The disgusting (and expected) treatment of Mr. & Mrs. Swati under the PDM regime

PTI leader Azam Swati on Tuesday described his "custodial torture" in detail as he called on Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Umar Ata Bandial to investigate the incident to protect citizens from such an ordeal in the future.

Swati, who was arrested earlier this month in a case registered against him over a controversial tweet thought to be against the armed forces, made the remarks at a press conference.

Since his arrest, Swati has alleged he was stripped and tortured and has named two military officials behind his ordeal. PTI chairman Imran Khan had also called out Swati’s “custodial torture” at a press conference alongside him. The Senate Standing Committee on Human Rights also condemned it.

During today's press conference, Swati named an FIA official as well.

He waved a copy of the Constitution and lamented that "this rulebook is not applicable to at least 1,000 people".

"Sadly, this [Constitution] also doesn't apply to Major General Faisal and Sector Commander Faheem — who are above the law," he said.

In a reference to Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Qamar Javed Bajwa, he said: "You have 27 days left at GHQ [...] you must follow [the Constitution] and summon Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) Cybercrime assistant director Ayaz ..."

The senator claimed that the FIA official was present during his torture and was driving the vehicle when he was "picked up".

"They kept beating me the entire way and one of the men was filming the entire ordeal as I screamed," he said. The senator said it must be investigated who was "cracking jokes" as he was being stripped naked.

"I would not care even if they would have killed me but they violated my privacy and I will knock on the door of all international institutions [...] if a senator is not protected, no citizen is safe in this country."

The PTI leader said his torture was an attack on his dignity and the honour of his family.

Addressing COAS Bajwa, Swati swore that his words were based on the truth.

"This 74-year-old senator is not becoming a source of shame for you. I am a living corpse and fighting for my fundamental rights. I believe that this sacrifice from my family may protect a citizen, professor or a general from being stripped [in the future]."

He also requested the Supreme Court to take the CCTV footage from his house into custody and order a forensic audit to determine the veracity of his claims.

Naming the army chief, Swati said "I've not been martyred like Arshad Sharif ... Bajwa sahib please send your men to me to determine who played such a brutal game with a sitting senator."

During his press conference, Swati thanked the CJP for referring his case to the court's Human Rights Cell. He insisted the case pertained to human rights and was not politically motivated.

He appealed to the CJP and the country's judges to deliver justice and prevent such "extrajudicial treatment" from recurring.

Swati said his only crime was to tweet about a "powerful person", adding, "I am a senator and I appeal to the supreme commander of Pakistan to exercise his powers under Article 243 of the Constitution [...] if it was a crime then the due court process must be followed."

Swati expressed hope that the top court would ensure justice in the case.

DAWN

And now this... Is there a limit to Jihalat from PDM?

==

ISLAMABAD: The Chairman of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Imran Khan has condemned ‘violation of privacy of Senator Azam Swati’s wife,’ and urged upon the Chief Justice to take Suo Motu notice.

His statement came after Senator Azam Swati narrated shocking details of what happened to him and his family in a press conference. Swati, while breaking into tears during the presser, alleged that someone from an unknown number sent a private video of him and his wife to his wife itself, after which his wife and granddaughters left the country.

Taking to Twitter, Imran Khan said Pakistan was created on Islamic moral values of human dignity, honour of the family and inviolability of “chadar & chardawari.”

However, what has happened to Azam Swati at the hands of the State has been a blatant violation of all these values – from being stripped naked to custodial torture and now this video where privacy of his wife has been violated, he said.

Imran Khan said it was both shocking, despicable and utterly condemnable as no human being should have to suffer this. He urged upon the Chief Justice of Pakistan to to take suo moto notice of this violation of privacy.

He said “I want to apologise on behalf of Pakistan to Mrs Swati, a very private, non public, tahajut guzaar lady for the pain, anguish and sense of humiliation she is having to suffer.”

https://mmnews.tv/imran-condemns-vi...swatis-wife-urges-cj-to-take-suo-motu-notice/

==

4z7twfH.png

This is absolutely disgusting and heads should roll of those who are responsible. Where is the country heading? I am ashamed to be a Pakistani and enough is enough. I apologise to Swati and his family. There will be people on this forum who will justify this. They need to remember that tomorrow, this could be you and your family.

How is this PDM's fault?

Swati is a SENATOR. As a SENATOR it was his responsibility that no stupid law was to be passed. He got charged under the PECA laws. Its the same law that his own govt passed and he was the senator. Why didn't he try to stop the law from being passed or atleast have debate on it.

Admit, the law was being passed to be used against the than opposition, but now when same law gets used against them, they cry....

He should admit his mistake atleast that he played a part in passing such laws that are being used against him.

As for the private video controversy. Govt doesn't have such resources to do such things, infact Govt doesnt get involve in such acts. Only ISI does these kinds of act.

The anger should be against ISI or establishment, not PDM.

How is this PDM's fault?

Swati is a SENATOR. As a SENATOR it was his responsibility that no stupid law was to be passed. He got charged under the PECA laws. Its the same law that his own govt passed and he was the senator. Why didn't he try to stop the law from being passed or atleast have debate on it.

Admit, the law was being passed to be used against the than opposition, but now when same law gets used against them, they cry....

He should admit his mistake atleast that he played a part in passing such laws that are being used against him.

As for the private video controversy. Govt doesn't have such resources to do such things, infact Govt doesnt get involve in such acts. Only ISI does these kinds of act.

Buck stops with the rulers.

If they cannot control ISI then they should say that in public, or resign.

The same Sanaullah who is threatening violence against ordinary supporters should have the courage to speak out. But he won't because he is a coward like the Govt he represents.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">پاکستان میں کوئی اس 75 سالہ بزرگ کو انصاف دے گا؟ یاد رکھیے گا یہ آنسو تباہ کر دیں گے۔<a href="https://t.co/Bf6xKdRuny">pic.twitter.com/Bf6xKdRuny</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranRiazKhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranRiazKhan/status/1588823808768880645?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 5, 2022</a></blockquote>

How is this PDM's fault?

Where in the law does it say that torture is legal? The fact is that the mafia and their supporters are drunk on power and they are torturing people for fun. Arent you the game that wanted IK arrested and tortured by Rana,arent you the guy that celebrated IRK being tortured, didn't you call the Shaheed and patriotic Arshad a coward?

Looks seriously unfit for service how do these guys become major generals a military person In active service should never let his body deteriorate physically its unforgivable

I hope that he faces the type of treatment he mets out when he leaves office. This thug needs to be made an example of

Buck stops with the rulers.

If they cannot control ISI then they should say that in public, or resign.

The same Sanaullah who is threatening violence against ordinary supporters should have the courage to speak out. But he won't because he is a coward like the Govt he represents.

No one can control ISI.
They are constitutionally protected.

Imran had his one chance and he blew it. Instead of passing PECA through senators like Swati, they could had passed acts where ISI would had come directly under the control of Civilian govt.

These acts are not the doings of Govt but the spy agencies. This is what we used to say that dont support them they will come back to bite. We used to hear from posters that when army and pti is on the same page, its alright, they can give as much political as they want.

Now same party and its fans are the ones crying about whats right and whats wrong. The thing is, PTI will only stand against the army till it starts supporting them again.

No one can control ISI.
They are constitutionally protected.

Imran had his one chance and he blew it. Instead of passing PECA through senators like Swati, they could had passed acts where ISI would had come directly under the control of Civilian govt.

These acts are not the doings of Govt but the spy agencies. This is what we used to say that dont support them they will come back to bite. We used to hear from posters that when army and pti is on the same page, its alright, they can give as much political as they want.

Now same party and its fans are the ones crying about whats right and whats wrong. The thing is, PTI will only stand against the army till it starts supporting them again.

Forget what PTI does or not do.

Get yourself to look at the situation and say this "This is wrong and people who have done this should be punished"

That will show that you actually care about the rule of law and not one party.

Get yourself to look at the situation and say this "This is wrong and people who have done this should be punished"

He couldn't bring himself to condemn the murder of the journalists by Billo and his mafia. He goaded us with the threat of Rana the coward and his threats. What the hypocrites don't understand is that flame can't be extinguished no matter what they do

PTI Senator Azam Swati burst into tears before the media on Saturday, saying that his wife had received a video featuring him and her and about which he could not share further details because the “daughters of my country are listening”.

Swati, who was arrested on October 13 in a case registered against him over a controversial tweet and is now on bail, has claimed that has been subjected to custodial torture.

Swati began the press conference today by referring to an earlier media talk, where he recalled saying that neither had he committed any corruption nor anybody, including “powerful circles”, had any “immoral videos” featuring him.

“I was completely wrong,” he said as he accused elements within the establishment for his ordeal.

Swati told media persons that his wife called him from Islamabad at around 9pm last night. She kept on shouting and crying, he said, adding that he then had to ask his daughter to speak to his wife and inquire what was the matter.

On her insistence, he continued, his wife revealed that someone had sent her a video of him from an unknown number. “Because the daughters and granddaughters of my country are listening, I cannot say any further.”

The senator went on to say that his daughter, while crying, revealed to him that the video featured his wife as well.

“I asked her how is it possible,” the senator said, bursting into tears. He added that his daughter also told him that the video was from when Swati and his wife had visited Quetta.

Recalling that visit, the senator said Senate Chairperson Sadiq Sanjrani, who respected his wife, had made arrangements for them to stay at the Supreme Court’s judicial lodges in Quetta. “You (Sanjrani) made arrangements there to protect an elder senator and your aunt (Swati’s wife). And you told me that I will stay there as there were no Supreme Court judges in Quetta.”

Swati was overcome with emotions again and lamented that his wife had to leave the country and move to a “safe place”. He also bewailed that his granddaughters were also “compelled to leave the country with traumas and scars”.

“I am asking my God is this Pakistan where the sanctity of a husband and wife [is not safe?],” he said.

This was the second time that Swati shared the account of an ordeal he allegedly went through, initially having described his “custodial torture” on November 1.

DAWN

Punished for what?
You dont get punished for implementing a law.

Its a law that PTI passed. Its a law that senators like Mr. Swati passed.

Mushahidullah khan said in assembly few years back that PTI gives us threats of putting us in jail by tagging with army. This same army will one day bite back and put you in jail, and you will be the ones crying. Mushahiullah said this literally.

Today, people like Mr. Swati are crying and rightly so.

He as a senator was responsible for passing such laws and now PTI politicians have been forced to cry by the same Army who did once allowed influence in politics

He couldn't bring himself to condemn the murder of the journalists by Billo and his mafia. He goaded us with the threat of Rana the coward and his threats. What the hypocrites don't understand is that flame can't be extinguished no matter what they do

PTI politicians have been made to cry today.

PTI Senator Azam Swati burst into tears before the media on Saturday, saying that his wife had received a video featuring him and her and about which he could not share further details because the “daughters of my country are listening”.

Swati, who was arrested on October 13 in a case registered against him over a controversial tweet and is now on bail, has claimed that has been subjected to custodial torture.

Swati began the press conference today by referring to an earlier media talk, where he recalled saying that neither had he committed any corruption nor anybody, including “powerful circles”, had any “immoral videos” featuring him.

“I was completely wrong,” he said as he accused elements within the establishment for his ordeal.

Swati told media persons that his wife called him from Islamabad at around 9pm last night. She kept on shouting and crying, he said, adding that he then had to ask his daughter to speak to his wife and inquire what was the matter.

On her insistence, he continued, his wife revealed that someone had sent her a video of him from an unknown number. “Because the daughters and granddaughters of my country are listening, I cannot say any further.”

The senator went on to say that his daughter, while crying, revealed to him that the video featured his wife as well.

“I asked her how is it possible,” the senator said, bursting into tears. He added that his daughter also told him that the video was from when Swati and his wife had visited Quetta.

Recalling that visit, the senator said Senate Chairperson Sadiq Sanjrani, who respected his wife, had made arrangements for them to stay at the Supreme Court’s judicial lodges in Quetta. “You (Sanjrani) made arrangements there to protect an elder senator and your aunt (Swati’s wife). And you told me that I will stay there as there were no Supreme Court judges in Quetta.”

Swati was overcome with emotions again and lamented that his wife had to leave the country and move to a “safe place”. He also bewailed that his granddaughters were also “compelled to leave the country with traumas and scars”.

“I am asking my God is this Pakistan where the sanctity of a husband and wife [is not safe?],” he said.

This was the second time that Swati shared the account of an ordeal he allegedly went through, initially having described his “custodial torture” on November 1.

DAWN

What a shameful act, this country needs some serious cleaning to be able to call Islamic Republic of Pakistan:anwar

btw thread title needs to be changed.

Even politicians of PDM have condemned this. Miftah Ismail has spoken out and Mustafa Nawaz Khokar

Khokar even said that he stands with his colleagues the way army stand by General Faisal. He said he got a call from a Brig from ISI that they have nothing to do with the video and it was prepared on dark web. Told him to convince senator Swati, not me.

So this is basically ISI as I said before.

btw thread title needs to be changed.

Even politicians of PDM have condemned this. Miftah Ismail has spoken out and Mustafa Nawaz Khokar

Khokar even said that he stands with his colleagues the way army stand by General Faisal. He said he got a call from a Brig from ISI that they have nothing to do with the video and it was prepared on dark web. Told him to convince senator Swati, not me.

So this is basically ISI as I said before.

Changed to more appropriate one

This is disgusting... PTI needs to start fighting fire with fire. Since April PTI has been trying to be morally upright while the PDM show their auqaat.

In kay gharoon mein bhi ma bhenien hongi... Onki pics details bhi ishi tarhan leak karni chahye jis tarhan PTI kay leaders kay sath horaha hai. To take on a bully you have to be the bigger bully.

Horrific and pathetic stuff by current PDM/Establishment shameless alliance.

PTI politicians have been made to cry today.

True but they care about their izzat unlike your guys who never had and never will have any ghairat. Look at your guys- Beghairats to a man. AZ was told he would be dragged through the streets by SS and today they have no shame and work together. BBs naked pics were made and distributed by NS and SS, today Billo touches their feet. Dont you see this beghairti?

Punished for what?

Mushahidullah khan said in assembly few years back that PTI gives us threats of putting us in jail by tagging with army. This same army will one day bite back and put you in jail, and you will be the ones crying. Mushahiullah said this literally.

He as a senator was responsible for passing such laws and now PTI politicians have been forced to cry by the same Army who did once allowed influence in politics

You keep running from the BB question and then posting lies on this. Which bit of PECA allows torture.

Hours after Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Senator Azam Swati claimed that his wife was sent a private video, featuring the two of them, Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) on Saturday declared the video "fake" following a forensic analysis.

FgzUQ3RWQAEyDGU

It said that the objectionable video, circulating on the internet, was analysed frame-by-frame which revealed that ‘deepfake technology’ was used to edit the video.

The FIA said that international standard forensics proved that the video was edited and various videos were used to distort the faces.

It said that Swati's claims needed to be investigated properly, requesting him to make a formal request so that all his concerns can be addressed.

It further said that the fake video was circulated to defame the PTI Senator.

Earlier in the day, Swati claimed that his wife was sent a private video, featuring the two of them, from an "unknown number" as he broke down while narrating the ordeal.

The PTI senator, addressing the media, said his wife had called him on Friday night and kept shouting and crying. Swati said he then asked his daughter to inquire from her mother regarding what the matter was.

He further said that when his daughter insisted, his wife revealed that someone had sent her a private video of him from an "unknown number", but refused to say anything further as the "daughters and granddaughters of the country are listening".

Narrating the ordeal further, the senior PTI leader said his daughter then revealed that the video sent had him and the wife.

Swati further said that he explained to his daughter that her mother doesn’t understand that he sleeps at 9 PM and wakes up early morning for prayers.

He added that his daughter kept weeping on the other side of the phone and said, “Daddy, this video isn’t of anyone else.. it is yours and my mother’s...I told her how is this possible."

“I have spent my entire life with her. She doesn’t know that a few days ago, on the morning of October 13, when I was picked up by these cruel people, they made a video of me. These days it isn’t difficult to…. make a fake video.”

Dawn

Hours after Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Senator Azam Swati claimed that his wife was sent a private video, featuring the two of them, Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) on Saturday declared the video "fake" following a forensic analysis.

FgzUQ3RWQAEyDGU

It said that the objectionable video, circulating on the internet, was analysed frame-by-frame which revealed that ‘deepfake technology’ was used to edit the video.

The FIA said that international standard forensics proved that the video was edited and various videos were used to distort the faces.

It said that Swati's claims needed to be investigated properly, requesting him to make a formal request so that all his concerns can be addressed.

It further said that the fake video was circulated to defame the PTI Senator.

Earlier in the day, Swati claimed that his wife was sent a private video, featuring the two of them, from an "unknown number" as he broke down while narrating the ordeal.

The PTI senator, addressing the media, said his wife had called him on Friday night and kept shouting and crying. Swati said he then asked his daughter to inquire from her mother regarding what the matter was.

He further said that when his daughter insisted, his wife revealed that someone had sent her a private video of him from an "unknown number", but refused to say anything further as the "daughters and granddaughters of the country are listening".

Narrating the ordeal further, the senior PTI leader said his daughter then revealed that the video sent had him and the wife.

Swati further said that he explained to his daughter that her mother doesn’t understand that he sleeps at 9 PM and wakes up early morning for prayers.

He added that his daughter kept weeping on the other side of the phone and said, “Daddy, this video isn’t of anyone else.. it is yours and my mother’s...I told her how is this possible."

“I have spent my entire life with her. She doesn’t know that a few days ago, on the morning of October 13, when I was picked up by these cruel people, they made a video of me. These days it isn’t difficult to…. make a fake video.”

Dawn

I hope they are right and its fake but if its real, who does it implicate? Well we know it implicates Dirty Harry and his mates. My problem is that the FIA and ISI have no credibility any more because they have tortured people. [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] which law allows torture?

Punished for what?

This is the thing isn't it? Nobody is saying what happened to Mr. Swati isn't deplorable.

It laws like PECA which have made these it way easier to do such things than it would ever have been possible without them.

And the blame for it must go to the politicians. PMLN for starting it and PTI for cementing it, in the case for PECA for example. I read somewhere that PMLN is now set to introduce even more strict laws regarding what you can say on social media. Rinse and repeat, they are incapable of learning.

Why is it that everytime Pakistani politicians are in power they make life hell for people who don't share their opinion and that of their overlords without a care in the world? And then they cry when the same laws are used against them later. You would think they would have some foresight to see that this is not going to go down well for them too later on.

Forget the bigger picture of how censorship and such barbaric laws destroy nations, they are far too incompetent and stupid to ever see that. But apparently even a bit of self preservation is too much to ask for (something they are quite good at), such is their ego and the hate they possess for each other. No wonder Pakistan's political landscape is such a mess.

The video isn't fake.

It's swati and his wife In quetta at sanjranis residence.

So the bedrooms everything was bugged with cameras.

DAWN

What’s the video about?
What’s the big deal here? I truly don’t understand.

But more importantly, it looks like ISI has a sex video of every senator, every parliamentarian, every cabinet member, every minister and every political leader, every judge and perhaps every bureaucrat.

And ISI has a 100% control on every political party’s top leadership and everyone in judiciary and bureaucracy.

But why are all these people so scared and embarrassed about having their sex videos being made public? Seriously, why??

Pakistan ranks NUMBER ONE among the highest porn watching nations in the world!!

What would the nation see any difference in these hidden camera captured desi porn videos in low light and blurry/grainy quality?

Pakistanis must have developed a very high standard to like and approve a very high quality American made porn of young hot blondes - these desi videos should draw minimum to no interest to Pakistanis.

I urge PTI leaders and judges and bureaucrats to do what’s right and don’t be scared of your sex tape being made public - no one wants to see your overgrown puberty brutally hiding your “short comings” in these out of sync videos capture at very bad angles.

Pakistanis have seen and are used to, watching A LOT BETTER stuff than this.

The ppp trolls lies about PTI creating the laws have been debunked. The hypocrisy is astounding.

No matter what, traitor pdm who looted and sold Pakistan will face justice.

Also the favouritism and double standards of those who we do not name to allow people of their own ethnicity to abuse their own institution and commit corruption, theft and treason is exposed and there for all to see.

Because in pakistan we have something known as ghairat , shame and purdah .

Obviously in the west they don't care celebs being snapped nude by paparazzi peoples phone being leaked .

Obviously what has happened is shameful

But swati should have known better if he was a guest at someone's residence for a while he surely could have controlled his urges whilst there someone like him should have known about places being bugged etc and the dirty nature of isi

It’s kind of sad that we didn’t get to see something like Nuremberg trial after 1971. At least Pakistan would get to face the realities of its most popular institution. Without facing those realities, the machinations of the institution will only remain hidden and at best speculative. At this point, nothing short of a truth and reconciliation commission can save the country.

Because in pakistan we have something known as ghairat , shame and purdah .

Obviously in the west they don't care celebs being snapped nude by paparazzi peoples phone being leaked .

Obviously what has happened is shameful

But swati should have known better if he was a guest at someone's residence for a while he surely could have controlled his urges whilst there someone like him should have known about places being bugged etc and the dirty nature of isi

So, we are now blaming the victim?

Not sure why we such crass posts?

Can we cut out the salacious stuff - I don't have to going around editing and deleting stuff

No reply needed to this post. Just do as you are told! :)

Must be a reason why an Established Senator such as Azam has been targeted.

Senators often vote for amendments to constitution.

Just trying to psychologically force out this man and replace him with a goon.

Currently behind the scenes there is a push to put certain Supreme court Judges in place and also manipulate Senators.

He already indicated his whole family have been forced to relocate overseas.

This is true also with certain soldiers, similar stories have been reported by some.

Seems like the approach is:-

1- Unknown calls

2- Caller knows your intimate personal information access to your government profile

3- Threats

4- Visits by unknown people in none number plated vehicles to you home

5- Kidnapping attempts and physical Torture

6- Psychological Torture

7- Preventive measures to stop your news becoming public by not allowing Local TV / New papers to cover your story.

Attack on Senator is typically motivated because it has to do with his powers to amend constitution or some other reason.

PTI Senator Azam Swati’s press conference where he broke down while claiming his wife was sent a private video of her and him from an unknown number, was met with widespread shock and outrage on Saturday.

During the presser, he revealed that his daughter kept weeping on the other side of the phone and said, “Daddy, this video isn’t of anyone else.. it is yours and my mother’s”.

Former finance minister Miftah Ismail, from PTI's arch rival party the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), stated that he had never felt the urge to retweet PTI chief Imran Khan but “had to agree” that the video of Swati’s spouse was “beyond the pale”.

“I feel ashamed that an honourable woman can be so humiliated in my country. This madness must stop,” he wrote on his official Twitter handle.

Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) chief Siraj-ul-Haq said that the “worst treatment meted out to Senator Azam Swati was extremely shameful”, adding that his press conference was “heartbreaking”.

He urged the Senate chair to “form a parliamentary committee to investigate the matter immediately” and urged the chief justice of Pakistan to take suo motu notice of the events.

“Reveal the truth before the nation and punish the culprit severely,” he said.

Senior journalist Hamid Mir stated that all the parties in the Senate should form a joint parliamentary inquiry committee on Swati’s complaint and advised them to “not wait for the Supreme Court”.

“This committee should submit its report to the House within two weeks,” he said.

PTI leader Fawad Chaudhry stated that the incident marked “another sad day” in the history of Pakistan and asked what was wrong with people.

“No sane mind will choose to go this path with political opposition… sad very sad,” the former minister said.

He further claimed that it was “as if the guesthouses of the Supreme Court are covered with hidden cameras”.

“Private videos have been recorded from the Prime Minister's Office to the judges of the Supreme Court,” he said, deeming it a tragic situation.

PTI member Dr Shahbaz Gill, who also claimed of being tortured while in custody, said that the whole nation was embarrassed before Azam Swati.

Party leader Hammad Azhar said that Senate Chairperson Sadiq Sanjrani should not only resign but “drown in and die of shame”.

PTI Secretary General Asad Umar stated that nothing more cruel could happen to a human as what happened to Swati.

He questioned "if the CJP will serve justice, or if the doors of law and justice are closed".

Chief Minister of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Mahmood Khan also strongly condemned the “inhumane and immoral treatment of senior parliamentarian Azam Swati”, calling it a “shameful” incident.

He also prayed for the safety of all Pakistanis.

Senator Shahzad Waseem said that this “most despicable act against an honourable, courageous and senior politician had not only crossed all moral, legal and constitutional limits, but was also a slap in the face of the Senate and Parliament”.

“No one's honour, life, home and honour are protected here,” he claimed and asked if the “guardians of the Constitution” will take notice.

Express News Journalist and Anchor Kamran Yousaf called for a “fair and transparent investigation into the alleged video of Azam Swati” and said that “whoever is involved should be punished”.

Journalist Mazhar Abbas said that “Senator Azam Swati's video statement should be an eye opener for every democratic and rights activist”.

He wondered how “someone like Senator Pervaiz Rasheed is silent as he himself had faced such humiliation”, and called the ordeal unacceptable.

Journalist Hassan Zaidi maintained that the presser by Swati was “heartwrenching”.

“Whatever one may think about his politics, this can only be condemned in the strongest possible way,” he said, adding that the incident was beyond the pale of all ethics and morality.

Economist Faizan Khan said the incident broke his heart and urged Swati to “stay strong”.

“Nobody deserves this,” he said.

In a postscript, he told “all parliamentarians” that what happened with Swati today could happen with them tomorrow and asked them to have “some shame”.

Jamaat-e-Islami (JIP) Senator Mushtaq Ahmed Khan said the alleged objectionable video was the “worst character assassination” tactic to suppress the political opponents.

“I am saddened to see the press conference. I stand with Senator Azam Swati.”

Javeria Siddique, the wife of slain journalist Arshad Sharif, also condemned the act.

“If what happened to Swati’s wife is true, my head hangs in shame that I belong to a country that has the audacity to call it’s self the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and can do this ….,” said scholar Huma Baqai.

PPP leader Farhatullah Babar said they condemned Swati when he “tortured” a poor family and “ridiculed” PML-N leader Maryam Nawaz allegations that cameras were installed in her washroom. “But today one must condemn what has been done to Swati. One will. Criminals will face divine retribution,” he wrote on his Twitter handle.

PTI leader Qasim Khan Suri also condemned the incident saying that if those responsible are not punished today “than then any other politician or citizen will go through the same ordeal”.

Express Tribune

May these thugs don't have, wives, daughters and grand daughters because no one of ghairat would make such videos and worse still blackmail people.

Swati’s ordeal draws cross-party flak
Senate chairman forms parliamentary panel to probe incident

ISLAMABAD:
Politicians and social media figures from across the political divide reacted with shock and outrage on Saturday after PTI Senator Azam Swati broke down, choking on his words and tearing up before the media while revealing that his wife had received an objectionable video featuring him and her.

Condemnations and support poured in from all quarters in an otherwise adversarial political arena following the harrowing details of the alleged incident shared by the senior politician in front of cameras.

Earlier in the day, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) senator told a press conference that his wife was sent a private video from an "unknown number", featuring the two of them, as he broke down in tears, narrating the ordeal.

The presser also elicited alarm among journalists, rights activists and politicians who joined the chorus of PTI leaders condemning the alleged harassment meted out to the senator.

PPP Senator Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar shared a clip from Swati’s press conference and termed it a “slap on the face of the Senate chairperson and entire parliament”.

Meanwhile, journalist Mazhar Abbas said Swati’s “video statement should be an eye opener for every democratic and rights activist. wonder how come someone like Senator Pervez Rasheed is silent as he himself had faced such humiliation. This is not acceptable”.

Journalist Zarrar Khuhro said the incident evoked disgust, saying he believed Swati as there was “no reason to doubt”.

“No one would make such claims if they were not true and there is no reason in my mind to doubt Azam Swati sb. Shameful and disgusting to the extreme and merits a suo moto by the Supreme Court which should direct the investigation into this atrocious act as soon as it can,” he tweeted.

PPP leader Farhatullah Babar said they condemned Swati when he “tortured” a poor family and “ridiculed” PML-N leader Maryam Nawaz allegations that cameras were installed in her washroom. “But today one must condemn what has been done to Swati. One will. Criminals will face divine retribution,” he wrote on his Twitter handle.

Chief Minister of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Mahmood Khan also strongly condemned the “inhumane and immoral treatment of senior parliamentarian Azam Swati”, calling it a “shameful” incident.

PML-N’s Miftah Ismail also condemned the alleged incident narrated by Swati.
Quoting a tweet by Imran, he posted: “I have never felt the urge to retweet Imran Khan but here I have to agree with him. The video of Begum Azam Swati is clearly beyond the pale.

“I feel ashamed that an honourable woman can be so humiliated in my country. This madness must stop.”

PML-N's Musadik Malik also joined his party leader and said, “Making private videos and attacking politicians are despicable acts. As a nation our head hangs in shame”.

We must stop this violence and abuse across all party lines, he stressed.
PML-N Senator Mushahid Hussain Sayed said he had called his “friend and colleague” to express solidarity with him and his family on the “disgraceful degradation of all basic norms of morality and decency, unacceptable invasion of privacy and shocking crossing of ‘Red Line’”.

Power Minister Khurram Dastgir said he shared the anguish of Swati and has requested the Ministry of Interior to “investigate gross invasion of privacy, inform people of the facts and penalise the perpetrators”.

Meanwhile, Jamaat-i-Islami Senator Mushtaq Ahmad Khan penned a letter to the Senate chairman, demanding the formation of a parliamentary committee comprising all political parties for investigation.

MQM-P’s Faisal Sabzwari said he was extremely sorry for the pain Swati and his family was going through and urged Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif to “order highest level inquiry on the accusations”.

Express Tribune

This is so sad and shameful that I don't know what to say. Very very unfortunate.

I am hearing they have videos of many many politicians to keep them quite.

And credit where it's due; Mustafa Khokar from PPP is brave enough to take on these thugs and talking about this and defending Mr Swati and his family.

Swati’s ordeal draws cross-party flak
Senate chairman forms parliamentary panel to probe incident

ISLAMABAD:
Politicians and social media figures from across the political divide reacted with shock and outrage on Saturday after PTI Senator Azam Swati broke down, choking on his words and tearing up before the media while revealing that his wife had received an objectionable video featuring him and her.

Condemnations and support poured in from all quarters in an otherwise adversarial political arena following the harrowing details of the alleged incident shared by the senior politician in front of cameras.

Earlier in the day, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) senator told a press conference that his wife was sent a private video from an "unknown number", featuring the two of them, as he broke down in tears, narrating the ordeal.

The presser also elicited alarm among journalists, rights activists and politicians who joined the chorus of PTI leaders condemning the alleged harassment meted out to the senator.

PPP Senator Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar shared a clip from Swati’s press conference and termed it a “slap on the face of the Senate chairperson and entire parliament”.

Meanwhile, journalist Mazhar Abbas said Swati’s “video statement should be an eye opener for every democratic and rights activist. wonder how come someone like Senator Pervez Rasheed is silent as he himself had faced such humiliation. This is not acceptable”.

Journalist Zarrar Khuhro said the incident evoked disgust, saying he believed Swati as there was “no reason to doubt”.

“No one would make such claims if they were not true and there is no reason in my mind to doubt Azam Swati sb. Shameful and disgusting to the extreme and merits a suo moto by the Supreme Court which should direct the investigation into this atrocious act as soon as it can,” he tweeted.

PML-N’s Miftah Ismail also condemned the alleged incident narrated by Swati.
Quoting a tweet by Imran, he posted: “I have never felt the urge to retweet Imran Khan but here I have to agree with him. The video of Begum Azam Swati is clearly beyond the pale.

“I feel ashamed that an honourable woman can be so humiliated in my country. This madness must stop.”

PML-N's Musadik Malik also joined his party leader and said, “Making private videos and attacking politicians are despicable acts. As a nation our head hangs in shame”.

We must stop this violence and abuse across all party lines, he stressed.
PML-N Senator Mushahid Hussain Sayed said he had called his “friend and colleague” to express solidarity with him and his family on the “disgraceful degradation of all basic norms of morality and decency, unacceptable invasion of privacy and shocking crossing of ‘Red Line’”.

Power Minister Khurram Dastgir said he shared the anguish of Swati and has requested the Ministry of Interior to “investigate gross invasion of privacy, inform people of the facts and penalise the perpetrators”.

Meanwhile, Jamaat-i-Islami Senator Mushtaq Ahmad Khan penned a letter to the Senate chairman, demanding the formation of a parliamentary committee comprising all political parties for investigation.

MQM-P’s Faisal Sabzwari said he was extremely sorry for the pain Swati and his family was going through and urged Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif to “order highest level inquiry on the accusations”.

Express Tribune

But but the cross flak is just guff. These guys are in govt, and opposition but are pretending to be opposition. The FIA apparently did the fastest forensic ever without having the video and have declared it fake because if they had the balls to investigate it properly, they would be put in jail.

All this hogwash of a chest thumping statements that ISI is the world's # 1 spy agencies (Better than CIA and Mossad) lol.

Looks like ISI is # 1 only when it comes to spying on our own people.

The entire organization needs to be depleted. They serve no good cause for the country.

I have hardly ever heard them stopping a terrorist activity in public suicide bomb attacks.

Matter of fact, in a few suicidal blast attempts, when one or more of the culprits were arrested alive, we NEVER then heard as to what happened to him? Did his arrest lead to reaching the source of the terrorist activity? Were there any related arrests made? NEVER !!

Very very dodgy organization.

All this hogwash of a chest thumping statements that ISI is the world's # 1 spy agencies (Better than CIA and Mossad) lol.

Looks like ISI is # 1 only when it comes to spying on our own people.

The entire organization needs to be depleted. They serve no good cause for the country.

I have hardly ever heard them stopping a terrorist activity in public suicide bomb attacks.

Matter of fact, in a few suicidal blast attempts, when one or more of the culprits were arrested alive, we NEVER then heard as to what happened to him? Did his arrest lead to reaching the source of the terrorist activity? Were there any related arrests made? NEVER !!

Very very dodgy organization.

The ISI should be the premier agency to stop external and internal threats to PK. External threat is Ind, US and Israel and internal threats come from the mafia. It has failed on both counts. It has become an agency that works at the whim of Generals and its main emphasis seems to blackmail politicians on behalf of a mafia that its in cahoots with.

The Supreme Court (SC) on Sunday issued a rebuttal and denied that PTI Senator Azam Swati stayed at its judicial lodges in Quetta in the wake of his claim that an objectionable video from his stay there was sent to his wife.

A day ago, Swati burst into tears before the media, saying that his wife had received a video featuring him and her and about which he could not share further details because the “daughters of my country are listening”. The senator had blamed the interior minister and two military officers for conspiring against him and said they should be held accountable if something happened to him.

He had said that his daughter had told him that the video was from when Swati and his wife had visited Quetta. Recalling that visit, the senator said Senate Chairperson Sadiq Sanjrani had made arrangements for them to stay at the Supreme Court’s judicial lodges in Quetta.

The development was widely condemned from across the political aisle.

Responding to Swati’s claims, a press release from the apex court clarified that the senator “never used/stayed in Supreme Court Judges Rest House at Quetta”, adding that according to the Balochistan Special Branch, the PTI leader had styed at the Balochistan Judicial Academy (Judicial Complex Quetta), which was not under the apex court’s control.

Soon after, PTI leader Fawad Chaudhry appeared to mock the apex court’s statement, saying it was an attempt by the registrar to placate the judges about the security of their lodges.

Meanwhile, the Senate chairman comprised a special committee of 14 senators to probe the matter. The notification from the Senate Secretariat said the committee would present its report within 30 days after its first meeting.

The committee included a single PTI senator, Mohsin Aziz.

Balochistan Judicial Academy rejects SC statement
Hours later, a press release from the Balochistan Judicial Academy said that since September 2019, the academy was functioning in an old building on Anscomb Road for “academic purposes without any having any facility of accommodation”.

It added that prior to September 2019, it was functioning in two rooms and one hall in Balochistan University Law College on a rental basis, saying that even at that time it did not have any accommodation or rest house facility.

“The report of Balochistan Special Branch with regard to Balochistan Judicial Academy is misconceived and baseless,” the press release reads.

Most shameful thing in country’s history: Imran
Talking on Swati’s issue during a press conference in Lahore, PTI Chairman Imran Khan termed the matter as the “most shameful thing in the country’s history”.

Imran said the incident had “shocked the nation” and called on Chief Justice of Pakistan Umar Ata Bandial to ensure a full investigation on the matter.

“The usual suspects who are trying to cover this up and my assassination attempt are saying it’s a fake video,” he said, adding that Swati had told him he would be staging a sit-in protest outside the apex court and demanding justice for himself.

Imran said PTI senators would be with Swati as well and called on lawyer organisations for their support too.

DAWN

The ISI should be the premier agency to stop external and internal threats to PK. External threat is Ind, US and Israel and internal threats come from the mafia. It has failed on both counts. It has become an agency that works at the whim of Generals and its main emphasis seems to blackmail politicians on behalf of a mafia that its in cahoots with.

A few years ago, I was arguing with a guy and almost had a physical altercation when he stated that all these public suicide bombings in Pakistan is actually done by the Pak army to make a case in front of USA, and get more and more funds to fight against the terrorism.

It all make sense now.
NEVER EVER was ANYTHING done in the name of a solid investigation leading to find and eradicate the root cause of any suicide bomber - whether his blown head was identified in the aftermath of the attack or whether he was captured alive by the public and local police.
We never heard of any judicial case or an FIR against ANYONE named from the suicide attacks investigation.

Soon as PTI or any govt tries to stand against the top culprits in the army's top brass, mysteriously you have TTP Pakistan and whatnot, start rising up their ugly heads and make claims to be behind the suicide attacks - but soon as the govt subdues to the army generals, these terrorists organizations mysteriously go completely quite.

This is all now looks very, very dodgy.

A few years ago, I was arguing with a guy and almost had a physical altercation when he stated that all these public suicide bombings in Pakistan is actually done by the Pak army to make a case in front of USA, and get more and more funds to fight against the terrorism.

It all make sense now.
NEVER EVER was ANYTHING done in the name of a solid investigation leading to find and eradicate the root cause of any suicide bomber - whether his blown head was identified in the aftermath of the attack or whether he was captured alive by the public and local police.
We never heard of any judicial case or an FIR against ANYONE named from the suicide attacks investigation.

Soon as PTI or any govt tries to stand against the top culprits in the army's top brass, mysteriously you have TTP Pakistan and whatnot, start rising up their ugly heads and make claims to be behind the suicide attacks - but soon as the govt subdues to the army generals, these terrorists organizations mysteriously go completely quite.

This is all now looks very, very dodgy.

As bad as they are,I don't want to believe that our own people have been killing people on mass for money. We know now that the likes of Arshad and Dr Rizwan were murdered by very dark people behind them and side of me is hoping ( desperately) that's not our army. But the more I see their desperation to cling on to power and control, the more I am losing hope. I know people that were fanatically pro army, and they have lost any faith in them. The mafia have destroyed every institution and the army has also gone. Bajwa and the company will go to Belgium and Australia but PK will be the loser

Whoever filmed this and used it are not Muslims.

This is disgusting as one can imagine in a nation like Pakistan.

Very brave of the Senator to give the truth.

Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah has cast doubt on the veracity of the purported video of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Senator Azam Swati, ARY News reported on Sunday.

Rana Sanaullah said in a statement that it would take only three seconds to realise that Azam Swati’s purported video is fake. He raised the question of why Swati confirmed the veracity of the video.

The interior minister said that PTI chief Imran Khan failed to lodge a ‘fake FIR’ and police force has the power to reject filing an FIR of an individual aiming to get personal gains.

==

What can one say about the mental state of this minister?

Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Umar Ata Bandial on Monday said that the Supreme Court’s (SC) human rights cell was looking into the objectionable video involving Senator Azam Swati and his wife, which the PTI leader says was sent to him and is from his stay at the apex court’s judicial lodges in Quetta.

On Saturday, Swati burst into tears before the media, saying that his wife had received a video featuring him and her and about which he could not share further details because the “daughters of my country are listening”. The senator had blamed the interior minister and two military officers for conspiring against him and said they should be held accountable if something happened to him.

He had said that his daughter had told him that the video was from when Swati and his wife had visited Quetta. Recalling that visit, the senator said Senate Chairperson Sadiq Sanjrani had made arrangements for them to stay at the Supreme Court’s judicial lodges in Quetta.

The development was widely condemned from across the political aisle. Subsequently, Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif ordered the interior ministry to take notice of the issue.

However, in a rebuttal issued yesterday, the SC said that Swati had “never used/stayed in Supreme Court Judges Rest House at Quetta”.

During the hearing of a contempt plea against PTI chairman Imran Khan today, the CJP remarked that the top court’s HR Cell had taken up Swati’s matter, elaborating that the SC would intervene if required.

“But you never stayed at the Supreme Court’s rest house,” the top judge added. “Your request is being reviewed and the matter will be dealt with according to the law.”

Meanwhile, Swati said that he could only show the video to the apex court’s judges.

Here, CJP Bandial said: “Swati sahab, may God give you patience […] we are instructing Pemra (Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority) and PTA (Pakistan Telecommunication Authority) to remove the alleged video.”

The senator, however, contended that it was possible that the video which was circulating online was not the same as the video sent to him.

“For now, let the HR Cell see the matter […] let it mature until the material comes […],” Justice Bandial said, urging Swati to stay strong. “We don’t know how many enemies you have and who are they.

“The truth will only come out after investigation. Today, it has become very difficult to find the truth. The truth is hidden beneath many layers of lies,” the CJP added.

Separately, Justice Bandial also said that the court had initiated proceedings on the application filed by the mother of journalist Arshad Sharif — who was killed in Kenya last month.

“We are summoning a report from the committee that had gone to Kenya for an investigation,” he stated.

In a letter to the SC last week, Sharif’s mother requested the CJP to set up a judicial commission comprising senior Supreme Court judges to determine the real motive and identify criminals behind her son’s killing.

“Only knowing the real motive and criminals and bringing them to justice will end the agony of Shaheed Arshad Sharif’s family and his journalist fraternity,” stated Sharif’s mother, Riffat Ara Alvi, in the two-page letter.

“Otherwise, I will rest my case to Allah awaiting His justice,” she said, also expressing confidence that her letter would receive due attention given the gravity of the case and not ignored like her son’s earlier letter he wrote to the authorities informing about the threats to his life.

On Oct 31, the government appointed retired judge Abdul Shakoor Paracha as the chairman of a three-member inquiry commission to probe into the mysterious murder of senior journalist Arshad Sharif in Kenya on Oct 23.

Growing up in Pakistan, every child´s dream used to be of wanting to join the army, ideally becoming a pilot, and me and my elder brother too happened to be one of the many such ones. Right from our school to our TV dramas, glorification of the "boys" was the first thing that was fed to us. Now, it was either during the ODI World Cup 2011 or months thereafter, I made use of the facility of the Internet to read the history of wars and conflicts of the modern age, including the two world wars. However, what came as an absolute shock was discovering what the boys did to the Bangladesh women in the 1971 war, it one of the biggest instances of war crimes in the modern history. I felt cheated, I felt betrayed, I felt disgusted, to the extent that I completely lost my calm in a heated exchange with my father over this particular issue. To add to this are many other acts of the boys, such as the treatment that was handed to Maadar-e-Millat, Fatima Jinnah, the murders of Liaquat Ali Khan and Z.A. Bhutto, the imposition of multiple martial laws in the country, the era of Zia-ul-Haq. The current era actually just seems a continuity of what has transpired in the past all those years. To add to this are the issues in Balochistan and as is also giving birth to and the funding of militant groups, groups against whom they later on themselves had to launch the Zarb-e-Azb operation - underlining the utter stupidity and foolishness of the policies of the boys over the decades! So, I´ve had reservations about them since more than a decade now, and I´ve always held Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the Founder of Bangladesh, in immense respect for his struggle against these tyrants, which included our political leadership of back then. My opinion on this matter is well-known amongst my family and friends, it´s just that I´ve never quite had the energy to type it all over here on the forum, especially with the username that I´ve; and in general such an opinion invites a huge backlash in our country. What is happening to Azam Swati and his wife is something after which I just couldn´t hold back my guns and voiced my thoughts in this manner.

Some time ago, maybe it was the last year, I think, a raid on Maryam Nawaz "revealed" that she wasn´t staying in the same room of the hotel as her husband Safdar. The pro PTI journalists and their supporters etc. found this rather funny and gave much air to the speculations that theirs is a failed marriage on the verge of divorce. Well, what has happened to Mr. Swati and his wife might well have told you all as to why she doesn´t stay in the same hotel room as her husband. The boys are watching it all, my friends, the boys. Where´s Noor Jahan´s patriotic song in the background when you need one?

Growing up in Pakistan, every child´s dream used to be of wanting to join the army, ideally becoming a pilot, and me and my elder brother too happened to be one of the many such ones. Right from our school to our TV dramas, glorification of the "boys" was the first thing that was fed to us. Now, it was either during the ODI World Cup 2011 or months thereafter, I made use of the facility of the Internet to read the history of wars and conflicts of the modern age, including the two world wars. However, what came as an absolute shock was discovering what the boys did to the Bangladesh women in the 1971 war, it one of the biggest instances of war crimes in the modern history. I felt cheated, I felt betrayed, I felt disgusted, to the extent that I completely lost my calm in a heated exchange with my father over this particular issue. To add to this are many other acts of the boys, such as the treatment that was handed to Maadar-e-Millat, Fatima Jinnah, the murders of Liaquat Ali Khan and Z.A. Bhutto, the imposition of multiple martial laws in the country, the era of Zia-ul-Haq. The current era actually just seems a continuity of what has transpired in the past all those years. To add to this are the issues in Balochistan and as is also giving birth to and the funding of militant groups, groups against whom they later on themselves had to launch the Zarb-e-Azb operation - underlining the utter stupidity and foolishness of the policies of the boys over the decades! So, I´ve had reservations about them since more than a decade now, and I´ve always held Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the Founder of Bangladesh, in immense respect for his struggle against these tyrants, which included our political leadership of back then. My opinion on this matter is well-known amongst my family and friends, it´s just that I´ve never quite had the energy to type it all over here on the forum, especially with the username that I´ve; and in general such an opinion invites a huge backlash in our country. What is happening to Azam Swati and his wife is something after which I just couldn´t hold back my guns and voiced my thoughts in this manner.

Some time ago, maybe it was the last year, I think, a raid on Maryam Nawaz "revealed" that she wasn´t staying in the same room of the hotel as her husband Safdar. The pro PTI journalists and their supporters etc. found this rather funny and gave much air to the speculations that theirs is a failed marriage on the verge of divorce. Well, what has happened to Mr. Swati and his wife might well have told you all as to why she doesn´t stay in the same hotel room as her husband. The boys are watching it all, my friends, the boys. Where´s Noor Jahan´s patriotic song in the background when you need one?

As you may or may not know but I have been one of the most vocal supporters of the Army and deep down I will remain so. But their behaviour has been appalling and it will take some for me to trust them again.

Video genuine except a few additions, says Swati
PTI demands resignation of Senate chairman

ISLAMABAD:
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Senator Azam Swati said on Monday the controversial video sent to his family was original but a few additional things were included in it, insisting that the video was recorded during his stay on Quetta.

Talking to the media outside the Supreme Court, the senator said that he was not fighting the case of his or his wife rather he was fighting for every daughter in this country. He added Chief of Army Staff Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa had sent him a message and assured him justice.

The army chief, he added, “sent a message through his right-hand person that I will get justice”, Swati said. He questioned why there was delay in his case. He said that the concerned assistant director of Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) should be summoned to GHQ to reveal at whose behest the incident happened.

Swati said that his video was sent to his daughter, adding that a few extras shots were added to it but the “rest is original”. “I was the guest of the Senate Chairman in Quetta. I was told that government officers and judges had come to the place where I was staying,” he continued. “The venue was Federal Lodge I Quetta.”

Responding to a question, he said after leaving the government, he did not go anywhere with his wife. He then asked Senate Chairman, saying: “Your job is to protect everyone’s honour.” Referring to an inquiry committee formed the Senate chairman, he said: “Why is the so-called committee formed?”

Meanwhile, the PTI and other opposition parties in the Senate condemned the cruel, inhuman and immoral treatment meted out to Senator Swati and rejected the special committee set up by the Senate chairman for inquiring into the incident. The joint opposition demanded resignation of Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani.

The joint opposition strongly condemned the assassination attempt on PTI Chairman and former Prime Minister Imran Khan and urged that immediate first information report (FIR) must be lodged against the accused named by the party.

Express Tribune

Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Senator Azam Swati on Tuesday approached the Supreme Court over the alleged violation of his dignity and privacy after his spouse was sent a private video of the two of them.

Swati filed a five-page application before the SC Human Rights cell, wherein he narrated how the objectionable video of him and his wife was received.

Video genuine except a few additions, says Swati
PTI demands resignation of Senate chairman

ISLAMABAD:
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Senator Azam Swati said on Monday the controversial video sent to his family was original but a few additional things were included in it, insisting that the video was recorded during his stay on Quetta.

Talking to the media outside the Supreme Court, the senator said that he was not fighting the case of his or his wife rather he was fighting for every daughter in this country. He added Chief of Army Staff Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa had sent him a message and assured him justice.

The army chief, he added, “sent a message through his right-hand person that I will get justice”, Swati said. He questioned why there was delay in his case. He said that the concerned assistant director of Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) should be summoned to GHQ to reveal at whose behest the incident happened.

Swati said that his video was sent to his daughter, adding that a few extras shots were added to it but the “rest is original”. “I was the guest of the Senate Chairman in Quetta. I was told that government officers and judges had come to the place where I was staying,” he continued. “The venue was Federal Lodge I Quetta.”

Responding to a question, he said after leaving the government, he did not go anywhere with his wife. He then asked Senate Chairman, saying: “Your job is to protect everyone’s honour.” Referring to an inquiry committee formed the Senate chairman, he said: “Why is the so-called committee formed?”

Meanwhile, the PTI and other opposition parties in the Senate condemned the cruel, inhuman and immoral treatment meted out to Senator Swati and rejected the special committee set up by the Senate chairman for inquiring into the incident. The joint opposition demanded resignation of Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani.

The joint opposition strongly condemned the assassination attempt on PTI Chairman and former Prime Minister Imran Khan and urged that immediate first information report (FIR) must be lodged against the accused named by the party.

Express Tribune

How crap and compromised is the FIA. These clowns declared the video fake without ever seeing it.

From what I read, the boys have now leaked a private video of PML-N´s Pervaiz Rasheed. Well done! Keep going!

As you may or may not know but I have been one of the most vocal supporters of the Army and deep down I will remain so. But their behaviour has been appalling and it will take some for me to trust them again.

I don´t one bit fault the sentiment. It´s most natural, of course. Even I become most sorrowful any time a news comes in of a terror attack against them or anyone of our soldiers get martyred. God forbid, if a war were to break out today between us and India, I would most naturally be more worried about the lives of our soldiers. Of course, I wouldn´t ever still be wishing ill for them. It´s just that their role has been extremely tainted throughout our history, and I wish that they learn to stay within their limits and just stick to the job that they´re supposed to do. Their needless and unfounded glorification disturbs me, of course.

PTI boycotts parliamentary body formed to probe Azam Swati’s allegations

ISLAMABAD: Sticking to its decision of boycotting the special committee formed by the Senate chairman to probe the alleged leak of an “objectionable” video of Senator Azam Swati, the PTI on Saturday asked the committee’s convener Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri to avoid any statement on the matter.

Referring to the criticism by Mr Haideri on Mr Swati for skipping committee meetings, Opposition Lea*der Senator Shahzad Waseem in a statement said the PTI had already “rejected” the committee formed by Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani for the very reason that Mr Swati wanted justice from the Supreme Court.

Moreover, Dr Waseem said a joint parliamentary party meeting of the PTI and the opposition’s coalition parties, held on Nov 7, had also rejected the committee through a resolution and decided that they would not be a part of its proceedings.

He said after the clear position of Mr Swati and the PTI’s allied parties, the statement of the convener pertaining to Mr Swati’s abnsence from the meeting was “contrary to the fact and inappropriate”.

After presiding over the meeting of the committee on Friday, Mr Haideri regretted the decision of Mr Swati to stay away from the proceedings, saying that in this situation, the committee would not be able to help the PTI senator.

DAWN

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I am shocked & appalled at how rapidly we are descending into not just a banana republic but a fascist state. How can anyone not understand the pain & suffering Senator Swati underwent with custodial torture & blackmailing video of him & his conservative wife sent to his family?</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1596726222964203520?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 27, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">His justifiable anger & frustration at the injustice meted out to him especially the doors of SC remaining closed to him despite over a fortnight of appeals by Senators in support of him. So he tweets & is arrested again. Everyone must raise their voice against this state fascism</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1596726225799553024?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 27, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I am shocked & appalled at how rapidly we are descending into not just a banana republic but a fascist state. How can anyone not understand the pain & suffering Senator Swati underwent with custodial torture & blackmailing video of him & his conservative wife sent to his family?</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1596726222964203520?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 27, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">His justifiable anger & frustration at the injustice meted out to him especially the doors of SC remaining closed to him despite over a fortnight of appeals by Senators in support of him. So he tweets & is arrested again. Everyone must raise their voice against this state fascism</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1596726225799553024?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 27, 2022</a></blockquote>

Background to these tweets:

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) senator Azam Swati was taken into custody for the second time early Sunday morning after a raid at his farmhouse reportedly by the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) Cyber ​​Crime Wing Islamabad team.

The senator was arrested pertaining to a case registered by the cybercrime wing on November 26, a copy of which is available with the Express Tribune, over 'controversial' tweets made recently allegedly against the government functionaries, including the chief of the army staff (COAS).

6GFdnBQ.png

Court hands over Swati to FIA on two-day physical remand
PTI leader was produced in duty magistrate Waqas Ahmed Raja's court; PEMRA imposes media ban

ISLAMABAD:
A local court in Islamabad on Sunday handed over Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) senator Azam Swati to Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) on two-day physical remand.

Judicial Magistrate’s duty judge Waqas Ahmed Raja heard the case of PTI Senator Azam Swati, who was arrested earlier today, and had reserved the decision on the Federal Investigation Agency’s (FIA) request for physical remand of Swati.

Babar Awan and Faisal Chaudhry appeared before the court on behalf of the PTI and FIA prosecutor, respectively.

The investigation officer implored the court that there are some controversial tweets that led to the arrest of the senator, adding that a narrative is being prepared and that a first information report (FIR) has already been registered against him earlier on this issue.

“He has not denied the tweet. He has committed this offense for the second time,” the investigating officer said.

Awan stated that the tweets made do not meet the provisions of the FIR, adding that the statement taken by the police has no legal status.

“Swati's statement of [Section] 164 was not taken. He was brutally tortured last time. He still hasn’t recovered from the torture,” Awan added.

The PTI advocate further told the court that the effects of physical and mental torture on Swati still remain, adding that this is not the rule of law, "it is a mockery and the murder of the law".

The lawyer furthered that there is a threat to the senator’s life.

He then told the court to take assurance from the FIA that if anything happens to Swati in their custody, they will be responsible.

“Name of FIA people present here should be put in the order sheet,” added Awan.

Swati was taken into custody for the second time early Sunday morning after a raid at his farmhouse by the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) Cyber ​​Crime Wing Islamabad team for allegedly tweeting against senior military officials.

A first information report (FIR) against Swati was registered by the cybercrime wing on November 26, a copy of which is available with the Express Tribune, over 'controversial' tweets made recently allegedly against government functionaries, including the chief of the army staff (COAS).

The report maintained that the PTI leader started a "highly obnoxious campaign of intimidating tweets" against state institutions, including the army chief "with malafide intentions and ulterior motives".

In a conversation with the FIA ​​team during the arrest, Swati said, “FIA officer Ayaz is my culprit, I don't want to see him here” as the PTI leader had accused the official of torturing him following his previous arrest in October.

Read PTI senators write to SC on Azam Swati's arrest, 'torture'

The senator also said that as soon as he delivered his speech at the party's rally in Rawalpindi held a day earlier he came back home, adding that he was "not one to run away and was not going to Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P)".

He furthered that his party has come out in favour of the rule of law and against oppression.

In an early morning tweet, party chief Imran Khan also vowed to continue the campaign "until we establish rule of law and real freedom".

The ousted premier on multiple occasions has decried 'custodial torture' on Swati and asked the chief justice of Pakistan to protect basic rights.

During his talk, Swati added that he is ready to go to the police station himself because the right way was being followed during his arrest today.

Referring to his 'custodial torture' during the previous arrest, the senator said “torturing and undressing after the arrest is wrong”.

The senator then left with the FIA ​​team after recording his stand. He will be produced in Duty Magistrate Waqas Ahmed Raja's court.

In solidarity with the senator, senior party leaders reached the F-8 area of the capital.

Express Tribune

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Article 14 of our Constitution refers to "Inviolability of dignity of man"; so my question to our Honourable SC Judges is whether this provision is only applicable to the powerful of the State & for everyone else there is no protection of their basic human dignity?</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1597133252955111424?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Senator Swati was stripped naked, tortured, humiliated through an illegal video sent to his wife. For weeks he has sought justice from SC to no avail. So when he reacts in justifiable anger & frustration, he is put in jail & at last count 15 FIRs registered against him across Pak</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1597133255467503616?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Again, I ask our Honourable judges where is the justice in all this? Is the Article 14 Constitutional provision only to be applied selectively for the high & mighty State functionaries?</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1597133261934764032?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I have signed this petition; and I want all those who are appalled at what Azam Swati continues to go through & those who care about rule of law & human rights should also sign this petition. <a href="https://t.co/qNosD2Z8m6">https://t.co/qNosD2Z8m6</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1597631806030782464?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 29, 2022</a></blockquote>

A district and sessions court on Thursday sent Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Senator Azam Swati to jail on a 14-day judicial remand in the case related to his 'controversial' tweets against senior military officials.

The Federal Investigation Agency IFIA) had filed an application seeking a judicial remand in the court of Judicial Magistrate Mohammad Shabbir Bhatti before the four-day physical remand was over.

During the hearing today, the judicial magistrate accepted the FIA’s request and directed Swati to appear on December 15.

Swati was taken into custody earlier this week for the second time after a raid at his farmhouse in Chak Shahzad by the FIA's Cyber Crime Wing Islamabad for allegedly tweeting against senior military officials.

He was later produced before a judicial magistrate, who handed him over to the FIA on a two-day physical remand. Two days later, his physical remand was extended by an additional four days.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The vengeful manner in which Senator Swati is being treated is shocking & condemnable. He was moved to PIMS early morning after suffering severe chest pains & breathing issues. While test results were awaited, Quetta police got him discharged & took him away endangering his life</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1598585636922998785?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 2, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Equally outrageous is what is being considered such a great crime would in entire civilised world be considered his democratic right to criticise. He must be released immediately. Sad to see our justice system unwilling to stop repeated violations of Swati's basic human rights.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1598585638915170304?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 2, 2022</a></blockquote>

A district court in Quetta remanded PTI Senator Azam Swati in police custody for five days on Sunday, a week after the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) arrested him in Islamabad in a case pertaining to controversial tweets against the military.

Swati’s arrest last week was the second time the senator was taken into custody by the FIA in less than two months over strong tweets about senior military leaders. He was arrested after the FIA booked him in a case registered under Section 20 of the Prevention of Electronic Crime Act 2016 (Peca), which deals with offences against the dignity of a person.

Meanwhile, he was also nominated in multiple first information reports registered in Balochistan and Sindh for using “derogatory language” and “provoking the people against the army”.

The senator was shifted to Quetta aboard a special flight amid tight security on Friday after the judicial magistrate of Islamabad handed him over to the Balochistan police.

From Quetta airport, he was taken to an unknown place and handed over to Balochistan Police on transit remand, a Dawn report said, adding that authorities were directed to present him before the court on December 4 (today).

Subsequently, Swati was presented before duty magistrate Sattar Bugti today in a case registered against him at Kuchlak Police Station, with police seeking his 10-day physical remand.

The magistrate, however, approved his physical remand for five days.

After the approval of Swati’s remand, PTI leader Qasim Suri said while speaking to the media outside the court that the FIR against Swati was “baseless”. He added that they would be consulting lawyers on approaching the high court on the matter.

Suri claimed Swati was “unwell” and that “FIRs were registered against other PTI leaders, including party chief Imran Khan, as well”.

In Balochistan, cases against Swati have also been registered at Bela, Hub, Khuzdar, Pasni and Zhob police stations.

Arrests over tweets

Where is the SC because this is a violation of their order. The crooked Generals must also have a lot on CJP Bandial, as he has fallen asleep. As I predicted this Munir will be just as committed to regime change as the crooked Bajwa. The Sharifs don't appoint you because you are pious and a patriot. He has been appointed to do a job for them

Good post. Chor government sent Azam Swati to Quetta so he can quietly be tortured by those who we do not name.

Moeed Pirzada made an excellent point in a video where he exposed bajwas hyporcisy and corruption, he said in a speech that army decided not to interfere in politics recently (which is an admission of them always interfering in politics), main point being, why did he send prison vans when the VONC was taking place. I am not even getting into allowing horse trading, their own and pdms corruption, torture and killing of PTI and patriotic journalists. That illegal election hosting chor hamza showbaz was illegally sitting in Punjab CM seat and ordered murder of PTI supporters in May, all that is fair per ''neutral'' bajwa.

It says a lot about the countrys decision makers that even today sworn traitors like ganja and his family of haramkhors are still enforced on us, when at least 80% of Pakistanis despise these looting bhaigairats.

Good post. Chor government sent Azam Swati to Quetta so he can quietly be tortured by those who we do not name.

Moeed Pirzada made an excellent point in a video where he exposed bajwas hyporcisy and corruption, he said in a speech that army decided not to interfere in politics recently (which is an admission of them always interfering in politics), main point being, why did he send prison vans when the VONC was taking place. I am not even getting into allowing horse trading, their own and pdms corruption, torture and killing of PTI and patriotic journalists. That illegal election hosting chor hamza showbaz was illegally sitting in Punjab CM seat and ordered murder of PTI supporters in May, all that is fair per ''neutral'' bajwa.

It says a lot about the countrys decision makers that even today sworn traitors like ganja and his family of haramkhors are still enforced on us, when at least 80% of Pakistanis despise these looting bhaigairats.

We are a mafia state led by the Generals and enabled by the mafia families, supported by what Stalin called the useful idiots. These uneducated morons have no morals or education to understand the destruction the mafia have caused.

SHC SEEKS DETAILS OF CASES REGISTERED AGAINST AZAM SWATI

The Sindh High Court (SHC) on Friday served notices to the provincial government, prosecutor general and the IG police over the registration of multiple cases against PTI senator Azam Swati, ARY News reported.

The notices were served on the complaint of Usman Swati, who challenged the registration of multiple cases against his father in Sindh.

Justice K.K Agha asked where is Azam Swati on which Anwar Mansoor replied, he is in police custody in Quetta.

Mansoor said his client was booked in different cases across the province on the same issue and termed it as a violation of the SC orders.

The SHC while issuing notices to the Sindh government, prosecutor general and IG police and summoned details of the cases registered against Azam Swati by the concerned SSPs on December 22.

Earlier, Balochistan High Court (BHC) ordered to not register more cases against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Senator Azam Swati.

The two-member bench comprising Justice Kamran Mulla Khel and Justice Amir Rana ordered the provincial police to not register anymore against the PTI senator.

ARY

BHC ORDERS RELEASE OF AZAM SWATI, DIRECTS QUASHING ALL FIRS AGAINST HIM

In a major relief to Azam Swati, the Balochistan High Court (BHC) on Friday ordered to quash all the FIRs registered against the PTI lawmaker in the province, ARY News reported.

Usman Swati had challenged the registration of FIRs against his father in Balochistan following the arrest in the case of controversial tweets.

Justice Hashim Kakar in his decision ordered to quash all five FIRs registered against Azam Swati and ordered to release him.

Earlier, Balochistan High Court (BHC) had ordered to not register more cases against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Senator Azam Swati.

On the other hand, Sindh High Court (SHC) has also served notices to the provincial government, prosecutor general and the IG police over the registration of multiple cases against PTI senator Swati.

The notices were served on the complaint of Usman Swati, who challenged the registration of multiple cases against his father in Sindh.

Justice K.K Agha asked where is Swati on which Anwar Mansoor replied, he is in police custody in Quetta.

Mansoor said his client was booked in different cases across the province on the same issue and termed it as a violation of the SC orders.

ARY

PTI Senator Azam Swati was taken into custody by Sindh police from Quetta, hours after Balochistan High Court (BHC) quashed all cases registered against him across the province and also ordered his release.

According to Express News, Swati's lawyer Iqbal Shah confirmed the development saying that the PTI leader was handed over to Sindh police and added that he had been transferred to Sindh through a special plane.

PTI’s Balochistan chapter president Qasim Khan Suri said the party was in process of fulfilling legal formalities to quash the remaining two FIRs against Swati when the Sindh police shifted him to unknown location “after abducting in a special plane”.

Azam Swati’s Islamabad farmhouse sealed over ‘building violations’

The Capital Development Authority (CDA) on Saturday sealed the farmhouse of detained PTI Senator Azam Swati — who was arrested last month for controversial tweets against senior military officials — located on Islamabad’s Murree Road over violation of building laws.

Swati has been in custody since November 27 over “highly obnoxious campaign of intimidating tweets […] against state institutions”. Last week he was flown to Quetta by police, where the five cases against him were quashed by the Balochistan High Court yesterday. Hours later, he was taken into custody by the Sindh police for cases there.

According to a report issued by the authority, the farmhouse was “transferred to Mrs Tahira Swati” (the PTI leader’s wife) on March 25, 2014, and its building plan was approved on May 7, 2015.

“The basement was not approved in the building plan,” the CDA said, going on that the first notice in this regard was issued to Swati in 2016. It stated that a reminder was also issued to the senator after a survey of the farmhouse was conducted in 2018.

“There was a deviation from the approved building plan as servant quarter/Kitchen, office block and tractor trolley shed are not constructed. The observations regarding violations were separately conveyed on 29-11-2018.”

Hence, the CDA said, a show-cause notice was issued to Swati on November 4, 2022, in accordance with the ICT Building Control Regulations 2020 “with instructions to show sufficient cause within seven days as to why such violations have not been removed and why the premises may not be sealed off until compliance of the by-laws or removal of the same by the authority at the risk and cost beside imposing a penalty”.

The report added that a final notice regarding the matter was issued to the senator on November 16 — in which the CDA had warned that if violations were not removed within seven days, it would seal the farmhouse.

It further said that Swati had approached the court seeking a restraining order for the farmhouse until November 30. “Thereafter hearings were held on December 6, December 8 and December 9 and the honourable Court of Saqib Jawad Civil has ordered that the application in hand for grant of temporary injunction stands dismissed on 09-12-2022.

“As the temporary injunction stands dismissed, hence it is proposed that non-compoundable violations may be removed by the authority besides sealing of the premises/property with the assistance of the Enforcement Directorate and ICT administration until willingness of the owner to comply at his own of the Islamabad Capital Territory Building Control Regulations-2020,” the report concluded.

Swati flown to Sindh, says lawyer
Meanwhile, Swati’s lawyer Advocate Iqbal Shah told Dawn.com that the senator was flown to Sindh via a special flight on Friday night.

He also said that two new complaints had been lodged against the PTI leader in Balochistan’s Bela and Winder for using “offensive language” against senior military officials.

The first information reports (FIRs), that are available with Dawn.com, invoke sections 504 (intentional insult with intent to provoke breach of the peace), 505 (statements conducing to public mischief), 153A (promoting enmity between different groups, etc), 124A (sedition), and 123A (condemnation of the creation of the State, and advocacy of abolition of its sovereignty) of the Pakistan Penal Code.

“We will approach the high court with petitions against these cases,” Shah added.

Arrest and transfers
Swati’s arrest last month had come after an FIR was registered by the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) on the complaint of the state through Islamabad Cyber Crime Reporting Centre (CCRC) Technical Assistant Aneesur Rehman.

The complaint was registered under Section 20 of the Prevention of Electronic Crime Act 2016 (Peca) which deals with offences against dignity of a person as well as Sections 131 (abetting mutiny or attempting to seduce a soldier from his duty),500 (punishment for defamation), 501 (defamation and printing of content deemed defamatory), Section 505 (statement conducing to public mischief) and 109 (abetment) of the Pakistan Penal Code (PPC).

Separate FIRs were also registered against the PTI leader in Balochistan and Sindh as well. Last week, Swati was brought to Quetta from Islamabad in one such case registered at the Kuchlak police station.

The judicial magistrate of Kuchlak had remanded Swati in police custody for five days. During a hearing on Friday, the Balochistan High Court had ordered the quashing of all five cases registered against him in the province.

Hours after the order was passed, Swati’s lawyer told Dawn.com that the PTI senator had been handed over to the Sindh police.

In a related development, the Sindh High Court issued notices to the police, FIA and other respondents yesterday in two petitions challenging the registration of identical cases against Swati in the province.

The two-judge bench, headed by Justice Moham*mad Karim Khan Agha, asked the police to submit details of the cases on Dec 22, the next date of hearing.

DAWN

Azam Swati’s Islamabad farmhouse sealed over ‘building violations’

The Capital Development Authority (CDA) on Saturday sealed the farmhouse of detained PTI Senator Azam Swati — who was arrested last month for controversial tweets against senior military officials — located on Islamabad’s Murree Road over violation of building laws.

Swati has been in custody since November 27 over “highly obnoxious campaign of intimidating tweets […] against state institutions”. Last week he was flown to Quetta by police, where the five cases against him were quashed by the Balochistan High Court yesterday. Hours later, he was taken into custody by the Sindh police for cases there.

According to a report issued by the authority, the farmhouse was “transferred to Mrs Tahira Swati” (the PTI leader’s wife) on March 25, 2014, and its building plan was approved on May 7, 2015.

“The basement was not approved in the building plan,” the CDA said, going on that the first notice in this regard was issued to Swati in 2016. It stated that a reminder was also issued to the senator after a survey of the farmhouse was conducted in 2018.

“There was a deviation from the approved building plan as servant quarter/Kitchen, office block and tractor trolley shed are not constructed. The observations regarding violations were separately conveyed on 29-11-2018.”

Hence, the CDA said, a show-cause notice was issued to Swati on November 4, 2022, in accordance with the ICT Building Control Regulations 2020 “with instructions to show sufficient cause within seven days as to why such violations have not been removed and why the premises may not be sealed off until compliance of the by-laws or removal of the same by the authority at the risk and cost beside imposing a penalty”.

The report added that a final notice regarding the matter was issued to the senator on November 16 — in which the CDA had warned that if violations were not removed within seven days, it would seal the farmhouse.

It further said that Swati had approached the court seeking a restraining order for the farmhouse until November 30. “Thereafter hearings were held on December 6, December 8 and December 9 and the honourable Court of Saqib Jawad Civil has ordered that the application in hand for grant of temporary injunction stands dismissed on 09-12-2022.

“As the temporary injunction stands dismissed, hence it is proposed that non-compoundable violations may be removed by the authority besides sealing of the premises/property with the assistance of the Enforcement Directorate and ICT administration until willingness of the owner to comply at his own of the Islamabad Capital Territory Building Control Regulations-2020,” the report concluded.

Swati flown to Sindh, says lawyer
Meanwhile, Swati’s lawyer Advocate Iqbal Shah told Dawn.com that the senator was flown to Sindh via a special flight on Friday night.

He also said that two new complaints had been lodged against the PTI leader in Balochistan’s Bela and Winder for using “offensive language” against senior military officials.

The first information reports (FIRs), that are available with Dawn.com, invoke sections 504 (intentional insult with intent to provoke breach of the peace), 505 (statements conducing to public mischief), 153A (promoting enmity between different groups, etc), 124A (sedition), and 123A (condemnation of the creation of the State, and advocacy of abolition of its sovereignty) of the Pakistan Penal Code.

“We will approach the high court with petitions against these cases,” Shah added.

Arrest and transfers
Swati’s arrest last month had come after an FIR was registered by the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) on the complaint of the state through Islamabad Cyber Crime Reporting Centre (CCRC) Technical Assistant Aneesur Rehman.

The complaint was registered under Section 20 of the Prevention of Electronic Crime Act 2016 (Peca) which deals with offences against dignity of a person as well as Sections 131 (abetting mutiny or attempting to seduce a soldier from his duty),500 (punishment for defamation), 501 (defamation and printing of content deemed defamatory), Section 505 (statement conducing to public mischief) and 109 (abetment) of the Pakistan Penal Code (PPC).

Separate FIRs were also registered against the PTI leader in Balochistan and Sindh as well. Last week, Swati was brought to Quetta from Islamabad in one such case registered at the Kuchlak police station.

The judicial magistrate of Kuchlak had remanded Swati in police custody for five days. During a hearing on Friday, the Balochistan High Court had ordered the quashing of all five cases registered against him in the province.

Hours after the order was passed, Swati’s lawyer told Dawn.com that the PTI senator had been handed over to the Sindh police.

In a related development, the Sindh High Court issued notices to the police, FIA and other respondents yesterday in two petitions challenging the registration of identical cases against Swati in the province.

The two-judge bench, headed by Justice Moham*mad Karim Khan Agha, asked the police to submit details of the cases on Dec 22, the next date of hearing.

DAWN

The old chestnut of building regs. This corrupt regime led by the Generals has a playbook and its going through each page. Where have they been for the last 8 years? It's not as if IK was in power when it was built. Shocking attempt to force Swati drop the allegations against the Generals that tortured and filmed him. And as for the Sindh govt- what a surprise, all the crap about being anti establishment exposed forever. And all done to make the carnival Khusra the PM

AZAM SWATI REMANDED INTO QAMBER POLICE CUSTODY

LARKANA: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Azam Swati has been remanded into police custody for three days, ARY News reported on Sunday.

As per details, Azam Swati was produced before the court of judicial magistrate Qamar in a case related to controversial tweets against the state institution.

At the outset of the hearing, Qambar police told the court that Azam Swati is booked in two FIRs on the complaints of Zameer Khoso and Qamaruddin. The police pleaded with the court to grant physical remand of the PTI lawmaker.

Later the court, granted three-day physical remand of PTI stalwart and handed over him to the police.

Earlier this week, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Senator Azam Swati was shifted to Sindh after the Balochistan High Court (BHC) ordered to quash all FIRs against him for delivering derogatory remarks against institutions.

In another development, the Sindh High Court (SHC) served notices to the provincial government, prosecutor general and the IG police over the registration of multiple cases against the PTI senator.

ARY

AZAM SWATI REMANDED INTO QAMBER POLICE CUSTODY

LARKANA: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Azam Swati has been remanded into police custody for three days, ARY News reported on Sunday.

As per details, Azam Swati was produced before the court of judicial magistrate Qamar in a case related to controversial tweets against the state institution.

At the outset of the hearing, Qambar police told the court that Azam Swati is booked in two FIRs on the complaints of Zameer Khoso and Qamaruddin. The police pleaded with the court to grant physical remand of the PTI lawmaker.

Later the court, granted three-day physical remand of PTI stalwart and handed over him to the police.

Earlier this week, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Senator Azam Swati was shifted to Sindh after the Balochistan High Court (BHC) ordered to quash all FIRs against him for delivering derogatory remarks against institutions.

In another development, the Sindh High Court (SHC) served notices to the provincial government, prosecutor general and the IG police over the registration of multiple cases against the PTI senator.

ARY

So the Junta are now playing silly games with the connivance the carnival Khusra and his murderous thugs that kill journalists for fun. Let no ever again say the PPP is a democratic Liberal party. Even as much as I hated BB, she would never have allowed the PPP to be used like this.

That idiot Billy Z even had the gall to go on about human rights.
[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] has done a runner. Remember when these losers accused IK of bring a fascist and as I said at the time his govt was the most democratic govt PK has seen so far. Billo the carnival clown has been a thrown a lollipop by the Junta and like a good good dog, he is following orders. Only one problem, neither him or his handlers have any support

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">If anyone wants to understand why Pakistan's economy is now a disaster, just 2 incidents provide the answer. 75 year old Senator Azam Swati has been subjected to custodial torture, beaten up in front of his grandchildren, his house vandalised & sealed, & he is being dragged from</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1601883970525863937?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 11, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I am appealing to the CJP to take notice of this letter's content. Already Senator Swati continues to suffer the worst form of human rights abuses sadly without any intervention from our honourable Judiciary. <a href="https://t.co/AWwfzbt5ls">pic.twitter.com/AWwfzbt5ls</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1602348468890210307?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 12, 2022</a></blockquote>

The Sindh High Court’s Hyderabad registry on Tuesday restrained the police from arresting PTI Senator Azam Swati in cases lodged against him within the jurisdiction — which includes Mithi, Nawabshah, and Hyderabad.

The court’s directives were issued during a hearing on the plea filed by the senator’s son Usman Swati which sought to quash the charges registered against the PTI leader.

Swati was arrested over a “highly obnoxious campaign of intimidating tweets […] against state institutions” by the Federal Investigation Agency on November 27 and has been in detention since and continues to face legal action. He is currently in the custody of Qambar Shahdadkot police.

Earlier this week, the SHC’s Karachi registry had barred the police from arresting the senator in additional cases and had sought details of the cases already registered against him in the province.

DAWN

No more cases to be registered against Swati in Sindh, orders SHC
Swati's custody transferred to Islamabad, cases upgraded to 'C class', making pleas ineffective, says prosecutor-general

The Sindh High Court (SHC) ordered on Thursday against the registration of any more cases against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Senator Azam Swati in the province over the controversial tweets matter.

"No more cases should be [registered] against Azam Swati in Sindh," the court remarked during the hearing of a plea filed by the PTI senator's son Usman Swati against the cases.

The senator is facing charges of libel for using foul language against military officers in his tweets. He had been in Sindh police custody before being shifted to Islamabad after the hearing today.

Swati was arrested over a “highly obnoxious campaign of intimidating tweets […] against state institutions” by the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) on November 27 from Islamabad and has been in detention since then — first in Quetta and later in Sindh’s Qambar.

Today's hearing
At the outset of the hearing, Sindh Prosecutor-General Faiz Shah, Sindh Inspector-General of Police (IGP) Ghulam Nabi Memon, South Deputy Inspector-General (DIG) Irfan Baloch, DIG Fida Hussain Janwari, Malir Senior Super Intendent of Police (SSP) and other officials attended the hearing held by a two-member SHC bench.

The Sindh prosecutor-general told the court Swati's custody has been transferred to the Islamabad Police.

"All the cases against Swati have been C-classed, therefore all the pleas filed in his cases have become ineffective," he said.

The official said that the cases against Swati had been lodged by private persons and the authorities were bound to record their statements under the law.

At this, Usman's lawyer said that the Sindh IGP has done a great job.

During the hearing, Justice KK Agha remarked that the government of Sindh and Sindh IGP can take credit for resolving the matter.

The prosecutor-general said that all matters will be dealt with as per the law.

The court remarked that cases against Swati had been registered in different areas under similar charges.

While issuing directives against the registration of cases against Swati, the court disposed of Usman's pleas and ordered the submission of reports on the C-class status of the cases in relevant courts within three days.

Later, Swati was shifted to Islamabad via a special jet from Sukkur, sources privy to the matter said. They said that Islamabad Superintendent of Police (SP) Rukhsar Mehdi took Swati with him.

Controversial tweets cases
Swati was booked in multiple cases across the country for his controversial tweets against senior military officers.

Initially, the senator was arrested by the FIA, on October 14, after he posted a highly-hateful and threatening message against the army chief, judiciary, and other state institutions, on his official Twitter account.

The senator had secured bail in that case. But on November 27, FIA once again arrested Swati for using abusive language against senior military officers, including former army chief Gen (retd) Qamar Javed Bajwa.

On December 2, Balochistan police arrested Swati for a similar case registered against him in Quetta.

At the time of his arrest, he was already on judicial remand in Rawalpindi’s Adiala Jail, following his detention for a second time in the controversial tweets case. He was then shifted to Quetta under a transit remand acquired by the Balochistan police.

However, the Balochistan High Court had issued directives not to register any more cases against Swati in the province and cancel all existing FIRs against him in the province.

But on December 9, Balochistan police handed over Swati to Sindh police.

The News PK

The Islamabad High Court (IHC) said on Friday rejected the plea of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Senator Azam Swati for seeking information about the cases lodged against him in other provinces, saying that the high court could not issue order to other provinces.

Announcing the reserved decision of the IHC on Swati’s request, Chief Justice Aamir Farooq said that as per the Supreme Court decision in the Sughran Bibi case, on one cause there cannot be more than one FIR registered against a person. However, he added that a mechanism could be created to implement the apex court ruling.

The ruling said that cases against Azam Swati registered in the areas outside the jurisdiction of the IHC, therefore, the ruling said, the court could not issue orders to Sindh and Balochistan. it asked the petitioner to approach the relevant forums.

The judgment emphasised that a system could be created to link police stations across the country. It said that the interior ministry or any other agency might put in place a mechanism to make information about the FIR available. Authorities might also suggest any other mechanism in this regard, it added.

Express Tribune