"Pakistan will have an upper hand (in the Asia Cup)" : Mitchell Johnson

MUMBAI: Former Australia speedster Mitchell Johnson feels all-rounder Hardik Pandya could be among the key men when India take on arch-rivals Pakistan in the Asia Cup in UAE on September 19.

The Asia Cup, to be held over the 50 overs format, will be played in the United Arab Emirates, from September 15 and the Indian selectors are to meet here on September 1 to pick the squad.

India play their opening game of the competition on September 18 (against a qualifying side), followed by the marquee clash against Pakistan, the very next day.

"Against Pakistan, Indias age-old cricketing rival and neighbour, and keeping UAEs pitch conditions in mind, I think seamers like Umesh Yadav and Hardik Pandya would work in India's favour," Johnson, an expert commentator with Star Sports for the Asia Cup, told PTI.

"Pandya is currently doing well in the United Kingdom, where he is utilising the conditions well."

Pandyas ability to extract pace from pitches and smartly bowling at length when required will help knock out the tricky Pakistani batting line-up.

"I am actually excited to see the way Umesh Yadav will bowl in the Asia Cup," said Johnson.

"Yadav's biggest asset lies in the ability to choke an opposition at crunch times along with knocking opponents out with variations/reverse swing during his spells."

Yadav, along with Pandya and (Jasprit) Bumrah, can perfectly set up the situation for the spinners who would be carrying the mantle of negotiating matches through the middle overs," explained Johnson, who has 313 wickets to his credit from 73 Tests.

Hardik picked up his first five-wicket haul in Tests in the third Test against England that helped his side to win the contest and keep the five-game series alive.

Johnson, however, did not discount that Pakistan will hold advantage over others in the continental show-piece as they have the experience of playing in the UAE.

"Pakistan will have an upper hand and will enjoy playing in UAE due to its prior experience of playing in the PSL (Pakistan Super League) and knowing the weather/pitch conditions inside out," he said.

Johnson, who also played in 153 ODIs, also feels that the tournament could go down as the one dominated by the bowlers.

"The pitches in UAE have traditionally produced belters, but with the bowling line-up all the teams possess currently we might remember this years tournament as the bowlers' tournament," he remarked.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...l-factor-against-pak/articleshow/65608119.cms

We were told by PP armchair experts that Pandya was a useless bowler including a certain poster - that they would take a one-legged Anwar Ali over him.

Glad that an ex-world class bowler knows what they're talking about.

Is Johnson looking for a PSL contract? :batman:

- Ignores Bumrah, Shami, Bhuvi.
- Is excited about two of India's worst bowlers in Umesh and Pandya.
- Thinks Pakistan start as favorites.

That's some expert. :salute:

We were told by PP armchair experts that Pandya was a useless bowler including a certain poster - that they would take a one-legged Anwar Ali over him.

One fluke does not make a good bowler.

Bhuvi in odis who averages 38 with the ball lol i am scared

Ex world class like really? at maximium he was a decent bowler nothing much

I grade players according to the following:

1. ATG
2. Legendary
3. World Class
4. International/Decent
5. First Class

300 wickets from 73 matches (more than 4 wickets per match) @ avg 28 makes him world class (at the very least) in a more batting friendly era and on flatter Australian wickets. I'm sure we would say the same if there was a Pakistani bowler who achieved the same stats.

Obviously, Pakistan are favourites. India have the worst bowling attack in the top 10.

It's interesting to see the average of players that don't play the IPL against India, versus those who do. It's 7.6 times the average, which proves that those who play IPL are worked over by familiarity, but not by skill.

Those who do not play the IPL average 232.7 against India's bowling, while those that do average 30.62. Interesting stats

One fluke does not make a good bowler.

It was a great spell of swing bowling but yes it must be a fluke if you're willing to take a one legged Anwar Ali over him.

If it was Faheem I'm sure it wouldn't go down as a fluke by the members of the hype circle on here (including yourself).

It was a great spell of swing bowling but yes it must be a fluke if you're willing to take a one legged Anwar Ali over him.

If it was Faheem I'm sure it wouldn't go down as a fluke by the members of the hype circle on here (including yourself).
If it was Faheem, a few insecure Pakistanis like yourself would disappear from PP for a little while. I haven’t proclaimed Faheem as some world beater, but I will definitely defend the bloke when someone with a clear bias calls him a ‘non-cricketer’, when he has played only a handful of games.

Hardik Pandya is not an all-rounder in my opinion. He has had enough chances to prove that. Part time bowler who has the potential to be a decent batsman.

I grade players according to the following:

1. ATG
2. Legendary
3. World Class
4. International/Decent
5. First Class

300 wickets from 73 matches (more than 4 wickets per match) @ avg 28 makes him world class (at the very least) in a more batting friendly era and on flatter Australian wickets. I'm sure we would say the same if there was a Pakistani bowler who achieved the same stats.

his overall test bowling average in ''AWAY'' is 31 for the world class bowler he have to be good both home and away

no matter how much aus wicket are flat that were his home condition the Australian bowler are grown up on these pitches so no excuse of flat pitches

If it was Faheem, a few insecure Pakistanis like yourself would disappear from PP for a little while. I haven’t proclaimed Faheem as some world beater, but I will definitely defend the bloke when someone with a clear bias calls him a ‘non-cricketer’, when he has played only a handful of games.

Hardik Pandya is not an all-rounder in my opinion. He has had enough chances to prove that. Part time bowler who has the potential to be a decent batsman.

That may be true if I was an Indian cricket supporter but I'll say it as I see it. Faheem is not good enough to be a front line bowler because he is inferior to Amir, Hasan Ali, Abbas, Shaheen and even the likes of Shinwari and Junaid etc. Also he hasn't scored a single knock (other than an 83 against a minnow playing their debut test) of any note whatsoever.

Pandya has produced a good set of decent performances in his 2 year international career. Faheem is one year less experienced than him but has done zilch in both aspects of the game. I doubt he will come anywhere close to Hardik let alone match him once he's been in the international set up after the same period.

his overall test bowling average in ''AWAY'' is 31 for the world class bowler he have to be good both home and away

no matter how much aus wicket are flat that were his home condition the Australian bowler are grown up on these pitches so no excuse of flat pitches

That is the reason why he falls short of ATG and legendary status. To be able to take more than 4 wickets per match at the end of your career isn't a joke!

your standard seams to be very low for ''world class'' category.do you know ajit agarkar odi record he have 288 wicket at a average of 27 but i have never heard he was called worldclass .

Bhuvi in odis who averages 38 with the ball lol i am scared

It isn't his average that should worry you, but his economy rate.

With 4 bowlers averaging low 20s for India, the last thing you want is someone who makes you work hard for every single run. Besides, he averages 24 against Pakistan, so even there he is good. :))

[MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] this thread is turning into Pandya vs Ashraf, kindly look into this.

What should I do bro? Johnson mentioned Pandya and also talked about Pakistan, and Faheem is Pakistani :|

Faheem vs Pandya is a hot topic :(

It isn't his average that should worry you, but his economy rate.

With 4 bowlers averaging low 20s for India, the last thing you want is someone who makes you work hard for every single run. Besides, he averages 24 against Pakistan, so even there he is good. :))

Do you hafeez economy rate ?i won.t be too proud about economy
You 4 bowler might be averaging in 20 but our 6 to 7 bowler are averaging in 20s so last thing you would want your team to bundle out for 157 again.
How many matches have b.kumar played agianst pakistan ?and do you know what was his performance against pakistan last time he played against them conceded 70 odd lol hahha

Do you hafeez economy rate ?i won.t be too proud about economy
You 4 bowler might be averaging in 20 but our 6 to 7 bowler are averaging in 20s so last thing you would want your team to bundle out for 157 again.
How many matches have b.kumar played agianst pakistan ?and do you know what was his performance against pakistan last time he played against them conceded 70 odd lol hahha

Resorting to lies now? :facepalm:

As for all the bowling comparisons, there you go, take a good look. :)

1 Jasprit Bumrah IND 775
2 Rashid Khan AFG 763
3 Hasan Ali PAK 742
4 Trent Boult NZ 699
5 Josh Hazlewood AUS 696
6 Kuldeep Yadav IND 684
7 Adil Rashid ENG 681
8 Kagiso Rabada SA 676
9 Yuzvendra Chahal IND 666

https://www.icc-cricket.com/rankings/mens/player-rankings/odi/bowling

Resorting to lies now? :facepalm:

As for all the bowling comparisons, there you go, take a good look. :)

Sorry bumrah was the culprit i thought it was b.kumar

As for the ranking nice try to shift the topic i don.t see b.kumar in the list where is he ?

Obviously, Pakistan are favourites. India have the worst bowling attack in the top 10.

It's interesting to see the average of players that don't play the IPL against India, versus those who do. It's 7.6 times the average, which proves that those who play IPL are worked over by familiarity, but not by skill.

<b>Those who do not play the IPL average 232.7 against India's bowling,</b> while those that do average 30.62. Interesting stats

What? When you post incredible stats like this one, you should back it up with links containing the data.

Those who do not play the IPL average 232.7 against India's bowling, while those that do average 30.62. Interesting stats

If this is an attempt at humor, then well done.

One of the Asian channels will def show it in the UK, these things are normally revealed quite late, at times without much advertising.

Anyway, Pak and India havet o be tournament faves and Pak may have a slight edge h2h but it wont mean much. We have to understand they are still a developing side but it should be competitive.

That may be true if I was an Indian cricket supporter but I'll say it as I see it. Faheem is not good enough to be a front line bowler because he is inferior to Amir, Hasan Ali, Abbas, Shaheen and even the likes of Shinwari and Junaid etc. Also he hasn't scored a single knock (other than an 83 against a minnow playing their debut test) of any note whatsoever.

Pandya has produced a good set of decent performances in his 2 year international career. Faheem is one year less experienced than him but has done zilch in both aspects of the game. I doubt he will come anywhere close to Hardik let alone match him once he's been in the international set up after the same period.
How many games for Faheem Ashraf? You are not being objective at all, sorry. No matter how ‘neutral’ you are trying to come across here. Pakistan hasn’t played much cricket for you to judge the cricket team, let alone judging Faheem Ashraf who became regular only this year.

your standard seams to be very low for ''world class'' category.do you know ajit agarkar odi record he have 288 wicket at a average of 27 but i have never heard he was called worldclass .

Wah ji lets compare test bowling averages to ODI bowling averages. Makes no sense whatsoever using the same standard to assess bowlers across formats.

Cricinfo Statsguru, I have a huge database, I will post a coloured excel sheet soon

No need for a colored excel sheet, just letting us know who these players are with a 237 average against Indian bowlers will be sufficient.

Why would Bhuvi and co play? I thought India was going to play a "B" team.

Bhuvi will but Bumrah most probably will not. The amount of workload of Bumrah is unreal and he has been bowling 20 overs per innings. I don't think he is going to play in Asia cup. Shami, Umesh Yadav and Ishant don't play ODI anymore. So we are probably looking at young pacers with bhuvi leading them. Chahal and Kuldeep will play.

India will not play full strength squad, so yes Pakistan will have an upper hand to start with

Expecting Pandaya to get smashed all over the park alongwith spray gun Yadav.

I always thought pandya had more talent with the ball. But he has not developed his bowling and taken it to the next level.

Asia Cup is a pointless tournament, so India should be testing their big players. If they send their B or C team, of course Pakistan will be favorite.

Yes, the excuse brigade ready for all eventualities.

India have had a very long summer in England and they have a big series coming up in Australia. Common sense dictates that the likes of Kohli, Bumrah, Pandya, Dhawan, Rahul etc. should not be playing in the Asia Cup.

That is an 'India' problem. In no way will that bring down the importance of any victory or defeat. Record books will read an India or Pakistan win - nothing more.

I don't see India making the final without a full strength team. A few solid phaintas await the Indian team if they send in a weaker team.

Dont be so sure - We have a history of making some teams look better than they you usually are :)

Perhaps, but I think it will hurt the ego of our fans if India sends a second string team. Naturally, they don’t like the idea of India not taking a tournament seriously where they will play multiple matches against Pakistan.

Sending a weak team with young players is actually a win-win situation for India. If they lose, it will be a learning curve for them, and if they win, it will greatly humiliate Pakistan.

That is an 'India' problem. In no way will that bring down the importance of any victory or defeat. Record books will read an India or Pakistan win - nothing more.

Record books will read a Pakistan win over a weak Indian team. Minnow bashing and weak team bashing has been the story of Sarfraz’s captaincy post the Champions Trophy, so it will be nothing new for him.

In the last Asia Cup a full strength Bangaldesh side was enough to deny Pakistan a place in the final.

Surprised to see so much confidence in their fans after that.

I wonder what's going to happen if India A team beats Pakistan to win the cup. Where will they hide after that?

In the last Asia Cup a full strength Bangaldesh side was enough to deny Pakistan a place in the final.

I wonder what's going to happen if India A team beats Pakistan to win the cup. Where will they hide after that?
Its very surprising for an Indian fan who has deleted 2017 from his/her memory. I salute your cricketing knowledge if you are not able to discern the difference between the Pakistan side that played in the Asia Cup 2016 and the current team. Then again, Indian fans and ignorance is a match made in heaven.

India A has no chance of making the Asia Cup final. Any Indian team without Virat Kohli is India A for me.

Record books will read a Pakistan win over a weak Indian team. Minnow bashing and weak team bashing has been the story of Sarfraz’s captaincy post the Champions Trophy, so it will be nothing new for him.

I have yet to come across a record book which categorizes teams as weak or strong.

The result simply says Team A won by x wickets or runs.

All the other hoopla is for 'fans' to argue about which is fair.

pakistan squad for 2016 asia cup

Khurram Manzoor

Umar Akmal

Sharjeel Khan

khalid latif

Anwar Ali

Wahab Riaz

Mohammad Irfan

Mohammad Amir

m.sami

Shoaib Malik

Imad Wasim

Shahid Afridi (Captain)

M.Hafeez

Mohammad Nawaz

Iftikhar Ahmed

Sarfraz Ahmed

pakistan probably squad for 2018 asia cup will be

Sarfraz Ahmed (captain),

Asif Ali

Babar Azam

Faheem Ashraf

Fakhar Zaman

Haris Sohail

Hasan Ali

Imam-Ul-Haq

Junaid Khan

Mohammad Aamir

Mohammad Hafeez

Mohammad Nawaz

Shadab Khan

Shoaib Malik

usman khan

only five players have survived from that 2016 squad so better do research before bash other team and yes we have confidence of beating your team because we have give you epic phainty in 2017 against your ''A'' team so beating you b or c won,t be problem for pakistan

Its very surprising for an Indian fan who has deleted 2017 from his/her memory. I salute your cricketing knowledge if you are not able to discern the difference between the Pakistan side that played in the Asia Cup 2016 and the current team. Then again, Indian fans and ignorance is a match made in heaven.

India A has no chance of making the Asia Cup final. Any Indian team without Virat Kohli is India A for me.

O bhai...Virat Kohli will not play since his back is injured. Its guaranteed. Not sure about others but the board might give precautionary breaks. If it means India wont qualify for Asia cup final..so be it. We have 6 Asia cups already...nothing more to prove.

Perhaps, but I think it will hurt the ego of our fans if India sends a second string team. Naturally, they don’t like the idea of India not taking a tournament seriously where they will play multiple matches against Pakistan.

Sending a weak team with young players is actually a win-win situation for India. If they lose, it will be a learning curve for them, and if they win, it will greatly humiliate Pakistan.
Speak for yourself, most of us won't really care. How the Pakistan cricket team does is more important for the majority here. With regards to the importance of this tournament, I believe I have mentioned in another thread how this serves as a good warm-up for the plethora of tough challenges that await Pakistan in the coming year. With all due respect to India and whichever team they send, the series against Australia and New Zealand in the UAE are far bigger tourneys than an Asia Cup and will rightfully gauge the strength of this Pakistan team.

O bhai...Virat Kohli will not play since his back is injured. Its guaranteed. Not sure about others but the board might give precautionary breaks. If it means India wont qualify for Asia cup final..so be it. We have 6 Asia cups already...nothing more to prove.
Well then, India A it is

Of course, I remember 2017. Life begins and ends with 2017 for Pakistan. How could I forget about it?

I just hope that the regular posters here, including yourself, don't go into hiding as you guys usually do when India wins.

Pakistan will hammer India, we may not even make it to the finals. Our ODI ranking flatters us, we deserve to be 6th or 7th ranked team at max. In fact I am leaning towards a final between Pakistan and Sri Lanka/Bangladesh.

Let me just put my observations here:

1) India is the favourite to win.(India 60%:Pakistan 40%)

2) If they send a second tier team, Pakistan will race through them and the rest of the teams to win, only an upset in the final can make things worse.

3) Toss will play an important role in Pak/Indo clashes since no matches in Sharjah, only Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

4) Spinners will have an important role to play throughout.

5) One should get ready for upsets from Bangladesh.

Speak for yourself, most of us won't really care. How the Pakistan cricket team does is more important for the majority here. With regards to the importance of this tournament, I believe I have mentioned in another thread how this serves as a good warm-up for the plethora of tough challenges that await Pakistan in the coming year. With all due respect to India and whichever team they send, the series against Australia and New Zealand in the UAE are far bigger tourneys than an Asia Cup and will rightfully gauge the strength of this Pakistan team.

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?275664-Predict-India-s-squad-for-the-2018-Asia-Cup

If you go through this thread, you will find that a lot of Pakistani posters are obsessed with the notion that India will send their full-strength team to the Asia Cup, and suggesting otherwise is laughable. It is clear that the idea that India will rest their main players and won't take the Asia Cup seriously stings them.

You might think that playing Australia (without their two best batsmen) and New Zealand are more important series than the Asia Cup, but for the majority, the Asia Cup is more important because of multiple matches against India, which gives either side bragging rights.

If India sends a weak team to the tournament, it will disappoint our fans. Also, losing to an Indian team with fringe players will be disastrous.

I have yet to come across a record book which categorizes teams as weak or strong.

The result simply says Team A won by x wickets or runs.

All the other hoopla is for 'fans' to argue about which is fair.

Sure, but the general cricket audience cares. That is why only in Pakistan is someone like Sarfraz a better captain than Kohli.

Of course, I remember 2017. Life begins and ends with 2017 for Pakistan. How could I forget about it?

I just hope that the regular posters here, including yourself, don't go into hiding as you guys usually do when India wins.
:))) irony

Indian population on this forum faced extinction right after the CT. Don’t talk about going into hiding when Indian fans are the absolute masters of it. I’m certain you will not be seen here soon enough too :yk

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?275664-Predict-India-s-squad-for-the-2018-Asia-Cup

If you go through this thread, you will find that a lot of Pakistani posters are obsessed with the notion that India will send their full-strength team to the Asia Cup, and suggesting otherwise is laughable. It is clear that the idea that India will rest their main players and won't take the Asia Cup seriously stings them.

You might think that playing Australia (without their two best batsmen) and New Zealand are more important series than the Asia Cup, but for the majority, the Asia Cup is more important because of multiple matches against India, which gives either side bragging rights.

If India sends a weak team to the tournament, it will disappoint our fans. Also, losing to an Indian team with fringe players will be disastrous.
An Indian team without Virat Kohli in the Asia Cup plays right into Pakistan’s hands. I, for one, won’t really care and would want Pakistan to play with the same intensity whatever team India decides to send. To be honest, we can afford to play the likes of Hafeez against India A considering how good he is at minnow bashing.

Yes, for me Asia Cup is a warm-up. We play Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and England in less than a year from now. We’ll snatch the bragging rights from India anyhow at the World Cup meet next year :amir2

They won the tri series recently (India, SL and Ban) with their A team (without Kohli). So based on this they are likely to make the final. I know that was a T20I tournament but I would take that team over SL and Bangladesh any day because they have a lot of depth in their squad and I wouldn't be surprised if they were to win the tournament. That would serve the hype circle the humble pie they deserve.

It will be foolish of India not to send their full strength team after the phainta they received against us last year.. The common Indian and Pak cricket fan cares more about an Indian-Pakistan match rather than bilateral test series.. If someone doesn't agree with this then he/she is lying not with us but with himself/herself...

For any professional cricket board, sentiment and emotions are of little value. For BCCI, the well-being of its key players is of paramount importance, and not what the common fan in India - let alone Pakistan - thinks.

India have had a long season, and they have some massive cricket coming up with the tour of Australia, the IPL and the World Cup.

They cannot afford to have Kohli injured, who is on painkillers already or to have their front-line bowlers break down, just because some common fans will break their TVs or the media will grill them for a few days.

It will very foolish of BCCI to cater to the sentiments of the people rather than look after its players.

What is the worst that can happen? An Indian team with fringe players gets battered by Pakistan in a low-profile tournament.

However, all of that will be forgotten if India do well in the upcoming assignments like the Australian tour and the World Cup, or if they beat Pakistan in the World Cup as per the norm.

On the contrary, if they do send their full team to the Asia Cup and beat Pakistan, none of that will matter if they fail in Australia and in the World Cup.

Obviously, if their main players play in the Asia Cup, it does not mean that they will get injured. They probably won’t, but the risk is greater than reward.

The Asia Cup is of little priority compared to the Australian tour, the World Cup and the IPL. If India didn’t have a tough season coming up, they probably would have played their full-strength team. That might happen still, but it would be a foolish risk on BCCI’s part.

It has the potential to be a blockbuster tournament, but it needs to be organized better. As long as it is played either before or after an important series for the participating teams, it will have little hype.

It needs more space in the calendar with good buildup. However, it is difficult to achieve because of the rocky relationship between the Asian boards.

Sure, but the general cricket audience cares. That is why only in Pakistan is someone like Sarfraz a better captain than Kohli.

Those are opinions and not facts.

Wins/losses are facts.

Those are opinions and not facts.

Wins/losses are facts.

W/L ratio means little without taking into factor the strength of the position. In the only tough ODI series after the Champions Trophy, Sarfraz’s team got thrashed. That is also a fact.

For any professional cricket board, sentiment and emotions are of little value. For BCCI, the well-being of its key players is of paramount importance, and not what the common fan in India - let alone Pakistan - thinks.

India have had a long season, and they have some massive cricket coming up with the tour of Australia, the IPL and the World Cup.

They cannot afford to have Kohli injured, who is on painkillers already or to have their front-line bowlers break down, just because some common fans will break their TVs or the media will grill them for a few days.

It will very foolish of BCCI to cater to the sentiments of the people rather than look after its players.

What is the worst that can happen? An Indian team with fringe players gets battered by Pakistan in a low-profile tournament.

However, all of that will be forgotten if India do well in the upcoming assignments like the Australian tour and the World Cup, or if they beat Pakistan in the World Cup as per the norm.

On the contrary, if they do send their full team to the Asia Cup and beat Pakistan, none of that will matter if they fail in Australia and in the World Cup.

Obviously, if their main players play in the Asia Cup, it does not mean that they will get injured. They probably won’t, but the risk is greater than reward.

The Asia Cup is of little priority compared to the Australian tour, the World Cup and the IPL. If India didn’t have a tough season coming up, they probably would have played their full-strength team. That might happen still, but it would be a foolish risk on BCCI’s part.

It has the potential to be a blockbuster tournament, but it needs to be organized better. As long as it is played either before or after an important series for the participating teams, it will have little hype.

It needs more space in the calendar with good buildup. However, it is difficult to achieve because of the rocky relationship between the Asian boards.

Kohli who is on painkillers will get injured playing 2 odis vs Pakistan but not playing complete 2 five day matches?? Thats a phattu mentality. Dont think Kohli is such a phattu. he will not play if he is injured otherwise he should and will play.

Also dont think Indians in general care about test matches as much as they care about odis.. Not talking about the pp ones, they wont make more than five percent of the fans.

Again match against Pakistan matters keeping in mind what happened last time too. And am sure Indian players have that in mind too and would love to win.

Lastly only Kohli played the full test season. Rahul aint a sure starter in odis. Their team is fit and still strong enough.

W/L ratio means little without taking into factor the strength of the position. In the only tough ODI series after the Champions Trophy, Sarfraz’s team got thrashed. That is also a fact.

Let me put this to you again.

A win is a win.
A loss is a loss.

You can put whatever flavour on it as a fan, but the facts remain facts.

Kohli's men dream of a world domination, and it will require a solid bench strength. Better test it against World #5, #7 and #8 before we give them a push against top sides.

Also, I agree with [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] that defeating India means defeating India irrespective of what squad we play. Makes no difference.

Let me put this to you again.

A win is a win.
A loss is a loss.

You can put whatever flavour on it as a fan, but the facts remain facts.

There is a difference between your perception and reality. A win is not a win, and a loss is not a loss. That is not a fact, and the ICC ranking system shows that.

According to the ICC rankings, beating higher ranked teams gives you more points than beating lower ranked teams, and losing to lower ranked teams costs you more points than losing to higher ranked teams.

Trust a thread like this to run for multiple pages.

#IndiaPakistan