible in the field. You might argue the shorter format means his fielding can be hidden (although I don't agree with that), but even so in tests there will be absolutely no hiding place.

3. I agree domestic numbers do matter, but the wider context is also important. Is the player nearing the end of his career and a TTF? Or is the player a 21 y/o who has yet to be tried at the international level? Even if the latter has a slightly lower average, I would still choose him. This applies to both t20s and tests.

As I said, given you generally support giving youngsters opportunities I am somewhat surprised at this post.

To be honest, i'm surprised by this post.

1. "Age shouldn't be an issue as long as MoHa keeps his place."- two wrongs don't make a right, why does Hafeez's inclusion justifies Kami having a place? The answer is it doesn't (before you say anything, my preference is that neither is in the team).

2. As you have said, t20 is a young man's game. Kamran was recently recalled to the Windies tour. Did you watch it? He did okay-ish with the bat but was terrible in the field. You might argue the shorter format means his fielding can be hidden (although I don't agree with that), but even so in tests there will be absolutely no hiding place.

3. I agree domestic numbers do matter, but the wider context is also important. Is the player nearing the end of his career and a TTF? Or is the player a 21 y/o who has yet to be tried at the international level? Even if the latter has a slightly lower average, I would still choose him. This applies to both t20s and tests.

As I said, given you generally support giving youngsters opportunities I am somewhat surprised at this post.

You are surprised because you failed to read between lines. I don't think, my post was to tell the obvious.

It's not generally, if I had the power, I would have brought down the average age to 25 level, if not 23, but that filter can't be applied for selective individuals. Two wrongs don't make it right, but as long as one wrong is there, everyone'll use that for own benifit, Kamran did just that.

They won't go away. :(

Seeing Butt next to Mickey in ongoing camp boils my blood.

No worries,When asked MICKEY about BUTT's return to test cricket after the PSL, he said he has enough things in the plate already than to add them back in..

make domestic cricket competitive, these old buds will vanish and get shattered... Very recently i have seen him play in the domestic where he struggled to make contact with ball to a half fit 7footer irfan's bowling and playing maidens nearly but thrashed other bowlers and scored a fifty at a SR of 120+

Only disturbing idea from his words is that - PAK needs "experience" batsman, not "capable" batsman.

No Kamran, what Pakistan truly needs is so called failed experienced players like yourself calling it a quits so that a deserving younger talent gets his chance to become experienced.

This sense of entitlement seems to run in the blood of the Akmals.

kamis delirious if he thinks at the age of 36, with a poor intnl batting record behind him and having been out of the team for the last 3-4yrs he can come in and replace the likes of younis and misbah 2 bonafide pakistan greats

Theres being optimistic then theres this

As I've said almost 6 years ago, I have never been against the selection of one player as I have been against Kamran Akmal. What a joker! The word shameless is not enough to describe his self-appreciation. You would have thought that by now he would just start focusing on doing the best he can and getting noticed on merit instead of making these kind of remarks in an interview -- but nope. Even if he doesn't drop a single catch and bats better than everyone else over 50 games -- I wouldn't select him simply because he has failed enough times when selected internationally. He's been given enough chances; it's time his international career is over.

Fair play to Kami lad. He's blessed with unmatched self-belief (some may say delusion). :salute