[Report] ICC informs the PCB that India has refused to travel to Pakistan for the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 [Updated Post #418]

Younis Khan speaking during a media talk in Abu Dhabi:

“I hope the Champions Trophy will proceed smoothly, and it will benefit not only Pakistan but cricket in general, especially in this region. We need India and Pakistan to play regularly to ease tensions. I hope we can manage to have both teams visiting each other, with India coming to Pakistan and Pakistan visiting India similar to how it was in 2011 when we had three games and won the series against India. I truly hope that cricket can continue to thrive in both countries.”

I repeat it again-no, Pakistan is not and will not be paying. India pays for its decisions. They came out and stated "we're not touring, we want a hybrid model". Well, let's assume that goes forward?
"Paying" here wasn't meant literally. It meant that PCB would have to deal with the situation that comes out of this.

If the hybrid model goes forward, that's all that BCCI needs.

Don't make sense it's Jay Shah who wants to meet PCB not the other way around 🤣

So it Jay Shah begging pakistan to invite them too via hybrid
Jay Shah is only responding to the crying letter PCB sent to ICC.

We all know what will happen in the end. If PCB has any self respect they should deny the hybrid model

The PCB addressed its concerns directly to the ICC and not to the BCCI, which means the responsibility to respond lies with the ICC. It would be inappropriate for the BCCI to respond to the PCB since the matter was not directed to them. Any reply or clarification should come from the ICC, as they are the intended recipient of the communication.

Try again 🤣

The PCB addressed its concerns directly to the ICC and not to the BCCI, which means the responsibility to respond lies with the ICC. It would be inappropriate for the BCCI to respond to the PCB since the matter was not directed to them. Any reply or clarification should come from the ICC, as they are the intended recipient of the communication.

Try again 🤣
Don't you guys claim ICC == BCCI.
Try again 😂.

The news is highly unreliable and even if true, the PCB will be told to fall in line.

We have all seen it happen before

Don't you guys claim ICC == BCCI.
Try again 😂.

The news is highly unreliable and even if true, the PCB will be told to fall in line.
That's assumptions the fact is Jay Shah wants meet naqvi to beg him to agree to a hybrid when naqvi stance is clear no hybrid model 🤣

We have already seen a PCB chairman saying we won't send team to India to world cup and then take a u-turn and end up commentating in it

Not a laughable assumption you indian channels reporting it too

This is big news, because Indians never thought that Pakistan would force this cult to the table.

Pakistan have already won.

(No better sight than Indians getting triggered en-mass)

We will see what the final outcome is. What's the point of pre celebration.

Based on past anecdotes, everyone knows what will ensue.

It's 25 pages of pre celebration by the Indians who have now all disappeared no harm in we cebrating in a couple of pages

Even if hybrid is accepted its still humiliation for India that Jay Shah had to arrange to meet PCB and beg for hybrid model and PCB give it to him bheek

It's 25 pages of pre celebration by the Indians who have now all disappeared no harm in we cebrating in a couple of pages

Even if hybrid is accepted its still humiliation for India that Jay Shah had to arrange to PCB and beg for hybrid model and PCB give it to him bheek
Okk brother we are happy with hybrid model and humiliation.

I guess the PCB will have its held high after accepting it after so much false bravdo.

I can now understand why PCB always get the short stick in negotiations

India needs to realise, the only reason why Indians are ever spoken to is because of money, nothing else, take that away, and India has nothing.

Okk brother we are happy with hybrid model and humiliation.

I guess the PCB will have its held high after accepting it after so much false bravdo.

I can now understand why PCB always get the short stick in negotiations
26 posts from you, and most of them in this thread.

You are far from happy, your behaviour is a reflection of what billion+ Indians are feeling right now.

Not a laughable assumption you indian channels reporting it too

You are reading it all wrong. Jay Shah will meet PCB chairman as the head of ICC and not BCCI. Being the ICC head it is his duty to talk to all boards. He will try to convince PCB for hybrid model. BCCI has already given written statement to ICC that they are not sending its team to Pakistan. Now its upto ICC and PCB to come to solutions and hence Jay shah is meeting Moshin Naqvi. Your assumption of India taking a backward step is not true.

Try again 🤣

Jay Shah is taking over as Chairman of ICC. Didn't you get the memo?

Even if hybrid is accepted its still humiliation for India that Jay Shah had to arrange to meet PCB and beg for hybrid model and PCB give it to him bheek
3-4 Indian poster remind everyone that BCCI is most powerful run by saints, whole international cricket is sponsored by India, there is no cricket without India, Pakistan doesn't matter to anyone, PCB will be fined or get sanctions, Pakistan cricket will be isolated etc etc.

You are reading it all wrong. Jay Shah will meet PCB chairman as the head of ICC and not BCCI. Being the ICC head it is his duty to talk to all boards. He will try to convince PCB for hybrid model. BCCI has already given written statement to ICC that they are not sending its team to Pakistan. Now its upto ICC and PCB to come to solutions and hence Jay shah is meeting Moshin Naqvi. Your assumption of India taking a backward step is not true.

Jay Shah isn’t currently the head of the ICC and won’t be for another week and a half, so take this story elsewhere.

We Pakistanis aren’t stupid , and nowhere in the article does it say he’s meeting as the ICC chairman.

This is just a desperate attempt to save face and avoid humiliation.

Either way, Jay Shah meeting Mohsin Naqvi to beg for the acceptance of the hybrid model speaks for itself.

The PCB will not deny the hybrid model because they don't have self respect and they rely on ICC's grants.

The same fans then attempt to twist the facts for their narratives.

The PCB will not deny the hybrid model because they don't have self respect and they rely on ICC's grants.

If Jay Shah is planning to meet Mohsin Naqvi and get on his knees to beg for the hybrid model, we’ll obviously show generosity and give him what's he bheek (alm) that he's begging for

We’re Pakistanis we have big hearts.

If Jay Shah is planning to meet Mohsin Naqvi and get on his knees to beg for the hybrid model, we’ll obviously show generosity and give him what's he bheek (alm) that he's begging for

We’re Pakistanis we have big hearts.
It is more like Jay Shah calling Moshin to scold him for all the false bravado and order him to accept to the hybrid model. Don't believe the PCB's statements that will come later.

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah is expected to engage with ICC officials and have discussions with PCB chief Mohsin Naqvi to resolve the impasse regarding the Champions Trophy, as per a report.

India has firmly stated that they will not be traveling to Pakistan for the tournament, while the PCB remains resolute in their decision not to adopt a ‘hybrid’ structure.

Jay Shah, the Secretary of the Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI), is expected to engage with officials from the International Cricket Council (ICC) and have discussions with Mohsin Naqvi, the head of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), to resolve the ongoing impasse regarding the Champions Trophy.

Political tensions between the nations have resulted in the Indian team refraining from traveling to Pakistan since 2008, and the two teams have not faced each other outside of men’s major tournaments since 2013.

On Thursday, the Pakistan Cricket Board announced the appointment of Sumair Ahmad Syed as the chief operating officer for the Champions Trophy, despite ongoing uncertainty regarding the tournament’s organization scheduled for early next year.

In a statement released by the PCB, chairman Mohsin Naqvi reaffirmed the board’s commitment to hosting the tournament entirely within Pakistan.

“The ICC Champions Trophy 2025 promises to showcase Pakistan’s ability to host world-class cricketing events, welcoming players and fans from around the globe to experience the country’s passion for the game and renowned hospitality. Preparations are already well underway, with stadium upgrades nearing completion and crucial discussions ongoing with the International Cricket Council,” says Sumair.

Pakistan is poised to host a major global cricket event for the first time since co-hosting the 1996 World Cup alongside India and Sri Lanka. The eight-team tournament is currently slated to take place from February 19 to March 9.

This 50-over competition marks its return to the international calendar after Pakistan’s victory in 2017. However, the plans face challenges due to India’s reluctance to participate in matches held in the neighboring country.

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah is expected to engage with ICC officials and have discussions with PCB chief Mohsin Naqvi to resolve the impasse regarding the Champions Trophy, as per a report.

India has firmly stated that they will not be traveling to Pakistan for the tournament, while the PCB remains resolute in their decision not to adopt a ‘hybrid’

Jay Shah is acting as the BCCI Secretary while engaging with ICC officials,

but some people are making it seem like he’s already the ICC chairman.

Funny enough, Indian news is saying something completely different.

which grant you are talking about? Last time i checked PCB earned its fair share from ICC income like all other members Including BCCI

Jay Shah To Discuss Champions Trophy 2025 Deadlock with Mohsin Naqvi: Report

Jay Shah, the current BCCI Secretary and incoming ICC President, is expected to meet ICC officials in Dubai to address the ongoing deadlock over the 2025 Champions Trophy, according to a report by ARY News. Following the meeting, Shah is likely to have a telephonic conversation with Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Mohsin Naqvi to discuss India's participation in the tournament.

The Champions Trophy 2025 is scheduled to take place in Pakistan in February, marking the country’s first ICC event since the 1996 ODI World Cup. However, India has expressed security concerns and proposed a hybrid model where their matches would be played at a neutral venue. The PCB has reportedly opposed this suggestion.

A Cricket Pakistan report highlights that the outcome of Shah’s discussions with ICC officials could significantly influence the tournament’s fate. The ICC has reportedly urged the PCB to accept the hybrid model, emphasizing that India’s participation is essential for hosting the Champions Trophy or any other ICC event. The ICC has also advised the PCB to avoid making anti-India statements amid the ongoing standoff.

The resolution of this issue is expected to shape the planning and execution of the 2025 Champions Trophy.

Jay Shah should send his Father to discuss it.

1 on 1. Interior Minister to Interior Minister

In all seriousness if Jay Shah contacts Mohsin Naqvi directly. That will put pressure on Mohsin Naqvi and PCB to succumb to BCCI's demand.

The key thing in this negotiation here is the fact (which everyone's missed it) that Jay Shah will be talking to ICC and boards in a meeting before talking to Mohsin Naqvi. The order is critical as talking in the meeting first gives Jay Shah an opportunity to take in ICC and all the other boards under his confidence and gameplan. This will allow Jay Shah to have an upper hand in negotiations with Mohsin Naqvi.

Jay Shah must be in a conundrum. I can only imagine how his daddy scolded him after the WC23 humiliation. Wonder what his daddy has to say about being forced to call the PCB!

Emergency ICC meeting called to discuss Champions Trophy, hybrid model likely: Sources​

Amid mounting uncertainty over the fate of the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy, the International Cricket Council (ICC) is set to hold an emergency meeting on November 26, India Today has learnt. The meeting will bring together top officials from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to address the ongoing concerns over the venues.

The controversy stems from the BCCI’s decision, guided by the Indian government, to decline sending the Indian cricket team to Pakistan, citing safety concerns in the host country amid tense bilateral relations. The stance has fueled speculation regarding the tournament’s future and the viability of Pakistan as its host.

The ICC will act as a mediator during the meeting, aiming to find a resolution that satisfies all stakeholders. Key issues on the agenda include addressing the BCCI’s safety concerns, the PCB’s insistence on retaining hosting rights, and potential alternatives such as a hybrid model. This model, which proposes splitting matches between neutral venues and Pakistan, has been consistently opposed by the PCB, who argue it undermines their authority as hosts.

The Champions Trophy, a marquee 50-over tournament, holds significant importance for international cricket, and its successful execution is pivotal for the ICC. The discussions on November 26 are expected to play a crucial role in determining whether the tournament can proceed as planned or if alternative arrangements need to be made. Both boards are under pressure to prioritize the sport while balancing geopolitical sensitivities.

Emergency ICC meeting called to discuss Champions Trophy, hybrid model likely: Sources​

Amid mounting uncertainty over the fate of the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy, the International Cricket Council (ICC) is set to hold an emergency meeting on November 26, India Today has learnt. The meeting will bring together top officials from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to address the ongoing concerns over the venues.

The controversy stems from the BCCI’s decision, guided by the Indian government, to decline sending the Indian cricket team to Pakistan, citing safety concerns in the host country amid tense bilateral relations. The stance has fueled speculation regarding the tournament’s future and the viability of Pakistan as its host.

The ICC will act as a mediator during the meeting, aiming to find a resolution that satisfies all stakeholders. Key issues on the agenda include addressing the BCCI’s safety concerns, the PCB’s insistence on retaining hosting rights, and potential alternatives such as a hybrid model. This model, which proposes splitting matches between neutral venues and Pakistan, has been consistently opposed by the PCB, who argue it undermines their authority as hosts.

The Champions Trophy, a marquee 50-over tournament, holds significant importance for international cricket, and its successful execution is pivotal for the ICC. The discussions on November 26 are expected to play a crucial role in determining whether the tournament can proceed as planned or if alternative arrangements need to be made. Both boards are under pressure to prioritize the sport while balancing geopolitical sensitivities.

So hybrid model it will be. Who could have guessed

@emranabbas what is going on?

I thought Jay Shah was begging Naqvi? Maybe you can look at the positive here that Naqvi has accepted the begging from Shah and agreed to play hybrid model.

:rabada2

As I said it’s fun to banter and discuss but in the end it will be played at a hybrid model with deal that will make all parties happy. Obviously the bravado of we will destroy BCCI-ICC will be embarrassing in hindsight but based on history people move on pretty easily so a couple of days of taunts and things will be back to normal.

Go with hybrid model. Not sure why this insistence on having India come?

India can play their games in UAE.
We play all ours in Pakistan.
If India qualifies for the final it has to be in Pakistan. Simple as.

And for us to do the same in all trophies in India. I never understood why our team ran all the way to India at every tourney.

This would still mean India needs to come to Pakistan if they make the final. They’re not goona do that.

Obviously an attempt to show there was no longstanding grudges from the Pakistan side. Fat lot of good it did them. You can see even here their supporters still refer back to 1990, 2011 etc as justification for their own attempts to cripple Pakistan in every sphere.

@emranabbas what is going on?

I thought Jay Shah was begging Naqvi? Maybe you can look at the positive here that Naqvi has accepted the begging from Shah and agreed to play hybrid model.

Jay Shah knows he has no respect, and if he begs alone, Pakistanis will just brush him off. So, he turned to the ICC and said,

"oh bhai pakistan se bolo humein bhi champions trophy khiloa."

So let's see what's the ICC sifarish going to do?

BCCI might have to give some rishwat so India could also play.

As I said it’s fun to banter and discuss but in the end it will be played at a hybrid model with deal that will make all parties happy. Obviously the bravado of we will destroy BCCI-ICC will be embarrassing in hindsight but based on history people move on pretty easily so a couple of days of taunts and things will be back to normal.
At the beginning it wasn't fun and banter you guys were literally saying champions trophy will be shifted pakistan won't play etc... and actually cane here to mock pakistan

Now it's come to a point BCCi have to involve ICC so India could play 🤣

According to a senior sports reporter Osman Samiuddin, the PCB might concede and agree to the hybrid model in exchange for the following

- The PCB being granted a similar hybrid model for future ICC events held in India

- The PCB being given a higher CT hosting fee as compensation

Both the Semis and Finals should be in Pakistan, India can play their group matches with other opponents where ever they like but for the knock outs they will have to come to Pakistan, failing which their opponent should be declared winners of the match .

That Pakistan went out of its way to avoid an India Pakistan match at the group stage by shifting India to the other group and organizing the knock outs and Rest of the tournament safely inside in Pakistan will be victory for PCB, they also make money by hosting the tournament and not bowing down to demands of India.

At the beginning it wasn't fun and banter you guys were literally saying champions trophy will be shifted pakistan won't play etc... and actually cane here to mock pakistan

There's a lot of compensation psychology in their posts too.

Indians were indeed chest thumping when times were good, a decade of relentless chest thumping since Modi was in power, now India is in decline, it's all "we were only joking, we love the giggles." - this too shall pass!

These guys also said they would win every ICC trophy under sun - under Modi's India. We all know how that turned out to be, and this is just 1 claim of many.

Now, from BCCI will never negotiate with the PCB, to BCCI will negotiate with the PCB but mummy ICC have to hold BCCI's hand.

According to a senior sports reporter Osman Samiuddin, the PCB might concede and agree to the hybrid model in exchange for the following

- The PCB being granted a similar hybrid model for future ICC events held in India

Those both seem fair asks.

Does it matter how we get there? You can look up my first post where I said in the end it will be a hybrid model and it is a pointless tamasha. Thanks for making my point, looks like you already moved on and clutching and some other straws now 🤣

Jay Shah is acting as the BCCI Secretary while engaging with ICC officials,

but some people are making it seem like he’s already the ICC chairman.

Funny enough, Indian news is saying something completely different.

Report as per a Pakistani website. A small time pakistani website.

Try again.

Number two will have be done and that's that.

PCB is for sale and everyone knows it.

Jay Shah knows he has no respect, and if he begs alone, Pakistanis will just brush him off. So, he turned to the ICC and said,

"oh bhai pakistan se bolo humein bhi champions trophy khiloa."

So let's see what's the ICC sifarish going to do?

BCCI might have to give some rishwat so India could also play.

PCB will sell itself for a few dollars. That's how the leadership in Pakistan works.

All this false bravado doesn't suit you.

Number two will have be done and that's that.

PCB is for sale and everyone knows it.

Lol I am pretty sure come next ICC event in India, the BCCI at the last minute will demand from the ICC i.e. no hybrid model, make the PCB come to India and then the ICC will put maximum pressure on the PCB to come to India in defiance of their government's directives.

It would be a joke tournament if the hosts are forced to play any of its matches on neutral venues just because of one team.

PCB should only accept the hybrid model if ALL of their groups fixtures are in Pakistan.

One Semifinal and the Final are in Pakistan.

- India and Pakistan in different groups
* If they qualify:
- India can play their semifinal in Dubai
- For the Final they travel to Pakistan, play and leave on the same day.

It would be a joke tournament if the hosts are forced to play any of its matches on neutral venues just because of one team.

PCB should only accept the hybrid model if ALL of their groups fixtures are in Pakistan.

One Semifinal and the Final are in Pakistan.

- India and Pakistan in different groups
* If they qualify:
- India can play their semifinal in Dubai
- For the Final they travel to Pakistan, play and leave on the same day.
If both teams qualify for the final I propose they play the game online. Cricket 24 on PS5 Live Streamed on Netflix for the entire world.

That’s not how the Indian governments? The extent of corruption in India is astounding, so much so, that India’s very own economists think that India’s economic growth is fudge-onomic growth.

Don’t get me wrong. I love India and Indians and yearn for a friendly, peaceful and prosperous region.

However, the constant bravo and superiority complex from India is an impediment to progress. We get BCCI is strong and we are tired of hearing all the time everywhere. Have some grace.
How come you are only seeing bravado in the responses but not what is provoking people into saying some of those things?

As far as corruption goes India has corruption issues in middle management or may be 2nd level leadership but our PM’s in most cases at a personal level were always clean and non-corrupt when it comes to financials be it Modi or Lal Bahadur Shastri or Manmohan Singh

So there is that.

PCB will sell itself for a few dollars. That's how the leadership in Pakistan works.

All this false bravado doesn't suit you.
Come on, mate, what’s your stance? "PCB shouldn’t earn any money from Indians by playing cricket because of Mumbai 26/11 and the deaths of Indian soldiers"?

You do realize that every time India plays Pakistan, Pakistan earns money too.

If PCB is "selling itself," then India is trampling over the dead bodies of 26/11 victims and dead soldiers to play Pakistan. That's is pretty bad 👎

Lol I am pretty sure come next ICC event in India, the BCCI at the last minute will demand from the ICC i.e. no hybrid model, make the PCB come to India and then the ICC will put maximum pressure on the PCB to come to India in defiance of their government's directives.

2026 T20WC is co hosted. So Pakistan will travel to India only for the finals. Unless they meet India in Semis

I think that'll depend on whether ICC can get away with putting both teams in different groups without losing the broadcasting deal
ICC will get away with anything as long as they make this tournament happen, pacify Pakistan and give India what they won’t. Rest will fall in line. May sound like chest thumping but it is also a fact if we look at it practically. Pakistan holding up on their bargain etc sounds good on paper but at the end of the day they wouldn’t want to stretch the rubberband till it breaks. Thats what is already happening.

Come on, mate, what’s your stance? "PCB shouldn’t earn any money from Indians by playing cricket because of Mumbai 26/11 and the deaths of Indian soldiers"?

You do realize that every time India plays Pakistan, Pakistan earns money too.

If PCB is "selling itself," then India is trampling over the dead bodies of 26/11 victims and dead soldiers to play Pakistan. That's is pretty bad 👎

India doesn't have any bilateral Cricket relationship.

India only plays Pakistan in ICC or ACC events because forfeiture helps Pakistan.

ICC will get away with anything as long as they make this tournament happen, pacify Pakistan and give India what they won’t. Rest will fall in line. May sound like chest thumping but it is also a fact if we look at it practically. Pakistan holding up on their bargain etc sounds good on paper but at the end of the day they wouldn’t want to stretch the rubberband till it breaks. Thats what is already happening.
Pakistan's hand is pretty weak but they do have a few cards to play. The need for the Indo-Pak game will allow them to extract a few concessions from the BCCI and the ICC. Will those be purely monetary concessions or something more for future tournaments is the question.

I think that'll depend on whether ICC can get away with putting both teams in different groups without losing the broadcasting deal

Pakistan's hand is pretty weak but they do have a few cards to play. The need for the Indo-Pak game will allow them to extract a few concessions from the BCCI and the ICC. Will those be purely monetary concessions or something more for future tournaments is the question.

If Pakistan refuses to play the CT.

How much will be the loss?

People are putting numbers between 10 to 30 per cent. Depends on who you listen to.

At the highest bracket loss will be $180mn.

Pakistan won't receive its $35mn share. So substract that.

Loss is now $145mn.

If BCCI agrees to pay the entire loss from its share of $230mn, they will still take home $85mn.

BCCI can handle the financial hit.

Can PCB?

If Pakistan refuses to play the CT.

How much will be the loss?

People are putting numbers between 10 to 30 per cent. Depends on who you listen to.

At the highest bracket loss will be $180mn.

Pakistan won't receive its $35mn share. So substract that.

Loss is now $145mn.

If BCCI agrees to pay the entire loss from its share of $230mn, they will still take home $85mn.

BCCI can handle the financial hit.

Can PCB?
Nah it's impossible they'll go that far. At the most, they'll refuse to play the India game in the UAE. Say a 20% loss across the board (midpoint of your estimate). They'll lose $7m. It'll hurt but they'll survive.