"Sharjeel Khan did what he had committed to do to the bookmakers" : Najam Sethi

He was always a mediocre player who had one good series (vs. Australia) in his career so far.

I would say good riddance - his lack of fitness showed he had a lazy, lackadaisal attitude and hence why he probably fixed.

Good bye and don't let the door hit you on your way out - we have other talented openers waiting to grab their chance.

Mind throwing in some names of the "talented" openers? Fakhar has played one decent inning in PSL up till now while no one else has even come close to him.

I don't mind having Kami but only till the Champions Trophy. So we'll still need another openers soon.

Wrestling is scripted/fixed entirely much like movies and TV Shows etc :yk or did you think it was real lol [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION] what do we have here :)))

You know thats exactly my point. Wrestling is fake yet people watch it cause its entertaining. Quitting cricket cause some dude faked in a match seems premature to me when the game is inline with entertainment in the end of the day. Unless cricket is a war to you. Thats a totally different story.

Not sure if everyone has grasped that anyone is capable of fixing, playing for Pakistan is an honour and privilege but unfortunately this has been abused so why not accept that and face that reality?

Fixing has been commonly done in cricket for years. There have been far better players caught in fixing than Sharjeel. So why quit watching cricket when you have seen it done before?

Moving on can involve wasting time on things other then cricket

Thats correct. But you knew exactly in what context I ment it in. If you can't watch entertainment because someone fixed in it. It just means you were expecting something completely different from that entertainment.

Why they let this crime to be committed? Had they caught him with bookies and gave final warning with hefty fine Sharjeel could be saved. It's like let a murderer to commit murder and then give him death sentence for that offence.

PCB should have taken all the precautions and warned these suspects not to commit crime.

Now what will happen to these bookies. I guess nothing and they will continue crorrupt and destroy our future players. Unless rules are made to punish them severely these incidents will happen regularly.

Nasir Jamshed was serial offender like Asif and should be punished before. I.e BPL incident, exam cheat etc

At the end it's not a great loss. Sharjeel was a hit and miss player (even his timing was so good). As a team we are already down the hill (rank 8). So it's does not really matter anymore. Team selection is messed up, deserving players do not get selected, certified TTF and oldies keep getting selected and no real hope for future.

Why they let this crime to be committed? Had they caught him with bookies and gave final warning with hefty fine Sharjeel could be saved. It's like let a murderer to commit murder and then give him death sentence for that offence.

PCB should have taken all the precautions and warned these suspects not to commit crime.

Now what will happen to these bookies. I guess nothing and they will continue crorrupt and destroy our future players. Unless rules are made to punish them severely these incidents will happen regularly.

Nasir Jamshed was serial offender like Asif and should be punished before. I.e BPL incident, exam cheat etc

At the end it's not a great loss. Sharjeel was a hit and miss player (even his timing was so good). As a team we are already down the hill (rank 8). So it's does not really matter anymore. Team selection is messed up, deserving players do not get selected, certified TTF and oldies keep getting selected and no real hope for future.

If a 5 year ban and jail sentence is not enough of a deterrent to prevent future fixers - what makes you think a hefty ban will stop such a thing?

Most likely - Sharjeel would have still continued to fix and meet with bookies for such easy cash.

I say good riddance and a life ban will be well deserved - even though a life ban won't stop future fixers from committing crimes, atleast it will send a strong message and players who are borderline in terms of morality may be swayed to side with the law.

Not fair!!! These two guys especially big boy deserve Jail time!!!

Excuse me if it's already been asked but why the hell aren't these losers going to prison?

Sharjeel will be life banned most likely.

The coming months and years are going to be annoying. PPers will always claim 'what could have been if Sharjeel was still playing'. 'Our team could have been Top 3 with Sharjeel'

Smh.

If this is true, I hope he doesn't have the nerve to apologize to the public saying that he made a mistake, and how everybody makes mistakes and blah, blah, blah ......

After Sethi's 's own admission that he knew what was going on and he let it happen he should be jailed before anyone else. This man is a disgrace how the heck can a chairman do this? Absolutely shameful conduct because of this man we got into this humiliating mess that could have been avoided.

If you would of bothered to read even one article you would of got your answer, it's been said numerous times why PCB waited until after Islamabad's first game.

Not sure I understand your logic. The "humiliating mess" could only have been avoided if Sharjeel did not fix. Are you suggesting that Sharjeel should not have been exposed as a fixer?

Sharjeel was on his way to be a Pakistani Sehwag if groomed properly. AT the very least, he would have been a regular in all the T20 leagues and very good LOI batsman. If true, he will kick himself for the rest of his life.

It actually makes perfect sense. If they confronted Sharjeel before the match, he would have probably denied that he was going to do the act. They caught him red handed. Sethi and the PCB have done a great job here. It speaks volumes that half the country is still trying to find a way to save these players. This shortcut mentality has ruined our cricket, and to an extent our country.

How dumb can somebody get man. Just think about it. This guy was a sure starter in 2 out of the 3 formats and in tests was beginning to getting chances. Add all the match fees he earned from there. Now take into account the PSL contract that he would have received year after year. Plus 70,000 pound deal he had with Leicester for this summer. There was even talk of BBL sides taking interest in them. Then there is the BPL and the CPL.

This guy would have earned ALOT more over the course of 2017-2018 than what was offered for those two no-balls.

This is some next level of stupidity.

This is the problem with the world nowadays, especially in Pakistan. Nobody wants to work hard anymore, everyone is looking for shortcuts. So much talent, all wasted now.

I am sure he will get away with 2 -5 years of ban. Will again start playing for Pakistan in the age of 33. It will do all the drama that please forgive me i will never do that again & so on & will get selected.

These types of players whether young or old should be banned for life period. All the young players comes from different age groups where they thought about skills, temperament & all. It is ridiculous to say that one gets away because he was young & other gets life ban because he is mature player.

What an idiot. Anyways, he wasn't as good as people made him out to be. Too inconsistent and didn't look fit. It's a bigger loss for him than it is for us.

The goal was to accumulate overwhelming evidence so Sharjeel couldn't wiggle his way out.

Nothing wrong with what Sethi did nor is he the one who humiliated the nation. Sharjeel is responsible for the position he's in and deserves the eventual life ban coming his way.

Far too often PCB chairmen have slid these things under the rug (i.e. Zaka Ashraf with Nasir Jamshed) and look where that's got them.

I am sure he will get away with 2 -5 years of ban. Will again start playing for Pakistan in the age of 33. It will do all the drama that please forgive me i will never do that again & so on & will get selected.

These types of players whether young or old should be banned for life period. All the young players comes from different age groups where they thought about skills, temperament & all. It is ridiculous to say that one gets away because he was young & other gets life ban because he is mature player.

I am pretty sure the PCB will be ruthless this time. He will get a life ban. At best, he may be allowed to play domestic cricket after 4-5 years, if he helps expose other guilty players and the bookie syndicate.

I thought the same but ICC were on it along with PCB so its cool.

I am pretty sure the PCB will be ruthless this time. He will get a life ban. At best, he may be allowed to play domestic cricket after 4-5 years, if he helps expose other guilty players and the bookie syndicate.

hope it happens, Players should be told if they found guilty no matter what you can not serve your country in the field & as administrator as well.

How dumb can somebody get man. Just think about it. This guy was a sure starter in 2 out of the 3 formats and in tests was beginning to getting chances. Add all the match fees he earned from there. Now take into account the PSL contract that he would have received year after year. Plus 70,000 pound deal he had with Leicester for this summer. There was even talk of BBL sides taking interest in them. Then there is the BPL and the CPL.

This guy would have earned ALOT more over the course of 2017-2018 than what was offered for those two no-balls.

Bhai u have to understand one thing. He was not a regular and star player when he was into fixing and he got trapped. Now he is famous and there is no way out for him From fixing as the bookies can blackmail him into submission.

Even hansie cronje said the same thing. Once u r in there is no way out

If a 5 year ban and jail sentence is not enough of a deterrent to prevent future fixers - what makes you think a hefty ban will stop such a thing?

Most likely - Sharjeel would have still continued to fix and meet with bookies for such easy cash.

5 year ban and jail would have been a deterrent if it had been PCB and Pakistan who did that respectively. What Pak players saw was that ICC would ban them if they get caught in other countries but in Pakistan they are safe as PCB did nothing to the trio and treated Amir like a super star and allowed him back directly to the team. Why would that be any deterrent for players planning to fix local leagues?

None of the PCB action in the past would be deterrent to any fixer. What PCB does now might be for the future. When players know their own board will not support them (unlike Amir's case where PCB was begging for a reduced ban) then they would be scared. I would say PCB has been very professional about the whole thing this time

After so many years,we found a perfect LOI Opener and he is gone due to match fixing.What a shame!!!
Looks like we will never get good openers again.

Bhai jaan there is a whole anti-corruption unit sniffing these perpertrators out what are you talking about? Sethi was just informed of the on-goings.. he said in an interview last night this investigation is being led by an Ex-ISI Chief who is now heading the anti-corruption unit... and a former colonel is also involved in this..

You think Sethi is the only big fish in this? There is alot of hardwork being done to keep the brand of PSL honest, and not just from the PCB, but from the government and intelligence.. these guys were sniffed off tipped off, and they let it happen so that these guys can be caught red-handed

He would have involved with these thugs when he was not big. Once connected mafia would never let you go even if u are earning more than what they offer, could have been threatened or blackmailed :facepalm:

Our story is different, our players have been caught in spot-fixing before, which led to the whole brand of Pakistan cricket to be questioned back in 2010, some even called for a ban to Pakistan cricket..

Now Sharjeel's loss is just a parking ticket for what damage he could've done to Pakistan in the long run

Bhai u have to understand one thing. He was not a regular and star player when he was into fixing and he got trapped. Now he is famous and there is no way out for him From fixing as the bookies can blackmail him into submission.

Even hansie cronje said the same thing. Once u r in there is no way out
Exactly. Pcb needs to monitor domestic matches too so that young players are not trapped by these devils.

In hindsight, had he told the PCB that he used to fix in the past and now cannot get out of this mess without their help, he 'might' have managed to avoid a life-ban. Then again, hindsight is a luxury. He probably thought that if he stops fixing now, he won't get caught. Anyhow, good riddance.

Either that, or he could have told the PCB that now he is being latched onto by fixers without explicitly alluding to having fixed in the past, and he needs their help to shake them off.

That might have worked as well.

If I'm getting this correct Sharjeel thought he had no hope of an international career during his days in domestic cricket and eventually succumbed to the evil for a quick buck eventually to a no point of return.

Makes me wonder what excuse a 17 year old Aamir had....

Slog's post could be one of the possible reasons because it absolutely makes no sense now.

Someone told me and it makes some sense is that he was fixings rom before his recall to the national team after a surprisingly good showing last PSL. At that point he prolly didn't think he'd be making a return and in such a successful way so fixing seemed good and easy money. But then he wS in their trap already by the time he made a return to national colours. And while he didn't want to fix no more in internationals he didn't have a way out. And when he first started to refuse fixing in games the mafia got on his back and threatened with consequence he came out with that panicked video few months ago. So basically fixing was happening when he wasn't in the team but he got embroiled in it and couldn't get out later even when he wanted to

Sharjeel is a big loss for pakistan cricket especially ODI cricket , he was pakistans biggest hope to play modern cricket. Anyway that chapter is closed now and we will be stuck with ikes of shehzads and kami. So be it.

If anything, this should discourage the future generation from playing dot balls. :misbah2

:))):))) cracked me up. Good that he has been caught and now the appropriate punishment should be handed out. Shame!! he was an enterprising player but you will soon find someone else to replace him and hopefully do better.

If I'm getting this correct Sharjeel thought he had no hope of an international career during his days in domestic cricket and eventually succumbed to the evil for a quick buck eventually to a no point of return.

Absolutely. He thought he had no hope of making it big in international cricket. So he got into fixing for extra cash and now as he became famous he has no way out but surrender to bookies because his fall from grace would be dramatic if he didn't follow their orders

Really surprises me the lack of pride these guys have wearing the green shirt and how easily they will tumble for some quick bucks. That is the reason none of our players are excelling at the sport. None of them are honest and loyal to their bread and butter. You look at the no of players who hv had promising starts and gone down hill. Fact is these Pakistani players are not willing to put in the extra effort and are looking for short cuts which is wat leads them to this. I have come to the conclusion we need hardworking and passionate cricketers. Cricketers who respect the green shirt.

Sharjeel is a big loss for pakistan cricket especially ODI cricket , he was pakistans biggest hope to play modern cricket. Anyway that chapter is closed now and we will be stuck with ikes of shehzads and kami. So be it.

Does it really matter anymore? We are rank 8 and without Sharjeel we will slide another 2 steps. Considering our selectors keep giving chances to TTFs and oldies plus captain' friend our team has no future.

I think ICC caught them and informed PCB about it.

Either that, or he could have told the PCB that now he is being latched onto by fixers without explicitly alluding to having fixed in the past, and he needs their help to shake them off.

That might have worked as well.

No that couldn't have worked because tge bookies would have had some sort of evidence against sharjeel which they would have made public.

Double edged sword isn't it?

Surely revealing that you are a bookie who pays money to get games rigged is going to get you in trouble with the law as well?

Plus blackmail is illegal.

Sharjeel was terrible against spin, average with his off side so he was pretty much a typical leg side hack who would find it difficult to score runs when a man was put on the midwicket. People are really going over the top in their reactions. Sharjeel would have been found out sooner than later. Its good he is done early in his career and we don't have to waste time.

Surely revealing that you are a bookie who pays money to get games rigged is going to get you in trouble with the law as well?

You don't need to reveal that you are a bookie. Just pass on the evidence through "trusted" sources.

U can leak information anonymously and there is no need to reveal u r selves to be a bookie

These are crooks we are talking about. Surely Any one who chooses to be a bookie is clever enough to provide evidence without revealing himself.

I assumed from evidence, the bookies probably videotaped a meeting between Sharjeel and the bookie and either have the bookie's face blurred out, or have filmed it from a side where only Sharjeel's face is shown.

Though kind of feel like that the bookies probably didn't have a video, they just made the threat. Difficult to video without player knowing. Bookies don't want to release anything can potentially be traced back to them, however small that chance is. And the threat of saying you have a video is probably enough. Not even sure the bookies would release the video if they had it, it'd bring more attention to themselves and they don't want people they recruit for fixing to be put off fixing.

Sharjeel probably weighed up the chances of there being a video and being caught fixing. And probably decided the latter had less risk.

Why cant pappu bachas average 50 at a strike rate of 130?

I assumed from evidence, the bookies probably videotaped a meeting between Sharjeel and the bookie and either have the bookie's face blurred out, or have filmed it from a side where only Sharjeel's face is shown.

Though kind of feel like that the bookies probably didn't have a video, they just made the threat. Difficult to video without player knowing. Bookies don't want to release anything can potentially be traced back to them, however small that chance is. And the threat of saying you have a video is probably enough. Not even sure the bookies would release the video if they had it, it'd bring more attention to themselves and they don't want people they recruit for fixing to be put off fixing.

Sharjeel probably weighed up the chances of there being a video and being caught fixing. And probably decided the latter had less risk.

Valid points raised. Bookies dont want to put off future fixing prospects. And there doesn't have to be a video. They could just lie to scare a player and sharjeel was scared mosdef.

In short if you get involved with them even once for a petty crime, you are doomed.

Thought it might have been something like not reporting an approach but this is just inexcusable. Once you get seriously involved with these people they already have one over on you. There's no coming back from it.

I think there should be zero tolerance policy and both these players should be banned for life.

Sharjeel should write a book now about his short lived adventures in the lime lite, call it something like the - The Truffle Shuffle Hustle :sharjeel

btw, can we please remove him from the PSL wallpaper now. thx

<<<-------

You know thats exactly my point. Wrestling is fake yet people watch it cause its entertaining. Quitting cricket cause some dude faked in a match seems premature to me when the game is inline with entertainment in the end of the day. Unless cricket is a war to you. Thats a totally different story.

Fixing has been commonly done in cricket for years. There have been far better players caught in fixing than Sharjeel. So why quit watching cricket when you have seen it done before?

Thats correct. But you knew exactly in what context I ment it in. If you can't watch entertainment because someone fixed in it. It just means you were expecting something completely different from that entertainment.

Pro-wrestling, TV Shows and movies are supposed to be scripted/fixed, cricket isn't! although it seems you don't share that view given that it's something you openly expect and are totally okay with

Pakistan cricket is so uninspiring and insipid - Sharjeel news is hardly front page.

Ironic given he was one of the few who didn't play that brand.

You need the oldies to go, the younger one's given a free rein and a brave, imaginative captain. Otherwise Sharjeel's will come and go.

Looking at Pcb's confidence Sharjeel seems to be gone for good. Its time to begin from Scratch again I guess the closest player who can replace him has to be Fakhar Zaman. I hope PSL teams realize that we have a vacant opener slot and start giving the youngsters some opportunity up front.

Sharjeel should write a book now about his short lived adventures in the lime lite, call it something like the - The Truffle Shuffle Hustle :sharjeel

btw, can we please remove him from the PSL wallpaper now. thx

<<<-------

Refresh your cache. CTRL + F5.

Played just 2 dot balls. Perhaps the balls were good that he was forced to defend.

Wrestling doesn't pretend to be real. You have people who have apparently risen from the dead, people who eat worms for breakfast, red-burnt monsters and leprechauns fighting out for a belt that is marketed to be more valuable than anything else on the world. It's pretty much all over it that its not a wrestling show, its a tv show ABOUT wrestlers.

On the other hand, when you get hit with something fishy happening in a sport that is supposed to be real moment to moment, it kind of thrashes your belief in it. It diminishes your motivation to watch it because you just don't feel that the only thing standing between the team you cheer for and victory is playing the sport itself.

From the report it seems this was a sting operation ala NOTW 2010.

So did Sharjeel and Khalid actually fix for real bookies for money or were they caught in a sting operation like the trio?

I am thinking the same. But I think, going by local media and listening to dozen or so local journalist, more ikely the booking syndicate was infiltrated by ICC ACU. And the group that met Sharjeel and Khalid may actually have one undercover official of ICC ACU. But that's just conjecture on my part, based on listening to a lot sports journalist.

I might be a bit naive here...
But just imagine an ordinary bloke in Pakistan, comes home from hard days work, possibly on 8 to 10k a month, a family man..
Switches telly on to see the team, the players, he watches have so badly betrayed him.
I wonder what he thinks when someone says to him what they earn in wages will take you a life time to earn.
....and why are they in the nick? ...cos they wanted more....
Disgrace.
As someone famously said, "sharm tujay phir bhi nahi aati"

I don't think is that only, its more like wild wild west culture in domestic, most players are uneducated, culturally fixing is not consider anything bad, with the advent of spot fixing it has gone worse, specially its consider less harmful and impactful, you can be man of the match and still spot fix certain things... If you have bad habits or company in domestic days, hard to marshall them at national level... Sort of like chucking issue, Asians did not care much about it, until hit by loss of high profile players, now they enforce at domestic level...

Same goes for fixing culture, they make petty money at domestic level, but damage is done as far as habits and company is concerned... They are easy to blackmail later in life...

This is not an easy problem to solve, domestic has to be managed and run lot more professionally, players need to be educated...Historically Pakistan players does not come from schools, colleges like USA, but guys who rarely go to school or leave it at early age, they develop bad habits and company, again very early...

Back in 80s/90s, I have played cricket in Pakistan (Pindi/ISU), I am talking about Capital city, one of the most city developed in the country... Guys who were really good at Cricket(Tier 1 talent, great hand eye co-oridination, arm speed etc), were really raw in development as a person, education as well, some of those could and were never made to the national level...I can imagine those problems have gone worse over period of time...

These tamasha leagues are a curse. It will only get worse.

He should have come out with the details of the blackmail last year. Instead of facing a life ban now, he would have copped a couple of years ban.

i think [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] hit the nail on the head; the initial fixing was done before his international comeback (maybe he didnt think he'd ever make it this far) and now they had collateral to make him do anything they wanted and they could blackmail him if he refused(now that video 6 months back makes complete sense).

the problem here is that the fixing is happening at grass root levels (wasnt ijaz ahmed banned for fixing and now is running some youth academy for pcb) and its there that the precedent must be set. once they hit stardom, bookies will always blackmail them to continue fixing.

just rewatched sharjeels brief innings in first match:
first over was from junaid and dwayne smith faced: it went 4 dot 4 1 1 4

2nd over was from hasan ali. i think this is the over where he had to play 2 dot balls: sharjeel faces and cuts first ball to fielder but looked like he went hard at the ball (was looking to score). 2nd ball is very shady, its a fuller ball that is defended to mid off and next ball he goes for a leg side hoick and is adjudged LBW.

for the experts here, watch the 2nd over again and give your feedback. they were chasing 190+ so surely SK had a license to go for the kill from ball 1. does anybody else see the shadiness??

If, and I mean IF, Sethi is correct here [he really has a lot do get peoples trust] than there's noway Sharjeel can''t get banned. He needs to be shown door, along with those involved!

http://www.wisdenindia.com/cricket-news/sharjeel-latif-to-appear-before-anti-corruption-unit/241481

“Sharjeel and Latif have arrived at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore in the morning and were presented with the evidences, some of them startling which left the duo perplexed,” sources told Wisden India.

“The anti-corruption unit had around eight sleuths during the Pakistan Super League, and they were following Sharjeel and Latif for the last few months. Until they had solid evidence against the two players, they did not catch them. Now, they cannot deny their involvement,” said the sources.

Latif offered to turn approver, but since the evidence against the duo is solid, the offer was refused.

Last bit makes it seems like they are all but finished.

Trial by media will be something that might crop up in their defence. Whole situation has been leaked and drip fed to the press.

thats a shame . now he will have to live whole of his life with this tag. deserves it !
how on earth did he even think of doing it

Well 2 years is fair as the 2010 trio only got 5 years for international cricket.

After all that worked out well didn't it?

I dont know what is exact punishment of offence he committed if it is 2 years than 2 years is fine.

Also about your logic please come back when people stop killing others after one is hanged as example.

We had reports of spot fixing, but gave players 'benefit of the doubt': Sethi

Pakistan Super League (PSL) Chairman Najam Sethi on Wednesday said there were reports regarding possible spot-fixing in the league even before the tournament began, but said players were allowed to continue playing as authorities gave them the "benefit of the doubt".

He also said the PSL will offer franchisees the option to draft new players for the March 5 final in Lahore in case international stars opt out of playing in Pakistan.

Answering a question during Geo TV's show 'Aaj Shahzeb Khanzada Kay Saath' about the arrest of two persons in the UK in connection with the spot-fixing probe, Sethi said, "We have been exchanging the information that we have with the ICC and the action has been taken on the same basis."

He said several members of PCB's Anti-Corruption Unit are former Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) officers who acted "very responsibly" during the investigation. He said some players also cooperated by revealing what kind of offer was made.

Sethi said Sharjeel Khan and Khalid Latif, the two Islamabad United players suspended during the fixing probe, "accept what they have done" and are seeking forgiveness. He said a charge-sheet would be issued in two days which would contain all the details.

When asked about PCB's reaction upon finding out that players were in touch with bookies, Sethi said it was extremely shocking when a player informed them that this kind of thing was taking place.

"We were still deciding on what action to take when we got another report that this [spot fixing] was going to be carried out in the first match [of PSL]."

We then deliberated whether to stop the activity or let it take place for it to be proven a crime, he said.

"Because it was a matter of spot-fixing and not match fixing, it wasn't right to catch someone without hearing someone out or someone actually committing the crime. Hence it was jointly decided to give [the players] benefit of the doubt."

When the players did what had been suspected, "we decided to call them and inform them that this law applies to you and you are being suspended".

The PSL chairman said they had multiple pieces of evidence to implicate the players.

“We have these players' phones in which there is more information who they were in touch with, what they talked about.”

He said if the PCB hadn't acted promptly, the crime would have taken a very "dangerous direction" in the league.

"PCB has not crushed anything with force before this. But this is changing now... we will not tolerate any type of corruption".

Fresh player draft on Feb 22

PSL will give franchisees the option to draft new players in case contracted international stars opt out of the March 5 final at Lahore due to security reasons, Sethi also said.

“On Feb 22, we will do a new draft... we will put a formula in front of all the franchises and foreign players to let us know who will play the final in Lahore and who will not come.”

International stars, including West Indies batsman Chris Gayle, Shane Watson of Australia and England's Twenty20 captain Eoin Morgan, are among 30 foreign players contracted to five teams in the PSL Twenty20 tournament, which is being staged mostly in the United Arab Emirates.

The PCB had promised to provide top-level security to the PSL finalists at Gaddafi Stadium. But a bomber targeting police negotiating with protesting pharmacists on Monday killed 13 people in Lahore, casting fresh doubt over whether foreign cricketers will risk a return to playing in Pakistan.

Sethi said he had been in contact with several foreign players who indicated they would be willing to play the final in Lahore.

“We are in touch with other foreign players so that we could replace those (contracted international) players who are not willing to play in Lahore.”

A report last month by the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA) warned foreign players from traveling to Pakistan for matches.

Pakistan has not hosted any major test playing countries since 2009 when terrorists attacked a bus and police convoy taking the Sri Lanka national team to a test match at Lahore.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1314946/we...g-but-gave-players-benefit-of-the-doubt-sethi

You need to look at the bigger picture here. Do you really think this started now, during the ongoing PSL? I really don't think Sharjeel is that "stupid" that he could get into this now when the whole world is talking about fixing in cricket. This is something which must have started years ago for Sharjeel. He probably tried to get out of this mess a while ago during that video he made, but probably realised his family etc were threatned and continued fixing.

These are only assumptions but I strongly feel he has been in this mess for quite a while now. Let's hope he and his family stay safe even if his career is over. They need protection.

"We had reports of spot fixing, but gave players 'benefit of the doubt': Sethi"

What the heck ? does that even make any sense? Why will you give benefit of doubt after getting reports? Note, he did not say a report but reports which means there were many cases. It's fixing not some small domestic matter that can be ignored. A professional chairman would have taken action right after getting whiff of misconduct. Sethi contradicts himself again and again really shady guy.

One fixer for another fixer...

This paves the way for the return of Salman Butt (in all formats of the game!)