Pakistan Defence Day - 6th September 1965

Mashallah.

the newspaper front page is hair raising!! wow..imagine waking up the next morning to those headlines!!

To all the departed souls, RIP.

To all the children that will go hungry and remain uneducated whilst the arms race continues, my prayers are with you too.

12 replies...a thread on 'favorite Bollywood actresses' got...yep thats right 5 pages

Then again its nothing new it seems :|

My respect to all the brave men who fought for their motherland and sacrificed their life for it.

So how do you guys in Pakistan look at the 1965 war?

MashaAllah, great to go thorugh this thread and see all those videos. Really proud of all our brave soilders who defended the country against the enemy and still contuine to do so

12 replies...a thread on 'favorite Bollywood actresses' got...yep thats right 5 pages

Then again its nothing new it seems :|

Nothing new bro, some of these so called Pakistanis care more about Bollywood than they do about a great day like today

Syed Zaid Zaman Hamid

6th of September is now approaching ! It is defence of Pakistan day when a battle from the battles of Ghazwa e Hind was fought by tigers of Rasul Allah (sm)

This Australian News paper gives a vivid account of the humiliation of the enemy during that war. Read it well as it smashes the myths about that war.

Today, we need the same spirit, same Jazba, same leadership ! InshAllah Khair is coming for this Pak Sarzameen. Just hold your ground and stand firm !

1005491_539288412792641_825759070_n.jpg

Ah yes, it's that time of the year again where we celebrate our military's heroism in a war they started and then lost without even attempting to achieve their actual objective for starting the war in the first place.

1965 war is a loss in terms of resources, burden on weak economy and achievement of final objective. Army has also been wrongly using it in its propaganda.

Saying that some of the battles during the war are full of military strategy marvels, I think that repulsion of Indian tank strorm at Chwanda was a result of superior strategy than bit overrated Zhukov's defense of German offensive at Kursk.(Soviets were clearly outnumbering Germans in both Tanks and manpower by more than double.)

Ah yes, it's that time of the year again where we celebrate our military's heroism in a war they started and then lost without even attempting to achieve their actual objective for starting the war in the first place.

Please get your facts right.

Pakistan didnot attack India by crossing International borders. It was India who was thrown back when they invaded Pakistan.

Pakistan Army Official

Pak Army “Jawans” offering prayer on borders - 1965 War

1236838_143982769145422_1998509998_n.jpg

Kishangarh Fort…story of Pak Army soldiers valor & heroism

1240115_143800235830342_788925199_n.jpg

Pak Flag flying high at “Kishangarh” Indian Fort (captured on Ni 21/23 Sep 1965)

1176126_143982235812142_1505188431_n.jpg

Pak Army Junior Commissioned Officer (JCO) seizes “Indian Gun” – 1965 War

1004694_143521709191528_164726918_n.jpg

Pakistan’s flag flutters proudly over the famous Rajput Fort of Kishangarh in Rajasthan where Pak Army was in occupation of 1200 square miles of Indian Territory in 1965

999451_143518342525198_600671406_n.jpg

Khem Karn 1965

1235891_10202089613068917_1310603944_n.jpg

9892_142923602584672_290737556_n.jpg

Pak Army Officer in an Indian vehicle taken in custody at Chamb Sector - 1965

1150775_142923292584703_983993005_n.jpg

Indian Tank in Pakistan custody

1230003_142922092584823_653078818_n.jpg

Mona Bao sector – Weapons confiscated from Indians at display – 1965 War

14134_142921795918186_615814442_n.jpg

Pakistan Army Official

Pakistan Flag Flying at “Longanewala” (Indian post captured during 1965)

1238362_143981295812236_362423946_n.jpg

Self explanatory….1965

1231703_142021892674843_185951774_n.jpg

An over run Indian position during 1965 Indo Pak War

560843_142024046007961_1672253885_n.jpg

Syed Zaid Zaman Hamid [Official]

Let me share a small personal experience of the 1965 war !

In 1965, just before the war, my father Major Zaman Hamid was an artillery officer posted in Sialkot. Weeks before the actual war started on 6th September, tensions were high in Kashmir and some troops were already deployed along the working boundary near Sialkot though nobody expected an Indian attack on the city. While my dad was managing the artillery guns deployment, my mother would be alone in the house with my elder sister who was 5 years and me only a toddler at 1.5 years . Our faithful Cocker Spaniel dog Perdy would be the security guard while my mother keeping her .22 rifle loaded all the time in the house. Our house was also very close to the border and every night, my mom would be alone, staying awake all night, holding her two children and the rifle while the dog stayed guard outside the house. All officers and men had gone to the forward areas. In those days, there were blackouts too, so the entire region would be lonely, dark and very scary for a woman and her two kids. But Ammi, stayed on refusing to leave.

On 6th September when the full attack of the Indians came on Lahore and immediately afterwards on Sialkot also, which dangerously exposed our house to the Indian tanks, only then my mother abandoned the house and withdrew back to Pindi in an adventurous train ride which was constantly under threat of Indian air strikes.

All this time, my Dad was delivering hell through our own artillery guns on the advancing Indian tanks to prevent them from entering Sialkot. Abba Jan did not know where his family was and Ammi did not know if he was alive or not. But both stayed firm on their duties.

Then started the biggest tank battle in the world after second world war -- nearly 500 Indian tanks advanced with 50,000 troops on Sialkot but were pushed back and defeated by the defenders of Sialkot alhamdolillah. My father being one of the gunners who blasted the Indian attack and supported the ground troops through artillery fire. On the other front, Lahore was also being defended with equal ferocity by our tigers. Later, Indian army had to suffer huge humiliation in their own country for failing to capture Lahore and Sialkot!

Weeks later, after the war, when my mother came back to Sialkot with me and my sister, there were artillery guns placed all around our house, one even proudly dug in the main lawn as well

Even today, my mother proudly narrates the stories of that amazing war which the entire family witnessed from such a close range. History was repeated again in 1971 also when my father was again posted in Sialkot when the war started and the same saga started all over again -- war, enemy advance, family evacuation, defense of Sialkot..

Alhamdolillah, elders are still alive who have seen those times with their eyes and had seen how the nation gelled into a solid wall of steel to defend our faith, land and ideology. InshAllah, today and in future also, we vow to defend this medina e sani against all enemies, InshAllah.

Yaum e Difaa Mubarak ! Prepare yourself. It is your turn to defend Pakistan now.

1173728_540334222688060_1802607200_n.jpg

A piece written by Wajeeha imtiaz

Every year 6th Sep comes and every year my pride is my father is revived. My father was only a Punjab Univ. student at the time of 1965 war but no ordinary student he was!. Well i believe no Pakistani was ordinary at that time ... everyone played their part in that war... whether providing home prepared food for the jawans or singing songs to boost the morals of the army men!..
A group of 5-6 Punjab Univ. Fine-art students were asked to paint life size tanks! YES TANKS!!.. REALISTIC LIFE-SIZE TANKS on sheets of TAAT (floor matting usually used in madrisas ). My father was one of fine-art students who painted 12 life-sized very realistic paintings of tanks. These sheets of taat were stretched on the sides of 12 truck which had their silencers pulled out. As the night fell these trucks were moved from side to side at the Sulemanki Sec. making noise like real tanks. They seemed SO real in the light of dusk and dawn that the Indian army was scared away and later Khem Karan was captured by Pakistan army (which was later given back at the time of cease-fire ) Urdu Digest also published an article named "TAAT KAY TANK" praising the works of young students.
My Father later joined the army and even participated in the war of 1971. He served 29 years in the army and is now retired- Col (r) Imtiaz Ali.

Every body who insult the military should get out of Pakistan or join the military to see how many difficulties they are facing same for guys who live in other countries but can't respect the local military.Blame the politicians as much as you want but don't insult the military.

A day late but salute to all the the solider and officers of our Armed forces. Especially to the 1100 officers and jawan killed in the war against the TTP pigs. I pray that god bless their orphans and widow with sabr and makes life easier for them. To the 4000 Army men injured, I wish them a speedy recovery.

Every body who insult the military should get out of Pakistan or join the military to see how many difficulties they are facing same for guys who live in other countries but can't respect the local military.Blame the politicians as much as you want but don't insult the military.

yeah but where does the limit between politics and military show up, the top levels of the military are as messed up as most of the politicians.

i have no doubt the men on the ground have good intentions, but the pakistan army is a corporate entity that operates in its own interests before anything else, and the men at the top are far closer to being politicians than soldiers.

this coming from someone who's uncles grand parents etc were all army men.

Indian's are brainwashed in to thinking they won every war against Pak and China:)) We defended ourselves well in 1965...we know what happened in the Sino-Hind 62 war and Kargil.

A day to unite and celebrate the bravery of our jawans, indeed!

My skin crawls and eyes water everytime "Ay merey pyaray watan" comes up.. I'm due to leave to complete my third year in 10 days, and I feel a bittersweet pain that is almost physical when this tarana comes on..

May Allah swt grant PEACE to this nation, Ameen!

May Allah Subhanahu wa ta'ala protect the Pak fauj except the corrupt ones. It is because of them Pakistan is not like arab countries.

Well I have often heard how Pak soldiers would lay down under Indian tanks with bombs attached to their chests. This was how they would counter the numbers advantage the enemy had. In this way every Pak soldier who died took many Indians with him! I see that India does not celebrate or remember 1965 in any way.

Did you hear the one about 10 Pakistani soldiers being equal to 1 Indian soldier based on something supposedly superior? Hint: It isn't their military prowess.

Indians don't celebrate it because they were not given the opportunity to concoct stories, about some bravado of 'defending' their country, to save them from embarrassment. Especially when it wasn't the aggressor to begin with.

Besides, they got other years to celebrate. Like the number between 70 and 72.

yeah but where does the limit between politics and military show up, the top levels of the military are as messed up as most of the politicians.

i have no doubt the men on the ground have good intentions, but the pakistan army is a corporate entity that operates in its own interests before anything else, and the men at the top are far closer to being politicians than soldiers.

this coming from someone who's uncles grand parents etc were all army men.

my friend, top levels of military are selected by the politicians themselves to serve their own interests and when there decisions back fire the military is made scapegoat.

Because as the entire world outside Pakistan knows it, 1965 ended with a UN mandated ceasefire.
Indians like to claim victory, while Pakistanis do the same. It would be idiotic to talk and compare about advantages held by both sides at that point of time.

As for the aggressor part... plz read any .. just any war relating feature apart from that printed in Pakistan.
Operation Gibraltor!

But its very amusing that Pakistan has a national day, celebrating a truce as victory...
Now thats living in denial.

No point in celebrating it. Did more harm than good for the country.

That war started the hostility between 2 countries. 50 years its still going on.

Did you hear the one about 10 Pakistani soldiers being equal to 1 Indian soldier based on something supposedly superior? Hint: It isn't their military prowess.

Indians don't celebrate it because they were not given the opportunity to concoct stories, about some bravado of 'defending' their country, to save them from embarrassment. Especially when it wasn't the aggressor to begin with.

Besides, they got other years to celebrate. Like the number between 70 and 72.

That's strange because you celebrate your all other supposed victories yet forget 1965 and 1962 as well when the Chinese did you! I don't believe that Pak soldiers are superhuman unlike you people who talk yours up as if they are the best thing ever! What I do know is 1947 when Jinnah bought Bharat to it's knee's! That's another occasion that we celebrate like there is no tomorrow! In your eyes poor old India is never the aggressor, it's just a poorly misunderstood country that in reality means no harm to any neighbour!

Because as the entire world outside Pakistan knows it, 1965 ended with a UN mandated ceasefire.
Indians like to claim victory, while Pakistanis do the same. It would be idiotic to talk and compare about advantages held by both sides at that point of time.

As for the aggressor part... plz read any .. just any war relating feature apart from that printed in Pakistan.
Operation Gibraltor!

But its very amusing that Pakistan has a national day, celebrating a truce as victory...
Now thats living in denial.

I have read many articles on the 1965 war with various views! Well, Pakistan defended itself good and proper from Indian aggression....if you are free to make crappy movies on Indo-Pak wars then we to will celebrate whatever we want. We are Pakistanis not apologetic Indian Muslim's who need to explain anything to you, remember that! What we celebrate is defending our territory from a much larger enemy! I will have some sweets to celebrate that!

I am a big fan of victory days. every proud nation must have such days to celebrate. instills pride and patriotism in their citizen and makes them realize the sacrifices that went into keeping the flag of the country flying high. always respect a patriot, even if he is from an enemy nation. and hate the so called progressive left liberals who are always working to dilute nationalistic fervour.

Indian's are brainwashed in to thinking they won every war against Pak and China:)) We defended ourselves well in 1965...we know what happened in the Sino-Hind 62 war and Kargil.
India got defeated in 1962 which made them realise their weaknesses in defence and were better prepared in 655 not to forget 71 and 99

But you were not prepared in 65 or 47. You didn't win anything in 99 either.

India got defeated in 1962 which made them realise their weaknesses in defence and were better prepared in 65 not to forget 71 and in Kargil we regained our territories .

You could not avoid the creation of Pakistan and lost in 62 and 65. India won nothing in 99.

India got defeated in 1962 which made them realise their weaknesses in defence and were better prepared in 65 not to forget 71 and in Kargil we regained our territories .

The biggest one was 1947 when you lost so much land that you will never forget, that was the big one! You lost in 62, 65 and won nothing in 1999 either! We also took half of Kashmir in 1948 that you will never get back.

By 60s military capabilities of two countries were not so disproportionate.

After that war tides turned , with the dawn of 70s India superseded Pakistan in military power which became even stronger in subsequent years..

Operation Gibraltar was not a crossing of international border. It was infiltration into the occupied and disputed territory.

India did cross the established international border on 6th Sept., which started a full-scale war on international borders.

The force which really came out as victorious was the Pakistan Air Force.

PAF literally dominated the IAF, even Indians and neutrals admired it. The kill ratio, against a much larger air force, was also amazing.

Not only air superiority, PAF carried out the famous strike operations on Pathankot and Halwara bases, annihilating aircrafts of both the major bases.

Pakistan still holds the highest peak in Kargil looking down on Bharati soldiers. This is a big advantage as well.

Syed Zaid Hamid on FM DIL 102 Islamabad – Defence Day Special

<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8" src="//cdn.playwire.com/bolt/js/embed.min.js" data-width="600" data-height="400" data-config="http://cdn.playwire.com/v2/12238/config/1313983.json" data-publisher-id="12238" data-video-id="1313983"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Happy <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DefenceDay?src=hash">#DefenceDay</a> to all Pakistanis. We can never forget the sacrifices of our army soldiers. Long live Pakistan. Long live pakistan army. <a href="https://t.co/54owGjYhBT">pic.twitter.com/54owGjYhBT</a></p>— Junaid khan 83 (@JunaidkhanREAL) <a href="https://twitter.com/JunaidkhanREAL/status/905293091111919616">September 6, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The martyrs of 6th September 1965 are the heroes of nation. Big salute to them.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DefenceDay?src=hash">#DefenceDay</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DefenceAndMartyrsDay?src=hash">#DefenceAndMartyrsDay</a> <a href="https://t.co/lYS25j90WX">pic.twitter.com/lYS25j90WX</a></p>— Umar Akmal (@Umar96Akmal) <a href="https://twitter.com/Umar96Akmal/status/905303649575989248">September 6, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Happy Defence Day to all the Pakistanis..i salute all the martyrs who sacrificed their lives for Pakistan <a href="https://twitter.com/ISPR_Official">@ISPR_Official</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakDefenceDay?src=hash">#PakDefenceDay</a> <a href="https://t.co/qLSyXt87om">pic.twitter.com/qLSyXt87om</a></p>— Hasan Ali (@RealHa55an) <a href="https://twitter.com/RealHa55an/status/905303595565940736">September 6, 2017</a></blockquote>

The world must do more against terrorism: COAS Gen Bajwa at 52nd Defence Day tribute

Chief of Army Staff (COAS) Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa called on the world to "do more" against terrorism at a tribute to the martyrs of the 1965 war on Pakistan's 52nd Defence Day at General Headquarters on Wednesday.

"Despite all our efforts, our countless sacrifice and over decades of war, we are being told that we have not done enough against terrorism," the army chief said, referring to recent criticism by United States (US) President Donald Trump over Pakistan's alleged inaction against terrorist 'safe havens'.

"If Pakistan has not done enough in this war, then no country in the world has done anything," he asserted.

"Only Pakistan has seen this level of success with such limited resources. From Operation Sher Dil, to Rah-i-Rast, Rah-i-Nijat, Zarb-i-Azab and now Radd-ul-Fasaad, we have paid for each inch [of gains] with our blood."

"And now, I say that the world must do more."

"We don't want aid, we want your respect and confidence," the COAS said, responding to US claims that they had given "billions and billions of dollars" in aid to Pakistan. "Our actions and sacrifices should be appreciated."

"We will encourage actions by America and Nato that will bring peace to Afghanistan specifically and the region at large. But we also wish for our security concerns should also be resolved," he added.

"We have tried to help Afghanistan beyond our capabilities, but Afghanistan's war cannot be fought in Pakistan. We have made well-intentioned eforts for talks and peace in Afghanistan. However, Afghanistan is a self-sufficient country that is free to make its own decisions. If even today they veer towards war, then we cannot be a part of this war," the army chief maintained.

"We wish to have mutually respectful relations with all countries. If other countries cannot help us fight against terrorism then they should at least not hold us responsible for their own failings."

"Let us create a Pakistan where the use of strength is in accordance with the law and Constitution and is in the hands of the state."

"I would like tell misguided people that whatever you are doing is not jihad but fasaad. Your country and your people are being hurt the most by your actions," the army chief cautioned.

"Not only is the entire country paying the price of the fire of you have set, but our enemies are also taking advantage of the situation... A monopoly over violence should only be the prerogative of the state."

"We are keeping a close watch on the designs of our enemies especially as they attempt to destroy the peace in Balochistan," he cautioned.

"I would like to tell all anti-state elements that we are ready to combat their terrorism and malicious intentions. And whether we are Punjabi, Pathan, Sindhi, Kashmiri, Gilgiti or Balti, we are ready to sacrifice for Balochistan the way the sons of Balochistan have sacrificed for Pakistan. We have pride in the people of Balochistan who have rejected terrorism and separatism."

"Pakistan is a peace-loving country, and Pakistanis have, despite 40 continuous years of discord, retained their identity and unity. Larger countries with more resources than us have broken," he said.

"India should realise that the peaceful struggle of hundreds of thousands of youth in Kashmir does not need interference from Pakistan or Azad Jammu and Kashmir. It is in India's favour that they prioritise political and diplomatic solutions for sustainable resolution of the Kashmir issue instead of insulting Pakistan and using force against Kashmiris."

"Pakistan is a responsible nation. We did not bring nuclear weapons to South Asia. And even now these weapons are simply a guarantee of peace in answer to a neighbouring country which is high on power. It is this country which has brought unconventional war to the South Asian region," he said.

"Since 1971 Pakistan has remained a victim of terrorism. We have paid the price for the wars started by super powers in the form of terrorism, extremism and economic loss. We are abiding by our policy that we will not allow our soil to be used against any country, and expect the same of other countries."

"For our complete success in the war against terrorism, we need the nation's passion and cooperation," he told the audience.

"Although the army can end terrorism, to gain control over terrorism and extremism it is necessary that every citizen is a soldier of Operation Radd-ul-Fasaad," he maintained.

He reminded the audience that the war against terrorism is also an ideological war.

"We are proud of both the green and the white of our flag. Our beliefs, our faith and our traditions don't need a stamp of approval from anyone. National unity is the need of the hour, and we will not tolerate anyone shaking our foundations on the basis of religious, sectarian or caste differences."

The army chief also paid tribute to Pakistan's martyrs and their families, and vowed to take the war against terrorism to its logical conclusion.

Former army chief Raheel Sharif was in attendance at the ceremony, alongside prominent politicians including Foreign Minister Khawaja Asif, Information Minister Marriyum Aurangzeb, Interior Minister Ahsan Iqbal, National Assembly (NA) Speaker Ayaz Sadiq, and Leader of the Opposition in the NA Khursheed Shah. Well-known athletes and entertainers were also present at the event.

Sheheryar Munawar, Sana Javed, Farooq Hassan and Sadia Afzal were among the celebrities hosting the event.

Singer Atif Aslam opened the ceremony with a patriotic song, as a video paying tribute to the armed forces played in the background.

A short film showing the families of martyred soldiers remembering their sons left members of the audience in tears. Activist and motivational speaker Muniba Mazari was among those who spoke at the ceremony.

Other entertainers also took the stage as the night progressed, and a series of short films and videos were shown to the audience.

Earlier today, Defence Day was commemorated with traditional fervour and solemnity across the country, beginning with special prayers for the progress and prosperity of Pakistan.

Change of guard ceremonies were held at the mausoleums of Allama Iqbal in Lahore and Quaid-i-Azam in Karachi, and a ceremony at the Pakistan Navy headquarters in Islamabad.

Former army chief retired Gen Raheel Sharif reached Lahore's Miani Sahib graveyard, where he laid a floral wreath on the grave of his brother Maj Shabbir Sharif who lost his life during the 1971 war on Dec 6 in the Sulemanki Sector.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1356002/t...sm-coas-gen-bajwa-at-52nd-defence-day-tribute

It's remarkable that both sides continue to chest thump and claim victory in the 1965 war when nearly all independent historians are clear that it was a military stalemate and neither side won. How could Pakistan have 'won' when they didn't even gain an inch of territory in the end? To fail in the overall objective of capturing all of Kashmir yet still celebrate every 6th September with a 21-gun salute and a victory parade is utterly surreal.

Commemorate the dead sure but what on earth are you celebrating?

It's remarkable that both sides continue to chest thump and claim victory in the 1965 war when nearly all independent historians are clear that it was a military stalemate and neither side won. How could Pakistan have 'won' when they didn't even gain an inch of territory in the end? To fail in the overall objective of capturing all of Kashmir yet still celebrate every 6th September with a 21-gun salute and a victory parade is utterly surreal.

Forcing a much larger army to retreat is not victory?

Pakistan started a war with a clear military objective, failed to meet that objective yet still claimed victory. How does that work?

Both armies retreated after the ceasefire was signed. It was a political process which made both sides retreat to pre war positions not a military one.

Aye Rah-e-Haq Kai Shaheedon Wafaa Ki Takdeeron Tumhe Watan Ki Hawayein Salaam Kehti Hai.

:salute to Pakistan Army!

But you started the war. Then celebrate not losing it :-/

err no you crossed the international border ..that my friend is called an invasion..whatever happened in kashmir (the mission failed by the way) India had no real reason or need to invade Pakistan. But you did to teach us a lesson and shut up Ayub..

You invaded us again in 71 to teach us a lesson and succeeded in teaching us a different lesson.

India has invaded Pakistan twice and the second time dismembered us..we have never invaded Modern India and never will...

Sorry but Pakistan doesnt chest thump..we remember the defence of Pakistan against a larger superior enemy that wanted to split the country in half and drink chai paani in Lahore..whatever the merits or demerits of Ayubs operation in kashmir, it did not warrant a full scale invasion of Pakistan..

Great war. Pak defended it's territory with venom and jealously! Biggest tank battle in history of war took place when we bashed up the enemy. Alam sahib on his own took care of business himself, legend!

What? :))

Great war? wars are never great. Try asking those that fought in them. I never ever want to see another war with India ever again.

Great war? wars are never great son. Try asking those that fought in them. I never ever want to see another war with India ever again.

Great war in terms of how we defended the country. Soldiers sign up to fight and die for the country, it's part of their job. No one likes war however when thrust ed upon you a soldier has to fight.

We have fought valiantly in every single war. We lost in 1971 only because it was strategic for Indians to block our transport to East Pak. We never were overthrown in power. In 1948, we captured a lot of area. Indians came and stopped us but also they were not able to recapture Kashmir which we took. In 1965, well i wont claim we win it but we also didnt lose. In the end both sides left each others captured areas. In 1999, it was again foolishness of Musharraf to start the war. We had the peace going and he inflicted the war on country. Then also our soldiers fought brilliantly. India did defended themselves but we also didnt lose. It was a stalemate yet again. Proud of our soldiers.

Great war in terms of how we defended the country. Soldiers sign up to fight and die for the country, it's part of their job. No one likes war however when thrust ed upon you a soldier has to fight.

No war is great..ask any soldier. And as a sharpshooter of Islam you should know that our Prophet PBUH was a pacifist who had to be persuaded to go to war..he hated it..you should learn something from it..

So that is exactly what I said that "no one likes war" if you read my post 68. The Prophet(pbuh) did fight as well when enemies attacked him moreover as I said soldiers sign on knowing they could be killed. There is nothing more respectful then shahadat for a Muslim person let that be clear.

We have fought valiantly in every single war. We lost in 1971 only because it was strategic for Indians to block our transport to East Pak. We never were overthrown in power. In 1948, we captured a lot of area. Indians came and stopped us but also they were not able to recapture Kashmir which we took. In 1965, well i wont claim we win it but we also didnt lose. In the end both sides left each others captured areas. In 1999, it was again foolishness of Musharraf to start the war. We had the peace going and he inflicted the war on country. Then also our soldiers fought brilliantly. India did defended themselves but we also didnt lose. It was a stalemate yet again. Proud of our soldiers.

we lost 1971 in the East not the west. We are outnumbered 50-1 in the east and still fought valiantly against the odds. These are not my words but the words of field marshal Manekshaw the man who we surrendered to. We had no chance in Bangladesh and should have cut our losses a year or two ago. As for 1965 , sorry but we defended the country against a full scale invasion and that will always be a win for me. They did not have to invade our country but they did and we ended up in their country. By the end they failed to achieve anything..

I dont know if there is any argument on 1971 as I think I said the same thing. I never claimed of losing war in west.

But for 1965 again I dont think we won but it was a stalemate. Why do you think they did not have to attack and start invading when we were engaged in war with them in Kashmir. It was our soldiers who infiltrated into IOK. And I get that as its our areas which Indians had occupied. But its a war, and they can think of things which may not be ethical to win the war.
We had captured their areas in Gujrat, Kashmir, they also captured areas in Sialkot, Lahore and some of our Kahsmir sectors. As far as war losses goes, we lost more men and tanks then them, but we decisively defeated Indians in air battle. So it was a stalemate in the end for me.

<b>Then started the biggest tank battle in the world after second world war </b>-- nearly 500 Indian tanks advanced with 50,000 troops on Sialkot but were pushed back and defeated by the defenders of Sialkot alhamdolillah. My father being one of the gunners who blasted the Indian attack and supported the ground troops through artillery fire. On the other front, Lahore was also being defended with equal ferocity by our tigers.

Great war. Pak defended it's territory with venom and jealously! <b>Biggest tank battle in history of war took place when we bashed up the enemy.</b> Alam sahib on his own took care of business himself, legend!

You are referring to the Battle of Asal Uttar.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Asal_Uttar

Losing 99 tanks while destroying 10 Indian tanks certainly cannot be judged as a Pakistani victory.

People died, so the truth is that no one won. If you lose your son, it is no consolation that someone else also lost their son.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="und" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistanzindabad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistanzindabad</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanArmyPaindabad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanArmyPaindabad</a> <a href="https://t.co/7aeJ3jOKbO">pic.twitter.com/7aeJ3jOKbO</a></p>— Javed Miandad &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; (@I_JavedMiandad) <a href="https://twitter.com/I_JavedMiandad/status/1302237654503895041?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 5, 2020</a></blockquote>

The nation marked its 55th Defence Day on Sunday to commemorate the sacrifices of fallen heroes during the 1965 war.

The main ceremony for Defence Day was held in the morning at the General Headquarters (GHQ) in Rawalpindi, according to Radio Pakistan, where Army chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa laid a floral wreath at the Martyrs Monument.

A change of guards was also held at the Quaid's mausoleum with Air Vice Marshal Shakeel Ghazanfar as the chief guest of the ceremony. A contingent of 46 cadets of the Pakistan Air Force Asghar Khan Academy took over guard duties.

A ceremony was also held at the Naval Headquarters in Islamabad, according to Radio Pakistan.

'Reminder of spirit and valour'
In his message to the countrymen on Defence Day, President Arif Alvi said that Pakistan would never compromise on its sovereignty and security, making it clear that any kind of misadventure by the enemy would be dealt with severely.

“It makes me happy to state that we have achieved self-reliance in the defence field […] We have thwarted external aggression; we have successfully defeated terrorism and extremism, and now we are on the path towards economic prosperity."

He said the day was a reminder of the spirit and valour of Pakistan's armed forces and the nation through which they thwarted the evil designs of the enemy on this day, 55 years ago.

The president said the nation saluted the martyrs as well as their families for their fortitude as they set a great example of patriotism by sacrificing their loved ones for defence of the country.

“The spirit of September 1965 still lives in our hearts and I can proudly say that because of this, we have been successful in many testing times. Our armed forces’ professional excellence, combat readiness, and above all their unwavering faith in Allah has made Pakistan invincible,” he added.

'Armed forces fully capable of defending our country'
Prime Minister Imran Khan said that Pakistan’s desire for peace must not be misconstrued as its weakness, adding that the country's armed forces were "fully capable" of defending the country.

"The resilient nation and the battle-hardened armed forces of Pakistan have time and again proved that they are fully capable of defending the country and are fully prepared to meet any kind of eventuality," the premier said via Twitter.

In his message, the premier honoured the fallen heroes of the war, saying that 55 years ago, the nation and the men in uniform "proved that it is not the size that matters, but it is the courage and devotion that matters the most".

"September 6 is a day in Pakistan’s glorious history that is commemorated as a symbol of courage, strong will and unmatched spirit of sacrifice by our gallant armed forces.

PML-N President and Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif tweeted that while the country paid homage to its martyrs, "we must invoke the spirit of sacrifice and national cohesion that marked this day to take Pakistan forward".

Information Minister Shibli Faraz said that the nation paid tribute to its martyrs who sacrificed their lives for the security, defence and peace of the country. "Today we also reiterate that Pakistan is standing with its Kashmiri brethren and will continue to do so."

Minister for Planning, Development and Special Initiatives Asad Umar said that Sept 6 was not only a reminder of the bravery of the armed forces in the 1965 war but was also a reminder that "when the nation is united, no power in the world can defeat them".

Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Information and Broadcasting Asim Saleem Bajwa also took to Twitter to pay tribute to the martyrs.

"The whole nation stands behind [the armed forces] with full trust. Let’s not forget ours are the best and only forces in the world to have won war on terror so comprehensively," he said.

PPP Chairperson Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari said that those who "sacrificed their lives in the line of duty are the nation's heroes" and the martyrs would remain alive in the memories of generations to come.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1578211/o...-country-says-pm-as-country-marks-defence-day

Pakistan had 264 tanks at Asal Uttar while it had only 225 tanks at Chawinda.

Chawinda also had smaller tank losses, 44 Pakistani tanks lost (Pakistani claim) to 29 Indian tanks lost (Indian claim). According to neutral sources, Pakistan also lost 460 sq-km of territory.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Chawinda

Asal Uttar was a bigger battle than Chawinda also in terms of tank casualties.

At Asal Uttar, according to sources mentioned in Wiki, Pakistan lost 100+ tanks to India's 10 (Indian claim) to 20 (non-Indian claim).

Pakistan lost a disproportionate amount of tanks because they fell for a trap set for them by Brigadier Thomas K.Theograj.

The battle is described as one the largest tank battles in history since the Battle of Kursk in World War II.

In the night, the Indian troops flooded the sugar cane field, and the next morning, the Pakistani tanks of the 1st Armoured Division, consisting mainly of M47 and M48 Patton tanks, were lured inside the horse-shoe trap. The swampy ground slowed the advance of the Pakistani tanks and many of them could not move because of the muddy slush. Over 100 Pakistani tanks mostly Pattons, and a few Shermans and Chaffees, were destroyed and another 40+ captured[8][9] while the Indians, by their account, lost only 10 tanks during this counter offensive.[5]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Asal_Uttar