[PICTURES] The Nida Dar appreciation thread

SangasCoverDrive

Local Club Regular
A recent interview of former international cricketer Abdul Razzaq is doing rounds on social media and that too for the wrong reasons. Razzaq sat down with Nida Dar of Pakistan's women's cricket team, in June for a tete-a-tete in a talk show hosted by Nouman Ijaz, excerpts of which conversation have triggered a debate online.

The three, among other members of the show, talked about women in sports when Razzaq casually made sexist remarks over Dar's appearance and future in the sport. When the Raqeeb Se star inquired what Dar would have chosen as a career, had it not been a cricketer, she shared she still would have opted to be a professional athlete.

To this, Honey Albela laughed and joked, "Do you have some kind of allergy with marriage? You don't want to talk about it at all." Wafa Butt, another host of the show then questioned how many sports academies are available for women in the country?

"I know there are few at the college level," Ijaz responded. Dar added, "If some colleges and schools have space, then they do try and incorporate cricket in their extra curriculum activities. Girls from rural areas and villages move to the city to play cricket, in hopes to pursue this as a profession."

Butt intervened and asserted, "And then they leave when they get married."

Dar then commented, "They try to play the sport as much as they can since you never know after the wedding."

"Oh, they don't get married," Razzaq quipped. "Their field is as such. When they become cricketers, they strive to be as equal as their male counterparts, if not better than them. They want to prove that not only men, but they can also do it as well. The feeling [to get married] is is gone [by the time they excel." He further added by saying, "If you shake her [Dar] hand, she is anything but feminine."

Dar decided to respond to Razzaq and shared, "Our profession is such that we have to gym. We have to bat, bowl, field. Hence, we have to stay fit." Cutting Dar off, Razzaq added, "You can tell by the haircut she has." While others continued to laugh at the so-called jest, Butt questioned, "I had this query for a while. Can you not play cricket with longer hair?"

"You absolutely can play with long hair," Dar answered. "But for someone who has kept her hair long, it would affect her game." Ijaz then remarked, "There are certain requirements when it comes to sports. Why can't one play with a three-piece suit? You have to abide by the need of the sport."

The clip that went viral yesterday irked many with Razzaq being called out for his sexist comments.

"So disgusting all these people literally jumped on her,' a user commented. "Can't even imagine how much sexism our women cricketers go through. Nida Dar is a star!"

"Always knew Abdul Razzaq was sexist. This is despicable,' said another user. "He kept on saying sexist stuff about Nida Dar being "manly" and "inki shaadi nai hoti" and everyone else kept laughing. This is what our women cricketers have to face constantly in this society."

"In my mind, I am having a breakdown on live TV, I am screaming at Abdul Razzaq and all three of them for cornering Nida like that with their sexist and misogynist **," wrote another.

One user commented, "Abdur Razzaq the player was awesome. Abdul Razzaq post-retirement in front of a microphone isn't. Someone needs to tell him he isn't funny."

"You can see how those remarks are being enjoyed as well,' one tweep penned, adding, "Even the host and the co-hosts think this is fun content. If Razzaq (a male cricketer) can casually say all this on TV imagine what women athletes have to go through on daily basis in this country."

"You became a world-class all-rounder but your mentality stayed there from where you started your career. Pathetic of you to ridicule a Pakistani star on national TV. Sexism and sense of humour at their peak," shared another.

In a country where women playing sports is still considered taboo, sexist comments from renowned sportsmen are really not needed. Kudos to Dar for staying composed and calm during the exchange. Our heroes, on the other hand, need to do better.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2310504/abdul-razzak-tried-to-corner-nida-dar-with-sexist-comments-but-she-kept-in-line

Abdul Razzaq is also a product of our uneducated society with a thick mindset. So this is hardly surprising.

I cringed just reading this.

Honestly though, you're in the wrong place if you're expecting Pakistani talk shows to be woke. I remember watching a video once where there was one cricket show for a Pak vs Bangladesh match which was a comedy show of sorts with a caricatrish person in black face representing the Bangladeshi fan.

Pakistani talk shows are horrifically poorly produced and have no intellectual management regarding which topics to focus on and which ones to avoid.

Credit to Nida Dar for being the bigger person against an uneducated man with no shame.

I cringed just reading this.

Honestly though, you're in the wrong place if you're expecting Pakistani talk shows to be woke. I remember watching a video once where there was one cricket show for a Pak vs Bangladesh match which was a comedy show of sorts with a caricatrish person in black face representing the Bangladeshi fan.

I have seen that show as well and I thought it was in a very poor taste.

Pakistani women’s team will never be given any respect and regard because women playing pro sports in Pakistan will never be normalized.

As a result, they will remain an extremely poor team that will never be taken seriously by their own countrymen let alone the successful women teams like England, Australia, New Zealand and even India etc.

You have to feel sorry for the women who have fought and challenged all the barriers and are giving their best to win matches for their country.

They shouldn’t be putting up with this disgusting discrimination just because the talent pool is dry because of sociocultural constraints and they do not have the same opportunities and exposure as women in other cricket countries.

Awful comments but not surprising. It is Razzaq.

I watched the interview and not only razzaq but everyone out there was sexist. I don't know why that women player even considered to go there. Because I've seen past talk shows and to be honest, Pakistan talk shows are of very poor quality.

I think there's one good talk show which relies on satire and points towards various imperfections of the society. Forgot the name of the host but it was really a good one.

I watched the interview and not only razzaq but everyone out there was sexist. I don't know why that women player even considered to go there. Because I've seen past talk shows and to be honest, Pakistan talk shows are of very poor quality.

I think there's one good talk show which relies on satire and points towards various imperfections of the society. Forgot the name of the host but it was really a good one.

Tbh most of the comedy talk shows are of low quality even outside Asian countries. Even if you look at American, British comedy shows they had passive casual racism and sexism in the show but now that is changing but in Pakistan, its least to expect something like that happening anytime soon.

I have seen that show as well and I thought it was in a very poor taste.

Remember the audience in fits of laughter seeing the skit. I was like how does this pass for comedy.

Don't get me wrong. There are plenty of Indians with the same sexist/racist mentality as well, but it's very hard to air those views on a tv show so explicitly without getting a huge backlash.

Disgusting comments but not surprising considering the individuals involved. Both Razzaq and Nouman Ijaz have openly admitted to cheating on their spouses on talk-shows.

And the appalling mindset they showcased in this supposed interview is widely prevalent among men throughout this country.

Some of our ex cricketers were good ; but then we treat them as legends

All these TV shows introduce them as some kind of once in a century cricketers which they dont deserve and thus boost their fake egos

I have watched some other TV shows from India as well, and even for Sunil Gavaskar they just introduce him as sunny bhai, and that's it.. Sunil Gavaskar being very ruler in talk shows or commentaries , so hosts understands people watching shows knows him by now

On the other hand, in our TV shows, even Kamran Akmal (just taking an example) is touted as he was some kind of Gilchrist.. For Shoaib Akhtar, in game on hai, introduction starts with (the only fastest man walked on this planet...WHAT, are they serious)

Shows , cricket TV shows in India is targeted for educated society, and here , most of these shows are targeted to some Dehati people (and that's why they invite Dehati cricketers to opine)

I have made countless posts where I have mentioned that mental cases like Razzaq should be nowhere near a professional PCB board set up. It is a travesty that we have these kind of serial losers near our team.

Pakistani shows don't have any conscience. I remember there was a cricket show where Kamran Akmal was a guest and one of the comedians asked Kami if Gayle feels embarrassed while eating with his own hands bc his skin is so dark and I remember another show where Amir Liaquat joked about Irrfan Khan and Sridevi's deaths with the actor who worked with them and thankfully the actor was not having any of it.

Muzak raat I think. Some Punjabi references in that show are very funny and ironic with comedic take on social issues.

After a career spanning 2 decades, Razzaq (and others) still severely lack soft skills and any kind of world view.

Pakistani women’s team will never be given any respect and regard because women playing pro sports in Pakistan will never be normalized.

As a result, they will remain an extremely poor team that will never be taken seriously by their own countrymen let alone the successful women teams like England, Australia, New Zealand and even India etc.

You have to feel sorry for the women who have fought and challenged all the barriers and are giving their best to win matches for their country.

They shouldn’t be putting up with this disgusting discrimination just because the talent pool is dry because of sociocultural constraints and they do not have the same opportunities and exposure as women in other cricket countries.

Awful comments but not surprising. It is Razzaq.

This is correct.

People like Razzaq should be ignored. We know such poorly educated soul's have a habit of putting their foot in their mouth.

PCB employee.

I wonder what his employers think of the comments.

This is the same guy who admitted to having extramarital affair on TV. Razzaq is an absolute braindead jahil, who should just be ignored. I feel really bad for Nida Dar. She didn't deserve it.

Everyone was laughing and fine with it when he made fun of umar akmal and shehzad's looks and grooming habits?

Yeah right because women and men especially from upper class families like Shehzad and Akmal are treated equally in the society. Imagine a Pakistani women cricketer doing 10% of the antics Akmal does on Tiktok etc .

Unfortunately this epitomizes Pakistan society in general currently, the irony is pakistan is probably the only country at the moment where women commentators in cricket are selected on merit rather than to fill quotas,so probably overtaken men in that regard :))

It’s a comedy show, you’re going to get mocked. Nida Dar knew what was coming, she definitely didn’t think she was going to talk about cricket only.

People get offended at every thing, so sad (trumps tone).

Yeah right because women and men especially from upper class families like Shehzad and Akmal are treated equally in the society. Imagine a Pakistani women cricketer doing 10% of the antics Akmal does on Tiktok etc .

This is the problem, why not focus on the actual wrong doing ?

Instead of oh its a guy so lets all have a laugh, then a month later oh no its a woman, he can't be doing that.

If you want to stamp out this behaviour you have to call it out 100% of the time, can't just pick and choose whenever you like.

Abdul Razzaq regularly acts quite obnoxiously in these talk shows and comedy shows stuff.

It’s a comedy show, you’re going to get mocked. Nida Dar knew what was coming, she definitely didn’t think she was going to talk about cricket only.

People get offended at every thing, so sad (trumps tone).

Firstly calling this comedy is pushing it. Can you tell me what’s funny about calling a woman manly or
Making fun of her hairstyle on live TV especially a woman who is a role model for all the girls out there?

People drawing equivalence with Shehzad and Akmal, I am sure most of us would agree that they are far from being a role model to anyone but on the other hand don’t know much about Nida but getting to where she got especially in a society like Pakistan she deserves a lot more respect. Doesn’t she?

Javed Miandad and even Sarfaraz have some speech issues, not making fun of that but that’s a visible fact, anyone have the guts to make fun of them on these shows?

Those comments were just in poor taste anyway. Pakistan is a sexist society, they don't really understand the concept of women playing sport, most of them think they should be in the kitchen making food or looking after kids. Still no excuse for Razzaq to be making boorish and offensive jokes at the expense of the female cricketers, should just have pulled him up for his rude behaviour rather than confuse people with talk of sexism in a country which doesn't even recognise it as a concept.

Just bc Pakistan is a sexist society rn, it has to stay like that for the next 50 years? You need to call people out on their casual sexist, racist behaviour in order to set a precedent for society. As I already mentioned, American and British TV shows and movies used to have casual racism as recently as 2010.

I'm not saying you shouldn't call him out for sexist comments, I'm saying most viewers in Pakistan wouldn't register what it means. But they could all understand what is rude or offensive behaviour, so why not pull him up for that? Then you can tack on the sexism stuff for the more on trend and up to date citizens.

That is a gross generalization. If that was the case Nida Dar who is apparently from a middle class family wouldn’t have been encouraged to pick up sports, would she?

Also shouldn’t be some checks and balances on Pakistan TV?

I have noticed when Afridi says he broke TV when his daughter was imitating hindu rituals everyone were cheering for it too. Now I can understand if he had said he doesn’t let his daughter watch Indian movies and shows because of the political climate or the fact that most of Bollywood is crap anyways and Indian TV is even more cringeworthy. Aren’t there Hindus who do those rituals in Pakistan. Similarly Sohail Tanvir making a sweeping statement on Hindus.

This excuse that this is what Pakistan public likes is dumb. It should have been a great opportunity to acknowledge Nidas hardwork and success but not perpetuate the sterotype that female athletes are manly and not fit to be married. What is this sensibilities from Arabian nights from 1100 Ad?

That is a gross generalization. If that was the case Nida Dar who is apparently from a middle class family wouldn’t have been encouraged to pick up sports, would she?

Also shouldn’t be some checks and balances on Pakistan TV?

I have noticed when Afridi says he broke TV when his daughter was imitating hindu rituals everyone were cheering for it too. Now I can understand if he had said he doesn’t let his daughter watch Indian movies and shows because of the political climate or the fact that most of Bollywood is crap anyways and Indian TV is even more cringeworthy. Aren’t there Hindus who do those rituals in Pakistan. Similarly Sohail Tanvir making a sweeping statement on Hindus.

This excuse that this is what Pakistan public likes is dumb. It should have been a great opportunity to acknowledge Nidas hardwork and success but not perpetuate the sterotype that female athletes are manly and not fit to be married. What is this sensibilities from Arabian nights from 1100 Ad?

I am not sure what point you are disagreeing with. I said his comments were offensive and he should have been pulled up on that. Only qualifier was emphasis should be on the offensive content rather than using terminology like sexism which vast majority of Pakistanis don't understand. Are you saying that we must use English terminology in Pakistan regardless of whether people understand it?

Please tell me thats an old video. Cant comprehend such things being said on TV in this day and age and the reactions themselves.....

The problem with the me feminist pregade is they take a guy joking about stuff in jest and blow it out of proportion. I have seen loads of girls and women who talk big during Me too events, protests but when their daughters are stuck in unhappy, abusive marriages, they tell them to suck it up and deal with it as this is their life now.

I am not sure what point you are disagreeing with. I said his comments were offensive and he should have been pulled up on that. Only qualifier was emphasis should be on the offensive content rather than using terminology like sexism which vast majority of Pakistanis don't understand. Are you saying that we must use English terminology in Pakistan regardless of whether people understand it?

I am disagreeing with the point that these shows are being made because this is what the public craves for. There are plenty of people from the poorer sections of the subcontinent who are respectful to women and plenty of rich and famous people with blatant misogyny as well. If that’s not what you said then my bad.

No I never said that the public craves these shows at all. I said (most) Pakistanis don't understand the concept of sexism. Most of them don't even speak English so how would they relate to it? You just have to watch Pakistan cricketers needing to conduct interviews in Urdu to see this.

PCB should serve show-cause notice to Razzaq and remove him as the coach of KPK but looking at their behaviour after Sarfraz incident, its unlikely to happen. Any other board in the world would have disassociated themselves from Razzaq but PCB wont which tells you a lot about PCB.

What does his comment have to do with coaching KPK? It was a comment made in jest and people and women should be strong enough to take it as such

Absolutely spot on. I remember watching an interview of Shahid Afridi where teh anchor says that recently in Khyber region u19 girls trials were conducted and he was very happy about it and asked Afridi about his reaction. To which Afridi being afridi replied "Yaar humare khawateen ki haaton mein maza bohut hain, khaana bohut acha pakhati hain". Implying that women should stay in kitchen than playing cricket.

This makes me wonder if education plays a role in this as we never hear a Ramiz raja or Wasim Akram or Waqar Younis make such ridiculous statements.

What does his comment have to do with coaching KPK? It was a comment made in jest and people and women should be strong enough to take it as such

Isn't he an employee of PCB? Isn't Nida too an employee of PCB? Shouldn't the employer reprimand the employee for passing derogatory comments on other employees.

Made in jest? As far as I know jest means a joke. So saying the women cricketers cannot marry because they train hard is a joke? making comments on their hairstyle is a joke? If what razzak is saying is true then people like Sania Mirza wouldn't have got married. Why should anyone take any **** from anyone in the name of joke and NO this is not about being mentally strong to take such crass comments.

Firstly calling this comedy is pushing it. Can you tell me what’s funny about calling a woman manly or
Making fun of her hairstyle on live TV especially a woman who is a role model for all the girls out there?

People drawing equivalence with Shehzad and Akmal, I am sure most of us would agree that they are far from being a role model to anyone but on the other hand don’t know much about Nida but getting to where she got especially in a society like Pakistan she deserves a lot more respect. Doesn’t she?

Javed Miandad and even Sarfaraz have some speech issues, not making fun of that but that’s a visible fact, anyone have the guts to make fun of them on these shows?

Jeez o man, it’s a joke and it’s probably not the first time she’s heard it. It’s not like she’s gonna go cry to bed now, and whilst people are all crying about it she’s probably had a laugh about it as well.

For you it may have not been funny, but that doesn’t mean it can’t be for others.

Razzaq is simply a reflection of the people in this country. Some that you can find in this thread.

Razzaq should have stuck to making fun of Umar and Shehzad then people would have laughed along with him like they always have.

Why isn't the PCB checking what is going to be discussed and which topics are going to spoken about beforehand - as they do with other media.

I'm afraid that they are partly responsible for this too.

Their is nothing offensive in it, light hearted chit chat show but some feminists and liberals sharing razzaq on social media as a villan to gain fake sympathy :afridi

Why isn't the PCB checking what is going to be discussed and which topics are going to spoken about beforehand - as they do with other media.

I'm afraid that they are partly responsible for this too.

Lol, don't you think the PCB has more pressing matters to worry about rather than what Razzaq will say in an interview?

Absolutely spot on. I remember watching an interview of Shahid Afridi where teh anchor says that recently in Khyber region u19 girls trials were conducted and he was very happy about it and asked Afridi about his reaction. To which Afridi being afridi replied "Yaar humare khawateen ki haaton mein maza bohut hain, khaana bohut acha pakhati hain". Implying that women should stay in kitchen than playing cricket.

This makes me wonder if education plays a role in this as we never hear a Ramiz raja or Wasim Akram or Waqar Younis make such ridiculous statements.

Wasim and Waqar are not educated either. It's just that they have the personality which the likes of Razzaq, Sarfraz, Miandad don't.

Mind numbingly stupid discussion. Disheartening to see even the female anchor also pile on the sexism; nothing more can be expected from the likes of Razzaq and the rest of the jahil men on the show.

Poor Nida Dar.

Mind numbingly stupid discussion. Disheartening to see even the female anchor also pile on the sexism; nothing more can be expected from the likes of Razzaq and the rest of the jahil men on the show.

Poor Nida Dar.

The female anchor looks like a jaahil too tbh. She was the one who started asking about shaadi and according to people in media, its possible that more derogatory stuff was said in the show which was post probably edited.

Jeez o man, it’s a joke and it’s probably not the first time she’s heard it. It’s not like she’s gonna go cry to bed now, and whilst people are all crying about it she’s probably had a laugh about it as well.

For you it may have not been funny, but that doesn’t mean it can’t be for others.

You are missing the point. For a moment we can brush away the crass comments on her looks as a joke. Its not about Nida here. He generalizes that female cricketers dont get married as they become like men in their strive to achieve success. That they lose interest in marriage. This was not meant as a joke but he put forward his views as he feels. with such mentality of people like Razzak and those that support him saying its a joke forget wrestlers like Phogat sisters its no wonder that pakistan isn't producing a Sania Mirza or PV Sindhu. By the way the Phogat sisters who have muscular physique as wrestlers too are happily married and have children. Mary Kom a boxer is a mother of three. people like Razzak need to come out of their caves and cave man mentality.

Wasim and Waqar are not educated either. It's just that they have the personality which the likes of Razzaq, Sarfraz, Miandad don't.

Well then it beats me what exactly is the difference. But looking at some of them brushing it under the carpet as a joke means education too cannot be a reason.

They are dehaati. They are too focused on cricket to work on other aspects of their personality. For them cricket is everything, none of those players can become commentators or brand ambassadors, their life starts with cricket and ends with cricket.

Let me put this way. Did you find it funny?

Or open question, just curious to know who on this forum thought this was hilarious.

Whether I found it funny or not is irrelevant, he made a joke and so we should take it as a joke and move on. There’s far more important things to be worried about in Pakistan.

You are missing the point. For a moment we can brush away the crass comments on her looks as a joke. Its not about Nida here. He generalizes that female cricketers dont get married as they become like men in their strive to achieve success. That they lose interest in marriage. This was not meant as a joke but he put forward his views as he feels. with such mentality of people like Razzak and those that support him saying its a joke forget wrestlers like Phogat sisters its no wonder that pakistan isn't producing a Sania Mirza or PV Sindhu. By the way the Phogat sisters who have muscular physique as wrestlers too are happily married and have children. Mary Kom a boxer is a mother of three. people like Razzak need to come out of their caves and cave man mentality.

Freedom of Speech, he can choose to say whatever he wants, as long as it’s not hate speech then I don’t see a problem.

Pakistan has many female sports athletes, obviously not as well known as India’s Mirza but we do have them. Razzaq’s comments won’t stop women from taking up sports, if it did then there wouldn’t be a Pakistani women’s cricket team, because these women have been hearing this kind of stuff from the get go, it hasn’t stopped them and it won’t stop the next generation.

Whether I found it funny or not is irrelevant, he made a joke and so we should take it as a joke and move on. There’s far more important things to be worried about in Pakistan.

Freedom of Speech, he can choose to say whatever he wants, as long as it’s not hate speech then I don’t see a problem.

Pakistan has many female sports athletes, obviously not as well known as India’s Mirza but we do have them. Razzaq’s comments won’t stop women from taking up sports, if it did then there wouldn’t be a Pakistani women’s cricket team, because these women have been hearing this kind of stuff from the get go, it hasn’t stopped them and it won’t stop the next generation.

Razzak is not a lay man. He is a sports personality that young boys and girls will look up to. He cannot say derogatory things under the garb of Freedom of Speech. comments like his may influence parents in rural areas and stop their girls from taking up the sport as they fear they may end up getting unmarried. Being a coach of a domestic team he needs to be responsible enough and held accountable for his statements.

Just because these girls hear these comments and remain silent doesn't mean these comments can be encouraged or justified as joke or FoS. Expecting the next generation too to bear these insults is baffling. But then when the PM himself blames women's clothing for rapes comments like Razzak's are not out of the ordinary.

Most Pakistani cricket legends have a very low IQ and it seems they are generally detached from the rest of the world. The non existent game plan & in game awareness of Pak players also testifies to the fact that they mostly are headless chickens.

Seriously low level comments from this uneducated guy with no manners . Surprisingly other in the show did not make it a big deal. I have no idea why they even bring this idiot to TV shows.

Zero surprise that it’s that pendu Razzaq

Prolly would be pulling water out of a tube well in his pind in Punjab if he couldn’t smack a ball that hard.

Razzaq was a good all-rounder. I wish he had keep his mouth shut and focused on cricket related activities. But as they say "izzat raas nahi ayi"

Nida Dar also hit the winning runs for Pakistan yesterday while playing a good innings in the T20 match chasing 210 against the Windies women.

Maybe all the training she does day in day out does have its benefits.

Razzaq is a legend, Nida is not, calling somone paindo is also offensive, but feminists and liberals have double standards... :afridi

Nida is a legend too. She’s the only player in Pakistan to take 100 T20I wickets.

Look at Nida Dar and the way she’s talking and then compare it to paindu Razzaq.

Nida is obviously from an educated and probably a well off family, and indeed Razzaq is a paindu. But then most of Pakistan is paindu, and don't have access to good education, and in that sense it's understandable these views will be widespread.

But unlike most Pakistanis, he has travelled around the world, seen the world and that should be enough to make them at least decent.

How much of the world do cricketers get to see these days when they are on tour? Most of them are living in hotels and they don't get to socialise much apart from the odd restaurant in their own company, or maybe some landmark spots. If you are uneducated, that isn't going to have much impact. You have to live in a society and immerse yourself in their lifestyle before you start to understand it.

Their is nothing offensive in it, light hearted chit chat show but some feminists and liberals sharing razzaq on social media as a villan to gain fake sympathy :afridi

Branding female cricketers as men and they wouldn't get married is light chit-chat? Commenting on someone's appearance is a joke for you? As far as I know a joke is something where we laugh with people not on people.

If I recollect correctly even the french made some cartoons in a light-hearted manner but it wasn't taken lightly. Something you dont find offensive may be offensive to someone else. There is no question of feminism or liberals here. Its more about respecting the other person the same way you would like to be respected. With the fragile egos of many of the Pak cricketers I am sure Razzaq would never take it if another cricketer made a joke on him.

How much of the world do cricketers get to see these days when they are on tour? Most of them are living in hotels and they don't get to socialise much apart from the odd restaurant in their own company, or maybe some landmark spots. If you are uneducated, that isn't going to have much impact. You have to live in a society and immerse yourself in their lifestyle before you start to understand it.

But razzak was from pre covid era where he has travelled atleast 10 different countries. I am pretty sure he would have got to see different cultures and lifestyles. If Razzaq spent all his life in a remote village in KPK with no access to anyone of a different culture its understandable. He has played county cricket for various counties which means he has stayed in the UK and exposed to western society. But then when he openly claims to have extra-marital affairs its about the deep rooted misogyny which cannot be rooted about so easily.

What do you think Razzaq did on his pre-Covid tours abroad? Attend readings of great literary works of the 20th century? Take in some theatre or shop at Waterstones for the latest books on female emancipation?

He's a relatively uneducated paindu as has already been said by others. He'll have gone to restaurants, maybe done some go-karting if he's really outgoing, or maybe tried his luck at the odd nightclub. I really don't think any of those sort of activities are going to broaden the mind of the average Pak cricket tourist.