PCB changes the portfolio of the entire coaching staff including Director Cricket Mickey Arthur

FearlessRoar

The PCB has changed the portfolio of the entire coaching staff including Director Cricket Mickey Arthur. All coaches will continue to work in National Cricket Academy while PCB will announce the new coaching staff in due course for the upcoming series in Australia and New Zealand.

Hahahaa what a masterstroke by Zaka.If he had fired them they wouldve had to pay them severance now they are hoping these guys will resign out of shame themselves and PCB pays them nothing. :misbah

Hopefully, that's the end of Mickey Arthur forever in Pakistani coaching circles. A terrible coach through and through. This is one decision I can stand behind Zaka Ashraf.

The PCB has changed the portfolio of the entire coaching staff including Director Cricket Mickey Arthur. All coaches will continue to work in National Cricket Academy while PCB will announce the new coaching staff in due course for the upcoming series in Australia and New Zealand.

A very good move by the PCB. I hope Mickey Arthur will not return to haunt us again. I reckon this time PCB will choose the coaching staff wisely and for a long term period.

Seems odd as now that they have appointed Shaan as Test Captain, it would make sense to send Mickey Arthur with him as the two have worked successfully in the English County season...having a new coaching set-up for Australia doesn't make sense unless they have managed to bag Ricky Pointing!

Good move. Don’t like one bit of this mickey. I hope they can bag someone really good this time around

Had to happen - am sure Mickey could see the writing on the wall.

As he jokingly said recently:

Yeah, look, I'll just go back to the peak district in Derbyshire, I'll be really happy and that'll be okay.

Idiotic statements from him which i am sure would not have gone down well in the PCB circles including Zaka Ashraf. I am glad Zaka Ashraf showed him his aukaat.

Good move. Don’t like one bit of this Fraud mickey. I hope they can bag someone really good this time around

Mickey wasn't a fraud. Mickey's biggest fault was that he never developed specialist spinners and focused too much on fast wicket taking bowlers and batsmen.

The result was that you have bowlers who try to take a wicket every ball and while it may work on occasion most of the time you'll be expensive cause you forgoe line and length.

Also mickey had zero control this time. Mickey knew he'd be discarded soon anyway, he came for a paycheck, he didnt do anything in 2023. His Reign ended in 2019.

Here is the good and bad mickey has done

Good

1) Get rid of Shehzad as an opener and replace him with an X factor of Fakhar.
2) Develop babar as no 3 (Babar betrayed this philosophy when he became captain but he was a gun no 3 during mickey days)
3) Focus on proper allrounders and adopt an aggressive middle order. Hafeez, Haris sohail, Imad waseem, Malik aren't the best but they were proper allrounders and were all aggressive and ready to take action and attack.
4) Select psl superstars. Ct 2017 was filled with psl superstars.

Bad

1) Imam Ul haq, idk what mickey was thinking with this one.
2) Never developing a single actual specialist spinner. Mickey was too busy building allrounders and forgot that besides hafeez, he didnt have a proper spinner in the squad.
3) Focus too much on fast bowlers being wicket takers rather then line and length.
4) Not actually developing a string of 20 to 25 players like the rest of sena and India days. Mickey developed a pool of 15 and stuck with it but in case of injury or loss of form he had no alternatives. It's why 2017 was a success but 2018 was a disaster because he had zero backups once players started losing touch.

I mentioned this previously but Mickey Arthur lacked passion this time around. His heart wasn't in it and you could tell from his interactions with the team and his interviews.

Just going through the motions.
He was just there for the double dip.

Bradburn seemed like the only guy who was taking his job seriously as coach. All others especially Morkel were awful appointments.
Idk what his contribution his? He always finds his way into pakistani setups. Seems like a con man to me.

He was the actual person who was the head coach of Pak since the NZ series. Asserted the batters to play positively in tests. Got a proper bowling attack for SL. 2 proper pacers and 2 spinners. (Even though our spin stores are at an all time low). In the Eng series, we were going in with Fahim and Wasim as the 2 pacers and Rizwan casually coming in to open in tests for an inning (Doesn't sound much, but actually gave the shape to the test team). Apart from that he has a solid resume behind him as well (his stint with Scotland). His problem was he wasn't too firm with our players. Coaches in Pak cricket have to be strict and adamant at times to ensure discipline and professionalism. Bradburn was a bit too nice for our players.

I do not understand what is Mickey’s role now that Mohd. Hafeez is Director of Cricket.

If his role is being reduced - why are we even keeping him?

I do not understand what is Mickey’s role now that Mohd. Hafeez is Director of Cricket.

If his role is being reduced - why are we even keeping him?

This is a proper slap on his face. If Mickey resigns he will forfeit his right to 6 months of salary as severance otherwise he has to actually work for his salary at the NCA.

There is no role for mickey and his coaching staff they just demoted them and work in pakistan will definitely do that maybe they will resign themselves and pcb don't have to compensate

I mentioned this previously but Mickey Arthur lacked passion this time around. His heart wasn't in it and you could tell from his interactions with the team and his interviews.

Just going through the motions.
Yes indeed he doesn’t have the same passion he had in 2016 when appointed. He wanted something to prove to the world that he is one of those elite coaches. Has that fire in the belly , this time around just be there for media handshakes and pats at the back, because he is settling down with Derbyshire in UK very well , why would someone leave that to coach such an uncertain board , team and third world country like Pakistan

Hahahaa what a masterstroke by Zaka.If he had fired them they wouldve had to pay them severance now they are hoping these guys will resign out of shame themselves and PCB pays them nothing. :misbah
Zaka is like Mogambo!! Scheming away. Mickey will surely resign now.

Mickey was useless video-conferencing director. The only tournament he joined the team was the world cup, and acted as a cheerleader there. And then at the end started publicly supporting Babar as captain when everyone could see how poorly Babar has managed resources all these years.

Hafeez would be a huge upgrade to Mickey. He's had one of the best cricketing brain amongst our cricketers in the last two decades and is a professional.

I thought Bradburn was doing good, constantly talking about the modern game and aggressive intent. He's previously worked at NCA so he might not disllke working there again. Lets see who replaces him.

Excuse my ignorance. How can PCB change the roles of Director and Coaches? Weren't they contracted to overtake the positions of Director Cricket and Coach respectively?

Or does the contract states they shall work at any capacity within Pakistan Cricket or Board?

Goodbye to any foreign coach taking us seriously in the near future.

Future doesn’t look too good, the immediate future anyway.
So foreign coaches should have no accountability?

On what basis should Mickey have continued in the same capacity after the World Cup debacle?

How only contribution was inventing his own trophy and handing it over in the dressing room.

So foreign coaches should have no accountability?

On what basis should Mickey have continued in the same capacity after the World Cup debacle?

How only contribution was inventing his own trophy and handing it over in the dressing room.
He shouldn’t have been hired in this joke of a position in the first place. Mickey played the then chairman Sethi quite well, and this will inevitably blow up in our faces now.

Every decent foreign coach will think the chairman are pushovers aswell as be wary of how they can be kicked out during their contract.

It’s not a good look no matter how you look at it.

He shouldn’t have been hired in this joke of a position in the first place. Mickey played the then chairman Sethi quite well, and this will inevitably blow up in our faces now.

Every decent foreign coach will think the chairman are pushovers aswell as be wary of how they can be kicked out during their contract.

It’s not a good look no matter how you look at it.
He shouldn’t have been hired in the first place but now that it is done, it doesn’t mean he shouldn’t be held accountable.

Getting kicked out during your contract is not an issue. It happens everywhere.

The whole point of a contract is that if you are asked to leave before your contract is over, you will receive monetary compensation which he will if PCB sacks him.

Contract doesn’t mean you will or should be allowed to see off your contract even if you are not delivering which he clearly isn’t.

He shouldn’t have been hired in the first place but now that it is done, it doesn’t mean he shouldn’t be held accountable.

Getting kicked out during your contract is not an issue. It happens everywhere.

The whole point of a contract is that if you are asked to leave before your contract is over, you will receive monetary compensation which he will if PCB sacks him.

Contract doesn’t mean you will or should be allowed to see off your contract even if you are not delivering which he clearly isn’t.
You won’t find many coaches being kicked our during their contracts for the top teams nowadays. Only Pakistan and maybe Sri Lanka are pretty much the only ones changing coaches and team managements on a whim.

You can correct me if I am wrong?

Mickey’s appointment was a joke, and that had led to this unnecessary mess where he is probably going to be sacked slightly more than a year into his appointment.

No foresight and no planning whatsoever was done for this appointment, and foreign coaches have enough work they can do around the world to touch this circus that is Pakistan cricket.

I guess, the PCB has the authority to appoint and remove the coaches and other staff of the national teams, as well as to assign them different roles and responsibilities. So there is nothing wrong with changing the roles for anybody. The contract may have a clause that binds that person to work at any position. Never seen any contract, may be.

Apparently Mickey in his WC report has primarily blamed Babar for the disastrous WC Campaign and called him an arrogant individual

A source would be nice to back this up.

I don't blame Mickey for taking PCB for a ride after the way he was unceremoniously ousted by Misbah who took his job for himself.

Since the last World Cup, Mickey has been in charge of this Pakistan side for like 3-4 months.

The main culprit is Misbah (along with Saqlain Mushtaq) for Pakistan going downhill.

Pakistan played some good cricket in the 2019 World Cup. They were on course to win 6 games out of 9. Unfortunately the game against Sri Lanka was rained off.

The moral of the story is if you're going to get Misbah involved, don't expect anything good to come out of it.

Apparently Mickey in his WC report has primarily blamed Babar for the disastrous WC Campaign and called him an arrogant individual
Bhai Jaan this is serious

Who told you this?

Now it's time to back our legends. Let's see how Hafeez works and give him some time. Don't ask for results in one day.

If this was a move purely to save on severance pay and force them to resign, then its a bad move. Contracts are there for a reason - it gives future coaches security while leaving their current positions and moving to a new one. if you play around with that , new coaches will be wary of taking the job

Nothing wrong in being arrogant. But being stupid is a big crime and Babar is guilty.

Mohammad Hafeez was asked about the relatively inexperienced coaching staff that was picked for the Australia tour in today's press conference. This was his reply:

“When opportunities like these come, you have nothing to lose. We do not have to look back at the past records, we just have to look ahead because we are only answerable for the results that come moving forward. I am the team director so that means looking over the team strategy. My coaching staff will be facilitating these plans to make sure that the players perform to the best of their skills and plans. We do not need a head coach currently, but if we require one in the future, we will summon a head coach as well. Your coach or supporting staff should always be your biggest guide, whether local or foreign. My priority was to use our own resources when I was summoning people for our current coaching staff as I think they understand what it means to represent Pakistan, due to their own experience as well.

“My own plan was to first reach out to our local resources for coaching and support staff and any gap that was left was filled by foreign staff. We have engaged some other names in coaching as well, which will be revealed in due course, as we believe their expertise on playing in Australia will be valuable for us while we are on tour.”

Wasim Akram in an interview:

"Our foreign coaches aren't here (in Pakistan) all the time. They only come for Tours. They don't put efforts in going to the NCA and coaching youngsters or other coaches. They don't work on the man-management and psychological side of things. Unhone to laddu khilaya hua hai hum sab ko (we are just being fooled),"

What a mess. Sethi hires a guy that wasn't going to make any difference and Zaka replaces him with a guy with a school teacher approach. Ultimately unless Babar scores we struggle and unless SSA takes wickets we are toothless. Coaches make little difference. You need to put the effort into better talent spotters but our selectors are lazy and useless.

If this was a move purely to save on severance pay and force them to resign, then its a bad move. Contracts are there for a reason - it gives future coaches security while leaving their current positions and moving to a new one. if you play around with that , new coaches will be wary of taking the job
It’s 100% a ploy to avoid paying severance.

Given the kind of chaos the PCB has been going through lately, forget any foreign coach willing to take up this job

How Absence Of A 'Clause' Forced PCB To Remove Mickey Arthur, 2 Other Foreign Coaches

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has decided to amicably part ways with its foreign coaches Mickey Arthur, Grant Bradburn and Andrew Puttick after the senior team's poor run of form in recent times, including a forgettable World Cup campaign. A senior official of the board said on Tuesday that PCB chairman Zaka Ashraf and chief operating officer Salman Naseer would negotiate a final settlement with the trio.

The three who were part of the Pakistan team management during the Asia Cup and World Cup decided to take vacations after they returned to Lahore from India and were informed their services were no longer required with the national team.

The three were told that instead the PCB had decided they will work at the National Cricket Academy as it appointed Mohammad Hafeez as director of the Pakistan team and new set of coaches.

But, apparently, the board found out that in the contracts of the three there was no clause giving them the right to force the trio to work at the NCA permanently as they had signed up to work with the Pakistan team.

"After some consultations since Mickey is already with Derbyshire and Puttick and Bradburn have found new assignments it was decided to end the matter amicably and release them from their contracts," the official said.

He conceded the board would be paying some months' salaries as compensation to the trio.

He also confirmed that Puttick, the batting coach, had informed the PCB about his new assignment with Afghanistan before accepting the contract.

Similarly, Bradburn has also informed the PCB that English county, Glamorgan, want him to work as their head coach.

The Pakistan team was whitewashed 3-0 in Australia despite having a new team director and coaches.

Arthur, Puttick and Bradburn were all appointed by the PCB during the tenure of the last chairman of the cricket management committee, Najam Sethi, in April-May last year.

SOURCE: NDTV​

Arthur, Bradburn and Puttick resign from their respective positions

Lahore, 18 January 2024:

Mickey Arthur, Grant Bradburn and Andrew Puttick, who were assigned duties at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Lahore after a change in their portfolios in November 2023, have resigned from their respective positions.

In April 2023, Arthur was appointed Director of the Pakistan men’s cricket team while Bradburn was announced head coach of the Pakistan national men’s side earlier last year. Former South Africa cricketer Puttick was Pakistan’s batting coach since April 2023.

Prior to his recent stint, Arthur was the head coach of the Pakistan Men's Cricket Team from 2016 to 2019 during which Pakistan attained the No. 1 spot in the ICC Test team rankings and won the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy. In international cricket, Arthur has also served as the head coach of South Africa, Australia and Sri Lanka.

57-year-old Bradburn, who had previously represented New Zealand in 18 international matches from 1990 to 2001, served as the fielding coach of the Pakistan men’s team from 2018 to 2020 before taking up the Head of High-Performance Coaching role at NCA till October 2021. Under his tenure as head coach, Pakistan achieved the No. 1 spot in the ICC ODI team rankings.

All three individuals informed the Pakistan Cricket Board of their decision to leave their respective jobs by the end of January 2024. The decision was taken amicably between all the stakeholders. The PCB wishes them well in their future endeavours and is grateful for their services.

Mickey Arthur in a recent interview shared his thoughts on his stint with the PCT:

"At the end of the World Cup we went back to Lahore, We had planned the whole Australian tour, so much so that we had thought about teams and combinations. We arrived in Pakistan and there was silence initially."

"And then Zaka wanted a review meeting of the World Cup. We went to that, I did a presentation, Rehan [ul Haq, the team manager] did a presentation. Grant [Bradburn, the head coach] spoke, the whole management team was in this meeting."

"There was a recess and we were starting a camp two days later. I was still on the balcony organising with Usman Wahla what our logistics were going to be. And I wondered why there was such a break in this review. And then I got a little whisper in my ear that Zaka wanted to see me in a separate office in the museum at the HPC [High Performance Centre]. I went in, he asked me a whole lot of questions and then he said, 'look, we're going to remove the whole support staff and captain, basically, and that was it.'"

" Hafeez is patriot, He has a lot of cricketing experience. He had a lot of coaches under him who could handle and organise."

"Hafeez was the team director like Mickey and had to manage things, which he did in a professional way. At critical situations during international tours, Mickey had to fly and he had refused to join Pakistan because of his contract with Derbyshire county. He was basically coaching online. I have all my respect for him, but how can you do coaching on Zoom?"

"It was a stable job, I had a really good contract. I couldn't just drop this and do Pakistan. That goes against my grain. And I told Najam that."

"I used to wake up early, I used to be up at 5.30 in the morning. I would do all my correspondence until 7.30, then get into Derbyshire, do our day, while being available on the phone through the day. And then when I got home I would sit with Grant over Zoom, and we'd plan out what the next block of days looked like for the Pakistan team. So I was spending a lot of time daily with Pakistan when I wasn't there too."

This episode is a wake up call for those who said that Mickey should have resigned from his job at Derbyshire and taken on a full-time role for the PCB.

There is no stability in Pakistan cricket and only a fool would give up a 4 year contract to work for the PCB.

This episode is a wake up call for those who said that Mickey should have resigned from his job at Derbyshire and taken on a full-time role for the PCB.

There is no stability in Pakistan cricket and only a fool would give up a 4 year contract to work for the PCB.
Well now this proves that only a fool overseas coach/player would want to work for PCB.

Tbh Mickeys body language in this tenure was not the same as his first tenure. He didn't have the same fire in his belly in comparison to his first tenure from 2016 to 2019.

Most probably Waqar would be back as coach and the circus will continue.

Even domestically, what's the benefit of taking the job other than pay? Hafeez already got booted after a couple of months.

You can't be hiring coaches/selectors every few months. You have to hire for at least 2-3 years and give the selector/coach time to adequately build a team. Personally, I think they should get a selector who hires the coach so you are not constantly having tension or blaming each other for selections etc. The selector can hire a coach who will be on the same page together.

Mickey negotiated out a contract well for himself.

Thing is, when Najem Sethi came in, he had one thing in mind, that if he was going to get a coach than it will ONLY be Arthur and no one else.

When Arthur saw this and already had a job (and knew that the job with PCB will last till the elections were to happen), he gave his demands and i think even he was surprised that Najem Sethi said ok to it.

Arthur made great money out of it, and i have no issues with that.

Thing is, Najem Sethi handled it poorly.

The Pakistani govt has a process where for govt jobs you advertise, than select the person based on the interviews. The loophole that govt institutes created is that they approach the person and say the job is yours, and ask them to just apply to fulfill the process criteria.

Sethi should had advertised before and selected the best candidate instead of approaching himself.

Sethi handled it poorly, and than Zaka decided to fire everyone which made no sense.

Once a decision is made, atleast let the contracts be completed. Rameez fired Misbah, Zaka fired Arthur, by firing these guys, you end up having to pay them the money that you owe towards the contract and than when you hire a new guy you have to pay them aswell..

The only reason the new Chairman fires is because the old chairman cant take credit and because each chairman knows that he is there for a few months, so lets start wasting PCB's money and making dumb decisions.

In a TV show, Wasim Akram spoke about Mickey Arthur's unprofessional behavior towards Pakistan Cricket Team," he said:

"He [Mickey Arthur] came during the Asia Cup, stayed with the team for four days and then left. After that he went back to Sussex he started tweeting for Derbyshire meanwhile, the Pakistan team was struggling here and he was a team director in the World Cup too."

"It's just total bizarre; I don't know who made this decision if Sethi Sahab made it, so he also deserves a 21-gun salute."

Agree with Wasim. The appointed of Mickey this time around was a complete joke. He had zero motivation to do well and was just here for a paycheck.

In a TV show, Wasim Akram spoke about Mickey Arthur's unprofessional behavior towards Pakistan Cricket Team," he said:

"He [Mickey Arthur] came during the Asia Cup, stayed with the team for four days and then left. After that he went back to Sussex he started tweeting for Derbyshire meanwhile, the Pakistan team was struggling here and he was a team director in the World Cup too."

"It's just total bizarre; I don't know who made this decision if Sethi Sahab made it, so he also deserves a 21-gun salute."
The height of non seriousness in PCB regarding our nation's cricket.. Simply pathetic

Agree with Wasim. The appointed of Mickey this time around was a complete joke. He had zero motivation to do well and was just here for a paycheck.

Agreed, he had zero passion this time. He was even laughing in some of the press conferences after our defeats. PCB rightfully showed him the door.

Totally, agreed 100 percent. Mickey was zero percent serious this time around. He did not want to stay with the team instead he flew away here and there with 0 interest in the Pakistan team. Need to keep him away from here now. No need for him in the future,