PSL 2018 Eliminator 2: Peshawar Zalmi defeat Karachi Kings to make it to PSL 2018 final

So we are gonna see one of PZ and IU winning PSL twice

Pretty good chase from Karachi. Really liked Babar's composure. There was just too much on the board to score against this attack.

Crazy how a hard hitter like Ingram never got to bat until the last over..

Im all for sportsman spirit but there is too much of this bromance between the Pakistani players in the tournament. Its like it really is a circus for them

agree; Babar was quite happy like he does not care that his team is out of PSL

CONGRATS HUM ZALMI FANS.....

What an epic performance from Zalmi MASHALLAH.

This trophy belongs to us.

Yes. They should have gone reckless irrespective of how good bowling was. They had all wickets to launch attack. Denly looked out of practice and Baber is just average

It doesn't work that way - top order has to carry a fair bit of distance. This late surge is because both batsmen were set

To be fair target was just too much but KK could have tried harder

Karachi need to sack Mickey and Azhar. Their bowling plans were poor in the last two games.

It'll be tough for Karachite to cheer for 2 northern side.

Good night.

I think very unfair to blame babar for this . . it was a tactical mess up . . babar punched abve his weight and this kind of innings would be winning pakistan most games . . however, there's no way you can send babar in a 12 an over chase at number 3 . . you need to give your hitters a chance . . Denly also wasted a lot of deliveries and made up only when the game was lost . .

Afridi misses out on yet another farewell game in Pakistan. :)) lovely.

I think very unfair to blame babar for this . . it was a tactical mess up . . babar punched abve his weight and this kind of innings would be winning pakistan most games . . however, there's no way you can send babar in a 12 an over chase at number 3 . . you need to give your hitters a chance . . Denly also wasted a lot of deliveries and made up only when the game was lost . .
Another way of putting: Babar ain't cut for this level.

Two teams promoting most youngsters are in the final. Only LQ missed among the teams promoting most youngsters.

KK, OG and MS need to learn from them

Ramiz Raja is not apologizing for being so wrong in picking KK as winner :facepalm:

Ingram should have batted at 3 .
In a 16 over game why do you want to pair up 3 consolidators.

Another way of putting: Babar ain't cut for this level.

You'd win most games if Babar plays at a strike rate of 140 . . heck, if he averages 35 at an average of 120, you'd win most games . . its people around him that need to play the aggressive role . .

In any kinda chase, 12 an over, the chasing side will lost 9/10 times . . babars innings in this game would win you 9/10 games! . . Contrary to what most people think, you do need someone who can score at an average of 35 at 120/130 strike rate in t20!

That was a bizarre inning by Denly and Babar

This type of innings from Babar might have worked in the Pakistan national team with the rest batting around him. But two guys playing a similar type of innings was never going to be successful in chasing this type of total.

That was a bizarre inning by Denly and Babar

This type of innings from Babar might have worked in the Pakistan national team with the rest batting around him. But two guys playing a similar type of innings was never going to be successful in chasing this type of total.

Babar is a shahzad type of player, but less an animal. He needs to rotate the strike more often. He has plays a dozen odd dots for nothing in shorter format.

You'd win most games if Babar plays at a strike rate of 140 . . heck, if he averages 35 at an average of 120, you'd win most games . . its people around him that need to play the aggressive role . .

In any kinda chase, 12 an over, the chasing side will lost 9/10 times . . babars innings in this game would win you 9/10 games! . . Contrary to what most people think, you do need someone who can score at an average of 35 at 120/130 strike rate in t20!

I like how you quote random stats out of [censored]. 9/10? Give me a break. The players at this level should have chased it with the platform they had and the perfect pitch. Say good bye to major events, if our star batsman can't perform in these conditions.

agree; Babar was quite happy like he does not care that his team is out of PSL

Too much of bowlers touching batsmen and patting each others backs etc. Like ok we get it that you guys might be friends off the field but we are here to view a ferocious contest between bat and ball

I like how you quote random stats out of [censored]. 9/10? Give me a break. The players at this level should have chased it with the platform they had and the perfect pitch. Say good bye to major events, if our star batsman can't perform in these conditions.

Yes but only one team can win. Total was too much, should have chased at this level is a wrong statement. According to this every international team should be able to chase any total in ICC tournuments

Ahh! you're the typical fan who wants the team full of shahid afridis! not debating this any further with you . .

I stand by what I said . . Babar Azam with this kind of innings will win you most matches! It's not every day you chase 11 an over from the get go!

Great win yet again by Zalmi.

I hope Tamim comes back to make their batting lineup a bit stronger. We can't rely on kamran Akmal all the time.

Karachi people were totally expecting Karachi Kings to be in final; this is a major upset and will break hearts of lot of Karachi people; some of them will not come

Nah. People of Lahore also wanted to be LQ to be in the final, that didnt happen but they were still pretty passionate about both the matches.

Too much of bowlers touching batsmen and patting each others backs etc. Like ok we get it that you guys might be friends off the field but we are here to view a ferocious contest between bat and ball

the players have to realize that this tournament PSL is not a vacation for them like IPL has become; the owners and the coaches needs to be strict in this regard

Ahh! you're the typical fan who wants the team full of shahid afridis! not debating this any further with you . .

I stand by what I said . . Babar Azam with this kind of innings will win you most matches! It's not every day you chase 11 an over from the get go!

You sir are committing a logical fallacy. I didn't say that. I however did say that given the situation and everything, they should have chased it. Peace.

Really? I thought otherwise. Is QG more popular in Karachi?

Karachi people were totally expecting Karachi Kings to be in final; this is a major upset and will break hearts of lot of Karachi people; some of them will not come
Buss kardo Bhai.

Tickets are ridiculously priced

No way anyone will not go once they have already bought it

Also it's first competitive game after 7-8 years so people will go to watch ANY team

Just checked final score.. WTH KK have lost only two freaking wickets? they still didn't get the to the target? i can understand 138 all out kind of score but 150+ for two chasing 170 is a bit odd. Going quickly through the commentary threads here and it looks like the boundaries are very short... so why KK didn't use all their resources?

Also some of the bowling looks pretty ordinary. i thought KK bowling was the best.. Looks like no bowling is good against Akmal :)

Yes but only one team can win. Total was too much, should have chased at this level is a wrong statement. According to this every international team should be able to chase any total in ICC tournuments

It's not wrong given the wicket in hands, pitch etc. When team mates play for individual gains, you can't have big moments as a team.

I have seen lots of chokes in international and domestic level but this one by KK was at next level, it surpassed the all-time record of chokes. Congrats to KK for achieving that. :facepalm:

Tbh it's not a choke. It's just bad strategy and poor game awareness

Karachi Dolphins were the real Kings of chokes though :)))

I would not call this as chocking. Lack of hitting skills is the reason. Batting card filled with has beens,nobodies ,no 1 ranked player but not so great hitter, etc

Ingram was probably the best hitter in the team and he came in last over :facepalm:

Akmal best batsman of PSL 2018
Some PPera have really hard time wheather to praise akmal or defend ATG bowlers

man you are right.. I thought this was one off innings. he has five 50+ scores including a century at an excellent strike rate.. Just shows that all it needs is that batsman show some intent. Looks like every opening batsman who has shown intent has done well like Akmal, Ronchi (did he open all the matches?), Fakhar.. Even Hafeez seems to have got himself some runs. I don't know much about Denly but looks like he has also helped himself to some runs.

Babar Azam scoring all those runs at 120 stirke rate is not going to help much. For a one down batsman he is quite slow.. Good thing is he is young and has whole career ahead of him to make changes. But what is players like Hafeez and Sanga doing there? these oldies should be kicked out..

But what is players like Hafeez and Sanga doing there? these oldies should be kicked out..

But then how would rameez commentate and quote useless random trivia educating us that hafeez is the professor, while he bats? /s

Why do you come up with such strange points? I highly doubt that even one person won't come because the Kings aren't in the final.

Yes. what may have happened is that demand would have increased and some tickets would have been resold in black at even more expensive prices

Srh really is master of bizarre posts

But then how would rameez commentate and quote useless random trivia educating us that hafeez is the professor, while he bats? /s

that is funny :).. didn't watch the game, so not aware of that. But overall lots of oldies trying to settle down here. Kick them out.. Pak, being a huge country with great cricketing history, will be able to get enough players to fill the slots.. I don't really think Sanga will bring crowd though Hafeez might bring some

You sir are committing a logical fallacy. I didn't say that. I however did say that given the situation and everything, they should have chased it. Peace.

"he players at this level should have chased it with the platform they had and the perfect pitch" . .

Since you want facts, let me give them to you . .

In all of t20 international cricket . . since the inception of t20 . . teams have achieved more than 10 an over (not even 11) only 17 times in the 2nd innings . . 10 of them have resulted in victories . .

so, in all of t20 international cricket . . only 10 times, has a team successfully chased over 10 an over batting second . .

so what I am saying is, that your statement has simplified the equation considerably!

What you need is a team! Babar's role is not that of an Afridi, or a Faheem Ashraf, or a Fakhar Zaman . you can not give the same role to everyone on the team . . if your anchor (which Babar is) plays at an average of 35 at a strike rate of 120 and above . . from a team perspective, he is doing an amazing job . . if people around him can't hit . . you can't put that on Babar! and the sooner people realize he is no Kohli or De Velliers, the better it is . .

"he players at this level should have chased it with the platform they had and the perfect pitch" . .

In all of t20 international cricket . . since the inception of t20 . . teams have achieved more than 10 an over (not even 11) only 17 times in the 2nd innings . . 10 of them have resulted in victories . .

so, in all of t20 international cricket . . only 10 times, has a team successfully chased over 10 an over batting second . .

so what I am saying is, that your statement has simplified the equation considerably!

What you need is a team! Babar's role is not that of an Afridi, or a Faheem Ashraf, or a Fakhar Zaman . you can not give the same role to everyone on the team . . if your anchor (which Babar is) plays at an average of 35 at a strike rate of 120 and above . . from a team perspective, he is doing an amazing job . . if people around him can't hit . . you can't put that on Babar! and the sooner people realize he is no Kohli or De Velliers, the better it is . .
Even Kohli and De Villiers were not the batsman that Babar is at 23. There is room for improvement in his game and he will get better. Which is scary because he is already the best bat by far in Pakistan. Potential ATG.

in all of t20 international cricket...There goes your argument. You didn't include the domestic T20s or leagues.

Good game. Congrats to PZ, and am very happy for them, especially Sammy.

Mainly gutted for the Karachi crowd which won't get to see Karachi playing, but hey, at least PZ and IU are both Pakistani teams. :)

Wouldn't really blame anyone for today. Amir's captaincy wasn't too bad. Felt the toss call was correct, and the bowling did what it could. Babar's batting actually was not bad. It's just that the target was too big, which is thanks to Kamran who simply was unstoppable.

Well done to Karachi. Good effort.

Good luck to Zalmi, and I back them to defeat IU in the finals. Will be rooting for them.

man you are right.. I thought this was one off innings. he has five 50+ scores including a century at an excellent strike rate.. Just shows that all it needs is that batsman show some intent. Looks like every opening batsman who has shown intent has done well like Akmal, Ronchi (did he open all the matches?), Fakhar.. Even Hafeez seems to have got himself some runs. I don't know much about Denly but looks like he has also helped himself to some runs.

Babar Azam scoring all those runs at 120 stirke rate is not going to help much. For a one down batsman he is quite slow.. Good thing is he is young and has whole career ahead of him to make changes. But what is players like Hafeez and Sanga doing there? these oldies should be kicked out..

Still “bowling is better than other leagues” statement from psl fans valid?

It makes me angry when a team chasing a high target leaves the chase too late with too much to do in the end and they still have wickets in hand. This was pretty selfish from both Roy and Babar Azam who played for himself and not the team.

Oh bhai yeh Roy ka naam khn se a gaya beech mein? Match dekhte bhi ho yan bas rona ata hai?