Sri Lanka v Pakistan| 2nd Test - Day 3 | Colombo | 14/07/09

On_the_up

A very crucial day in the series coming up. Pakistan did remarkably well yesterday, a complete reversal of the inept effort of the opening day. Pak are in a slightly better position going into today than Sri Lanka seeing as SL have to bat last. Insha Allah this time round there wont be any collapses and Pak can rack up a lead of 270 plus.

Time to stand up guys.

:yk :fawad :moyo :misbah :malik :akmal

somebody predicted at the start of pakistan ining that the openers should have a partnership of 70 but they had partnership of 85!!! whoever you are, you must today perdict that pakistan make 500, srilanka callapses and we win the next 20/20 world cup.

Fawad & YK have added 93 runs for 2nd wicket. The record against SL for 2md wicket is 151 runs between Majid Khan and Mohsin Khan at Lahore in 1981-82. Imran took 14 wickets in the same match.

JeeraBlade said:
Fawad & YK have added 93 runs for 2nd wicket. The record against SL for 2md wicket is 151 runs between Majid Khan and Mohsin Khan at Lahore in 1981-82. Imran took 14 wickets in the same match.

So they need to score 58 more to get the new record partnership against SL.

me thinks they will do it.

It'll all depend on the two Y's from our side now. The openers and others (bowlers, etc.) have done their bit, and time for seniors to stand up and be counted.

if we lose YK early, we are in huge trouble...Captaan sahab HAS to stay at the wicket tomorrow

AhmedZulfiqar said:
if we lose YK early, we are in huge trouble...Captaan sahab HAS to stay at the wicket tomorrow

You mean today, right?

gollumbird said:
It'll all depend on the two Y's from our side now. The openers and others (bowlers, etc.) have done their bit, and time for seniors to stand up and be counted.

It depends on every single of them, why just point out the 2 Y's of the side?

Can you honestly see apart from the two of them last a long time in this pressure cooker test match. Be honest!

gollumbird said:
Can you honestly see apart from the two of them last a long time in this pressure cooker test match. Be honest!
So why we have the so called senior batsmen Misbah and Malik in the side?If only 2 Y's have to perform every time in a pressure situation.

My point is everyone of them has to perform today we should not signal at particular players.

AhmedZulfiqar said:
no tomorrow

We dont have a rest day in tests, when I checked last time and the match is 3 hours from now.

By the way where you from?

We dont have a rest day in tests, when I checked last time and the match is 3 hours from now.

By the way where you from?

Pakistan

So why we have the so called senior batsmen Misbah and Malik in the side?If only 2 Y's have to perform every time in a pressure situation.

My point is everyone of them has to perform today we should not signal at particular players.

Of course the expectation are higher from MoYo and YK. None of the others have been listed as #1 and #2 in the ICC Test Batsman Rankings!

meri side pe Pakistan aglay haftay khel raha hai

Meri wali side key pakistan mein tu match aaj hai bhai, dont know abt you.

Baal ki khaal nikalna to koi tum logon se seekhai!

gollumbird said:
Baal ki khaal nikalna to koi tum logon se seekhai!

Thanks I will take that as a compliment.
AhmedZulfiqar said:
meri side pe Pakistan aglay haftay khel raha hai

Phir tu mauj ker yaar. no tension aik haftey tak :D

AhmedZulfiqar said:
Intezaar bohot puri cheez hoti hai

Are you watching the 1st test match at galle right now? How's that progressing so far?

Khabri420 said:
Are you watching the 1st test match at galle right now? How's that progressing so far?

:)) still he hasnt reached the 4th day I guess.

Khabri420 said:

still waiting for the toss!

This pitch is a good batting pitch, and will not deteriorate much. (unlike last)

So we have to stay at the pitch for a good day and a half,

and get a lead of around 300. (450runs)

I don't know if morning conditions have an effect at this ground... it seems so far in both day sessions lots of wickets have fallen!

Toony™® said:
I don't know if morning conditions have an effect at this ground... it seems so far in both day sessions lots of wickets have fallen!

Code:
[B]Day   Session  Wickets[/B]
1       1        6
1       2        5
1       3        2

2       1        5
2       2        2
2       3        1

JeeraBlade said:
Code:
[B]Day   Session  Wickets[/B]
1       1        6
1       2        5
1       3        2

2       1        5
2       2        2
2       3        1

Which site did you use?

Ya we def. have to be careful in morning session.

Younus and Fawad have to out there as if its a new innings, Forget about the lead and score. Rotae the strike and don't take any risks. Sri Lankan bowlers are under pressure. A quick wicket will turn the tables in their favor. If these two can bat out the first session then we can apply the choke hold.

slix10 said:
Which site did you use?

Cricinfo score card;

Day 1

* Drinks: Pakistan - 40/4 in 12.0 overs (Fawad Alam 9, Shoaib Malik 13)
* Pakistan: 50 runs in 14.5 overs (91 balls), Extras 7
* Lunch: Pakistan - 74/6 in 25.0 overs (Shoaib Malik 27, Abdur Rauf 0)
* Innings Break: Pakistan - 90/10 in 36.0 overs (Shoaib Malik 39)
* Tea: Sri Lanka - 49/1 in 12.0 overs (NT Paranavitana 19, KC Sangakkara 12)
* Sri Lanka: 50 runs in 13.1 overs (81 balls), Extras 7
* 2nd Wicket: 50 runs in 85 balls (NT Paranavitana 14, KC Sangakkara 35, Ex 1)
* Sri Lanka: 100 runs in 29.2 overs (179 balls), Extras 8
* Drinks: Sri Lanka - 100/2 in 31.0 overs (KC Sangakkara 48, DPMD Jayawardene 7)
* KC Sangakkara: 50 off 76 balls (6 x 4)
* 3rd Wicket: 50 runs in 106 balls (KC Sangakkara 27, DPMD Jayawardene 19, Ex 5)
* Sri Lanka: 150 runs in 43.3 overs (266 balls), Extras 14
* End Of Day: Sri Lanka - 164/3 in 48.0 overs (KC Sangakkara 81, TT Samaraweera 13)

Day 2

* Sri Lanka: 200 runs in 60.1 overs (367 balls), Extras 15
* Drinks: Sri Lanka - 200/5 in 61.0 overs (TM Dilshan 20, AD Mathews 1)
* Lunch: Sri Lanka - 226/8 in 74.0 overs (AD Mathews 14, T Thushara 1)
* Innings Break: Sri Lanka - 240/10 in 80.0 overs (BAW Mendis 0)
* Drinks: Pakistan - 27/0 in 8.0 overs (Khurram Manzoor 12, Fawad Alam 15)
* Pakistan: 50 runs in 15.2 overs (92 balls), Extras 1
* 1st Wicket: 50 runs in 92 balls (Khurram Manzoor 26, Fawad Alam 24, Ex 1)
* Tea: Pakistan - 61/0 in 18.0 overs (Khurram Manzoor 29, Fawad Alam 30)
* Fawad Alam: 50 off 67 balls (2 x 4)
* Pakistan: 100 runs in 30.2 overs (183 balls), Extras 3
* Drinks: Pakistan - 113/1 in 36.0 overs (Fawad Alam 61, Younis Khan 11)
* 2nd Wicket: 50 runs in 108 balls (Fawad Alam 25, Younis Khan 26, Ex 0)
* Pakistan: 150 runs in 44.5 overs (270 balls), Extras 3
* Fawad Alam: 100 off 151 balls (6 x 4, 1 x 6)
* End Of Day: Pakistan - 178/1 in 53.0 overs (Fawad Alam 102, Younis Khan 35)

The first 30 minutes may very well tell us the outcome of this match. We most hold on to our wickets in the first session of the day. It'll become easier later on the day.

^ So, it does... we have 3 days left... so it is wise if they are watchful today... and YK and MOYO can play score big if they want!

Current conditions:

Cloudy and very humid with some rain earlier in the morning.

that hit fawad, he is not good against bouncers, that happened to him yesterday too

What a fighter!

Gets knocked down and punches it for 4 next ball.

Younus was asking him if how many fingers he was holding up! :))

Rameez is praising Alam like there is no tomorrow...he was the won questioning his position at the beginning of the match...i love this flip flop

edgee past slip for 444444444444444, gave me a heart attack, we need to calm down here

The way Fawad shows all his stumps before the ball is bowled is a bit worrying.

Plasma said:
The way Fawad shows all his stumps before the ball is bowled is a bit worrying.

yeah very worrying..lol

yet he has score over a 100 runs and going strong..

wats with this technique etc? what matter is the runs and the wickets..it doesn't matter how its done...

Younus to fawad about running: "Awaz diya ker key hai ke yah nahi"

Fawad: "Ahcha Acha Acha"