Pakistan must go all-in to onboard a dynamic, strongman modern coach like McCullum or Ponting

Bhaijaan

Hall of Famer
Listening to post-match interviews of figures like McCullum and Ponting always makes me realize something: the long list of coaches Pakistan has hired in recent years simply does not hold a candle to these personalities in terms of aura, authority, and leadership presence. And that, perhaps, is one of the biggest reasons things just don’t seem to work.

We say we want Pakistan to play a modern, attacking brand of cricket, yet we keep hiring people who feel more like assistant-coach material than leaders of a national side. Take someone like Gary Kirsten or Jason Gillespie. Respectable professionals, yes, but they simply don’t carry the commanding aura required to manage a dressing room full of strong personalities.

Such profiles might work perfectly in systems like New Zealand or South Africa, where the cricketing culture is deeply structured and system-driven. But countries like Australia, England, and Pakistan are different. These teams have historically been shaped by strong individuals and dominant personalities. Managing such environments requires someone with presence, authority, and the ability to command respect instantly.

Unfortunately, our coaching discussions usually revolve around two extremes: either polite, bureaucratic white-collar professionals or our own former legends who often lack the tactical credentials for modern coaching. In many other cases, we look toward local ex-players who themselves had fairly ordinary cricketing careers and limited exposure to high-performance systems.

That model simply hasn’t worked.

Look at England under Brendon McCullum. His influence was so transformative that their entire brand of cricket was literally named after him. That is what a coach with a clear vision and strong personality can do. Ricky Ponting carries a similar commanding presence. These are men who walk into a dressing room and instantly establish authority.

Pakistan’s cricket environment is notoriously chaotic, filled with politics, media pressure, and strong-willed players. It is not a place where a quiet, bureaucratic manager type can succeed. This environment requires a forceful leader who can impose discipline, clarity, and direction.

If Pakistan truly wants to transform its cricketing culture, the PCB must stop thinking small. They must go all-in and hire a modern, authoritative coach with real stature, someone in the mould of McCullum or Ponting, who can walk into that dressing room and set the house in order.

Until then, we will keep repeating the same cycle.

McCullum has transformed English cricket. Look at the way they bat. They almost chased down 250 in a world cup semi final. That doesn't just happen by fluke. It's a marriage of talent and great coaching.

Ponting, transformed Kings XI Punjab franchise, a team of mostly young and very inexperienced Indian plaayers. They went to toe to toe last year beating majority of the IPL teams who had much greater and experienced talent pool. It was a phenomenal coachign run for him tbh. He did the same in South Africa month later and made the final there as well.

Yes Pakistan need Ricky Ball ?, Pakistan cricket has regressed so bad that even world legends are hesitant to come, knowing their reputation will be at stake. also the idiotic nature of PCB is not helping the cause. A couple of years ago Shane Watson refused the coaching role in Pakistan.

Our last great coach was Mickie Arthur. Before him Bob Woolmer.
seeing India, should just roll out flat tracks at home for T20s. Bumrah, Hardik and Varun have become atg bbowlers, they can bowl unreal spells too, now on any conditions in any situation, can't really call pak bowlers that great since tey have more helpful conditions

Hesson isnt bad either ..its not the coaches its the talent which isnt there.

Hesson has tried to extend the batting line up which is what is needed but only by bits and pieces players like shadab nawaz faheem etc we need proper batting...

Yesterday india still had a batter coming even after pandya and not even including Axar patel who is a great bat himslef

U make modi cm of bihar, bihar will stay bihar.

Similar is the case of pakistan cricket.

Completely disagreed.

Modi will take Bihar levels ahead. Don’t undermine the impact of strong personalities and leaders of incredible will power and vision.

Look what Imran did for us (as a cricketer).

We need a high profile coach.

It’s gonna cost a bomb first of all and secondly even if throw in a great package, there are going to be conditions that have to be met to on-board a top tier coach.

We have to go for it. It’s absolutely critical for the future of your cricket.

In Mohsin Naqvi, we have a person with real authority heading PCB. This is what he should be willing to do for Pakistan cricket.

No more ordinary men. No more mediocre level coaches. We need a top tier top aura coach.

pakistan pace stocks is suffering a steep decline. Since 2025 start pakistan has the lowest pace overs per match among all test playing nations. This is the same in T20 I think. Too much focus on bit part players.

I'm not going to make any excuses for Pakistan's main pacers, but Pakistan don't know anything about workload management. If you want to have a sustainable pace attack in this day and age, workload management is the name of the game. Because of lack of financial security and a complete lack of direction from PCB, we see Pakistani pacers playing little to no first-class cricket but almost every meaningless T20 bilateral series. You can't build a pace attack like that. Fast-bowlers need to get their reps in which can only happen by playing long-form cricket. Just playing T20 endlessly is the equivalent of rotting your brain by watching Instagram reels all day - it has a major negative impact on your bowling.

Also Pakistan do have bowlers like Abbas Afridi and Zaman Khan who are T20 specialists, but instead they always go with name value, despite the numbers not backing that up.

White man will never take up pak coach role ex cricketers (who are after the hefty salary) & media will run em out of town.

Just be prepared for fake mullah Saqlain & his son in law as captain.

White man will never take up pak coach role ex cricketers (who are after the hefty salary) & media will run em out of town.

Just be prepared for fake mullah Saqlain & his son in law as captain.

Pakistan have had plenty of white coaches. But apart from Bob Woolmer and Mickie Arthur, none of them were up to mark or a good fit for our culture.

We are not alone.
India also made a similar mistake when they hired Duncan Fletcher, who wasn’t a good fit for the. Then there were rumours they were gonna hire Stephen Fleming and I believe that would have failed too.

We don’t need shy docile kind of clerk looking white coaches. We need someone with real aura.

NO sane and a man with integrity will coach the team selected by buffoons. PCB needs independence, as the other institutes of Pakistan from scums of the planet.

It’s gonna cost a bomb first of all and secondly even if throw in a great package, there are going to be conditions that have to be met to on-board a top tier coach.

In Mohsin Naqvi, we have a person with real authority heading PCB. This is what he should be willing to do for Pakistan cricket.

No more ordinary men. No more mediocre level coaches. We need a top tier top aura coach.
Which high profile would want to coach these jokers?! You are living in cuckoo land.

First improve your domestic circuit. Your Shaheens were getting mauled by the Lions. No coach can do anything if the player quality is poor.

No need to mock our cricket as we are going through a rough patch. Yesterday your vegetarian bowling line up couldn’t defend 250 in 20 overs. It took Bumrah’s special chucks to avoid an embarrassing defeat. We may have flaws but not in a million years would we fail to defend 250 in T20s let alone a World Cup semi final. It was shameful.

You can't get a more aggressive coach than Mike Hesson. He believes in the Mccullam school of though i.e. regardless of match situation, loss of wickets, you must play your shots.

The problem is not with the coaches, its with the lack of quality, temperament, skills, game awareness of the players he has at his disposal. He can only do as much, he cannot molly coddle everyone. Give him players from Australia, England, New Zealand, South Africa and India and watch him look like a world class coach.

Then why are you even here?

If you have no love or passion for this nation, go to India then and start eating aaloo matar for dinner.
Fukre eat aloo matar for dinner in India, more of lunch dish for Normal folks- but then you would know all about fukrey :amir through your various avatars and alt egos.

PS- whats happening with Pakistani bowlers- all that gosht and trundling in like a landga 🦅

Fukre eat aloo matar for dinner in India, more of lunch dish for Normal folks- but then you would know all about fukrey :amir through your various avatars and alt egos.

PS- whats happening with Pakistani bowlers- all that gosht and trundling in like a landga 🦅

Now some mod will come in and say DONT GET PERSONAL

I think you took my jibes personally; I hit a nerve maybe.

Pakistan lack skill set . To Change you need long term hard plans .

Unless and until you want to change you will not.

You can make a sleeping person wake , not who is not sleeping.

You can't get a more aggressive coach than Mike Hesson. He believes in the Mccullam school of though i.e. regardless of match situation, loss of wickets, you must play your shots.

The problem is not with the coaches, its with the lack of quality, temperament, skills, game awareness of the players he has at his disposal. He can only do as much, he cannot molly coddle everyone. Give him players from Australia, England, New Zealand, South Africa and India and watch him look like a world class coach.
Totally agree ... Pakistan is not Pakistan anymore!

No need to mock our cricket as we are going through a rough patch. Yesterday your vegetarian bowling line up couldn’t defend 250 in 20 overs. It took Bumrah’s special chucks to avoid an embarrassing defeat. We may have flaws but not in a million years would we fail to defend 250 in T20s let alone a World Cup semi final. It was shameful
To defend 250, you have to first score 250. Sour grapes? 😂😂

wont work. u need to weed out insecurity at all levels to have players play as fearlessly as the top teams do. in pakistan if u play for pakistan life is great, if not u need to make ends meet with side gigs on random tv shows.

until the entire cricket economy is stabilised, and professionalised so that your core 100 to 150 players are focused purely on cricket all months of the year, and incentivised to be the best they can professionally you will not get anywhere. which is why i stated in another thread, the only option for pak is to expand the PSL further, as much as i find t20 cricket boring and repetitive its the only format that can sustain a domestic economic product.

the PSL needs to expand to meet the calendar footprint of the IPL, the aim has got to be the second best league in the world. once the league levels up you will be able to produce 5 or 6 world class players, by accident if not by design.

changing coaches treats the symptoms, the causes run far deeper.

Honestly @Bhaijaan you’re not wrong. Pakistan cricket doesn’t need smooth technicians right now ... it needs someone with a proper big dawg energy. If we compare it to the hip hop - not the Jay-Z or Eminem type of smooth operator, but more like an Ice Cube or Tupac Shakur figure who walks in and instantly sets the tone.

A quiet, process-driven coach can easily get drowned out by politics and strong personalities in that dressing room .. alphas like Babar, Agha, Shadab, Abrar etc.

wont work. u need to weed out insecurity at all levels to have players play as fearlessly as the top teams do. in pakistan if u play for pakistan life is great, if not u need to make ends meet with side gigs on random tv shows.

until the entire cricket economy is stabilised, and professionalised so that your core 100 to 150 players are focused purely on cricket all months of the year, and incentivised to be the best they can professionally you will not get anywhere. which is why i stated in another thread, the only option for pak is to expand the PSL further, as much as i find t20 cricket boring and repetitive its the only format that can sustain a domestic economic product.

the PSL needs to expand to meet the calendar footprint of the IPL, the aim has got to be the second best league in the world. once the league levels up you will be able to produce 5 or 6 world class players, by accident if not by design.

In order for PSL to do for Pakistan what it has done for India, you need to have quality world class coaches, players involved in the franchises, dug outs. You also need ruthless franchise owners who will select based on cricketing reasons as opposed to personal relationships and fandom.

I think Hesson is a good coach. Decent record, modern style of playing. He’s also had good success with Islamabad United, which I feel it’s important as it shows he can work with Pakistani players. I don’t agree with others on Mickey Arthur I feel he was a highly overrated coach, who won early on in career and did little else, we had a good group of talented players at the time and all of them pretty much declined and stagnated. I don’t think it was any coincidence either he massively failed in PSL. Or he had a terrible time with other teams like Sri Lanka, Australia etc. I would stick with Hesson for a while. Also the fact he is New Zealand kind of fits us, I want a coach who focuses getting the best out of the limited players we have. New Zealand does this very well given their vastly smaller talent pool to choose from.

Andy flower would be my top pick. It’s funny you mentioned Mcullum but the big turn around for English cricket came with Andy flower. Both as coach and director. And the work he did with Multan sultans was great. And they should have been at a disadvantage having to pick from really the discarded players from other franchises early on. And noticeably when he left, Multan sultans fell to pieces.

I wouldn’t mind McCullum or Ponting. But I don’t think they’d come to Pakistan right now anyway. I really don’t think Hesson is too bad a choice right now though.

What i find funny is the fact that everyone here knows that @Bhaijaan is pretending and bashing Indians, and yet the Indians are getting offended looool

Agreed and I think its fair to say they don't simply have the level of batting talent to play that way anyways and this stems from a systematic issue with the way batters are developed/taught at an early age. For a long time we have been seeing T20 batters come along and none of them play at a modern level. The only players in the history to even a SR of 140 & above are just Afridi & Shadab and they are just allrounders who bat towards the latter stages of the game. Strengthening the PSL would help for sure I just think the way these guys are taught/developed their game at an early stage of their career is hurting them.

The player insecurity can either be addressed through a long term system overhaul but given our hunger for championships we cannot just waste years of our cricket waiting for the system to catch up.

This is why we want Big Dawg Alpha Celebrity coach like BMac or Ponting will come on a 4 year full authority contract. He will give the imaginary license to players to express themselves on the field rather than to hotel room service.

What i find funny is the fact that everyone here knows that @Bhaijaan is pretending and bashing Indians, and yet the Indians are getting offended looool

They don’t understand that I don’t hate them. It’s just my mock commentary that is getting on their nerves. I can be brutal at times. It’s not meant to be personal though. Vegetarian people honestly have done some great things. They made great chefs, musicians and even actors.

Coaching is overrated imo

Apart from skills, the current set of players lack intelligence, game awareness, and the ability to handle pressure, often resulting in poor shot selection. No amount of coaching can improve that. You either have it, or you don't.

McCullum has transformed English cricket. Look at the way they bat. They almost chased down 250 in a world cup semi final. That doesn't just happen by fluke. It's a marriage of talent and great coaching.

Ponting, transformed Kings XI Punjab franchise, a team of mostly young and very inexperienced Indian plaayers. They went to toe to toe last year beating majority of the IPL teams who had much greater and experienced talent pool. It was a phenomenal coachign run for him tbh. He did the same in South Africa month later and made the final there as well.
Indeed, England batted wonderfully well to almost chase down 250 despite little contribution from their three main batters Salt, Buttler and Brook. However, you also have to factor in the conditions.

Pitches in India are flatter / more batting-friendly than those in Sri Lanka, hence we are seeing higher scores in India. The same Indian team only managed 175 against Pakistan in Sri Lanka. It's another matter that our current players somehow always have a brain fade against India. Hesson's obsession with bits and pieces cricketers (you can probably play 1 or 2 but certainly not 3 or 4 in the same eleven!!) also cost us dearly. Lack of genuine all-rounders is the main reason the current team lacks batting depth. Hardik, Bosch, and Santner are genuine all-rounders who are all good enough to get into the eleven purely as a batsman or bowler.

However, Pak do have some quality players. Fakhar Zaman, when on song, is as good a hitter as anyone in the world, and he proved that against Sri Lanka. Farhan too played his part.

Pakistan did not play the right combination. They should have opened with Fakhar and Farhan with Saim at 1-down. With better planning and captaincy, they could have won the game against England despite the average total. Agha's pathetic, defensive captaincy cost us the game. With England 4-down for 50 odd, he should have realised that Brook's wicket was the key. He should have completed Usman Tariq's overs much earlier, even if it meant having fewer attacking options in the last 6 or 7 overs. Brook's wicket then would have sealed the deal. He brought Tariq back when England had crossed 100 (and most of the pressure had been released). Agha showed a complete lack of game awareness. Indeed, we might have still lost the game, but as a captain, you have to be proactive and take such risks sometimes.

Indeed, England batted wonderfully well to almost chase down 250 despite little contribution from their three main batters Salt, Buttler and Brook. However, you also have to factor in the conditions.

Pitches in India are flatter / more batting-friendly than those in Sri Lanka, hence we are seeing higher scores in India. The same Indian team only managed 175 against Pakistan in Sri Lanka. It's another matter that our current players somehow always have a brain fade against India. Hesson's obsession with bits and pieces cricketers (you can probably play 1 or 2 but certainly not 3 or 4 in the same eleven!!) also cost us dearly. Lack of genuine all-rounders is the main reason the current team lacks batting depth. Hardik, Bosch, and Santner are genuine all-rounders who are all good enough to get into the eleven purely as a batsman or bowler.

However, Pak do have some quality players. Fakhar Zaman, when on song, is as good a hitter as anyone in the world, and he proved that against Sri Lanka. Farhan too played his part.

Pakistan did not play the right combination. They should have opened with Fakhar and Farhan with Saim at 1-down. With better planning and captaincy, they could have won the game against England despite the average total. Agha's pathetic, defensive captaincy cost us the game. With England 4-down for 50 odd, he should have realised that Brook's wicket was the key. He should have completed Usman Tariq's overs much earlier, even if it meant having fewer attacking options in the last 6 or 7 overs. Brook's wicket then would have sealed the deal. He brought Tariq back when England had crossed 100 (and most of the pressure had been released). Agha showed a complete lack of game awareness. Indeed, we might have still lost the game, but as a captain, you have to be proactive and take such risks sometimes.

Its not just the superstars. You see how someone like a Will Jacks bats. The way young Rehan Ahmed batted. The mentality, the hitting ability is so refined and fine tuned now. That 250 take down can't just be attributed to a flat pitch. Chasing a total like that in a world cup semi final takes serious belief and ability. The way the players maintained their composure and played shots of merit was an astonoshing and eye opening display for me as a life long PCT fan.

They don’t understand that I don’t hate them. It’s just my mock commentary that is getting on their nerves. I can be brutal at times. It’s not meant to be personal though. Vegetarian people honestly have done some great things. They made great chefs, musicians and even actors.
Does it not hurt your sense of pride a little when vegetarian Indian fast bowlers end up performing better than their non-vegetarian Pakistani counterparts? It must sting a little?

Its not just the superstars. You see how someone like a Will Jacks bats. The way young Rehan Ahmed batted. The mentality, the hitting ability is so refined and fine tuned now. That 250 take down can't just be attributed to a flat pitch. Chasing a total like that in a world cup semi final takes serious belief and ability. The way the players maintained their composure and played shots of merit was an astonoshing and eye opening display for me as a life long PCT fan.
The way England batted (their hitting ability was never in doubt, but they tend to falter in pressure situations), they did not deserve to lose. If only Salt or Brook had stayed a bit longer, they could have chased this total down. However, unlike the other three semifinalists - South Africa (a much better batting team than how they performed in the semi-final, but we are all aware of their problems in KO games), India, and New Zealand - England were less than convincing in some of their earlier games.

I disagree.
England were one of the few teams who entered the semis having won clutch moments, tense games along the way. Thats sometimes more valuable than being on a dominant run. They had their backs against the wall against Pakistan, Sri Lanka, NZ and yet they found ways to win by playing spectacularly under pressure. Against India also, they looked unfazed while chasing. Bethel had ice in his veins and smashed the most cold hearted century in the history of T20 Cricket. Frankly speaking it was more impressive than even Fin Allen blitzkrieg a day before. England proved they were a well coached unit.

These gora coaches are not working... Hesson is simply not making anything work atm... Pakistan needs OG coaches. Local ones... But please get out the obsession os these Aaqibs and misbahs and azhar mahmoods...

Bhai, no one's changing Bihar anytime soon.

Anyone who changes Bihar will get Nobel Prize and that too an authentic one.

These gora coaches are not working... Hesson is simply not making anything work atm... Pakistan needs OG coaches. Local ones... But please get out the obsession os these Aaqibs and misbahs and azhar mahmoods...

I already addressed this problem of ours.
We thibnk every white boy is great coach material when in fact since Bob and Mickie, we only picked mediocre clerks for white boys as our coaches. We have simply failed to ONBOARD a high profile celebrity coach.
You bring in low profile white boys in Pakistan cricket whom even our ordinary ex players don't respect.
We have to bring in a legend, which just commands respect and authority for having given it to us from the backside over and over. Shortlist names of such people. Thats your pool.

Pakistan had two highly rated coaches in Gary Kirsten and Jason Gillespie. What happened to them ?

:mhkThese gora coaches are not working... Hesson is simply not making anything work atm... Pakistan needs OG coaches. Local ones... But please get out the obsession os these Aaqibs and misbahs and azhar mahmoods...
Who else is there?

Maybe bring back Mohsin Khan

Perhaps someone like Imran Tahir can be tried in the long run, who can communicate in local language and is not mixed in local politics.

We bought Gary and Gillespie

How the board treated them it's in front of you

Above named wouldn't coach them

So Hesson needs to stay for the moment

They were both vegetarians.
Get the point bro.

So vegetarians can't coach us

They naturally can after we have a mature and professional system as suggested by Raja bhaiya.

But before that transition ins completed, we have to have alpha male big dawgs and natural predators in the skin of human.

Pakistan have option of choosing Shoaib Akhtar but not sure if he can coach batsmen

He can give literal Phainta in dressing room if required, so players would take him seriously. But Shoaib Akhtar must be asked to communicate with players in Urdu or Panjabi only. No English!

Aussie coaches may not be able to coach desi sides for long. It is because desi teams have too much politics and too much interference.