The forgotten horror of India’s "Breast Tax"

Major

ODI Star
Once upon a time in the princely state of Travancore (now Kerala, India), there existed a cruel and humiliating practice which was called the "Mulakkaram" or Breast Tax.

It wasn’t a myth. It was a tax imposed on lower-caste women who dared to cover their chests.

In 19th-century Travancore, caste determined everything, your job, your rights, even how much of your body you could cover. Women from "lower" castes were forbidden from covering their breasts in public. If they wished to drape cloth over their chests, they had to pay a tax. The more "well-endowed" a woman was, the higher the tax. Tax collectors would sometimes measure women’s breasts to determine the amount.

This wasn’t just a form of financial exploitation, it was humiliation codified into law. It was a system designed to ensure that lower-caste people never forgot their "place." But resistance was inevitable. Nangeli, a woman from the Ezhava community, refused to pay. One day, when the tax collectors arrived, she did the unthinkable.

In an act of ultimate defiance, Nangeli cut off her own breasts and placed them on a plantain leaf in front of the tax officers. She bled to death. Her sacrifice sparked outrage. Soon after, the Travancore kingdom abolished the Breast Tax.

Today, this dark chapter remains largely forgotten. But it serves as a reminder of the oppression women faced, and how one act of bravery can change history.

This is the first time I am hearing about this caste tax. Interesting.

Same. Even I have never heard of this. Though I have heard stories of women used to cut their breasts off.

There have lots of ill practices against women happened during medieval era everywhere in the world.

I can't believe this was real. Comical. :yk

==========================

From Wikipedia:

The "breast tax" caught wider attention in 2016, when BBC reporter Divya Arya reported on a series of paintings by artist Murali T on the legend of Nangeli. The village legend of Nangeli is about a woman who lived in the early 19th century in Cherthala in the state of Travancore, and supposedly cut off her breasts in an effort to protest against the caste-based "breast tax." According to the legend, she cut off her breasts and presented them to the tax collector in a plantain leaf, then died of blood loss.

According to local beliefs, the "breast tax" was imposed on lower class women if they covered their breasts in public, to disencourage them from doing so.

I can't believe this was real. Comical. :yk

==========================

From Wikipedia:

The "breast tax" caught wider attention in 2016, when BBC reporter Divya Arya reported on a series of paintings by artist Murali T on the legend of Nangeli. The village legend of Nangeli is about a woman who lived in the early 19th century in Cherthala in the state of Travancore, and supposedly cut off her breasts in an effort to protest against the caste-based "breast tax." According to the legend, she cut off her breasts and presented them to the tax collector in a plantain leaf, then died of blood loss.

According to local beliefs, the "breast tax" was imposed on lower class women if they covered their breasts in public, to disencourage them from doing so.

Lets protest against this breast tax. Coming? @sweep_shot

1742398805154.png

Once upon a time in the princely state of Travancore (now Kerala, India), there existed a cruel and humiliating practice which was called the "Mulakkaram" or Breast Tax.

It wasn’t a myth. It was a tax imposed on lower-caste women who dared to cover their chests.

In 19th-century Travancore, caste determined everything, your job, your rights, even how much of your body you could cover. Women from "lower" castes were forbidden from covering their breasts in public. If they wished to drape cloth over their chests, they had to pay a tax. The more "well-endowed" a woman was, the higher the tax. Tax collectors would sometimes measure women’s breasts to determine the amount.

This wasn’t just a form of financial exploitation, it was humiliation codified into law. It was a system designed to ensure that lower-caste people never forgot their "place." But resistance was inevitable. Nangeli, a woman from the Ezhava community, refused to pay. One day, when the tax collectors arrived, she did the unthinkable.

In an act of ultimate defiance, Nangeli cut off her own breasts and placed them on a plantain leaf in front of the tax officers. She bled to death. Her sacrifice sparked outrage. Soon after, the Travancore kingdom abolished the Breast Tax.

Today, this dark chapter remains largely forgotten. But it serves as a reminder of the oppression women faced, and how one act of bravery can change history.
So Travancore, is all of India??
When this tax existed, You were also part of that India. :ROFLMAO:

Not present India, issue is of a apart of Akhand Bharat.
One has to believe in the grand Bharatvarsh :D

@Bhaijaan : We have a fellow believer in Akhand Bharat and has query about the past.
So did this happen in India or not? The other day @Devadwal was going on about how India has existed for centuries.

Interesting, so anything bad that happened, you now divide the country on it by saying British India and Present India.

@DeadlyVenom you are right. These guys try to brush their mistakes under the carpet

Not present India, issue is of a apart of Akhand Bharat.
One has to believe in the grand Bharatvarsh :D

@Bhaijaan : We have a fellow believer in Akhand Bharat and has query about the past.

Major bhai is brilliant. He posts honestly about things in Pakistan. His hostile opinions of Bharat can be understood because of his past experiences bro. He’s open minded.

when was Afghanistan part of India?
Kandahar in old times was called Gandhara. Gandhara finds significant mention in Mahabhrat as part of the Kuru territory. Their mother is Gandhaari a princess of Gandhar.

Just because Muslims have a habit of desecrating and destroying old heritage doesn't mean history gets deleted.
Remember the Buddha statues of Bamiyan that the Taliban destroyed

1742400555442.png

Kandahar in old times was called Gandhara. Gandhara finds significant mention in Mahabhrat as part of the Kuru territory. Their mother is Gandhaari a princess of Gandhar.

Just because Muslims have a habit of desecrating and destroying old heritage doesn't mean history gets deleted.

View attachment 152402
Was afghanistan part of india or not?

No need for ********

View attachment 152402
Adding further, The rule of Kanishka under his Kushan empire.

1742400885525.png

Was afghanistan part of india or not?

No need for ********
Ab facts share kar diye .. aur kis language main bataaun bhai? 🤷‍♂️
Afghanistan is part of Akhand Bharat.
Shared historical facts.
Just a fact: World history is older than 1400 years. :moyo2. Maybe thats stumping you a little. :P

Ab facts share kar diye .. aur kis language main bataaun bhai? 🤷‍♂️
Afghanistan is part of Akhand Bharat.
Shared historical facts.
Just a fact: World history is older than 1400 years. :moyo2. Maybe thats stumping you a little. :P
So Afghanistan was part of India.
THe story i shared is from 19th century, so was Afhgansitan part of India in the 19th century?

So Afghanistan was part of India.
THe story i shared is from 19th century, so was Afhgansitan part of India in the 19th century?
Are we in 19th century? Are you or me in region of Travancore?
Did any of our ancestors have any dealing with the rulers of Travancore of 19th century?
I am as much related to the breast tax as you my brother and citizen of Akhand Bharat. :D

Did any of our ancestors have any dealing with the rulers of Travancore of 19th century?
I am as much related to the breast tax as you my brother and citizen of Akhand Bharat. :D
Its a story i shared, why you have been triggered and being insecure?

You started a rant about how Afghanistan is part of India, while the story is from 19th century

The idea of this thread started by @Major is that entire India had Dalit woman walking naked and it is all due to Hinduism and caste system. Not because of the dirtbag rulers of Travancore kingdom.

You see, if we point out the horrible slavery in Islamic empires, they cry Islamophobia. But they are free to point out pathetic stuff in Indian history and blame it all on Hinduism.

If you dig deeper, India has many weird stupid stuff at every corner of the country. It is not sanctioned by religion. Just some caste hindus humiliating dalits. Its good that all this stuff is banned now.
im planning to start a series on this. Every week we share a story of India doing stupid stuff. One story can be from the past and another in contemporary.

The idea of this thread started by @Major is that entire India had Dalit woman walking naked and it is all due to Hinduism and caste system. Not because of the dirtbag rulers of Travancore kingdom.

You see, if we point out the horrible slavery in Islamic empires, they cry Islamophobia. But they are free to point out pathetic stuff in Indian history and blame it all on Hinduism.
hain?

So i share a story which I learned after @DeadlyVenom mian told us, and now you think this thread is a conspiracy against India? Where did Hinduism come from?

So now you are going to do gymnastics about no this wasnt India? Like @Aang_The_last_airbender is doing bhangra that this all happened in India and was part of it but than spoke too much when he posted the map.

Islamic empires were also part of India wasnt it?

You lot are whining about Aurganzeb, but this breast tax story now has got you disturbed.

im planning to start a series on this. Every week we share a story of India doing stupid stuff. One story can be from the past and another in contemporary.
Will it be ok if we dig a little deeper into Islamic past? I have tons of material on it.

Heck, I have some material I can remember from the Hazrat Umar's hadith about slave woman serving their Muslim masters. But it will derail the thread and I do not have too much free time to follow up on the posts.

We can also talk for days about the Ottoman caliphate and their treatment of African and Balkan slaves. Pretty graphic.

Will it be ok if we dig a little deeper into Islamic past? I have tons of material on it.

Heck, I have some material I can remember from the Hazrat Umar's hadith about slave woman serving their Muslim masters. But it will derail the thread and I do not have too much free time to follow up on the posts.

We can also talk for days about the Ottoman caliphate and their treatment of African and Balkan slaves. Pretty graphic.
post it in a relevant or new thread. why you asking for my permission?

What makes you think I will defend the ottoman empire? Bhai, i dont know about you or others, but just because i am a muslim i dont feel the need to defend all muslims. I just share a religion thats it. Nationality is another story.

hain?

So i share a story which I learned after @DeadlyVenom mian told us, and now you think this thread is a conspiracy against India? Where did Hinduism come from?

So now you are going to do gymnastics about no this wasnt India? Like @Aang_The_last_airbender is doing bhangra that this all happened in India and was part of it but than spoke too much when he posted the map.

Islamic empires were also part of India wasnt it?

You lot are whining about Aurganzeb, but this breast tax story now has got you disturbed.
Should we discussing about slavery and marrying of 6 year old girls to 50 year old men is Islamic cultures ?
Insensitive mockery is insensitive mockery. I dont want to get banned because this is not an equal forum in matters of religion. You are living in a well constructed safe bubble. Again, we have a couple of solid trolls who are pure filth.
Your mocking us about Olympic gold was lovely banter, but dont stoop the filthy level of those couple of posters.
Next time when the western media and Hindus club all Muslims as terrorists, dont cry Islamophobia. You are doing the exact same thing that prejudiced biigoted lazy people do. Its easy but be better man, India has plenty of actually issues where u can mock us mercilessly and we would have no good response.
Dont stoop to bigotry. Leave the filth to those who love to waddle in gutters.

Should we discussing about slavery and marrying of 6 year old girls to 50 year old men is Islamic cultures ?
Insensitive mockery is insensitive mockery. I dont want to get banned because this is not an equal forum in matters of religion. You are living in a well constructed safe bubble. Again, we have a couple of solid trolls who are pure filth.
Your mocking us about Olympic gold was lovely banter, but dont stoop the filthy level of those couple of posters.
Next time when the western media and Hindus club all Muslims as terrorists, dont cry Islamophobia. You are doing the exact same thing that prejudiced biigoted lazy people do. Its easy but be better man, India has plenty of actually issues where u can mock us mercilessly and we would have no good response.
Dont stoop to bigotry. Leave the filth to those who love to waddle in gutters.
I cant stop you from discussing anything. Why you asking for my persmission?

Anyways this was a discussion on what India used to do. DInt know this was to become a hindu vs muslim matter. You really dont know me do you. Me crying Islamophobia? lol

I cant stop you from discussing anything. Why you asking for my persmission?

Anyways this was a discussion on what India used to do. DInt know this was to become a hindu vs muslim matter. You really dont know me do you. Me crying Islamophobia? lol
The bold part is the error.
Breast tax is not related to India. Again, you are making the same mistake. Its like associating whatever Taliban does with whole of Islamic world. Whatever ISIS did with regards to keeping women as sex slaves as what Muslims did in very recent memory.

If I start a thread about modern day sex slavery under Muslim Rule of 21st century, it will be instantly deleted and I will get warned by the moderators.
Peace out! I will tag this thread whenever you cry about Islamophobia.

Don’t think it’s a laughing matter, also not that you guys actually care about, just to show yourself superior.

Can’t recall but Freud or Nietzsche had a word for it.

post it in a relevant or new thread. why you asking for my permission?

What makes you think I will defend the ottoman empire? Bhai, i dont know about you or others, but just because i am a muslim i dont feel the need to defend all muslims. I just share a religion thats it. Nationality is another story.
I like your honesty.

Criticism must be done irrespective of religion. This is why past was a horrendous place to live if someone is not born in the right kind of family. No religion or culture or nation is immune to it. I am hopeful that the world is moving in the right direction walking over its pathetic past. India is one of the oldest known civilizations. It has a lot of unpleasant baggage attached to it. Much of it does not make any sense. At least the religion of Hinduism that is practiced in the past 1000 year or so. What used to be a society of free thought and debates has reduced into a dogmatic blind ritual society with pathetic practices. This is why I left the religion though I culturally remain a Hindu Indian.

The bold part is the error.
Breast tax is not related to India. Again, you are making the same mistake. Its like associating whatever Taliban does with whole of Islamic world. Whatever ISIS did with regards to keeping women as sex slaves as what Muslims did in very recent memory.

If I start a thread about modern day sex slavery under Muslim Rule of 21st century, it will be instantly deleted and I will get warned by the moderators.
Peace out! I will tag this thread whenever you cry about Islamophobia.
so last week you guys made a claim that India has existed for centuries and 1947 did not make India.

Now you are doing this gymnaastic that that was a different country.

Just a while a go, you were calling it akhand bharat, shared a wrong map of India, were corrected, now you do this. lol

The discrimination was real but to empathise from a genuine pov one should be able to not put themselves or their culture/religion on a pedestal.

so last week you guys made a claim that India has existed for centuries and 1947 did not make India.

Now you are doing this gymnaastic that that was a different country.

Just a while a go, you were calling it akhand bharat, shared a wrong map of India, were corrected, now you do this. lol
When did I share any wrong map of Akhand Bharat?
Afghanistan is part of Akhand Bharat, I have shared you a few of Indian rulers who ruled over that land
Please understand modern India is different from the historical and future "Akhand Bharat".

When did I share any wrong map of Akhand Bharat?
Afghanistan is part of Akhand Bharat, I have shared you a few of Indian rulers who ruled over that land
Please understand modern India is different from the historical and future "Akhand Bharat".
in 19th century, Afhganistan was part of India?

This story in op is form teh 19th century

Ab itna narrow focus toh history ke exam main bhi nahi kiya.
chalo lets humor you.

So do you mean to say there is no concept of Pakistan in the 19th century?

How many Indian posters have condemned this discriminatory breast tax?

All I am seeing are deflection and whataboutism. Classic Indian trait. They don't seem to believe in self-accountability.

:inti

Don’t think it’s a laughing matter, also not that you guys actually care about, just to show yourself superior.

Can’t recall but Freud or Nietzsche had a word for it.

Agree it's not a laughing matter, but bearing in mind the modern hindutva narrative that the Mughals were barbarians who forced conversion to Islam at the sword, this does provide some perspective. What we call India today was both racist and mysoginist to the core. For vast swathes of Indians, new religions like Islam and Christianity brought them status they were denied by birthright in their old ways. Even Sikhism recognised this and cast of many of the more unpalatable beliefs of Hinduism.

How many Indian posters have condemned this discriminatory breast tax?

All I am seeing are deflection and whataboutism. Classic Indian trait. They don't seem to believe in self-accountability.

:inti
One of them is claiming that Afg was part of India

Agree it's not a laughing matter, but bearing in mind the modern hindutva narrative that the Mughals were barbarians who forced conversion to Islam at the sword, this does provide some perspective. What we call India today was both racist and mysoginist to the core. For vast swathes of Indians, new religions like Islam and Christianity brought them status they were denied by birthright in their old ways. Even Sikhism recognised this and cast of many of the more unpalatable beliefs of Hinduism.

Many conversions in subcontinent were voluntary conversions. This is a fact which BJP lunatics fail to understand.

India was racist in the past and it still is. Nothing has changed. Their racism has increased in modern times due to BJP WhatsApp University. :inti

Hain conversion by the sword? Which of this Indians spread this bs?

Islam in this part of the world spread through the sufis. Like their is a shrine called Nizamuddin in Delhi and than their is Ajmer Sharif in Ajmer of Rajistan.

Many conversions in subcontinent were voluntary conversions. This is a fact which BJP lunatics fail to understand.

India was racist in the past and it still is. Nothing has changed. Their racism has increased in modern times due to BJP WhatsApp University. :inti

BJP lunatics fully understand it. But rather than face the reality, they believe with enough misinformation and propaganda, they can reinvent some parts of Hindu history by throwing mud at the Mughals era.

I hope our Hindu friends will take this the right way, I do have a lot of time for some of the great thinkers which their society produced, and there is a lot of spiritual depth to the faith. But they are in danger of losing their more holistic wisdom if these BJP vandals continue to mutate the history of the subcontinent.

BJP lunatics fully understand it. But rather than face the reality, they believe with enough misinformation and propaganda, they can reinvent some parts of Hindu history by throwing mud at the Mughals era.

I hope our Hindu friends will take this the right way, I do have a lot of time for some of the great thinkers which their society produced, and there is a lot of spiritual depth to the faith. But they are in danger of losing their more holistic wisdom if these BJP vandals continue to mutate the history of the subcontinent.

They are more immature than a kindergarten kid.

It is laughable if they think they can reinvent history like that.

How will the Muslim population change in a hypothetical Akhand Bharat? I am asking because some people in India, who already find it difficult to coexist with Muslims, now seem to advocate for a larger Muslim population in the country. These same individuals often claim that "Hindu khatre mein hai", so what would happen to them if the Muslim population were to increase? :inti

Whatever Aurangzeb did, was it during the Akhand Bharat era or in present-day India? If it was the former, then why are Aang_Baang and others like him losing sleep over Aurangzeb nowadays? Can you their hypocrisy? :inti

Buddhism and Jainism did that already ,again any religion or philosophy has to stay with time, your again saying thing from pov of superiority when there have been religious movements already that have corrected such behavior.

Not sure how you are saying Islam and Christianity are pure?

Buddhism and Jainism did that already ,again any religion or philosophy has to stay with time, your again saying thing from pov of superiority when there have been religious movements already that have corrected such behavior.

Not sure how you are saying Islam and Christianity are pure?
Actually man, you are twisting his words...anyway what he said holds great credence and I believe it is verifiable too in the manner that mass conversions were not on the tip of swords.

Anyways you can enlighten us too if we are wrong

Actually man, you are twisting his words...anyway what he said holds great credence and I believe it is verifiable too in the manner that mass conversions were not on the tip of swords.

Anyways you can enlighten us too if we are wrong
You have to provide fact for a theory, you are currently asking me to just disapprove a theory that you believe..

Indian posters here are yet to condemn this discriminatory titty tax. I think it is a combination of missing self-accountability and having a perverted mind. :inti

Who even comes up with a tax called "breast tax"? I am astonished that it existed. :inti

Hammer. Nail. Head.

It's why I have started to bring these things up. It's due to the selective bias and myths being peddled.

You analyse Aurungzeb against his Hindu contemporaries, predecessors and acts of the pre modern Indian region and he is relatively benign.

Yet the focus is ONLY on the Muslim leaders.

You have to provide fact for a theory, you are currently asking me to just disapprove a theory that you believe..
It is funny how the "benevolent, peaceful" mass conversions simply faded away with the decline of Islamic empires. :ROFLMAO:
Maybe the messaging has gone stale after 1400 years of "peaceful land acquisitions"

Hammer. Nail. Head.

It's why I have started to bring these things up. It's due to the selective bias and myths being peddled.

You analyse Aurungzeb against his Hindu contemporaries, predecessors and acts of the pre modern Indian region and he is relatively benign.

Yet the focus is ONLY on the Muslim leaders.

They try to see past Muslim rulers through the lense of modern world. But, they don't do the same when it comes to tyrants like Ashoka (the tyrant who burned hundreds of concubines alive). Blatant hypocrisy indeed.

Medieval period had different norms. It is naive to judge Medieval rulers through the lense of modern world. This is something BJP lunatics do not acknowledge. :inti

Indian posters here are yet to condemn this discriminatory titty tax. I think it is a combination of missing self-accountability and having a perverted mind. :inti

Who even comes up with a tax called "breast tax"? I am astonished that it existed. :inti
Whats there to condemn? This practice existed hundreds of years ago that too in the southern part of current India. If its happening in today's times, I'm sure people will condemn it.

Have never seen you condemning ill practices of Islam leading and involving all the way back to your PBUH.

Whats there to condemn? This practice existed hundreds of years ago that too in the southern part of current India. If its happening in today's times, I'm sure people will condemn it.

Have never seen you condemning ill practices of Islam leading and involving all the way back to your PBUH.
Your country just burned quranic verses because of Aurangzeb taht existed hundreds of years back.

Muslims destroyed lots of Budhhist temples and historical artifacts in Afg and Pak. If that was ok for you guys, i don't think burning some lines written on a piece of cloth should be a big deal.

See we can do this all day and mock the entire country or religion based on actions of a few loonies.

Since, we are sticking with arbitrarily assigned responsibilities in the language.
Going by the rate of blasphemy cases. More Qurans are burnt and desecrated by Pakistan than India regularly.
Why can't Pakistan respect Islam?
Why does Pakistan keep bombing mosques at a higher rate than India?
I am shocked at lack of condemnation of how Pakistan is treating Muslims. Only deflection and blame game.
Whats your country doing @Major ? Why is there such lack of value of Muslim values by Pakistan?

Muslims destroyed lots of Budhhist temples and historical artifacts in Afg and Pak. If that was ok for you guys, i don't think burning some lines written on a piece of cloth should be a big deal.

See we can do this all day and mock the entire country or religion based on actions of a few loonies.
lol a moment ago this poster was saying why we care about something that happened hundreds of years ago, and here he comes to defend the burning of Quranic ayat by giving a defence that because the Taliban burned buddhist artifact, so it justfies what happened in India.

Just so you know the govt of Afg that did that act is the same govt the Indians are in bed with right now.

If you think burning a religious verses is not a big deal, than I rest my case

Where did the Buddhists in what is known as modern India go?