Reflecting on Dav Whatmore's Insights: Pakistan Cricket in 2014 vs. 2023

Major

ODI Star
I stumbled across an interview of Dav Whatmore back in 2014 (this was after he had completed his coaching contract with Pakistan), and the insights Whatmore had gives you a perspective how foreigners look at or deal with Pakistan. This is just one institute of Pakistan, yet it gives you a brief of how all other govt institutes of Pakistan are like.

I wanted to share some of the answers that Whatmore gave on Pakistan Cricket and for us to reflect on them in 2023

Interviewer: You worked as head coach in Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Pakistan, and in India with NCA and with Kolkata Knight Riders. What do you see as the various challenges in these very different places?

DW: The challenge really is to get ahead of the game if you can, particularly in Pakistan. It is a very tricky environment to be in. The players themselves don't make much of a difference. They are all willing to work hard, they all want to do well for themselves, they all want to have long careers in all three formats of the game. But working with the administration, working with the selectors, working with the media, are all big challenges. I felt more of that in Pakistan than I felt in the other three countries. So it was a bit of a tricky situation from time to time. But thankfully, I decided not to renew my contract and we left on very amicable terms.
Interviewer: In a recent interview, you had said that in the subcontinent it takes generations to change cultural divides and mindsets. Can you expand further on it?

DW: To be successful in environments like that, you can't change them overnight. Any major change that is born out of a cultural background takes a very long time. It is almost a generation or two before things change. For me to come and clash the cymbals and beat the drums will be absolutely stupid. That is not going to happen. And people who think that they are going to get the Miracle Whatmore, who will get immediate results, it is just not going to be. I was very keen to take on that position because I honestly thought I could make a difference. At the end of that period, I left with a lot more experience from that part of the world, and I am sure the other boys also had terrific experiences in working with a person from abroad who had actually lasted those two years. It is a case of being perceptive than judgmental.
Interviewer: What was your approach to this immovable force of bureaucracy and board politics?

DW: The chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board changed thrice in just a few months, from Mr Zaka Ashraf to Najam Sethi back to Ashraf and now again to Mr Sethi. It becomes very difficult to feel secure in any position - whether you are a player, administrator, selector, or a coach. It requires very careful treading in terms of achieving what you want to do with the team as well as looking after yourself. So it was a very dicey situation, you know. You have to be very careful. As I said before, I was very pleased that I was able to leave with my head held high, and also leave with many friends in a number of areas in Pakistan.
Interviewer: A question from James: How did you deal with this rather incessant sniping through the media by opinion-makers like ex-Pakistani players?

DW: Very difficult, I have to tell you. In hindsight, it was good that I didn't understand too much of Urdu. I certainly couldn't read it. I was protected a lot more from the criticism that comes your way. Sadly, to me there was little show of nationalism. There always seem to be people pushing different players in the XI at the detriment of whoever was in the team. Regardless of what you did, there was always criticism, unjust criticism. A lot of it came to the captain, a bit of it came to me - on the principle that I was a foreigner. To be very honest to you, I didn't feel that it was a personal attack, it was a case of them promoting their own person for whatever reason at the expense of me. it was difficult for me to accept that because it took a little bit of time to understand what was going on. When I did, it still hurt. Nevertheless, that is the way it is in Pakistan. You have to grin and bear it and move on.
Interviewer: In a recent interview, you said that the psyche of a Pakistani cricketer is that they have to look after themselves because nobody else will. Is it coming out of the volatile nature around them? How should the Pakistani player be insulated from that?

DW: Unless these guys can do what they need to do for themselves there is no guarantee of anyone else doing it for them. As soon as a player starts to fail or has a bad series, there is every chance that the player will no longer be in the team. It arises from all these media creating so much hype. It affects the decisions made by the cricket board. That is a sad thing because it is not very easy to function in that environment.

The gist of it was that, Whatmore has worked with many subcontinent boards and smaller cricket nations, yet you can see from what he had answered that he thought Pakistan was the most difficult and that too because of the bureaucracy, the media and ex cricketers. The same discussion that we have on pakpassion, that everyone thinks the guy on the bench is the better player and everyone wants their favorite guy to be selected in the team.

The guy didnt even want to renew his contract after its completion in two years.

Whatmore's insight into the time it takes to change cultural divides and mindsets in the subcontinent is profound. His approach of being perceptive rather than judgmental demonstrates his understanding of the need for patience and long-term thinking in cricket development.

The ever-changing leadership in the Pakistan Cricket Board created a challenging environment. Something that is still happening in Pakistan with the same characters in play..

Quite insightful and shows why Pakistan as a country is stuck. Whatmore also did 2 years at India's NCA and he describe that time as his best ever. So it shows the contrasting view of both 3rd world countries cricket or govt set up

Source:

For every Dav Whatmore, you will have Mickey Arthur who is willing to work with Pakistan again.

The last straw for Whatmore was when Saeed Ajmal in an interview dissed him by saying we are paying him so much money just because he is a foreigner otherwise there is no difference between his coaching and Waqar's.

Instability at the PCB is pain to deal with and that is a genuine concern for any coach.
Media and ex-players scrutiny is part of any national team.
Getting dropped on poor performance is a norm too anywhere else in the world.
He had good time in NCA in India since he paid well without much scrutiny.

Instability at the PCB is pain to deal with and that is a genuine concern for any coach.
Media and ex-players scrutiny is part of any national team.
Getting dropped on poor performance is a norm too anywhere else in the world.
He had good time in NCA in India since he paid well without much scrutiny.
He served Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, nepal, zimbabwe and many other teams.

But if his worst experience was with Pakistan, than there must be some truth to that.

Media and ex player isn't that much of a concern in other countries as ex players don't go insulting their own. There is still that sense of patriotism to back your team.

As for scrutinity, he did a stint with Sri Lanka quite long while his stint with Pakistan was short, yet he felt there were more issues here.

Wasim khan was not the coach, he was working at pcb, yet he was scrutinize alot more than anyone else

It's even more difficult being the foreign coach of the Pakistan national team now.

If you look at the period from the 2012 to 2014- social media wasn't as relevant in shaping opinions as it is today. There were shows on tv channels that people actually watched and made up their opinions primarily based on those.

Where do all these channel have their headquarters? In the biggest city of Pakistan.

I remember watching shows after we lost to South Africa 4-1 in ODIs in the UAE under Misbah and Whatmore, we had embarrassed ourselves a few months ago in the Champions Trophy as well.
In one show, the host asks the 'expert' guests who should be the new captain of the ODI team as all of them had been ranting about Misbah, and all the three guests agree on Faisal Iqbal's name.

I wasn't even 18 but understood from that day the agenda that the media has in Pakistani sports and left watching sports channels for analysis after that.

Even Geoff Lawson mentioned about the media at that time wanting players and the captain from a particular city.

But now, things have changed. Except the 'city' agenda, there are many other agendas. With so many different opinion shapers on social media all with their own agendas.

It's just a nightmare being a foreign coach now when it comes to media. Best thing is, tell yourself sab bhoonk rahe hain, bhoonkne do in English and just do your work quietly.

A lot of people on this forum have their opinions shaped by social media- aur dekh loo haal on how they are dissing the team.

10 years ago, they would have their opinion shaped from TV channels that favored players from a particular city, and then a cricketer from that city Asad Shafiq would get to play 60 ODIs with 24 average and 67 average.

Dav Whatmore was overrated drivel but one of the few good observations was the lack of chances players got. They received hype, then they didnt perform well once or twice and were dropped altogether.

This is something Babar and co have addressed in the last couple years, as did Misbah with the test side.

Found Geoff Lawson's letter to Dav Whatmore when he was appointed in 2012 to be quite poignant:

Salaam aleikum, Davenell bhai

It has been many years since we first toured with Australia together, back in 1979, when you played so well against India. The wheel has turned almost full circle, just lacking the final shift across the line so artfully drawn by Sir Cyril Radcliffe.

The news of your (eventual) appointment has reached the shores of your former adopted homeland, and I must say I am quite pleased that your name plate will adorn the door of Room 3 at the National Cricket Academy admin block in Lahore. I note that contract negotiations were convoluted, complex and ambivalent, so all seems normal at the PCB.

Hopefully they have cleaned out my cupboards and those back issues of Optometry News, Playboy for Seniors and Golf Digest have been consigned to the garbage, or at least sent over to the player accommodation.

I am sure the PCB liaison man, Zakir Khan, will have let you know about the security arrangements. I recall clearly his words to me when I discussed my possible engagement as the national coach after the untimely demise of Bob Woolmer: "Yes, Geoff, there will be plenty of security, you just won't see them." Comforting indeed, but my biggest fears when living in Lahore did not include IEDs or rogue terror cells but anopheles mosquitoes and dengue fever (which I contracted leaving Pakistan in 1982 and wouldn't wish on my worst enemy).

I hope you get out to the regional centres like Multan, Faisalabad, Sialkot and Sheikhupura to see some of the local cricket. Some of the grounds are very poor and some very good. I would rate the stadium in Multan as one of the best in Asia - it's certainly a far cry from the old ground on top of the hill in the middle of town where we played in 1980 and 1982.

You will find that, contrary to widespread belief outside of Pakistan, there are some quicker pitches that certainly favour seam bowling. If you look at the figures for the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy it is usually the pace bowlers who dominate. Occasionally there will be a slow turner; the National Stadium, Karachi, can be either good to bat on or a real haven for the slow bowlers. Generally, up north they produce the stronger, bigger physiques and therefore the faster bowlers.

I was pleasantly surprised by the standards of the better QEA teams. I thought the competition had quality and was robust. It is good when national team-mates go hard at each other in first-class games.

Make sure you have some input into the Pentangular Shield teams' selection. That competition, between five provinces, is the equivalent of the Sheffield Shield. After the 24 or so first-class and corporate teams play their tournament, the national selectors pick five teams to represent Punjab, Sind (the two big boys, whose players come mostly from Lahore and Karachi), North West Frontier Province (now called Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Baluchistan, and Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA), which include Rawalpindi and Islamabad. They only play each other once in four-day games, but those matches are hard-fought and of an excellent standard.

The guys who do well here are just about ready for the next step, and you never know in Pakistan when some young genius will pop out of the woodwork. Like Mohammad Amir, who has just arrived back in Lahore from detention in England. You should take the 20-minute drive over to Defence Housing and have a chat with him sooner rather than later, to see what his mental state is. I reckon he would benefit from getting straight back into cricket of some kind, if only at club level.

Also, Dav, be careful in the traffic. I know the roads are mostly crammed with bicycles, motorbikes, rickshaws and camel carts that move like treacle through a sieve, but those six lanes leading onto the Liberty Market roundabout remind me of Talladega Nights with Will Ferrell sans beard and driving license. Your experience in Colombo traffic will stand you in good stead, but try to get a driver who speaks passable English and isn't a former auto-rickshaw operator. I wouldn't bother getting behind the wheel myself, based on my driving experiences. I was perfect - three drives, three accidents. None were my fault, of course, as I was using the imperial driving code - which among many details mentions something about driving on the left-hand side of the road where possible - not the South Asian one, where the horn is compulsory and "give way" loosely translates as "go as fast as possible to beat the next guy into the gap that would maybe fit a dinky toy while avoiding the over-laden donkey dray".

I must confess that when I moved into Room 3 at the NCA, most of Bob's stuff, from cricket books to DVDs, rindless-marmalade jars and tea caddy were still there. I did find it a little disconcerting that the personal items of the much loved and respected coach had not been packed and despatched. I'm sure Ijaz Butt will have cleaned out my detritus immediately, given his statements regarding my usefulness to Pakistan cricket after his brother-in-law anointed him chairman of the board after the 2008 general election. Sad days for all.

With your vast experience in Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and India, the language barrier should be at ankle height. Most of the guys speak English, falling into a range from "better than Australians" to "you get the drift". Cricket is the universal language, in any case. An outswinger is still gripped the same and a cover drive still gets hit through cover. Urdu and Hindi have many common words, although if they get to speaking Punjabi or Pashto, call for the gardener to translate. He used to run a video shop in the SWAT Valley until the Taliban arrived and issued an edict that no one should have fun.

A huge bonus for you will be that Misbah-ul Haq has taken over the captaincy. He is a bright, well-educated man, who understands the game exceptionally well. When in doubt, ask Misbah who should be in the team and he will give you players who aren't someone's second cousin's brother's uncle but rather are the most skilled for that position. He is a winner and plays no favourites, and will be an excellent sounding board for whatever strategy you feel will work best with the team. He sets a perfect example in work ethic and discipline, and it does make a difference when the senior players are doing all the right things, especially in their culture of age and respect going hand in hand.

Dav, I must issue a note of warning about dealing with the media in Pakistan, especially if you play against India and finish second - although that might never happen in the near future, given the political machinations at the highest level. Speak to Immie on this point: the Lion of Lahore may be the only person in Pakistan who can make it happen; now if only we could get Sachin to stand for the Lok Sabha, we could create cricket detente.

If the local journos want to be disrespectful and force their pre-conceived agendas on you, go right ahead and let them, unless you want several thousand views on Youtube. My son has installed the clip of me walking out of a press conference as my screen saver, so if I want to remind myself of how not to suck up to reporters I just hit Control F6 and amuse myself for three minutes.

But have no fear, Dav, of the man in the street. The press may have their private or provincial agendas, but I found the common man to be most friendly and hospitable. Even when we lost the occasional match, their approach to me was civil and respectful. Not an effigy in sight, burning or whole. They appreciated that a foreigner was in their country to help, to do his best and, win, lose or draw, to show respect for the nation and the culture.

I learned a bit of the lingo and stayed off the booze. I recommend doing at least one of those.

Stay away from politicians, public meetings, police stations or military establishments. If taking the team to the Army School of Physical Training in Abbottabad, stay clear of buildings with just a few too many antennae sticking out of the chimney, and keep your head down if you hear helicopters approaching.

That's about it, mate. These guys can play some wonderful cricket, and I'm sure they will listen and learn and benefit from your enormous knowledge of the game. I look forward to visiting you at Gaddafi Stadium when Australia return to play a Test there. When that happens, cricket really will be the winner.

All the best

Sahib Henry