PCB and Younis Khan decide to part ways with immediate effect

Pakistan Cricket Board and Pakistan men’s national cricket team batting coach Younis Khan today mutually agreed to part ways. Younis was appointed last year in November on a two-year contract until the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

PCB Chief Executive Wasim Khan: “It is sad to lose an expert of the stature and experience of Younis Khan. Following a series of discussions, we both have reluctantly but mutually and amicably agreed that it was time to move in different directions.

“I want to thank Younis Khan for his contributions during his short stint as the Pakistan men’s national cricket team’s batting coach and hope he will remain available to assist the PCB by sharing his vast knowledge with the emerging cricketers.”

Both PCB and Younis Khan have agreed to not to make any further comment on the reasons for the former captain’s departure.

Pakistan men’s national cricket team will travel to the United Kingdom without a batting coach, while the decision to appoint Younis Khan’s replacement for the West Indies tour will be made in due course.

Pakistan men’s national cricket team will tour the UK from 25 June to 20 July for three ODIs and three T20Is, while the West Indies tour will be from 21 July to 24 August where the visiting team will feature in five T20Is and two Tests

I guess you'll hear more about this in the coming days - particularly from Younis.

Am I surprised? Not really. It was always going to happen.

I won't be surprised if Yousuf takes up the role, given the fact the players have been giving a lot of credit to him

Younis Khan (no matter how big a player he was) IS a BIG Administrative headache

If I were at PCB, I would never ever employ YK given his mercurial short temper

He's got the makings of a good coach. Hope he goes away and gains some more experience and maybe down the road he can come back.

Younis would be best utilised developing grass root players. PCB should also support him obtaining experience and various coaching qualifications, it would be a shame not to take advantage of his valuable insight into the art of scoring heavily and also the mental side of cricket, Younis was never gifted with raw ability and had to deal with a number of personal losses during his career, players need help with how to handle overcoming this in addition to technical challenges during their career.

Let me guess the reasons (which YK will claim) :
1) Respect not given
2) Don't want to be Dummy coach as Misbah has all the powers

PC B was not able to give due respect and financial benefits to Yoni Bhai which he deserved being a brand and superstar of Pakistan cricket.

One of Pakistan's Top 10 batsmen easily.

I would rather Misbah, Waqar and our desi fielding coach than Younis Khan, who is far better than all 3 combined.

This is a very good example of how we run our cricket. Younis was never ever going to be a good batting coach, but without any thinking or planning we hired him, only to fire him few months later. Of course nobody was improving and the only guys who have been in an amazing form are Babar and Rizwan who were never helped by anyone and whatever they are today it is because of their own hard work.

Yousuf should be our batting coach if we must hire someone from Pakistan. But the problem with Yousuf is that he is another coach who can't help but play some politics. They all want power and want to run things the way they see fit.

I seem to always be hearing of Khan parting ways with the PCB haha

Pakistan needs a genuinely world class batting coach.

Let me guess the reasons (which YK will claim) :
1) Respect not given
2) Don't want to be Dummy coach as Misbah has all the powers

I think it will be more about the second option because if you recall, even Babar had problems with Misbah and Wasim not selecting the players he wanted. Perhaps Misbah wasn't giving Younis the time necessary to work with the players individually.

Players learnt aggression with Yousaf so Yousaf as temp replacement might not be a bad idea. Yousaf is a calm individual and easily approachable to players in my view.

Whatever you do don’t select Inzi.

Sorry brother, but that is not possible. I know our set up is not very professional, but come on, you think Misbah would not allow players to spend time with their batting coach. These players are not kids and they all can go to Younis whenever they feel like it and pick his brain if they genuinely believe that Younis can help them improve when it comes to batting. When there was a batting session going on, Younis was in charge not Misbah.

I just head the news on TV that Younis parted because he is not happy with selection for England tour. Why Younis Khan, a batting coach, was trying to poke his nose in the matters of selections?.

A useless coach, who failed at his job and is now running away after enjoying nostalgia of being part of national team.

No batting coach for the England tour, the one place where you need it the most.

One of the most infurtiating things about Wasim Khans tenure in my eyes has been the way that every ex PCB cricket had the red carpet rolled out for them. These guys all threw tantrums to get jobs and it was highly likely they would through tantrums during them.

These cry baby whinger ex players should have nothing to do with the PCB set up.

No batting coach for the England tour, the one place where you need it the most.

wasim khan should utilize his contacts to try and find a batting coach to work with us in the UK, honestly a level 2 ECB coach working in 2nd xi for counties would do a better job then most of our drama bazay ex players.

Younis Khan has got enough notes in his book to write a few memoirs so he will be ok.

I just head the news on TV that Younis parted because he is not happy with selection for England tour. Why Younis Khan, a batting coach, was trying to poke his nose in the matters of selections?.

A useless coach, who failed at his job and is now running away after enjoying nostalgia of being part of national team.

Well because a coach's performance is judged based on the performance of his players(batters in this case). Mohammad Wasim has been creating big headaches ever since his power point tenure begun. If the selectors and coaches/captain are not on the same page, how are they even supposed to string together a team they want. In this case, Wasim has been trying real hard to force a few guys into the eleven somehow.

[/B]

Sorry brother, but that is not possible. I know our set up is not very professional, but come on, you think Misbah would not allow players to spend time with their batting coach. These players are not kids and they all can go to Younis whenever they feel like it and pick his brain if they genuinely believe that Younis can help them improve when it comes to batting. When there was a batting session going on, Younis was in charge not Misbah.

It is unlikely, but you never know with Misbah.

He wasn't even letting the captain choose the playing XI, I think that says volumes about how much he interferes with processes that don't require his attention.

It was always a matter of not if but when. Something tells me he may have been approached by a PSL franchise for some high paying position.(QG or LQ possibly. Nadeem Omar and Fawad Rana both have a history of giving jobs to guys they are on good terms with especially Nadeem Omar).

Nevertheless, young players have always been pretty comfortable with Younis. He was also a vocal supporter of Fawad Alam.

The timing of the decision is very bad though.

We just need to look at the crop of Level 3 certified coaches from England. They have a lot of them and they are quite efficient as well.

It is unlikely, but you never know with Misbah.

He wasn't even letting the captain choose the playing XI, I think that says volumes about how much he interferes with processes that don't require his attention.

Good point. Is it Imran Khan who has told everyone to not touch this guy and let him run things the way he wants? Boggles my mind when I think about this.

According to a source, he was not satisfied with the way the national team is being prepared for the future.

[/B]

Good point. Is it Imran Khan who has told everyone to not touch this guy and let him run things the way he wants? Boggles my mind when I think about this.

The Head Coach must understand that it's the captain who goes onto the pitch with the playing XI.

A lot of Babar's selections, or better yet, the players he wanted to be selected, were good choices.

The issue is that there is no presence of logic anywhere in the selection system, despite how professional Mohammad Wasim may look.

Firstly, why was the squad announced before the PSL, especially since this is a T20 WC year? I mean what possible justification is there to favor Azam Khan ahead of Sohaib Maqsood? Why can't Malik get a chance if he's still performing up to the expectations set? We're taking Arshad and Wasim if I'm not mistaken, so why can't Dahani replace one of them given that he's had a standout season with the ball? Wahab Riaz has also shown better form than Hasnain, yet will we really shoot ourselves in the foot and carry out-of-form players?

Secondly, this whole concept of fitness is just extremely confusing. Sharjeel was included for the tour of SA, but Haris Sohail wasn't because of what? Wasim's reason was that he wasn't fit enough, but have you even seen Sharjeel run a double? What's ironic is that one of the two averages nearly 50 and didn't fix but still doesn't make the team.

Misbah's team balance is awful to say the least. It's quite clear that we go into most games a batsman short, especially with wannabe batsmen like Shadab and Nawaz.

Our system is run like a circus.

According to a source, he was not satisfied with the way the national team is being prepared for the future.

Makes sense. Everything is being chopped and changed, the players themselves aren't pulling their own weight as well.

Typical Younis Khan, It is always about him and thinks that he is bigger and better than the team and the rest of the coaching staff and nothing that ever goes wrong is his fault.

Younis has a great cricketing brain and someone who knows what he is talking about, but this does not mean that he can be a good batting coach. Besides, If I am the leader of my team in any capacity, I would try to stick around and wait for the right moment to do what is right, not always run away when things go south.

What is it with Bowling and Batting coaches, or any ex-Pakistan cricketer involved with PCB that they want selection powers ? Have been hearing this for a long time. What is the job of Selector then ?

The Head Coach must understand that it's the captain who goes onto the pitch with the playing XI.

A lot of Babar's selections, or better yet, the players he wanted to be selected, were good choices.

The issue is that there is no presence of logic anywhere in the selection system, despite how professional Mohammad Wasim may look.

Firstly, why was the squad announced before the PSL, especially since this is a T20 WC year? I mean what possible justification is there to favor Azam Khan ahead of Sohaib Maqsood? Why can't Malik get a chance if he's still performing up to the expectations set? We're taking Arshad and Wasim if I'm not mistaken, so why can't Dahani replace one of them given that he's had a standout season with the ball? Wahab Riaz has also shown better form than Hasnain, yet will we really shoot ourselves in the foot and carry out-of-form players?

Secondly, this whole concept of fitness is just extremely confusing. Sharjeel was included for the tour of SA, but Haris Sohail wasn't because of what? Wasim's reason was that he wasn't fit enough, but have you even seen Sharjeel run a double? What's ironic is that one of the two averages nearly 50 and didn't fix but still doesn't make the team.

Misbah's team balance is awful to say the least. It's quite clear that we go into most games a batsman short, especially with wannabe batsmen like Shadab and Nawaz.

Our system is run like a circus.

Fantastic points as always.

If we let chachas, mammas, Moin Khan, Wasim Akram, and Imran Khan to sit on the seventh sky and run our cricket from there, then absolutely nothing will improve and this circus will go on for another 100 years.

Good riddance.

An egotistical man with an anger problem. He should never have been in the coaching staff after the DISGUSTING knife incident.

He tried his theatrics with the notebook but they didn’t work.

Any other country in most cases ex pros once they finish take up jobs lower down the ranks , lower leagues working with kids to prove themselves, gain experience and then when they deserve it are considered for top jobs. Our pros want to walk straight from the field on to the throne and throw tantrums when they get exposed.

Younis without a doubt is a passionate guy but, he has a tendency to try and increase the scope of his role. He surprisingly restrained himself for sometime but, it didnt look like it was going to last forever.

It was clear from some of his press conferences that he wasn’t particularly amused by the selections and criteria of batsmen.

All around the world the scope of a batting coach is mainly restricted to working with the given set of batsmen in the team and is not particularly involved in the selection decisions, yes input can be considered.

Hopefully the replacement is good, would really like someone who has some experience of working with younger guys at junior level as guys like Haider, Abdullah, Azam etc. obviously require different handling then senior pros. Younis’ idea of giving main responsibility to the batsmen while he guided them around their game was a good approach for someone like Babar, Rizwan and other senior pro or so but I dont think it was sufficient for the young ones who obviously are not that confident of their game at such a time of their career.

High time for PCB to start considering coaches with past experiences at domestic or junior level with a proper growth structure in place for such coaches rather than appointing people out of the blue.

This is what happens when you appoint a YouTube analyst as your chief-selector.

Younis Khan resigning as batting coach was in the cards. He openly criticized the selection (and with good reason), saying it was done on the basis of social media pressure and complained of interference in his work as batting coach

Ofcourse Mohammad Waseem's admirers will find a way to pin this all on Younis. Eventhough PCB made it clear that they parted ways amicably which tells me his problem was not with the PCB. Because if it was, he would have shouted it from the roof-tops like pretty much every previous time

Younis without a doubt is a passionate guy but, he has a tendency to try and increase the scope of his role. He surprisingly restrained himself for sometime but, it didnt look like it was going to last forever.

It was clear from some of his press conferences that he wasn’t particularly amused by the selections and criteria of batsmen.

All around the world the scope of a batting coach is mainly restricted to working with the given set of batsmen in the team and is not particularly involved in the selection decisions, yes input can be considered.

Hopefully the replacement is good, would really like someone who has some experience of working with younger guys at junior level as guys like Haider, Abdullah, Azam etc. obviously require different handling then senior pros. Younis’ idea of giving main responsibility to the batsmen while he guided them around their game was a good approach for someone like Babar, Rizwan and other senior pro or so but I dont think it was sufficient for the young ones who obviously are not that confident of their game at such a time of their career.

High time for PCB to start considering coaches with past experiences at domestic or junior level with a proper growth structure in place for such coaches rather than appointing people out of the blue.

The theory has long been that you can't really adjust a technique whilst on tour. These changes occur during an off season. We seem to have it backwards in Pakistan.

This was always on the cards, especially given YK is very close to some who are not in favour at the PCB currently.

How hard is it to give him the U19 team? I don't get what was the point of having him as a batting coach when you were gonna bring in Yousuf in Test series? It seems like another one of Wasim Khan's gems where he is trying to accommodate everyone

With that being said YK is an egoistical maniac who is a danger to every team he's associated with so might not be a bad thing uno

This was always on the cards, especially given YK is very close to some who are not in favour at the PCB currently.
[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] bhai why does everyone, even the bowling and batting coaches in PK want Selection powers.
This seems to be issue with more or less everyone.

According to reports he was unhappy because of the following

- Players were being picked and dropped due to social media pressures rather than actual performances

- He was unhappy with the growing importance Yousaf was given at the NHPC and the fact the PCB allowed him to work with the players in the Pakistani team

- He was unhappy with the coaching methods and practices at the NHPC

The last straw for the PCB was when YK refused to report to the biosecure bubble in Lahore.

Maybe Shoaib is right and Andy Flower is about to take charge and wants his own team?

Wishful thinking I know

I'm surprise Wasim Khan put up with Yunis Khan for so long.

Yunis Khan cannot stay on any job for more than 3 months without picking up a serious fight , he has some issue because of that he is not capable of doing a coaching job.

He is not Dravid, who is much more calmer , professional and a decent guy and a legendary batsman.

- Players were being picked and dropped due to social media pressures rather than actual performances

- He was unhappy with the growing importance Yousaf was given at the NHPC and the fact the PCB allowed him to work with the players in the Pakistani team

The last straw for the PCB was when YK refused to report to the biosecure bubble in Lahore.
If this is true, I seriously think Younis has issues. Great batsman, but some other temperamental issues.

this kind of selfish mentality, why cant our players work with both, good riddance.

Similar reports:

Sources said Khan was not happy with the PCB management's decision to send batting great Mohammad Yousuf to the players' camp before the homes series against South Africa.

PCB and Younis Khan are like Ross and Rachel from friends. They are always breaking up and then getting back together and all-in-all have a very toxic relationship.

Considering YK's past history with PCB, it doesn't surprise me. I expected him to quit. LOL.

What an insecure guy. He refused to give time to Haider Ali when the latter requested him to train him, saying he is busy. Haider was then referred to Yousaf.

[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] bhai why does everyone, even the bowling and batting coaches in PK want Selection powers.
This seems to be issue with more or less everyone.

I guess YK wasn't happy with some of the guys he was being asked to work with and wanted more say in who was being picked.

YK's honeymoon period was over and for the first time questions were being asked of his coaching abilities and what he was doing with the batsmen.

He responded by saying he couldn't improve the players while on tour and then by resigning.

Yk is a narcissist, it dawned on me when he tried to hog the limelight when all that media furore happened about sharjeel being selected and then being unfit , and yk saw the opportunity to become like the police academy drill sergeant and put sharjeel through his paces eventhough that is not yks job since his role is batting coach not fitness and physio.
That piggy back was the icing on the cake that yk has no clue what he is doing just a complete circuis act for the cameras like the scribbling on the notepad.

Great batsmen , but really iffy coach with a difficult personality and interpersonal skills , it will benefit pakistan team that he is away from them , yusuf has more ability as a coach

Similar reports:

Sources said Khan was not happy with the PCB management's decision to send batting great Mohammad Yousuf to the players' camp before the homes series against South Africa.

That's a bit of an insult to YK to be honest, what's the point of sending Yousaf when you have YK????

Answer: Drops were justified for certain players i feel who produced nothing performances, the test team selection i think is certainly in the right direction, limited over selections at times could be better.

Answer: To each is own i believe if a player feels he's benefiting from a certain player then why not utilise his skills?

Answer: Some of our test batsmen have benefited greatly from NHPC i believe and this shouldn't be a concern to YK but should be looked as ok they've done most of the job for me.

Answer: Now that is just silly.

That's a bit of an insult to YK to be honest, what's the point of sending Yousaf when you have YK????

Because we're talking about one of the classiest batsmen in Pakistan's history. Mohammad Yousuf being there can only be a good thing. It's Younis's problem that he cannot see beyond his own ego.

Another Wasim Khan selection goes bust. :)))

Not a week passes where he doesn’t show why he is completely out of his depth and simply not competent enough to serve as PCB CEO.

The appointment of Younis was a circus-show from the beginning.

One day, he was a batting coach. Next day, he was batting consultant. Next day, he was batting mentor.

Some days, we would see him act as fielding coach, other days he would be carrying Sharjeel on his back for the cameras.

He never took ownership of batting collapses and claimed that he cannot work on the batsmen’s techniques during a series. However, during the off-season, the batsmen would be working with Yousuf at the NCA.

He spent his time scribbling in his notebook……again for the cameras, and made up stories about how the likes of Buttler took his advice before putting Pakistani bowlers to the sword.

He is too volatile, moody and unpredictable to work as a coach. PCB should stay away from him.

YK's honeymoon period was over and for the first time questions were being asked of his coaching abilities and what he was doing with the batsmen.

He responded by saying he couldn't improve the players while on tour and then by resigning.

its an insult to question younis, he is above question.

PCB is insulting a great team man patriot

Saj, you think Younis's resignation has to do with what Asif Ali said a couple of days ago? That some coaches think he is a four over batter and don't treat him as a batsman?

Another Wasim Khan selection goes bust. :)))

Not a week passes where he doesn’t show why he is completely out of his depth and simply not competent enough to serve as PCB CEO.

The appointment of Younis was a circus-show from the beginning.

One day, he was a batting coach. Next day, he was batting consultant. Next day, he was batting mentor.

Some days, we would see him act as fielding coach, other days he would be carrying Sharjeel on his back for the cameras.

He never took ownership of batting collapses and claimed that he cannot work on the batsmen’s techniques during a series. However, during the off-season, the batsmen would be working with Yousuf at the NCA.

He spent his time scribbling in his notebook……again for the cameras, and made up stories about how the likes of Buttler took his advice before putting Pakistani bowlers to the sword.

He is too volatile, moody and unpredictable to work as a coach. PCB should stay away from him.
How is it Wasim Khan’s fault? And who do you think will be a better Pakistani option than Younis and why? Faisal Iqbal? Yousuf? Imran Farhat? Salman Butt?

Saj, you think Younis's resignation has to do with what Asif Ali said a couple of days ago? That some coaches think he is a four over batter and don't treat him as a batsman?

YK has had some issues with a few players. I'm not sure if Asif Ali is one of them.

From what I have heard he's not happy with criticism that he has received regarding the lack of improvement of some players and also regarding Yousuf's role.

Well well well, alls well that ends well.

Glad it ended on a peaceful note.

How is it Wasim Khan’s fault? And who do you think will be a better Pakistani option than Younis and why? Faisal Iqbal? Yousuf? Imran Farhat? Salman Butt?

It is Wasim’s fault because he appointed Younis. It was his selection and it did not work out, so he has to share the blame. He is the CEO.

And I don’t know who will be a better option. I am not the CEO and I do not get paid 30 lakh rupees per month to make these decisions.

However, if I was, I would tell you and I would also be taking ownership of these decisions.

Well he is a 1 over batter at best so younis Khan gave him a compliment

It is Wasim’s fault because he appointed Younis. It was his selection and it did not work out, so he has to share the blame. He is the CEO.

And I don’t know who will be a better option. I am not the CEO and I do not get paid 30 lakh rupees per month to make these decisions.

However, if I was, I would tell you and I would also be taking ownership of these decisions.
No one is asking you to make a decision. I am simply asking for your opinion just like you have one right now on WK.

It was always on the cards.
You can be spending match days writing your memoirs