Race to the bottom, how can PCT snap out from its affinity for the minnow status?

The Bald Eagle

PCT was a force to reckon with in 1990s, in 2000s they earned the tag of unpredictables and honored it in 2017 but post 2022 things have started to deteriorate sharply for them and it appears that there is something also wrong with the players mentality. As in past few years they have let the matches slip from their grasp from a commanding position.

Even today in the 2nd T20I against Bangladesh, Faheem Ashraf and tail made a great fightback which clearly showed that there are some glaring issue with Pakistan top order and has something more to do with mere skill set failure.

So what are the exact reasons of the demise of late and how can PCT snap out of it?

Need to select the right players. For example, Sufiyan should've been selected for the XI. Part-time spinners leaked runs.

Also, need to stick to a set of players. Frequent chopping and changing is not good.

Need to select the right players. For example, Sufiyan should've been selected for the XI. Part-time spinners leaked runs.

Also, need to stick to a set of players. Frequent chopping and changing is not good.
Pakistan has some great players but they are too poor in adapting according to the situation. T20 is not just about mindless slogging

Great players like who exactly?

Besides Fakhar, there is no reliable batsman in this batting line-up. I believe that statement speaks for itself.

No Salman Agha isn't that bad (but been extremely poor this series), Mohammad Naeem can be a good addition. Shadab is a good T20 batter if not bowler

PCT was a force to reckon with in 1990s, in 2000s they earned the tag of unpredictables and honored it in 2017 but post 2022 things have started to deteriorate sharply for them and it appears that there is something also wrong with the players mentality. As in past few years they have let the matches slip from their grasp from a commanding position.

Even today in the 2nd T20I against Bangladesh, Faheem Ashraf and tail made a great fightback which clearly show that there are some glaring issue with Pakistan top order and has something more to do with mere skill set failure.

So what are the exact reasons of the demise of late and how can PCT snap out of it?

Great players? Hasan Nawaz has the highest average and strike rate in that lineup 28/177.

Even Fakhar only has 22/132 stats.

Good players bhi nahi hai :kp

No Salman Agha isn't that bad (but been extremely poor this series), Mohammad Naeem can be a good addition. Shadab is a good T20 batter if not bowler
Forget to add Hasan Khan, (the guy from QG) he was a gem but unfortunately now busy in playing overseas leagues.

Clutching at straws here man, the younger lot is really bad.

It is what it is and once we accept that, only then will the system and the players improve.

No end of this plight in the near future. We've been on a downward curve for about 3 decades but this blip is too steep to fix via band aids.

There are multiple reasons, will try to list a few (not in order of priority, not listing all as that's just impossible & also way beyond my intellect)

1. Lack of athleticism:

Have been watching cricket for 20 years, in those 20 years I've seen about 1 or 2 bad fielders in the Australian team. One of them is Zampa who probably drops more catches than most pak players but other than that, can't even think of another bad fielder from Aus.

But just look at the current mohsin naqvi 11, there are 4 players who are competing for the spot of worst fielder of all time.

Abrar. S Mirza. Khushdil. Fahim from the top of the mind while others are also bad or average at best.

At the end of the day, you are forced to ask, where is the athleticism? Why do we have people in the team with such limited natural athletic ability?

2. Grass-root cricket's inability to create good products:

The grass root & age level cricket is just not delivering any results. Despite the U19 setup being active for decades, players that are being produced are no different from the players that LQ picks up from random trials.

Nepotism & age fudging has destroyed our age level cricket; the North region for example always had the quota for a shakeel sheikh "fail" son. They kept getting into teams having triple digit bowling & single digit batting averages. Now we have other nepotistic selections who have been moved to the front of the queue because of their connections. It doesn't matter what age they are, they just get drafted in while the genuine talent stands in the queues of trails, loses heart, & moves on to other things to earn a paltry salary.

3. No Superstars & match winners:

The strength of Pak was never built around systems and structures or cohesive unity within the team, it was around the brilliance of a couple of players & past sides had around 4-6 match winners in their ranks. Now you look at the team and there's hardly any matchwinner present. The current team has one in Fakhar & even he's mentally unable to read the game or the situation. Outside of him, we have zero match winners in batting but at least there are a few potential candidates but the bowling matchwinner cupboard is bare no matter what the format is. & no, you cannot create dustbowls & get Sajid/Noman to do your bidding because they are not Warne or Murali, they'll get out bowled by literal no bodies like Jomel Worrican.

How long can you just keep hoping that a mercurial talent from Gaggu Mandi will just break the barriers & land you wins from the getgo?

4. Incompetence of PCB continues to transcend to the next level:

The PCB management was always a joke but the last few years have just been terrible even by our own whimsically bad standards. PCB chairperson seat remained part of a musical chair game for a few years & now it's being firmly occupied by a person who doesn't even do it as a full-time job. You cannot win trophies with kids & part-timers.

The only thing that we have gotten good during the last few years is coming up with fancy buzz words. Stuff like "Now I'll do surgery", kicking foreign coaches on mystic visions, & rehashing the domestic cricket by increasing teams, then decreasing them again, & spending billions of rupees on vanity projects has done nothing positive for our cricket.

We have also witnessed during this time nepotism for PCB jobs like never before. Random nobodies from police are shafted in to manage teams, become security advisors, a random so called journalist is currently the head of PCB media, Wahab became a minister, & so many other diabolical choices like that. When you treat the only sport like your personal gravy train, it'll become nothing but a place where you'll be a god whose favor everybody would chase after. You'll never hear criticism, you'll never manage dissent, such diabolical management leads to nothing but hubris.

5. Rudderless on the field:

Finally, & while there are many others, I'm going to stop listing more reasons & say that we have a leadership crisis in the playing field. Be it Babar, Shan, or even Agha; none of them are natural born street smart leaders. We had since inception suave highly educated men who lead us, AG Kardar became PCB head later in his life, Hanif & Mushtaq were educated & street smart, IK was suave, smooth & an Oxonian, & even Wasim had an aura despite his many flaws. Not saying we need another IK level personality to revive our cricket but we need someone who is at least 5 on the 1-10 scale of charisma & leadership ability.

We have nobody zero personality captains who aren't even automatic selections in the eleven, & then they get input from support staff & marketing gurus backstage & are handed fancy buzzwords which they mindlessly regurgitate to us.

The irony is laughable as these absolutely clueless captains & misfits try to upsell these heavy noble concepts to us while themselves they are part of the problem & not the solution.

Shan's tenure had this comical slogan; "the Pakistan way" & it entailed "taking the most aggressive route on every ball that's possible". I mean can you even do it with an eleven that fields like they have arthritis, bats like they are afraid of the cricketing ball, & bowls like all of them have had knee/hip replacement surgeries just in the morning.

& Now to double up the fun, we have Agha who is trying to sell us "intent merchants", a brave new era where he'll just pull us from the quagmire that we are in via sheer weight of intent. Just like the story of our politics, all the faults were in the previous regime, new slogans, mostly same players & system but this time everything will be different.

Are we this gullible & naive to believe that it is going to happen?

It is sport, & even with just pure random chaos that this universe is, we will have a day or two where we'll win. It'll be sporadic & kind of glorious when it'll work out, but it'll fail mostly & then we'll be asked to keep believing because it worked on so & so day & also for another country.

(England & Bazbaall will be mentioned because they are the flavor of the decade. It worked for them on the back of generational talents btw, while we have 2 and a half good players & that's about it.)

I'd end this post by reiterating that the purpose of sports is not winning or losing. The main rationale for sports is to create a sports oriented healthy society where young kids instead of taking up more sinister hobbies, spend their energies chasing sporting glory.

We should also openly & honestly admit that we were never a great cricketing nation as it'll ease the burden from our shoulders when we'll lose. Our success was a blip on the back of a few charismatic individuals & then a few others lead the mantel in the slipstream of their afterburners. The moment that stream ended, our success dried away as well. If you think I'm wrong, check Pak's test record decade by decade to see when we won & how much did we win.

We should stop thinking about the death of Pak cricket, we should try to create avenues where young people continue to keep playing sports. Build more grounds, bring young kids of all genders into sport, have school cricket, have competitive cricket in ways where people don't have to make a choice between sports or a career when they are just 16. So many on this forum must have had dreams of being a cricketer but then reality set in & a choice between a university or pursuing cricket came up & we picked up a university.

That is why I started my post with the words no band aids can fix this rut, so FGS, let's build proper systems as it's never too late for that. The sporting glory isn't just the trophies; it's in the glistening eyes of the young kids who can dare to dream, & then have the ability to pursue those dreams.

What 11 people do on a said day is immaterial, what millions can envision, hope, & aspire to be is the real silverware. That's how PCT will snap out of the rut that we are in.

We need to stop bringing oldies back in the name of experience. When you have a proper spinner who did well in his short career, warming the bench for oldies, then you are bound for disaster. Get rid of good for nothing khushdil and nawaz type guys. Give proper chance to guys who earned their spot rather than getting selected in the name of experience in the past...
This thread has another meaning just letting you know lol.

Anyway Pakistan is undergoing a talent crises.

After nz series,supporters said we knew these guys are awful outside subcontinent but they should be fine in sub continent conditions .After bng series, ppers are hoping for flat tracks will be good. That's the last criteria left.if the good opposition in next wc or India in Asia cup beats the crap out of this team, then its official .Am very confident that these guys will be found against good pace or spin on any track.They just don't understand the game to leave the ball or hit it.

It’s better to lose with a young team than to keep relying on the same tried and tested players. Bangladesh is coming off a series win against Sri Lanka—they’re a well-settled side, playing at home, and facing an inexperienced Pakistani team with a new coach, all on a pitch that was especially challenging for young batters.
Let’s be realistic: there will be growing pains.
I’d definitely like to see Farhan and Sufiyan in the squad. It’s a travesty that we’re not grooming such a talented and dangerous chinaman bowler. Sufiyan is an absolute must.

Recycling garbage players, something the PCB has loved doing since Inzamam's retirement with no success rate. Bertter to lose with young guns than with has been players or players who have proved themselves to be garbage in the past.

I'd anyday lose the ongoing Test series with the current Indian team than to play with Rohit and Virat.​

It's the fraud bowling allrounders that are costing Pakistan.

Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz - at least their current iterations are completely useless .

They make even current Jadeja look like a world class LOI allrounder.

Faheem is actually decent. Pakistan need better spin bowling allrounders and specialist spinners.

Won't make them a world beating side but you won't be losing to USA/Ireland/BD at least.

It’s better to lose with a young team than to keep relying on the same tried and tested players. Bangladesh is coming off a series win against Sri Lanka—they’re a well-settled side, playing at home, and facing an inexperienced Pakistani team with a new coach, all on a pitch that was especially challenging for young batters.
Let’s be realistic: there will be growing pains.
I’d definitely like to see Farhan and Sufiyan in the squad. It’s a travesty that we’re not grooming such a talented and dangerous chinaman bowler. Sufiyan is an absolute must.

I agree, just give these guys a long run and they will come through. One of the reasons why we are a minnow team is that we chop and change everyone when something goes wrong.

Just let these guys settle in and build some experience

Pakistan is already Minnows team in all formats . They can change the players but result will be same.

Pakistan is least talented cricket nation in the World and These days they are only producing tullebaaz player's .

No wonder Pakistan fans are becoming wannabe fans and started supporting others team .

It's the fraud bowling allrounders that are costing Pakistan.

Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz - at least their current iterations are completely useless .

They make even current Jadeja look like a world class LOI allrounder.

Faheem is actually decent. Pakistan need better spin bowling allrounders and specialist spinners.

Won't make them a world beating side but you won't be losing to USA/Ireland/BD at least.
Pakistani is losing because of top order Batters. No team can win any match after reduced to 15-5, 15/3 etc.

Saim , Harris , Hasan Nawaz etc are tullebaaz who will not succeed most of the time but can Play one -two Fluke knock here and there.

Pakistan cricket finds itself in a phase from which there’s no instant escape. It's not just a slump in form but a slow erosion of aura. Over the last couple of years, what’s become strikingly evident is how mid and lower-tier teams are no longer intimidated by Pakistan. In fact, they now see Pakistan as beatable, a side they can target for a major win, and they’re playing with visibly more intensity against them than they do against other traditional cricketing giants.

Watch closely, and you’ll see the difference in body language. Teams like Afghanistan and Bangladesh, when facing Pakistan exude a sense of belief and hunger. There's an emotional edge to their approach, as if beating Pakistan means more than just points on the board. Strangely, this same level of fire is often missing in their performances against many top-tier teams where the psychological barrier still seems intact.

This shift in perception is not solely due to Pakistan's current cricketing form. It's also a reflection of how the global cricketing ecosystem views them now, no longer as a fearsome, unpredictable giant, but more like a once-great side struggling to redefine itself in the modern game. Very similar to how every team approaches matches against West indies also. I remember in the 2000s when WI weren't the same team but many opponents still carried the scars the Windies of 70s, 80s had given them and that still played with them mentally for a while until WI through their own deterioration completely eroded that perception of them.

What makes this decline more puzzling is that, structurally, Pakistan cricket has improved regardless of what cynics might say. The PCB has hired world-class coaches, introduced modern facilities, and ensured that its players get exposure by participating in most major T20 leagues across the world (barring one notable exception). Infrastructure and professionalism have certainly evolved compared to the past. A Pakistani cricketer today cannot give an excuse that he has not availed state of the art facilities when his predecessors clearly did more with less.

So if the system is in place and the coaching is competent, why isn’t the talent translating into performance? The new generation of Pakistani players lacks the spark of brilliance seen in the likes of Mohammad Amir, Shaheen Afridi, or Babar Azam at their peaks. In fact, even players like Fakhar Zaman or Mohammad Rizwan, who may not be generational talents but were still impactful seem to be a level above what’s coming through now.

This is where the real question arises that why despite improved facilities, coaching, and intent from the PCB, is elite-level talent not emerging from Pakistan anymore? Only those with a nuanced understanding of Pakistani society, its youth dynamics and socio-economic changes can fully explain it. Talent in cricket has always had socio-cultural underpinnings. Whether it’s urban disconnect, declining street cricket culture, educational pressures, or systemic bottlenecks something fundamental seems to have shifted.

That said, the PCB is not without blame. One major failing has been their lack of prioritization of Test cricket, which historically was the crucible where Pakistan’s raw talent matured and found its identity. The neglect of the longer format has not only diminished skill development but also contributed to the mental fragility that’s increasingly visible in tight games. Still, that cannot excuse Pakistan’s underwhelming performances in white-ball cricket. This is the format where Pakistan was expected to excel with a legacy of fearless batting and world-class fast bowling. That legacy now feels like a fading photograph.

- 676 posts until retirement

Pakistani is losing because of top order Batters. No team can win any match after reduced to 15-5, 15/3 etc.

Saim , Harris , Hasan Nawaz etc are tullebaaz who will not succeed most of the time but can Play one -two Fluke knock here and there.

They lose to the bigger teams because of those issues.

But they can easily beat SL, BD, AFG type teams if they had a good specialist spinner and a good spin bowling allrounder.

They lose to the bigger teams because of those issues.

But they can easily beat SL, BD, AFG type teams if they had a good specialist spinner and a good spin bowling allrounder.
I think in T20 cricket allrounder ( even Fraud) play Major role as batting depth is Very important factors .

India can Play Pandya , Nitish, Washi and Jadeja together to improve batting depths.

@GoUgandaCranes highlights the issues and articulated them very well. However it is impossible to turn around or fix many of these issues.

Fortunately the bar is a lot lower to have a successful T20 team than it is to be a successful test team. At least in this format, our players have access to top level coaches, facilities, contact with overseas pros and the ability to play in some overseas leagues.

In this format as @Nikhil_cric said with some tweaks we can very quickly get to a point where we aren't losing to minnows at least, and then hopefully over time we can build up from here.

But the PCB should cut the BS. This is only possible if we drop the pretence that out first class cricket is important. Weirdly people seem to have an affinity for PTV Vs Khan Research Laboratory so don't take too kindly to it being removed, but if a player gets a choice between an overseas T20 league Vs Pak domestic we should be encouraging it. If they get a choice to play a decent overseas T20 league Vs a JAMODI series we should be encouraging it. Let other boards know that our players are available, NOC won't be an issue and get as much exposure around the world to t20 cricket.

But let's drop the pretence around the importance of our own cricket structure. We as Pakistanis don't have faith in any of our institutions but weirdly mandate that our players play domestics and prioritise it over everything else.

Even today in the 2nd T20I against Bangladesh, Faheem Ashraf and tail made a great fightback which clearly showed that there are some glaring issue with Pakistan top order and has something more to do with mere skill set failure.

Curious, what are the achievements of PCT since the 1999 ODI WC? I am able to count only two at the moment: T20 World Cup and Champions Trophy victory. And for good measure finalists in the T20 World Cup. I am curious to see if Pakistani cricket team decline is a relative recent phenomenon? My belief is that the team has been quite poor for the past 25 years…

Pakistan cricket finds itself in a phase from which there’s no instant escape. It's not just a slump in form but a slow erosion of aura. Over the last couple of years, what’s become strikingly evident is how mid and lower-tier teams are no longer intimidated by Pakistan. In fact, they now see Pakistan as beatable, a side they can target for a major win, and they’re playing with visibly more intensity against them than they do against other traditional cricketing giants.

Watch closely, and you’ll see the difference in body language. Teams like Afghanistan and Bangladesh, when facing Pakistan exude a sense of belief and hunger. There's an emotional edge to their approach, as if beating Pakistan means more than just points on the board. Strangely, this same level of fire is often missing in their performances against many top-tier teams where the psychological barrier still seems intact.

This shift in perception is not solely due to Pakistan's current cricketing form. It's also a reflection of how the global cricketing ecosystem views them now, no longer as a fearsome, unpredictable giant, but more like a once-great side struggling to redefine itself in the modern game. Very similar to how every team approaches matches against West indies also. I remember in the 2000s when WI weren't the same team but many opponents still carried the scars the Windies of 70s, 80s had given them and that still played with them mentally for a while until WI through their own deterioration completely eroded that perception of them.

What makes this decline more puzzling is that, structurally, Pakistan cricket has improved regardless of what cynics might say. The PCB has hired world-class coaches, introduced modern facilities, and ensured that its players get exposure by participating in most major T20 leagues across the world (barring one notable exception). Infrastructure and professionalism have certainly evolved compared to the past. A Pakistani cricketer today cannot give an excuse that he has not availed state of the art facilities when his predecessors clearly did more with less.

So if the system is in place and the coaching is competent, why isn’t the talent translating into performance? The new generation of Pakistani players lacks the spark of brilliance seen in the likes of Mohammad Amir, Shaheen Afridi, or Babar Azam at their peaks. In fact, even players like Fakhar Zaman or Mohammad Rizwan, who may not be generational talents but were still impactful seem to be a level above what’s coming through now.

This is where the real question arises that why despite improved facilities, coaching, and intent from the PCB, is elite-level talent not emerging from Pakistan anymore? Only those with a nuanced understanding of Pakistani society, its youth dynamics and socio-economic changes can fully explain it. Talent in cricket has always had socio-cultural underpinnings. Whether it’s urban disconnect, declining street cricket culture, educational pressures, or systemic bottlenecks something fundamental seems to have shifted.

That said, the PCB is not without blame. One major failing has been their lack of prioritization of Test cricket, which historically was the crucible where Pakistan’s raw talent matured and found its identity. The neglect of the longer format has not only diminished skill development but also contributed to the mental fragility that’s increasingly visible in tight games. Still, that cannot excuse Pakistan’s underwhelming performances in white-ball cricket. This is the format where Pakistan was expected to excel with a legacy of fearless batting and world-class fast bowling. That legacy now feels like a fading photograph.

- 676 posts until retirement
Because other teams have more robust systems.

No surprises that the top teams now are all the first world countries and India with its huge population and rising economy (2x pci Pak and growing).

but if a player gets a choice between an overseas T20 league Vs Pak domestic we should be encouraging it. If they get a choice to play a decent overseas T20 league Vs a JAMODI series we should be encouraging it.
This is a good point.Just like a western family asks their kids to leave the family and look for his own career, pcb should lay a condition for every player to grab atleast one overseas league opportunity after 2 to 3 years of grinding in domestic cricket. Any how pcb is pushing for more t20 matches as we saw trouble with windies odi schedule. Fans can hope atleast some will come good and bottom lot will be discarded hopefully.

If you'd notice the decline Pakistan cricket had from 2022 onwards its obvious that this had something to do with PCB management. In fact if you have a macro observation every sector within Pakistan post 2022 has faced a decline whether that be exports, manufacturing or assembly in Pakistan, agriculture, textiles, etc. The thinktank what we call Establishment sitting at the top has literally burned a lot of developing opportunities in their ego war with Khan and cricket is just a reflection of that.

Coming back to cricket, the number one reason for our steep decline recently is nepotism or favourites at the helm whilst ditching the concept of merit. From PCB Chairman who is the face of Establishment to guys like Aqib Javed to Wahab Riaz we have seen management and top staff being hired on basis of favouritism which is why them being from same region is also a giveaway. When nepo beneficiaries are running the show they would never be able to run it the same way as any talented or merit person would have. For example, Wahab Riaz was a failure as a cricketer now how come we expect the guy who is supposedly managing our cricketers make them competitive at international level. Same goes for Aqib who was an average cricketer riding on back of lethal frontline bowlers is now at helm of PCB and has all the strings in his hands. He has a massive say in most selection matters where guys like Ahmad Daniyal find their way in the team.

Apart from politics and idiots running the show our cricketers lack the hunger to succeed. We have had far too many cricketers who entered the game at par with international players of other teams but never evolved. One of the reason is mental attitude as well, from a Pakistani local viewpoint the ultimate goal is playing for Pakistan or being an international player there is no hunger to succeed at international level. They are satisfied simply by being part of the setup which is why they never make a mark. The players who do well in long run are the ones who have the mental ability to compete and win. The last set of cricketers who played to win were in 90s like Wasim, Waqar, Shoaib or Inzi. Perhaps one of the reason could be they were groomed under Imran who embedded the thought of winning in them which these players couldn't pass onto the next batch. We need a phenomenal cricketer again to revive our cricket for the long-run.

If you'd notice the decline Pakistan cricket had from 2022 onwards its obvious that this had something to do with PCB management. In fact if you have a macro observation every sector within Pakistan post 2022 has faced a decline whether that be exports, manufacturing or assembly in Pakistan, agriculture, textiles, etc. The thinktank what we call Establishment sitting at the top has literally burned a lot of developing opportunities in their ego war with Khan and cricket is just a reflection of that.

Coming back to cricket, the number one reason for our steep decline recently is nepotism or favourites at the helm whilst ditching the concept of merit. From PCB Chairman who is the face of Establishment to guys like Aqib Javed to Wahab Riaz we have seen management and top staff being hired on basis of favouritism which is why them being from same region is also a giveaway. When nepo beneficiaries are running the show they would never be able to run it the same way as any talented or merit person would have. For example, Wahab Riaz was a failure as a cricketer now how come we expect the guy who is supposedly managing our cricketers make them competitive at international level. Same goes for Aqib who was an average cricketer riding on back of lethal frontline bowlers is now at helm of PCB and has all the strings in his hands. He has a massive say in most selection matters where guys like Ahmad Daniyal find their way in the team.

Apart from politics and idiots running the show our cricketers lack the hunger to succeed. We have had far too many cricketers who entered the game at par with international players of other teams but never evolved. One of the reason is mental attitude as well, from a Pakistani local viewpoint the ultimate goal is playing for Pakistan or being an international player there is no hunger to succeed at international level. They are satisfied simply by being part of the setup which is why they never make a mark. The players who do well in long run are the ones who have the mental ability to compete and win. The last set of cricketers who played to win were in 90s like Wasim, Waqar, Shoaib or Inzi. Perhaps one of the reason could be they were groomed under Imran who embedded the thought of winning in them which these players couldn't pass onto the next batch. We need a phenomenal cricketer again to revive our cricket for the long-run.

Nothing to do any of this. PCB was the worst run and corrupt in the 80s and 90s but still produced world class players.

Our problem is international calibre players are not coming through.

We keep making hacks and trundlers.

A couple of embarrassing performances by Pakistan, but yet again, the fans are going overboard. First off, Pakistan hasn't been a good T20 side for a very long time. They have been on minnow status for the 1.5-2 years pretty much.

Secondly, you are not going to get pitches like these in most parts of the world. Also, this is not the first time Bangladesh has beaten a test playing nation in a bilateral T20I series at home. They beat depleted Australia and New Zealand months before the 2021 T20 WC, a tournament in which those teams made the final, while Bangladesh were eliminated in the first round. So as far as the pitches are concerned, they are only going to hurt Bangladesh in the long-run.

Yes, Babar and Rizwan might have made a cakewalk of these types of scores but question is, can Babar and Rizwan do the same on flat pitches where 200 is a minimum? which is the norm in T20Is in most parts of the world.

When you decide to go with a certain group of players, you need to back them to the hilt. For better or worse, Pakistan backed Babar and Rizwan to the hilt for the better part of 4 years which included 3 T20 World Cups. The results are there for everyone to see. The 2024 T20 World Cup was the final nail in the coffin for that version of Pakistan. And that World Cup was played on pitches that actually suit Babar and Rizwan's style of cricket.

It's time to move on. Yes, the players should be criticized for 15-5 and 40-7 or whatever it was. But that doesn't mean you forget everything they have been doing to get here. They are all talented players who need to work on certain aspects of their game, get more exposure and a be backed to the hilt just like Babar and Rizwan were.

Curious, what are the achievements of PCT since the 1999 ODI WC? I am able to count only two at the moment: T20 World Cup and Champions Trophy victory. And for good measure finalists in the T20 World Cup. I am curious to see if Pakistani cricket team decline is a relative recent phenomenon? My belief is that the team has been quite poor for the past 25 years…
They have been but still the likes of Wasim managed to beat Netherlands easily in 2003 WC...but you can't be sure about this team

No end of this plight in the near future. We've been on a downward curve for about 3 decades but this blip is too steep to fix via band aids.

There are multiple reasons, will try to list a few (not in order of priority, not listing all as that's just impossible & also way beyond my intellect)

1. Lack of athleticism:

Have been watching cricket for 20 years, in those 20 years I've seen about 1 or 2 bad fielders in the Australian team. One of them is Zampa who probably drops more catches than most pak players but other than that, can't even think of another bad fielder from Aus.

But just look at the current mohsin naqvi 11, there are 4 players who are competing for the spot of worst fielder of all time.

Abrar. S Mirza. Khushdil. Fahim from the top of the mind while others are also bad or average at best.

At the end of the day, you are forced to ask, where is the athleticism? Why do we have people in the team with such limited natural athletic ability?

2. Grass-root cricket's inability to create good products:

The grass root & age level cricket is just not delivering any results. Despite the U19 setup being active for decades, players that are being produced are no different from the players that LQ picks up from random trials.

Nepotism & age fudging has destroyed our age level cricket; the North region for example always had the quota for a shakeel sheikh "fail" son. They kept getting into teams having triple digit bowling & single digit batting averages. Now we have other nepotistic selections who have been moved to the front of the queue because of their connections. It doesn't matter what age they are, they just get drafted in while the genuine talent stands in the queues of trails, loses heart, & moves on to other things to earn a paltry salary.

3. No Superstars & match winners:

The strength of Pak was never built around systems and structures or cohesive unity within the team, it was around the brilliance of a couple of players & past sides had around 4-6 match winners in their ranks. Now you look at the team and there's hardly any matchwinner present. The current team has one in Fakhar & even he's mentally unable to read the game or the situation. Outside of him, we have zero match winners in batting but at least there are a few potential candidates but the bowling matchwinner cupboard is bare no matter what the format is. & no, you cannot create dustbowls & get Sajid/Noman to do your bidding because they are not Warne or Murali, they'll get out bowled by literal no bodies like Jomel Worrican.

How long can you just keep hoping that a mercurial talent from Gaggu Mandi will just break the barriers & land you wins from the getgo?

4. Incompetence of PCB continues to transcend to the next level:

The PCB management was always a joke but the last few years have just been terrible even by our own whimsically bad standards. PCB chairperson seat remained part of a musical chair game for a few years & now it's being firmly occupied by a person who doesn't even do it as a full-time job. You cannot win trophies with kids & part-timers.

The only thing that we have gotten good during the last few years is coming up with fancy buzz words. Stuff like "Now I'll do surgery", kicking foreign coaches on mystic visions, & rehashing the domestic cricket by increasing teams, then decreasing them again, & spending billions of rupees on vanity projects has done nothing positive for our cricket.

We have also witnessed during this time nepotism for PCB jobs like never before. Random nobodies from police are shafted in to manage teams, become security advisors, a random so called journalist is currently the head of PCB media, Wahab became a minister, & so many other diabolical choices like that. When you treat the only sport like your personal gravy train, it'll become nothing but a place where you'll be a god whose favor everybody would chase after. You'll never hear criticism, you'll never manage dissent, such diabolical management leads to nothing but hubris.

5. Rudderless on the field:

Finally, & while there are many others, I'm going to stop listing more reasons & say that we have a leadership crisis in the playing field. Be it Babar, Shan, or even Agha; none of them are natural born street smart leaders. We had since inception suave highly educated men who lead us, AG Kardar became PCB head later in his life, Hanif & Mushtaq were educated & street smart, IK was suave, smooth & an Oxonian, & even Wasim had an aura despite his many flaws. Not saying we need another IK level personality to revive our cricket but we need someone who is at least 5 on the 1-10 scale of charisma & leadership ability.

We have nobody zero personality captains who aren't even automatic selections in the eleven, & then they get input from support staff & marketing gurus backstage & are handed fancy buzzwords which they mindlessly regurgitate to us.

The irony is laughable as these absolutely clueless captains & misfits try to upsell these heavy noble concepts to us while themselves they are part of the problem & not the solution.

Shan's tenure had this comical slogan; "the Pakistan way" & it entailed "taking the most aggressive route on every ball that's possible". I mean can you even do it with an eleven that fields like they have arthritis, bats like they are afraid of the cricketing ball, & bowls like all of them have had knee/hip replacement surgeries just in the morning.

& Now to double up the fun, we have Agha who is trying to sell us "intent merchants", a brave new era where he'll just pull us from the quagmire that we are in via sheer weight of intent. Just like the story of our politics, all the faults were in the previous regime, new slogans, mostly same players & system but this time everything will be different.

Are we this gullible & naive to believe that it is going to happen?

It is sport, & even with just pure random chaos that this universe is, we will have a day or two where we'll win. It'll be sporadic & kind of glorious when it'll work out, but it'll fail mostly & then we'll be asked to keep believing because it worked on so & so day & also for another country.

(England & Bazbaall will be mentioned because they are the flavor of the decade. It worked for them on the back of generational talents btw, while we have 2 and a half good players & that's about it.)

I'd end this post by reiterating that the purpose of sports is not winning or losing. The main rationale for sports is to create a sports oriented healthy society where young kids instead of taking up more sinister hobbies, spend their energies chasing sporting glory.

We should also openly & honestly admit that we were never a great cricketing nation as it'll ease the burden from our shoulders when we'll lose. Our success was a blip on the back of a few charismatic individuals & then a few others lead the mantel in the slipstream of their afterburners. The moment that stream ended, our success dried away as well. If you think I'm wrong, check Pak's test record decade by decade to see when we won & how much did we win.

We should stop thinking about the death of Pak cricket, we should try to create avenues where young people continue to keep playing sports. Build more grounds, bring young kids of all genders into sport, have school cricket, have competitive cricket in ways where people don't have to make a choice between sports or a career when they are just 16. So many on this forum must have had dreams of being a cricketer but then reality set in & a choice between a university or pursuing cricket came up & we picked up a university.

That is why I started my post with the words no band aids can fix this rut, so FGS, let's build proper systems as it's never too late for that. The sporting glory isn't just the trophies; it's in the glistening eyes of the young kids who can dare to dream, & then have the ability to pursue those dreams.

What 11 people do on a said day is immaterial, what millions can envision, hope, & aspire to be is the real silverware. That's how PCT will snap out of the rut that we are in.

1. Remove Mohsin Naqvi
  2. Install a competent Chairman
  3. Address issues with major priority on Domestic Cricket

A couple of embarrassing performances by Pakistan, but yet again, the fans are going overboard. First off, Pakistan hasn't been a good T20 side for a very long time. They have been on minnow status for the 1.5-2 years pretty much.

Secondly, you are not going to get pitches like these in most parts of the world. Also, this is not the first time Bangladesh has beaten a test playing nation in a bilateral T20I series at home. They beat depleted Australia and New Zealand months before the 2021 T20 WC, a tournament in which those teams made the final, while Bangladesh were eliminated in the first round. So as far as the pitches are concerned, they are only going to hurt Bangladesh in the long-run.

Yes, Babar and Rizwan might have made a cakewalk of these types of scores but question is, can Babar and Rizwan do the same on flat pitches where 200 is a minimum? which is the norm in T20Is in most parts of the world.

When you decide to go with a certain group of players, you need to back them to the hilt. For better or worse, Pakistan backed Babar and Rizwan to the hilt for the better part of 4 years which included 3 T20 World Cups. The results are there for everyone to see. The 2024 T20 World Cup was the final nail in the coffin for that version of Pakistan. And that World Cup was played on pitches that actually suit Babar and Rizwan's style of cricket.

It's time to move on. Yes, the players should be criticized for 15-5 and 40-7 or whatever it was. But that doesn't mean you forget everything they have been doing to get here. They are all talented players who need to work on certain aspects of their game, get more exposure and a be backed to the hilt just like Babar and Rizwan were.

It's not a couple of performances. It's more like a couple of decades.

Top international teams have world class players lined up when their seniors retire. Pakistan does not. Therefore our problems have been steadily compounding since 2003. There were flashes of brilliance but the decline never stopped. Now we are at the capitulation phase. This is where we will feel the real pain. It's going to be 3-5 years of being a minnow until there can be a recovery and that is a big IF.

I know I may be being pedantic here but what I find fascinating as an example is how the Pakistan batters move and Indian batters are moving with smooth fluid actions. Bowlers too. Khurram Shahzad is the only one that I would consider having good biomechanics. The rest are very awkward. In club cricket it may not matter but in internationals all these details matter.

We had Wasim, Yousuf and Saeed Anwar, smooth effortless players.

The grassroots coaching has to be absolutely diabolical with pure nepotism and over time is just producing some of the most mediocre players we have ever produced.

It's not a couple of performances. It's more like a couple of decades.

Top international teams have world class players lined up when their seniors retire. Pakistan does not. Therefore our problems have been steadily compounding since 2003. There were flashes of brilliance but the decline never stopped. Now we are at the capitulation phase. This is where we will feel the real pain. It's going to be 3-5 years of being a minnow until there can be a recovery and that is a big IF.

I know I may be being pedantic here but what I find fascinating as an example is how the Pakistan batters move and Indian batters are moving with smooth fluid actions. Bowlers too. Khurram Shahzad is the only one that I would consider having good biomechanics. The rest are very awkward. In club cricket it may not matter but in internationals all these details matter.

We had Wasim, Yousuf and Saeed Anwar, smooth effortless players.

The grassroots coaching has to be absolutely diabolical with pure nepotism and over time is just producing some of the most mediocre players we have ever produced.
Every generation of Pakistani cricketers are worse than the one that came before.

Mohsin Naqvi's recent statement regarding Pakistan's series loss to Bangladesh and ACC meeting:

We need to work together as one team. All political differences must be set aside, our sole focus should be on cricket. President ACC Mohsin Naqvi

President of Asian Cricket Council Mohsin Naqvi has said that first and foremost, I expressed deep sorrow and condolences over the tragic air crash in Bangladesh that claimed 31 lives. Our heartfelt sympathies go out to the families of the victims as well as to the government and people of Bangladesh. Our thoughts and prayers are with the affected families. While addressing a ceremony held in honor of the members of the Asian Cricket Council in Dhaka.He said that I also extended my congratulations to the Bangladesh Cricket Board on their recent series victory. This is the first time the ACC Annual General Meeting is being held in Bangladesh and most of our members are present here in Dhaka. I sincerely thank BCB Chairman Mr. Aminul Islam for the excellent arrangements and warm hospitality.I would also like to thank all the members who participated in the ACC Annual General Meeting. We need to work together as one team. All political differences must be set aside, our sole focus should be on cricket. I am fully confident that together, we can achieve this.We must strengthen one another. Our goal is to ensure that all associate member teams grow stronger. As the President of the Asian Cricket Council I assure you that we will do whatever is necessary to make the ACC the most powerful cricketing body in Asia.We also aim to expand the game of cricket to Asian countries where it is not yet played and this mission must be carried out collectively, as a team.

Mohsin Naqvi's recent statement regarding Pakistan's series loss to Bangladesh and ACC meeting:

We need to work together as one team. All political differences must be set aside, our sole focus should be on cricket. President ACC Mohsin Naqvi

President of Asian Cricket Council Mohsin Naqvi has said that first and foremost, I expressed deep sorrow and condolences over the tragic air crash in Bangladesh that claimed 31 lives. Our heartfelt sympathies go out to the families of the victims as well as to the government and people of Bangladesh. Our thoughts and prayers are with the affected families. While addressing a ceremony held in honor of the members of the Asian Cricket Council in Dhaka.He said that I also extended my congratulations to the Bangladesh Cricket Board on their recent series victory. This is the first time the ACC Annual General Meeting is being held in Bangladesh and most of our members are present here in Dhaka. I sincerely thank BCB Chairman Mr. Aminul Islam for the excellent arrangements and warm hospitality.I would also like to thank all the members who participated in the ACC Annual General Meeting. We need to work together as one team. All political differences must be set aside, our sole focus should be on cricket. I am fully confident that together, we can achieve this.We must strengthen one another. Our goal is to ensure that all associate member teams grow stronger. As the President of the Asian Cricket Council I assure you that we will do whatever is necessary to make the ACC the most powerful cricketing body in Asia.We also aim to expand the game of cricket to Asian countries where it is not yet played and this mission must be carried out collectively, as a team.
Get rid of the bureaucracy involved in Pakistani cricket first and foremost. Mohsin Naqvi, what does this puppet know about cricket?