Restaurant small business idea

softmind82

HI

I want to get back to Pakistan to start a small fast-food restaurant business.......

Guys please advice and suggest your ideas and how much its gonna cost for a small type fast food restaurant in lahore...

Plan is to rent a place and then see how it progress.......

You ideas and suggestion will be appreciated.

Regards :moyo

Great idea. What kind of food do you plan to sell. American fast food like burger, pizza etc. If so my best advice is to keep your menu short. Make few but excellent dishes. That is how fast food restaurants make profit. Keep it simple, make tons of it and sell tons of it as you have to sell it for cheap. Also, try not to imitate the food of larger fast food chains, that will only make yours look like a cheap version of them. Make something unique or something common with your touch or twist to it.

By the way, I have nothing to do with the food business. Just into eating food :)

A newcomer taking an international debutant's advice. Where are the seasoned pros?

From mopping the floor, to waiter to cashier to accountant to manager and more importantly to be CHIEF CHEFF.
You must do ALL of the above job in restaurant industry for at least two years to know the in and outs and be aware of the hidden expense and dependency on employees.

You will probably waste a lot of money if you have not done or substantially worked in this business before. Don't fall into the trap of "Doosray ki plate mein parra huva laddu barra nazar aata hai".
Don't look at someone who owns a restaurant and looked to be making money and tell yourself ..,,, "Oh yaar ye tou barray paisay bana raha hai, chalo mein bhi yehi business karta hoon".

Location, rent, payroll, taxes, cost of food, quality of served food, prices and many, many other factors play a vital role in business.

Restaurant business usually have a better chance of success if the Chief Chef is the owner himself, or else you are at a total mercy of some parasite.

good luck..been involved int he business all my life ..mazdoori meray bhai, if your ready for it!! its not easy!!

From mopping the floor, to waiter to cashier to accountant to manager and more importantly to be CHIEF CHEFF.
You must do ALL of the above job in restaurant industry for at least two years to know the in and outs and be aware of the hidden expense and dependency on employees.

You will probably waste a lot of money if you have not done or substantially worked in this business before. Don't fall into the trap of "Doosray ki plate mein parra huva laddu barra nazar aata hai".
Don't look at someone who owns a restaurant and looked to be making money and tell yourself ..,,, "Oh yaar ye tou barray paisay bana raha hai, chalo mein bhi yehi business karta hoon".

Location, rent, payroll, taxes, cost of food, quality of served food, prices and many, many other factors play a vital role in business.

Restaurant business usually have a better chance of success if the Chief Chef is the owner himself, or else you are at a total mercy of some parasite.

I totally agree with your post, because I do all of that and much more. I own a restaurant and have acquired ownership of another one which I will be opening within the next couple of weeks. Most of my friends think it's really easy to make money in a food business when they look at daily turnover however there are many hidden cost which you only find out once you run the place yourself. But the biggest problem in food business in staff, if you dont know how to perform most of the activities in your food business, then you should just forget about it. You need to perfect everything before you go ahead opening your own place.

Pakistanis love food , all kinds of it but there is already a lot of competition in Pakistan . You will need to be a bit creative with your marketing keeping in mind your customers as well as provide the best quality , hygiene and customer service .

How much is it going to cost ? That honestly depends which area you want to open up your restaurant in . I would suggest open it up near a university or college !!

^ lol , delicious food at reasonable price is what will help you the most . The most famous places like Agha Juice , Student Biryani , Cafe Pyala , Javed Nihari , Phajjay ke paaye , started off on a small scale . To this day , their quality has not gone down a bit .

Just, buy a starbucks franchise or burger king franchise and bring it to lahore. You will be a multi-billionaire in months. People here are crazy for hardees and Gloria jeans, they will go super berserk when they will see burger king or Starbucks.

P.S: It is my secret wish to visit both of these restaurants once in my life. ;)

HI

I want to get back to Pakistan to start a small fast-food restaurant business.......

Guys please advice and suggest your ideas and how much its gonna cost for a small type fast food restaurant in lahore...

Plan is to rent a place and then see how it progress.......

You ideas and suggestion will be appreciated.

Regards :moyo

First and foremost, stay away from Karachi or you will have to add perpetually compounded bhatta to your operating cost...

^ Yeh jo aag dil maiN lagi hai zamane maiN laga dooN ga :altaf

Just, buy a starbucks franchise or burger king franchise and bring it to lahore. You will be a multi-billionaire in months. People here are crazy for hardees and Gloria jeans, they will go super berserk when they will see burger king or Starbucks.

P.S: It is my secret wish to visit both of these restaurants once in my life. ;)

Starbucks is a Jewish company that heavily supports Israel so if folks in Pakistan find about it during a protest then forget it.

And Burger King/ Hadees ?? U gotta laugh at Pakistanis ... junk food that's usually consumed by poverty ridden and homeless folks is a delicacy in Pakistan.

Just a suggestion, would you think Indian snacks like dosa,vada,idli, paav bhaji, samosa,kachori, choley tikki ,bhel ,paani poori etc would be viable in Pakistan ?

Good luck!! Lotsa hard work that!!! Hard work never killed anybody though!!!!

Personally I think you should look at serving food that is "from home." Homestyle cooking seems to be a thing of the past! Serve the foods that are popular from the area that you wish to open the restaurant in. It will help that the ingredients are readily available!!

Take the traditional style food and put your own spin on it!!!! Think it will work for you!!!!

Here in Europe Turkish Doner (and other Turkish stuff) is being sold in almost every street. Rare in pakistan. In fact only once I saw in lahore some guy selling it on street. As saadibaba said why not start with some thing new and unique, like Doner.

Starbucks is a Jewish company that heavily supports Israel so if folks in Pakistan find about it during a protest then forget it.

And Burger King/ Hadees ?? U gotta laugh at Pakistanis ... junk food that's usually consumed by poverty ridden and homeless folks is a delicacy in Pakistan.

They will do nothing. KFC and McDonalds are also owned by non-muslims? Do they did anything to it?
These protesters can only harm the poor like those suicide bombers who go kill the poor rather than killing those who are illegal acquiring wealth and making homes in DHA.

Hardees and fast food joints are visited by the middle class and above people and they make up a good amount of the population!

Just a suggestion, would you think Indian snacks like dosa,vada,idli, paav bhaji, samosa,kachori, choley tikki ,bhel ,paani poori etc would be viable in Pakistan ?

dunno about others but samosa and paani poori are available almost everywhere

are they popular ? have you tried the other snacks moi listed ?

Samosas are like national snack of Pakistan. People eat it with chai. Through out the month of Ramadan, Its taken at iftar.

I have tried Dosa here in Jeddah only.

Samosas are already very popular , beef or aloo but there is another kind , the one without any filling :p . We used to love those after school , they were really small and cheap sold with chutney . Haai bachpan ! :amir

Pani poori = gol gappay

chola chat , bhail poori have been around like forever . Dosa is also gaining popularity in Karachi . There are a lot of people in Karachi of Gujarat origin and they have some really good snacks they brought with them to Pakistan .

Samosas are already very popular , beef or aloo but there is another kind , the one without any filling :p . We used to love those after school , they were really small and cheap sold with chutney . Haai bachpan ! :amir

Pani poori = gol gappay

chola chat , bhail poori have been around like forever . Dosa is also gaining popularity in Karachi . There are a lot of people in Karachi of Gujarat origin and they have some really good snacks they brought with them to Pakistan .

buddy,what are the things people usually have for breakfast apart from andaa/toast ?

parathay!

Btw,here in India there are many restaurants which serve just stuffed parathas [ aloo,gobhi,paneer, peas,daal etc] with pickles,raita & a subzi. They are reasonably priced & do pretty well if the quality is decent .

I hear restuarant business in booming in Pakistan specially if you have authentic foreign dishes in your menu.

Is anybody in food business or has opened a restaurant recently?

I remember about 5-8 years back I really wanted to be a restaurant manager, lol I thought it would be so easy, I was just a kid back then lol

As a kid you wanted to be a restaurant manager? Not own but manage it?

Yeah, like was even planning the name of the restaurant and what the menu would be aha

Stand alone restaurants are hard in Western countries, you can always get trained in Franchise and then open after 3-4 years..

As a kid i liked to select playing elevens for all the test cricket playing nations of the world. Now i just select Pakistan’s playing eleven :D

good luck..been involved int he business all my life ..mazdoori meray bhai, if your ready for it!! its not easy!!

I didn't know you were into this business it's also my family business or was how do you get time for kids my dad hardly anytime.

I'm hoping to open one after saving some money as well, my dad is against it so he pushed me to white collar job, irrespective hopefully someday I'll have one :p

I didn't know you were into this business it's also my family business or was how do you get time for kids my dad hardly anytime.

I'm hoping to open one after saving some money as well, my dad is against it so he pushed me to white collar job, irrespective hopefully someday I'll have one :p

Are you hungry? You have been bumping food related threads today. :inti

My dad was into it. I used to help but now I am no longer in the industry. It's very hard. Long hours, I hardly saw my dad back in the day, he would start at around 10:30 in the morning till about 1:00am. He would take breaks and come and see us or I would go and sit in the restaurant after school. But overall its a tough job. He was a strong guy though, jatt punjabi born to work hard..

Once i finished my studies I went my own way while dad continued his business. Very very tough but noting beats being your own boss..

My dad was into it. I used to help but now I am no longer in the industry. It's very hard. Long hours, I hardly saw my dad back in the day, he would start at around 10:30 in the morning till about 1:00am. He would take breaks and come and see us or I would go and sit in the restaurant after school. But overall its a tough job. He was a strong guy though, jatt punjabi born to work hard..

Once i finished my studies I went my own way while dad continued his business. Very very tough but noting beats being your own boss..

Ah okk , same here my Punjabi Dad was working long hours, the worst is doing the rounds of market ,I still remem him coming home at 1 am and he would go to fresh market at 3 am every third day, tough job luckily the logistics are much more simpler now for all these things.

Yeah hopefully I have the will after 10 years, I love the business.