Pakistan v Sri Lanka| World T20 | Lords |12/6/09

IAJ

Salam

Only about 5 hrs left to this huge match. A win here will boost our team's confidience.

So what is the latest about Abdul Razzaq? And how is the weather?

Good luck Pakistan, we wil InshaAllah win today.

Pakistan will come out all guns blazing....hopefully not with empty shells :p

The update on Abdul Razzaq is that he has crossed Chee Choo Kee Mallian and will be reaching Kot Momin in about half an hour so fingers crossed :))

Pakistan will win todays game. The top order (4) of Sri Lanka are not going to be at their best and the middle order and lower order will be exposed.

Go Pakistan!!!!!!!

i tink its hugely important tht pakistan remove the 2 SL openers very quickly as they lack firepower at the bottom and a combination of gul ajmal and afridi wud help strangle then even further.our batting realli needs to fire 2mrw and i hope the openers can see out the first 6 overs out with aleast 45 on the board. inshallah we'll win but we need to play to our stregnths.

Toss will be crucial win the toss and bat. I cant see pak chasing any score against the M's. This is a big game for aamir too jayasuriya and dilshan will definate go after him. Just hope he varies his length and speed and wins the battle.

The key will be early wickets. Though they have some brilliant batsmen, there isn't a lot of depth in the batting. If they can get a few early wickets and get into the middle order quickly then Pakistan should be able to restrict them. That said, anything over 160 will be tough to chase for this Pakistan batting line up.

If Pakistan opt to bat first, then all predictions are useless. The 'unpredictability' of Pakistan has always been there batting. Pakistan's bowling has, for the vast majority of the time, been at the least potent. But again, 160 has to be a minimum.

Sri Lanka will be favourites they have played much tougher opposition so far and beaten them.

They key for Pakistan is taking early wickets and limiting the run-flow. They often rely upon the spinners coming in and doing that but it's not always the best of strategies.

pak4life said:
Toss will be crucial win the toss and bat. I cant see pak chasing any score against the M's. This is a big game for aamir too jayasuriya and dilshan will definate go after him. Just hope he varies his length and speed and wins the battle.

You never know with younis khan. Even if he wins the toss he might opt to bowl first and that will be a big mistake. I hope he realize how important it is to put 170+ on the board. No need to put batsmen under preassure by chasing 170 odd runs.
The good thing is that he decided to bat after winning the toss against Netherlands, so InshaAllah he will continue with that.

The first few overs will be key in both innings.

Batting wise we need to take advantage of the power play and score as much as possible before their spinners come in.

10 runs per over is a must in this period.

Bowling wise early wickets are they key.

After their top 3 Lankan batting fades away fast.

^^

Their spinners come in from the start as Jayasuria as opened the bowling for them in both games! Still have to go after him though. Win the toss and bat, I would think.

Sheikh said:
^^

Their spinners come in from the start as Jayasuria as opened the bowling for them in both games! Still have to go after him though. Win the toss and bat, I would think.

Do you remember when these two teams met in last T20 WC. Younis khan and Shoaib Malik really took Jayasuria to the cleaners. He went for plenty, does any1 remember how many runs he conceded?

Sheikh said:
^^

I'd suggest Afridi opening if that is in fact the case.

Butt will never in a million years be able to hit a boundary off of a slow bowler.

I am not surprised that Sri Lankans are the favourite for this game.Infact they are my favourite team to win the Trophy this time around.They have got probably the most potent bowling attack of the tournament, their batting looks as strong as anyone else and they have got more than a decent fielding side.

Having said all that,

You never know about which Pakistan will turn up at Lord's today.

I have checke all the weather forecast sites and everyone is forecasting a partly cloudy day with no chances of rain. (Hope they have got it right this ttime around.)

In terms of variety in both bowling and batting Sri Lanka are ahead of Pakistan. We will find out if we have the batsman to work out Mendis and Murali.

They havent seen Ajmal before and Afridi is bowling the best he ever has done. The pacers will really need to be accurate though. They havent shown as much variety with changes of pace, slower ones and even the slow bouncer.

Likewise our batsmen havent been innovative with shots. They seem to wanna slog everything.

They are a class apart in fielding too. The one thing that is in Pakistan's favour is history, we have always had the upper hand and Sri Lanka have been their bunny.

Pak players have to play a blinder to get them through and sri have to have a very bad day.

I have checke all the weather forecast sites and everyone is forecasting a partly cloudy day with no chances of rain. (Hope they have got it right this ttime around.)

dont worry bro i am 20 mins from lords and the weather is partly couldy, but bright..and warmer then in recent days...no chance of any rain...also, looking ahead to tomorrow's game against new zealand, the weather is set to be even better then today...sunnier and warmer with top temperature arnd 19/20 degrees...

IMMY69 said:
dont worry bro i am 20 mins from lords and the weather is partly couldy, but bright..and warmer then in recent days...no chance of any rain...also, looking ahead to tomorrow's game against new zealand, the weather is set to be even better then today...sunnier and warmer with top temperature arnd 19/20 degrees...

Off topic: Not to ruin anything matey but in PE (SA) we are sitting at 23C and we are in mid winter!!!!! :D

Pakistan have two advantages by playing at lords.

they are used to the conditions where as Sri Lanka are new to them.

smaller ground so they should be able to it more success sixes than they managed at the powerful oval.

Keith said:
Off topic: Not to ruin anything matey but in PE (SA) we are sitting at 23C and we are in mid winter!!!!! :D

Unfair! The term Winter should be banned in SA and AUS. 23 celcius in mid winter huh! Here in Norway it is -20 in mid winter!

IAJ said:
Unfair! The term Winter should be banned in SA and AUS. 23 celcius in mid winter huh! Here in Norway it is -20 in mid winter!

;-)

The water temp of the ocean is 18C, think i shall go for a swim later .... :D

On_the_up said:
Pakistan have two advantages by playing at lords.

they are used to the conditions where as Sri Lanka are new to them.

smaller ground so they should be able to it more success sixes than they managed at the powerful oval.

small ground might not be such an advantage when you consider they have
Jaysuriya at the top of the order

The only chance we have is if we can get there openers quickly and not give away too many runs at the top

SL likes to score heavily in the first six to give a platform for the middle and lower order
Restricting them or taking wickets in the first six overs should help us restrict them to a reasonable total

We need this again from Tanvir

[utube]AGSM0jIAiNg[/utube]

What'll it take to drop butt from the team!? A few more dropped catches? A few more dot balls!? Saj speaking to inti directly!?

Excited about it. Gonna go mosque first for jumaa then return to watch. Pakistan need to step it up a few levels in batting middle overs and fielding...then we stand a chance

We need to contain them in the Powerplay overs, field well..and bat well (better than last time) during the middle overs.

What time does First Inning start, Second Inning start, and when does game finish?

observer1 said:
What time does First Inning start, Second Inning start, and when does game finish?

First Session 13.30-14.50

Interval 14.50-15.10

Second Session 15.10-16.30

Razzaq should play red bull+ shower+adrenaline.

Yaar ye Pakistan ka match hai aur motivation kya chai hai?

IAJ said:
Do you remember when these two teams met in last T20 WC. Younis khan and Shoaib Malik really took Jayasuria to the cleaners. He went for plenty, does any1 remember how many runs he conceded?

Yup...64 in 4 overs I guess. Should be the worst T20 bowling figures

part time spinners i.e dilshan and jayasuria wont work against younis misbah and malik

Although Razzaq will arrive in England too late for Pakistan's opening match of the second phase Super Eights against Sri Lanka at Lord's on Friday, Younus believes he can still have an impact during the rest of the tournament.

"This game is not possible but I think he will manage the last two games," Younus told reporters at Lord's here on Thursday. "He is a good name in world cricket and in Twenty20 he is a fantastic all-rounder.

"He is a senior guy and his return will be good for Pakistan cricket - he would be in any team in the world," added Younus, who could have Razzaq available for Pakistan's second Super Eights match against New Zealand.

No Razzler.

Source

So how many sixes can we expect from Pakistan today?

just been handed the team sheets

AKmal
Butt
Malik
Younis
Misbah
Afridi
Alam
Tanvir
Gul
Ajmal
Aamer

Sangakkara
Jayasuriya
Dilshan
Jayawardene
Mubarak
Silva
Mathews
Malinga
Muralli
Kulasekara
Mendis

I wonder how healthy Tanvir is for this match. We can;t have any liabilities in the field against this team.

Sohail Tanvir cant be fit? Surely he'll reinjure himself again?

Match Facts

Friday, June 12
Start time 1330 local (1230 GMT)

Teams: Pakistan | Sri Lanka

Big Picture

Is there a team more fascinating to watch than Sri Lanka? Of all the teams that have come into the Super Eights undefeated, none has done it as beautifully as Sri Lanka. South Africa have been too efficient to love, India too imposing (and under-tested) to admire. But Sri Lanka? They have made art in comprehensively defeating Australia and West Indies in the group of death.

No batting order has as many contrasting styles of scoring quick runs, from Tillakaratne Dilshan's get-go bluster (which incidentally he discovered as opener against Pakistan earlier this year), Sanath Jayasuriya's berserker ways, to the silk of Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara. No attack has as many ways of getting you out, from Lasith Malinga's freaky changes of pace, to the wonderful spin of the two Ms - Murali and Mendis.

It is why they are forever the neutral's favourite for any tournament and why they ought to be outright favourites against Pakistan. The 2007 World Twenty20 runners-up have been sluggish in warm-up losses and a thumping by England almost derailed the whole thing. They did more than enough to dismiss Netherlands from the equation yet still haven't looked an entirely settled outfit. Abdul Razzaq is on his way though is unlikely to feature in the game.

But history doesn't quite allow Sri Lanka to be inked in as winners. As they are likely aware, Sri Lanka's big-game record against Pakistan is appalling. Pakistan haven't lost to Sri Lanka in any World Cup game, 50 overs or less (they beat them in a vital game in the inaugural edition in 2007). In 13 games at big, multi-team tournaments, Pakistan have won 10. Just as at the 2006 Champions Trophy, Pakistan sometimes have won when they had no right to - such a shambles they were. So as the best Asian fielding side takes on the worst, predictions will be thin on the ground.

Form guide

(last five matches, most recent first)

Pakistan: WLWLW

Sri Lanka: WWLWW

Watch out for

Sri Lanka's bowling attack of four Ms: Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Muttiah Muralitharan and Ajantha Mendis. With that much skill and variety, preserving a wicket, let alone scoring off them will not be easy. Pakistan played the two spinners with some success earlier in the year, but a big game, with little time to think, is a different contest altogether. Pakistan have only faced Malinga in a limited-overs game once, so the unfamiliarity is still there. It won't have escaped Pakistan's notice either that Jayasuriya has found form again.

Kamran Akmal has been Pakistan's stand-out player of the last few months. It is probably no coincidence that his batting has rediscovered its spark just as his wicketkeeping has - finally - come out of the abyss in which it found itself over the last two years. He is good enough to win a game with the bat; four stumpings against Netherlands and no dropped chances for a while means he may be good enough to not lose one with the gloves.

Team news

Sri Lanka are unlikely to make too many changes - why would they, with the kind of form they are in?

Sri Lanka: (probable) 1 Sanath Jayasuriya, 2 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 3 Kumar Sangakkara (wk, capt), 4 Mahela Jayawardene, 5 Jehan Mubarak, 6 Chamara Silva, 7 Angelo Mathews, 8 Isuru Udana, 9 Ajantha Mendis, 10 Lasith Malinga, 11 Muttiah Muralitharan

Pakistan will tinker; Salman Butt will surely go now, for his fielding if nothing else. Sohail Tanvir seems likely to be free from the back niggle that hampered him against Netherlands.

Pakistan: (probable) 1 Ahmed Shehzad, 2 Kamran Akmal (wk), 3 Shoaib Malik, 4 Misbah-ul-Haq, 5 Younis Khan (capt), 6 Shahid Afridi, 7 Fawad Alam, 8 Sohail Tanvir, 9 Umar Gul, 10 Mohammad Aamer, 11 Saeed Ajmal

Stats and trivia

Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis and Saeed Ajmal have all taken 5 wickets each in the two matches at identical strike rates of 9.6. At 5.37, Ajmal concedes the least runs per over. Tillakaratne Dilshan is the leading run-scorer in the tournament

Quotes

"In this form it is better to take it easy and have fun. It is like WWF."
Pakistan captain Younis Khan after qualifying for the Super Eights.

"He is a genius, what else can I say?"
Kumar Sangakkara, Sri Lanka captain, as eloquent as ever, this time referring to Sanath Jayasuriya.

Alan Wilkins tries to catch out YK re: his 'fun' comment

He bats it away nicely....

MY 3 teams r playing today...of course my support is unconditional to the windies. :D :)

I LOVE SL AND PAK sadly one will lose im hoping for an exciting match to get full worth. :(
both of them will make it to the semis inshallah.
I hope we obliterate the indian bowlin ;-) :13: ...but so much easier said than done

Saj said:
just been handed the team sheets

Mathews
Malinga
Muralli
Kulasekara
Mendis

how ....on earth are we going to play this bowling attack!...

r.i.p salman butt b kulasekara/malinga guaranteed

pray for a big day from 2 of akmal, misbah, afridi, and then hope the bowling fires off. if their spinners spin well, ours should.

Nice to see Pakistan are bowling first, I will be back from Jumma namaz in time to see Butt's onslaught against SL's opening bowlers, using Malinga's pace to slap him to all corners :D

We are bowling 1st.

Ok now just try to restrict them in 1st 6 overs and get 2-3 wickets too if possible.

Nuwan Kulasekera replaces Udana for Sri Lanka. The big news, though, is that Abdul Razzaq is not playing, and Salman Butt gets one more game.

Even cricinfo is surprised.

Atherton

"Pakistan will be hopeless compared to Sri Lanka in the field"

Any link for the match... Salman Butt god knows why he is playing stil

:)) I would retire from cricket if I was facing the kind of criticism Butt is facing right now. Nothing is going right for the poor bloke

Butt is still in the team, because he is left hand batsman or what only theori i can find!

Noman said:
Butt is still in the team, because he is left hand batsman or what only theori i can find!

Really if thats the theory of the team think tank, I better bang my head against the god damn wall.

let the THRILLER BEGIN

PAKISTAN....CHARGEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
SRILANKA CGARGEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

what a bunch of idiots on the pregame show on geo super other than moin can...

they are coming up with some stupid jokes...only geo can come up with morons...this guy actually says that if jaya gets out first ball he can protest and say it was a try balll....***? and the other says that godo decison for them to bat, since if it rain, kam az kam apni batting to aa gayi ....

I will probably go and watch the Sri Lankan innings live, I cant miss The Wonders of Salman Butt in the field, Can I?