Re-StickeringThe Cricket Bats Thread

dhump

Salam,

Bhayoo I am in karachi and I found really nice looking evo stickers at UT so I though why not to re-sticker one of my bat with it (just dil kay khush rakhnay ko) so did anyone did it ?

Lets discuss:

Tips and Tricks (removing old stickers and scuff sheet )
Where to buy them
Before and After Photographs.

please post exp and tips if any

Thank you
Dhump

I had a SS bat lying around in my house so I took the stickers off that bat and applied on my Pakistani plain bat.

GCCC sells stickers but they are around £25. Personally I think its waste of money to buy stickers for this much and use them because if I buy stickers let's say 4-6 times then its £100 to £150 so in that amount of money I can buy a bat, pads, gloves etc

Yeah I agree about the price thing but. I wanted to do it because I went to UT sports on friday and tested some TRD 12000 and really loved them so I thought about buying one of them rather then GN,GM or other english stuff so the sticker idea was to (Dil ke khush rakhnay ko) I hope you get my point :D

BTW what do you think is it a good deal to get TRD for lesser price then you can get an english bat in ? I think they are pretty damn good.

First question that comes to my mind is that it will be hard to obtain genuine set of Gray Nicolls, Gunn & Moore stickers.

Your purchase regarding Gray Nicolls and Gunn & Moore will be blind purchase in a sense that you will be ordering the bat online and you will have no clue how that bat would be. There are 50% of chances that you might not like it whereas with TRD you can have peace of mind that you are satisfied with the bat and it feels goo in your hands.

The golden rule is to buy the bat that feels best in your hand.

I do understand where you are coming from but bhai remember that Pakistani bats are not bad at all. In fact, some are as good as English if not then better.

Also with TRD you will be getting best best willow available in the market and is very close (or is) a international standard whereas with Gray Nicolls, Gunn & Moore etc you will have to pay more than 350 Pounds to get top shelf bat and in that figure you can buy two-three top of the line Pakistani bats.

Salam,

Bhayoo I am in karachi and I found really nice looking evo stickers at UT so I though why not to re-sticker one of my bat with it (just dil kay khush rakhnay ko) so did anyone did it ?

GCCC sells stickers but they are around £25. Personally I think its waste of money to buy stickers for this much and use them because if I buy stickers let's say 4-6 times then its £100 to £150 so in that amount of money I can buy a bat, pads, gloves etc

dhump which UT are you talking about? http://www.cricmall.com/
Do you have any photos of these?

All the stickered bats I have ever seen have been with fakes and look pretty average. How do you get real ones and which ones can you get I have heard that no one releases the real ones for obvious reasons.

First question that comes to my mind is that it will be hard to obtain genuine set of Gray Nicolls, Gunn & Moore stickers.

No they are not genuine and looks fake too but just for fun I wanted to try it.

Your purchase regarding Gray Nicolls and Gunn & Moore will be blind purchase in a sense that you will be ordering the bat online and you will have no clue how that bat would be. There are 50% of chances that you might not like it whereas with TRD you can have peace of mind that you are satisfied with the bat and it feels goo in your hands.

The golden rule is to buy the bat that feels best in your hand.

I do understand where you are coming from but bhai remember that Pakistani bats are not bad at all. In fact, some are as good as English if not then better.

Also with TRD you will be getting best best willow available in the market and is very close (or is) a international standard whereas with Gray Nicolls, Gunn & Moore etc you will have to pay more than 350 Pounds to get top shelf bat and in that figure you can buy two-three top of the line Pakistani bats.

I am totally agreed to this point of yours and basically this is the prime reason for me to get TRD I can hold the bat in my hand before buying it and this is really the biggest blessing of all and you are right about willow too I have seen a TRD on friday with around 10 really straight grains and was of 2.6 quite an amazing bat to hold in your hand.

bigfan said:
dhump which UT are you talking about? http://www.cricmall.com/
Do you have any photos of these?

All the stickered bats I have ever seen have been with fakes and look pretty average. How do you get real ones and which ones can you get I have heard that no one releases the real ones for obvious reasons.

UT sports in Karim-abad Karachi and not they are not genuine just nice looking I am sure they are fakes I have one of my UT sports bat having Pellara stickers and they look fake if you have little knowledge of cricket bats.

Again the idea of sticker is for fun and something to keep me busy because I will not be able to play cricket during the winter and I have bats needing some repair and attention.

Agar dil khush karna hai, tou phir sahe hai. I mean if your heart says then go ahead and do it as I don't see any harm in re-stickering a bat.

Yaar if you don't mind can you tell us more which TRD are you looking to buy, saw wtc?

Also will you be buying any new softs?

Agar dil khush karna hai, tou phir sahe hai. I mean if your heart says then go ahead and do it as I don't see any harm in re-stickering a bat.

Yep that was the whole point its fun and something which is related to cricket in the mean time :)

Yaar if you don't mind can you tell us more which TRD are you looking to buy, saw wtc?

Also will you be buying any new softs?

So here is the complete story :)

I didn't saw any specific bat I was at UT on Friday and it was strike here in Karachi so shops were closed. Shakeel is a friend of mine so I sit with him at the back for a while and talked with him about buying an English bat he was against it and was saying that I will pay much more and may get similar or less quality bat and then he showed me some of the finest bats they got .Normally the shop is very crowded so they don't have that much time to look for stuff and show you every thing in that much detail so it was a rare good opportunity to look at some of the finest bats and talk about pros and cons so I look at MB,Boom Boom,Ihsan,AS and CA and tbh I found CA kinda best of them all I guess most of CA TRDs were of really good quality one specific I really liked was with around 10-12 straight grains and weight was written 2.6 but seems really light really really light weight with very fine pick up I tested it with a ball it was superb so I kinda decided to get one of TRD rather than an english bat this march before the starting of next season unfortunately I didint took the photograph but I will do it if you want me to as I will visit him tomorrow again.

On this trip to Karachi I didn't bought any cricket equip because season is off. I have plan to look for Morrant pads I tested them on Saturday in nets a guy here was using them and I really like the fitting and weight and with extra protection I didn't felt much when I was hit on pads with pretty good speed.

Thanks for the write up, I appreciate it.

Wqere these bats any different in terms of quality compare to regular offshelfves?

Also you didn't like MB LE?

I haven't picked up TRD but I have heard they are fanatastic.

Yes, if you don't mind pictures would be great if you can provide and if its convemient for you.

For softs I would always say English because there pads seem to have better fitting. For gloves these new MB gloves are up with English, pads are there as well but they end up being bulky. I wore and played in my MB pads two weeks ago and the only criticism I had was that they didn't wrap well from the knee area.

I haven't worn Morrant pads but they are excellent from what I have heard

Were these bats any different in terms of quality compare to regular off shelves?

No not really they seems to be regular company produced bats he was just showing those he thinks are the best of the lot.

Also you didn't like MB LE?

I already have a bubbar sher so I was never interested, but if you ask me I would rate TRD higher but thats just me I am really impressed with that bat so may be I am over hyping a little but not deliberately :D

Yes, if you don't mind pictures would be great if you can provide and if its convemient for you.

Sure I will give it a a try I hope that shop is not crowded.

For softs I would always say English because there pads seem to have better fitting. For gloves these new MB gloves are up with English, pads are there as well but they end up being bulky. I wore and played in my MB pads two weeks ago and the only criticism I had was that they didn't wrap well from the knee area.

I haven't worn Morrant pads but they are excellent from what I have heard

Yes I also have MB Babbar sher pads and I totally agree with you shape, look and weight is fine but fitting is not the best . My idea is to shape them up by tying a rope around the knee area for few days I guess it will make it a bit better.

I was really impressed with Morrant very light weight fitting was good and I was looking like Sachin Tendulkar :D but played really badly was seriously out of touch.

Oh okay.

Make sense.

Ah JazakAllah Khair brother :)

I was thinking of doing that as well. When I was batting 2 weeks ago I noticied the knee area touching whenever I played a shot. I think if MB introduces a knee roll then this could get better. I will suggest this to Malik Zulfiqar.

I wish to buy them one day as well :) but I will have to wait for them as I have 2 pair of pads and both are very new. InshAllah, after 16 months there will be vast upgrading in my kit such as pads

And these TRD sounds impressive. My clubmate (crickter13 bhai) has TRD so I will tell him to bring it on weekend for nets and I'll check it out :D

I am also using Adidas softs and trust me they are super nice. I am always thinking of adding stuff to my inventory but my wife is never happy with it for obvious reason our store room is just filled with kit bags :D I hold my self over this trip to Karachi and didn't bought anything special but in march I will get a new TRD (which I am dying to buy now but not doing) will surely try to get a pair of morrant (any idea from where to order them any reliable online retailer? I dont think guys at UT have them SS is also making similar pads I heard but not sure) just waiting for next season its a pity we don't have any indoor training facility in the area I live in Germany.

Yup! I have also found English softs to be better than Asian especially when it comes to pads fitting.

Yaar how can you resist after seeing the bat almost everyday?

I will let you know about Morrants tomorrow, InshAllah.

SS ones are no where near Morrants

Yup! I have also found English softs to be better than Asian especially when it comes to pads fitting.

Yaar how can you resist after seeing the bat almost everyday?

I will let you know about Morrants tomorrow, InshAllah.

SS ones are no where near Morrants

LOL I am testing temperament with the bat thing :D Naa I will resist because I want to buy lots of books today so I will not spent on bat this month. I will have my budget for cricket stuff in march and then INSHALLAH I will get the best TRD available.

Will be really grateful if you let me know about morrants.

dhump bhai, today I went to my local cricket shop and saw Dilshan TRD LE. Honestly as people have said it looked like a great bat. The cleft was really good and more importantly the shape looked great as well. Since CA 12000 Plus is a high sweet-spot bat this TRD had mid to low and the sweet-spot looked very long. Profile was good as well whereas the pickup and balance was superb.

So this bat was a great one to fall in love with :D

I'm an expert @ restickering bats and couple of years ago I use to resticker every bat. Nxt few days I will be posting few pictures of some of the bats I restickered.
GN3.jpg

bat on the left was Irfan Titan, middle 1 MB Malik zulfi and right 1 Ihsan King .
CAV3892.jpg

Bat on the right was CA PLUS restickered as Slaz V389.
PUMA.jpg

Puma bat was MB Malik Supreme. This was very good bat.

PUMABALLISTICC1SS.6000.jpg

This bat was plain grade 1 bat frm Uzi sports and I put puma ballistic 6k stickers on it.

Before
ca2.jpg

ca5.jpg

ca3.jpg

After
1-2.jpg

new1.jpg

7.jpg

1-3.jpg

and few weeks later I removed the newbery stickers and put Slazenger v389 on it.
3-3.jpg

1-4.jpg

5-3.jpg

DSCN2357.jpg

2-5.jpg

3-4.jpg

DSCN2356.jpg

422.jpg

this was my Ihsan Infero 750. it looked like a test players bat, super quality willow and lush grains. Stickers were good on this so left it as Genuine but sold it by mistake.

Enough pictures for today and will post more soon. Not all bats are restickered only some. The BAs bow 20/20 and As V3 and Ihsan Inferno 750 are genuine bats.

That V3 was simply amazing and with Slaz Oz stickers it was the best looking bat I have ever seen in my life. Still not sure why you sold it...

Thats true it was a magnificent bat, I 1st restickered it as green Puma Ballistic 6k and with thse stickers it looked very good and then season later it was restickered as Slazeger OZ blade with these stickers its looked the real deal mashhalllah. Even all the haters on other forum agreed that it was the best looking bat they seen. I sold it because of SS TON Matrix and Sachin Adidas ST master blaster bats these two were just as good so I sold the AS but i shouldnt have really.

BAS bow 20/20 LE in the pictures above I got that from Asad bhai abt 18 months ago it was an awesome bat, weight was 2.11 but terrific balance super light pick up. I knocked in for few hours with a mallet and used it in nets just once, the bat was unbelievably good but something happened it got damaged not with a ball but in a fight & I sold it coz it was damaged around the splice, nothing major but it just didnt look good.

This season I plan to buy another BAS bat frm Asad Bhai but not same one. I'll go 4 BAS Shadow LE or the BAS Millenium inshallah..

The bat between GN viper and BAS bow 20/10 LE was ca plus 5k that 2 was very good bat but I failed once using that bat & I sold that on ebay and I think Pete bought it and gave really good feedback fot the bat.

Uzair Miyyan, I'm going to create a brand new thread for my bats and then can you move all my posts frm this to the new one please.

Sorry bhai unfortunately it is not possible to move your posts to that thread.

It would be a great thread to see all of your bats pictures (which you have owned till date) :D

WoW amazing stuff Majid.

I have finished the first re-sticker job will post the pics soon and also reparing one old bat which I tested yesterday and was good so will post pictures and progress this thread is getting interesting.

Majid Bhai, is there any way you could get hold of them Micheal Clarke Slazenger Stickers or maybe some Newberry Stickers or Puma?

Yeah the slazenger V389 are still available to buy frm kingsgrove sports Australia. You can get Puma frm Greg chappel cricket centre and newbery you just ring them up and say u need new stickers for ur old newbery bat even if u dont have one.

Thanks Majid Bhai !

im not that good at stickering but i put some incurza stickers on my gm icon 45mm edges

My personal thought is that since they are cheap so even if they are not as good as you expect then I'm sure you will not lose a big sum.

KR bhai, where did you get your Mtn Dew stickers from?

And also do you have any tips for applying new stickers?

JazakallahKhair.