Pakistan vs South Africa | 2nd Test | Lahore | 12/10/07 | Day 5

Plasma

Good morning/night to everyone.

Just under an hour to go before play starts.

Well here it is, the final day of the second test. The Big man's last innings and our last chance to save the series. South Africa lead by 349 runs.

It won't be easy but Akmal and Younus are playing well. We still have Inzi and Moyo, so things look better then the first test. Hopefully Inzamam can go out on a high note.

Good luck Pakistan! :19:

We can get close to the target only if we attack the Saffie bowlers. We are going to get rolled over if we close up shop and play for the draw

Why aren't they going to start the game earlier, to make up for the 15+ overs they have lost over the first four days? They used to do it in the series against England last year.

Also, can someone remind me of whether we still have the mandatory overs in the final hour, or has that rule been replaced by the total number of overs for the day? Either way, I don't see the game extending much beyond 5:06/5:08pm local time ... and if Pakistan is within sights of their target, RSA could try to lower their overrate. Is there a recourse in that case? Who cares if they impose a fee on them ... Pakistan would have been devoid of their chance.

Let's go go go ... 9:24am in Lahore ...

Yeah forget abt th target play the ball on its merit if its in the slot hit it hard if its a good one defend it,and look at ur position at tea and then if you have wicktes in hand give it a real bash

octavian said:
according to Geo news Inzi has a "fever" :batman:

That means he will play fast

Arey yaar poora world trade centre hai apna Inzy, Ye mamooli fver kia bigarey ga us ka :D

nosferatu372 said:
Ary digital are the biggest fools in the world. They have not realized that the game has started

What, Really the gam has started?

does anyone know where i can get the stream of this

geopak is down

3 4's in a row by YK - great, aggressive batting

125/1

33.6 Ntini to Younis Khan, FOUR, Three in a row. Brought up, though, by a failed leave. Full and in the zone outside off, Younis leant forward initially before deciding to withdraw his bat. Too late. The ball crashed into the bat and ran away past the slips!

33.5 Ntini to Younis Khan, FOUR, Fab stroke. Full in length, well outside the off stump, Younis glides to the line and leans into his cover drive. Caressed away.

33.4 Ntini to Younis Khan, FOUR, Fifty up for Younis. Another positive knock.. Full and outside off, inviting a drive and Younis obliges; a loose drive and he gets a thickish outside edge to third man boundary.

The result is great ... third boudary in a row. But the way it came ... pleeeeeeze!!!

33.6 Ntini to Younis Khan, FOUR, Three in a row. Brought up, though, by a failed leave. Full and in the zone outside off, Younis leant forward initially before deciding to withdraw his bat. Too late. The ball crashed into the bat and ran away past the slips!

two more fours... Khan's made Pakistan's intentions clear... going for win

Obsessed_in_a_good_way said:
The result is great ... third boudary in a row. But the way it came ... pleeeeeeze!!!

Laga tu Choka he na bes phir bhangra pa ley

The geniuses at Zee Sports (North America, carried by Dish Network) are showing the 4th day. RSA 297/4. Can someone give them a wake up call???

34.4 Kallis to Younis Khan, FOUR, Good cricket all round. It was a really full delivery, swinging in late, on the middle stump line, Younis had kept his left foot across, then withdrew it quickly and played a lovely chip stroke over wide mid-on. Very well adjusted.

34.6 Kallis to Younis Khan, FOUR, Four more. This is positive cricket from Younis. He is not going to buckle down under the pressure. Full and on the middle and leg, flicked away past the short midwicket fielder.

Another two fours by Younis

134/1

hahah Smith is already on defensive........come on guys...keep these runs coming....

well ti seems they are going for the win

but they don't need to do this right now. Just play simple cricket, pick off the 1s and 2s and we can go ballistic after tea if we have wickets in hand.

But still, a good start.

34.6 Kallis to Younis Khan, FOUR, Four more. This is positive cricket from Younis. He is not going to buckle down under the pressure. Full and on the middle and leg, flicked away past the short midwicket fielder.

Shabash merey Pathan Bhai

well ti seems they are going for the win

but they don't need to do this right now. Just play simple cricket, pick off the 1s and 2s and we can go ballistic after tea if we have wickets in hand.

But still, a good start.

YK is hitting anything thats in the hitting zone, I dont mind that approach

ah ic

That's good. But we shouldn't get carried away.

If I may be allowed to suggest an alternate to the previous proposals (including my own):

let the free hitting continue. If we can score ~100 in 15-17 overs, the target would be reduced to 250 in ~70 overs, at 3.5 an over.

If this is the strategy, then I propose sending Misbah at #4.

why do mu stream all stop working right when there is good cricket going on, this is not the first time... :(

I'd rather lose2-0 with us going for the win than lose 1-0 playing boring South African cricket.

man this new Zee thing is really good specially when you have it for muft...

RR needed is about 4 as they expect them to bowl about 85 overs today because of light.

hopefully a good Lahori crowd comes in after lunch.

Change of commentators: Zaheer Abbas on. GREAT!!!! GRRR!!!!!!

Why can't PP-ers do our own audio streaming / voice chat??? Moderators???

zaf1986 said:
Ideally we want to be 200-1 and then really go for the win.

ideally we want to be 458 for 1....i can live with inzi not getting the record... :))) :)))

btw Apna Zaheer Abbas is in the ccom box....

he think pakistan is batting well....thanks Zaheer for letting us know.

iafzal said:
RR needed is about 4 as they expect them to bowl about 85 overs today because of light.

But if we are in with a shout of winning our batsman wont take the light, like England in Karachi 2001.

So we do have 90 overs to win it.

83/84 overs to draw it.

inzibhai said:
ideally we want to be 458 for 1....i can live with inzi not getting the record... :))) :)))

btw Apna Zaheer Abbas is in the ccom box....

he think pakistan is batting well....thanks Zaheer for letting us know.

Well obviously it won't be 458 for 1, so lets keep it realistic. 220-1 at tea and we're in with a shot to win this game.

zaf1986 said:
Well obviously it won't be 458 for 1, so lets keep it realistic. 220-1 at tea and we're in with a shot to win this game.

230 runs in the last session?

nah...doubt it.

If we are 300-310 or so at tea.....140-150 off the last session can be done if we have wickets in hand.

4500 test runs for Younus Khan

anyone else see that girl in pink? she was hot yaar. What do you guys think? Karachi or Lahori girls?

I don't know if it is too early to start count down...but I am going to do it any ways;
At the start of play;
350 runs needed in 90 overs at 3.89 R/O

Now;
316 runs needed in 82 overs at 3.85 R/O

129 runs partnership between Younis & Kamran is the highest for 2nd wicket in Pak-SAF tests for either side!

Zaheer think if pak dont lose any wicket this SEASON, they can go for win..

zaheer abbas takes forever just to state the obvious

embarrassing