"Pakistan keep going back to Hafeez & Malik. Look at the future, go with youth" : Nasser Hussain

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Watching England's and Australia's pace bowlers bowling yorker after yorker in each of their matches - makes you wonder why Pakistan's pace bowlers are not bowling this delivery which Pakistani quicks have been so famous for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1142055327086628865?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 21, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Nasser Hussain "Don't keep going back to the past. I look at the Pakistan side who keep going back to Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik. Look at the future, go with youth" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1142059665766932483?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 21, 2019</a></blockquote>

Inzi dropped promising Abid Ali for his nephew and experienced Malik. Then we have posters on here who think Sarfaraz is the only one responsible for our abject performance.

Even a kid could have told you that Malik would be a failure but Inzi the revolutionary with the eagle eyes for talent felt that Malik will use his experience to score 100 not out in every match. Mashallah Malko sahab living up to his hype and averaging in the single digits in the WC.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Watching England's and Australia's pace bowlers bowling yorker after yorker in each of their matches - makes you wonder why Pakistan's pace bowlers are not bowling this delivery which Pakistani quicks have been so famous for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1142055327086628865?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 21, 2019</a></blockquote>

That's because those teams do not have a bowling coach who was a better bat than bowler during his playing days

The culture is the problem.

Seniority rules and some of these senior players have a lot of backing outisde of cricket.

Therefore the coach, captain and selectors are under pressure to pick them.

Terrible state of affairs.

Inzi dropped promising Abid Ali for his nephew and experienced Malik. Then we have posters on here who think Sarfaraz is the only one responsible for our abject performance.

Even a kid could have told you that Malik would be a failure but Inzi the revolutionary with the eagle eyes for talent felt that Malik will use his experience to score 100 not out in every match. Mashallah Malko sahab living up to his hype and averaging in the single digits in the WC.

Promising abid Ali?? :))) just coz of one century??
Look at his domestic record he averages 30 odd. He's also 32 or something. :)))
I'd take imam over abid any day of the week.

Your yawning couch potato captain described Malik and Hafeez as "backbone of the team" so let's not excuse him from accountability.

Inzi is the primary suspect. Biggest responsibility goes to him for selecting his past teammate Malik.

Hafeez was doing well so his selection wasn't totally awful. It's not like our youngsters are batting well.

Inzi also dropped Abid Ali for Malik/Imam. That's criminal.

Then selecting a non performer that too as the captain, mind blowing. Sarfraz shouldn't have been in the team.

Seniority rules and some of these senior players have a lot of backing outisde of cricket.

When Inzi came on board he categorically said that he will not take any pressure from anyone. I guess that was all said for media consumption.

Read post #1 and stick to that topic please.

Your yawning couch potato captain described Malik and Hafeez as "backbone of the team" so let's not excuse him from accountability.

Yawning couch potato didn't make superstar Malik as captain just one series before WC.

Just a small example, but it may not be directly relevant to cricket.
Winston Churchill after winning the war in 1945 (with allies) was darling of the British. But ended up losing the election few months later.

Hafeez and Shoaib Malik won ICC Champions Trophy, Hafeez actually played a brilliant innings however that was the time for both of them to be dropped. Steven Waugh the 1999 world cup winning captain of Australia was not even selected for 2003 world cup and Australia managed to win 2003 world cup unbeaten.

Our culture thrives on past glories, we keep living in past and it is not only about cricket, in other spheres of life.

When Inzi came on board he categorically said that he will not take any pressure from anyone. I guess that was all said for media consumption.

He did take pressure from the Sarfraz lobby.

He's been our worst performer and he continued to select him, that too as the captain .

Winston Churchill after winning the war in 1945 (with allies) was darling of the British. But ended up losing the election few months later.

Hafeez and Shoaib Malik won ICC Champions Trophy, Hafeez actually played a brilliant innings however that was the time for both of them to be dropped. Steven Waugh the 1999 world cup winning captain of Australia was not even selected for 2003 world cup and Australia managed to win 2003 world cup unbeaten.

Our culture thrives on past glories, we keep living in past and it is not only about cricket, in other spheres of life.

Good point, we stop working harder after achieving something. Hassan Ali and Shadab could’ve been much better post-CT17 and improve themselves, instead they chose the ”swaggy” way alongside Rana Saab.

Excellent point... the only batsmen who have debutted after CT have been Inzi's nephew and Abid Ali (for 2 matches). The only bowlers who have debutted have been Shaheen and Hasnain.

When a team stagnates then its performance drops. The onus is on the selector to keep inducting fresh talent and improving the side rather than resting on their laurels and relaxing.

the culture wont change so we need to make do. We need to ensure we punch above our weight until we can bring in some changes..get a tactical coach and keep some core players in the side who can keep us punching..thats the only way for now..unfortunatley unless we see major change we will continue to be good one day and then abd for five matches, then good then bad for ten etc..

Abid Ali would have struggled here too.. people talking about shinwari he would have struggled too ..the fact is we dont have much talent coming through!! The biggest fact is TV coverage or even internet coverage..India and rest have about 6 HD channels showing domestic ..India A or youth cricket we have nothing...one tournament which is PSL and we pick players every year from there..

Imagine more coverage more exposure how much better we would do...

India learned the lesson the hard way after crashing out of the 2007 WC in the initial stage.

That can only be cured once we are rid of all the "seniors". Malik has played his last ODI already hopefully. Don't mind Hafeez as much. In last 2-3 years as he has definitely shown hunger and drive to improve himself but Fakhar definitely deserved to play the NZ series whether in place of Hafeez or Imam.
I think after the WC, we won't really have any "senior" left, the senior most guys would be Sarfraz, Amir and Wahab Riaz who IMO don't really have that much of outside influence that the likes of Malik, Hafeez, Younis or Razzaq possessed.

Need Wasim Khan to put his foot down and hire a coaching and management staff of his liking that can cultivate a culture under which our players can flourish and be nurtured.
Dean Jones, Andy Flower, Stuart Law are apparently the no nonsense personalities.
Hoping one of Deano, Flower or Simmons takes over. Law and Ford seem pretty happy with their current job.

I think this is properly the first time in like 40 years where we be "seniorless". Our team is completely new (less than 100 odis). Even our captain.

India has been far ruthless in this regards in comparison to Pakistan, the way they moved the likes of Yuvraj, Gambhir, Sehwag, Raina, Tendulkar, Dravid, Laxman, Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan and co after the 2011 WC when some of these players would have been first choices in Pakistan was a sight to behold.

We don't test our bench strength, we are probably the only team in the world who plays their first choice 11 in meaningless T-20 games, in ODI and T-20 series against minnows and weaker teams like Sri Lanka, West Indies whereas the Big 5 use the opportunity to play their second eleven.

Hussein only stating the obvious.

Problem is nothing will change unless someone at the PCB wants it to change.

Or else it will be like ground hog day again and again and again..

Futures not too bad if we find 2 solid middle order bats

Fakhar
Sharjeel
Babar
Hussain Talat
M Rizwan WK
Ifitkhar Ahmed
Khushdil Shah
Zafar Gohar
M Amir C
Haris Rauf
Usman Shinwari

Bench
Saud Shakeel
Abid Ali
M Musa
Shadab Khan
Shaheen Afridi

Development in First Class
Spinners
Umer Khan
M Irfan (Leggie)

Pacers
Hassan Ali
M Hasnain
Naseem Shah
M Ilyas

Batsmen
Rizwan Hussain
Ahsan Ali
Need to find 2 more decent prospects

He is stating the obvious. CT should have been time to say good bye to Hafeez, Malik and Wahab but we kept them in the team on the excuse of experience. Malik and Hafeez have been playing for about two decades and still can't take charge of the team and lead it to the victories. Worse Malik can't buy a run to save his life. On the other day Wahab was continuously bowling round the wicket ugly lines and gave away important 10-20 extra runs and the consequent psychological advantages.

It is so embarassing to see us losing this way even though having so called experienced lot.

I think we need to learn the lesson and devise the long term strategy and build on youth.

no one with any iota of sense will pick Abid Ali over Imam. Imam has already played international cricket and averages 55 and Abid ali has played a grand total of three, where he failed in two out of three outings. how can he be selected for WC? It is not like Abid Ali has a better List A record or younger player can be groomed for future. Imam is younger, has better record and the right choice. Although Abid Ali has a marginally better strike rate in List A, it is nothing decisive. Imam was the right choice between them.

Mailk is another story. He should have been dropped after 2015 WC. Pakistan deserves better player than Malik in their setup.

Pakistan has to move away from their obsession of selecting their players based on performance in PSL. They need to respect their domestic performance. Irrespective how bad the first class structure is, all players play in the same structure and any good performance under the common setup needs to be taken into consideration.

Promising abid Ali?? :))) just coz of one century??
Look at his domestic record he averages 30 odd. He's also 32 or something. :)))
I'd take imam over abid any day of the week.

Completely agree

Imam earned his place. Abid seems to have a clear cut deficiency against incoming ball.

Even though imam is not ideal for odis but given his performances his place was never in question

Just few matches before WC he hit a 150, was our best player in SA series too

His nephew is not the issue, far from it. Malik and Hafeez are.

Everyone can see the problem but not the Pakistani setup.

Inzi saw some talent in Malik, which no one , even Malik, saw in him over last 20 years, they don't call Inzi revolutionary for nothing.

Really hoping Saif Badar, Saud Shakeel and Khushdil Shah get a chance to impress before the end of 2019

If Inzi remains as chief selector they will have to perform in the PSL for him to even know of their existence.

Nawaz would've probably done better as a batsman and a bowler.

He is a better batsman than Malik now a days better Strike rotation and can hit a few unlike Malik

Bowling wise Malik has no comparison, Nawaz in PP is an attacking bowler while in middle overs he is miserly economical

One can't snatch Malik Sahab's HAQ to play in this WC. So Malik sahab got his Malikana Haq to play in this world cup.

[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] Sir, any comments or interview or tweet by Najam Sethi on Pak's performance in WORLD CUP. What are Javed Miandad's comment, if any ?

When it comes to promoting youngsters, Inzi’s 3 years is comfortably the worst as CS, while his 4 years as captain was the worst.

I understand that people will come back with list of youngsters in last 3 years; but I can categorically expose them. Guys at one time AUS & WIN couldn’t accommodate Stewart Law, Jaime Cox, Brad Hodge even Gilchrist, or Franklin Stephenson, Ezra Mosley, Clayton Best, Collis Kings, Anthony Grey....because those were two wonderful teams, steamrolling almost everything that came on their path. But, they were merciless for under-performers - a WK like Hilley was dropped for good after one bad series against WIN.

This PAK side is absolutely at rock bottom for last 2 years now in Test & ODI.... and still this guy is backing every senior player (read preferred player) shamelessly. Apart from Imam, hardly any youngster is given an extended run, neither proper role for their game. CT win bought him some time (read provided him a carpet to sweep dirt), otherwise this guy took a 35 years old in WIN, just before CT.... one example.

When Nasser is critical about PCT, one has to realise that it’s almost dooms day - something has to be shaken. I expect a mass clear out (for every format) after WC, otherwise something will be permanently damaged.

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] do you See wasim khan doing operation clean up after WC?

Hafeez is still only match Winner with bat

Malik was our best batsman in Asia Cup so they have no choice but to stay with them

There are not good players in Pakistan domestic

Hopefully, unless he himself gets cleaned.
I dont think so it will happen. He has complete backing of Imran khan and Imran has been backing even some of his weak appointments in his govt so far. Ehsan Ma i and wasim should not worry and go on to do what they want. Khan.s cousin is working here to improve health department. Even some of his decisions are bad but he has the backing of khan and they did not bow down to our 7 days strike where we bycotted all elective servises.

Am sure after the farce of a world cup, other failing seniors will be recalled to lead pakistan to failure in 2023 world cup.

The test team is plagued with same problem.

The youth are not producing much. This is why Pak keeps returning to the oldies!

We have no choice to go with a young team now anyway, given whoever the next captain is they'll be very inexperienced.

Hopefully, unless he himself gets cleaned.

Very less chance, he has full backing of Mani and therefore of Captain Khan. Koi mai ka laal nahi hai jo issay hatta sakay.

This world cup failure has been 4 years in the making. Straight after world cup we appoint a captain who isnt even suited to ODIs, waste a year or so with him at the helm before changing captain.

Hafeez has been a failure as an ODI opener so we we decide hes an ideal number 3, then all of a sudden the best middle order batsmen we have in country.

Maliks ODi record has been pathetic all his career in ODIs outside of Asia, but 15 years on hes expected to be back bone of middle order.

A captain, who is unfit, been a failure for so long takes up another spot.

4 years wasted where new young batsmen could have been groomed for this tournament.

Then we have "talented nephew" opening and batting at a blistering S/R suited to the 1980s.

5 games into world cup and captain/coach and selector cant even be consistant with what best 11 is.

This pathetic failure has been because of 4 years of no planning.

Pakistan deserve to go home with tail between their legs after this world cup.

Maybe they are not doing the business at domestic level. Can't just walk in to the national side.

Hasan Mohsin is also another decent all rounder who preformed well in the 2016 U19 WC who averages 37 with a SR of 100 in List A

In Tests, Sarfraz and Azhar need to go.

In ODIs, Malik, Asif, Hafeez, Imad, Sarfraz, Shadab, Haris and Wahab

In T20s, only Hafeez for now needs the boot

Hasan Ali also needs to be kept away from LOIs for at least a year.

Out of these, I only think Malik and Asif will be gone. Rest will stay unfortunately and we will be mediocre for the next 5 years.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Nasser Hussain "Don't keep going back to the past. I look at the Pakistan side who keep going back to Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik. Look at the future, go with youth" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1142059665766932483?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 21, 2019</a></blockquote>

Two separate points to talk about here.

1 - The yorker: Hasan Ali was exceptional with it in 2016 and 2017 but he has completely lost it. The regression of this great young fast bowler should lead to a full blown PCB inquest. Akram on air talked about how coaches have tried to change where his back leg drags...if that is true then he needs to stop listening to them and do what he always did in the past. As for the others, we saw Hasnain had a quick and accurate yorker in the England series.

Also, I don't think the English bowlers bowl consistent yorkers at all, not sure where that myth has come from. Archer is a bit different and Wood is working on it but the likes of Woakes, Plunkett, Stokes and co have two go to deliveries - wide outside off and slower ball back of a length.

2 - Onto Hafeez and Malik...well what can we say. Malik had a terrific Indian summer to his career till about last summer and now he has to go. He does not look interested and nor is he physically able to pul the trigger anymore, plus with barely bowling a ball, he does not deserve a shot in the side.

Hafeez has played a terrific knock just two games ago and still holds well with the ball so I can see him in the side. I think he'd be great against this Saffers line up. But with Mlaik out the side, it is time for Asif Ali to be given a series of matches in a row. It is also time to say goodbye to Riaz and get Hasnain in there.

The side for SA should be:

1. Imam
2. Fakhar
3. Babar
4. Hafeez
5. Sarfraz
6. Ali
7. Shadab
8. Imad
9. Amir
10. Shaheen
11. Hasnain

This is one major issue

The others are

The youths are not good enough or get complacent after thinking that they 'superstars'

question is why do these seniors have so much backing from the outside?

I can hazard a guess but wont say.

Saud has a average of 49 with a SR of 85 in List A and Saad Averages 47 with a SR of 86

Having strike rates in mid-eighties in domestic cricket, playing against pie chuckers, is hardly a recipe for success in the international cricket. Although i'm not opposed to trying them.

He is a better batsman than Malik now a days better Strike rotation and can hit a few unlike Malik

Bowling wise Malik has no comparison, Nawaz in PP is an attacking bowler while in middle overs he is miserly economical

Enough of bits and pieces. Pls get proper batsman and proper bowlers.

no one with any iota of sense will pick Abid Ali over Imam. Imam has already played international cricket and averages 55 and Abid ali has played a grand total of three, where he failed in two out of three outings. how can he be selected for WC? It is not like Abid Ali has a better List A record or younger player can be groomed for future. Imam is younger, has better record and the right choice. Although Abid Ali has a marginally better strike rate in List A, it is nothing decisive. Imam was the right choice between them.

Mailk is another story. He should have been dropped after 2015 WC. Pakistan deserves better player than Malik in their setup.

Pakistan has to move away from their obsession of selecting their players based on performance in PSL. They need to respect their domestic performance. Irrespective how bad the first class structure is, all players play in the same structure and any good performance under the common setup needs to be taken into consideration.

This makes a lot of sense

Two separate points to talk about here.

1 - The yorker: Hasan Ali was exceptional with it in 2016 and 2017 but he has completely lost it. The regression of this great young fast bowler should lead to a full blown PCB inquest. Akram on air talked about how coaches have tried to change where his back leg drags...if that is true then he needs to stop listening to them and do what he always did in the past. As for the others, we saw Hasnain had a quick and accurate yorker in the England series.

Also, I don't think the English bowlers bowl consistent yorkers at all, not sure where that myth has come from. Archer is a bit different and Wood is working on it but the likes of Woakes, Plunkett, Stokes and co have two go to deliveries - wide outside off and slower ball back of a length.

2 - Onto Hafeez and Malik...well what can we say. Malik had a terrific Indian summer to his career till about last summer and now he has to go. He does not look interested and nor is he physically able to pul the trigger anymore, plus with barely bowling a ball, he does not deserve a shot in the side.

Hafeez has played a terrific knock just two games ago and still holds well with the ball so I can see him in the side. I think he'd be great against this Saffers line up. But with Mlaik out the side, it is time for Asif Ali to be given a series of matches in a row. It is also time to say goodbye to Riaz and get Hasnain in there.

The side for SA should be:

1. Imam
2. Fakhar
3. Babar
4. Hafeez
5. Sarfraz
6. Ali
7. Shadab
8. Imad
9. Amir
10. Shaheen
11. Hasnain

Point about Hasan Ali , in comparison to that when the action , delivery stride and run up of jasprit bumrah was asked to wasim akram during an India tour of Australia 2 years ago , wasim said leave this kid, he is one in 1000s who can bowl like this, if he can bowl well with this delivery stride and run up then why do u need to change or modify it which will make him to lose his pace, line and lengths which is correct..

Nothing much changed for Jasprit bumrah and now he is the best bowler

The toxic seniority culture needs to be abolished for the greater good of Pakistan cricket, however it has only reinforced after Misbah was made captain of the side. He has set a bad precedent for the current crop of players, especially for those in the 30-34 age group because they will somehow believe they are young and have another 10 years left in the sport. It doesn't take a genius to figure out who has inspired the likes of Abdul Razzaq and Imran Nazir to make comebacks into professional cricket.

Point about Hasan Ali , in comparison to that when the action , delivery stride and run up of jasprit bumrah was asked to wasim akram during an India tour of Australia 2 years ago , wasim said leave this kid, he is one in 1000s who can bowl like this, if he can bowl well with this delivery stride and run up then why do u need to change or modify it which will make him to lose his pace, line and lengths which is correct..

Nothing much changed for Jasprit bumrah and now he is the best bowler

Bumrah chucks the ball and I do not think his action is appropriate for cricket but I agree with the ideology, if it works, let it work.

Much like all that tinkering with Jimmy and how it slowed down his progression. When he eventually went back to his original action, he was world class.

I think too many people have already pointed it out, its all due to 'seniority culture' which isn't just prevalent in PCB but its deeply rooted in Pakistani culture.

Our seniors everywhere demand respect rather than earn it...and by the same token those who earn it, you'll never see them demanding it.

Its all for ONE but one never for ALL.

PCB should do what Dav Whatmore did with Bangladesh Cricket team about a decade ago...he got rid of the old guard and picked kids practically.

And, those young kids, Shakib, Mahmudullah, Mushfiq and Tamim along with Musharafe ...look where they are now?

Here is hoping with Wasim Khan...

question is why do these seniors have so much backing from the outside?

I can hazard a guess but wont say.

Connections - I scratch your back and you scratch mine.

I recall someone telling me that one particular player has played Pakistan quite a few times due to family connections in the Pakistan army.

And, those young kids, Shakib, Mahmudullah, Mushfiq and Tamim along with Musharafe ...look where they are now?

Here is hoping with Wasim Khan...

Bangladesh stuck with the same core for 12 years and it's paying off.

Pakistan TM and the fans don't have the same level of patience.

Connections - I scratch your back and you scratch mine.

I recall someone telling me that one particular player has played Pakistan quite a few times due to family connections in the Pakistan army.

Still dont understand why players like fawad alam were thrown out, yes his technique is unusual but it works he can work at strike rate of 100 and very good at rotating strike.

These are the kind of players i want, start from basic, fit players who can run and rotate strike.

This world cup failure has been 4 years in the making. Straight after world cup we appoint a captain who isnt even suited to ODIs, waste a year or so with him at the helm before changing captain.

Hafeez has been a failure as an ODI opener so we we decide hes an ideal number 3, then all of a sudden the best middle order batsmen we have in country.

Maliks ODi record has been pathetic all his career in ODIs outside of Asia, but 15 years on hes expected to be back bone of middle order.

A captain, who is unfit, been a failure for so long takes up another spot.

4 years wasted where new young batsmen could have been groomed for this tournament.

Then we have "talented nephew" opening and batting at a blistering S/R suited to the 1980s.

5 games into world cup and captain/coach and selector cant even be consistant with what best 11 is.

This pathetic failure has been because of 4 years of no planning.

Pakistan deserve to go home with tail between their legs after this world cup.

Agree with much of what you saying but the painful reality is that the talent isnt there and the poor domestic structure doesn't identify the talent that does exist nor has the facilities and institutions to nurture it. This is a problem over decades and I don't think it can be fixed.

Still dont understand why players like fawad alam were thrown out, yes his technique is unusual but it works he can work at strike rate of 100 and very good at rotating strike.

These are the kind of players i want, start from basic, fit players who can run and rotate strike.

Fawad isnt any worse or better than the guys here and that is the problem with PK Cricket.

Muhammad Nawaz is far better bowler and batsmen then Imad. He should have been there. Faheem Ashraf and Junaid should have been there as well. Inzi could not take the pressure from media and selected the team. Look at the pitches now. Faheem Ashraf would have been golden on slow pitches. Rizwan should have been included instead Malik. Better feilder and even better batsmen

I dont think so it will happen. He has complete backing of Imran khan and Imran has been backing even some of his weak appointments in his govt so far. Ehsan Ma i and wasim should not worry and go on to do what they want. Khan.s cousin is working here to improve health department. Even some of his decisions are bad but he has the backing of khan and they did not bow down to our 7 days strike where we bycotted all elective servises.

I hope Imran stands strong behind Wasim (Not much confidence on Mani though) - that's probably the only hope, otherwise you probably can see the future. It's easy to brag in blogs and couple of trolls are enough to keep PP warm, but it's not looking great, to be honest. You can have a punching bag of a team, but there is still hope if you had several potential youngsters in that bag - AUS in mid to late 1980s was like that, but that team had one Captain in Border and 7-8 players around genuine 23 by the name of Waugh twins, Dean Jones, Marsh, Boon, Valleta, McDermott, O'Donnel, Warne, M Taylor, Slater, Hilley ...... this PAK team (overall) is quite hopeless - and the backbone is Hafeez, Malik, Sarfraz, Wahab, Fakhar, Haris, Yasir, Abbas, Azhar Ali, Asad, Shan .... even Amir looks tiered. Apart from Babar, you know ..... Nasser expressed that beautifully in just one line.

One thing you are missing here is that Health sector is a Govt. service sector - there are lots of scope of making illegal money out of that, but lots of risks as well - corruption always leaves a trace, and you have to do hell lot of work there. But, Cricket in PAK is the easiest money that you can make - it's a gold egg lying duck, among very few sectors where you can hold on to a chair without doing anything, still can become filthy rich - no, I am not talking about only the pie from PCB's revenue, cricket is a big field for making mobile phone money as well ...... The market is self sufficient - 23 crore thirsty people are waiting for a little success for the team, ready to spend even some part of their bread money. With all sorts of incompetence & corruption intact, still it's the richest sports administration in PAK and earning lot .... that too in foreign currency - the reason is that, it's one business where market is ripe and always virgin. It won't be that easy even for Imran to free PCB from the claws of vultures - they'll will hang on to it with a death bite, till last breath.

Nass talking sense again.

Wonder if I could do Nass' job, been saying the same thing for years now... hmmm

Who picked malik in team ... sarafaraz. .. argument has no leg to stand on

While imam is doing OK you guys are at his throat just because he is inzamam's nephew. Hafiz was performing. Yes Malik was taken inspite not doing anything great and poor record in england.

One thing I’m puzzled with , yes can understand Abid Ali and Mohammed Rizwan not making it into the XI for the first World Cup game - but after their impressive 100s v Australia who are now showing they are arguably the best ODI team around , how did Abid Ali and Rizwan not even make it to the bench for the World Cup squad?

Correct me if I’m wrong but their replacements as batsmen in Hafeez, Shoaib Malik or all rounders Imad or Shadab, with two of these players having fitness question marks also, did they score big 100s v England to justify their selections for the World Cup?

Or was the thinking from the selectors that having Abid Ali or Rizwan around could make our favourite players feel a bit insecure?

And just to clarify it’s not just about scoring 100s , but I would go as far saying the quality of batting on display by Rizwan in those 100s and Abid Ali , was as good as anything I’ve seen from Pakistani batsmen in recent times. Can anyone recall a 100 from batting great Hafeez that was as good as those innings?

The one massive prob and common factor across desis is we listen best when an outsider read angrez points out our flaws or highlights something fantastic amongst us...eg India and Yoga....its been around for centuries-no one took any notice....Jane fonda in the 60s' started liking this and suddenly its cool, kosher, de regueur norm, the cats whiskers...take ur pick...similarly MH andSM are past their shelf life and were since 2011 WC but still keep getting selected....i mean for an indian onlooker we were always gobsmacked by you guys throwing in teenagers out of nowhere into the deep end who went on to make it big....your guys specialized in this.....i guess this is end of the road for these guys...

We need to make changes to our odi team after the world cup. Sarfaraz, Hafeez, Wahab and Imad need to concentrate on T20s only. Fakhar would be my choice for odi captain, My team for next series:

1. Fakhar Zaman (c)
2. Abid Ali
3. Babar Azam
4. Rizwan
5. Hussain Talat
6. Khushdil Shah
7. Aamer Yamin
8. Shadab Khan
9. Amir
10. Hasnain
11. Haris Rauf

12. Saud Shakeel
13. Umar Khan
14. Shaheen Afridi
15. Shan Masood

The way haris sohail had been discarded ftom starting 11 to accomodate hafeez/malik has been a joke.