Take a bold step like England to revive Pakistan cricket

ZyzzBrah

As we say with England for years, they tried to change their tactics and strategies with the same old crop of players. Then they realised you can't teach a old horse new two tricks. You could change tactics and strategies a million times and it will not yield no different result.

What England did was take a bold step and drop many players who some are ATG in the test arena and were capable LOi batsman, however they didn't stair modern LOi. So England discarded them all and brought in young dynamic players and simply gave them chances and invested in them. The results speak for themselves.

Pakistan needs to do the same, they need to drop all the players who sinoltnsinr good enough for Modern day cricket and replace them with young and dynamic players and simply invest in them.

Ignore results initially and invest in them, they can not do any worse then what's currently happening.

Players I feel need to be discarded are, Hafeez, Axhar Ali, Shezad, Malik, Wahab Riaz.

Pakistan needs to take a bold step and look to invest in the future and allow us to grow and nurture a new era.

Also I feel Pakistan needs to follow England and change their cricket culture to allow them to enter the modern era, and as you guys know bushes culture can only be changed from the top dow, so new people at the PCB are required and not the same people recycled over and over again, being stuck in a infinite looo with no catch statement. (C# language pun lol)

Also if you lay Pakistan let's say over the past 5 years, we have been recycling the same players and same managers and members in PCB for years expecting new results.

We all know what Einstein defined insanity as...

Once again we come back to einsteins theory of insanity. If only I could write some basic code to such replies.

We do have have talented players, but the current structure and infrastructure in Pakistan cricket does not allow a smooth transition through the ranks, this is a issue and lack of investment in players is a issue.

We need to move away from this old Pakistani cricket culture and embrace a new modern dynamic cricket culture

it didn't take England overnight.. they had to persist with average players like hales, morgan, adil and even woakes.

that is what I was saying... we have to persist with Arthur and sarfraz... give them a chance.. keep them around for at least a year.. in the process invest in the new young cricketers.. guys like fakhir, harris, fahim should play the rest of the matches in CT.

shehzad, wahab, hafiz and even azhar... shouldn't be played this format.. at all.

We dont' have the required talent. Simple as that.

Disagree, wasim, waqar, inzi, younis, anwar.. aamir and so many other came through the same system..

Pakistan has a passion for cricket.. and where there is passion there is talent.

we have the talent... we just don't know how to handle them..

guys like Aamir, imad and babar should be handled with so much care.. for the starter.. they should be sent to county cricket.. let them play a couple of seasons there..

guys like fawad alam should be given proper chance..

We dont' have the required talent. Simple as that.

Dude it's not about talent.

Youngster know that they have to score runs in domestic cricket in any particular way and selectors see the spreadsheet & select them. There is no standard set for youngsters of what type of game is needed to play for modern cricket.

Selectors need to stop looking at spreadsheets, start watching batsmen live and select players that fit the modern cricket(play strokes freely, rotate the strike and have good strike rates). Once you start doing that, youngster will follow a pattern of what to do to get selected.

A change in culture is needed

England had the coaches at domestic who were coaching this modern brand of cricket so there were players available to England who were dynamic just waiting in the county game. We have the talent in Pakistan but their skills are not refined in domestic which is killing the national team. If we did a clear out of most of the team we would lose a lot of games quite badly but with time some would develop under the guidance of international coaches such as Mickey, Flower and Azhar (Some don't think they're fit for the job but that is a separate debate) As IK said, Pakistan have the best talent in the world but there is no structure for them to improve and develop.

As we say with England for years, they tried to change their tactics and strategies with the same old crop of players. Then they realised you can't teach a old horse new two tricks. You could change tactics and strategies a million times and it will not yield no different result.

What England did was take a bold step and drop many players who some are ATG in the test arena and were capable LOi batsman, however they didn't stair modern LOi. So England discarded them all and brought in young dynamic players and simply gave them chances and invested in them. The results speak for themselves.

Pakistan needs to do the same, they need to drop all the players who sinoltnsinr good enough for Modern day cricket and replace them with young and dynamic players and simply invest in them.

Ignore results initially and invest in them, they can not do any worse then what's currently happening.

Players I feel need to be discarded are, Hafeez, Axhar Ali, Shezad, Malik, Wahab Riaz.

Pakistan needs to take a bold step and look to invest in the future and allow us to grow and nurture a new era.

Also I feel Pakistan needs to follow England and change their cricket culture to allow them to enter the modern era, and as you guys know bushes culture can only be changed from the top dow, so new people at the PCB are required and not the same people recycled over and over again, being stuck in a infinite looo with no catch statement. (C# language pun lol)

Also if you lay Pakistan let's say over the past 5 years, we have been recycling the same players and same managers and members in PCB for years expecting new results.

Excellent assessment.You should post more.But I feel we should persist with Arthur.He may not be able to change the entire system but given time and the required space may positively influence our cricket.

Two things:

Firstly, we don't have a talent pool of Hales, Roy, Root, Stokes, Buttler, Bairstow, Morgan, Moeen, Billings etc. etc. that are simply waiting to get picked. It was quite straightforward for England in 2015: move on from Test specialists like Cook, Bell, Anderson, Trott etc., and pick the dynamic players who are serious about ODI cricket.

Secondly, the change of culture that we speak of is going to take a good decade to have any influence. The damage the lack of progress in the last 10-15 years has done is not going to be whitewashed overnight. You have to change the pitches, the coaches, the strategies, identify the right players and hope that they develop.

So the conclusion is that we will remain the champions of mediocrity for the foreseeable future.

England has players hailing from various other countries :) Also sound system in place.Inspite of all that they sucked in ODIs for a very long time. Back in 80s, 90s requirement to be a ODI batsman was not very different to be Test batsman. Even then there were players who were good in both. Inzmam, Anwar, Sohail,Mailk Ijaz .. they were good in both. Nowadays Pak has some players who are good in both. They must get out of the system. They must have plenty of A tours, plenty of under 19 tours. They should play county cricket. If their only learning place is Pakistan system then they will remin stranded.

Original post is spot on.
But the overall PCB think tank is not up to scratch...lacks awareness of tools to succeed .

This is one messed up logic where
We don't have talent > the selected eleven can and keep losing but still be selected

It's not simple

England changed approach due to change of personnel and captaincy.

Personnel was key. We do not have almost ready made players waiting to be picked

Excellent assessment.You should post more.But I feel we should persist with Arthur.He may not be able to change the entire system but given time and the required space may positively influence our cricket.
Thank you very much brother! Means a lot hard to get recognition or engagement as a new comer. And yes I fee we should persist with coach and captain as well

Original post is spot on.
But the overall PCB think tank is not up to scratch...lacks awareness of tools to succeed .

We require a change in business culture, and that is basically from top down so we start of with the board and administration

It's not simple

England changed approach due to change of personnel and captaincy.

Personnel was key. We do not have almost ready made players waiting to be picked

Pick any youngsters like Talat Hussain. He might not be talented but better than tried and tested failures like Hafeez, Wahab Shehzad and Malik. They have been embarrassing us for last 10-15 year aur kitna bhai. Isn't it enough?

There is scope for these youngster to improve unlike these seniors.

Two things:

Firstly, we don't have a talent pool of Hales, Roy, Root, Stokes, Buttler, Bairstow, Morgan, Moeen, Billings etc. etc. that are simply waiting to get picked. It was quite straightforward for England in 2015: move on from Test specialists like Cook, Bell, Anderson, Trott etc., and pick the dynamic players who are serious about ODI cricket.

Secondly, the change of culture that we speak of is going to take a good decade to have any influence. The damage the lack of progress in the last 10-15 years has done is not going to be whitewashed overnight. You have to change the pitches, the coaches, the strategies, identify the right players and hope that they develop.

So the conclusion is that we will remain the champions of mediocrity for the foreseeable future.

Fair enough we may not have the players like England, but that's subject to perception, and environmental and social entities. Also it be insanity once again to persist with threes players and expect new results you'd be stuck in a loop, would make sense to bring in new players and then establish a new team and direction. This is a hanger in the variable and has more of a chance to yield different results.

I disagree, I shortly believe we can make some changes before the 2019 World Cup such as training facilities, investment in new players, change in business culture in PCB and grass root level clashes.

Then over the next decade we can build upon the foundation. It's pointless being stuck in this loop and going no where and just further damaging cricket in Pakistan.

We need to invest in our youth teams. There is too much discussion about whether the coach/captain should be sacked. My thoughts are it will make no difference. ATG players like Wasim, Inzamam, Waqar, etc, they need to be working with players in the youth academies. Our structure has always been that domestic cricket is treated like a talent search pool, and then the most talented players get called up to international cricket where they then learn how to play the game properly. This strategy is simply not working anymore. We need our legends to work with our youth players, and PCB should organize a youth camp abroad in Australia or UK so that a talented pool of youngsters with proper technique and temperament can be identified.

All countries have talent, name me one that doesn't. NZ is a little island with barely any people and they deliver great players continuously. Although Pakistan has always been blessed with great quicks which may have initially stemmed from the Imran era.

The real issue is the fact that in the 90s our players could operate purely on the talent of our bowlers and to a lesser extent our batsmen. Other countries were not that invested in building skill and professionalism other then South Africa and Australia.

However as we move into a new age, raw talent just isn't good enough and as we can see on the field yesterday there is a level of professionalism/athleticism and game awareness that all other teams have inbuilt into their domestic and national teams which our players just have not been taught. West Indies is very similar to Pakistan on that point.

If some our players were brought into the Australian domestic pool or English country pool i guarantee you they would flourish after 2 years.

I admire your effort and you come across as a sensible poster.

So you won't probably entirely disagree that all those points which you just mentioned are excellent discussion avenues but practically useless.

Unless you think that Pakistan will suddenly see a drastic change in all fields not just Cricket, then expecting a Houdini like revolution in just cricket is a mere pipe dream.

I dont want to dampen your enthusiasm since you seem a newcomer.

But with time you will learn that to beat your head against the wall is futile.

I admire your effort and you come across as a sensible poster.

So you won't probably entirely disagree that all those points which you just mentioned are excellent discussion avenues but practically useless.

Unless you think that Pakistan will suddenly see a drastic change in all fields not just Cricket, then expecting a Houdini like revolution in just cricket is a mere pipe dream.

I dont want to dampen your enthusiasm since you seem a newcomer.

But with time you will learn that to beat your head against the wall is futile.

I understand it won't be an open night reformation, such things require time and other facets. However should get some rudimentary changes in, I'm not saying it would yield initial results but over the course ov 5-15 years it would pay dividends.

And thank you I hsve been reading pakpassion daily since like 2015 and yes reading some of the users posts is face palm worthy. In life and forums I take a logical, mathematical and economic approach.

Talent has become irrelevant in modern days game. Good Fast pitches, international standard balls in domestic is required. 90% of the players selected are best possible but they just dont have the capability to compete in those conditions

Good read on theory, but implementation isn't feasible. Let me explain why -

You have built your argument on a wrong platform. The transformation of ENG was in terms of their approach to the game - strategy, team selection, captaincy etc. And, you want to replicate same thing in PAK, which in terms of strategy is perfect. But, you failed to touch the core problem - availability.

ENG changed their approach & they found ready made players at County - their credit was to select right players from a pool of ready made talent, in to a strategy that was backed by their system. Problem for PAK/PCB is that, there is no available players to implement any such transformational strategy. Domestic system doesn't scout talent, neither prepare them for Internationals, therefore for PAK's case, it has to be almost from scratch - National setup is the nurturing ground. BUT, for that, the required selection maturity, fairness & vision doesn't exist. Therefore, I think planning such transformation would back fire for a team already hobbling around bottom of the pile. It has to be from grass root level gradual development - something dramatic won't happen.

A classic example we can take from soccer - club vs country. I take a pair of great Managers from two sides - Carlo Ancellotti/Jose Mou & Otto Pfister/Aime Jaquet.

First pair is outstanding in bringing the best out of ready made players. Give them money, whole world is their scouting field - they'll bring best players to fit into their system & build a world beating team. They are more of an executioner - on an ideal set-up they'll win almost everything with their expansive global squads.

The other group doesn't have a glaring club career. They don't have the proficiency to form a squad, accumulating global talents. But, what they are good at is identify talent within a given pool, & maximize their output. They can see the potential of players, they can adopt a strategy within what is available. Otto Pfister has changed the landscape of African football - he has taken charge of several African teams for 4 years, identified talent, adopted his strategy to fit in his available players. Similarly, France failed to qualify for 1990 & 1994 WC - qualified automatically as host for 1998. Now comes Amie Jaquet, someone hardly has managed a top club - but he had vision, he had the eye for talent; almost from scratch, he formed a wonderful French generation that dominated football world for almost a decade. World class, players like Zidane, Henry, Trezeguet, Pires, Viera, Thuram were hand picked by him & he formed his strategy around these players. To do so, he actually kicked out some of the best players at their prime - Papin, Cantona, Ginola, Dugary, Lama, Angloma ...

The first pair is brilliant at implementation of a strategy/formation, as long as their player pool is open - second pair is great at adopting the effective strategy within their available resources.

What you are saying is the job of first pair - won't work in PAK. What is needed is someone like the 2nd pair - he'll build from scratch & find a way to maximize the output of what he has at his disposal. In cricket terms, I do tend to believe Woolmer was from 1st group & he was a failure for PAK, while the man comes from 2nd group made PAK world beaters from same system - Imran Khan.

Good read on theory, but implementation isn't feasible. Let me explain why -

You have built your argument on a wrong platform. The transformation of ENG was in terms of their approach to the game - strategy, team selection, captaincy etc. And, you want to replicate same thing in PAK, which in terms of strategy is perfect. But, you failed to touch the core problem - availability.

ENG changed their approach & they found ready made players at County - their credit was to select right players from a pool of ready made talent, in to a strategy that was backed by their system. Problem for PAK/PCB is that, there is no available players to implement any such transformational strategy. Domestic system doesn't scout talent, neither prepare them for Internationals, therefore for PAK's case, it has to be almost from scratch - National setup is the nurturing ground. BUT, for that, the required selection maturity, fairness & vision doesn't exist. Therefore, I think planning such transformation would back fire for a team already hobbling around bottom of the pile. It has to be from grass root level gradual development - something dramatic won't happen.

A classic example we can take from soccer - club vs country. I take a pair of great Managers from two sides - Carlo Ancellotti/Jose Mou & Otto Pfister/Aime Jaquet.

First pair is outstanding in bringing the best out of ready made players. Give them money, whole world is their scouting field - they'll bring best players to fit into their system & build a world beating team. They are more of an executioner - on an ideal set-up they'll win almost everything with their expansive global squads.

The other group doesn't have a glaring club career. They don't have the proficiency to form a squad, accumulating global talents. But, what they are good at is identify talent within a given pool, & maximize their output. They can see the potential of players, they can adopt a strategy within what is available. Otto Pfister has changed the landscape of African football - he has taken charge of several African teams for 4 years, identified talent, adopted his strategy to fit in his available players. Similarly, France failed to qualify for 1990 & 1994 WC - qualified automatically as host for 1998. Now comes Amie Jaquet, someone hardly has managed a top club - but he had vision, he had the eye for talent; almost from scratch, he formed a wonderful French generation that dominated football world for almost a decade. World class, players like Zidane, Henry, Trezeguet, Pires, Viera, Thuram were hand picked by him & he formed his strategy around these players. To do so, he actually kicked out some of the best players at their prime - Papin, Cantona, Ginola, Dugary, Lama, Angloma ...

The first pair is brilliant at implementation of a strategy/formation, as long as their player pool is open - second pair is great at adopting the effective strategy within their available resources.

What you are saying is the job of first pair - won't work in PAK. What is needed is someone like the 2nd pair - he'll build from scratch & find a way to maximize the output of what he has at his disposal. In cricket terms, I do tend to believe Woolmer was from 1st group & he was a failure for PAK, while the man comes from 2nd group made PAK world beaters from same system - Imran Khan.

Thank you

I understand where you are coming from and I completely agree with what you are saying, just like in the economic world, such theories sound brilliant yet in practicality would not be viable.

However we must make basic rudimentary changes such as starting with a reform at the top of the hierarchical structure. Laws or tactics or stratigies ain't passed bottom to top, it's top to bottom. So no matter what we change from the bottom it won't matter, we need change at the top of the structure. We need a complete vote of no confidence in the PCB and dissolve the entire committee and appoint new members.

This is just a start yet of course in theory sounds great but let's be honest I'm pakistak that would never happen.

Another issue in Pakistan is training facilities, I understand form a financial standpoint we can't build Qulifty training facilities in every part of Pakistan, so we must at least build international standard training facilities with CAD equipment such as bowling machines in every major city in Pakistan. Alongside regular batting and bowling expeditions to England, Australia, this would allow our youth let's say in 5-10 years be better equipped and at least international standard ready. Naturally he business and cricket culture would change.

I agree we won't see no real success till post 2020 but we need to plant the seeds now to enjoy the fruits in the future.

I don't think we have players like Roy and Buttler in our domestic system.

But what we do have are players who are capable of batting at a decent strike rate and are able to rotate strike and also have a good shot range. I believe investing and giving a long rope to the likes of Babar, Harris, Umar Amin, and Talat will help improve our odi team . You will see some sort of improvement in our team.

Sticking with the current lot will not get us anyway. Giving a chance to the names I mentioned will improve our performance and we also won't be as dull to watch in our batting.

In the bowling department, we need to look at playing some new bowlers under the age of 23, they will learn more from playing international cricket than playing domestic cricket.

Odi and tests need to be distinguished shezad azhar sami aslam asad shafiq need to stay in the test side. Hafeez and malik are middle aged uncles who need to stop playing

There aren't changing anything even if we lose remaining two matches by world record margin, the whole trash will be recycled again, so stop wasting your time and expecting any good change, we as pak cricket fans certainly we deserve better than this trash. Pta nai Kis gunah ke saza hai ye team

Pick any youngsters like Talat Hussain. He might not be talented but better than tried and tested failures like Hafeez, Wahab Shehzad and Malik. They have been embarrassing us for last 10-15 year aur kitna bhai. Isn't it enough?

There is scope for these youngster to improve unlike these seniors.

we have the little sword of WC qualification hanging over our heads so even if pcb wanted to they cannot experiment like this

There aren't changing anything even if we lose remaining two matches by world record margin, the whole trash will be recycled again, so stop wasting your time and expecting any good change, we as pak cricket fans certainly we deserve better than this trash. Pta nai Kis gunah ke saza hai ye team

do you think cricket is truly going hockey's way?

atleast general awaam seems to care about state of team and still follow matches unlike in hockey where everyone just stopped following it when things became like this

Someone needs to step up and take leadership that will bring us to modern times..either on the board side or on the field. This someone needs to be extremely thick skinned to be able to handle all the 'love' this awaam gives to anyone in power. Like someone once said to me...Pakistanio ko manzil nahi..Rehnuma chaiye.

i totally don't agreed with that simply because we dont play yougster where did than baber came shadab abbas
yaar itnay youngster and good one but we play baba so that result to yahi hogah 143472_4498481_updates.jpg

yes so well said pls no dubai no sharjak only england south africa news land austraila

If we were to take this step, will the cricket followers have the stomach for the numerous defeats and dissapointments that will follow? Just inducting new players and revamping the squad is not going to bring in instant results.

I am not very confident that the Cricket followers will have the stomach for defeats and upsets. I still remember how we took a completely fresh inexperienced new team to England for the test series in 2010 under Salman Butt, Waqar's coaching and already people were tearing out their heads demanding the recall of Younis Khan and Yousuf and that you need a healthy blend of youth and experience.

Two things:

When Jason Roy was picked he was averaging mid 30s at most in List A and First class. Also I dont believe he is technically very strong. They worked hard on him, gave him the basic technique to play his shots at international level.

Once we had a guy called Mukhtar Ahmed, yes he only played well against Zimbabwe but won us 2 matches played in Pakistan and I guess became MOM in both of them. The guy was technically not well equipped but had some shots and was not afraid to play them. His T20 international average is 32 with strike rate of 143 and 2 50s in 6 matches.

The guy was picked because they saw talent in him and just after failing in few matches he wasnt even considered for T20 anymore. The question is are they working on him in national academy, just giving him enough basic technique to play his shots or he is forgotten?

Because at this stage in the career of Azhar and Hafeez we cant mold them much, but we could have taken this guy Mukhtar Ahmed forward as atleast he was not afraid to play his shots. He didnt worry about going to his 50 but wanted to play his natural game and in the end won us the game.

There was this other guy Nouman Anwar, he also had some talent for ODI cricket but we didnt take him forward as well. I am not saying to make a team out of these players only but just keep working on them, may be all of them will not turn to be the way we want but even if one does atleast he will be able to win matches for us unlike the few we are carrying in the team.

Thing is you can teach someone the technique but you cant teach him certain mindset after an age and also you cant add the 360 shots in someones inventory. Guys I have mentioned have a fearless mindset and have got some shots they can play, they can be taught basic technique to defend, to maintain balance and head position etc.

Sensible suggestions all of them, alas not practical in the Pakistani context. Firstly, like every other institution in Pakistan, PCB is highly politicized. Positions in the board are handed out based on political affiliation rather than ability or suitability. So even if you change the current setup, do not expect to see them being replaced by a team of professionals.

As much as I would like to subscribe to the wholesale change theory I doubt it will work for us. England are lucky that they had a pool of highly talented players like Root, Stokes, Morgan, Bairstow, Roy, Buttler, Hales and Woakes that enabled them to scrap all their old players. I don't see how we can do the same given our current talent pool. India for instance can easily do it given their amazing bench strength.

To be honest I don't see the Pakistani team improving any time soon. Barring the miraculous discovery of some completely unknown players I don't see the current lot (including the domestic pool) becoming world beaters. The only hope is that there will be a resurgence of talent in the next generation (unlikely given the overall cricketing and socioeconomic issues of the country, but not impossible). Until then I don't see Pakistan coming anywhere near the top 4.

Youngster know that they have to score runs in domestic cricket in any particular way and selectors see the spreadsheet & select them. There is no standard set for youngsters of what type of game is needed to play for modern cricket.

Selectors need to stop looking at spreadsheets, start watching batsmen live and select players that fit the modern cricket(play strokes freely, rotate the strike and have good strike rates). Once you start doing that, youngster will follow a pattern of what to do to get selected.

Actually, things would have been much better had the selectors even bothered to look at spreadsheets. Players like Fawad Alam and Sadaf Hussain are constantly kept out, while mediocrity like Umar Amin, Asad Shafiq and Wahab Riaz often makes the team because they seem to be technically correct or bowl over 90mph. The day we start giving performance more preference over looks is the day we will start prospering.

We don't have players like England has, in our domestic structure.

Obviously we don't, and England doesn't have players like we do.

However, if you are talking about players who can maintain an SR over 90 and avg 40+, or pick wickets at an SR < 35 and economy <5.5, then we do have potential candidates rotting away in the domestics by the dozens.

Despite the obvious gulf in standard between the domestic structures of the two countries, Pakistan is often saved by a huge population that is crazy for cricket, which allows for raw talent to be available in far greater numbers than the likes of England can even imagine.

What kills us though is the failure to hone this talent in the domestics. If we can't improve our domestic structure, what we can do is to adopt a vigorous rotation policy that searches for the perfect blend of talent by trial and error.

do you think cricket is truly going hockey's way?

atleast general awaam seems to care about state of team and still follow matches unlike in hockey where everyone just stopped following it when things became like this

Because they still have hope. When I was very young there would be first class players in every street, now not so much. Eventually, this awaam will stop watching a team that loses to any above-average team and just like hockey, stop following it.

The lack of international cricket just sped up the process.

Yep play hafeez at number 7 like moeen ali. play fahim in place of imad wasim. We dont need hafeez malik and imad all playing in one team. use malik and hafeez to bowl 10 overs. then we have shadab to play role role of adil rashid. So team shoud be
1 fakhar zaman(if sharjeel gets banned)
2 umar akmal(to play role of jason roy)
3 babar azam
4 sarfraz
5 shoaib malik
6 haris sohail
7 hafeez
8 fahim
9amir
10 hasan
11 junaid

For all the talks of England being rubbish pre-2015, one should remember that we were spanked by even the pre-2015 England home and away comprehensively. We were constantly plundered for scores of around 300 then too. If England were rubbish then, we were even worse. Our slide had started long before and if we are expecting a revamp like England, we probably are trying to flog a dead horse.

The only way forward here is that if retired cricketers are committed to the cause. From the current retired ones, no one except Misbah and Younis seem like the ones who will be committed. The final days of a player decide how committed he stayed. Inzi became lazier and worse in his final year, Yousuf took his place for granted, Afridi kept dragging himself for glory. Younis and Misbah were the one who were still putting in the effort even when they were on their last legs. Such players indicate that they will pick up a job and do it with commitment. Guys like Subhan Ahmad, Wasim Bari, Inti Alam, Iqbal Qasim and many others should be shown the door for forever. Believe me I have been hearing these names since the time I have started watching cricket almost 2 decades back. Guys like Amir Sohail and Rashid Latif should also be inducted as they look like someone who are sincere to the cause.

Disagree, wasim, waqar, inzi, younis, anwar.. aamir and so many other came through the same system..

Pakistan has a passion for cricket.. and where there is passion there is talent.

we have the talent... we just don't know how to handle them..

guys like Aamir, imad and babar should be handled with so much care.. for the starter.. they should be sent to county cricket.. let them play a couple of seasons there..

guys like fawad alam should be given proper chance..

Thing is, all our past talent was honed in county cricket and under the supervision of IK type players. Cricket was also different and assistance to bowlers and wickets were not phatta type.

Currently, we definitely need some power hitters, and we are struggling to find them. I agree, some cricketers should be handled with care. Send them to county and let them hone their skills.

200% correct. IK used to do that too instead of just checking out stats.

Well a good read indeed
I hwever beg to differ on Malik as i feel he z da only guy who has hot da guts to change himself with the changing brand of cricket throughout . Rest of the analysis👌