'Pick up your bean burrito and leave... this ain't India'

KingKhanWC

Test Captain
'Pick up your bean burrito and leave... this ain't India': Taco bell customer, 37, is arrested for vile racist rant branding Hindu man the N-word and spitting at him for not getting beef burrito

Krishnan Jayaraman was at a Taco Bell in Fremont, in the Bay Area, on
August 21 when he was confronted by Singh Tejinder

Tejinder, 37, of Union City, California, hurled racist abuse at Jayaraman, insulting Indian people and ranting about vegetarianism

Tejinder was charged with a hate crime and gave his identity in charging documents as 'Asian/Indian'

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/ar...ornia-man-arrested-racist-rant-Taco-Bell.html

Disgusting vile comments, there is no room for attacks on someones religion. I feel sorry for the Hindu chap, he was only going to get a bite , ended up with fear after his abuse.

There is a difference between Hindutva, who are extremists and Hindus who are mostly peaceful like most people of all religions.

So, this was an Indian-on-Indian crime.

This type of behavior is never acceptable. Glad he got arrested.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/ar...ornia-man-arrested-racist-rant-Taco-Bell.html

Disgusting vile comments, there is no room for attacks on someones religion. I feel sorry for the Hindu chap, he was only going to get a bite , ended up with fear after his abuse.

There is a difference between Hindutva, who are extremists and Hindus who are mostly peaceful like most people of all religions.

And worse - the perp identifies as an Indian as well! Must be a Khalistani.

Indian to an indian, would this count as a racists attack?

Our expert on discrimination cricket joshila would probably think not. But than again its his country involved.

Btw, who eats a burrito that is just beans and nothing else

Amritdhari Sikhs don’t eat meat either not even eggs, the guy definitely had identity crisis showing his eagle tatoo, lol and was clueless about vegetarianism being prevalent among so many Sikhs as well.

I have Sikh friends from Bay area and almost all of them have no liking for the thug culture that has developed in some areas among Sikhs.

But again it’s not their responsibility.

How is this racist? Blacks using the N word against all other blacks is all good n dandy.
Many desi kids in the US use the N word against fellow desi friends all the time. I don't think it's a hate crime when Mr. Singh calls Mr. Jayaraman with the N word.
It's hilarious.

Lol.

This guy Tejinder was probably on drugs or alcohol. No Sikh will boast about eating beef in public Cow slaughter is forbidden in Sikhism - just like Hinduism

Lol.

This guy Tejinder was probably on drugs or alcohol. No Sikh will boast about eating beef in public Cow slaughter is forbidden in Sikhism - just like Hinduism

what makes you think he was on drugs or alcahol?

There are Sikhs who think that they came from outside and they have nothing to do with India. They make fun of Indians as black and ugly. Especially South Indians. Seen such posts before on internet too.

Lol.

The name of the victim is Krishnan Jayaraman. Obviously a Tamil or Malayalee. This man racially abused him for his looks.

That might be possible. There is a toxic obsession with fair skin among some Jatt Sikhs - especially ones from Central Valley region

They look down on fellow desis especially South Indians for being dark skinned !

How is this racist? Blacks using the N word against all other blacks is all good n dandy.
Many desi kids in the US use the N word against fellow desi friends all the time. I don't think it's a hate crime when Mr. Singh calls Mr. Jayaraman with the N word.
It's hilarious.

Religion isnt a race but its the same hate/discrimination. A Sikh guy was a abusing another man because he was a Hindu.

For me its important not to attack anyones faith because of certain governments/parties/leaders etc. Im fully against BJP/Hindutva and Israeli/Zionism but they dont represent the faiths they claim to do.

Most Sikhs eat beef in UK, I assume this will also be the case in US.

How popular is beef for Sikhs in India?

No meat/eggs allowed in the Gurudwaras even if they eat it outside.
Very rarely has meat been part of langar(few of them have it)

But beef is not banned for Sikhs, I’m almost certain buffalo beef was available in Punjab never near the holy city though.

No meat/eggs allowed in the Gurudwaras even if they eat it outside.
Very rarely has meat been part of langar(few of them have it)

But beef is not banned for Sikhs, I’m almost certain buffalo beef was available in Punjab never near the holy city though.

I have Sikhs mates, they are not happy Sikhism is seen as a part of Hinduism, for this reason they eat Beef. Go to any McDonalds in London, Bham or Manchester, many Sikhs with Turbans will be eating Big Macs.

But I believe some Hindus also eat Beef. Either way it was a lame attack on person, lets hope this idiot is arrested and charged with a racial offence.

Dont know who the victim was but Im astounded someone will allow another to speak to them in such a manner without resorting to a physical fight. Maybe he was elderly.

I have Sikhs mates, they are not happy Sikhism is seen as a part of Hinduism, for this reason they eat Beef. Go to any McDonalds in London, Bham or Manchester, many Sikhs with Turbans will be eating Big Macs.

But I believe some Hindus also eat Beef. Either way it was a lame attack on person, lets hope this idiot is arrested and charged with a racial offence.

Dont know who the victim was but Im astounded someone will allow another to speak to them in such a manner without resorting to a physical fight. Maybe he was elderly.

Sikhism was born out of Hinduism and added their own twist of monotheism. They also borrowed some stuff some Islam.

Once a new religion borrows stuff from other religions, it cannot get rid of the smell simply by applying some deodorant. There will be several common things and in some cases, they will be indistinguishable.

Jainism, Buddhism, Sikhism can’t be considered part of Hinduism entirely different religions.

And yes Many south Indian Hindus do eat beef, esp Malayalees and tamilians .

Also the perpetrator doesn’t seem like a practicing Sikh, not judging him but Sikhs without covering their Kesh(hair) on head are rare, unless they cut off.
This guy wanted to prove he is more American if anything with his Eagle tatoo.

Sikhism was born out of Hinduism and added their own twist of monotheism. They also borrowed some stuff some Islam.

Once a new religion borrows stuff from other religions, it cannot get rid of the smell simply by applying some deodorant. There will be several common things and in some cases, they will be indistinguishable.

Are you a Sikh as Ive never met a Sikh who believes its a part/sect or Hinduism?

A Religion can borrow or follow principles of others ,it doesnt make it part of the faith. You dont get to make the rules.

Wrong analogy, Sikhism is an entirely different religion and even concept.
It’s extremely disrespectful to even suggest it’s born out of something.

Christianity is born during judaism, aren’t they separate?

Just like all Abrahamic religions are different religions, all Dharmic religions are different and unique with their own rules and practices.

Sikhism is almost as far off from Hinduism as Buddhism even more.
It’s just that holy places of Sikhs are from Maharashtra to Bihar to Punjab to Himachal.

Are you a Sikh as Ive never met a Sikh who believes its a part/sect or Hinduism?

A Religion can borrow or follow principles of others ,it doesnt make it part of the faith. You dont get to make the rules.

I am not a Sikh. I do not believe Sikhs are Hindus. But since they are born out of Hindus, there are similarities. The similarities are the small I am talking about that you can never get rid of as it is codified in their religion.

There is a community of Sikhs in California that immigrated years ago (around 1910) or so. mostly around Yuba City area and thereabouts. They started coming here for farming more than a century ago. So there is a very very large community of Sikhs here who have lived here for generations and I would not be surprised if they are totally detached from Sikhism and probably view fresh off the boat Indians in a negative light.

Buddhism and Jainism has no God in them. They are Atheist in that regard. The no belief in God is what separates Sanatana Dharma from other contemporary religions 3000 to 4000 years ago. At least Sikhs have faith in at least one God.

Wrong analogy, Sikhism is an entirely different religion and even concept.
It’s extremely disrespectful to even suggest it’s born out of something.

Christianity is born during judaism, aren’t they separate?

Jesus was a Jew. He is the King of Jews. He prayed to the same God as Jews. Later on Christians added Trinity and they also prove Trinity from Old Testament to support their claims.

I am not saying Sikhism is Hinduism. I don't believe that. But since they are born out of Hindus and all of their Gurus are Hindus, they cannot completely separate themselves from Hindus as mush as they try. The smell(Good or Bad) lingers on.

Since you seem like a Sikh, Isn't Sikh God 'Wahe Guru' also called Omkar? The same Om also representation of God in Hindusim and venerated in Buddhism and Jainism?

There is a community of Sikhs in California that immigrated years ago (around 1910) or so. mostly around Yuba City area and thereabouts. They started coming here for farming more than a century ago. So there is a very very large community of Sikhs here who have lived here for generations and I would not be surprised if they are totally detached from Sikhism and probably view fresh off the boat Indians in a negative light.

That’s actually true on Yuba city , back in the day there used to be Punjabi rallies there and it also had a Punjabi mayor in late 2000s.

Religion isnt a race but its the same hate/discrimination. A Sikh guy was a abusing another man because he was a Hindu.

For me its important not to attack anyones faith because of certain governments/parties/leaders etc. Im fully against BJP/Hindutva and Israeli/Zionism but they dont represent the faiths they claim to do.

Calling someone with the N word, is NOT an attack on his religion. Isn't this obvious?

Jesus was a Jew. He is the King of Jews. He prayed to the same God as Jews. Later on Christians added Trinity and they also prove Trinity from Old Testament to support their claims.

I am not saying Sikhism is Hinduism. I don't believe that. But since they are born out of Hindus and all of their Gurus are Hindus, they cannot completely separate themselves from Hindus as mush as they try. The smell(Good or Bad) lingers on.

Since you seem like a Sikh, Isn't Sikh God 'Wahe Guru' also called Omkar? The same Om also representation of God in Hindusim and venerated in Buddhism and Jainism?

Its Onkar boss not Omkar and its related to om but not in the way u r thinking, in Sikhism it means only one creator.

Also I’m only partially a Sikh ,maternally but because my mother took me to Sikh holy places I can tell you it’s very different from Hinduism.

This " Sikh is Hindu " thing is very complicated debate that's going on for past 150 years and with no solution in sight

Better to stay away from this debate on this forum :P

Ultimately in India and overseas Sikhs , Hindus , Jains , Buddhists are allowed to inter marry and inter dine with each other without much problems ( unlike say Hindu - Muslims or Hindu - Christians ) . In Indian context that's what matters. There is famous saying in Punjab - Hindu Sikh ka rishta roti beti ka rishta - which means u can break bread with each other and let ur daughter marry with each other !

This " Sikh is Hindu " thing is very complicated debate that's going on for past 150 years and with no solution in sight

Better to stay away from this debate on this forum :P

Ultimately in India and overseas Sikhs , Hindus , Jains , Buddhists are allowed to inter marry and inter dine with each other without much problems ( unlike say Hindu - Muslims or Hindu - Christians ) . In Indian context that's what matters. There is famous saying in Punjab - Hindu Sikh ka rishta roti beti ka rishta - which means u can break bread with each other and let ur daughter marry with each other !

Sikhs and Hindus marry each other often almost happens in every state in India and in the old days arranged marriages used to happen between Sikhs and Hindu Punjabis, I’m myself from such a family where my grandmother was Sikhni, the debate on whether it’s different from Hinduism is straight forward- it is different.

Calling someone with the N word, is NOT an attack on his religion. Isn't this obvious?

You're on the wrong thread, of course it isn't. In this thread it was.

I am not a Sikh. I do not believe Sikhs are Hindus. But since they are born out of Hindus, there are similarities. The similarities are the small I am talking about that you can never get rid of as it is codified in their religion.

Please list these..

Sikhs and Hindus marry each other often almost happens in every state in India in the old days arranged marriages used to happen between Sikhs and Hindu Punjabis, I’m myself from such a family where my grandmother was Sikhni, the debate on whether it’s different from Hinduism is straight forward- it is different.

Like I said this debate on whether Sikhism is part of Hinduism or NOT is going on for 150 years

I don't think there will be any end to this debate . Even today many Sikhs worship Hindu deities like Shiv , Vaishno Devi and most Hindus in Punjab regularly visit Golden Temple. Guru Granth Sahib has numerous references of Ram , Shiv , Durga and most Gurudwaras have pix of Hindu deities even though idoi worship is prohibited in Sikhism Almost all Hindu festivals like Holi, Diwali, Navratri, Raksha Bandhan are celebrated by Sikhs . There is no explicit ban on cow slaughter in SIkhism but Maharaja Ranjit Singh prohibited it during huis rule and Punjab was first state in India to impose ban on beef after 1947. No self respecting Sikh will ever brag about eating beef in public like this weirdo Tejinder

Like I said its a very complicated debate. Bcoz Dharmic religions are not the same as Abrahamic religions. Abrahamic religions have very clear cut protocols and boundaries. Dharmic religions don't. There is lot of overlap which makes boundaries very fluid and difficult to demarcate

You're on the wrong thread, of course it isn't. In this thread it was.

Please list these..

I already mentioned. Sikhs God is Waheguru also referred to as Omkar. Om is a representation of God for Hindus. Om is also revered by Jains and Buddhists.

In the Hindu and Sikh traditions, there is a distinction between religion and culture, and ethical decisions are grounded in both religious beliefs and cultural values. Both Hindu and Sikh ethics are primarily duty based. Traditional teachings deal with the duties of individuals and families to maintain a lifestyle conducive to physical, mental and spiritual health. These traditions share a culture and world view that includes ideas of karma and rebirth, collective versus individual identity, and a strong emphasis on spiritual purity.[80]

The notion of dharma, karma, moksha are very important for both Hindus and Sikhs. Unlike the linear view of life, death, heaven or hell taken in Abrahamic religions, for Hindus and Sikhs believe in the concept of Saṃsāra, that is life, birth and death are repeated, for each soul, in a cycle until one reaches mukti or moksha.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hindu...ons share a culture,for both Hindus and Sikhs.

Just to reiterate, I do not believe they are part of Hinduism. But the similarities are there as Sikhism expanded by seeking converts from Hinduism.

Like I said this debate on whether Sikhism is part of Hinduism or NOT is going on for 150 years

I don't think there will be any end to this debate . Even today many Sikhs worship Hindu deities like Shiv , Vaishno Devi and most Hindus in Punjab regularly visit Golden Temple. Guru Granth Sahib has numerous references of Ram , Shiv , Durga and most Gurudwaras have pix of Hindu deities even though idoi worship is prohibited in Sikhism Almost all Hindu festivals like Holi, Diwali, Navratri, Raksha Bandhan are celebrated by Sikhs . There is no explicit ban on cow slaughter in SIkhism but Maharaja Ranjit Singh prohibited it during huis rule and Punjab was first state in India to impose ban on beef after 1947. No self respecting Sikh will ever brag about eating beef in public like this weirdo Tejinder

Like I said its a very complicated debate. Bcoz Dharmic religions are not the same as Abrahamic religions. Abrahamic religions have very clear cut protocols and boundaries. Dharmic religions don't. There is lot of overlap which makes boundaries very fluid and difficult to demarcate

Mention of Rama, Krishna are also there in Jainism and Buddhism too. But they do not pray to them and consider them as Gods. Modern day Jains do not really follow everything Jainism teaches.

I can post an explanation on each and every reference but not the thread for that also such overlaps occur in Abrahamic religion too, there is mention of Jesus, Moses in Islamic texts it’s similar to those references in Sikhism.

It was a BEAN burrito. No meat.

This guys Tejinder was saying he only eats beef unlike Hindus who only are veg

Point is even Sikhs will get offended by this. Sikhs have very strong views on cow slaughter. Punjab was first state in India to ban beef after independence

This guys Tejinder was saying he only eats beef unlike Hindus who only are veg

Point is even Sikhs will get offended by this. Sikhs have very strong views on cow slaughter.
Punjab was first state in India to ban beef after independence

Can you please post any religious texts to back this up from their holy book? The more people learn the less they may spread such hate.

There is sadly an Elephant in this Room.

Hindutva extremism and Hindutva government of Modi has sadly caused a lot of hatred against Hindus, perhaps the first time in their history.

Most Sikhs eat beef in UK, I assume this will also be the case in US.

How popular is beef for Sikhs in India?

Not at all popular. Cow meat is certainly not eaten sikhs.Also halal meat is strictly forbidden among sikhs.

This is actually true. The Yuba City guys behave like they are Caucasians. They even look down on fellow desis who migrated in recent years

There is also an element of insecurity and jealousy. Most of these guys are truck drivers or cabbies and probably detest the growing breed of successful India diaspora working in tech sector of Bay Area. Have often seen posts from these folks abusing " dark skinned Indians / Madrasis " getting all the best jobs in US ! The kind of posts you normally expect from racists white supremacists

There is sadly an Elephant in this Room.

Hindutva extremism and Hindutva government of Modi has sadly caused a lot of hatred against Hindus, perhaps the first time in their history.

All this hate against Hindus was always there. Bcoz of social media a lot of things have got more highlighted in recent times

If this Tejinder guy abused this Karthik 20 years back - nobody wud have known as it won't have been covered on social media

If anything the pro Khalistan sentiment has actually reduced in recent years. In the 90s Sikhs and Hindu diaspora really hated each other in Canada / UK

ps : This Tejinder guy did not even mention Modii. He was actually abusing Indira Gandhi bcoz of the events of 1984 !

Can you please post any religious texts to back this up from their holy book? The more people learn the less they may spread such hate.

It is well known that both Guru Hargobind singh ji and Guru Gobind singh ji protected cows.

Cow slaughtering carried death sentence in the Sikh Empire of Maharaja Ranjit Singh ji

To insult the Sikhs, Abdali had filled the sarovar of Harmandar Sahib with cow corpse

All this hate against Hindus was always there. Bcoz of social media a lot of things have got more highlighted in recent times

If this Tejinder guy abused this Karthik 20 years back - nobody wud have known as it won't have been covered on social media

If anything the pro Khalistan sentiment has actually reduced in recent years. In the 90s Sikhs and Hindu diaspora really hated each other in Canada / UK

ps : This Tejinder guy did not even mention Modii. He was actually abusing Indira Gandhi bcoz of the events of 1984 !

Imo it has increased a lot since Modi took office. Of course its wrong, no Hindu should be abused like this.

But Modi government has seen the rise of Hindu fundamentalism. Not just against Muslims but Sikhs, Christians and even fellow Hindus of a different sect have been discriminated against, hate spread against and violence by supporters of Modi including rape and murder.

There are Sikhs in UK who hate Modi more than Muslims do here.

It is well known that both Guru Hargobind singh ji and Guru Gobind singh ji protected cows.

Cow slaughtering carried death sentence in the Sikh Empire of Maharaja Ranjit Singh ji

To insult the Sikhs, Abdali had filled the sarovar of Harmandar Sahib with cow corpse

I was looking for scripture but thanks.

Mention of Rama, Krishna are also there in Jainism and Buddhism too. But they do not pray to them and consider them as Gods. Modern day Jains do not really follow everything Jainism teaches.

Most Jain and Buddhist families in West India celebrate most of Hindu festivals like Janmashtami and Dussehra and visit Hindu temples.

Just like Buddh Purnima is celebrated by many Hindus

Sure Hindu's and Sikh's mostly only love each other when it comes to ganging up against Muslim's. Without Muslim's most have little love for the other. I have seen this many times with both these communities fighting over who liberated India from the Brits among other things. From what I know Sikh's avoid halal meat and consuming it in their temples. They don't worship animal's at all that does not mean this Sikh guy has the right to abuse Hindu's just coz he may have been born in America as seems to be the case. Like it or not his background and ethnicity are still Indian and always will be so he may as well love it.

Credit to the Hindu who kept his cool. Someone else may have taken care off the Sikh reminding him of how his religious belief and practices can also be abused too. Some posters here are relating this incident to what happened centuries trying to create a Mughal and Muslim angle too it when there is none.

Sikhs have lived in the United States for more than 130 years. The first Sikh immigrants to the United States started to arrive in the second half of the 19th century, when poor economic conditions in British India drove many Indians to emigrate elsewhere. Most Sikh immigrants to the United States came from the province of Punjab and came to the U.S. to work on agricultural farms in California, travelling via Hong Kong to Angel Island.[23]
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sikhism_in_the_United_States
One of the oldest communities in USA and have a strong influence there. The diaspora is vast for a small culture.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sikhism_in_the_United_States
One of the oldest communities in USA and have a strong influence there. The diaspora is vast for a small culture.

No community is more obsessed with migration to Western nations than Sikhs. Every young man in Punjab after completing school is busy preparing for IELTS to move abroad. Unlike rest of India where the youth are busy preparing for tech / medical college exams. This is very unhealthy obsession with lot of negative ramifications for Punjab

My great grandfather also immigrated to the bay area from punjab too.

Most Jain and Buddhist families in West India celebrate most of Hindu festivals like Janmashtami and Dussehra and visit Hindu temples.

Just like Buddh Purnima is celebrated by many Hindus

They all tolerate each other and it has been the case for hundreds of years.

The diaspora is vast for a small culture.

Indeed. One estimate I have seen, suggests that out of a total population of 26 million, 2-3 million Sikhs live outside of India. This is a high proportion.

I am not entirely sure why this should be, but I suspect one important factor is a ‘tradition' of migration which can be linked to the establishment of canal colonies undertaken under British rule. In British India, Western Punjab was transformed from around 1890 with the commencement of the building of perennial canals. This was a major event where vast swathes of arid land were transformed into an area capable of commercialised agriculture all year round. This led to large-scale agricultural colonisation with landlords and peasants migrating from Eastern Punjab, to take possession of previously uncultivated, or semi-cultivated, land.

A smaller but still relevant factor, is that in the case of parts of the Punjab there was also a history of navy and army service abroad. During the nineteenth century, Punjab had of course replaced north-central India as the major recruiting ground for the Indian army.

I think we might be getting only one side of the story where Mr. Tajender is being posed as the villain.

Who knows what did Jayaraman have said or done that is omitted from the story, and it would've triggered the rant?

I still think it's hilarious when an Indian Sikh calls another Indian with the N word in anger. ROFL !!

I think we might be getting only one side of the story where Mr. Tajender is being posed as the villain.

Who knows what did Jayaraman have said or done that is omitted from the story, and it would've triggered the rant?

I still think it's hilarious when an Indian Sikh calls another Indian with the N word in anger. ROFL !!

So you are victim blaming? 8 minutes of that ? Not one time Tejinder talks about what the indian dude had said to him.

I think there was something that jayaram was wearing perhaps? Don't know.
If you watch the video clips, it doesn't have the starting part. There was definitely something that Jayaram started that triggered Tajender. Good for Tajender that he took it off of his chest and was brutally honest to express his opinion.