Sami Aslam might just have solved Pakistan's opening conundrum

Muhammad10

Writing for Sky Sports, Saj Sadiq reckons that judging by Sami Aslam's composure that belies his age, Pakistan may well have solved their opening conundrum.

sami-aslam-pakistan-third-test_3761434.jpg

The recently-concluded Test match at Edgbaston ended in a glorious victory for England as they turned around the fate of the game after facing a potentially hazardous position in the early part of the five-day battle.

For Pakistan however, the memories of the third Test will be filled with disappointment and regret as apart from some individual flashes of brilliance, their bowlers and batsmen by and large failed to seize the moment and allowed the game to drift away.

While there was plenty of blame laid at the feet of the much-vaunted bowling attack, it was the general consensus that the visiting batsmen were unable to hold their own on a pitch which offered very little by way of demons. There were of course some exceptions such as the 20-year-old opening batsman, Sami Aslam, who was playing in only his third Test match and his first outside Asia.

Aslam's re-appearance in Test cricket after more than a year in the wilderness was significant. His scores of 82 and 70 in what eventually proved to be a losing cause demonstrated his talent and temperament as mayhem ensued all around him on day five.

sami-aslam-pakistan-third-test_3761448.jpg

What was not so obvious by looking at the scorecard was the startling fact that Sami, whose cricketing heroes are Virat Kohli and Joe Root, was only brought in as a replacement after the consecutive failures of another young opening batsman, Shan Masood.

One can only imagine the silent jubilation in the England camp at the sight of a nervous, inexperienced opener walking in to bat at Edgbaston. This would also have surely turned into celebration of equal magnitude at the sight of Mohammad Hafeez departing for an unceremonious duck, leaving the novice at the mercy of some of the world's top bowlers on the final day.

With just two Test matches previously to his name against Bangladesh last year where the young batsman had failed to impress, Sami, armed with composure which belied his age, and skills which could easily rival the best youngsters in the game, proceeded to rescue Pakistan from a precarious 0-1.

By the time he was run-out in the first innings for a well composed 82 with the Pakistan score on 181-2, Sami had presented ample proof of his ability and finally announced his arrival on the international scene.

If further proof was needed of his suitability for the much-maligned opening position for Pakistan at the top of the order, it was provided in even more dire circumstances in the ill-fated second innings, where at one point with the team score at 125-5, his contribution was 70 with the other five batmen having contributed a paltry 54 runs amongst themselves, plus one extra.

The Pakistan opening conundrum has been a source of great pain for many years since another left-hander Saeed Anwar decided to hang up his boots and has no doubt presented the Pakistani selectors with many sleepless nights.

The demise in form Hafeez in conditions other than the UAE has assumed ominous proportions, so the arrival of Sami represents nothing short of a breath of fresh air for Pakistan cricket.

Sami's rise to fame as an opener in Edgbaston may appear to have come out of the blue but the fact is that he had always been identified as one of the country's top talents from a tender age where he captained the Pakistan Under 19s. If anything, his failure to score big in Test matches against Bangladesh was a major disappointment for those who had seen his rise from a young age.

His performance at Edgbaston was, in a way, confirmation of his unquestionable talent, with Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq highly impressed with Sami's discipline and temperament which saw the young batsman hold his own under tremendous pressure from the opposition.

Despite Pakistan's capitulation in Birmingham, the current series - which stands 2-1 in favour of the hosts - is far from over with one Test to be played at The Oval. The spoils for the victor may well be no less than the much coveted number one ranking in Test cricket.

While England can claim a psychological and score-line advantage, their think-tank would have surely identified Sami as a viable threat to their strategies for the grand finale. From a Pakistan point of view, Sami's emergence as a dependable opener who could blunt the England new ball bowling attack could not have come at a better time.

The struggling middle-order's prayers may well have been answered with the arrival of a young man on the scene who has all the hallmarks of a calming influence at the top of the order which has been missing for many years.

It may have been a long time coming, but if Sami can maintain his composure and find able support from the Pakistani batsmen, then come 15 August, Pakistan may well find themselves celebrating more than a Test victory at The Oval.

http://www.skysports.com/cricket/ne...-pakistans-opening-conundrum-says-sajid-sadiq

Abi to 2 innings kheli hai usne bhai..aur mere khyal se wo asia main achi performance nai de paega spinners k khilaf..mujhe weak laga hai spiners k khilaf.

It's just one match. For all we know England might do some crazy analysis on him and dismiss him for two ducks in the next match

way too early to tell, pakistani cricket history is littered with batsmen who burst on the scene and then fade, almost as frequently as indian bowlers who do the same.

but its very encouraging albeit very early signs. he doesnt, however, solve the opening conundrum - if he turns out to be the real deal, he only solves half of it.

as much as ive been a vocal critic of his, shehzad probably would have made a good second string, but unfortunately he has only himself to blame for not being so. i think test cricket is the only format suited to his game, but his destructive influence, unprofessionalism in the media, and his naive judgement in putting his stock in the most successful pakistani media manipulator (afridi) has quite rightly put paid to that for a while.

way too early to tell, pakistani cricket history is littered with batsmen who burst on the scene and then fade, almost as frequently as indian bowlers who do the same.

but its very encouraging albeit very early signs. he doesnt, however, solve the opening conundrum - if he turns out to be the real deal, he only solves half of it.

as much as ive been a vocal critic of his, shehzad probably would have made a good second string, but unfortunately he has only himself to blame for not being so. i think test cricket is the only format suited to his game, but his destructive influence, unprofessionalism in the media, and his naive judgement in putting his stock in the most successful pakistani media manipulator (afridi) has quite rightly put paid to that for a while.

well said bro
he (Shehzad)seems to be in his dream world that he has achieved everything in cricket and he is super star which is wrong he is average player with very limited shot range but agree with you test format is perfect for his style of batting

Sami Aslam has to guard against complacency

England will be gunning for him tomorrow.

Nahi..bangladesh k khilaf aur under19 ki kuch innings main dekha hai usay

He looked a lot better in the Edgbaston Test. Though Moeen is not a great bowler, he was still bowling very well and Sami was very solid in defence. He seemed sure of his footwork, no half-forward half-back rubbish. And he also took him on at times, successfully too.

Would love to see him smash tons in ODI's, I really wish we had a fit and firing opener who can pummel any attack in the world.

Well - looks like square one type situation coming up

Why do we get excited after one or two decent innings?

Relax - he's 20.

Still scored 3 more runs this innings than Hafeez/Shan would've.

Good point. We're quick to hype players and throws knives even faster!

Aslam made a small mistake which was costly. With only few overs left he should have been defending with straight bat, he tried to nudge that ball for a single but last minute saw that it was straightening a little and ended up playing around it. I still believe in his abillity and he is an opener with actual potential. Long way to go and I have faith he will get better with experience iA

Good point. We're quick to hype players and throws knives even faster!

Aslam made a small mistake which was costly. With only few overs left he should have been defending with straight bat, he tried to nudge that ball for a single but last minute saw that it was straightening a little and ended up playing around it. I still believe in his abillity and he is an opener with actual potential. Long way to go and I have faith he will get better with experience iA

Yes, we gotta back the youngsters.

The experienced ones are even worse.

Yes, we gotta back the youngsters.

The experienced ones are even worse.

Sami Aslam is a very good prospect. He had shown his credentials from Under-19 cricket. He should be given extended run for any chance of getting a real solid opener for Pakistan.

He was in a tricky situation today as he had to survive 3 balls and just missed a ball that straightened.

He does bat in front of the stumps so its something he needs to be careful about.

Guys please don't change your opinion on him just cos of one low score. Every single batsman in the world gets low scores sometimes, he will bounce back

Gotta give Aslam some slack honestly. He's playing well and what does Pak do? Hey buddy we're gonna let you open. Bandaid solution and once again putting forced pressure. Shouldve sent Yasir out right away, what are they thinking!!! So frustrating. Next match, will they open with Aslam again? Doubt it, so why bandaid at the Oval......

His F/C average is 35 and that is where he will be in tests. Right now he is in the ball park range. I don't see any reason to get our hopes up that he will average in the 40s or 50s.

You can be classy or have a solid technique it really does not matter. The ultimate metric is your batting average which takes all the subjectivity out of the equation when evaluating the performance of a batsman.

Some people are going a bit overboard, Broad bowled an excellent delivery. Getting the ball to straighten enough to hit the stumps from that angle is exceptional. Sami wasn't expecting that.

It took England just 2 innings to work him out, the challenge will be how sami responds to the full ball angling in.

Opening an innings is a high pressure situation. May be just for this One inning we should sent 2 nightwatchmen !!! It was a matter of just 3 overs ..... why not ???? This would have surely dented his confidence .... hope not.

His F/C average is 35 and that is where he will be in tests. Right now he is in the ball park range. I don't see any reason to get our hopes up that he will average in the 40s or 50s.

You can be classy or have a solid technique it really does not matter. The ultimate metric is your batting average which takes all the subjectivity out of the equation when evaluating the performance of a batsman.

Do players not improve beyond the age of 20?

Joe Root barely averaged 40 (high 30s I think) in First Class cricket when England picked him for their international team in his early 20s.

Why isn't he averaging 40 in Test cricket rather than mid 50s?

Do players not improve beyond the age of 20?

Joe Root barely averaged 40 (high 30s I think) in First Class cricket when England picked him for their international team in his early 20s.

Why isn't he averaging 40 in Test cricket rather than mid 50s?

Sure but Root averages 52+ in F/C now. Performing better than your domestic stats is exception rather than the norm.

There are no Pakistani batsmen who have performed much better than their F/C averages. Can Sami improve? sure he can. But the only measure of improvement should be that he up his batting average. 35 is just too low no matter how good his technique is.

Sure but Root averages 52+ in F/C now. Performing better than your domestic stats is exception rather than the norm.

There are no Pakistani batsmen who have performed much better than their F/C averages. Can Sami improve? sure he can. But the only measure of improvement should be that he up his batting average. 35 is just too low no matter how good his technique is.

Bro there is also something called potential. He has the basics down, which surprisingly some batsmen in uor team don't have.

Kusal Mendis of Sri Lanka hardly averages mid 30s or something like that but he played 2 absolute brilliant knocks against Starc, Hazzelwood and Lyon.

The game is more than just a number on a paper!

Bro there is also something called potential. He has the basics down, which surprisingly some batsmen in uor team don't have.

Kusal Mendis of Sri Lanka hardly averages mid 30s or something like that but he played 2 absolute brilliant knocks against Starc, Hazzelwood and Lyon.

The game is more than just a number on a paper!

If we can play Rahat in ODIs let's not complain about Aslam's domestic average.

Where does one find a breakdown of FC stats for Pakistani players?

Curious if Aslam has at least been improving in domestics over time?

Sami Aslam can make this position his own - just needs to show he is a quick learner.

It took England just 2 innings to work him out, the challenge will be how sami responds to the full ball angling in.

Lol.......are you serious??

He is 20 years old. He played two magnificent innings in his first overseas test. More importantly - he LOOKED a proper player and displayed the composure of an international opening batsman.

He received a good ball in this match and your assessment is that England have worked him out????? Give him a break man. Judge him after 20 tests. The signs are promising.

He is 20 years old. He played two magnificent innings in his first overseas test. More importantly - he LOOKED a proper player and displayed the composure of an international opening batsman.

He received a good ball in this match and your assessment is that England have worked him out????? Give him a break man. Judge him after 20 tests. The signs are promising.

Absolutely correct - hope Pakistan selectors are reading above also

We have seen these false dawns with so many openers over the years with the likes of Tufeeq, Farhat etc that my instinct tells me that he will join the long cast of unfulfilled.

Lovely to see him part of a winning squad and hope he scores the winning runs

Doubt it. He has done well, sure. BUT no one knows him yet. Give it 6 months to a year before you form long-term conclusions.

Nasir Jamshed, Shan Masood, Khurram Manzoor, Shehzad, etc. Plenty of similar rubble before him.

I think we have found our openers!!! Imagine going into our next series and not worrying about the opening positions :D

He's probably the best opener in the country.

Hoping for him to score a truck load of runs in UAE against West-Indies with a few centuries.

Asad Shafiq and Azhar Ali?

He looks very solid.
Btw, did he consult with his partner before opting for a review.

Agree with everything. Except that he is not twenty. If he is twenty then iftikhar is 25

Doesn't really matter what age is he when selected for the national team buty concern is do Pakistan cheat the other nations by playing overage players at under19 level?

Asad Shafiq and Azhar Ali?

Their F/C averages are 2-3 points lower than their test averages. If you extrapolated this to Sami's average he should go no higher than 38. If you can tolerate this average than yes Sami is your man.

The only thing working in Sami's favor is the age factor. He still needs to improve and get his average close to 40 minimum.

Their F/C averages are 2-3 points lower than their test averages. If you extrapolated this to Sami's average he should go no higher than 38. If you can tolerate this average than yes Sami is your man.

The only thing working in Sami's favor is the age factor. He still needs to improve and get his average close to 40 minimum.

You clearly don't know what Azhar and Asad average was in FC when they started their international career. FC average on cricinfo also adds the international records so their FC average be even lower if international matches are removed.

Let's compare apples to apples. Here is a list of batsmen who have opened for Pakistan since 2000 sorted based on their batting average.

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...al1=span;team=7;template=results;type=batting

How many of them were able to maintain an average greater than their F/C average? Azhar has an average of 32 as an opener!

I am not saying Sami cannot succeed at the international level. All I am saying is that the odds are stacked against him unless he shows he can score runs in F/C cricket.

Sami will be fine. He judges his off stump well and has the temperament and hunger for runs. One vulnerability he does have is the short ball. To rectify that, he needs to reduce the crouch or shorten the period where he crouches.

Then Inzamam should select Fawad ASAP, the 57 averaging batsman in domestic, should average around the same number in tests too.

Let's compare apples to apples. Here is a list of batsmen who have opened for Pakistan since 2000 sorted based on their batting average.

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...al1=span;team=7;template=results;type=batting

How many of them were able to maintain an average greater than their F/C average? Azhar has an average of 32 as an opener!

I am not saying Sami cannot succeed at the international level. All I am saying is that the odds are stacked against him unless he shows he can score runs in F/C cricket.

I'm a big fan of Sami and don't disagree. But. We can all agree I think that at this point there is no sense in not giving him a run, no?

Then Inzamam should select Fawad ASAP, the 57 averaging batsman in domestic, should average around the same number in tests too.

Sure. He deserves a prolonged run at 5-6 based on his domestic stats in the test team. A brilliant fielder and a part time bowler. Selectors should rely on more evidenced-based decision making process to select players in Pakistan. This will send a positive message to other players that if they performed at F/C level, they will get selected.

I'm a big fan of Sami and don't disagree. But. We can all agree I think that at this point there is no sense in not giving him a run, no?

Sure he is only 20 and time is on his side. He can only improve and demonstrate that by upping his F/C average. Having a good technique is pointless if you cannot translate that into scoring buckets of runs on the domestic scene.

More than his batting, the next series will be an indication of how opportunist he is. No way Misbah can drop him for MoHa now & there are Tests against WI. These are the opportunities that has made MoHa - get couple of hundreds & he is safe till AUS tour.

MoHa is an opener with an average of 17 in 25+ innings outside Asia; this kid can do much better than that, only needs to do enough in Asia to keep MoHa out for next 3 years. I think, by 2020, even Hafeez would throw the towel.

More than his batting, the next series will be an indication of how opportunist he is. No way Misbah can drop him for MoHa now & there are Tests against WI. These are the opportunities that has made MoHa - get couple of hundreds & he is safe till AUS tour.

MoHa is an opener with an average of 17 in 25+ innings outside Asia; this kid can do much better than that, only needs to do enough in Asia to keep MoHa out for next 3 years. I think, by 2020, even Hafeez would throw the towel.

How probable is it for Hafeez to return as an all-rounder after he clears his bowling test? He can then bat at the vacant #3 position just like ODIs.

No chance - if it's a fair call. I had a post about 2 years back on detailed analysis of MoHa's action & how it helps him as a bowler. My hunch is, with revised action, he won't be a better bowler than Asad or Iftekhar. Besides, this guy has enjoyed his time as Test opener with his bowling merit - it's unfair for young incumbents now to accommodate him at 6, because he sucks as opener. His same role can be better played by Haris, who is potentially far better batsman & a devent SLAO spinner; or Babar, who can bowl offie.

MoHa played his cards wrong here - should have passed the bowling test much earlier, should have dropped down to 6 few years back. May be he didn't expect the turn around in PCB & PAK team affairs - otherwise, he was a sure shot till 2019, even as a batsman only. He is considered as allrounder, but PAK did take him to WC as pure batsman, that too opener against 2 balls; which indicates he was highly rated. Arthur's appointment was a disaster for him, who'll make sure that MoHa qualifies as a batsman only with bowling being bonus; therefore I don't think No. 6 is a viable corridor for him.

No chance - if it's a fair call. I had a post about 2 years back on detailed analysis of MoHa's action & how it helps him as a bowler. My hunch is, with revised action, he won't be a better bowler than Asad or Iftekhar. Besides, this guy has enjoyed his time as Test opener with his bowling merit - it's unfair for young incumbents now to accommodate him at 6, because he sucks as opener. His same role can be better played by Haris, who is potentially far better batsman & a devent SLAO spinner; or Babar, who can bowl offie.

MoHa played his cards wrong here - should have passed the bowling test much earlier, should have dropped down to 6 few years back. May be he didn't expect the turn around in PCB & PAK team affairs - otherwise, he was a sure shot till 2019, even as a batsman only. He is considered as allrounder, but PAK did take him to WC as pure batsman, that too opener against 2 balls; which indicates he was highly rated. Arthur's appointment was a disaster for him, who'll make sure that MoHa qualifies as a batsman only with bowling being bonus; therefore I don't think No. 6 is a viable corridor for him.

Yes Hafeez is done for now. But if Sami doesn't perform Shehzad can make a come back. He has a decent average in tests and the selectors may be willing to overlook his transgressions if the experiment with Sami is a failure.

No thanks shehzad can only dream of playing innings like sami in England. He should stick to talking selfie shouldn't have anything to do with cricket.

Why do you expect sami being a part of an experiment as well as why do you expect him to fail in the first place?
Only to accommodate shehzad!!!
Some people can never be satisfied!

Why do you expect that sami being played as an opener is a part of an experiment as well as why do you expect him to fail in the first place?
Only to accommodate shehzad!!!
Some people can never be satisfied!

Hi new to the forum. I agree extremely encouraging Sami Aslams performance but I feel the other opening spot is a big concern. I don't think Ali is the answer. He is Pakistans solid no three and I don't think he should be moved. Are there any outstanding candidates for opener spot in Pakistan?
Sami Aslam has to guard against complacency

England will be gunning for him tomorrow.

Hi new to the forum. I agree extremely encouraging Sami Aslams performance but I feel the other opening spot is a big concern. I don't think Ali is the answer. He is Pakistans solid no three and I don't think he should be moved. Are there any outstanding candidates for opener spot in Pakistan?

Not really. The likes of Jaahid Ali are in contention but are unlikely to be picked straight away. Some other like Naeemuddin are mentioned by people but they don't seem to be on the selectors' lists.

Misbah also mentioned that Shafiq is long-term #3 so it's likely that Azhar will open.

Sami Aslam batting now, can he reach a maiden Test century ?

Well he might have solve the conundrum, but he is going to bore us all to death. My eyes go watery when I watch him bat.

He has done very well so far. Him and Babar should be persisted even if they fail initially.

Well he might have solve the conundrum, but he is going to bore us all to death. My eyes go watery when I watch him bat.

Maybe you should watch a Shahrukh Khan movie instead as cricket doesnt work like that.

You response was more predictable than Pakistan losing this Test after batting first on a greentop, but I know how cricket works, and it does not work the way Sami Aslam is playing at the moment.

Sami Aslam clearly has the ability to succeed at Test level, but he needs to find a way to keep scoring runs. That of course does not mean that he should bat like Afridi, but you will always, always fail with the approach that he is adopting these days.

He should go back to how he played in England. That is the blueprint for success as a Test opener.

When you occupy the crease with no intention of scoring runs, eventually one ball will have your name on it and that is how cricket works, and that is why majority of all the great batsmen past and present are fluent batsmen without being reckless, because they find the perfect balance between scoring runs and occupying the crease.

Not everyone has a defense like Gavaskar or Boycott who can occupy the crease all day without scoring runs.

He has done very well so far. Him and Babar should be persisted even if they fail initially.

Of course, but he needs to revise his approach. Perhaps not even revise, he needs to tweak it a bit.

What he is doing now is a recipe for disaster.

Of course, but he needs to revise his approach. Perhaps not even revise, he needs to tweak it a bit.

I would like Shehzad to be given another chance.

I know he is too slow and extremely boring to watch. I wonder if it has anything to do with Azhar as he suffers from the same problem.

I am sure being a senior partner and future captain Azhar must have a big influence on Sami.

Getting stuck after weathering the storm. No alarm bells yet for me. Most of our outstanding talent is mentally too weak to do even that. I think he will get better.

I would like Shehzad to be given another chance.

Shehzad is done with Limited Overs cricket but he should be the backup Test opener if Sharjeel flops. He is much better than Masood.

Azhar and Sami is the way forward for now, but this pair is too lethargic for UAE Tests.