Pakistani people on flights

marlonbrowndo

It pains me to have to make this thread but as someone who has travelled across the whole globe, why are flights to and from Pakistan always the so bad when it comes to passengers? Both domestic and international flights. Whether it be people arguing over switching seats, people standing up as soon as the plane lands, not listening to the plane staff, not respecting other people’s personal space etc. Even in the seating lounge.

Been observing this my whole life now and it’s embarrassing and frustrating.

I dont fly much but I have noticed the trend.

I think it is general mannerism and things have gotten worse with time.

Our country is God’s way of punishing the world, and our behavior on flights is just a small glimpse of the type of people that we are.

Am a witness to this but many Pakistani men try their luck with Pakistani airhostesses but dont have the guts to try the same with a gori airhostess

I have been flying for 3 decades. Pakistanis' lack of manners is untouchable. We are just miles worse than any!

Although I must say that one thing that never happened, DID happen - I did not notice anyone unfastening the seat belt until the light was turned off after the plane made connection to the Jetway at KHI. Landing was around 2 am I believe. I should have recorded the event.

Am a witness to this but many Pakistani men try their luck with Pakistani airhostesses but dont have the guts to try the same with a gori airhostess

I forgot to mention this and it’s very true. Trust me though I’ve seen them try with airhostesses of all different nationalities. It’s pretty disgusting and I feel bad for the women who are just doing their jobs

I have been flying for 3 decades. Pakistanis' lack of manners is untouchable. We are just miles worse than any!

Although I must say that one thing that never happened, DID happen - I did not notice anyone unfastening the seat belt until the light was turned off after the plane made connection to the Jetway at KHI. Landing was around 2 am I believe. I should have recorded the event.

A truly rare occurrence

My favorite was when people open the overhead lockers before the plane has come to a stop, and rush for the door. I'm not sure if this still occurs, but it certainly used to. I once had someone's wheelie bag land on my head.

I would understand this happening on a bus, since once the bus has slowed down enough but not come to a halt, you could employ the old jump-off-and-run routine, but that's hardly something one can do on a plane.

It's bad but to be fair Americans arent all that civilized either.

I dont blame Pakistanis for not having flight etiquette. It's an expensive deal and our people dont have the experience.

The one thing that bothers me a lot is how they hit on hostesses.

It’s the same on all Asian flights and on American flights domestically around national holidays. OP shouldn’t feel too pained about it

our blokes are high on the hassie toh phassie routine... old uncles are messed up too on the flights, coughing at you or in ur direction with no effort of covering...

i once almost lost it as a 55ish yr old guy kept giving me dirty looks and remarks thinking i am kneeling against his seat, whereas the captain had just announced "we will face some turbulance"

To be really frank, this is not limited to just Pakistan travellers. I remember in 2016 when I was flying from New York to Delhi, there was a guy who got up just when the plane was about to land and started opening the overhead bin causing panic among the air-hostess on the flight.

Let's be honest, desis are generally the worst people to share a flight with. Yes Americans, Chinese etc have bad apples too but desis seem to have a higher proportion of them. Once on a flight to Doha, this uncle decided to eat his biryani with his hands (not that I have a problem with that) but after finishing started wiping his hands on the seat and upholstery.

I've only flown gulf based airlines to pakistan and most of the passengers are indians that don't let little children and toddlers crawl all over and you also get the strong smell of coconut oil. I wonder if flying turkish would be better.

Let's be honest, desis are generally the worst people to share a flight with. Yes Americans, Chinese etc have bad apples too but desis seem to have a higher proportion of them. Once on a flight to Doha, this uncle decided to eat his biryani with his hands (not that I have a problem with that) but after finishing started wiping his hands on the seat and upholstery.

Thats very unhealthy. Its common sense. You dont need to even learn abcd to know these.

As someone that has the displeasure of flying both PIA and Air India, one thing that all these patriotic overseas Indians and Pakistanis that bleed green or blue have in common is that they NEVER fly back home with their respective national airlines :))

To be really frank, this is not limited to just Pakistan travellers. I remember in 2016 when I was flying from New York to Delhi, there was a guy who got up just when the plane was about to land and started opening the overhead bin causing panic among the air-hostess on the flight.

And once one person stands up the whole plane is up and running and then you feel for the staff and the weaker ones.

I recently flew to Egypt and the Egyptian men displayed the same behavior. On our flight to Istanbul, it wasn't as bad but tmany older Turkish men simply ignored instructions and did what they wanted.

So it is not a desi thing only.

Its equally bad on other flights too. At least we don't get erotic on the plane seats.

Flying from Dubai/Abu Dhabi to Pakistan is one of the worst experience. Sorry but this was the Pakistani labour class; they had no manners, never listened and were abusive. I felt sorry for the air hostesses and even apologised at the end on behalf of the junglis on the flight.

As someone that has the displeasure of flying both PIA and Air India, one thing that all these patriotic overseas Indians and Pakistanis that bleed green or blue have in common is that they NEVER fly back home with their respective national airlines :))

I mean just read the post above yours. People who have lived abroad their whole lives are criticizing us for criticizing Pakistanis. It’s hilarious :)))

Square drive is right though. As someone who travels a lot due to my work I have witnessed English men misbehave far worse with Air hostess than Pakistanis do. In fact I have never witnessed Pakistanis trying it on with female staff. Pakistanis do try to put down their own lot and make the rest of world look like angels.

Our country is God’s way of punishing the world, and our behavior on flights is just a small glimpse of the type of people that we are.

A bit too harsh an assessment. This punishment view is pretty problematic. There are tangible causes of said behaviour that can be identified and used to improve things. As impossible as it seems sometimes

You haven't travelled with Eastern Europeans. They are on par it not worse, have no sense of queues or netiquettes while travelling.

Some of you need to travel on other airlines. In the UK they are thinking of banning alcohol, BEFORE and during the flights.

Oh this thread has got my blood boiling...

Took my young family, which included two very young kids, to Karachi 15 years back.
London to Dubai, no problem...
Dubai departure gate, oh my god don't even get me started.. "Kids and elderly please make your way to the plane", everyone stands up and rushes to the entrance. Absolutely no regard for the elderly or those with young kids.

Absolutely no manners whatsoever and even less common sense. Do they think they're not going to get on the plane or that their designated seats are going to suddenly vanish????

Absolutely pathetic behaviour.

Oh this thread has got my blood boiling...

Took my young family, which included two very young kids, to Karachi 15 years back.
London to Dubai, no problem...
Dubai departure gate, oh my god don't even get me started.. "Kids and elderly please make your way to the plane", everyone stands up and rushes to the entrance. Absolutely no regard for the elderly or those with young kids.

Absolutely no manners whatsoever and even less common sense. Do they think they're not going to get on the plane or that their designated seats are going to suddenly vanish????

Absolutely pathetic behaviour.

Only us with kids or old people would understand that.

The only issue is that some people have so many handbags that the cabin above your seats and nearby are occupied quickly. So sometimes you have to be alert to get the wanted space.

My advice to everyone would be to boycott Asian Airline companies like PIA. I only fly with British Airways and American Airlines.

Dubai/Abu Dhabi/Sharjah to Peshawar is as bad as it gets. You can only feel sorry for the attendants.

My advice to everyone would be to boycott Asian Airline companies like PIA. I only fly with British Airways and American Airlines.

PIA is very convenient because of direct flights.

It pains me to have to make this thread but as someone who has travelled across the whole globe, why are flights to and from Pakistan always the so bad when it comes to passengers? Both domestic and international flights. Whether it be people arguing over switching seats, people standing up as soon as the plane lands, not listening to the plane staff, not respecting other people’s personal space etc. Even in the seating lounge.

You obviously haven't been on a Jamaican airways flight or even a flight with Hispanics or Latinos on board. Believe me, our Pakistani flights are very civilised in comparison.

PIA is very convenient because of direct flights.

Not to the US because PIA had to make a mandatory rescreening stop in Manchester, UK. Anyway - that is now a moot point because PIA cut all of its US routes.

Even in Europe - PIA is cutting a lot of it’s routes and no longer flies to Edinburgh, Dublin etc.

The PIA flight to Toronto is still very convenient though...

Is that really the only airline that does direct flights in Pakistan?

Yes, but BA will prove to be a superior alternative in the future. I am not sure if they have resumed flights already.

Not to the US because PIA had to make a mandatory rescreening stop in Manchester, UK. Anyway - that is now a moot point because PIA cut all of its US routes.

Even in Europe - PIA is cutting a lot of it’s routes and no longer flies to Edinburgh, Dublin etc.

I travel by Emirates when I go to the U.S. so I wasn't aware of the stop in Manchester. Anyway, I have to go England very frequently so PIA is ideal for me. 8 hours flight with no stopover, perfect.

American Airlines is one of the worst ones when it comes to customer service. Getting on AA is like getting on a bus.

Most US based airlines are crap.. I haven’t flown to Pakistan in years but usually emirates, Qatar, Turkish are the preferred options these days. Gulf used to be good but not sure if that’s still the case. People flying from NY prefer PIA due to direct flights but in other parts of the country, the ones I mentioned are the preferred ones for Pakistanis.

one time I was flying back from Colombo to Karachi in Sri Lanka Airline and some Pakistanis were drinking alcohol and then 2 drunk Pakistanis start fighting each other during flight :facepalm:

Most US based airlines are crap.. I haven’t flown to Pakistan in years but usually emirates, Qatar, Turkish are the preferred options these days. Gulf used to be good but not sure if that’s still the case. People flying from NY prefer PIA due to direct flights but in other parts of the country, the ones I mentioned are the preferred ones for Pakistanis.

PIA cancelled the NYC route in October 2017....

American Airlines is one of the worst ones when it comes to customer service. Getting on AA is like getting on a bus.

Agree AA is rubbish and so is United to be frank. The only US carrier that is still decent is Delta.

I travel by Emirates when I go to the U.S. so I wasn't aware of the stop in Manchester. Anyway, I have to go England very frequently so PIA is ideal for me. 8 hours flight with no stopover, perfect.

Does PIA to London - Heathrow from Peshawar? I know it does from Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad. I”m also aware Emirates flies to Peshawar so that is a convenient one stop flight to most major cities in the world for you :)

Agree AA is rubbish and so is United to be frank. The only US carrier that is still decent is Delta.

Most of the airlines in the US are bad except for Southwest. I was on a Southwest flight once to LA and they turned off all the lights then brought a little cake to celebrate the birthday of a passenger. I was mighty impressed.

Does PIA to London - Heathrow from Peshawar? I know it does from Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad. I”m also aware Emirates flies to Peshawar so that is a convenient one stop flight to most major cities in the world for you :)

Not anymore, but it is not a major issue considering Islamabad just over 1.5 hrs away.

But yes, Emirates provides a very convenient option. Plus Dubai Airport is perfect for a stopover.

A truly rare occurrence

Indeed. You do not get to see the phenomenon often.

By the way, I never meant to bash my community. Unfortunately our lack of education reflects this kind of behavior. Pakistanis in general are awesome people to be around with. I hardly ever meet people who do not appreciate Pakistani neighbors in their community.

If I may inject my thoughts on this topic. I have been traveling both domestically and internationally (though I live in USA) with my family which also include two toddlers and one recent addition of an infant. I usually go to Pakistan (KHI), twice a year from USA to bring my parents to live with us during Summer and then drop them off sometime in Dec. We also go to KHI every couple of years during Winter for vacation. I have traveled both in front of the plane (where I witnessed, an Uncle and Auntie stealing a plush blanket and a pillow and basically get caught) and also back of the plane (where this attitude is prevalent).

Singapore Airlines:
Though SQ do not have flights to Pakistan but usually the pax are well behaved and SQ staff is amazing when it comes to traveling with KIDS and when you are traveling in business class.

Qatar Airlines:
I love QR based on the following, A somehow direct flight to KHI from my home based airport, best meals, kid friendly. Usually USA-DOH sector is OK but DOH-KHI leg has its own up and downs when it comes to pax behaving irrationally but nothing bad or standout.

Turkish Airlines:
Another good option when it comes to traveling to KHI. A good stopover (though the new IST airport is quite far from the city) option, KIDS friendly and ppl behave normally (esp when their only flight to KHI lands around early morning). Oh and I forgot they have amazing food options both in economy and business class on a long haul flights. Even on short haul intra EU flights, they serve proper meals. As far as general Pakistani tantrums on TK flights, I have plenty to share (usually involves) hitting on female FA) and even one DEWANA asking a FEMALE FA to be his guest in KHI cuz he owns the city. I was traveling in business class and gentleman was very persistent throughout the 5 hours flight from IST to KHI.

Emirates:
They are cutting back lot of services but still a good bet. I have seen some nasty behaviors from pax on emirates flight (may be due to their arrivals in the middle of the day, they do have plenty of flights to KHI).

Etihad:
Same as above but less frequency to KHI. Similar mad rush to pick up the hand luggage and dash towards the door or forming a line in the gallery.

Thai:
is unique as they fly from both BKK and Muscat to KHI and are allowed to pick up/drop the pax in KHI ( a fifth freedom flight). Usually very good when it comes to services but suffer from apnai ppl bringing the attitude (and off course plenty of plastic bags from BKK and storing them in the overhead bins).

Also this pax attitude is just not limited to PIA or Pak. ppl, if you haven't been to Fort Lauderdale on SouthWest/Spirit, then try it, you will forgot our bhai log nastiness.

I can go on and on, when it comes to different airlines and how ppl behave on these airlines but let's stop here.

Though I will end this long post with the following article, which for some reason, can't be topped when it comes to shear terror inflicted upon the harmless FA on EVA air.

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/e...va-air-flight-attendants-to-wipe-his-backside

Not anymore, but it is not a major issue considering Islamabad just over 1.5 hrs away.

But yes, Emirates provides a very convenient option. Plus Dubai Airport is perfect for a stopover.

I myself use Emirates when travelling between Toronto and Karachi

I've observed this first-hand multiple times.

It's said, but as others have said, this really gives an insight to how people in the country are.

Like the government is a reflection of the people..this is just a mini version.

The last time I went to Pakistan, there was this huge lady sat near me taking up her own seat and half of mine.

The flight was due to land in Dubai first and she kept on shouting at the top of her voice Bubai ageya?

I have heard that PIA might resume direct flights from NY, CHI, and HOU.
https://www.brecorder.com/2019/03/13/480640/pia-for-direct-flights-to-united-states/

Clearly none of you have been on Air India LOL. Jet Airways was decent but RIP Jet Airways. I'll miss you bad. Now I have to fly on AIr Canada to LHR and British Airways to Chennai lol.

In defense of Pakistani people - I would say this is true of many nationals. South Asians in general are pretty bad (saw horrible behavior among North Indians) but I think mainland Chinese people could take the cake.

Lower the country in the GDP+PPP+HDI totem pole - worse the behavior of people in general from that country.

It's even worse when you land at Jinnah International Airport and everyone fights to get in first in line like savages in the queue. Gotta call out some snakes for cutting in, when they wouldn't dare do that in a Western country's airport when they go there.

What I have noticed about Pakistanis during flights is that they enjoy alcohol however as sson as they land back in Pakistan - they become your personal Gods if you do something non Islamic. Pakistanis are hypocrites of a higher order.

AP KERO TU SAWAB HAI DOOSARAY KERAY TU SIN HAI. This is the story of Pakistan and Pakistanis in general.

You can change plane.. the people will remain the same.

It's bad but to be fair Americans arent all that civilized either.

I dont blame Pakistanis for not having flight etiquette. It's an expensive deal and our people dont have the experience.

The one thing that bothers me a lot is how they hit on hostesses.

For real ,(us)Americans are savages when it comes to flying lol

One of my friends is an air hostess with Emirates. Told me last week her worst passenger was a Saudi male, who was extremely drunk, who started berating and harassing her and telling her she was going to hell for not being Muslim.

The guy was extremely drunk on a plane talking about who is and isnt worthy of hell :))

Too many desi kukar tay vilaity nakhray on this thread.

Feel like more people are embarrassed for other people being who they are when that is all they have been all their lives.

What I have noticed about Pakistanis during flights is that they enjoy alcohol however as sson as they land back in Pakistan - they become your personal Gods if you do something non Islamic. Pakistanis are hypocrites of a higher order.

AP KERO TU SAWAB HAI DOOSARAY KERAY TU SIN HAI. This is the story of Pakistan and Pakistanis in general.
I have also noticed this.

It is a shame really.

One of my friends is an air hostess with Emirates. Told me last week her worst passenger was a Saudi male, who was extremely drunk, who started berating and harassing her and telling her she was going to hell for not being Muslim.

The guy was extremely drunk on a plane talking about who is and isnt worthy of hell :))

Sad thing is nothing will likely happen to the Saudi, particularly if they were flying to DXB

Airlines in that part of the world allow their people to even assault others (foreigners of course) without reporting it

The most funny thing to me is when a Pakistani guy argues and asks for a halal meal. Then orders a beer to go with it. :facepalm:

i took a flight from Karachi to Lahore with Air Blue, and it was not bad at all. Seems like some serious exaggeration on this forum

This happens usually from the flights coming from Gulf states and sometimes from U.K (esp PIA). Again this phenomena is not limited to just desi folks, Chinese/Indians and even Americans (on some low budget carriers) behave exactly the same. Speaking of which, I find that Chinese tourist ( due to recent influx of money and given their pop. size, hence seeing more or more of them) are the most rude and obnoxious bunch of ppl (Russians come very close, but again it's Russia). I was staying in Budapest recently, and due to a Jet leg, I was awake and decided to make it to the breakfast around 5:30 AM local time. Officially breakfast was supposed to open at 6:00 AM but by 6:00 AM, only things left were used plates, and my dashed hopes of having some breakfast in peace. There was big Chinese group staying at the hotel and by 5:35 AM, they broke (not literally) the WALL and attacked the breakfast buffet like our DESI folks do during a Wedding reception.