Qamar Javaid Bajwa - New COAS

General Qamar Javed Bajwa appointed new Army Chief of Pakistan

lieutenant-General-Qamar-Javed-Bajwa.jpg

https://en.dailypakistan.com.pk/headline/general-qamar-javed-bajwa-appointed-new-army-chief-of-pakistan/

im kinda mixed about this

Raheel shareef was so brilliant that i wouldnt have minded him getting another term eventhough all my adult life i have been against that notion

the problem is that our COAS have a lot of power so one crazy loon can lead us to the abyss esp cuz theres always a chance that he might take over n a martial law someday.

atleast with PM there are some checks and protests no matter how pointless and ineffective they may seem.

Best of luck to Qamar Javaid Bajwa....hopefully he will continue with Raheel Sharif's policies especially no interference in politics.

Told you 2 months ago.

• Screenshot_20160913-201831.jpg
    Screenshot_20160913-201831.jpg
    187.6 KB · Views: 1,117
im kinda mixed about this

Raheel shareef was so brilliant that i wouldnt have minded him getting another term eventhough all my adult life i have been against that notion

the problem is that our COAS have a lot of power so one crazy loon can lead us to the abyss esp cuz theres always a chance that he might take over n a martial law someday.

atleast with PM there are some checks and protests no matter how pointless and ineffective they may seem.

How was General Raheel Sharif brilliant? Care to explain in detail?

So he is 4th Army Chief of Pakistan from Baloch Regiment. Yahya, Baig and Kayani were also from Baloch Regiment.

CJSC Rashad Mahmood was also from Baloch Regiment.

Are you sure? Care to explain in detail?

I said Raheel Sharif did not interfere in Pakistan politics and hopefully Bajwa will continue with this policy? Not sure what you want me to explain?

Can you please answer a amatuer question for me ?
Who makes these Army chief selection ? I mean who appoints COAS?

Prime Minister of Pakistan. Army usually send a list of 3 to 4 most senior Generals names to PM as suggestion so he can select a COAS and CJCS but he can select a General from out of the list as well. Musharraf and Zia both were picked from out of the list by Nawaz and Bhutto.

No need to discuss his caste/ethnicity.

Coas

jcsc

• Screenshot_20161126-151605.jpg
    Screenshot_20161126-151605.jpg
    130.7 KB · Views: 1,044
  • Screenshot_20161126-151641.jpg
    Screenshot_20161126-151641.jpg
    232.3 KB · Views: 958
I don't think this is a good move by Nawaz. General Isfaq Nadeem was Raheel Sharif's right hand man and was actually the one who was closely advising RS on all policy matters. Isfaq Nadeem was also quite vocal and let his opinion known amongst all close quarters (I know all this since a friend of mine belongs to Isfaq's family)

Isfaq was the best man if you wanted continuation in RS's mission, Qamar Bajwa may take a different direction on things.

One possible reason that Nawaz didn't nominate Isfaq is because he happened to be Raheel Sharif's personal choice and since he was so opinionated he won't have any qualms in telling NS that you are wrong or you need to do something a certain way. Remember NS wants a chief who is "apna bunda" and loyal to him.

wish Pakistanis dont make the appointment of COAS a big deal; it should not be even a news; I dont know the name of army chief of Canada and most of Canadians are like that; Pakistanis should be like that too

Canada has a tiny army compared to Pakistan and it does not have any conflicts with any country in the world. Pakistan on the other hand is nuclear armed and has a hostile and war-mongering neighbour on its eastern front. Obviously the Pakistani army chief will be more important for Pakistan than the Canadian chief for Canada.

I can bet 99.5% of Indians do not know who their army chief is, I am sure huge number of Pakistanis also don't know or don't want to know but posters, hoardings and such keep them informed in Pakistan like the popularity of Tendulkar in India, people just know him in India even in non cricketing states. We netizens tend to exaggerate and impose our viewpoint on aam junta. You are also in small minority, a Pakistani Canadian having keen interest in South Asian politics. Consider yourself privileged, average Indian/Pakistan wants to bid adieu to poverty ridden motherland and never return back.

I will glorify his appointment the day he take us out of this curse called democracy, for the sake of this country, not for the sake of his institution just like the 1999 take over.

I hope he interferes in politics as much as possible since Army is the only check and balance we have to discipline these corrupt parliamentarians.

I can bet 99.5% of Indians do not know who their army chief is, I am sure huge number of Pakistanis also don't know or don't want to know but posters, hoardings and such keep them informed in Pakistan like the popularity of Tendulkar in India, people just know him in India even in non cricketing states. We netizens tend to exaggerate and impose our viewpoint on aam junta. You are also in small minority, a Pakistani Canadian having keen interest in South Asian politics. Consider yourself privileged, average Indian/Pakistan wants to bid adieu to poverty ridden motherland and never return back.

India is a not a national security state. Pakistan is. We face an existential threat from India. We have also had many coups. Army in Pakistan weilds a lot more clout than in India.

My post was not to compare Canada and Pakistan; it was to show what is the expected behaviour of general public in case of an appointment of army chief in a democracy. The important persons are your political leaders as you are a democracy; the army chief should not be an important person.

Pakistan's new COAS Qamar Javed Bajwa served under ex Indian COAS Bikram Singh on a UN assignment in Congo.

My post was not to compare Canada and Pakistan; it was to show what is the expected behaviour of general public in case of an appointment of army chief in a democracy. The important persons are your political leaders as you are a democracy; the army chief should not be an important person.

exactly this!

Sadly these guys like to keep themselves in the limelight.

Its funny how the COAS is being appointed by the PM, but at the same time it sends a chill on everyones spine as the COAS have been known for taking over under martial law.

I hope he interferes in politics as much as possible since Army is the only check and balance we have to discipline these corrupt parliamentarians.

checks and balances are done by the public, army influence is what kills your democracy

Knowing who the army chief is in Pakistan is important considering the history of the military in Pakistan and it's involvement in the government, also the army chief in Pakistan is the commander-in-chief which is the same role the President of the United States has, so that's it more important.

checks and balances are done by the public, army influence is what kills your democracy

The military always plays a role behind the scenes in most countries, the Pakistani army is unfortunately more open about it.

According to the article in Dawn he considers religious extremism in Pakistan a bigger threat for Pakistan rather than India. That's good to know. Hope he can continue with the operations against extremists and make Pakistan safe again.

nope, even the guys who don't use net know the COAS of Pakistan. Everyone in Pakistan knows him.

Problem is the army also has an ISPR going, telling the public what they have achieved everyday

exactly this!

Sadly these guys like to keep themselves in the limelight.

Its funny how the COAS is being appointed by the PM, but at the same time it sends a chill on everyones spine as the COAS have been known for taking over under martial law.

Martial law is not the same thing as a coup :facepalm: I've noticed a lot of Pakistanis mix the two words together, I think it's cause of how illiterate the people are.

this is why i think i said,

...........COAS have been known for taking over under martial law

According to the article in Dawn he considers religious extremism in Pakistan a bigger threat for Pakistan rather than India. That's good to know. Hope he can continue with the operations against extremists and make Pakistan safe again.

Also there have been questions about his religious affiliation. Not sure if it's true or not but if it is, I consider his appointment a brilliant move!
the bolded part typifies what is wrong with some of the thinking n Pakistan; it is the job of army chief to follow orders of government; the ownership of operation against extremists belongs to the government; army is just a tool to implement that operation; there is no need to hope that he do his job; he has to do his job or else he will be fired and another person will be selected to do his job;

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations on your appoointment Gen. Qamar Bajwa. We 've full confidence in you IA you'll carry on great work of Gen.RaheelSharif <a href="https://t.co/XNabm5ZbbS">pic.twitter.com/XNabm5ZbbS</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/802575704416129024">November 26, 2016</a></blockquote>

He commanded 10 Corp and comes from Baluch Regiment so he is a Soldier's General, no issues with competence at all.

Bad choice if he is just a "yes man" appointed to keep Nawaz and India happy. Great choice if he can look India in the eyes like Raheel making them blink first. Even better if he can get rid of Nawaz and keep Zardari away without a military coup. Don't really know what category he falls in to.

this is why i think i said,

...........COAS have been known for taking over under martial law

You still don't get it. They don't takeover "under martial law", you don't need martial law in order to pull off a coup and nor do you need a military regime to have martial law.

I don't think this is a good move by Nawaz. General Isfaq Nadeem was Raheel Sharif's right hand man and was actually the one who was closely advising RS on all policy matters. Isfaq Nadeem was also quite vocal and let his opinion known amongst all close quarters (I know all this since a friend of mine belongs to Isfaq's family)

Isfaq was the best man if you wanted continuation in RS's mission, Qamar Bajwa may take a different direction on things.

One possible reason that Nawaz didn't nominate Isfaq is because he happened to be Raheel Sharif's personal choice and since he was so opinionated he won't have any qualms in telling NS that you are wrong or you need to do something a certain way. Remember NS wants a chief who is "apna bunda" and loyal to him.

My initial reaction was disappointment too, because Ishfaq Nadeem appeared to be the best suited to carry on Raheel's work against militants (or at least a subsection of them). However, I also remember how, when Raheel got the nod over Tariq Khan in 2013, many of us, myself included, were disappointed. But Raheel proved up to the job, and more. Bajwa may surprise us too.

the bolded part typifies what is wrong with some of the thinking n Pakistan; it is the job of army chief to follow orders of government; the ownership of operation against extremists belongs to the government; army is just a tool to implement that operation; there is no need to hope that he do his job; he has to do his job or else he will be fired and another person will be selected to do his job;

In a perfect world, yes. The reality as we know is much different.

I just hope he is bot as useless as RS was and gets involved in politics to save this country from the sham democracy we have.

Bajwa must remember his loyalty is to Pakistan not the pro-Indian corrupt government. He must continue the good work Raheel has done over the years. What I like about our new chief is his expertise at the LOC that is invaluable at the moment.

I do not know whether it's right or wrong but a campaign has been started by Gov to tame new COAS. Campaign through Media persons who are close with Gov.

Watched few clips of Najam Sethi's today's and yesterday's program and He is doing the role of

" Groom Kit "
" Advisor "
" Mentor "

for COAS.

Telling COAS Do's and Don’ts

Also explaining new COAS's statements.

I am all for Army to do only its Constitutional role as a state key institution but I am not sure if Prime Minister can become the Boss like this ? I am not sure if He will succees in Taming the COAS and the institution like this.

From Tallat's article and Najam's programs it looks like both have been released from " Habs e Beja "

To have the real control the Prime Mimister has to have Moral authority. I may be wrong (totally) but I think prime minister sahib never had the moral authority to lead as CM or PM given the way his politics started and the way Sharif family has been known to do business since Nationalisation by Bhutto. With his " Dasstan's " of last 4 decades even I doubt He will have the Army under his control. Yes the incoming COAS may be abit soft or down to earth pro democracy but PM sahib doesn't know that COAS is controlled ?

The more they try the "tame" the COAS, the more it will backfire. He will now have to go out of his way to wash himself of this stigma.

We need to understand that he needs to look after the interests of his corp commanders too. He needs to win their loyalty and distance himself from the government.

The more they try the "tame" the COAS, the more it will backfire. He will now have to go out of his way to wash himself of this stigma.

We need to understand that he needs to look after the interests of his corp commanders too. He needs to win their loyalty and distance himself from the government.

In Pakistan you cannot "tame" a COAS no matter how meek or complaint he may seem. There is an institutional responsibility on him.

Add to that Nawaz Sharif would be the last person to ever "tame" a COAS, he is corrupt to the core (and army knows it) and he has a history of toeing the Indian narrative.

Lou Ji

According to Senior Dabung Journalist Chaudhry Ghulam Hussain , Hussain Nawaz Son of PM sahib has met COAS & CJCSC yesterday in Bahria Town Phase 8 Rawalpindi.

Mosoof ka kya lena dena tha ?

Lou Ji

According to Senior Dabung Journalist Chaudhry Ghulam Hussain , Hussain Nawaz Son of PM sahib has met COAS & CJCSC yesterday in Bahria Town Phase 8 Rawalpindi.

Mosoof ka kya lena dena tha ?

I wasn't going to believe this news but Ch Ghulam Hussain bhai ne to time, address jaga or bande a to z poori detail di to koi to baat hogi lol 2 baj ker 40 minute per :))

He doesn't look tameable to me. Saw the new chief shaking Nawaz Sharif's hand last yesterday after getting out of a car. He showed much more respect to the driver of the vehicle.

Going by the history Nawaz will try his best to tell the COAS i am the BOSS here even if it backfires like every time. He is really insecure just watch this little clip from one of his interviews when he was living in SA to get the idea of his mindset.

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x3setbg" allowfullscreen></iframe>

[MENTION=142169]PakLFC[/MENTION] [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

So new COAS had a meeting with Nawaz Sharif's son (Hussain Nawaz) on his first day in office, had a phone conversation with 'Eent se eent baja deingay" Zardari and selfies with PMLN's Zubair Umar family (that could be due to their Army link). I thought they wanted COAS to stay away from politics?

These guys have served army for 35 years and have been filtered out at every level for internal promotions. Thinking they will be toys at hands of politicians is naive.

Pakistan has been in war since 2001 so these all potential candidates must have agreed to same agenda as Raheel Sharif to get promotions in last 15 years .. If you dont get along with others then you simply dont get to these high ranked positions ... Army is very disciplined in this regard ...

So new COAS had a meeting with Nawaz Sharif's son (Hussain Nawaz) on his first day in office, had a phone conversation with 'Eent se eent baja deingay" Zardari and selfies with PMLN's Zubair Umar family (that could be due to their Army link). I thought they wanted COAS to stay away from politics?

thats not true; some people are trying to discredit Qamar Bajwa; first they tried to portray him as a Qadiani when he is not; then they tried to show him meeting NS's son when he did not meet; not sure who are those people may be establishment trying to force Qamar Bajwa to toe their line

It might well be true that they are trying to discredit him but i think COAS needs to kep really low profile and stay away from politicians and political activities. These secret meetings (if they happen) need to stop and key decisions must be made by politicians. We can blame army for intereference all we want but if your police, judiciary, civil services etc are useless and you need fauj then don't blame them for interference.

Interesting

Pakistan’s new army chief Bajwa ‘knows a lot about what India thinks’

Brig (retired) Feroz Hassan Khan, who was Bajwa’s commanding officer on the LoC, says the man in what is usually seen as the most powerful position in Pakistan does not have a “visceral hatred” of India.

There is an assumption that every Pakistani military officer who rises has some sort of a visceral hatred towards India, as if it’s a default. This is not the case with (Bajwa) and I can tell you he has studied India so much,” Khan told Hindustan Times on phone from Monterey, California, where he teaches at the US Naval Postgraduate School.

Bajwa, with whom Khan has stayed in touch over the years, “understands India (and) reads a lot of what India writes and knows a lot about what India thinks”. He added, “There’s hardly any senior officer of his level who reads a lot of what is published in India and he studies, he reflects and he remembers.”

http://www.hindustantimes.com/analy...ndia-thinks/story-q4PFVkbyQqxalUSrc4rfbM.html

What India should know about Pakistan's new Army chief

Describing Pakistan's new Army chief, former Indian Army chief General Bikram Singh, under whom Bajwa has worked in UN force, said Bajwa was a "thorough professional" who gave an "outstanding performance" in the Congo mission, but said things change once an officer goes back to his home country and India should wait and watch, and be "careful".

Though little is publicly known about the ancestry of general Bajwa, he is said to be a Punjabi Muslim Jat. Incidentally, Indian Army chief General DS Suhag also happens to be a Jat. The appointment of Qamar Javed Bajwa has sent a significant signal to archrival India as the new army chief has remained clear about his stance towards India all through his service.

http://www.dailyo.in/politics/pakis...wa-baloch-regiment-kashmir/story/1/14254.html

Also, he seems pretty tall

2_106804.JPG

Army chief arrives in Saudi Arabia on maiden official visit
1266432-armychief-1481988952-906-640x480.jpg
Army Chief Gen Qamar Bajwa reached Saudi Arabia on December 17, 2016 on a three-day official visit. PHOTO: ISPR

Army Chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa has arrived in Saudi Arabia on Saturday on a maiden three-day official visit, Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR) said in a statement.

It is General Bajwa’s first ever official visit to any foreign since he was appointed as the Chief of Army Staff (COAS).

Army chief hails ISI for ‘strengthening national security’

Upon arrival, the army chief was received by the Saudi Assistant Defence Minister Muhammad bin Abdullah al Ayesh. During the trip to the kingdom, the COAS will meet senior military and civil leadership of Saudi Arabia.

An intense guessing game on the replacement of the army chief General Raheel Sharif came to an end on November 26 when Lieutenant General Qamar Javed Bajwa was appointed as the new Chief of Army Staff.

The appointment of Gen Bajwa has come as a surprise to some given that he was second last in order of seniority among the five generals whose names were forwarded to the prime minister to fill the key slots of Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee (CJCSC) and Chief of Army Staff (COAS).http://tribune.com.pk/story/1266432/army-chief-arrives-saudi-arabia-maiden-official-visit/