Quetta Gladiators vs Peshawar Zalmi | PSL 2019 - Final | NSK | March 17, 2019 | Pre-game Thread

saeed5646

There seems to be excellent rivalry between two best side of PSL.There have been some thrilling matches between the two which ended in nail bitting finishes .Look at the some scorecard of there counters

Pakistan Super League 2015-16

7th match

Quetta Gladiators 7/139 (19.5) vs Peshawar Zalmi 7/135 (20)

quetta won by 3 wicket

19th match

Quetta Gladiators 133 (19.3) vs Peshawar Zalmi 9/132 (20)

Quetta won by 1 runs

Pakistan Super League 2016-17

19th match

Quetta Gladiators 128 (20) vs Peshawar Zalmi 8/130 (19.2)

Peshware zalmi won by 2 wicket

Qualfier one

Quetta Gladiators 7/200 (20) vs Peshawar Zalmi 9/199 (20)

quetta won by 1 runs

Pakistan Super League 2018

10th Match

Quetta Gladiators 141/8 vs Peshawar Zalmi 143/5

Zalmi won by 5 wickets (with 2 balls remaining)

23rd Match

Peshawar Zalmi 157/5 vs Quetta Gladiators 158/4

Quetta Glad won by 6 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)

Eliminator 1

Peshawar Zalmi 157 vs Quetta Gladiators 156/9 (20 ov, target 158)

Zalmi won by 1 run

Pakistan Super League 2019

Qualifier

Quetta Gladiators 186/6 vs Peshawar Zalmi 176/7 (20 over)

Quetta Glad won by 10 runs

quetta won by 3 wicket
Quetta won by 1 runs
Peshware zalmi won by 2 wicket
quetta won by 1 runs
Zalmi won by 1 run

these are some unreal close matches .:O:O

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Darren Sammy and Sarfaraz Ahmed pose with the 2019 PSL Trophy ahead of the final of the tournament between Quetta Gladiators and Peshawar Zalmi, which will be played on Sunday, 17th March at the NSK (Video courtesy of Peshawar Zalmi) <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL4?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSL4</a> <a href="https://t.co/XlaHpnIfIh">pic.twitter.com/XlaHpnIfIh</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1106823376109211650?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 16, 2019</a></blockquote>

This is the real rivalry of PSL. Both the teams are always on top and produce some great matches.

Quetta Gladiators hope their in-form opener Shane Watson will make them third time lucky as they look to avoid another knock-out punch from a spirited Peshawar Zalmi when the two teams clash in the sell-out final of the HBL Pakistan Super League at the National Stadium on Sunday. The match will start at 8pm, but the closing ceremony will begin at 6pm.

Quetta have beaten Peshawar in both the league games this season, before having the better of their arch-rivals in the Wednesday’s Qualifier at the back of a powerful performance, but they are wary of a knock-out punch from the Daren Sammy-led Peshawar.

Despite beating Peshawar in the Qualifiers in 2016 and 2017 in thrilling last-over finishes by one-run, Quetta lost in the 2017 final by 58 runs in Lahore and in the Eliminator 1 last year.

Quetta captain Sarfaraz Ahmed hoped it will be a case of third time lucky.

“We are playing the final for the third time, so we will do our all-out effort to play in the same manner which we have done in the whole tournament,” Sarfaraz told a news conference on Saturday.

“If you look at the previous years, there were some factors which hurt us as some players didn’t come,” said Sarfaraz of the Lahore final when Kevin Pietersen and Rilee Rossouw were not available.

Last year, Watson decided to stay away for the Eliminators in Lahore, leaving Quetta depleted. But this time Watson, who has amassed 423 runs in the tournament, made a late decision to visit Karachi.

“This time, we are at our full strength, so we will do our best to play like we have done and win the tournament. Obviously, winning the trophy is every captain's wish. We have come close, but were not able to win. This time, we will do our best, though we have a strong team against us.”

It is befitting for the HBL Pakistan Super League final that the two most in-form teams are in the final, finishing with seven wins and three losses each in the first phase.

Peshawar skipper Sammy admitted Watson has plagued his team.

“Shane Watson has really been the pain for us,” said Sammy of the former Australia opener, who has 265 runs at 66.25 in five matches against Peshawar in two years. “He is pretty experience and he is enjoying his form.”

But Sammy hoped his team will give another knock-out punch.

“Quetta has had the better of us throughout the season and I always tell my boys that everything in life happens for a reason. If it is one time we chose to beat them, whey not in the final when it really matters.

“Hopefully, it’s a cracker of a game and we find ways and means to execute our plans against them and we will need that but that Shane Watson guy is pain for us.”

Quetta have mostly chased targets and their two wins against Peshawar came by six and eight wickets, respectively before they had the better of their rivals by 10 runs in the play-off in Karachi.

Sarfaraz said he was looking for a good platform from his top-order.

“Watson and Umar Akmal are quality players. Watson has played well throughout the tournament and is in-form and it’s good that a top player like him is with us and we are at full strength. We also have Rilee Rossouw, Ahsan Ali and Ahmed Shahzad, so if our top players give the platform, then we will put a good total against the opposition who have a strong bowling line-up.”

Besides Watson, Umar (277 runs in 11 matches), Rossouw (256 in 10 matches) and Shahzad (253 in seven) are in good nick.

Peshawar are more reliant on Kamran Akmal, who Sammy described as his “match-winner”, having knocked off 336 runs in 12 games. Fellow-opener Imam-ul-Haq has justified his selection with 338 runs in 11 matches. They put on 135 to set the platform for an imposing 214 for five against Islamabad, helping their team to a 48-run win.

Peshawar also has powerful pace attack, led by tournament's highest wicket-taker Hasan Ali who has 25 wickets in 12 matches. Experienced pacer Wahab Riaz has 16, followed by Sameen Gul (10), and Tymal Mills and Umaid Asif (seven each).

But Quetta’s spinners – Mohammad Nawaz and Fawad Ahmed – make the difference with wickets in the middle overs. Peshawar are unable to accommodate their spinner Liam Dawson.

Sarfaraz admitted Fawad Ahmed is doubtful after being hit on the mouth in the Qualifier against Peshawar, which needed a surgery.

Sammy hoped it will be another crackers of a game before a sell-out crowd.

“I like to be the underdogs,” said Sammy. “To be fair, Quetta are playing some good cricket. The key for us is that our bowling unit has pretty much been the same. Hasan has been playing since his debut and Wahab leading the pack and sharing his experience.

“We have some good players, not superstars but effective players. To be able to make three consecutive finals in a row is an achievement.

“Winning the final tomorrow will really be the icing on the cake.”

Fixture:

FINAL - Quetta Gladiators v Peshawar Zalmi – Sunday, 17 March, 8pm. Ranmore Martinesz and Ahsan Raza (on-field umpires), Shozab Raza (third umpire), Rashid Riaz (fourth umpire); Roshan Mahanama (match referee).

25e0a107-6e0e-432c-9e53-2dd7a33074e6.jpg40.jpg

Football legend Puyol among the stars to feature in glittering HBL PSL closing ceremony

Karachi, 16 March 2019:

The Pakistan Cricket Board has planned an impressive closing ceremony of the HBL Pakistan Super League 2019, which will start at 6pm before the toss takes place at 730pm and the first ball is bowled at 8pm.

A galaxy of international stars will perform at the closing ceremony, whose chief guest will be honourable Chief Minister of Sindh, Syed Murad Ali Shah. The ceremony will be hosted by one of the most popular anchors and singers, Karachi’s very own Fakhar-e-Alam. Spain’s football star Carles Puyol will be a special guest at the closing ceremony. The Barcelona central defender earned 100 international caps and won the Euro 2008 and FIFA World Cup 2010.

The leading performers to display their talent include Abrar-ul-Haq, Aima Baig, Shuja Haider, Fawad Khan, Young Desi with the final performance of the ceremony by the heart-throb Junoon.
The PCB has also planned a spectacular fireworks display, which will start after the final ends.

Fawad is doubtful so who will replace
I guess Narine isn’t with squad who else is overseas bowling option?

Fawad is doubtful so who will replace
I guess Narine isn’t with squad who else is overseas bowling option?

Quetta already have english leg spinner Max waller who is with the squad from some time.

Already the finals? Feels like it just started two days ago. How did the PSL matches in pakistan go? Many foreign players showed up?

All matches full house except the 1st (due to change in schedule). Corey Anderson refused to visit Pakistan, while all the other players visited Pakistan except those who were injured.
In other words FULL TIME PAISA WASOOL experience.

Wonderful experience, jam-packed stadium. Good quality cricket! Almost all players showed up, ABD wasn't able to come because of injury which is a bummer.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfaraz Ahmed "The crowds in Karachi have been excellent and they have supported every team. The winner is Pakistan cricket and all of us are because of it. So, this final is also about our fans and about our cricket" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL4?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSL4</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1106919267788881920?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 16, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Darren Sammy "The crowds have been electric. It shows that this part of the world has been starved of the excitement of the fans. All the players have enjoyed this atmosphere and the atmosphere here is the best I have ever played in" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL4?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSL4</a> <a href="https://t.co/sgrpH4cXZ5">pic.twitter.com/sgrpH4cXZ5</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1106918827365933057?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 16, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shane Watson "bring on tomorrow" (video courtesy of Quetta Gladiators) <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSLFinal?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSLFinal</a> <a href="https://t.co/HjFd2YPJfa">pic.twitter.com/HjFd2YPJfa</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1106944004598444032?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 16, 2019</a></blockquote>

I hope Quetta wins, being that they will most likely be the last team that will be allowed to play at home.
It would be good for their fans.

KARACHI: Pakistan and Quetta Gladiators captain Sarfraz Ahmed on Friday said the Pakistan Super League has done wonders for the country’s cricket in its four seasons and predicted that the league’s impact will be tenfold once it gets relocated to Pakistan, hopefully by next year.

Talking to Dawn at the team hotel, Sarfraz who looked in fine fettle, said: “What PSL has done for Pakistan cricket is for everyone to see, giving us a bevy of talented players, improving our performance in limited overs as well as Test cricket and enhancing our fielding standards. But more than anything else, the league has revitalized the nation, creating a culture of harmony and sportsman spirit which is great to see.”

Sarfraz appeared convinced that once the PSL gets fully relocated to Pakistan, its impact will be tenfold. “With most of these eight matches in Karachi proving be extremely thrilling and high scoring, you can already see the ‘home’ impact. It is only natural that our players are faring so well on our pitches and in front of home crowds because they have been raised here,” observed Sarfraz.

“We have not had much international level cricket at home in the past ten years, but I am confident that when the PSL comes to Pakistan, you will see a tremendous improvement in our overall performances in all formats, both at home and abroad, and also in domestic cricket Inshallah.”

Speaking about Quetta Gladiators’ chances of lifting the trophy in Sunday’s final after being two time unlucky in the previous seasons, Sarfraz said his team has been gelling very well throughout PSL 4 and will definitely fire on all cylinders in the final to lift the trophy.

“It has been a complete teamwork for our team throughout this PSL season and that is why we have once again qualified for the final,” said the skipper. “If in batting Shane Watson has led the way due to his unbelievable form, he has received fantastic support from Umar Akmal, Rillee Russow and Ehsan Ali while Mohammad Nawaz has also played a couple of fine cameos in the lower order to get us home,” said Sarfraz.

“In bowling too, we have had superb spells first from Ghulam Mudassar and now from young Mohammad Hasnain while in spin both Nawaz and Fawad Ahmed have chipped in with useful wickets when most needed. So all in all our teamwork is paying off superbly,” said Sarfraz.

Sarfraz also emphasised that the Gladiators’ management comprising team owner Nadeem Omar, manager Azam Khan and coach Moin Khan believe in continuity and keeping faith with the players which has also resulted in team’s success. “Consistent selection policies and backing of players has been the hallmark of Quetta Gladiators’ success. Yes a couple of players do come and go under the trade window arrangement but that does not really disturb our equation and it is mainly due to this continuity that you see our team always putting up a fight in the ground.”

Commenting on injured Fawad’s chances of making the playing XI in Sunday’s final, he said: “It is premature to say anything at the moment as Fawad has undergone a short surgery and is recovering gradually. But he himself is quite hopeful and looking ahead to the big game.”

To a question whether the PSL’s performances have become the criterion for national team selection rather than stellar performances of players from domestic cricket who have been feeling somewhat snubbed by the league, Sarfraz dismissed the notion. “That is not true. Yes some fine youngsters have made it big through PSL alone but we have also seen Mohammad Abbas, Shan Masud and many others also playing the league.

“You have to understand that in PSL, it is all a show of the franchises, who they select and who they discard. But the Pakistan Cricket Board does not consider the PSL as the criterion for national team selections and the selectors always consider the domestic cricket experiences of players in finalizing the national teams, especially in Tests,” the skipper clarified.

Asked to comment on logic behind giving rest to six leading players for the all-important Australia ODI series commencing from March 22 in the UAE, Sarfraz argued that it will only benefit the team.

“Contrary to the notion that resting top players will harm the team, it will be beneficial for us because our players will get more confidence in tackling Australia on their own because they are a talented bunch indeed,” said Sarfraz.

“Those who have been rested have been a playing all formats for nearly four or five months. So a rest at this stage will do them world of good. Besides, this will be a great opportunity for the other players to put in their best, especially with the World Cup in mind, and that will bring out more competitive cricket from them.

“Also, there is still lot of cricket to be played before the World Cup including the England ODIs and a series of practice and warm-up games which will surely help all of us get in groove for the extravaganza.”

In the end, sarfraz prised young Hasnain for his pace and intelligent bowling and said he and coach Mickey Arthur intend to use his sparingly at this stage to make sure he does not burned out. “That is how we have utilised Shaheen Shah Afridi, not exposing him in every game, which has brough the best out of him and we intend to groom Hasnain in a similar way,” concluded Sarfraz.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1469857

I´m really undecided as to who I´m supporting today. Whereas on one hand I always wanted a new champion and feel for Quetta for having lost the big matches the last two editions primarily because of their foreign stars not travelling to play in Pakistan, on the other hand I´ve developed bit of a sudden dislike for Sarfraz Ahmed. His constant jumping around, yelling at his fielders, bowlers and even the batsman on the other end just gives me one reason not to be too passionate about Quetta. Balochistan obviously is perhaps our most overlooked and ignored province, and the presence of Shane Watson Baloch - the ever passionate Shane - makes me want them to win.

On the other hand is Darren Sammy Khan. As a TV ad in the mid-1990s on PTV used to say, "Sirf naam hee kaafi hai!" The face of PSL, one of the running identities of this tournament, a man who has become most popular in our country. Who wouldn´t want him to lift another trophy? But I´m still divided on this. Either way, here´s hoping for such a tight match that people remember for the years to come!

This is the real rivalry of PSL. Both the teams are always on top and produce some great matches.

Indeed, one of the greatest rivalries in league cricket. One thing that we cannot afford to overlook is that a full strength Quetta has always pushed Peshawar into the corner in big matches, ALWAYS. As a Peshawar supporter for as long as Afridi used to play for them, this fact used to disturb me a lot. Peshawar too have won two big matches against them in 2017 and 18, but remember that they weren´t against a full strength Quetta team.

*I still am a Peshawar supporter but they didn´t remain my main team after Afridi´s departure. Besides that, I/we now have a team from our own area, Multan - nothing much to talk about that team for now, sadly.*

KARACHI: The final of Pakistan Super League (PSL) will catch the attraction of around 25 million people around the world, which the officials of Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) are terming unprecedented in the cricketing history of Pakistan.

“PCB expects historic turnout of people on electronic and digital platforms for watching the PSL final,” an official of PCB told Business Recorder.

The two top teams – Quetta Gladiators and Peshawar Zalmi will clash in the ‘all-tickets-sold-out’ final at the National Stadium Sunday. The match will start at 8pm, however, the closing ceremony will begin at 6pm.

Spain’s football star Carles Puyol would be a special guest at the closing ceremony. The Barcelona central defender earned 100 international caps and won the Euro 2008 and FIFA World Cup 2010.

Quetta have beaten Peshawar in both the league matches this season, before having the better of their arch-rivals in the Wednesday’s qualifier at the back of a powerful performance, but they are wary of a ‘knock-out’ by Daren Sammy-led Peshawar Zalmi. Despite beating Peshawar in the qualifiers in 2016 and 2017 in thrilling last-over finishes by one-run, Quetta lost in the 2017 final by 58 runs in Lahore and in the eliminator 1 last year.

Quetta captain Sarfaraz Ahmed hoped it will be a case of ‘third-time lucky’. “We are playing the final for the third time, so we will do our best to play in the same manner which we had adopted throughout the tournament,” Sarfaraz told mediapersons.

“If you look at previous years, there were some factors which hurt us as some players didn’t come,” said Sarfaraz recalling the Lahore final when Kevin Pietersen and Rilee Rossouw refused to come to Pakistan citing security reasons.

Last year, Watson decided to stay away for the Eliminators in Lahore, leaving Quetta depleted. But this time Watson, who has amassed 423 runs in the tournament, made a late decision to visit Karachi. “This time, we are at our full strength, so we will do our best to play like we have done and win the tournament.” Peshawar skipper Sammy admitted Watson has plagued his team.

“Shane Watson has really been the pain for us,” said Sammy of the former Australia opener, who has 265 runs at 66.25 in five matches against Peshawar in two years. “He is pretty experience and he is enjoying his form.”

But Sammy hoped his team will give another knock-out punch. “Hopefully, it’s a cracker of a game and we find ways and means to execute our plans against them and we will need that but that Shane Watson guy is pain for us.”

Quetta have mostly chased targets and their two wins against Peshawar came by six and eight wickets, respectively before they had the better of their rivals by 10 runs in the play-off in Karachi.

Sarfaraz said he was looking for a good platform from his top-order. “Watson and Umar Akmal are quality players.” Besides Watson, Umar (277 runs in 11 matches), Rossouw (256 in 10 matches) and Shahzad (253 runs in seven matches) are in good nick.

Peshawar are more reliant on Kamran Akmal, who Sammy described as his “match-winner”, having knocked off 336 runs in 12 games. Peshawar also has powerful pace attack, led by tournament’s highest wicket-taker Hasan Ali who has 25 wickets in 12 matches. Experienced pacer Wahab Riaz has 16, followed by Sameen Gul (10), and Tymal Mills and Umaid Asif (seven each).

Sarfaraz admitted Fawad Ahmed is doubtful after being hit on the mouth in the Qualifier against Peshawar, which needed a surgery.

Sammy hoped it will be other crackers of a game before a sell-out crowd. “We have some good players, not superstars but effective players. To be able to make three consecutive finals in a row is an achievement. “Winning the final tomorrow will really be the icing on the cake,” Sammy said.

https://www.brecorder.com/2019/03/17/481359/psl-final-to-attract-25mn-viewers-around-the-globe/