Pakistan politicians swing into action... to stop push-ups by Pakistan cricket team!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Issue of Pakistan players doing push-ups raised in Parliament. Government members have expressed reservations on players doing push-ups</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/791194221994795008">October 26, 2016</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Politicians believe players push-ups sending wrong message. Players told not to do them. Surely politicians have other things to worry about</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/791197234159386624">October 26, 2016</a></blockquote>

PCB bars players from doing push-ups after lawmakers raised questions

CvrbetAWYAAvBwu.jpg

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has barred players from performing push-ups as part of their celebration after winning matches, PCB Executive Committee Chairman Najam Sethi told a National Assembly committee on Wednesday.

Sethi's revelation came as lawmakers raised questions during a meeting of the Inter-Provincial Coordination Committee over the cricket team performing push-ups after victory in international matches.

The press-ups were first performed by skipper Misbah-ul-Haq when he completed his century on the opening day of the first Test against England in July, and the gesture was repeated by the entire team upon their victory at Lord's.

"Who were Misbah-ul-Haq and other players giving a message to by doing push-ups?" asked Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) MNA Rana Muhammad Afzal.

He wondered why the players did push-ups when the team won and were silent when it lost.

Another PML-N MNA, Chaudhary Nazeer Ahmad, opined that while physical movement was a healthy activity, "it would have been better if the players offered nawafil (special prayers) instead of doing press-ups on the victory".

PCB's Sethi responded that Misbah had performed the push-ups to show off his fitness after completing a century, which was later followed by other players.

The players had done press-ups to following their pre-tour boot camp with the Pakistan Army but "this activity has been stopped now", he told the committee.

Misbah-ul-Haq's side went on an army boot camp before the tour to improve their infamously poor fitness, and senior batsman Younis Khan led the squad in performing a routine of press-ups followed by a military-style salute in front of the ground's famous Pavilion.

"That was my promise to the army guys," Misbah had said at a press conference after the match, referring to the unusual celebration.

Source: http://www.dawn.com/news/1292388

HE is PML (N) rana afzal khan who proposed a ban on Pakistan cricket team's pushup celebration
Why I am not surprised

Agree with Saj bhai he should focus on
Othe thing instead of this little thing

Whilst I feel that our politicians should be discussing more important issues, I do agree with them. With the exception of the Lords test, seeing our players performing pushups has been embarrassing and cringeworthy

PMLN and their hate for anything related to army...Why i am not surprised!

They don't have the IQ to discuss or solve core issues of this country or even PCB.
In fact , they don't intend to solve them.

khalo, peelo, loot lo, koi acha kam na karo aur khabron mein raho ............

There are things of much more inportance,that need to be discussed.

The pushups thing is so trivial.

2 days after Quetta and our clowns are busy discussing this? Show the priorities of these jamhoori clowns.

"it would have been better if the players offered nawafil (special prayers) instead of doing press-ups on the victory".

What would had been a reaction if GOI had given such a suggestion?

Any other govt in Pakistan will have no issue with these push-ups but PMLN and their hate for anything related military is nothing new so look these statements with that context...

Don't be surprised if PMLN Govt tomorrow question why Pakistan player use a cricket bat? (Because cricket bat is the Electoral symbol of PTI)

Dont know why people are havinge problem with this.
Forget politicains.. they are bunch of hypocrites and looters.

But why are they talking about it now?

Did they do it in the West Indies series too?

People are dying of hunger , bribery is a norm and hospitals lack beds , medicines , equipment and doctors. But the issue definitely is pushups.

Finally! Good to see them focusing on the real issues... who cares about minute things like people being killed, poverty, corruption... clearly it's push ups that are holding the country back.

Whilst I feel that our politicians should be discussing more important issues, I do agree with them. With the exception of the Lords test, seeing our players performing pushups has been embarrassing and cringeworthy

"Embarrassing and cringeworthy" Wow! Really???

its was getting cringeworthy anyway
first time was like 'great'
2nd time ok
and then like anderson reacted after azhar ali did again i had the exact same reaction..so its good atleast we wont see that again.

Hassan Nawaz was produced as a star witness by the committee to explain the benefits of not doing press ups. He claimed that if the cricketers followed his fitness regime, they could also have bodies like his.

Absolutely shambolic!!! Blood boiling . .
No words to describe these people . . Let's also tell our teams how to celebrate!!
I don't even wanna talk about these pathetic souls that think along these lines in the Parliament and care about these things that ACTUALLY THE INTERNATIONAL MEDIA LOVED!! it created a trend . . it was talked about positively!!
but PCB?!?!? are you for real . . but obviously . . Najam sethi had to do this!!

Looks like it backfired! Now Najam Sethi is denying it and taking it back after seeing the reaction on media and social media :))

Sethi is a Noora lackey but unlike your average Noora, he realised the stupidity of the ban and thought to himself that whenever there is a press conference, this is all people will talk about and he will look like a complete idiot when he tries to defend it.

WOW that show's priorities of our politicians. they don't have any other issue to discus is parliament?

jote chatne ki bhi koi had hoti hai . pathetic just pathetic

cricketers should offer prayers instead of doing push ups suggests pmln law maker

A PML-N lawmaker during a National Assembly committee meeting on Wednesday said cricket players should offer prayers instead of doing push-ups following a victory.

MNA, Chaudhry Nazeer Ahmad, said during an Inter-Provincial Coordination Committee meeting that while physical movement was a healthy activity, "it would have been better if the players offered nawafil (special prayers) instead of doing press-ups on the victory".

Questions were raised over the cricket teams unusual celebrations during the meeting, as another lawmaker wondered who Misbah and his men were signalling, and why they only did push-ups when the team won and remained silent when they lost.

"Who were Misbah-ul-Haq and other players giving a message to by doing push-ups?" asked PML-N MNA Rana Muhammad Afzal.

Read: Misbah says ‘no disrespect’ in press-up routine

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Executive Committee Chairman Najam Sethi earlier told the meeting that cricket players 'had been stopped' from performing push-ups after winning matches.

He later clarified in a tweet that the celebrations were done "at the discretion of players".

"Sajda or pushups are done at the discretion of players," Sethi said. "PCB highly appreciates the fitness training facilities of the Pakistan Army, utilised thrice in six years."

PCB's Sethi responded to lawmakers' questions by saying that Misbah had performed the push-ups to show off his fitness after completing a century, which was later followed by other players.

The players had done press-ups following their pre-tour boot camp with the Pakistan Army but "this activity has been stopped now", he told the committee.

After his clarification, Sethi asked the media to "refrain from politicising the Pakistan cricket team".

The press-ups were first performed by skipper Misbah-ul-Haq when he completed his century on the opening day of the first Test against England in July, and the gesture was repeated by the entire team upon their victory at Lord's.

Misbah-ul-Haq's side went on an army boot camp before the tour to improve their infamously poor fitness, and senior batsman Younis Khan led the squad in performing a routine of press-ups followed by a military-style salute in front of the ground's famous Pavilion.

"That was my promise to the army guys," Misbah had said at a press conference after the match, referring to the unusual celebration.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1292388/cr...ead-of-doing-push-ups-suggests-pml-n-lawmaker

this is insane. people should demostarte a protest agaisnt this person, infact misbah should had done more push ups just to rub it in his face

Yea, Azhar did it on his century or during the double century mark

I see, I didn't know that.

I personally loved when Misbah did that. It was befitting that a 42 year old man making his debut in England and goes on to hit a match winning century for his team in that match. It was genuinely one of the best celebrations I've ever seen, was like Misbah saying age is just a number to the world.

However when they did it at the end, ot felt slightly awkward, still was good that they paid tribute to the military boot camp. But afterwards, it has become a joke. It's like when you start hating your favourite song when you keep hearing it again and again and the beauty of the song gets lost.

This is next level stupid. We need a new word for this.

I recommend Extrepid.

(Extreme stupid)

Should have also told the players to do the 'sajdah' only after they win the game and not earlier despite the hundred or 5fer they're pleased about.

Why is the state legislating on ways a sports team can or can't celebrate, and that too just one day after a terrorist attack that killed 61 people? So much for priorities.

So they weren't lying when they said democracy is the best revenge.

Noon league is embarrassing the country again. If you read the comments from the parliamentarian, all you can do is just laugh. This is clearly directed against the army

Isn't that celebration over anyway after England test tour?? - I have not seen anybody does it, maybe once by Azhar after 300, it was more off showing off his fitness than anything else.... It's too late to even talk about it :sanga

This is one of the most absurd things parliament could do.

Pakistani politicians and the Pakistani people in general do not understand that you can NOT control what other free citizens want to do. These cricketers are grown men and can do what they will, doing a push up celebration maybe cringey but it isn't illegal or unethical. It's just pathetic how the state and politicians want to control the way people live and even celebrate, this is a reflection of Pakistani society. We're such a controlling group of people, so this decision doesn't surprise me.

Why is the state legislating on ways a sports team can or can't celebrate, and that too just one day after a terrorist attack that killed 61 people? So much for priorities.

Controlling people is part of Desi/Asian culture. Most of the people on this thread expressing outrage actually support similar actions in real life. You don't have to look too far to see how people get censured.

I hope to God that the entire team does more pushups after the next victory, just to rub it into these useless politicians.

Well that was expected, Najam Sethi is firmly in PML-N's pocket.

But that is a discussion for the Time Pass section.

LOL They also reported Najam sethi saying that Ireland cricket board had agreed to tour Pakistan but nawaz sharif refused to give permission due to fragile security condition in the country

Push-ups aside, how come Pakistani players do the sajdah but not the Bangladeshis?

Just curious.

LOL They also reported Najam sethi saying that Ireland cricket board had agreed to tour Pakistan but nawaz sharif refused to give permission due to fragile security condition in the country

And he claimed Nawaz first asked him to get a team to tour Pakistan and when he finally got Ireland on board PM Nawaz said no we can't provide security :)) What a drama!

OK, besides the point that it was getting old, and it only looked awesome when Misbah did it: what da hell are these guys on about? Haha... this warranted a discussion by politicians? This is ridiculous. Now I almost want everyone to do push-ups each time they come out to bat!

Push-ups aside, how come Pakistani players do the sajdah but not the Bangladeshis?

Just curious.

Pakistanis also did not use to do it, until Inzi introduced it in the early 2000s.

Since then it has become sort of a team culture. Doesn't necessarily have to do with religiosity or anything.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Dangerous Pakistani cricketers doing push-ups to terrorise some politicians <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/jOsPDQo3dU">pic.twitter.com/jOsPDQo3dU</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/791321711576748037">October 26, 2016</a></blockquote>

Nawafil are offered to Allah so does not really matter which government (Pakistan or India) is suggesting them.

I would love to see Pakistani players doing 10 pushups after each wicket and after every 50/100 by the batsman

LOL.... ROFL... what words shall i choose... :)))
what is happening there.... politicians in Parliament are having a debate on players celebration and imposing bans on it... oh my lord?? Save pakistan.... leaving issues like poverty, corruption, women equality etc alone, they are focussing on how players are celebrating. No wonder pak came 2nd last off 144 countries in Gender gap in WEFs recent report.

He had to. Had no choice.

Laughing stock these people.

Press ups are literally just a form of exercise. It's not something that we should take offensively.

Its a known fact that PCB is a sarkari mehakma in Pakistan, then why getting shocked at politicians treating cricketers like sarkari mulazim. Tankhwaah lo aur hukam maano in janaab ka. PCB is being handled like PIA and Pakistan railways.

It's obvious cricketers are stars in your country and the establishment there is nervous of a coup. So they are probably trying to stop anything that puts your army in a good light.

Press ups are good for you. It's not like they're popping bottles of champaign or is that what they would prefer.
Misbah and the team are crediting the fitness training they've recieved, it's not political at all.
How stupid and backward are the so called rulers of Pakistan, it's truly embarrassing

Bhai, why is this Cringeworthy?
Players should be allowed to celebrate any way they want.
If Anderson has an issue, he can go heck himself.
Players reserve full right to celebrate their victory, who are they harming exactly?
You have the same opinion as a PML-N parliamentarian? ... Let that sink in for a second.

Don't know why lots of people had problems with the push ups, harmless celebration tactic, don't see the criticism.

The ban is more cringe worthy than the pushups:fafcepalm:

Pathetic stuff from the government.

I also don't get the people who back this. Yes, the celebration might be annoying, but there should be no restrictions as such.

Lol.

They didn't raise the issue because pushups were "embarrassing" or "cringeworthy". They took exception to the fact that they were performed to support the Pak Army.

Nawaz Sharif is worried about push up's!!:misbah He must seriously be feeling insecure.

Agree with the government. Azhar has killed its originality by overusing it and doing it in a very lame manner.

Maybe it's the American in me but if I were a Pakistani cricketer I would pull an Agassi & defy the govt/PCB and do those push ups. There's a difference between ethics and policing personal freedoms. The Pakistani govt wants submission just like every position of authority over there, just don't give it to them.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Barack Obama backs Misbah and his team-mates to continue the push-ups <a href="https://t.co/sEdWQOSeXI">pic.twitter.com/sEdWQOSeXI</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/791537841755058176">October 27, 2016</a></blockquote>

How many push-ups can Imran Khan do at the age of 64? Watch the video and find out.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/ycnT1jHoMH0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

finally someone speaks against what it was becoming a boring rehersal.