Pakistan v New Zealand | ICC World T20 Super8: Match 5 | Bridgetown | 5/8/10| NZ Inn|

crichassan

9 hours to go and the team annouced (geo news).

salman butt
kamran akmal
muhammad hafeez
shahid afridi
umar akmal
misbah-ul-haq
abdul razaaq
muhammad sami
muhammad aamer
saeed ajmal
abdur rehman

GOOD LUCK pakistan repeat the same win against new zealand like in 09 world cup and choke the south african(I know south african choke only in semis but I think pak can do it and GO pakistan

Geez - jumping the gun aren't we?

Almost half a day left until it starts. :)))

seems as if afridi has decided not to use himself as a bowler, hence abdur rehman's inclusion

Down2Earth said:
seems as if afridi has decided not to use himself as a bowler, hence abdur rehman's inclusion

What makes you say that?

Ajmal, Aamer, Rehman, Sami & Afridi will bowl the overs out.

If one of them starts going for runs then Razzaq/Hafeez chip in with a few overs.

YAAR! annoyed at fawad's inclusion if the teams true! :(

WHy AFRIDI WHY!

How about creating a match thread for the 2011 World Cup matches...only about 9 months to go...

kingusama92 said:
What makes you say that?

If one of them starts going for runs then Razzaq/Hafeez chip in with a few overs.
he's been by far the worst bowler (with hafeez providing strong competition) and i think he knows it. down on confidence and it may even be a good thing. he'll focus more on batting.

Down2Earth said:
he's been by far the worst bowler (with hafeez providing strong competition) and i think he knows it. down on confidence and it may even be a good thing. he'll focus more on batting.

He might not bowl his full quota.

You are correct that he has been the worst of the lot thus far. Although it would be odd for him to not bowl at all. I think he can still turn it around against the Kiwis.

Down2Earth said:

lol. Have you missed Sami and Asif's brilliant spells of bowling in the last two games? Afridi comes in at 3 in terms of performance so far bowling wise.

kingusama92 said:
Geez - jumping the gun aren't we?

Almost half a day left until it starts. :)))

Bhai desperately waiting everybody 4 this match ...:):)
All the best Pak...:)

kingusama92 said:
What makes you say that?

so it means Hafeez as a pure batsman ...is it really worth for ...???Fawad should be there and must b play @ 3...!!!!!

Poison said:
lol. Have you missed Sami and Asif's brilliant spells of bowling in the last two games? Afridi comes in at 3 in terms of performance so far bowling wise.

Afridi has gone for more then both of them and he has received the most chances out of both of them.

Asif gave 43 runs in 4 overs.

Sami gave 83 runs in 8 overs yet picked up 4 wickets as well.

Afridi gave 98 runs in 12 overs and picked up 1 wicket.

Its tight between Afridi and Sami. Although Sami has picked more wickets and thus makes Afridi the worst of the lot thus far unfortunately.

Asif can't be counted. He never got a chance to bowl in a second game thus far and plus he bowled to England only while Afridi and Sami got chances at Bangladesh.

As predicted by Ghosht in numerous other threads, Hamlet's storyline is about to climax, literally and metaphorically. :afridi

Watch out Vettori.

kingusama92 said:
Afridi has gone for more then both of them and he has received the most chances out of both of them.

Its tight between Afridi and Sami. Although Sami has picked more wickets and thus makes Afridi the worst of the lot thus far unfortunately.

Asif can't be counted. He never got a chance to bowl in a second game thus far and plus he bowled to England only while Afridi and Sami got chances at Bangladesh.

You need to look at the crux issue of the game, rather than pure stats here. Sami singlehandedly cost us the Aussie game with that over. And Afridi's economy is much better than :Sami

Poison said:
You need to look at the crux issue of the game, rather than pure stats here. Sami singlehandedly cost us the Aussie game with that over. And Afridi's economy is much better than :Sami

Well in that regards Sami turned the Bangladesh game for us.

Which game did Afridi turn thus far for us?

Its kinda sad that I am defending Sami but its the way it is. :( :)

Yes perhaps it will be less argumentative to agree that Afridi has been rather poor in these 3 T20 games so far, very unusual, nonetheless.

Defending Sami is like defending the Holocaust, not gonna work. :Sami

Poison said:
Yes perhaps it will be less argumentative to agree that Afridi has been rather poor in these 3 T20 games so far, very unusual, nonetheless.

Defending Sami is like defending the Holocaust, not gonna work. :Sami

I am sure the beast will correct everything against the lads named after a fruit.

Now I shall leave and go puke after defending Sami of all people.

Am I the only one who got slightly worried last game when Afridi was given the ball by the umpire after Kieswetter hit it out of the ground and he looked down upon it, like he did a few fateful months ago, afterwhich he 'smelt' the ball? :afridi

Anyways Pakistan should come back strongly and batter a weak NZ outfit.

Sami's poor record is due to our poor fielding. If you have been following him since he made his debut, you will understand. He was a gem when he came new to the cricketing scene. Unfortunately, now he is nothing near impressive but I still believe he can shock us by a good performance! :)

Wouldve taken Anwar Ali over him but the selectors havnt given anything to work with!

Poison said:

Am I the only one who got slightly worried last game when Afridi was given the ball by the umpire after Kieswetter hit it out of the ground and he looked down upon it, like he did a few fateful months ago, afterwhich he 'smelt' the ball? :afridi

that was definitely an entertaining moment

they gotta push Razzaq up the order.. like one down or something

we already had a left arm spinner in the team and one who could bat a bit as well. Brain still not working :afridi

Bat first, put up some runs on the board and hopefully the stronger bowling should be able to defend anything in the region of 160

i am sorry to say this. ..

But if Afridi and Sami have to be picked...

My money is on Afridi.. even though he is useless.. but he will not be as useless as Sami....

Why is sami Back ?? :26: Lets hope to finally end his career ....

Abdul Rehman is a bit of gamble.. we need it to work ..

Once again i point out the obvious.. we could have 11 bowlers in the team but if we dont cross 160 we lose.. and if New Zealand cross 160 we lose...

Good luck Pakistan!

Watch out for an assault on Kiwis today. Time to send the doubters back to their holes. :afridi

Let's hope that our very own NZ bully can find some lost form which hasn't been seen since his debut :Sami

Watch out for an assault on Kiwis today. Time to send the doubters back to their holes. :afridi

For once, i dont even care if its :butt assaulting .. or even Hafeez ....

Someone needs to assault....
:26:

We really need the balance that we had in the NZ match of 2009.

This team just doesnt have the same balance.

Lets compare,heres the '09 WC starting 11 vs NZ at the Gul match last year.

Kamran Akmal
Shahzaib Hasan
Younis Khan
Shahid Afridi
Shoaib Malik
Misbah-ul-Haq
Fawad Alam
Abdul Razzaq
Mohammad Aamer
Umar Gul
Saeed Ajmal

^^That is a heavyweight team !

And possibly today

Salman Butt
Kamran Akmal
Mohammad Hafeez
Shahid Afridi
Umar Akmal
Misbah-Ul-Haq
Abdul Razzaq
Mohammad Sami
Mohammad Aamer
Saeed Ajmal
Abdur Rehman

^^Sigh,we really do need Abdul Qadir as our Chief Selector instead of the deadweights we have with Mohsin's bunch.

pakmania said:
We really need the balance that we had in the NZ match of 2009.

This team just doesnt have the same balance.

Lets compare,heres the '09 WC starting 11 vs NZ at the Gul match last year.

Kamran Akmal
Shahzaib Hasan
Younis Khan
Shahid Afridi
Shoaib Malik
Misbah-ul-Haq
Fawad Alam
Abdul Razzaq
Mohammad Aamer
Umar Gul
Saeed Ajmal

^^That is a heavyweight team !

And possibly today

Salman Butt
Kamran Akmal
Mohammad Hafeez
Shahid Afridi
Umar Akmal
Misbah-Ul-Haq
Abdul Razzaq
Mohammad Sami
Mohammad Aamer
Saeed Ajmal
Abdur Rehman

^^Sigh,we really do need Abdul Qadir as our Chief Selector instead of the deadweights we have with Mohsin's bunch.

Actually, I remember somewhere near the beginning of the super eights round last year, Abdul Qadir said he didn't choose the squad for the T20 WC. If he can't accept responsibilities for defeats, he shouldn't be acknowledged for selecting good times either

He himself said the captain and board chairman picked that squad , and it was YK who picked the team - the selectors really have no say - it's all E. Butt and the team captain

We have been rubbish. I have been disheartened despite not seeing the England match. How we lost that match is easy- dropped catches and our most dangerous player run out

Dr_Bassim said:
i am sorry to say this. ..

But if Afridi and Sami have to be picked...

My money is on Afridi.. even though he is useless.. but he will not be as useless as Sami....

Why is sami Back ?? :26: Lets hope to finally end his career ....

Abdul Rehman is a bit of gamble.. we need it to work ..

Once again i point out the obvious.. we could have 11 bowlers in the team but if we dont cross 160 we lose.. and if New Zealand cross 160 we lose...

Good luck Pakistan!

Yaar the whole team is a gamble !

You bring in Asif - he gets hammered
You bring in Sami - he gets pulverized
Hafezz gets hit around!

Your olny sure bet at the moment is Ajmal and even his luck could run out today

Fact is - we would have done well if we had held on to catches - then we would have been praising all these guys!

siccric said:
Actually, I remember somewhere near the beginning of the super eights round last year, Abdul Qadir said he didn't choose the squad for the T20 WC. If he can't accept responsibilities for defeats, he shouldn't be acknowledged for selecting good times either

He himself said the captain and board chairman picked that squad , and it was YK who picked the team - the selectors really have no say - it's all E. Butt and the team captain
The likes of Shahzaib Hasan,Ahmed Shehzad and Mohammad Aamer were names recommended by Qadir to Butt.

Poison said:

When I saw that I was like...'Oh crap! Not again!'.

Insha Allah Pakistan will surprise every one today

Victory will be ours InshaAllah

What a disgrace of a team. It looks like a Pakistan C team. I'm just thinking of the team we could have if everyone was available:

Butt
K Akmal
Khan
Malik
U Akmal
Misbah
Afridi
Razzaq
Aamer
Gul
Ajmal

Now that is a team. Has a solid middle batting order and extremly strong bowling line-up. Pakistan cricket is a joke. We can't even select our best players. We've for players such as Rehman and Hafeez in our team. How can we win the world cup with such players?

Poison said:

GOSH! I wasnt the only one,then! :))

And when they kept on showing Hafeez's hands up close when he was holding the ball and spinning it in his hand..I got even more worried,I thought "Hafeez aisa kuch nahi karna" :42: :42:

its a pity they have made Fawad Alam the scapegoat for the loss in the last match. Surely hes got to be given a proper go and move him up the order. He cant do anyworse than Hafeez and should replace him at 3. Also hes very good in the field and fielding is key in this format of the game

Come on boys last year we turned it around VS NZ which started with and Afridi special:

[utube]afJE1DKjn3k[/utube]

Lets do it again boys!!!

:pkflag

being realistic, i don't expect miracles from our beloved team. they have already broken my heart during the tour of australia
Stress-Kardiomyopathie – Wikipedia. I

Best not to have any expectations this time around.

No expectations, No disappointments.

Strike! said:
Best not to have any expectations this time around.

No expectations, No disappointments.

I am with you on this. :ibutt

Afridi's having a bowl. Fair call, early on in the morning.

Restrict them to 150.

Rehman and Sami for Asif and Alam. :13:

Come on pakistan.......

:afridi will shine today Insha Allah

:aamir will bowl those toe crushers in place of Gul

Some damp in the wicket, might a decent decison from Afridi for once

Ramiz says "indians were found out big time with the pace and bounce"

IM NOT YOU said:
every single team batting first on this pitch has won.

so logically we bowl

:14: :14: :14: :14: :14:

Damp pitch. Early morning start. Good decision.

Btw, not every single team batting first on this pitch has won. Pak batted first in the game vs Eng and lost. :|

If it's a damp pitch why not play Asif? Possibly, Razzaq will open here (seam and control).

Pundits saying Afridi's body language looking very nervy and tense - which is true.

After a bad performance in the field, its a good thing to get back out there and put things right.

im a bit nervous with our batting line up. Does seem to have a long tail. I guess with the extra bowler it would mean the hafeez wont be needed to bowl

Salam bhaiyo!

Great tactical move by Afridi to bowl first. Go Markhors.

Fawad alam the quarbani kar bakra of pakistan cricket..

no matter what happen, he get dropped..

now how did he deserve to be dropped ahead of guys like hafeez and misbah?

come on now ..

Lets just pray....jo bhi hoga koi behetri hogi somewhere...lets just keep our spirits up...someone has to lose obviously but still...lets do what we can do, wish luck to them and pray and hope for the best..

GEO is right again with the team!!!! Looks like someone is leaking info from the camp. Also we need :Sami to a :gul like last year.

dilojaanpakistan said:
Fawad alam the quarbani kar bakra of pakistan cricket..

no matter what happen, he get dropped..

now how did he deserve to be dropped ahead of guys like hafeez and misbah?

come on now ..

Hafeez can bowl and has had few starts & same with Misbah atleast there is some hope that he will hit sixes . Fawad dosen look like a batsmen & with him droped I think pak have a better chance of winning this one